Decisions

TATC File No. W-2754-41
MoT File No. SAP-5504-47335 P/B

TRANSPORTATION APPEAL TRIBUNAL OF CANADA

BETWEEN:

Minister of Transport, Applicant

- and -

Cascade Avionics Ltd., Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. A-2, ss. 7.7, 8.4
Canadian Aviation Regulations, ss. 573.09, 571.02(1)(a)

Quality assurance program, Person Responsible for Maintenance (PRM), Original Equipment Manufacturer (OEM), Approved Maintenance Organization (AMO), Maintenance manuals


Review Determination
Philip D. Jardim


Decision: July 11, 2003

Cascade Avionics Ltd. did contravene paragraph 571.02(1)(a) and section 573.09 of the Canadian Aviation Regulations. The fines as levied shall stand. The total penalty of $2,500.00 must be paid to the Receiver General for Canada and received by the Tribunal within fifteen days of service of this determination.

A review hearing on the above matter was held Wednesday, June 25, 2003 at 10:00 hours at the Federal Court of Canada, in Calgary, Alberta.

BACKGROUND

Cascade Avionics Ltd. [hereinafter Cascade] is a Transport Canada approved maintenance organization (AMO) which carries out maintenance on aircraft avionics and associated instruments and systems, at Calgary International Airport.

Transport Canada carried out a routine audit on Cascade at Calgary International Airport, between April 29 and May 1, 2002. The audit team found some 15 anomalies in the operation of Cascade. This resulted in the immediate suspension of the company's AMO certificate, under paragraph 7.1(1)(b) of the Aeronautics Act, dated May 1, 2002, on the grounds that public safety was compromised.

A copy of the audit report was also sent to the enforcement branch: an investigation ensued, and Transport Canada issued a Notice of Assessment of Monetary Penalty, under section 7.7 of the Aeronautics Act, against Cascade, dated January 22, 2003. The fine imposed was $2,500.00, $1,250.00 on each of two counts. The fine was not paid, and the Minister applied to the Tribunal for a review hearing.

Although it is related, this hearing is not concerned with the suspension action referred to above, under paragraph 7.1(1)(b) of the Aeronautics Act.

Schedule "A" of the Notice of Assessment of Monetary Penalty:

OFFENCE #1 – CARs 573.09

On or about the 29th day of April 2002, at or near Calgary, Alberta, you did fail to establish a quality assurance program to verify and ensure that maintenance and [its] administration continue to comply with section 573.09 of the Canadian Aviation Regulations, more specifically you failed to maintain a record of the previous two audit cycles.

MONETARY PENALTY – $1,250.00

OFFENCE #2 – CARs 571.02(1)(a) Vicarious Liability section 8.4(4) Aeronautics Act

On or about the 27th day of February 2002, at or near Calgary, Alberta, being a person responsible for maintenance of an aeronautical product, to wit a King KT76A Transponder, work order # 24838, you did fail to use the most recent methods, techniques or practices specified for the aeronautical product in the most recent maintenance manual, more specifically revision # 7, or instructions for continued airworthiness developed by the manufacturer of that product, a violation of section 571.02(1)(a) if the Canadian Aviation Regulations.

MONETARY PENALTY – $1,250.00

TOTAL MONETARY PENALTY – $2,500.00

THE LAW

Section 573.09 of the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs):

573.09 An approved maintenance organization (AMO) certificate holder shall establish a quality assurance program to verify and ensure that maintenance and its administration continue to comply with these Regulations, in accordance with the standards set out in Chapter 573 of the Airworthiness Manual.

Paragraph 571.02(1)(a) of the CARs:

571.02 (1) Subject to subsection (2), a person who performs maintenance or elementary work on an aeronautical product shall use the most recent methods, techniques, practices, parts, materials, tools, equipment and test apparatuses that are

(a) specified for the aeronautical product in the most recent maintenance manual or instructions for continued airworthiness developed by the manufacturer of that aeronautical product;

[...]

EVIDENCE

The Minister's case presenting officer, Mr. Bill Curtain, presented five witnesses, who were all Transport Canada employees. They included the three members of the audit team, an enforcement inspector, and the superintendent of the Calgary office, Mr. David McNab. Mr. McNab was also the convening authority of the audit team, and the person who had signed the Notice of Suspension of Cascade's AMO certificate. Mr. Curtain alluded to "aggravation" on both counts, meaning that there had been contentious incidents during the audit and subsequent investigation.

