Decisions

CAT File No. W-2628-41
MoT File No. SAP-5504-46749 P/B

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Minister of Transport, Applicant

- and -

Sunwest Home Aviation Ltd., Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. A-2, ss. 7.7, 8.4
Canadian Aviation Regulations, s. 602.14(2)(a)(i)

Low flying, Burden of Proof, Built-up area


Review Determination
E. David Dover


Decision: March 24, 2003

Sunwest Home Aviation Ltd. did not contravene subparagraph 602.14(2)(a)(i) of the CARs and the monetary penalty of $1,250.00 is cancelled.

A review hearing on the above matter was held Tuesday, January 28, 2003 at the Federal Court of Canada in Calgary, Alberta.

No pre-hearing conferences were held between the Applicant and the Respondent.

Prior to the commencement of the hearing I decided to address the possible disqualification for bias I might have because of a previous business relationship one of my companies (Pioneer Developments Ltd.) had with Sunwest Home Aviation Ltd [hereinafter Sunwest]. For a period of two years Sunwest performed maintenance on Pioneer Developments Ltd. aircraft. This arrangement ceased on October 15, 2001 when the maintenance was transferred to a competing organization.

The Hon. J. O. Wilson in his publication "A Book for Judges" addresses this situation.

Chapter II, Part I, trials states:

Disqualification for Bias – General

Bias, or the reasonable apprehension of bias, disqualifies a judge from hearing a case.

Some usual grounds upon which a judge may be disqualified to sit on a trial or appeal are these:

A. A pecuniary interest in the outcome of the litigation.

[...]

D. A previous professional connection with the litigation or, in some cases, with the litigant.

But a judge, apparently disqualified, may sit:

[...]

G. Disclosure

[...]

In disclosing my interpretation of potential bias to both parties it was my intention to give both parties the opportunity to object on the grounds of bias. Neither party objected and the hearing commenced.

The witnesses were excused.

BACKGROUND

On April 5, 2002, a Beech 3NM aircraft, on a VFR flight from Red Deer, Alberta to Calgary International Airport was observed flying in the vicinity of Crossfield, Alberta close to a built-up area and at a perceived low altitude. This flight resulted in the following allegation.

On July 30, 2002, a monetary penalty of $1,250.00 was assessed against Sunwest, the Respondent, pursuant to section 7.7 of the Aeronautics Act by the Minister of Transport claiming that Sunwest had contravened the following provisions(s):

VICARIOUS LIABILITY – AERONAUTICS ACT 8.4(1)

OFFENCE # 1 – CARs 602.14(2)(a)(i)

On or about the 5th day of April 2002, at or near Crossfield, Alberta, you did operate an aircraft, to wit a Beech 3NM, Canadian registration C-GSWS, over the built up area of Crossfield, Alberta, at an altitude of less than 1000 feet above the highest obstacle located within a horizontal distance of 2000 feet from the aeroplane, a violation of section 602.14(2)(a)(i) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations.

THE LAW

Subparagraph 602.14(2)(a)(i) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs) states:

(2) Except where conducting a take-off, approach or landing or where permitted under section 602.15, no person shall operate an aircraft

(a) over a built-up area or over an open-air assembly of persons unless the aircraft is operated at an altitude from which, in the even of an emergency necessitating an immediate landing, it would be possible to land the aircraft without creating a hazard to persons or property on the surface, and, in any case, at an altitude that is not lower than

(i) for aeroplanes, 1,000 feet above the highest obstacle located within a horizontal distance of 2,000 feet from the aeroplane,

OPENING STATEMENTS

Mr. McFarlane stated that he would call three witnesses: Robert Cote, Aaron Konschuk and Stephen Hewitt.

Mr. Hotchkiss, appearing for Sunwest, stated that he was not disputing the fact that their Beech 3NM, registration C-GSWS was in the vicinity of Crossfield, Alberta on a VFR flight from Red Deer, Alberta to Calgary International Airport on April 5, 2002.

