Decisions

CAT File No. W-2181-10
MoT File No. SA 5260-9579 (RACR)

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Calgary Flight Training Centre Inc., Applicant

- and -

Minister of Transport, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S., c. 33 (1st Supp), s. 7.1(1)(b)
Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96-433, ss. 406.36, 605.86

Failure to Comply with Conditions of Issuance, Suspension, Operator Certificate


Review Determination
E. David Dover


Decision: June 11, 2001

As a result of the deficiencies found in the audit, i find that the minister of transport was justified in issuing the notice of suspension dated october 18, 2000 which was to come into effect within thirty (30) days. As the deficiencies were corrected by calgary flight training centre prior to this date, the said suspension did not take place.

A review hearing on the above matter was held Wednesday, April 11, 2001, at 10:00 hours at the Federal Court of Canada in Calgary, Alberta. All witnesses were excused from the courtroom prior to the commencement of proceedings. There were no pre-hearing conferences held between the Applicant and the Respondent.

BACKGROUND

On October 18, 2000, the Minister of Transport, by registered mail, issued a Notice of Suspension under paragraph 7.1(1)(b) of the Aeronautics Act to the Canadian Flight Training Centre suspending their flight training unit (FTU) operator certificate number 9579 dated November 1, 1999.

THE LAW

Paragraph 7.1(1) of the Aeronautics Act:

7.1 (1) Where the Minister decides

[...]

(b) to suspend or cancel a Canadian aviation document on the grounds that the holder of the document is incompetent or the holder or any aircraft, airport or other facility in respect of which the document was issued ceases to have the qualifications necessary for the issuance of the document or to meet or comply with the conditions subject to which the document was issued, or

[...]

the Minister shall, by personal service or by registered mail sent to the holder or to the owner or operator of the aircraft, airport or facility, as the case may be, at the latest known address of the holder, owner or operator, notify the holder, owner or operator of the Minister's decision.

OPENING STATEMENTS

The case presenting officer, Mr. Dan Hrynyk, stated that a Transport Canada inspector, Mr. Mike Delia, conducted a routine inspection in May of 2000, on Calgary Flight Training Centre Inc. During this inspection a number of deficiencies were uncovered which warranted a full audit on the company. Following this audit a notice of suspension was issued to the company with a 30-day time period to correct the deficiencies.

Mr. Aarbo, representing Calgary Flight Training Centre Inc., stated:

  • That the audit was not properly conducted
  • The Notices were incorrect
  • Requested that the audit references be struck from the company record

FOR THE RESPONDENT-The Minister of Transport

The case presenting officer, Mr. Dan Hrynyk, presented the following witnesses.

Mr. Mike Delia was sworn. He stated that Transport Canada employed him as an inspector with Aviation Enforcement.

He testified that in May of 2000 he conducted a routine inspection on Calgary Flight Training Centre Inc. During this inspection he found outstanding Airworthiness Directives (AD) on aircraft that were still in operation. He stated that there were deficiencies in the record keeping and maintenance procedures.

Exhibit M-1 : Copy of a Maintenance & Manufacturing Surveillance Report dated May 17/18/00 directed to Calgary Flight Training Centre Inc. and signed by M. Delia.

This exhibit outlines the AD deficiencies and a recommendation to conduct an internal audit.

Cross-examination

Mr. Aarbo queried Mr. Delia's presence on the Transport Canada audit team, as it was not normal policy to have the assigned inspector on the audit team. Mr. Delia responded that it was not normal practice to have the principal operations inspector but they could be appointed in special cases if the convening authority approved the appointment (Exhibit D-2: Civil Aviation's National Audit Program, section 2.14).

Mr. Brian Schroeder was called as a witness and sworn. He stated that he was an inspector for Transport Canada. He confirmed that upon his review of the reports prepared by Mr. Delia an internal audit should be undertaken on Calgary Flight Training Centre Inc. He stated the convening authority for the audit was Dave McNab of Transport Canada.

