Decisions

CAT File No. W-1733-41
MoT File No. SAP-6504-C2273-31177

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Minister of Transport, Applicant

- and -

Kenn Borek Air Ltd., Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96-433, s. 605.31(1)

Notice, Oxygen, Incomplete Notice


Review Determination
Pierre Rivest


Decision: July 27, 1999

In response to the Notice of Application filed by the Respondent, I dismiss the Minister's allegation based on the fact that, in this case, the allegation is incomplete and written incorrectly and does not sufficiently agree with the text or the spirit of subsection 605.31(1) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations. I consequently cancel the penalty of $1,000 assessed against the Respondent.

A Review Hearing on the above matter was held July 27, 1999 at 10:00 hours at the Federal Court of Canada, in Calgary, Alberta.

BACKGROUND

Kenn Borek Air Ltd., the Respondent, was alleged to have contravened subsection 605.31(1) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs), in that on December 6, 1997, near the South Pole, one of its unpressurized aircraft was operated at an altitude above 13,000 feet above sea level (ASL) without sufficient oxygen dispensing units for all persons on board.

A monetary penalty of $1,000.00 was assessed. Since it was not paid by the due date of December 15, 1998, the case was brought before the Tribunal for review.

THE LAW

Subsection 605.31(1) of the CARs:

605.31 (1) No person shall operate an unpressurized aircraft unless it is equipped with sufficient oxygen dispensing units and oxygen supply to comply with the requirements set out in the table to this subsection.

TABLE

OXYGEN REQUIREMENTS FOR UNPRESSURIZED AIRCRAFT

1.

All crew members and 10 per cent of passengers and, in any case, no less than one passenger

Entire period of flight exceeding 30 minutes at cabin-pressure-altitudes above 10,000 feet ASL but not exceeding 13,000 feet ASL

2.

All persons on board the aircraft

(a) Entire period of flight at cabin-pressure-altitudes above 13,000 feet ASL

(b) For aircraft operated in an air transport service under the conditions referred to in paragraph (a), a period of flight of not less than one hour

Since this case involves a commercial air transport service, item 2 of column I and paragraph (b) of column II in the table are applicable.

NOTICE OF APPLICATION

After the usual presentations, but before hearing evidence from either of the parties, a response to a Notice of Application filed with the Tribunal on the previous day by the Respondent (Exhibit D-1) was required. The document in question contains a duly signed and sworn statement to which several appendices are attached, marked as A to F.

This Notice of Application seeks an outright dismissal of the allegation or at least a postponement to a later date (see paragraphs 14 and 15 of D-1).

The representative of Transport Canada, Mr. McFarlane, having only received the documentation the morning of the hearing, requested a 20-minute recess to become familiar with it. The recess was granted.

After the recess, I asked the Respondent's representative, Mr. Davis, to further explain the basis for his Notice of Application to the Tribunal.

Essentially, everything is based on the following arguments:

The manner in which the allegation was formulated by Transport Canada in the Notice of Assessment of Monetary Penalty indicates that the alleged error results from the fact that aircraft C-GXXB did not have sufficient oxygen dispensing units on board during the flight of December 6, 1997. The Respondent's representative therefore prepared its defence accordingly.

However, subsequently during various conversations between the representatives of the Respondent and those of Transport Canada, it became apparent that it was not so much that there was a shortage of oxygen dispensing units that mattered rather than their availability to passengers (6 parachutists).

According to the Respondent, this aspect of the issue does not appear in the original allegation and this application of subsection 606.31(1) changes the whole approach of the defence. Verbal and written communications on the subject between Transport Canada and the Respondent are proof of this (appendices C, D, E and F of D-1).

Consequently, Mr. Davis asked the Tribunal to dismiss the allegation against his client, or at least, to postpone the hearing until such time as the defence has had the time to prepare itself in view of the new approach of Transport Canada. This could include the possibility of having witnesses appear who, in the current context, would not be required.

As for the Minister's representative, he indicated that he was prepared to argue subsection 605.31(1) on the basis of the availability as well as of the quantity of oxygen dispensing units on board aircraft C-GXXB on December 6, 1997, while at the same time giving the impression that the quantity might have been sufficient.

Finally, there was also some question as to whether another subsection of the CARs, subsection 605.32(2), could be used. This subsection states:

(2) Where an aircraft is operated at cabin-pressure-altitudes above 13,000 feet ASL, each person on board the aircraft shall wear an oxygen mask and use supplemental oxygen for the duration of the flight at those altitudes.

This suggestion was rejected immediately by the Tribunal since any new allegation would not be part of the current hearing and would have to be made in accordance with the appropriate sections and provisions of the Aeronautics Act, which would not be the case under the circumstances.

