Decisions

TATC File No. W-3117-52
MoT File No. R4200-102-FORSTER P/B

TRANSPORTATION APPEAL TRIBUNAL OF CANADA

BETWEEN:

Robert Forster, Applicant

- and -

Minister of Transport, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. A-2, s. 7.7
Canadian Aviation Security Regulations, SOR/2000-111, s. 41


Review Determination
T. Richard Turner


Decision: May 20, 2005

I find that Mr. Robert George Forster did contravene section 41 of the Canadian Aviation Security Regulations and I confirm the Minister's decision to assess a monetary penalty of $75.00. This amount is to be made payable to the Receiver General for Canada and must be received by the Tribunal within thirty-five days of service of this determination.

A review hearing on this matter was held Wednesday, April 27, 2005 at 10:00 hours, at the Federal Court of Canada, in Calgary, Alberta.

There was a pre-hearing Agreed Statement of Fact between the applicant and the respondent dated April 27, 2005 which was signed by both parties. There were no motions.

BACKGROUND

On January 4, 2005, a monetary penalty of $75.00 was assessed against Mr. Forster, the applicant, pursuant to section 7.7 of the Aeronautics Act, by the Minister of Transport alleging that Mr. Forster had contravened the following provision(s):

On December 30, 2004, at approximately 11:00 a.m., at the Calgary International Airport, in the Province of Alberta, Robert Forster remained in a restricted area, to wit: Air Canada baggage make-up area – main terminal – Calgary International Airport, without his restricted area pass visibly displayed on his outer clothing, contrary to Subsection 41, Canadian Aviation Security Regulations.

AGREED STATEMENT OF FACT

The case presenting officer, Mr. Jeffrey Viens, and the applicant, Mr. Robert Forster, both stated on the record that each had read the Agreement Statement of Fact dated April 27, 2005 which both had signed. With the consent of Mr. Forster, the Agreement Statement of Fact was read by Mr. Viens into the record and a signed copy was given to each party and entered as Exhibit M-1.

This Agreement Statement of Fact, therefore, by consent, established all elements of this offence alleged by the Minister except for proving that Mr. Forster's restricted area pass was not visibly displayed on his outer clothing while he remained in the restricted area.

OPENING STATEMENTS

The Minister

Mr. Jeffrey Viens restated the elements of the Notice. He went on to say that Mr. John Steele, Transport Canada Inspector, observed Mr. Forster with his restricted area pass obscured by outdoor winter clothing. Mr. Steele also found Mr. Forster to be uncooperative when asked to produce his restricted area pass for inspection by him.

THE MINISTER'S CASE

Mr. John Thomas Steele was called by Mr. Viens and sworn as a witness. He stated that he was a security inspector for Transport Canada and was employed by Transport Canada on December 30, 2004.

Mr. Steele testified that it was a very cold day in Calgary with temperatures of approximately -15 to -16 degrees Celsius. He was wearing, in addition to his warm clothing, a brightly coloured vest.

He stated that at approximately 10:30 a.m. on December 30, 2004, he was conducting a patrol of restricted areas outside on the apron at the Calgary International Airport. The purpose of the patrol was to ensure that staff was displaying the restricted area passes as required. He detailed the various areas he visited at the airport for this purpose.

Mr. Steele stated that he observed several employees of various airlines without their restricted area passes visibly displayed; but as each of these ramp employees saw him approach in a very brightly coloured jacket which clearly identified him as a Transport Canada inspector, they pulled out their lanyards from within their outer warm clothing to ensure that the restricted area pass, which was attached to the lanyard, was properly visible. He testified that it was common for employees that are in a restricted area ensure that their restricted area passes are clearly visible when they see a Transport Canada inspector in the area undertaking a patrol.

Mr. Steele stated that at the north of Concourse A, staff from Air Canada process baggage for flights at Calgary International Airport. He testified that as he was proceeding from north to south and about 30 feet away from this baggage area, he noticed Mr. Forster sitting on a tug with a train of luggage carts attached to the tug behind him. Mr. Forster had not yet begun to drive the tug at this point.

Mr. Steele stated that Mr. Forster had on Air Canada clothing complete with an outer jacket that was zipped up to the top of the zipper. As he moved towards Mr. Forster, Mr. Steele stated that Mr. Forster saw him at approximately 20 feet of distance. He stated that Mr. Forster looked up at the ceiling at this point and did nothing else. When Mr. Steele was beside the tug on which Mr. Forster was sitting, he did nothing to display his restricted area pass.