Cross-examination

Mr. Schroeder, in reply to a question about how the suspension was issued, stated that the audit committee as a whole issued the suspension.

Mr. Aarbo entered Exhibit D-1, from the FTU operator certificate manual, specifically Suspension/Cancellation procedures. Mr. Schroeder stated that in his opinion all reports covering observer deficiencies were covered.

Mr. Ken Turnbull was called as a witness and sworn. He stated that he was employed as a civil aviation inspector for Transport Canada. He further stated that he was the audit manager for the audit being performed on Calgary Flight Training Centre Inc.

He testified that he prepared Exhibit M-2. This exhibit outlines the extent of the audit giving the entry date of October 2, 2000 and the exit date and meeting of October 6, 2000.

Mr. Turnbull indicated the principal of the company, Mr. Sorensen, was away, and when Mr. Sorensen did contact him he requested to speak to Mr. Turnbull's superior, Mr. McNab.

During the audit, deficiencies were found in the following areas:

  • Training files incomplete
  • Manuals unavailable
  • Overdue time expired replacement items
  • Approved Maintenance Manuals unavailable
  • Aircraft dispatched with outstanding AD's and inspections incomplete

Mr. Turnbull testified that daily progress meetings were held with representatives from the Company.

Exhibit M-3 : Contained in this exhibit are thirteen (13) 24-0019 forms. These forms indicate what corrective action must be undertaken by the company prior to further flight of specific aircraft.

Mr. Turnbull testified that these forms were issued at the daily meetings. He testified that the company tried to be cooperative during the audit. He further stated that at the exit meeting with representatives of Calgary Flight Training Centre Inc. and the audit team the details of the audit were discussed.

Mr. Turnbull stated that in his opinion the company did not recognize the gravity of the situation. He stated that it was decided to recommend a notice of suspension effective in thirty days to the Regional Manager of General Aviation of Transport Canada in Edmonton Alberta.

Cross-examination

Mr. Turnbull testified that the forms outlined in Exhibit M-3 were given out on a daily basis. He further stated that the audit team interviewed three pilots and had daily meetings with either Mr. Dave Vowell or Mr. Michael Dupuis.

Mr. Dave McNab was called as a witness and was sworn. He stated that he was employed as a superintendent for Transport Canada in Calgary, Alberta. He further stated that he was responsible for the activities of ten (10) inspectors.

He stated that aviation companies were audited on a three-year cycle but Calgary Flight Training Centre Inc. was beyond that term.

Exhibit M-4 : This letter dated September 14, 2000 indicates that Mr. McNab has appointed Ken Turnbull as the manager for the audit at Calgary Flight Training Centre Inc.

After analysing the May 2000 reports submitted by Mike Delia he decided to form an audit team and proceed with the audit. Mr. McNab decided to proceed with the audit before recommending a suspension to give the company 30 days to correct the deficiencies.

He testified that he was present at the exit meeting on Monday, October 9, 2000 between Mr. Sorensen and other members of Calgary Flight Training Centre Inc. and the audit team from Transport Canada. Mr. McNab stated that Mr. Sorensen considered the results of the audit to be minor paper problems, but Mr. Sorenson was given notice to correct the situations during the meeting.

Cross-examination

Mr. McNab stated that he decided not to immediately suspend the company's operator certificate because Calgary Flight Training Centre Inc. was cooperating and trying to correct the situations. He stated that following the completion of the audit he did recommend to the Regional Manager of General Aviation to suspend the FTU operator certificate of Calgary Flight Training Centre.

It is not a requirement of Transport Canada to have senior management present at the audits. While Mr. Sorensen was absent for a portion of the audit his employees cooperated.

Mr. Lindsay Cadenhead was called as a witness and sworn. He is the superintendent of flight training standards for Transport Canada.