Following these arguments, while still considering the Notice of Application, the Tribunal had to make one of the following decisions:

  1. Dismiss the Respondent's application and proceed with the hearing in accordance with the allegation as written and submitted by the Minister.
  2. Adjourn the hearing to allow the Respondent to better prepare its defence based on the new approach of Transport Canada regarding the issue of availability of oxygen rather than the quantity.
  3. Grant the Respondent's application and dismiss the Minister's allegation.

Given that this was a response to a Notice of Application, the decision had to be made at the hearing.

ANALYSIS

Considering the discussions that took place regarding the issues of quantity and availability of oxygen dispensing units on board the aircraft, considering that the availability aspect is not part of the allegation and considering that the grounds of defence are not the same depending on whether the issue is quantity or availability, option 1 must be rejected.

Before selecting option 2 or 3, the following factors must be considered:

  • In the allegation, there is no mention of the availability of oxygen dispensing units. The reference to the availability of oxygen is made by Transport Canada, signed by Mr. McFarlane, on June 28, 1999 (appendix D – 2nd paragraph of D-1).
  • Furthermore, the registration of the aircraft involved in the incident is not indicated. The only mention of the registration is in the letter dated July 14, 1999, signed by Mr. Davis and addressed to Transport Canada (appendix E of D-1).
  • Finally, in his letter of July 15, 1999 (appendix F of D-1), Mr. McFarlane returns to the issue of quantity of oxygen, but this time, not for all persons on board, as stipulated in the allegation and in the table included in subsection 605.31(1), but only for the passengers, thereby excluding crew members, which is contrary to the regulation.

However, the Respondent submits that there was sufficient oxygen on board the aircraft, and Transport Canada was informed of this (paragraph 4 of the affidavit, D-1).

  • At this stage, it is important to note that the issues of quantity and availability in consideration of subsection 605.31(1), including the table that accompanies it, are two necessary elements for correctly interpreting and using this section. We could, for example, state that the availability was sufficient, but that the quantity was not. It must therefore be known if we want to argue quantity only, availability only or both.
  • Adjourning the hearing in order to give the Respondent time to prepare its defence based on the new approach of Transport Canada would have meant that the allegation, as written, was satisfactory in all respects, which contradicts what we have just seen.
  • The third option remains. I then asked Mr. McFarlane if Transport Canada had changed its approach in consideration of the issue of availability before or after written and verbal communications with the Respondent took place. He answered before.

CONCLUSION

I therefore concluded that Transport Canada did not have all the elements at hand, despite its investigation, to make an allegation and to write it accurately. In light of the arguments heard today, it seems to me that it was essential to mention all elements in the allegation, namely the quantity and availability of oxygen dispensing units for all persons on board aircraft C-GXXB. It therefore seems unfair to me that a case can be argued when certain significant items are added or changed in the process, to the detriment of the Respondent.

DETERMINATION

In response to the Notice of Application filed by the Respondent, I dismiss the Minister's allegation based on the fact that, in this case, the allegation is incomplete and written incorrectly and does not sufficiently agree with the text or the spirit of subsection 605.31(1) of the CARs. I consequently cancel the penalty of $1,000 assessed against the Respondent.

Pierre Rivest
Member
Civil Aviation Tribunal

Décisions

Dossier no W-1733-41 (TAC)
Dossier no SAP-6504-C2273-31177 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Ministre des Transports, requérant(e)

- et -

Kenn Borek Air Ltd., intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Règlement de l'aviation canadien, SOR/96-433, par. 605.31(1)

Avis, Quantité d'oxygène, Disponibilité d'oxygène, Avis incomplet


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Pierre Rivest


Décision : le 27 juillet 1999

TRADUCTION

Je donne suite à l'Avis de motion déposé par l'intimé et rejette l'accusation du ministre en me basant sur le fait que, dans le cas présent, l'acte d'accusation est incomplet et incorrectement rédigé, ne concordant pas suffisamment ni avec le texte ni avec l'esprit du paragraphe 605.31(1) du RAC. J'élimine par le fait même l'amende de 1 000 $ imposée à l'intimé.

Une audience on révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le 27 juillet 1999, à 10 heures à la Cour fédérale du Canada, à Calgary (Alberta).

HISTORIQUE

Kenn Borek Air Ltd., l'intimé, a été accusé d'avoir contrevenu au paragraphe 605.31(1) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC) alors que le 6 décembre 1997, près du pôle Sud, alors qu'un de ses aéronefs, non pressurisé, aurait été utilisé à une altitude supérieure à 13 000 pieds au-dessus du niveau de la mer (ASL) sans qu'il y ait d'unités distributrices d'oxygène suffisantes pour toutes les personnes à bord.

