Decisions

CAT File No. Q-1634-33
MoT File No. NAP6504-P172356-30588

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Minister of Transport, Applicant

- and -

Denis Pourtau, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, s. 7.7
Canadian Aviation Regulations, s. 101.01(1) and 602.115(c)(i)

Flight Visibility-Uncontrolled Airspace


Review Determination
Pierre Rivest


Decision: August 18, 1998

TRANSLATION

I dismiss the minister's allegation and cancel the monetary penalty of $250.00 assessed against Mr. Pourtau.

A Review Hearing on the above matter was held Wednesday, July 22, 1998, at 10:00 hours at the Federal Court of Canada in Montreal, Quebec. The witnesses were sworn in.

BACKGROUND

A monetary penalty of $250.00 was assessed against the Respondent, Mr. Pourtau, pursuant to section 7.7 of the Aeronautics Act, for having contravened subparagraph 602.115(c)(i)of the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs).

Specifically, Mr. Pourtau, pilot-in-command of the aircraft registered as C-GJVT, a Cessna 150, had taken off, at about 09:45 hours on December 9, 1997, from the airport of Mascouche, Quebec, when flight visibility was allegedly less than two miles.

The Mascouche airport is located in uncontrolled airspace and the aircraft was operated in VFR flight.

THE LAW

Subparagraph 602.115(c)(i) stipulates:

602.115 No person shall operate an aircraft in VFR flight within uncontrolled airspace unless

(...)

(c) where the aircraft is not a helicopter and is operated at less than 1,000 feet AGL

(i) during the day, flight visibility is not less than two miles, except if otherwise authorized in an air operator certificate or a private operator certificate

THE FACTS

The following elements were admitted: the place, the fact that the Mascouche airport is located in uncontrolled airspace, the take-off from runway 29, the pilot-in-command and the aircraft. The last two elements were confirmed in documents M-2 and M-3.

For the Applicant – Minister of Transport

The Minister's two witnesses, Messrs. Bélanger and Hamel, flight instructors, made essentially the same assertions, under both examination and cross-examination, namely:

  • that at the time of the alleged offence, though there is some discrepancy here as to the precise time, they were in the building of the Cargair company, a carrier for which they worked;
  • that this building is located not far from the threshold of runway 29 (see Exhibit M-1);
  • that they both identified the aircraft registered as C-GJVT, which took off from runway 29;
  • here, too, with some discrepancies, but based on known reference points, such as a railway track west of the airport and a viaduct a little further away, they estimated the ground visibility at less than two miles, or between three quarters of a mile and one mile;
  • I noted, however, some confusion in the description of the weather phenomena which played a part in reducing visibility: there was mention of low clouds, mist, fog, and fog patches, with little distinction being made between these various elements. However, the witnesses agreed that the weather conditions seemed better toward the northwest than toward the south, and that in looking in the direction of the Cessna's take-off, the aircraft was lost from sight at a distance of about one mile from their observation point;
  • it was the witness Bélanger who complained to Transport Canada after ascertaining that the aircraft leaving Mascouche had not filed an IFR flight plan; the witness Hamel agreed to sign the complaint because he felt he had already seen too many violations occur at Mascouche, given the heavy air traffic there; he also referred to a flying accident that had occurred the previous week at the same airport.

The Minister's representative confirmed the visibility given by the witnesses by measuring on the map (M-1) the distance between their observation point and the reference points referred to earlier; at most, it was 5,700 feet, or just over one mile (the map is to a scale of 1:50,000). Mr. Pourtau said he agreed with this.

For the Respondent – Mr. Pourtau

Mr. Pourtau, testifying on his own behalf, raised the following points:

  • before setting out on his journey, he checked the weather conditions in two ways: by telephoning the meteorological services at the Flight Service Station (FSS) for the Montreal region, and by analysing the weather report (METAR) for the Mirabel region (Exhibit T-1);
  • in both cases, he considered the conditions for VFR flight to be favourable, particularly to the north, the direction he took;
  • he claimed that he had over three miles of visibility on take-off, as he could see ahead of him high tension wires about 4.2 kilometres away, perpendicular to the axis of take-off (about 3 miles, as he himself measured later in a car on a road running parallel to and near the runway).

The cross-examination revealed nothing significant.