Mr. Cadenhead was not a member of the audit team. He did attend the exit meeting and after reviewing the reports with Mr. McNab he concurred that a request to suspend should be forwarded to the manager in Edmonton.

Cross-examination

Mr. Cadenhead concurred that the policies outlined in Exhibit D-1 do apply in the conduct of an audit.

THE APPLICANT

Mr. Johnny Sorensen was called as a witness and sworn. He stated that for 12 years he was the president, bookkeeper and maintenance coordinator for Calgary Flight Training Centre Inc.

He admitted to receiving the copy of the Maintenance & Manufacturing Surveillance Report dated May 17, 2000 and prepared by Inspector M. Delia.

He testified that he requested a delay of the upcoming audit because he had other plans to be out of the country and these plans could not be changed. His request to Mr. D. McNab was denied because Transport Canada did not have the manpower to accommodate this request. He testified that he contacted Air Transport Association of Canada (ATAC) and was advised that the audit about to be preformed was legal.

He stated the person Transport Canada was dealing with at Calgary Flight Training Services, Dave Vowell, had no legal authority to bind Calgary Flight Training Services Inc. to any contractual situations.

He stated that he considered the problems to be paper work completion and that all items and deficiencies were completed prior to the receipt of the suspension notice. He testified that he could not find where in the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs) the reference to his suspension was as the person responsible for maintenance at Calgary Flight Training Centre.

Mr. Michael Dupuis was called as a witness and sworn. He stated that he was the chief flying instructor and the designated liaison person for Calgary Flight Training Centre Inc. with Transport Canada.

He stated that a request to delay the audit was made because the company did not have the resources to dedicate to the audit. This request was denied.

He testified that he attended the daily meeting during the audits but did not attend the exit meeting on Monday, October 9, 2000 because he was not advised of the meeting. He stated that there was no request from the audit team to interview operating individuals.

He testified that he received the 24-0019 forms outlining the deficiencies late in the day on Friday, October 6, 2000. He tried to contact Transport Canada at 1630 hours on that day and received no reply.

He testified that Calgary Flight Training Centre Inc. initiated a plan to respond to the identified problems immediately.

He stated that Mr. Delia should not have been on the audit team because of section 2.1 of Civil Aviation's National Audit Program.

There being no further evidence the evidentiary record was closed.

CLOSING STATEMENTS

Mr. Hrynuk stated that the maintenance control manual did not meet the standards laid out in section 406.38 of the CARs. He stated that there were no outstanding amendments to update the manual from Calgary Flight Training Centre Inc.

He stated that under section 406.36 of the CARs Mr. Sorensen did not meet the qualifications to be qualified as a person responsible for maintenance control. He stated that under section 605.86 of the CARs the company must maintain an approved manual but did not do so.

He further stated that their investigation revealed:

  • The 172P aircraft were not approved
  • Paper work was not completed
  • Aircraft were dispatched with outstanding AD's
  • Aircraft were dispatched that were unairworthy

He stated that Calgary Flight Training Centre Inc. were advised of the deficiencies and given time to correct the problems.

Mr. Aarbo contended that audits are initiated for a particular reason. He further stated that the rights of individuals must be protected.

He stated that there was a lack of daily meetings and that Transport Canada personnel met with incorrect people from Calgary Flight Training Centre Inc. (Dave Fowler). He also stated that there were clerical errors in Transport Canada's letters and documentation.

He questioned the timing of the audit was prejudicial to the company and the individuals because they were unable to be present at meetings to defend and protect themselves. He stated that the company did not receive a corrective action plan from Transport Canada.

ANALYSIS

Mr. Sorensen writes in his letter to the Civil Aviation Tribunal dated November 16, 2000, the following statement: "Please accept this letter as our request for a review, before the Civil Aviation Tribunal, in the matters of the conduct of an audit and the subsequent Notice of Suspension that was issued as a result."