Une amende de 1 000,00 $ a été imposée. Celle-ci n'ayant pas été payée à la date limite du 15 décembre 1998, la cause s'est retrouvée devant le Tribunal pour révision.

LA LOI

Le paragraphe 605.31(1) du RAC stipule :

605.31 (1) Il est interdit d'utiliser un aéronef non pressurisé à moins que l'aéronef ne soit muni d'unités distributrices d'oxygène et d'une réserve d'oxygène suffisantes pour satisfaire aux exigences visées au tableau du présent paragraphe.

TABLEAU

EXIGENCES RELATIVES À L'OXYGÈNE D'UN AÉRONEF NON PRESSURISÉ

1.

Tous les membres d'équipage et 10 pour cent du nombre de passagers; dans tous les cas, au moins un passager

Au cours de la période totale du vol de plus de 30 minutes à une altitude-pression de cabine supérieure à 10 000 pieds ASL, sans dépasser 13 000 pieds ASL

2.

Toutes les personnes à bord de l'aéronef

a) Au cours de la période totale du vol à une altitude-pression de cabine supérieure à 13 000 pieds ASL

b) dans le cas d'un aéronef utilisé dans le cadre d'un service de transport aérien, au cours de la période du vol dans les conditions visées à l'alinéa a) qui est d'au moins une heure

Dans la présente cause, comme il s'agit d'un transporteur aérien commercial, c'est l'article 2, de la colonne I ainsi que le sous-alinéa b) de la colonne II du tableau qui s'appliquent.

AVIS DE MOTION

Après les présentations usuelles, mais avant d'entendre l'exposé de la preuve de chacune des parties, il a fallu répondre à un Avis de motion déposé la veille au Tribunal par l'intimé (pièce D-l). Le document en question comprend une déclaration dûment signée et assermentée à laquelle sont attachées plusieurs annexes portant les lettres A à F.

Cet Avis de motion demande le rejet purement et simplement de l'accusation ou, tout au moins, son report à une date ultérieure (voir les paragraphes 14 et 15 de D-1).

Le représentant de Transports Canada, M. McFarlane, n'ayant reçu cette documentation que le matin même de l'audience, a demandé une pause de 20 minutes pour en prendre connaissance, ce qui lui a été accordé.

Après la pause, j'ai demandé au représentant de l'intimé, Me Davis d'expliquer davantage au Tribunal les fondements sur lesquels reposent son Avis de motion.

Essentiellement, tout repose sur les arguments suivants :

La façon dont l'allégation est formulée par Transports Canada dans l'acte d'accusation indique que la faute reprochée vient du fait qu'il n'y avait pas assez d'unités distributrices d'oxygène à bord de l'aéronef C-GXXB lors du vol du 6 décembre 1997. Le représentant de l'intimé a donc préparé sa défense en conséquence.

Cependant, par la suite, au cours de différentes conversations entre les représentants de l'intimé et ceux de Transports Canada il est apparu que ce n'était pas tellement le manque d'unités distributrices d'oxygène qui était vraiment en cause mais plutôt sa disponibilité aux passagers (6 parachutistes).

Or, pour l'intimé, cet aspect de la question n'apparaît pas dans l'allégation originale et cette application du paragraphe 605.31(1) change toute l'approche de la défense. Les discussions verbales et écrites à ce sujet entre Transports Canada et l'intimé en font foi (annexes C, D, E, F de D-1).

En conséquence de quoi, Me Davis demande au Tribunal de rejeter l'accusation portée contre sa cliente ou, tout au moins, d'ajourner l'audience jusqu'à ce que la défense ait eu le temps de se préparer par rapport à la nouvelle approche de Transports Canada, ce qui peut comprendre la possibilité de faire comparaître des témoins qui, dans le contexte actuel, n'auraient pas été requis.

Pour sa part, le représentant du ministre se dit prêt à débattre le paragraphe 605.31(1) sur la base de la disponibilité autant que sur celle de la quantité des unités distributrices d'oxygène à bord de l'avion C-GXXB le 6 décembre 1997, tout en laissant entendre en même temps que la quantité pouvait avoir été suffisante.

Finalement, il fut également question d'un autre paragraphe du RAC, le 605.32(2) qui pourrait être utilisé. Ce paragraphe stipule :

(2) Lorsqu'un aéronef est utilisé à une altitude-pression de cabine supérieure à 13 000 pieds ASL, chaque personne à bord doit porter un masque à oxygène et utiliser de l'oxygène d'appoint au cours de la durée du vol à ces altitudes.

