Decisions

CAT File No. W-1177-41
MoT File No. SAP-6504-C6367-27033

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Minister of Transport, Applicant

- and -

West Wind Airspray Ltd., Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, S.C., c. A-2, s. 7.7
Air Regulations, C.R.C. 1978, c. 2, s. 803(b)

Competent person at the controls


Review Determination
Fred W.R. Clarke


Decision: May 22, 1996

I find that by his own admission Mr. Peter Hansen (West Wind Airspray Ltd.) did contravene paragraph 803(b) of the Air Regulations on both counts. I confirm the Minister's decision to assess a monetary penalty of $250.00 for each count. Said penalty for a total of $500.00 shall be made payable to the Receiver General for Canada and forwarded to the Civil Aviation Tribunal within fifteen days of receipt of this determination.

The Review Hearing on the above matter was held Wednesday, May 8, 1996 at 10:00 hours at Canada Place, in the city of Edmonton, Alberta.

BACKGROUND

The Notice of Assessment of Monetary Penalty reads in part as follows:

Pursuant to section 7.7 of the Aeronautics Act, the Minister of Transport has decided to assess a monetary penalty on the grounds that you have contravened the following provision(s):

Section 803(b) of the Air Regulations:

Count #1: $250.00: At or near Lethbridge, Alberta on or about the 3rd of August 1995 at approximately 1915 hours UTC, you did leave the engine of Ayres S-2R aircraft, Canadian registration C-GTUZ running when the pilot's seat was not occupied by a person competent to control the aircraft.

Count #2: $250.00: At or near Lethbridge, Alberta on or about the 4th of August 1995 at approximately 1550 hours UTC, you did leave the engine of Ayers S-2R aircraft, Canadian registration C-GTUZ running when the pilot's seat was not occupied by a person competent to control the aircraft.

West Wind Airspray Ltd. failed to pay the monetary penalty totalling $500.00 which was due December 4, 1995.

THE LAW

Paragraph 803(b) of the Air Regulations reads as follows:

803. The engine or engines or any aircraft shall not be

(a) started unless the pilot's seat is occupied by a person competent to control the aircraft or unless the aircraft is prevented from moving forward; or

(b) left running unless the pilot's seat is occupied by a person competent to control the aircraft.

EVIDENCE

The Hearing Officer read all of the above into the record and was prepared to proceed with the Review Hearing when Richard Covlin, counsel for West Wind Airspray Ltd. announced that his client wished to admit to committing the two offences.

After discussion with both sides it was decided to proceed with Mr. Covlin calling Mr. Peter Hansen, President of West Wind Airspray Ltd. to give sworn testimony covering the violations. The thrust of this testimony was about the outdated paragraph 803(b) of the Air Regulations, the fact that most, if not all of the spray operators followed the same procedure, and it was common practice in the air spray industry to leave their engines running during warm up while they proceeded to do other things. This was especially true in the case of the Ayers S-2R aircraft due to the lengthy time required to warm up the radial engine. He stated that the area around his hangar was secure at the time. The parking brake was on, RPM was approximately 500 to 700, and there were no people in the area. He was not sure if he had installed chocks but stated that the parking brakes were on.

During a brief cross-examination, Mr. Ribout pointed out that section 803 does not offer an exemption to allow for warm up.

CONCLUSION

In waiting until the hearing to admit to committing the two offences it is evident that Mr. Hansen wished to make a statement through Mr. Covlin. This statement was to point out the outdated reasoning behind paragraphs 803(a) and (b) of the Air Regulations.

In their evidence they pointed out that both the Alberta Aerial Applicators Association and the Canadian Aerial Applicators Association have been lobbying hard against the enforcement of paragraph 803(b). Mr. Covlin said that the new Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARS) could possibly contain amendments to paragraph 803(b) which may allow operators to warm up their aircraft under certain conditions. Mr. Covlin suggested that paragraph 803(a) was much more dangerous than paragraph 803(b) given that modern aircraft equipped with parking brakes posed much less a problem than was present in the old prop start days.

Mr. Covlin suggested that a reduction in the monetary penalty for each violation would be in keeping with the proposed regulation changes expected when the new CARS are officially released.