He stated that he would call two witnesses: Mark Eberl and John Tenzer. All witnesses were sworn.

FOR THE APPLICANT — The Minister of Transport

The case presenting officer, Mr. Richard McFarlane, called Mr. Robert Cote who is employed as the fire chief at the town of Crossfield, Alberta. He testified that on April 5, 2002 he observed an antique twin-engined aircraft flying in a southeasterly direction at a low altitude. He stated that he estimated the aircraft to be 50 to 100 feet above the grain elevator, which was situated on the eastern boundary of the town. He estimated that the grain elevator was between 150 and 300 feet above the ground level.

Mr. Cote submitted Exhibit M-1 which is a map depicting the town of Crossfield, Alberta. Outlined on this exhibit is a line from the northwest to the southeast, which Mr. Cote estimated to be the track flown by the aircraft.

During cross-examination Mr. Cote stated the track of flight drawn on M-1 was an estimate only as he observed the aircraft when it was in the vicinity of the grain elevator.

Mr. McFarlane called Mr. Aaron Konschuk who is employed as a park supervisor at the town of Crossfield, Alberta. On April 5, 2002, Mr. Konschuk was attending a meeting at the town office. He heard a loud noise emanating from a low flying aircraft, which he observed in the close proximity of the UGG elevator on the east side of town. The elevator is visible from the town office, and when he referred to M-1 he estimated the flight track depicted on the map was the rough track flown by the aircraft. He estimated the aircraft cleared the elevator by 51 feet.

Cross-examination

Mr. Konschuk stated that he heard the aircraft before he observed it. He stated that it was between 50 and 150 feet over the elevator in a southeast direction of flight when it eventually turned on a westerly course.

Mr. McFarlane called Mr. Stephen Hewitt, a Transport Canada civil aviation inspector based in Edmonton, Alberta. Mr. Hewitt stated that he was the inspector assigned to the Sunwest case. He presented a number of exhibits.

Exhibit M-2: Canadian civil aircraft register for C-GSWS

Exhibit M-3: Certificate of registration of aircraft for C-GSWS

Exhibit M-4: Calgary control tower arrival – departure report for C-GSWS

Exhibit M-5: Copy of journey logbook for C-GSWS

Exhibit M-6 -1 to M-6-9: Radar report for the period 1811:29 to 1827:16 on April 5, 2002 North of Calgary with a range of 23.7 nautical miles (NM) to 13.3 NM, C-GSWS was assigned transponder code 5203.

The report shows track (by line) and altitude rounded off to the nearest 100 feet. The altitude is reported by the radar report at an atmospheric pressure of 29.92. Mr. Hewitt testified that the recorded atmospheric pressure was 30.01 so the aircraft was in fact 100-150 feet higher than reported by the radar report.

Exhibit M-7: VFR terminal area chart

Mr. Hewitt testified that the radar plot shows that C-GSWS was in the vicinity of Crossfield, Alberta at an altitude between 3,900 – 4,100 feet ASL. This would equate to an actual altitude of 4,000 – 4,200 ASL when adjusted for atmospheric pressure.

Exhibit M-8: Data supplied by the Canadian military radar located in North Bay, Ontario showing the date, time, altitude, transponder code, latitude and longitude for the period 18:14:31 to 18:28:31 on April 5, 2002 (pages not in sequence).

Mr. Hewitt stated that he obtained this report from the Canadian military and that the transponder code was assigned to C-GSWS. Mr. Hewitt advised that the last page of the report depicts the actual flight path of the aircraft as determined by the military. He testified that he was advised by the military that their radar plotting was accurate to a distance of about "a football field".

Exhibit M-9: Actual global positioning system (GPS) points in the vicinity of Crossfield taken by Mr. Hewitt. There are ten (10) in number.

Exhibit M-10: Map of Crossfield

Mr. Hewitt stated that he placed the points identified by the military on the map known as M-1 and also identified various points in Crossfield including the grain elevator. He testified that the track on this map shows a flight path to the east of the path identified on M-1.

