Decisions

CAT File No. W-1443-41
MoT File No. SAP-6504-C5319-29182

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Minister of Transport, Applicant

- and -

Buffalo Airways Ltd., Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, S.C., c.A-2, s.7.7
Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96-433, s. 703, 704, 705.43(2)

Safety Briefing of Passengers, Due Diligence, Defenses


Review Determination
Faye H. Smith


Decision: September 23, 1997

Subsection 705.43(2) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations requires that air operators ensure that required safety briefings be given in English and in French. No exception or exemption was sought or given in this case. I have no option but to confirm the decision of the Minister of Transport to assess a penalty in the amount of $500.00. This amount is to be made payable to the Receiver General for Canada and received by the Civil Aviation Tribunal within fifteen days of service of this Determination.

This matter came on for a Review Hearing at the offices of Indian and Northern Affairs Canada, Yellowknife, N.W.T., September 16, 1997 at 10:00 hours.

PRELIMINARY MOTION

At the commencement of the hearing Mr. MacNab made a motion to amend the Notice of Assessment of Monetary Penalty to delete the reference to "Designated Provisions Regulations, SOR/86-596 (Air Regulations, Series 1, Number 3)" and to substitute "Canadian Aviation Regulations, section 103.08, Designated Provisions." There was no objection, and the motion to amend was granted.

THE LAW

Subsections 705.43(1) and (2) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs):

705.43 (1) An air operator shall ensure that passengers are given a safety briefing in accordance with the Commercial Air Service Standards.

(2) An air operator shall ensure that the safety briefing referred to in subsection (1) is given in English and French.

CASE FOR THE MINISTER

Transport Canada's representative filed three Secretary's Certificates, one attesting to Buffalo Airways Ltd. being the registered owner of aircraft C-GPNR, a second being the Air Operator Certificate for that aircraft, as well as a third indicating that no authorization had been granted to permit the operation of DC-3 aeroplanes pursuant to sections 703 and 704 of the Canadian Aviation Regulations.

In addition to the documentary evidence filed, the Minister called one witness, Ms. Jennifer Johnston who is employed as a Regional Superintendent, Cabin Safety, Transport Canada Aviation, in Edmonton, Alberta. As part of her duties Ms. Johnston carries out inspections of airlines regarding cabin safety issues. She indicated by way of background that she has worked at Transport Canada for twelve years and prior to that time had been a flight attendant for eleven years.

Ms. Johnston recalled having notified Buffalo Airways Ltd. that she would be in Yellowknife and would be doing a routine inspection of the air carrier. She further indicated that Flight Number 171/172 referred to above was a commercial flight with passengers. She stated that she knew there were more than twenty seats as she recalled having counted them.

It was the evidence of Ms. Johnston that on November 13, 1996 she carried out an inspection of Buffalo Airways Flight 171/172 being a DC-3 registered as C-GPNR at Yellowknife (Fort Simpson – Yellowknife route). Ms. Johnston listed the deficiencies found in her inspection in a document signed by her following the inspection and filed as Exhibit M-1 being the Passenger Safety Cabin Inspections Report. The entry relevant to our hearing today is that: "safety announcements were not done in French language per CAR 705.43(2)."

It was the evidence of Ms. Johnston that all of the pre-flight and in-flight announcements were given in the English language only.

The Minister urged that a violation of subsection 705.43(2) has been established on a balance of probabilities in that flight announcements were not provided in the French language on flights 171/172 by Buffalo Airways Ltd. on the relevant date. At that time, the section was binding on all air carriers having come into force with the implementation of the Canadian Aviation Regulations and had been contained in the prior legislation as at March of 1996. The Minister's representative stated that it was incumbent on the air carrier to provide the briefings in both official languages to ensure the maximum safety. It was his view that the penalty of $500.00, where the maximum was $1,250.00 for a corporation, was sufficient as a deterrent.

THE DEFENCE

By way of defence, Mr. Vanderaegen advised the Tribunal that the fact of the flight was not in dispute. He wanted to advise the Tribunal of the extenuating circumstances that contributed to this occurrence, and to do so, he called Mr. Garrett Pigden as his witness.

Mr. Pigden stated that he had been employed by Buffalo Airways Ltd. for a period of four years, during three of which he occupied the position of Chief Flight Attendant. The duties of this position included keeping manuals up to date, training of flight attendants and performing checks.

It was the evidence of Mr. Pigden that he now knows that flight announcements were to have been given in French as at March of 1996, although at the relevant time in November of 1996, he believed it to be required as at October 1996[1]. He further indicated that with the implementation of the legislative changes of October 1996, it was necessary to rewrite the Flight Attendant Manuals and that this was his first priority. Mr. Pigden stated that some carriers were disputing the requirement for French language briefings and that he thought he had more time to deal with it.