Mr. Ribout commented briefly on the proposed CARS and suggested that the importance of paragraph 803(b) may prove to be quite different than what Messrs. Hansen and Covlin were expecting. He suggested that an increase from one thousand dollars maximum to five thousand dollars maximum for violations of paragraph 803(b) for a corporation might be a reality.

The fact that the Respondent admitted to committing the two offences makes that part of my decision very easy. I heard the suggestion from Mr. Covlin to reduce the penalty. I also heard Mr. Ribout's reasons why that should not take place.

There are many segments of the aviation industry that disagree with some part of the current regulations. Messrs. Covlin and Hansen have voiced their displeasure as to how paragraph 803(b) affects their segment. Some of these areas might well be revised under the new CARS.

Current regulations call for a maximum fine of $1,000 for a first offence by a corporation under paragraph 803(b). The recommended minimum fine is $250.00. This minimum was called for in this case, and I see no reason to change that minimum.

DETERMINATION

I find that by Mr. Hansen's own admission West Wind Airspray Ltd. did contravene paragraph 803(b) of the Air Regulations on both counts. I confirm the Minister's decision to assess a monetary penalty of $250.00 for each count.

Fred W.R. Clarke
Member
Civil Aviation Tribunal

Décisions

Dossier no W-1177-41 (TAC)
Dossier no SAP-6504-C6367-27033 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Ministre des Transports, requérant(e)

- et -

West Wind Airspray Ltd., intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, ch. A-2, art. 7.7
Règlement de l'Air, C.R.C. 1978, ch. 2, al. 803b)

Personne en mesure de maîtriser l'aéronef


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Fred W.R. Clarke


Décision : le 22 mai 1996

TRADUCTION

Je statue que, de son propre aveu, M. Peter Hansen (West Wind Airspray Ltd.) a contrevenu à l'alinéa 803b) du Règlement de l'Air sous deux chefs d'accusation. Je confirme la décision du ministre d'imposer une amende de 250,00 $ pour chacun des chefs. L'amende de 500,00 $ est payable au Receveur général du Canada et doit parvenir au Tribunal de l'aviation civile dans les quinze jours suivant la réception de la présente décision.

L'audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le mercredi 8 mai 1996 à 10 h au Canada Place de la ville d'Edmonton (Alberta).

HISTORIQUE

L'Avis d'amende pour contravention se lit en partie comme suit :

En vertu de l'article 7.7 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, le ministre des Transports a décidé de vous imposer une amende parce que vous avez contrevenu aux dispositions suivantes :

Alinéa 803b) du Règlement de l'Air :

Chef d'accusation no 1 : 250,00 $ : À ou près de Lethbridge (Alberta), le ou vers le 3 août 1995, aux environs de 19 h 15 UTC, vous avez laissé en marche le moteur d'un aéronef Ayres S-2R portant les marques d'immatriculation canadienne C-GTUZ alors que le siège du pilote n'était pas occupé par une personne parfaitement en mesure de maîtriser l'aéronef.

Chef d'accusation no 2 : 250,00 $ : À ou près de Lethbridge (Alberta), le ou vers le 4 août 1995, aux environs de 15 h 50 UTC, vous avez laissé en marche le moteur d'un aéronef Ayres S-2R portant les marques d'immatriculation canadienne C-GTUZ alors que le siège du pilote n'était pas occupé par une personne parfaitement en mesure de maîtriser l'aéronef.

West Wind Airspray Ltd. n'a pas payé l'amende de 500,00 $ exigible le 4 décembre 1995.

LA LOI

L'alinéa 803b) du Règlement de l'Air se lit comme suit :

803. Le moteur ou les moteurs d'un aéronef seront mis en marche,

a) seulement lorsque le siège du pilote sera occupé par une personne parfaitement en mesure de maîtriser cet aéronef ou que cet aéronef sera empêché d'avancer,

b) ou ne seront laissés en marche que si le siège du pilote est occupé par une personne parfaitement en mesure de maîtriser l'aéronef.

LA PREUVE

L'agent d'audience avait lu tout ce qui précède pour inscription aux dossiers et se préparait à l'audience lorsque Richard Covlin, avocat de West Wind Airspray Ltd. a annoncé que son client désirait admettre sa culpabilité aux deux chefs d'accusation.