In fairness to Mr. Sorensen I must treat this request as an eventual appeal of a suspension of the FTU operator certificate number 9579. I am convinced that the communication between Mr. McNab and Mr. Sorensen was less than professional. This is not an issue for me.

Under section 2.14 of the National Audit Program I am convinced that Mr. McNab did have the authority to appoint Mr. Delia to the audit team. In this situation the company should have objected verbally and in writing at the entry meeting to this appointment. They did not.

I am convinced through testimony that the company did not take the audit seriously. They did not allocate the responsible people to the various meetings. The one aspect in favour of the company is that once they were advised of the suspension they took corrective action and thus there was no suspension.

On the second issue of the suspension of Mr. Sorensen as the person responsible for maintenance I have no evidence as to why he is being denied this position under section 426.36 of the Personnel Licensing and Training Standards respecting Flight Training Units (Standards).

I find under section 406.36 of the CARs a clearer outline as to what the procedures should be. I suggest that Transport Canada clear up this situation immediately.

There was no suspension of the licence and I find that Transport Canada was correct in proceeding with the audit as a result of their investigation contained in Mr. Delia's report of May 17/18/00.

I find that the actions of Calgary Flight Training Centre Inc. in correcting the deficiencies outlined by Transport Canada is admirable and I suggest they work out their mutual communication difficulties at their earliest possible date.

DETERMINATION

As a result of the deficiencies found in the audit, I find that the Minister of Transport was justified in issuing the Notice of Suspension dated October 18, 2000 which was to come into effect within thirty (30) days. As the deficiencies were corrected by Calgary Flight Training Centre prior to this date, the said suspension did not take place.

E. David Dover
Member
Civil Aviation Tribunal

Décisions

Dossier no W-2181-10 (TAC)
Dossier no SA 5260-9579 (RACR) (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Calgary Flight Training Centre Inc., requérant(e)

- et -

Ministre des Transports, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l’aéronautique, L.R., ch. 33 (1er suppl.), al. 7.1(1)b)
Règlement de l’aviation canadien, DORS/96-433, art. 406.36, 605.86

Suspension, Omission de se conformer aux conditions relatives à la délivrance, Certificat d'exploitant aérien


Décision à la suite d'une révision
E. David Dover


Décision : le 11 juin 2001

TRADUCTION

En raison des anomalies décelées lors de la vérification, je considère que le ministre des transports était justifié de délivrer un avis de suspension en date du 18 octobre 2000, lequel devait entrer en vigueur dans un délai de trente (30) jours. Étant donné que Calgary Flight Training Centre a remédié aux anomalies avant cette date, ladite suspension n'a pas pris effet.

Une audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le mercredi 11 avril 2001 à 10 h à la Cour fédérale du Canada à Calgary (Alberta). Tous les témoins ont été autorisés à se retirer de la salle d'audience avant le début des procédures. Aucune conférence préparatoire à l'audience n'a eu lieu entre le requérant et l'intimé.

HISTORIQUE

Le 18 octobre 2000, le ministre des Transports a délivré par courrier recommandé un Avis de suspension en vertu du paragraphe 7.1(1) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique à Canadian Flight Training Centre, lequel suspendait son certificat d'exploitation d'unité de formation au pilotage (FTU) numéro 9579 daté du 1er novembre 1999.

LA LOI

Le paragraphe 7.1(1) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique :

7.1 (1) Lorsque le ministre décide [...], soit de suspendre ou d'annuler un document parce que le titulaire du document est inapte ou que le titulaire ou l'aéronef, l'aéroport ou autre installation que vise le document ne répond plus aux conditions de délivrance ou de maintien en état de validité du document, [...] il expédie un avis de la mesure par signification à personne ou par courrier recommandé à la dernière adresse connue du titulaire ou du propriétaire, exploitant ou utilisateur en cause.