After asking Mr. Forster for his restricted area pass, Mr. Steele stated that he did not immediately produce it. After a few moments, he did produce a lanyard to which many cards were attached, including a white access card. When Mr. Forster held out the lanyard, the restricted area pass was not clearly visible.

Mr. Steele stated that Mr. Forster made comments concerning a lack of care by the inspector with respect to the temperature. Mr. Steele then asked to see the restricted area pass once again and Mr. Forster then tossed his lanyard, together with all the various passes attached to it, onto the hood of the tug.

Mr. Steele stated that he did then view the restricted area pass as he removed the lanyard from the hood of the tug and that he recorded the infraction on a piece of paper. During this time, Mr. Forster continued to talk to Mr. Steele. Mr. Steele then told Mr. Forster that he was going to assess a $75.00 penalty.

After this brief exchange, Mr. Steele returned the passes and the lanyard to the hood of the tug and then left.

Mr. Steele stated that when he walked away from the tug, Mr. Forster also left the area. A few moments later, Mr. Forster approached Mr. Steele in a different location and wanted to talk again about the assessment of a monetary penalty. Mr. Steele testified that he simply walked away and later processed the appropriate paperwork in the prescribed way for such an offence.

Mr. Steele testified that after approximately two weeks, he checked the website at Canada Post to determine whether or not Mr. Forster had indeed picked up the registered letter which was sent to him by Mr. Steele concerning this incident. He had not.

Accordingly, Mr. Steele testified that he then went to Calgary International Airport to find Mr. Forster to serve him personally.

He found Mr. Forster under Concourse A nearest to Jetway A-12. Mr. Steele told him that he was being served for the incident on December 30, 2004. At this point he noticed that Mr. Forster had not properly displayed his restricted area pass, even though his coat appeared to have a plastic pocket designed for such a use. The restricted area pass was not visible.

Mr. Steele testified that he served Mr. Forster the papers.

As Mr. Steele was leaving Mr. Forster after this interaction, he noticed that the restricted area pass was on the floor of the cart that was behind the tug.

Following this testimony by Mr. Steele, Mr. Viens asked about the other employees at the time Mr. Forster was served. Mr. Steele testified that all other employees had their restricted area passes displayed. He said that Mr. Forster made no effort to pull out his pass and did not appear to want to.

THE APPLICANT'S CASE

Mr. Forster was sworn as a witness.

Mr. Forster testified that he works at a job where he is outside and inside in differing temperatures where there is a constant layering of clothing to keep either warm or cool. He testified that on December 30, 2004, it was a very cold day. He further testified that the inside room temperature was a comfortable temperature.

Mr. Forster stated that when, on that day and at that time, his tug was stopped with the baggage carts behind it at the belt at the baggage area, he noticed Mr. Steele for the first time. He denied that he saw Mr. Steele from a distance as Mr. Steele had testified.

Mr. Forster testified that the lanyard with his restricted area pass attached had been under his coat and not visibly displayed because it was cold outside. Mr. Forster stated that he could see that he was going to be fined, so he chose to toss it at Mr. Steele when asked for it by him. He further stated that he threw the pass at Mr. Steele because he was not allowed to distribute the luggage to passengers and he knew that they were waiting inside the passenger terminal.

Mr. Forster further testified that he chose to fight this sanction because he sees people all the time without the restricted area passes properly visible.

Mr. Forster stated that the identification was under his parka and that the identification was not clearly visible. He reiterated that others have a similar method of keeping their passes during cold weather, even though they are not visible either. Mr. Forster also stated that he felt it was not safe to pull out his pass when driving a tug, as he is concentrating on driving rather than having his restricted area pass visible. He mentioned that the company for whom he worked focuses on safety and that he felt this was more important than to have his restricted area pass clearly visible as required. He felt that Mr. Steele did not give him adequate opportunity to show his pass during the encounter.

Cross-examination

Mr. Viens asked Mr. Forster if he had to remove his parka to show his restricted area pass and Mr. Forster replied that no, he did not; but he had to retrieve it because the clothing was layered on top of it. Upon questioning, he further testified that he did not see Mr. Steele approach him and relies on the fact that Mr. Steele wears a very brightly coloured vest and would have seen him had he been close enough.