ARGUMENTS

The arguments summarized what I have just described; the Minister's representative stressed the credibility, without prejudice, of its witnesses, both flight instructors, while Mr. Pourtau highlighted the fact that the regulations mention flight visibility and that it is to this visibility that he refers. He also alluded to the fact that both witnesses for the Minister worked for a carrier that was in competition with his. He added that he, too, is a flight instructor.

ANALYSIS

The testimony of the Minister's witnesses and that of Mr. Pourtau appear, at first glance, to be contradictory. I do not attach much importance to the time of take-off, which is not quite consistent, or to the visibility reported by the Minister's two witnesses; they are sufficiently admissible. However, before determining which testimony heard is the most credible, on the balance of probabilities, let us analyse the following elements (all emphasis has been added by the undersigned):

1. Subparagraph 602.115(c)(i)

the definitions:

2. of ground visibility
3. of flight visibility
4. of the term AGL
5. of take-off

  1. Subparagraph 602.115(c)(i) stipulates, among other things, that it is forbidden to fly within uncontrolled airspace (which is the case here) at less than 1,000 feet AGL, unless during the day, flight visibility is at least two miles. This section therefore leads me to believe that it refers to an aircraft in flight.

    The Minister's witnesses both maintained that visibility was one mile or less; but this is ground visibility, since they were inside a building on the east side of the airport (from which the aircraft took off).
  2. Ground visibility," according to subsection 101.01(1) of the CARs, means, in respect of an aerodrome (which, again, is the case here), "the visibility at that aerodrome as contained in a weather observation reported by

    1. an air traffic control unit,
    2. a flight service station,
    3. a community aerodrome radio station,
    4. an AWOS used by the Department of Transport, the Department of National Defence or the Atmospheric Environment Service for the purpose of making aviation weather observations, or
    5. a radio station that is ground-based and operated by an air operator".

    At no time does this definition (which I would qualify as "official") mention visibility reported by observers on the ground, such as individuals not with the above-mentioned organizations. Moreover, neither subparagraph 602.115(c)(i) nor the definition of flight visibility mentions take-off visibility. In any event, no such weather observation has been produced for the Mascouche airport, where the incident occurred. However, despite the official nature of the definition for the reporting of ground visibility, I admit that this does not prevent observers from giving their own views on this matter, and I take this into account.
  3. However, the "flight visibility" referred to in subparagraph 602.115(c)(i) is defined in subsection 101.01(1) as "the visibility forward from the cockpit of an aircraft in flight" and not from any observation point on the ground.
  4. The term "AGL" (still according to subsection 101.01(1)) means "above ground level" and not, therefore, on the ground.
  5. And finally, the term "take-off" is also defined in paragraph 101.01(1)(a) as "in respect of an aircraft other than an airship, the act of leaving a supporting surface, and includes the take-off run and the acts immediately preceding and following the leaving of that surface". In this definition, two elements must be present: the act of leaving a supporting surface, and the acts immediately preceding and following the leaving of that surface.

    In a Tribunal determination (George William Trelford and Minister of Transport, CAT File No. O-1507-02), upheld on appeal, the Vice-Chairperson found that the term "immediately" included, among other things, the flight manoeuvres after leaving the supporting surface. Subparagraph 602.115(c)(i), which speaks of flight visibility, could therefore apply to the take-off.

Finally, there was mention of mist, fog, fog patches, and so on. Nothing very specific, except for the weather reports (METAR) produced in evidence for airports located more or less in the same area, but none at Mascouche itself. In situations such as this, it is often difficult to determine a precise meteorological condition; simply by virtue of the fact that on take-off, visibility declines as the aircraft moves along the ground, and even more so in flight once the aircraft has left the supporting surface, the observations of witnesses motionless on the ground and those of the pilot-in-command will invariably differ. And this, in my view, is the crux of the whole case: the visibility reported by witnesses on the ground cannot be the same as that of the pilot, in this case Mr. Pourtau, who is moving away from the observers.

That is why Mr. Pourtau, to prove his point, took the trouble to measure by car the distance he claimed had been his visibility on take-off, namely, at least three miles.

CONCLUSION

As a result of the foregoing, I find that the visibility referred to in the regulations within uncontrolled airspace is that which the pilot is able to observe in flight: subparagraph 602.115(c)(i), the term AGL, and the definition of take-off allow us to reach this conclusion.

What appears to be missing from the regulations with reference to VFR flight, is the definition of take-off visibility we find in paragraph 602.126(1)(c), but in IFR flight conditions.