Through his five witnesses, Mr. Curtain introduced 15 exhibits and copies of the relevant legislation, section 573.09 and paragraph 571.02(1)(a) of the CARs. I found all of the witnesses highly credible, and the evidence presented clearly pointed to the alleged breaches of the regulations. The audit report revealed some 15 breaches and weaknesses in the company's operation as an AMO (see Exhibits M-1 and M-2). Some of these were stated to be repetitive. However, the enforcement branch chose to proceed against the company on only two of them: 1. the failure to maintain its quality assurance system, and 2. failure to keep its technical publications up to date.

With respect to charge No. 1 (CARs 573.09), Exhibits M-3 and M-4 identify that there was no record of the two previous audits, that is, prior to April 2002. These records are required under this regulation, specifically subparagraph 573.09.2(f)(vii) of the Airworthiness Manual. The purpose of this regulation is to identify audit deficiencies noted, and to list the corrective actions carried out.

In addition, the Minister attempted to introduce evidence which pointed to the audit record of the company. I declined to accept this evidence on the basis of relevance to the charges before this hearing, and on the grounds of fairness and natural justice. The past record of a document holder does not go to prove that current infractions were committed.

Its president, Mr. Stanley Wong, represented the Respondent, Cascade. I was at pains to familiarize Mr. Wong with the procedure of a review hearing, and sought to guide him on procedure throughout. This necessitated significant interventions from me, to keep Mr. Wong and the hearing on track. It seemed that Mr. Wong was using the hearing as a means of questioning Transport Canada on its conduct of the audit which had led to this hearing. He became contentious at times, and it was necessary to intervene to calm things down.

Offence No. 2 is a vicarious liability offence, and I was careful to brief Mr. Wong on sections 8.4 and 8.5 of the Aeronautics Act. He said that he understood its meaning. During his cross-examinations of witnesses, Mr. Wong admitted that Cascade did not refer to manuals: they had been doing this work for 18 years, considered it routine and did not refer to the original equipment manufacturer (OEM) maintenance manuals, specifically in this case the King manual for the KT76A transponder. The latest amendment to this document was found to be still in its polythene wrapper by the audit team, and had not been referred to prior to, or during, the maintenance done in work order No. 24838. Mr. Wong sought to justify this lapse by making out that revision No. 7 was not relevant to the work performed on that particular job. The Minister's witness replied that because the KT76A manual had not been amended, nor consulted either before or during the maintenance, Cascade had no way of knowing whether the subject revision was relevant to the work carried out. Further, Mr. Schroeder identified a number of other manuals which were not up to date, and that work had been carried out on the respective equipment without access to current and up to date manuals. Exhibit M-7, extracted from Cascade's maintenance policy manual states: "Cascade Avionics Ltd. uses the most current issue of the manufacturer's manuals or publications for the performance of maintenance tasks." Exhibits M-8, M-9 and M-10 also point to library deficiencies.

It became evident from Mr. Wong's statements during his cross-examination of the witnesses that he did not appreciate the need to either refer to, or to keep these manuals current. Indeed, he did say that manuals were not used. He frequently asked questions of the Transport Canada witnesses during his cross-examination, as to what Cascade had done wrong to affect public safety. These questions arose with respect to the suspension pursuant to paragraph 7.1(1)(b) of the Aeronautics Act which was not before this hearing, today, and bore little relevance to the alleged offences, which are the subject of this review hearing.

Mr. Wong also took issue with the severity of the fines imposed upon Cascade, when he was questioning Mr. Paulhus, from the enforcement branch. It was explained that the fines were for a first offence by a corporation. This was $1,250.00, as opposed to $250.00 for an individual.

Mr. Wong aggressively cross-examined the final witness, Mr. McNab, on the reasons for having suspended Cascade's AMO certificate and the issue of public safety. I had to intervene to advise him that this was not the matter before this hearing, and that this was not the forum for seeking information on this matter. This was an issue which was, by now, 13 months old, and which he should have addressed at the time with Mr. McNab. The witness patiently answered Mr. Wong's questions in an articulate and sympathetic manner.

I had counselled Mr. Wong at the outset of the hearing, and at the close of the Minister's case, that it was his opportunity to present evidence/witnesses in defence of the allegations. He said that he had no evidence to present, nor did he have any witnesses. He chose to give a summary of the case against him as he saw it. At no time did he deny, or present evidence to counter the allegations against him.