Exhibit M-11: Voice transcript of communications with C-GSWS

Cross-examination

Mr. Hewitt stated that he used a Garmin 195 GPS and an Etrix hiking GPS to determine the coordinates he placed on his map M-10. He further stated that the weather was legal for VFR flight and that Crossfield was in uncontrolled airspace. He stated that the accuracy of the military radar was about the length of a football field.

FOR THE RESPONDENT — The Document Holder

Mr. Hotchkiss called Mr. John Tenzer who stated that he had been the chief pilot for Sunwest for two years and had accumulated approximately 15,000 flight hours. Mr. Tenzer stated that he checked the weather prior to his departure from Red Deer and his intended flight path was to be Red Deer direct to the Calgary VOR.

He was instructed by Calgary approach control to leave that flight path and proceed to Crossfield. His visibility was approximately 4 miles and when he crossed highway 1A he parallelled it southbound turning west south of the town.

He testified that he was aware of the various towers in the vicinity and he was aware of the terrain, having flown it many times. He stated that the grain elevator was on the right side of the aircraft and at no time was his flight path over the town of Crossfield.

Mr. Hotchkiss called Mr. Mark Eberl who testified that he was the managing director of Sunwest and had accumulated 14,000 flight hours.

Mr. Eberl stated that he was operating the radio communications on the flight between Red Deer and Calgary. He indicated that Calgary approach directed him to fly from his present course to direct to Katherine or to Crossfield.

He testified that they had 4-5 miles visibility and they were east of the elevator at Crossfield when they turned south. He stated that they were well clear of all the towers and continued their approach into Calgary International Airport.

Cross-examination

Mr. Eberl stated that the grain elevator was off the right wing tip of their aircraft when they passed the elevator.

Exhibit D-1: Hourly weather observations for Red Deer and Calgary International Airport for April 5, 2002

Mr. Eberl testified that the weather at Calgary for 1700Z was 800 scattered with a visibility of 4 miles with an altimeter setting of 30.06 (page 2).

As there was no further evidence the evidentiary record was closed.

FINAL ARGUMENTS

Mr. McFarlane stated that the Minister had proven on a balance of probabilities that the aircraft C-GSWS had been in the Crossfield, Alberta area and had operated below an altitude of 4,700 feet. This he stated is the required altitude the aircraft would have to maintain to be legal to clear the highest obstacles within 2,000 feet vertically in its route of flight.

Mr. Hotchkiss stated that the Minister had provided conflicting evidence concerning the route of flight over a built-up area. He also pointed to the anomalies and errors in the data provided by the Canadian military. His main objection was that he and the experienced crew considered the aircraft to be on an approach to Calgary International Airport and thus the height restrictions did not apply.

ANALYSIS

Flight over a built-up area - 602.14(2)(a)

Analysing M-1 and M-10, I find that the Minister has conflicting evidence about the flight path of C-GSWS. M-1 places the aircraft over Crossfield whereas M-10 places the aircraft east of Crossfield. The latter Exhibit (M-10) is substantiated by the Canadian Armed Forces report M-8 and transcribed in a most illegible manner by Mr. Hewitt to M-10.

Exhibit M-6 , which is the radar plot from Calgary, does not identify Crossfield and thus there is no way to substantiate where the aircraft was. I am also concerned with the unreported errors in the GPS and radar units employed for evidence as an error in the magnitude of a football field does not help me.

I find that the Minister has not proven on a balance of probabilities that the aircraft C-GSWS flew a track over a built-up area.

DETERMINATION

Sunwest Home Aviation Ltd. did not contravene subparagraph 602.14(2)(a)(i) of the CARs and the monetary penalty of $1,250.00 is cancelled.