I therefore find that the witnesses for both parties have not lied, but I cannot give as much weight to the witnesses on the ground ("static," as opposed to the witness on board the aircraft who, while travelling on the ground, was moving away from the motionless observers), as I do to Mr. Pourtau, since subparagraph 602.115(c)(i) refers to flight visibility and the term "AGL" is part of this same section, which Mr. Pourtau specifically mentioned. As I have no reason not to believe him, the balance of probabilities, based on the definitions analysed above, weighs in Mr. Pourtau's favour.

DETERMINATION

For all the foregoing reasons, I dismiss the Minister's allegation and cancel the $250.00 monetary penalty assessed against Mr. Pourtau.

Pierre Rivest
Member
Civil Aviation Tribunal

Décisions

Dossier no Q-1634-33 (TAC)
Dossier no NAP6504-P172356-30588 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Ministre des Transports, requérant(e)

- et -

Denis Pourtau, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, art. 7.7
Règlement de l'aviation canadien, art. 101.01(1) et 602.115c)(i)

Visibilité en vol, Espace aérien non contrôlé


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Pierre Rivest


Décision : le 18 août 1998

Je rejette l'allégation du ministre et annule l'amende de 250,00 $ qui avait été imposée à M. Pourtau.

Une audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le mercredi 22 juillet 1998 à 10 h, à la Cour fédérale du Canada, Montréal (Québec). Les témoins ont prêté serment.

HISTORIQUE

L'intimé, M. Pourtau, en vertu de l'article 7.7 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, s'est vu imposer une amende de 250,00 $ pour avoir enfreint le sous-alinéa 602.115c)(i) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC).

Plus précisément, il s'agit pour M. Pourtau, commandant de bord de l'aéronef immatriculé C-GJVT, un Cessna 150, d'avoir décollé, vers 09h45 le 9 décembre 1997, de l'aéroport de Mascouche (Québec) alors que la visibilité en vol aurait été inférieure à deux milles.

L'aéroport de Mascouche est situé dans un espace aérien non contrôlé et le vol était effectué en régime VFR.

LA LOI

Le sous-alinéa 602.115c)(i) stipule :

602.115 Il est interdit à quiconque d'utiliser un aéronef en vol VFR dans l'espace aérien non contrôlé, à moins que les conditions suivantes ne soient réunies :

(...)

c) dans le cas d'un aéronef autre qu'un hélicoptère, l'aéronef est utilité à moins de 1 000 pieds AGL :

(i) sauf autorisation contraire aux termes d'un certificat d'exploitation aérienne ou d'un certificat d'exploitation privée, la visibilité en vol est d'au moins deux milles le jour

LES FAITS

Les éléments suivants ont été admis : le lieu, le fait que l'aéroport de Mascouche est situé dans un espace aérien non contrôlé, le décollage à partir de la piste 29, le commandant de bord et l'aéronef. C'est deux derniers éléments sont confirmés dans les documents M-2 et M-3.

Pour le requérant – ministre des Transports

Les deux témoins du ministre, MM. Bélanger et Hamel, instructeurs de vol, ont affirmé à peu près les mêmes choses, que ce soit en interrogatoire ou en contre-interrogatoire, à savoir :

  • qu'à l'heure de la soit-disant infraction, quoiqu'il y a ici une certaine divergence sur l'heure exacte, ils se trouvaient dans l'édifice de la compagnie Cargair, transporteur pour lequel ils travaillaient;
  • que cet édifice est situé non loin du seuil de la piste 29 (voir la pièce M-1);
  • qu'ils ont tous les deux identifié l'aéronef immatriculé C-­GJVT qui a décollé de la piste 29;
  • avec, ici aussi quelques divergences mais en se basant sur des points de repère connus tels une voie ferré à l'ouest de l'aéroport et un viaduc un peu plus loin, qu'ils ont estimé la visibilité au sol à moins de deux milles soit, de ¾ de mille à 1 mille;
  • par contre, j'ai noté une certaine confusion quant à la description des phénomènes météorologiques qui contribuaient à réduire la visibilité : on a parlé de nuages bas, de brume, de brouillard et de bancs de brouillard sans trop faire de distinction entre ces divers éléments; toutefois, les témoins s'accordaient pour dire que les conditions météo semblaient meilleures vers le nord-ouest que vers le sud et qu'en regardant dans la direction du décollage du Cessna, on perdait celui-ci de vue à environ 1 mille de leur poste d'observation;
  • c'est le témoin Bélanger qui a porté plainte à Transports Canada après s'être assuré que l'aéronef en partance de Mascouche n'avait pas déposé de plan de vol IFR; pour sa part, le témoin Hamel a accepté de signer la plainte parce qu'il a jugé qu'il avait déjà vu trop d'infractions se commettre à Mascouche considérant le trafic aérien intense que l'on y retrouve; il a d'ailleurs fait référence à un accident aérien qui s'était produit la semaine précédente au même aéroport.