When he received a letter from Aviation Enforcement in December of 1996, it was apparent to him that the requirement for flight announcements in French was a priority; thus he wrote them out in English and sent them to Transport Canada for approval prior to sending them for translation. Evidently, Mr. Pigden encountered some delays as Ms. Johnston was on leave, and his other contact at Transport Canada was unable to approve the format. Ultimately the announcements were approved as translated and provision for their use was made as set out in a letter dated March 24, 1997, addressed to Jennifer Johnston and signed by Mr. Pigden, filed as Exhibit D-1 herein.

Mr. Vanderaegen, on behalf of the air carrier, stated that there is no question of whether the section was breached. He stated that, due to the timing of the regulations in March and the changes coming in with the Canadian Aviation Regulations in this same time frame, the problem was that a person in the company had not set the right priorities, and there was some confusion. On the issue of a penalty, he urged that the Tribunal not increase the amount.

CONCLUSION

Subsection 705.43(2) of the CARs as set out above requires that air operators ensure that required safety briefings be given in English and in French. No exception or exemption was sought or given in this case. While the representative of the air carrier made a valiant attempt to explain the confusion which was occurring at the time, I believe this falls short of establishing a defence of due diligence, as to be duly diligent one would have to be aware of the existence of the regulation which does not appear to be the case.

DETERMINATION

While I have some sympathy for the burdens occasioned by changing legislation, I have no option in this matter but to confirm the decision of the Minister of Transport to assess a penalty in the amount of $500.00.

Faye Smith
Chairperson
Civil Aviation Tribunal


[1] With the implementation of the Canadian Aviation Regulations

Décisions

Dossier no W-1443-41 (TAC)
Dossier no SAP-6504-C5319-29182 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Ministre des Transports, requérant(e)

- et -

Buffalo Airways Ltd., intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, S.C., c. A-2, art. 7.7
Règlement de l'Aviation canadien, SOR/96-433, art. 703, 704, 705.43(2)

Défenses, Diligence raisonnable, Exposé sur les mesures de sécurité à l'intention des passagers


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Faye H. Smith


Décision : le 23 septembre 1997

TRADUCTION

Le paragraphe 705.43(2) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien stipule que l'exploitant aérien doit s'assurer que l'exposé sur les mesures de sécurité est donné en français et en anglais. Aucune exception ni exemption n'ayant été demandée ou donnée dans le cas présent, Je n'ai pas d'autre choix que de confirmer la décision du ministre des Transports d'imposer une amende de 500,00 $. L'Amende payable au Receveur général du Canada doit parvenir au Tribunal de l'aviation civile dans les quinze jours suivant la signification de la présente décision.

L'audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue dans les bureaux des Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada à Yellowknife (T. N.-O.) le 16 septembre 1997 à 10 h.

MOTION PRÉLIMINAIRE

En début d'audience, M. MacNab a présenté une motion de modification de l'Avis d'amende pour contravention visant à enlever la référence « Règlement sur les textes désignés, DORS/86-596 (Règlement de l'Air, série I, no 3) » et la remplacer par « Règlement de l'aviation canadien, article 103.08, Textes désignés. » Aucune objection n'a été soulevée et la motion de modification a été accordée.

LA LOI

Les paragraphes 705.43(1) et (2) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC) stipulent ce qui suit :

705.43 (1) L'exploitant aérien doit s'assurer qu'un exposé sur les mesures de sécurité est donné aux passagers conformément aux Normes de service aérien commercial.

(2) L'exploitant aérien doit s'assurer que l'exposé visé au paragraphe (1) est donné en français et en anglais.

EXPOSÉ DU MINISTRE

Le représentant de Transports Canada a versé trois certificats du secrétaire au dossier, le premier attestant que Buffalo Airways Ltd. est propriétaire enregistré de l'aéronef C-GPNR, le deuxième étant le certificat d'exploitation aérienne dudit aéronef et le troisième indiquant qu'il n'y avait pas eu d'autorisation permettant d'exploiter les avions DC-3 en vertu des articles 703 et 704 du Règlement de l'aviation canadien.

En plus de la preuve documentaire versée au dossier, le ministre a appelé un témoin, Mme Jennifer Johnston, surintendante régionale – Sécurité des cabines – Edmonton (Alberta). Dans le cadre de ses fonctions, Mme Johnston effectue des inspections auprès des lignes aériennes en ce qui a trait à la sécurité dans les cabines. Son expérience de travail comporte douze ans chez Transports Canada avant quoi, elle a été agent de bord pendant onze ans.

Mme Johnston a mentionné avoir avisé Buffalo Airways Ltd. qu'elle serait à Yellowknife et qu'elle effectuerait un contrôle systématique du transporteur aérien. Elle a ensuite indiqué que le vol 171/172 mentionné ci-dessus était un vol-passagers commercial. Elle a déclaré qu'elle savait qu'il y avait plus de 20 sièges puisqu'elle se rappelait les avoir comptés.