DÉCLARATIONS D'OUVERTURE

L'agent de présentation de cas, M. Dan Hrynyk, a déclaré que l'inspecteur de Transports Canada, M. Mike Delia, avait effectué une vérification périodique chez Calgary Flight Training Centre Inc., en mai 2000. Lors de la vérification, un certain nombre d'anomalies ont été relevées, ce qui justifiait une vérification complète de la compagnie. À la suite de la vérification, un avis de suspension a été délivré à la compagnie par lequel on lui allouait une période de 30 jours pour corriger les anomalies.

M. Aarbo, représentant de Calgary Flight Training Centre Inc., a déclaré :

  • que la vérification n'avait pas été effectuée correctement
  • que les Avis étaient inexacts
  • qu'il demandait que les références à la vérification soient rayées des dossiers de la compagnie.

POUR L'INTIMÉ-le ministre des Transports

L'agent de présentation de cas, M. Dan Hrynyk, a appelé les témoins suivants.

M. Mike Delia a été assermenté. Il a déclaré que Transports Canada l'a embauché à titre d'inspecteur de l'Application de la loi de l'aéronautique.

Il a témoigné qu'en mai 2000, il avait effectué une vérification périodique chez Calgary Flight Training Centre Inc. Lors de la vérification, il a découvert des consignes de navigabilité (CN) non appliquées alors que les aéronefs étaient en circulation. Il a déclaré qu'il y avait des anomalies dans les procédures de tenue des dossiers et de maintenance.

Pièce M-1 : Copie du rapport de surveillance de la maintenance et de la production des 17-18 mai 2000 adressée à Calgary Flight Training Centre Inc. et signée par M. Delia.

Cette pièce souligne des anomalies quant aux CN et une recommandation d'effectuer une vérification interne.

Contre-interrogatoire

M. Aarbo s'interroge sur la présence de M. Delia au sein de l'équipe de vérification de Transports Canada puisque selon la politique habituelle, l'inspecteur désigné ne fait pas partie de l'équipe de vérification. M. Delia a répondu qu'il n'était pas d'usage courant que les inspecteurs principaux des exploitations soient désignés mais qu'ils pouvaient l'être dans des cas spéciaux, si l'autorité qui effectue la convocation approuve la nomination (pièce D-2 : Programme national de vérification de l'Aviation civile, article 2.14).

M. Brian Schroeder a été appelé comme témoin et assermenté. Il a déclaré qu'il était inspecteur pour le compte de Transports Canada. Il a confirmé que lorsqu'il a revu les rapports préparés par M. Delia, une vérification interne devait être effectuée chez Calgary Flight Training Centre Inc. Il a déclaré que Dave McNab, de Transports Canada, était l'autorité qui a convoqué l'équipe de vérification.

Contre-interrogatoire

M. Schroeder, en réponse à une question sur la façon dont la suspension a été délivrée, a déclaré que l'ensemble du comité de vérification avait délivré la suspension.

M. Aarbo a présenté la pièce D-1 tirée du manuel du certificat d'exploitation de FTU et portant en particulier sur les procédures de suspension et d'annulation. M. Schroeder a déclaré qu'à son avis, tous les rapports sur les anomalies de l'observateur ont été considérés.

M. Ken Turnbull a été appelé comme témoin et assermenté. Il a déclaré qu'il était au service de Transports Canada à titre d'inspecteur de l'aviation civile. Il a de plus déclaré qu'il était directeur de la vérification qui avait été effectuée chez Calgary Flight Training Centre Inc.

Il a témoigné qu'il avait préparé la pièce M-2. Cette pièce indique les grandes lignes de la vérification et la date de début, soit le 2 octobre 2000, de même que la date du bilan et de la réunion, à savoir le 6 octobre 2000.

M. Turnbull a indiqué que le président de la compagnie, M. Sorensen, était absent et lorsque ce dernier a effectivement communiqué avec lui, il a demandé à parler au supérieur de M. Turnbull, à savoir M. McNab.