E David Dover
Member
Civil Aviation Tribunal

Décisions

Dossier no W-2628-41 (TAC)
Dossier no SAP-5504-46749 P/B (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Ministre des Transports, requérant(e)

- et -

Sunwest Home Aviation Ltd., intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l’aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, ch. A-2, art. 7.7, 8.4
Règlement de l’aviation canadien, sous-al. 602.14(2)a)(i)

Fardeau de la preuve, Vol à basse altitude, Zone bâtie


Décision à la suite d'une révision
E. David Dover


Décision : le 24 mars 2003

TRADUCTION

Sunwest Home Aviation Ltd. n'a pas contrevenu au sous-alinéa 602.14(2)a)(i) du RAC et l'amende de 1 250 $ est annulée.

Une audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le mardi 28 janvier 2003 à la Cour fédérale du Canada à Calgary (Alberta).

Aucune conférence préparatoire à l'audience n'a eu lieu entre le requérant et l'intimée.

Avant le début de l'audience, j'ai décidé de me prononcer sur ma récusation éventuelle en raison de ma partialité possible parce qu'une de mes compagnies (Pioneer Developments Ltd.) avait eu un lien d'affaires avec Sunwest Home Aviation Ltd [ci-après Sunwest]. Pendant une période de deux ans, Sunwest a effectué la maintenance des aéronefs de Pioneer Developments Ltd. L'entente a cessé le 15 octobre 2001 alors que la maintenance a été confiée à une organisation concurrente.

Le juge J. O. Wilson, dans son livre A Book for Judges se prononce sur cette question.

Dans la partie I du chapitre II intitulé TRIALS (Procès), il déclare :

Récusation pour cause de partialité – Considérations générales

Une partialité ou une crainte raisonnable de partialité entraîne la récusation d'un juge pour entendre une cause.

Voici quelques-uns des motifs qui peuvent entraîner la récusation du juge d'un procès ou d'un appel :

A. Un intérêt pécuniaire dans l'issue du litige.

[…]

D. Un lien professionnel antérieur avec la cause en litige ou, dans certains cas, avec une partie à un litige.

Par ailleurs, un juge qui semble devoir se récuser peut siéger :

[…]

G. Divulgation

[…] [Notre traduction]

En divulguant aux deux parties mon interprétation d'une partialité possible, mon intention était de leur donner l'occasion de s'objecter pour cause de partialité. Aucune des parties ne s'est objectée et l'audience a débuté.

Les témoins ont été autorisés à se retirer.

HISTORIQUE

Le 5 avril 2002, un aéronef Beech 3NM, à l'occasion d'un vol VFR de Red Deer (Alberta) jusqu'à l'aéroport international de Calgary a été aperçu alors qu'il volait dans les environs de Crossfield (Alberta), à proximité d'une zone bâtie et à une altitude qui semblait basse. Ce vol a donné lieu à l'allégation suivante.

Le 30 juillet 2002, une amende de 1 250 $ a été imposée à Sunwest, l'intimée, en vertu de l'article 7.7 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique par le ministre des Transports qui prétendait que Sunwest avait contrevenu aux dispositions suivantes :

RESPONSABILITÉ DU FAIT D'AUTRUI – LOI SUR L'AÉRONAUTIQUE 8.4(1)

INFRACTION No 1 – RAC 602.14(2)a)(i)

Le ou vers le 5 avril 2002, à ou aux environs de Crossfield (Alberta), vous avez utilisé un aéronef, soit un Beech 3NM, portant l'immatriculation canadienne C-GSWS, au-dessus de la zone bâtie de Crossfield (Alberta), à une altitude de moins de 1 000 pieds au-dessus de l'obstacle le plus élevé situé à une distance de 2 000 pieds ou moins de l'avion, mesurée horizontalement, en contravention au sous-alinéa 602.14(2)a)(i) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien.