In his summary, Mr. Wong acknowledged the quality assurance infractions. He said that he had appointed a Mr. Cox to be in charge of maintenance (PRM - Person responsible for maintenance, see Exhibit M-13). Mr. Wong is no longer responsible for maintenance. This was one of the conditions for the reinstatement of the company's AMO certificate.

Mr. Wong questioned the second charge and its relevance to the work carried out on work order No. 24838. He reiterated that revision No. 7 to the King manual did not refer to the work carried out under this work order. He also questioned the magnitude of the fine ($1,250), and questioned the effect of this infraction on public safety. He felt that the audit team was "heavy handed" and that this charge was not warranted and unfair.

His company had been put under serious financial strain, and had suffered a loss of credibility. Many experienced personnel who had been employed at Cascade had moved on to very responsible positions in larger organizations. One of them had become a director of maintenance.

Mr. Wong said that he viewed an audit like a "high school report." One may not achieve 100%, but 80 to 85%. Mr. Cox was now in charge of maintenance and "these things should not happen again."

Mr. Curtain's summary reiterated the Minister's evidence. He highlighted Mr. Wong's statement that "an AMO does not have to consult manuals." This is clearly irresponsible. In speaking to sanction, he pointed out that the fines imposed were the minimum for a first offence.

DISCUSSION AND DETERMINATION

The Minister has proved that Cascade is in breach of the regulations under reference above, on a balance of probabilities. Further, it appears that Transport Canada has been somewhat lenient, in that it has chosen to proceed against the company for only two breaches, when the audit report and other evidence point to several others. As this is a first offence, it is evident that Transport Canada would like to work with the company to improve its performance and observance of the regulations.

Mr. Wong has objected to charge No. 2 as unfair. While his reason for this belief seems to stem from the fact that revision No. 7 to the King manual did not impact the work actually carried out on the subject work order No. 24838, this was only discovered after the fact. The revision was still in its wrapper several months later, when the audit team visited. Further, Mr. Wong's apparent disregard for manuals is abundantly evident.

Cascade is a small company, and I am sympathetic with the financial impact of substantial fines on the company. However, the evidence adduced by the Minister does point to the repetitive nature of these infractions. Mr. Wong's persistent statements about his disregard for manuals, and his apparent contempt for audits, do not encourage me to reduce the penalties imposed. I find that, if anything, Transport Canada has been lenient in this case.

At the conclusion of this hearing, I have determined that the Minister of Transport has proven on a balance of probabilities that Cascade did contravene paragraph 571.02(1)(a) and section 573.09 of the CARs. The fines as levied shall stand.

Philip D. Jardim
Member
Transportation Appeal Tribunal of Canada

Décisions

Dossier no W-2754-41 (TATC)
Dossier no SAP-5504-47335 P/B (MdT)

TRIBUNAL D'APPEL DES TRANSPORTS DU CANADA

ENTRE :

Ministre des Transports, requérant(e)

- et -

Cascade Avionics Ltd., intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l’aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, ch. A-2, art. 7.7, 8.4
Règlement de l’aviation canadien, art. 573.09, al. 571.02(1)a)

Personne responsable de la maintenance (PRM), Programme d'assurance de la qualité, Organisme de maintenance agréé (OMA), Manuels de maintenance, Constructeur original


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Philip D. Jardim


Décision : le 11 juillet 2003

TRADUCTION

Cascade Avionics Ltd. a effectivement contrevenu à l'alinéa 571.02(1)a) et à l'article 573.09 du Règlement de l'aviation canadien. Les amendes imposées doivent être maintenues. L'amende totale de 2 500 $ est payable au Receveur général du Canada et doit parvenir au Tribunal dans les quinze jours de la signification de cette décision.

Une audience en révision de l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le mercredi 25 juin 2003 à 10 h à la Cour fédérale du Canada, à Calgary (Alberta).

HISTORIQUE

Cascade Avionics Ltd. [ci-après Cascade] est un organisme de maintenance agréé (OMA) par Transports Canada qui effectue de la maintenance de systèmes et d'instruments d'avionique de bord à l'Aéroport international de Calgary.

Transports Canada a effectué une vérification périodique de Cascade à l'Aéroport international de Calgary, entre le 29 avril et le 1er mai 2002. L'équipe de vérification a trouvé quelque 15 anomalies relatives à l'exploitation de Cascade. La vérification a entraîné la suspension immédiate du certificat d'OMA de la compagnie en vertu du paragraphe 7.1(1) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, en date du 1er mai 2002, parce que la sécurité publique était compromise.