Cette suggestion a été rejetée d'emblée par le Tribunal considérant que toute nouvelle allégation ne fait pas partie de la présente audience et qu'elle doit se faire selon les articles et les règles appropriés de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, ce qui ne serait pas le cas dans les circonstances.

À la suite de ce débat, et toujours en considération de l'Avis de motion, le Tribunal devait prendre une des décisions suivantes :

  1. Rejeter la requête de l'intimé et procéder avec l'audience telle que l'accusation est rédigée et soumise par le ministre.
  2. Ajourner l'audience pour permettre à l'intimé de mieux préparer sa défense à la lumière de la nouvelle approche de Transports Canada concernant la question de la disponibilité d'oxygène au lieu de la quantité.
  3. Accorder la requête de l'intimé et rejeter l'accusation du ministre.

Étant donné qu'il s'agissait de répondre à un Avis de motion, on comprendra que la décision devait se prendre sur le banc.

ANALYSE

Considérant les discussions qui ont eu lieu au sujet de la question de quantité et de disponibilité d'unités distributrices d'oxygène à bord de l'appareil, considérant que l'aspect disponibilité ne fait pas partie de l'acte d'accusation et considérant que les moyens de défenses ne sont pas les mêmes selon que l'on parle de quantité ou de disponibilité, l'option 1 doit être rejetée.

Avant de choisir l'option 2 ou 3, il faut considérer les facteurs suivants :

  • Dans l'acte d'accusation il n'y est pas fait mention de la disponibilité des unités distributrices d'oxygène; la référence à la disponibilité de l'oxygène est faite par Transports Canada sous la signature de M. McFarlane, en date du 28 juin 1999 (annexe D – 2e paragraphe – de D-1).
  • De plus, l'immatriculation de l'appareil impliqué dans l'incident n'est pas indiquée. La seule référence à l'immatriculation se trouve dans la lettre du 14 juillet 1999, signée par Me Davis et adressée à Transports Canada (annexe E de D-1).
  • Finalement, dans sa lettre du 15 juillet 1999 (annexe F de D-1), M. McFarlane revient sur la question de la quantité d'oxygène, mais cette fois, non pas pour toutes les personnes à bord, tel que le stipule l'acte d'accusation ainsi que le tableau qui accompagne le paragraphe 605.31(1), mais seulement pour les passagers, excluant ainsi les membres d'équipage, ce qui est contraire à la réglementation.

Or, l'intimé prétend qu'il y avait suffisamment d'oxygène à bord de l'avion et en a informé Transports Canada (paragraphe 4 de l'affidavit, D-1).

  • À ce stade-ci, il est important de noter que les questions de quantité et de disponibilité eu égard au paragraphe 605.31(1), y compris le tableau qui l'accompagne, sont deux éléments nécessaires pour bien interpréter et utiliser l'article en question. On pourrait, par exemple, déclarer que la disponibilité est suffisante mais que la quantité ne l'est pas. Il faut donc savoir si l'on veut débattre de la quantité seulement, de la disponibilité seulement ou des deux.
  • Avoir ajourné l'audience afin de laisser à l'intimé le temps de préparer sa défense selon la nouvelle approche de Transports Canada aurait signifié que l'accusation, telle que rédigée, était satisfaisante à tous les points de vue, ce qui vient en contradiction avec ce que nous venons de voir.
  • Reste donc la troisième option. J'ai alors demandé à M. McFarlane si Transports Canada avait changé son approche eu égard à la question de disponibilité avant ou après que les discussion écrites et verbales avec l'intimé ont eu lieu? Il m'a répondu avant.

CONCLUSION

J'ai donc conclu que Transports Canada n'avait pas tous les éléments en main, malgré son enquête, pour porter son accusation et pour la rédiger adéquatement. À la lumière du débat d'aujourd'hui, il m'apparaît essentiel que tous les éléments, soit la quantité et la disponibilité des unités distributrices d'oxygène, pour toutes les personnes à bord de l'avion C-GXXB, aient été mentionnés dans l'acte d'accusation. Il m'apparaît donc injuste de débattre d'une cause dont certains éléments significatifs s'ajoutent ou changent en cours de route et ce, au détriment de l'intimé.

DÉCISION

Je donne suite à l'Avis de motion déposé par l'intimé et rejette l'accusation du ministre en me basant sur le fait que, dans le cas présent, l'acte d'accusation est incomplet et incorrectement rédigé, ne concordant pas suffisamment ni avec le texte ni avec l'esprit du paragraphe 605.31(1) du RAC. J'élimine par le fait même l'amende de 1 000 $ imposée à l'intimé.

Pierre Rivest
Conseiller
Tribunal de l'aviation civile