Le représentant du ministre a confirmé la question de la visibilité dont les témoins ont parlé en mesurant sur la carte (M-1) la distance entre le point d'observation de ces derniers et les points de repère mentionnés précédemment; au plus, cela donne 5 700 pieds, soit un peu plus d'un mille (la carte est à une échelle de 1:50 000). M. Pourtau s'est dit d'accord avec cet exposé.

Pour l'intimé – M. Pourtau

M. Pourtau, témoignant pour lui-même, a fait valoir les points suivants :

  • avant d'entreprendre son voyage, il a vérifié les conditions météo de deux façons : en téléphonant aux services météorologiques à la station d'information de vol (FSS) de la région de Montréal et en analysant le rapport météo (METAR) pour la région de Mirabel (pièce T-1);
  • dans les deux cas, il a jugé que les conditions pour entreprendre un vol VFR étaient favorables surtout dans la direction nord qui était la sienne;
  • il prétend avoir eu plus de trois milles de visibilité au décollage puisqu'il pouvait voir devant lui des fils à haute tension situés à 4,2 kilomètres, perpendiculaires à l'axe de décollage (environ 3 milles, mesurés plus tard par lui-même avec une automobile sur une route parallèle à la piste et près de celle-ci).

Le contre-interrogatoire n'a rien apporté de significatif.

PLAIDOYERS

Les plaidoyers ont résumé ce que je viens de décrire, le représentant du ministre faisant surtout valoir la crédibilité, sans préjugés, de ses témoins, tous deux instructeurs de vol, alors que M. Pourtau a mis en évidence le fait que la réglementation parle de visibilité en vol et que c'est à cette visibilité qu'il fait référence. Il a de plus fait allusion que les deux témoins du ministre travaillaient pour un transporteur concurrent au sien. Il ajoute qu'il est lui aussi instructeur de vol.

ANALYSE

Les témoignages entre ceux du ministre et celui de M. Pourtau semblent, à première vue, contradictoires. Je n'attache pas d'importance sur l'heure du décollage qui ne concorde pas tout à fait ni sur la visibilité rapportée par les deux témoins du ministre; ils sont suffisamment recevables. Cependant, avant de décider lesquels des témoignages entendus sont les plus crédibles, selon la prépondérance des probabilités, analysons les éléments suivants (tous les mots ou les expressions mis en évidence sont du soussigné) :

1. le sous-alinéa 602.115c)(i)

les définitions :

2. de la visibilité au sol
3. de la visibilité en vol
4. de l'expression AGL
5. du décollage

  1. Le sous-alinéa 602.115c)(i) spécifie, entre autres, qu'on ne peut voler dans un espace aérien non contrôlé (ce qui est le cas présentement) en-dessous de 1 000 pieds AGL, à moins que la visibilité en vol ne soit d'au moins deux milles le jour. Cet article me fait donc croire qu'il s'agit d'un aéronef en vol.

    Pour leur part, les témoins pour le ministre ont tous les deux affirmé que la visibilité était d'un mille ou moins; mais il s'agit ici de visibilité au sol puisqu'ils étaient à l'intérieur d'une bâtisse située sur le côté est de l'aéroport (d'où partait l'aéronef pour le décollage).
  2. La « visibilité au sol », selon le paragraphe 101.01(1) du RAC, se définit, dans le cas d'un aérodrome (ce qui est encore ici le cas) comme étant « la visibilité à cet aérodrome communiquée dans une observation météorologique, selon le cas :

    1. par une unité de contrôle de la circulation aérienne;
    2. par une station d'information de vol;
    3. par une station radio d'aérodrome communautaire;
    4. par un AWOS utilisé par le ministère des Transports, le ministère de la Défense nationale ou le Service de l'environnement atmosphérique dans le but d'effectuer des observations météorologiques pour l'aviation;
    5. par une station radio au sol exploitée par un exploitant aérien. »