Une copie du rapport de vérification a de plus été envoyée à la division de l'Application de la loi; une enquête a suivi et Transports Canada a délivré un Avis d'amende pour contravention contre Cascade, en vertu de l'article 7.7 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, en date du 22 janvier 2003. L'amende imposée était de 2 500 $, soit 1 250 $ pour chacun des deux chefs d'accusation. L'amende n'a pas été payée et le ministre a déposé une demande d'audience en révision au Tribunal.

Bien que la question soit reliée, cette audience ne porte pas sur la suspension dont il est question ci-dessus, en vertu du paragraphe 7.1(1) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique.

L'annexe « A » de l'Avis d'amende pour contravention :

INFRACTION No 1 – RAC 573.09

Le ou vers le 29 avril 2002, à ou aux environs de Calgary (Alberta), vous n'avez pas établi un programme d'assurance de la qualité pour vérifier et faire en sorte que la maintenance et sa gestion continuent d'être conformes à l'article 573.09 du Règlement de l'aviation canadien; plus particulièrement, vous n'avez pas conservé le dossier des deux cycles de vérification précédents.

AMENDE – 1 250 $

INFRACTION No 2 – RAC 571.02(1)a) sur la responsabilité du fait d'autrui, le paragraphe 8.4(4) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique

Le ou vers le 27 février 2002, à ou aux environs de Calgary (Alberta), en qualité de personne responsable de la maintenance d'un produit aéronautique, soit un transpondeur King KT76A, selon l'ordre de travail no 24838, vous n'avez pas utilisé les méthodes, les techniques ou les pratiques les plus récentes indiquées dans la plus récente version du manuel de maintenance, plus particulièrement la révision no 7, ou les instructions relatives au maintien de la navigabilité établis par le constructeur de ce produit, contrevenant ainsi à l'alinéa 571.02(1)a) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien

AMENDE – 1 250 $

AMENDE TOTALE – 2 500 $

LA LOI

L'article 573.09 du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC) :

573.09 Le titulaire d'un certificat d'organisme de maintenance agréé (OMA) doit établir un programme d'assurance de la qualité pour vérifier et faire en sorte que la maintenance et sa gestion continuent d'être conformes au présent règlement, conformément aux normes énoncées au chapitre 573 du Manuel de navigabilité.

L'alinéa 571.02(1)a) du RAC :

571.02 (1) Sous réserve du paragraphe (2), toute personne qui exécute sur un produit aéronautique des travaux de maintenance ou des travaux élémentaires doit utiliser les méthodes, techniques, pratiques, pièces, matériaux, outils, équipement et appareils d'essai les plus récents, qui sont :

a) soit indiqués pour le produit aéronautique dans la plus récente version du manuel de maintenance ou des instructions les plus récentes relatives au maintien de la navigabilité établis par le constructeur de ce produit aéronautique;

[…]

LA PREUVE

L'agent de présentation de cas du ministre, M. Bill Curtain, a présenté cinq témoins qui étaient tous des employés de Transports Canada : trois membres de l'équipe de vérification, un inspecteur de l'application de la loi et le surintendant du bureau de Calgary, M. David McNab. M. McNab était de plus l'autorité qui convoquait l'équipe de vérification et la personne qui avait signé l'Avis de suspension du certificat d'OMA de Cascade. M. Curtain a mentionné les facteurs « d'aggravation » quant aux deux chefs d'accusation, désignant ainsi des incidents litigieux pendant la vérification et l'enquête qui a suivi.

Par l'intermédiaire de ses cinq témoins, M. Curtain a présenté 15 pièces et des copies de la loi pertinente, soit l'article 573.09 et l'alinéa 571.02(1)a) du RAC. J'ai jugé que l'ensemble des témoins étaient très crédibles et que la preuve présentée se rapportait clairement aux infractions alléguées des règlements. Le rapport de vérification révélait quelque 15 infractions et lacunes dans l'exploitation de la compagnie en qualité d'OMA (pièces M-1 et M-2). Certaines se répétaient. Toutefois, la Division de l'application de la loi a choisi de poursuivre la compagnie uniquement sur deux d'entre elles : 1. le défaut de maintenir un système d'assurance de la qualité, et 2. le défaut de mettre à jour ses publications techniques.