LA LOI

Le sous-alinéa 602.14(2)a)(i) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC) prévoit :

(2) Sauf s'il s'agit d'effectuer le décollage, l'approche ou l'atterrissage d'un aéronef ou lorsque la personne y est autorisée en application de l'article 602.15, il est interdit d'utiliser un aéronef :

a) au-dessus d'une zone bâtie ou au-dessus d'un rassemblement de personnes en plein air, à moins que l'aéronef ne soit utilisé à une altitude qui permettrait, en cas d'urgence exigeant un atterrissage immédiat, d'effectuer un atterrissage sans constituer un danger pour les personnes ou les biens à la surface, et, dans tous les cas, à une altitude d'au moins :

(i) dans le cas d'un avion, 1 000 pieds au-dessus de l'obstacle le plus élevé situé à une distance de 2 000 pieds ou moins de l'avion, mesurée horizontalement,

DÉCLARATION D'OUVERTURE

M. McFarlane a déclaré qu'il appellerait trois témoins : Robert Cote, Aaron Konschuk et Stephen Hewitt.

M. Hotchkiss a comparu pour Sunwest et il a déclaré qu'il ne contestait pas le fait que leur Beech 3NM, immatriculé C-GSWS, était dans les environs de Crossfield (Alberta), en vol VFR de Red Deer (Alberta) en direction de l'aéroport international de Calgary, le 5 avril 2002.

Il a déclaré qu'il appellerait deux témoins : Mark Eberl et John Tenzer. Tous les témoins ont été assermentés.

POUR LE REQUÉRANT — Le ministre des Transports

L'agent chargé de présenter le cas, M. Richard McFarlane, a appelé M. Robert Cote qui travaille comme chef du service d'incendie de la ville de Crossfield (Alberta). Il a témoigné que le 5 avril 2002, il avait aperçu un aéronef bimoteur antique qui volait en direction sud-est à basse altitude. Il a déclaré qu'il estimait que l'aéronef était de 50 à 100 pieds au-dessus de l'élévateur à grains situé à l'extrémité est de la ville. Il estimait que l'élévateur à grains atteignait une hauteur de 150 à 300 pieds au-dessus du niveau du sol.

M. Cote a présenté la pièce M-1 en preuve, soit une carte de la ville de Crossfield (Alberta). Sur cette pièce, une ligne du nord-ouest au sud-est représente la trajectoire parcourue par l'aéronef, selon M. Cote.

Pendant le contre-interrogatoire, M. Cote a déclaré que la trajectoire de vol tracée sur la pièce M-1 était uniquement une estimation étant donné qu'il avait aperçu l'aéronef alors qu'il était dans les environs de l'élévateur à grains.

M. McFarlane a appelé M. Aaron Konschuk qui est surveillant de parc dans la ville de Crossfield (Alberta). Le 5 avril 2002, M. Konschuk assistait à une réunion au bureau de l'administration municipale. Il a entendu un gros bruit émanant d'un aéronef volant à basse altitude qu'il a remarqué à proximité immédiate de l'élévateur UGG dans la partie est de la ville. L'élévateur est visible du bureau de l'administration municipale et lorsqu'il a fait référence à M-1, il a jugé que la trajectoire de vol illustrée sur la carte était approximativement la trajectoire parcourue par l'aéronef. Il a évalué que l'aéronef était à 51 pieds de l'élévateur.

Contre-interrogatoire

M. Konschuk a déclaré qu'il avait entendu l'aéronef avant de l'apercevoir. Il a déclaré qu'il volait entre 50 et 150 pieds au-dessus de l'élévateur, en direction sud-est, et qu'il avait éventuellement tourné vers l'ouest.

M. McFarlane a appelé M. Stephen Hewitt, un inspecteur de l'aviation civile de Transports Canada basé à Edmonton (Alberta). M. Hewitt a déclaré qu'il était l'inspecteur désigné dans la cause de Sunwest. Il a présenté un certain nombre de pièces.