Au cours de la vérification, des anomalies ont été décelées dans les domaines suivants :

  • dossiers de formation incomplets
  • manuels non disponibles
  • retard à remplacer les éléments
  • manuels de maintenance approuvés non disponibles
  • répartition des aéronefs alors que des CN et des inspections en cours sont incomplètes.

M. Turnbull a témoigné que les réunions quotidiennes pour faire le point avaient eu lieu avec des représentants de la compagnie.

Pièce M-3 : Treize (13) formulaires 24-0019 font partie de cette pièce. Ces formulaires indiquent quelles mesures de redressement doivent être prises par la compagnie avant qu'un aéronef en particulier ne vole à nouveau.

M. Turnbull a témoigné que ces formulaires avaient été délivrés lors des réunions quotidiennes. Il a témoigné que la compagnie avait tenté d'être coopérative au cours de la vérification. Il a de plus déclaré qu'au cours de la rencontre de bilan entre les représentants de Calgary Flight Training Centre Inc. et l'équipe de vérification, les éléments de la vérification avaient fait l'objet d'une discussion.

M. Turnbull a déclaré qu'à son avis, la compagnie n'a pas reconnu la gravité de la situation. Il a déclaré qu'on avait décidé de recommander au directeur régional de l'Aviation générale de Transports Canada à Edmonton (Alberta), d'établir un avis de suspension prenant effet dans les trente jours.

Contre-interrogatoire

M. Turnbull a témoigné que les formulaires mentionnés à la pièce M-3 avaient été distribués quotidiennement. Il a de plus déclaré que l'équipe de vérification avait interrogé les trois pilotes et qu'il y avait eu des rencontres quotidiennes, soit avec M. Dave Vowell ou avec M. Michael Dupuis.

On a appelé M. Dave McNab comme témoin et il a été assermenté. Il a déclaré qu'il était surintendant au service de Transports Canada à Calgary (Alberta). Il a de plus déclaré qu'il était responsable des activités de dix (10) inspecteurs.

Il a déclaré que les compagnies d'aviation étaient vérifiées selon un cycle de trois ans mais que Calgary Flight Training Centre Inc. ne l'avait pas été depuis plus longtemps.

Pièce M-4 : Cette lettre du 14 septembre 2000 indique que M. McNab avait nommé Ken Turnbull à titre de directeur de la vérification de Calgary Flight Training Centre Inc.

Après avoir analysé les rapports de mai 2000 présentés par Mike Delia, il a décidé de former une équipe de vérification et de procéder à la vérification. M. McNab a décidé de procéder à la vérification, puis de recommander une suspension et donner 30 jours à la compagnie pour corriger les anomalies.

Il a témoigné qu'il était présent à la rencontre de bilan du lundi le 9 octobre 2000, entre M. Sorensen et les autres membres de Calgary Flight Training Centre Inc. et l'équipe de vérification de Transports Canada. M. McNab a déclaré que M. Sorensen considérait les résultats de la vérification comme étant des problèmes mineurs de formalités administratives mais, au cours de la rencontre, on l'a sommé de corriger la situation.

Contre-interrogatoire

M. McNab a déclaré qu'il avait décidé de ne pas suspendre immédiatement le certificat d'exploitation de la compagnie parce que Calgary Flight Training Centre Inc. collaborait et tentait de corriger la situation. Il a déclaré qu'à la fin de la vérification, il a effectivement recommandé au directeur régional de l'Aviation générale de suspendre le certificat d'exploitation de FTU de Calgary Flight Training Centre.

Qu'un cadre supérieur soit présent lors des vérifications ne constitue pas une exigence de Transports Canada. Même si M. Sorensen était absent pendant une partie de la vérification, ses employés ont coopéré.

M. Lindsay Cadenhead a été appelé comme témoin et assermenté. Il est surintendant des normes de formation au pilotage chez Transports Canada.