En ce qui concerne le chef d'accusation no 1 (art. 573.09 du RAC), les pièces M-3 et M-4 indiquent qu'il n'y avait pas de dossier sur les deux vérifications précédentes, soit avant avril 2002. Ces dossiers sont prescrits en vertu de ce règlement, plus particulièrement en vertu du sous-alinéa 573.09(2)f)(vii) du Manuel de navigabilité. Ce règlement vise à consigner les constats des vérifications et la liste des corrections effectuées.

De plus, le ministre a tenté de présenter une preuve relative au dossier de vérification de la compagnie. J'ai refusé d'accepter cette preuve parce que je ne la jugeais pas pertinente par rapport aux chefs d'accusation présentés à l'audience et pour des motifs d'équité et de justice naturelle. Le dossier antérieur d'un titulaire de document ne vient pas prouver que des infractions courantes ont été commises.

M. Stanley Wong, président de Cascade, représentait l'intimée. Je me suis donné beaucoup de mal pour familiariser M. Wong avec les procédures d'une audience en révision et j'ai tenté de le guider tout au long des procédures. J'ai dû intervenir très souvent pour empêcher M Wong de s'éloigner du sujet et garder l'audience dans son cadre. Il m'a semblé que M. Wong utilisait l'audience comme moyen d'interroger Transports Canada sur la conduite de la vérification qui a entraîné cette audience. Il est devenu agressif à l'occasion et il fallait intervenir pour apaiser l'atmosphère.

L'infraction no 2 est relative à la responsabilité du fait d'autrui et j'ai soigneusement donné des directives à M. Wong sur les articles 8.4 et 8.5 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique. Il a dit qu'il comprenait leur signification. Pendant son contre-interrogatoire des témoins, M. Wong a admis que Cascade n'avait pas consulté les manuels : la compagnie effectuait ce travail depuis 18 ans, le considérait comme répétitif et ne consultait pas les manuels de maintenance du fabricant d'équipement (OEM), plus précisément dans ce cas, le manuel King du transpondeur KT76A. L'équipe de vérification a trouvé la dernière version du document encore dans son emballage de polythène, sans compter qu'elle n'avait pas été consultée avant ou pendant la maintenance reliée à l'ordre de travail no 24838. M. Wong a tenté de justifier cette lacune en établissant que la révision no 7 n'était pas appropriée aux travaux effectués dans ce cas particulier. Le témoin du ministre a répondu que parce que le manuel du KT76A n'avait été ni amendé ni consulté soit avant ou pendant la maintenance, Cascade ne pouvait pas savoir si la révision était appropriée au travail effectué. De plus, M. Schroeder a repéré certains autres manuels qui n'étaient pas à jour et a signalé que le travail avait été effectué sur les différents équipements respectifs sans que les manuels courants et les mises à jour ne soient consultés. La pièce M-7, un extrait du manuel des politiques de maintenance de Cascade se lit comme suit : « CASCADE AVIONICS LTD. utilise les plus récentes versions des manuels du constructeur ou des publications servant à effectuer les tâches de maintenance ». Les pièces M-8, M-9 et M-10 indiquent aussi des lacunes documentaires.

À partir des déclarations de M. Wong au cours du contre-interrogatoire des témoins, il devint évident qu'il n'appréciait pas l'obligation de consulter les manuels ou de les conserver à jour. En réalité, il a dit que les manuels n'étaient pas utilisés. Il a demandé plusieurs questions aux témoins de Transports Canada pendant son contre-interrogatoire sur les erreurs commises par Cascade pour nuire à la sécurité publique. Ces questions ont été soulevées en regard de la suspension en vertu du paragraphe 7.1(1) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique qui n'était pas soulevée à cette audience et elles étaient peu pertinentes quant aux infractions alléguées à la présente audience en révision. 

M. Wong a aussi contesté l'importance des amendes imposées à Cascade lorsqu'il interrogeait M. Paulhus, de la division de l'Application de la loi. On a expliqué qu'il s'agissait des amendes reliées à la première infraction d'une corporation, soit 1 250 $ comparativement à 250 $ pour un individu.

M. Wong a contre-interrogé le dernier témoin, M. McNab, de façon agressive, sur les motifs pour lesquels le certificat d'OMA de Cascade avait été suspendu et sur la question de la sécurité publique. J'ai dû intervenir pour l'aviser que l'audience ne concernait pas cette question et qu'elle n'était pas une tribune pour recueillir des renseignements à ce sujet. Il s'agissait-là d'une question qui datait maintenant de 13 mois et de laquelle il aurait dû s'entretenir avec M. McNab au moment opportun. Le témoin a patiemment répondu aux questions de M. Wong, de façon transparente et sympathique.

