Decisions

TATC File No. Q-2939-34
MoT File No. N5504-50956

TRANSPORTATION APPEAL TRIBUNAL OF CANADA

BETWEEN:

Jacques Lévesque, Applicant

- and -

Minister of Transport, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. A-2, s. 7.7
Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96-433, s. 406.22


Review Determination
Carole Anne Soucy


Decision: November 18, 2004

TRANSLATION

The applicant admitted all material elements of the offence alleged by the Minister and provided no defence. The contravention is confirmed, as is the monetary penalty of $500. The said amount, payable to the Receiver General for Canada, must be received by the Tribunal within thirty-five (35) days of service of this determination.

A review hearing on the above matter was held July 20, 2004, at the courthouse in Sept-Îles, Québec.

BACKGROUND

The applicant is president and chief flight instructor of the company 2431-9154 Québec inc. operating under the business name Eider Aviation or Sept-Îles Aviation enr.

The company holds a flight training unit operator certificate.

Mr. Lévesque, as chief flight instructor, is responsible for maintaining a current copy of training publications, charts, maps and any other material required for the ground instruction and flight training of trainees.

On May 21, 2003, in Sept-Îles, the applicant did not ensure that the Enroute low altitude charts and the Canada Air Pilot instrument procedures were maintained for the ground instruction and flight training of trainees.

Further to this contravention of section 406.22 of the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs), a notice of assessment of monetary penalty was sent on September 2, 2003, to Mr. Lévesque.

Schedule A of the said notice reads as follows:

You have contravened section 406.22 of the Canadian Aviation Regulations;

On May 21, 2003, at Sept-Îles, you did not carry out the responsibilities of the position of chief flight instructor of 2431-9154 Québec Inc. operating under the business name Eider Aviation or Sept-Îles Aviation Enr., to wit: you did not ensure that the Enroute Low Altitude charts and the Canada Air Pilot instrument procedures were maintained for the ground instruction and flight training of trainees, in accordance with paragraph 426.22(5)(i) of the Personnel Licensing and Training Standard respecting Flight Training Units.

PENALTY: $500.00

Payment was due October 8, 2003. On October 7, 2003, Mr. Jacques Lévesque sent the Transportation Appeal Tribunal of Canada an application for review in respect of this matter. The hearing date had been set for January 23, 2004, and, at the applicant's request, was postponed, along with another case also involving Mr. Lévesque, until July 20 and 21, 2004. Given the short duration of the arguments, this matter proceeded on July 20, 2004.

THE LAW

The Personnel Licensing and Training Standard respecting Flight Training Units referred to in Part IV of the CARs:

426. 22 Requirements for Chief Flight Instructor

[...]

(5) A person who is appointed as Chief Flight Instructor for a flight training unit identified in subsection (1) shall be responsible for:

[...]

(i) maintaining a current copy of training publications, charts, maps and any other material required for the ground instruction and flight training of trainees;

EVIDENCE AND ARGUMENTS

The applicant admitted all the facts, but disputed the monetary penalty.

Mr. Tamborriello filed in evidence a copy of the relevant pages of the Inspection and Audit (Checklists) Manual as Exhibit M-1. This document contains information about the company and the inspection date, i.e., February 25, 2003. It also contains a Corrective Action Form detailing the action to be taken immediately. Mr. Lévesque accepted these facts by signing the document on May 1, 2003. A follow-up on May 21, 2003, showed that, despite the time lapse, the situation was still the same.

Regarding the amount of the monetary penalty, Mr. Tamborriello argued that this is determined in accordance with the Aviation Enforcement Manual, a reference used in the Department of Transport to ensure that penalties are uniform and fair. In looking at section 406.22, we note that for a first offence the amount is $500. He also argued the safety aspect surrounding regulatory compliance.

Mr. Lévesque provided no defence.

DISCUSSION AND REASONS

Considering the documentary evidence;

Considering the applicant's admission of all material elements of the offence alleged by the Minister;

Considering the fact that the applicant provided no defence;

Considering the fact that the applicant presented no evidence of mitigating circumstance allowing me to reduce the penalty;

Considering the fact that the Minister used the usual applicable standards, following the recommendations of the CARs and the Aviation Enforcement Manual;

I must therefore confirm the Minister's decision.

DETERMINATION

The applicant admitted all material evidence of the offence alleged by the Minister and provided no defence. The contravention is therefore confirmed, as is the monetary penalty of $500.

Carole Anne Soucy
Member
Transportation Appeal Tribunal of Canada

Décisions

Dossier no Q-2939-34 (TATC)
Dossier no N5504-50956 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL D'APPEL DES TRANSPORTS DU CANADA

ENTRE :

Jacques Lévesque, requérant(e)

- et -

Ministre des Transports, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, c. A-2, art. 7.7
Règlement de l'aviation canadien, DORS/96-433, art. 406.22


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Carole Anne Soucy


Décision : le 18 novembre 2004

Le requérant a admis tous les éléments matériels de l'infraction alléguée par le ministre et n'a offert aucune défense. La contravention est maintenue ainsi que l'amende de 500 $. Ladite somme est payable à l'ordre du Receveur général du Canada et doit parvenir au Tribunal dans les trente-cinq (35) jours suivant la signification de la présente décision.