Pièce M-2 : Registre d'immatriculation des aéronefs civils canadiens du C-GSWS

Pièce M-3 : Certificat d'immatriculation de l'aéronef C-GSWS

Pièce M-4 : Rapport d'arrivée et de départ de la tour de contrôle de Calgary de l'aéronef C-GSWS

Pièce M-5 : Copie du carnet de route du C-GSWS

Pièce M-6-1 à M-6-9 : Compte rendu radar pour la période de 1811 :29 et 1827 :16, le 5 avril 2002, au nord de Calgary, sur une distance de 23,7 milles marins (NM) à 13,3 NM, le code de transpondeur attribué au C-GSWS était 5203.

Le rapport illustre une trajectoire (par une ligne) et une altitude arrondie au plus près de 100 pieds. L'altitude est signalée dans le compte rendu radar à une pression atmosphérique de 29,92. M. Hewitt a témoigné que la pression atmosphérique enregistrée était de 30,01 alors que l'aéronef était en fait entre 100 et 150 pieds plus haut que la hauteur signalée dans le compte rendu radar.

Pièce M-7 : Carte de région terminale VFR

M. Hewitt a témoigné que le tracé radar démontrait que le C-GSWS était à proximité de Crossfield (Alberta) à une altitude de 3 900 à 4 100 pieds ASL, ce qui correspond à une altitude réelle de 4 000 à 4 200 pieds ASL, compte tenu de la pression atmosphérique.

Pièce M-8 : Les données fournies par le radar militaire canadien situé à North Bay (Ontario) montrent la date, l'heure, l'altitude, le code de transpondeur, la latitude et la longitude entre 18 :14 :31 et 18 :28 :31, le 5 avril 2002 (les pages ne sont pas dans l'ordre).

M. Hewitt a déclaré qu'il avait obtenu ce rapport des Forces armées du Canada et que le code de transpondeur avait été attribué au C-GSWS. M. Hewitt nous a informé que la dernière page du rapport décrivait la trajectoire de vol réelle de l'aéronef telle qu'illustrée par les Forces armées. Il a témoigné qu'il avait été informé par les Forces armées que leur relevé radar était précis à un « terrain de football » près.

Pièce M-9 : Les positions réelles du système de positionnement mondial (GPS), notées par M. Hewitt, à proximité de Crossfield. Il y en a dix (10).

Pièce M-10 : Carte de Crossfield

M. Hewitt a déclaré qu'il avait placé les points identifiés par les Forces armées sur la carte M-1 et il a aussi indiqué divers points dans Crossfield, notamment l'élévateur à grains. Il a témoigné que la trajectoire de cette carte montrait une trajectoire de vol à l'est de celle de M-1.

Pièce M-11 : Transcription des communications vocales avec le C-GSWS

Contre-interrogatoire

M. Hewitt a déclaré qu'il avait utilisé un GPS Garmin 195 et un GPS de randonnée Etrix afin de déterminer les coordonnées qu'il a indiquées sur la carte M-10. Il a de plus déclaré que les conditions météorologiques étaient légales pour un vol VFR et que Crossfield se trouvait dans l'espace aérien non contrôlé. Il a déclaré que l'exactitude du radar militaire correspondait à la grandeur d'un terrain de football.

POUR L'INTIMÉE — La titulaire du document

M. Hotchkiss a appelé M. John Tenzer qui a déclaré être pilote en chef pour le compte de Sunwest depuis deux ans et compter environ 15 000 heures de vol. M. Tenzer a déclaré avoir vérifié les conditions météorologiques avant son départ de Red Deer et que sa trajectoire de vol prévue était de Red Deer jusqu'au VOR de Calgary.

Le contrôleur d'approche de Calgary lui a indiqué de quitter cette trajectoire de vol et de procéder à Crossfield. Sa visibilité était approximativement de 4 milles et après avoir croisé l'autoroute 1A, il l'a longée parallèlement en direction du sud et par la suite, a tourné vers l'ouest, au sud de la ville.

Il a témoigné qu'il connaissait les différentes tours dans les environs, de même que le relief, puisqu'il l'avait survolé plusieurs fois. Il a déclaré que l'élévateur à grains était du côté droit de l'aéronef et qu'en aucun temps sa trajectoire de vol n'avait survolé la ville de Crossfield.