    En aucun temps cette définition (que je qualifierais d'« officielle ») parle d'une visibilité communiquée par des observateurs au sol tels des individus qui ne font pas partie d'organismes cités ci-dessus. De plus, ni dans le sous-alinéa 602.115c)(i), ni dans la définition de visibilité au sol, on ne parle de visibilité au décollage. De toute façon, aucune observation météorologique de ce genre n'a été produite eu égard à l'aéroport de Mascouche, là ou c'est produit l'incident. Cependant, malgré le caractère officiel que donne la définition pour communiquer la visibilité au sol, j'admets que cela n'empêche pas des observateurs de donner leur propres opinions à ce sujet et j'en tiens compte.
  3. Par contre, la « visibilité en vol » dont parle le sous-alinéa 602.115c)(i) est définie au paragraphe 101.01(1) comme étant la « Visibilité vers l'avant à partir du poste de pilotage d'un aéronef en vol » et non à partir d'un quelconque point d'observation au sol.
  4. L'expression AGL (toujours selon le paragraphe 101.01(1)) signifie « Au-dessus du sol » et non, donc, au sol.
  5. Et, finalement, le terme décollage est lui aussi défini à l'alinéa 101.01(1)a) comme étant, « Dans le cas d'un aéronef autre qu'un dirigeable, l'action de quitter une surface d'appui, y compris le roulement au décollage et les opérations qui précèdent et suivent immédiatement cette action ». Dans cette définition, deux éléments sont à retenir : l'action de quitter une surface d'appui et les opérations qui précèdent et suivent immédiatement cette action.

    Dans une décision du Tribunal (George William Trelford et ministre des Transports, dossier O-1507-02 (TAC)), maintenue en appel, le vice-président a conclu que l'expression immédiatement comprenait, entre autres, les manoeuvres de vol qui suivent le fait de quitter la surface d'appui. Le sous-alinéa 602.115c)(i), qui parle de visibilité en vol, pourrait donc s'appliquer au décollage.

Finalement, on a parlé de brouillard, de brume, de bancs de brume, etc. Rien de très précis si ce n'est les rapports météorologiques (METAR) produits en preuve pour des aéroports situés plus ou moins dans les environs mais aucun à Mascouche même. Dans des situations de la sorte, il est souvent difficile d'établir une condition météorologique précise; le seul fait qu'au décollage la visibilité recule avec la course de l'aéronef au sol et encore plus en vol dès que l'aéronef a quitté la surface d'appui, les observations entre des témoins fixes au sol et celles du commandant de bord vont invariablement différer. Et c'est, à mon avis, le point principal de tout le litige : la visibilité enregistrée par les témoins au sol ne peut pas concorder avec celle du pilote, en l'occurence M. Pourtau qui, lui, s'éloignait des observateurs.

C'est pourquoi, M. Pourtau, pour prouver son point, a pris la peine d'aller mesurer en automobile la distance qu'il prétend avoir eu comme visibilité lors du décollage soit, au moins trois milles.

CONCLUSION

À la suite de tout ce qui précède, j'en conclue que la visibilité dont parle la réglementation dans une zone non contrôlée, est celle que le pilote peut observer en vol : le sous-alinéa 602.115c)(i), l'expression AGL et la définition de décollage nous permettent d'en arriver à cette conclusion.

Ce qui semble manquer dans la réglementation lorsqu'il s'agit de vol VFR, c'est la définition de la visibilité au décollage telle que nous la retrouvons à l'alinéa 602.126(1)c), mais dans des conditions de vol IFR.

J'en conclue donc que les témoins des deux parties n'ont pas menti mais, dans le cas des témoins au sol (« statiques » en opposition au témoin à bord de l'aéronef qui, en roulant au sol, s'éloigne des observateurs fixes) je ne peux leur accorder autant de poids que j'en accorde à M. Pourtau puisque le sous-alinéa 602.115c)(i) parle de visibilité en vol et que l'expression AGL fait partie du même article, ce dont parle précisément M. Pourtau; considérant que je n'ai pas plus de raison de ne pas croire ce dernier, la prépondérance des probabilités, en me basant sur les définitions analysées plus haut, penche en faveur de M. Pourtau.

DÉCISION

Pour toutes les raisons invoquées précédemment, je rejette l'allégation du ministre et annule l'amende de 250,00 $ qui avait été imposée à M. Pourtau.

Pierre Rivest
Conseiller
Tribunal de l'aviation civile