Au début de l'audience et à la fin de la cause du ministre, j'avais avisé M. Wong qu'il avait l'occasion de présenter une preuve et des témoins pour se défendre des allégations. Il a dit qu'il n'avait ni preuve ni témoins à présenter. Il a choisi de présenter un résumé de la façon dont il voyait la poursuite contre lui. Il n'a aucunement nié les allégations contre lui ni présenté de preuve pour les réfuter.

Dans son résumé, M. Wong a reconnu les infractions relatives à l'assurance de la qualité. Il a dit qu'il avait embauché M. Cox pour lui confier la charge de la maintenance (PRM – Personne responsable de la maintenance, pièce M-13). M. Wong n'est plus responsable de la maintenance. Il s'agissait d'une des conditions du rétablissement du certificat d'OMA de la compagnie.

M. Wong a contesté le deuxième chef d'accusation et sa pertinence quant au travail effectué relativement à l'ordre de travail no 24838. Il a réitéré que la révision no 7 du manuel King ne se rapportait pas au travail accompli en vertu de l'ordre de travail. Il a de plus contesté l'importance de l'amende de 1 250 $ et il s'interrogeait sur les retombées de cette infraction sur la sécurité publique. Il considérait que l'équipe de vérification était « très sévère » et que le chef d'accusation était non-justifié et injuste.

Sa compagnie avait connu de sérieuses contraintes financières et avait subi une perte de crédibilité. Plusieurs membres expérimentés du personnel qui avaient travaillé chez Cascade avaient quitté la compagnie pour occuper des postes fort dignes de confiance dans des organisations de plus d'envergure. Un d'eux était devenu directeur de maintenance.

M. Wong a dit qu'il considérait une vérification comme un « bulletin d'école secondaire ». On ne peut atteindre 100 % mais de 80 à 85 %. M. Cox était maintenant responsable de la maintenance et « ce genre de choses ne devrait plus se produire ».

Le résumé de M. Curtain a réitéré la preuve du ministre. Il a souligné la déclaration de M. Wong selon laquelle « un OMA n'a pas à consulter les manuels » comme étant manifestement irresponsable. En parlant de la peine, il a fait ressortir que les amendes imposées étaient minimales pour une première infraction.

DISCUSSION ET DÉCISION

Le ministre a prouvé que Cascade avait enfreint les règlements cités ci-dessus, selon la prépondérance des probabilités. De plus, il semble que Transports Canada a été en quelque sorte indulgente pour avoir choisi de poursuivre la compagnie uniquement en raison de deux infractions, alors que le rapport de vérification et d'autres preuves en citent de nombreuses autres. Puisqu'il s'agit d'une première infraction, il est évident que Transports Canada voudrait travailler avec la compagnie pour améliorer son rendement et son respect des règlements.

M. Wong s'est objecté au chef d'accusation no 2 et l'a jugé injuste. Cette croyance semblait émaner du fait que la révision no 7 du manuel King n'avait pas d'incidence sur le travail effectivement accompli en regard de l'ordre de travail no 24838, ceci a été découvert seulement après le fait. La révision était encore dans son enveloppe plusieurs mois plus tard, au moment de la visite de l'équipe de vérification. De plus, il semble que le mépris de M. Wong à l'égard des manuels soit clairement évident.

Cascade est une petite compagnie et j'ai de la compassion pour les répercussions financières que peuvent avoir sur elle des amendes substantielles. Toutefois, la preuve présentée par le ministre fait ressortir que ces infractions avaient un caractère répétitif. Les déclarations persistantes de M. Wong au sujet de son mépris des manuels et son manque de respect pour les vérifications, ne m'encouragent pas à réduire les amendes imposées. Je considère, plutôt, que Transports Canada a été indulgent dans cette cause.

À la conclusion de cette audience, j'ai décidé que le ministre des Transports a prouvé selon la prépondérance des probabilités que Cascade avait effectivement contrevenu à l'alinéa 571.02(1)a) et à l'article 573.09 du RAC. Les amendes imposées doivent être maintenues.

Philip D. Jardim
Conseiller
Tribunal d'appel des transports du Canada