M. Hotchkiss a appelé M. Mark Eberl qui a affirmé être directeur général de Sunwest et compter 14 000 heures de vol.

M. Eberl a déclaré qu'il s'occupait des communications radio lors du vol entre Red Deer et Calgary. Il a indiqué que le contrôleur d'approche de Calgary lui avait signalé de quitter sa trajectoire de vol actuelle, en direction de Katherine ou de Crossfield.

Il a témoigné qu'ils avaient une visibilité de 4 à 5 milles et qu'ils étaient à l'est de l'élévateur de Crossfield lorsqu'ils ont tourné vers le sud. Il a déclaré qu'ils étaient loin de l'ensemble des tours et ils ont continué leur approche en direction de l'aéroport international de Calgary.

Contre-interrogatoire

M. Eberl a déclaré que l'élévateur à grains était aligné avec le bout de l'aile droite de leur aéronef lorsqu'ils l'ont franchi.

Pièce D-1 : Observations horaires des conditions météorologiques à Red Deer et à l'aéroport international de Calgary, le 5 avril 2002.

M. Eberl a témoigné que les conditions météorologiques à Calgary pour 1700 Z étaient 800 à nébulosité dispersée avec une visibilité de 4 milles et un calage altimétrique de 30,06 (page 2).

Puisqu'il n'y avait plus de preuve à présenter, on a mis fin à la consignation de la preuve.

PLAIDOIRIES

M. McFarlane a déclaré que le ministre avait prouvé selon la prépondérance des probabilités que l'aéronef C-GSWS s'était rendu dans la région de Crossfield (Alberta) et qu'il avait été utilisé à une altitude de moins de 4 700 pieds. Il a déclaré qu'il s'agissait de l'altitude prescrite à maintenir par un aéronef aux termes de la loi et pour se tenir à distance des obstacles les plus élevés à une distance de 2 000 pieds ou moins mesurée verticalement sur sa trajectoire de vol.

M. Hotchkiss a déclaré que le ministre avait présenté une preuve contradictoire au sujet de la trajectoire de vol au-dessus d'une zone bâtie. Il a de plus fait ressortir des anomalies et des erreurs dans les données fournies par les Forces armées du Canada. Son objection principale était reliée au fait que lui-même et l'équipage expérimenté estimaient que l'aéronef était en position d'approche vers l'aéroport international de Calgary et qu'en conséquence, les restrictions relatives aux hauteurs ne s'appliquaient pas.

ANALYSE

Vol au-dessus d'une zone bâtie - 602.14(2)a)

En analysant les pièces M-1 et M-10, je considère que la preuve du ministre est contradictoire en ce qui a trait à la trajectoire de vol du C-GSWS. La pièce M-1 situe l'aéronef au-dessus de Crossfield alors que la pièce M-10 le situe à l'est de Crossfield. Cette dernière pièce (M-10) est corroborée par le rapport des Forces armées du Canada (M-8) et transcrite de la façon la plus illisible qui soit par M. Hewitt sur M-10.

La pièce M-6, le relevé radar de Calgary, n'identifie pas Crossfield et, en conséquence, on ne peut attester de l'emplacement de l'aéronef. Je suis aussi préoccupé par les erreurs non rapportées du GPS et des sections radar utilisées en preuve d'autant plus que la marge d'erreur de la taille d'un terrain de football ne m'est pas très utile.

Je considère que le ministre n'a pas prouvé selon la prépondérance des probabilités que l'aéronef C-GSWS avait parcouru une trajectoire de vol au-dessus d'une zone bâtie.

Sunwest Home Aviation Ltd. n'a pas contrevenu au sous-alinéa 602.14(2)a)(i) du RAC et l'amende de 1 250 $ est annulée.

E. David Dover
Conseiller
Tribunal de l'aviation civile