Une audience en révision relative à l'affaire citée en rubrique a été tenue le 20 juillet 2004 au Palais de justice de Sept-Îles (Québec).

HISTORIQUE

Le requérant est président et chef-instructeur de vol de la compagnie 2431-9154 Québec inc. opérant sous le nom commercial de Eider Aviation ou Sept-Îles Aviation enr.

Cette dernière est titulaire d'un certificat d'exploitation d'unité de formation au pilotage.

M. Lévesque, à titre de chef-instructeur de vol, a la responsabilité de tenir à jour les documents de formation, les tableaux, les cartes et tout autre matériel nécessaire à l'instruction au sol et à l'entraînement en vol des stagiaires.

En date du 21 mai 2003 à Sept-Îles, le requérant ne s'est pas assuré que les cartes En route niveau inférieur et le Canada Air Pilot procédures aux instruments soient à jour pour l'instruction au sol et l'entraînement en vol des stagiaires.

Suite à cette contravention à l'article 406.22 du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC), un avis d'amende pour contravention a été envoyé le 2 septembre 2003 à M. Lévesque.

À l'annexe A dudit avis on peut lire ce qui suit :

Vous avez contrevenu à l'article 406.22 du Règlement de l'aviation canadien;

Le 21 mai 2003, à Sept-Îles, vous ne vous êtes pas acquitté des responsabilités du poste de chef-instructeur de vol de 2431-9154 Québec Inc. opérant sous le nom commercial de Eider Aviation ou Sept-Îles Aviation Enr. à savoir : vous ne vous êtes pas assuré que les cartes En route niveau inférieur et le Canada Air Pilot procédures aux instruments étaient [tenues] à jour pour l'instruction au sol et l'entraînement en vol des stagiaires, selon l'article 426.22(5)i) des normes de Délivrance des licences et de formation du personnel – Unité de formation au pilotage.

AMENDE : 500.00 $

Le paiement était dû le 8 octobre 2003. Le 7 octobre 2003 M. Jacques Lévesque faisait parvenir au Tribunal d'appel des transports du Canada une demande de révision concernant cette affaire. La date d'audience avait été prévue pour le 23 janvier 2004 et, à la demande du requérant, fut reportée avec une autre cause impliquant également M. Lévesque, aux 20 et 21 juillet 2004. Compte tenu de la courte durée des plaidoiries, cette affaire a procédé le 20 juillet 2004.

LA LOI

Les Normes de délivrance des licences et de formation du personnel relatives aux unités de formation au pilotage visées à la partie IV du RAC :

406. 22 Exigences relatives au chef – Instructeur de vol

[...]

(5) La personne qui est nommée au poste de chef-instructeur de vol d'une unité de formation au pilotage visée au paragraphe (1) a les responsabilités suivantes :

[...]

i) tenir à jour les documents de formation, les tableaux, les cartes et tout autre matériel nécessaires à l'instruction au sol et à l'entraînement en vol des stagiaires;

PREUVE ET ARGUMENTATION

Le requérant a admis tous les faits, mais conteste cependant l'amende.

M. Tamborriello a déposé en preuve une copie des pages pertinentes contenues au Manuel d'inspection et de vérification (Listes de contrôle) sous la cote M-1. Dans ce document nous retrouvons des informations relatives à l'entreprise ainsi que la date de vérification, soit le 25 février 2003. On retrouve également un Formulaire de mesures correctives détaillant les mesures qui doivent être prises dans l'immédiat. M. Lévesque reconnaît ces faits en signant le document le 1er mai 2003. Un suivi en date du 21 mai 2003 démontre que, malgré le laps de temps écoulé, la situation est toujours la même.

Quant au montant de l'amende, M. Tamborriello plaide que cette dernière est fixée en fonction du Manuel d'application de la loi, référence utilisée au ministère des Transports afin d'uniformiser et de rendre plus équitables les peines. En regardant l'article 406.22 on remarque que pour une première infraction le montant est de 500 $. Il plaide également sur l'aspect sécuritaire entourant le respect de la réglementation.

M. Lévesque ne fournit aucune défense.

DISCUSSION ET MOTIFS

Compte tenu de la preuve documentaire

Compte tenu de l'admission par le requérant de tous les éléments matériels de l'infraction alléguée par le ministre

Compte tenu du fait que le requérant n'a fourni aucune défense

Compte tenu du fait que le requérant n'a présenté aucune preuve de circonstance atténuante me permettant de diminuer l'amende

Compte tenu du fait que le ministre a utilisé les normes habituelles applicables en suivant les recommandations du RAC et du Manuel d'application de la loi

En conséquence, je dois maintenir la décision du ministre.

DÉCISION

Le requérant a admis tous les faits matériels constituant l'infraction alléguée par le ministre et n'a offert aucune défense. En conclusion la contravention est maintenue ainsi que l'amende de 500 $.

Carole Anne Soucy
Conseillère
Tribunal d'appel des transports du Canada