M. Cadenhead n'était pas membre de l'équipe de vérification. Il a assisté à la réunion de bilan et après avoir revu les rapports avec M. McNab, il était d'avis qu'une demande de suspension devait être acheminée au directeur à Edmonton.

Contre-interrogatoire

M. Cadenhead estimait que les politiques mentionnées à la pièce D-1 s'appliquent à la tenue d'une vérification.

LE REQUÉRANT

M. Johnny Sorensen a été appelé comme témoin et assermenté. Il a déclaré que depuis 12 ans, il était président, comptable et coordonnateur de la maintenance pour Calgary Flight Training Centre Inc.

Il a admis avoir reçu la copie du rapport de surveillance de la maintenance et de la production du 17 mai 2000 préparé par l'inspecteur Delia.

Il a témoigné qu'il avait demandé un délai pour la vérification prévue parce qu'il projetait être à l'extérieur du pays et que ses plans ne pouvaient pas être changés. Sa demande à M. D. McNab a été refusée parce que Transports Canada n'avait pas la main-d'œuvre pour acquiescer à la demande. Il a témoigné qu'il avait communiqué avec l'Association du transport aérien du Canada (ATAC) et on l'avait avisé que la vérification qui était sur le point d'être entreprise était légale.

Il a déclaré que la personne avec laquelle Transports Canada faisait affaire chez Calgary Flight Training Services, à savoir Dave Vowell, n'avait pas l'autorité légale de lier Calgary Flight Training Services Inc. dans un rapport contractuel.

Il a déclaré qu'il considérait qu'il s'agissait plutôt de problèmes liés à des formalités administratives et qu'il avait remédié à tous les éléments et aux anomalies avant la réception de l'Avis de suspension. Il a témoigné qu'à titre de responsable de la maintenance de Calgary Flight Training Centre, il ne pouvait trouver de référence à sa suspension dans le Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC).

M. Michael Dupuis a été appelé comme témoin et assermenté. Il a déclaré qu'il était chef instructeur de vol et la personne désignée pour faire le lien entre Calgary Flight Training Centre Inc. et Transports Canada.

Il a déclaré qu'une demande de retarder la vérification a été faite parce que la compagnie n'avait pas de ressources à consacrer à la vérification. La demande a été refusée.

Il a témoigné qu'il avait assisté aux rencontres quotidiennes au cours de la vérification mais qu'il n'avait pas assisté à la réunion de bilan du lundi 9 octobre 2000 parce qu'on ne l'en avait pas prévenu. Il a déclaré que l'équipe de vérification n'avait fait aucune demande visant à interroger le personnel d'exploitation.

Il a témoigné qu'il avait reçu les formulaires 24-0019 soulignant les anomalies, à la fin du vendredi 6 octobre 2000. Il a tenté de communiquer avec Transports Canada vers 16 h 30 ce jour-là et n'a reçu aucune réponse.

Il a témoigné que le Calgary Flight Training Centre Inc. a immédiatement prévu un plan pour réagir aux problèmes relevés.

Il a déclaré que M. Delia n'aurait pas dû faire partie de l'équipe de vérification en raison de l'article 2.1 du Programme national de vérification de l'Aviation civile.

En l'absence d'autres preuves, on a mis fin à l'enregistrement de la preuve.

OBSERVATIONS FINALES

M. Hrynuk a déclaré que le manuel de vérification de la maintenance ne répondait pas aux normes prévues à l'article 406.38 du RAC. Il a déclaré qu'il n'y avait aucun amendement en suspens pour mettre à jour le manuel du Calgary Flight Training Centre Inc.

Il a déclaré qu'en vertu de l'article 406.36 du RAC, M. Sorensen ne répondait effectivement pas aux qualifications de personne responsable du contrôle de la maintenance. Il a déclaré qu'en vertu de l'article 605.86 du RAC, la compagnie doit maintenir un manuel approuvé mais ne l'a pas fait.