Après discussion avec les deux parties, l'audience s'est poursuivie et Me Covlin a appelé M. Peter Hansen, président de West Wind Airspray Ltd., à déposer son témoignage assermenté sur les contraventions. Le témoignage reposait sur le caractère désuet de l'alinéa 803b) du Règlement de l'Air puisque la plupart des techniciens en pulvérisation procèdent de la même façon : il est pratique courante lors du réchauffage du moteur de laisser le moteur en marche pendant que l'on s'affaire à d'autres activités. Le fait est particulièrement vrai dans le cas des Ayers S-2R à cause du temps qu'il faut pour réchauffer le moteur radial. Il a ajouté que le secteur de son hangar était sécuritaire à ce moment, que les freins de stationnement avaient été appliqués, la vitesse de rotation était d'environ 500 – 700 et qu'il n'y avait personne dans le secteur. Il n'était pas certain d'avoir installé des blocs mais les freins de stationnement étaient appliqués.

Dans un bref contre-interrogatoire, M. Ribout a signalé que l'article 803 ne prévoit pas d'exception pour le réchauffement du moteur.

CONCLUSION

Le fait que M. Hansen ait attendu l'audience pour admettre sa culpabilité aux deux chefs d'accusation indique clairement qu'il souhaitait faire une déclaration par l'entremise de Me Covlin. La déclaration visait à signaler le caractère désuet du raisonnement sur lequel se fondent les alinéas 803a) et b) du Règlement de l'Air.

Leur preuve soulignait le fait que le Alberta Aerial Applicators Association et le Canadian Aerial Applicators Association ont tous deux exercé énormément de pressions contre l'application de l'alinéa 803b). Me Covlin a dit que la nouvelle réglementation aérienne canadienne (RAC) pourrait vraisemblablement contenir des modifications à l'alinéa 803b) permettant aux exploitants de réchauffer leur moteur dans certaines conditions. Me Covlin a souligné que l'alinéa 803a) comportait plus de danger que l'alinéa 803b) puisque les aéronefs modernes comportent des freins de stationnement qui posent moins de problèmes que lorsque les aéronefs étaient actionnés par hélice.

Me Covlin a proposé une réduction de l'amende pour chacun des chefs d'accusation, ce qui serait plus conforme aux modifications prévues lorsque la nouvelle réglementation RAC sera mise en vigueur.

M. Ribout a fait un bref commentaire sur les modifications de la réglementation RAC et a indiqué que l'importance accordée à l'alinéa 803b) pourrait être très différente de ce que M. Hansen et Me Covlin attendaient. Il a ajouté qu'une augmentation de l'amende maximale de 1 000,00 $ à 5 000,00 $ dans un cas de violation de l'alinéa 803b) par une entreprise pourrait être plus près de la réalité.

L'aveu par l'intimé de sa culpabilité aux deux chefs d'accusation rend ma décision beaucoup plus facile. J'ai entendu la suggestion de Me Covlin de réduire l'amende et j'ai également entendu les arguments de M. Ribout contre la réduction.

Plusieurs secteurs de l'industrie aérienne sont en désaccord avec certains aspects de la présente réglementation. Me Covlin et M. Hansen ont exprimé leur désaccord sur le lien entre l'alinéa 803b) et leur type d'activité. Certains de ces aspects de la réglementation pourraient bien être révisés avec la venue de la nouvelle réglementation RAC.

La réglementation actuelle prévoit une amende maximale de 1 000,00 $ dans le cas d'une première infraction par une entreprise en vertu de l'alinéa 803b). L'amende minimale recommandée est de 250,00 $, amende qui avait été imposée dans ce cas. Je ne pourrais justifier de modification à cette amende.

DÉCISION

Je statue que, de l'aveu de M. Hansen, West Wind Airspray Ltd. a enfreint l'alinéa 803b) du Règlement de l'Air à deux reprises. Je confirme la décision du ministre d'imposer une amende de 250,00 $ à l'égard de chacun des chefs d'accusation.

Fred W.R. Clarke
Conseiller
Tribunal de l'aviation civile