Dans son témoignage, Mme Johnston a expliqué que le 13 novembre 1996, elle avait effectué l'inspection du vol 171/172 de Buffalo Airways, soit un DC-3 immatriculé C-GPNR à Yellowknife (route Fort Simpson – Yellowknife). Mme Johnston a énuméré les anomalies relevées durant son inspection dans un document qu'elle a signé à la suite de l'inspection et versé au dossier en guise de pièce M-1; il s'agit du Passenger Safety Cabin Inspections Report. La mention se rapportant à l'audience d'aujourd'hui stipule que « les mesures de sécurité n'avaient pas été annoncées en français conformément au RAC 705.43(2). »

La preuve de Mme Johnston démontrait que tous les messages précédant le vol et durant le vol ont été donnés en langue anglaise seulement.

Le ministre a plaidé que, selon la prépondérance des probabilités, il y avait eu contravention au paragraphe 705.43(2) puisque les messages relatifs au vol n'avaient pas été effectués en français lors des vols 171/172 de Buffalo Airways Ltd. à la date en question. À l'époque, l'article liait tous les transporteurs aériens; il avait été mis en vigueur avec l'adoption du Règlement de l'aviation canadien et il faisait même partie de la loi précédente de mars 1996. Le représentant du ministre a déclaré qu'il incombait au transporteur aérien de donner les exposés dans les deux langues officielles, assurant ainsi un maximum de sécurité. Il estimait qu'une amende de 500,00 $, alors que l'amende maximale imposée à une personne morale est de 1 250,00 $, constituait une mesure dissuasive suffisante.

LA DÉFENSE

En guise de défense, M. Vanderaegen a avisé le Tribunal qu'il ne contestait pas la réalité du vol. Il a voulu faire part au Tribunal des circonstances atténuantes entourant l'événement, et c'est pourquoi, il a appelé M. Garrett Pigden comme témoin.

M. Pigden a déclaré qu'il était au service de Buffalo Airways Ltd. depuis quatre ans et que durant trois d'entre elles, il avait occupé le poste d'agent de bord en chef. Les tâches reliées à ce poste comportaient entre autres la mise à jour des manuels, la formation des agents de bord et les activités d'inspection.

M. Pigden a témoigné qu'il sait maintenant que les messages relatifs au vol devaient être donnés en français depuis mars 1996 bien qu'au moment de l'incident, soit en novembre 1996, il croyait que l'exigence remontait à octobre 1996[1]. Il a de plus expliqué qu'avec la mise en vigueur des modifications à la loi d'octobre 1996, il avait fallu réécrire les manuels du personnel de bord, ce qui avait été sa priorité. M. Pigden a déclaré que certains transporteurs contestaient l'exigence de donner les exposés en français et il croyait donc qu'il disposait de plus de temps devant lui.

Lorsqu'il a reçu une lettre du service d'Application des règlements de l'aéronautique en décembre 1996, il est devenu évident à ses yeux que les messages relatifs au vol devaient être donnés en français et que c'était une priorité. Il les a donc écrits en anglais et les a soumis à l'approbation de Transports Canada, après quoi il fallait les faire traduire. De toute évidence, M. Pigden a fait face à des délais puisque Mme Johnston était absente et que l'autre personne-ressource de Transports Canada ne pouvait approuver les textes. Finalement, la traduction des messages a été approuvée et on a pris des mesures visant leur utilisation, comme le confirme une lettre du 24 mars 1997 adressée à Jennifer Johnston, signée par M. Pigden et constituant la pièce D-1 ci-jointe.

M. Vanderaegen, au nom du transporteur aérien, a déclaré qu'il ne conteste pas le fait qu'il y ait eu inexécution d'un article. Il a déclaré qu'à cause des modifications à la loi en mars et à celles découlant du Règlement de l'aviation canadien dans le même laps de temps, un employé de l'entreprise a mal établi les priorités et il y a eu confusion. Il a insisté pour que le Tribunal n'augmente pas l'amende imposée.

CONCLUSION

Le paragraphe 705.43(2) du RAC cité ci-dessus exige que les exploitants aériens s'assurent que les exposés sur les mesures de sécurité sont donnés en français et en anglais. Aucune exception ni exemption n'a été demandée ou donnée dans ce cas. Bien que le représentant du transporteur aérien ait courageusement tenté d'expliquer la confusion qui régnait à l'époque, je crains qu'il n'ait pu démontrer que toutes les mesures nécessaires avaient été prises puisque pour qu'il en soit ainsi, il aurait fallu connaître l'existence du règlement, ce qui ne semble pas être le cas.

DÉCISION

Bien que je comprenne le fardeau entraîné par les modifications apportées à la loi, je n'ai pas d'autre choix que de confirmer la décision du ministre des Transports d'imposer une amende de 500,00 $.

Faye Smith
Présidente
Tribunal de l'aviation civile


[1] Avec la mise en vigueur du Règlement de l'aviation canadien