Il a ensuite déclaré que leur enquête révélait :

  • que les aéronefs 172P n'étaient pas approuvés
  • que les écrits administratifs n'étaient pas remplis
  • que les aéronefs étaient répartis alors que les CN étaient en suspens
  • que des aéronefs étaient répartis sans être en état de navigabilité.

Il a déclaré que Calgary Flight Training Centre Inc. avait été avisé des anomalies et qu'on lui avait accordé un délai pour remédier aux problèmes.

M. Aarbo a invoqué que les vérifications sont entreprises pour une raison particulière. Il a de plus déclaré que les droits des individus doivent être protégés.

Il a déclaré que les réunions quotidiennes étaient insuffisantes et que le personnel de Transports Canada s'était réuni avec les mauvaises personnes du Calgary Flight Training Centre Inc. (Dave Fowler). Il a aussi déclaré qu'il y avait des erreurs d'écriture dans les lettres et les documents de Transports Canada.

Il a contesté le moment de la vérification qui portait préjudice à la compagnie et aux personnes parce qu'elles ne pouvaient être présentes aux rencontres pour se défendre et se protéger. Il a déclaré que la compagnie n'avait pas reçu de plan de redressement de Transports Canada.

ANALYSE

M. Sorensen écrit la déclaration suivante dans sa lettre au Tribunal de l'aviation civile en date du 16 novembre 2000 : « Veuillez considérer la présente comme une demande de révision devant le Tribunal de l'aviation civile, relativement à la vérification et à l'Avis de suspension subséquent. »

Par souci d'équité pour M. Sorensen, je dois traiter cette demande comme un éventuel appel d'une suspension du certificat d'exploitation de FTU numéro 9579. Je suis convaincu que le ton de la communication entre M. McNab et M. Sorensen n'était pas professionnel, ce qui n'est pas en litige en ce qui me concerne.

En vertu de l'article 2.14 du Programme de vérification national, je suis convaincu que M. McNab avait l'autorité d'inclure M. Delia à l'équipe de vérification. Dans ce contexte, la compagnie aurait dû s'objecter oralement et par écrit à cette nomination lors de la rencontre du début. Elle ne l'a pas fait.

Le témoignage me convainc que la compagnie n'a pas pris la vérification au sérieux. Elle n'a pas affecté les personnes responsables aux diverses réunions. Que la compagnie ait adopté un plan de redressement lui évitant la suspension dès qu'elle a été informée de son imminence constitue le seul aspect en sa faveur.

Quant au deuxième aspect de la suspension de M. Sorensen à titre de personne responsable de la maintenance, je n'ai aucune preuve sur la raison pour laquelle cette fonction lui a été retirée en vertu de l'article 426.36 des Normes de délivrance des licences et de formation du personnel relatives aux unités de formation au pilotage (Normes).

Je trouve à l'article 406.36 du RAC, un aperçu plus clair de ce que devraient être les procédures. Je propose que Transports Canada clarifie cette situation immédiatement.

Il n'y a pas eu de suspension de la licence et je considère que Transports Canada était dans son droit de procéder à la vérification à la suite de l'enquête des 17 et 18 mai 2000 présentée dans le rapport de M. Delia.

J'estime que les gestes posés par Calgary Flight Training Centre Inc. pour corriger les anomalies soulevées par Transports Canada sont admirables et je propose qu'ils règlent leurs difficultés de communication le plus tôt possible.

DÉCISION

En raison des anomalies décelées lors de la vérification, je considère que le ministre des Transports était justifié de délivrer un Avis de suspension en date du 18 octobre 2000, lequel devait entrer en vigueur dans les trente (30) jours. Étant donné que Calgary Flight Training Centre a remédié aux anomalies avant cette date, ladite suspension n'a pas pris effet.

E. David Dover
Conseiller
Tribunal de l'aviation civile