FINAL ARGUMENTS

The Respondent

Mr. Viens reviewed the evidence that had been presented by the Minister and Inspector Steele. He stated that through the Agreement Statement of Fact and the direct evidence by Mr. Steele, that all elements of the Notice had been proved.

Mr. Viens stated that the due diligence defence offered by Mr. Forster fails because he had not exercised all due diligence to prevent the contravention as required under section 8.5 of the Aeronautics Act. Mr. Viens also stated that Mr. Forster had testified that he had to unzip his parka to show the pass, which he failed to do, but could have done.

Mr. Viens stated that on a balance of probabilities, he had proven his case.

In terms of penalty, Mr. Viens spoke to the need for aerodrome security and why restricted area passes are issued and are important to display visibly. He stated that the maximum penalty under the Aeronautics Act is $5,000 and that $75.00 was appropriate for this occurrence.

The Applicant

Mr. Forster stated that he had not intended to show disregard for security and understood its importance. He stated that he has lost pieces of identification of various types before and was concerned about losing them again. He further stated that he has lost and found his restricted area pass and other passes from time to time over 32 years in the job at two international airports. He said that he had tried to use a different method to attach the pass to outer clothing; but it was not effective, given the nature of his job. He said that no existing system of attachment seems to work as passes are either not visibly displayed or fall off.

THE LAW

The Canadian Aviation Security Regulations, Part 3, Aerodrome Security, Control of Access to Restricted Areas:

41. A person must not enter or remain in a restricted area unless the restricted area pass issued to the person is visibly displayed on the person's outer clothing.

DISCUSSION

The Agreement Statement of Fact clearly, by consent between the parties, puts Mr. Forster in a restricted area at the Calgary International Airport on December 30, 2004 at approximately 11:00 a. m. It also puts ownership of restricted area pass number 69704 on Mr. Forster. These facts are not in doubt or disputed. The Agreed Statement of Fact does not deal with the restricted area pass being visible on a person's outer clothing.

Before I permitted the Agreement Statement of Fact to be entered as Exhibit M-1, I questioned Mr. Forster on the record to ensure that he understood what this document did. He told me that he understood and agreed with what it said. He signed the document in front of me and allowed Mr. Viens to read it into the record. I am satisfied that he knew what he was signing and the impact of it on his Hearing.

Mr. Steele gave testimony from both his memory and from detailed written notes to which he referred several times.

Mr. Steele is a Transport Canada inspector that I believe has some experience in these matters. He testified that he was on a patrol on December 30, 2004 at about 10:30 a.m. at the Calgary International Airport. He testified that he wore a brightly coloured vest that lets everyone know who he is and presumably what he is doing. He stated that he observed many employees working without their restricted area passes clearly visible on outer clothing but each rectified that matter by pulling out their lanyard when they saw Mr. Steele. I gather that this is common practice, certainly at Calgary.

Mr. Steele testified that the encounter with Mr. Forster was not entirely pleasant and gave me a complete story on the issue of the restricted area pass not being visible and Mr. Forster's attitude. Through Mr. Steele's testimony, I find that the Minister proved the missing element from the Agreement Statement of Fact. I believe that the Minister proved all elements of the offence.

Mr. Forster does not deny that the restricted area pass was not clearly visible on his outer clothing. It is clear to me that he intends to rely on a due diligence defence. He stated that he was and is unable to always have the restricted area pass visible on his outer clothing because of the nature of his job and the nature of the weather in Calgary. He stated that it is difficult to comply because if the lanyard with the restricted area pass is on the outside of outer clothing in the winter it gets in the way of him performing his job. He also stated that for safety reasons, he is not always aware of an inspector conducting a patrol. He stated that he puts safety before compliance in this instance and infers that his employer does as well.

I found Mr. Forster's demeanor to be one of defiance and difficulty. I do not believe he felt responsible for the infraction and was content to blame it on cold weather. I do not believe that he will behave any differently in the future nor attempt to find solutions to the problem of visibly displaying the restricted area pass as required. I believe he relies on not getting caught. His behavior with Mr. Steele was not denied by him and I can see how that behavior would exist after watching him at the Hearing. I believe he gave lip service to the need for security during his closing statement.

Mr. Forster has been employed at international airports for 32 years and must surely know that, on air-side, security is very important. His tossing of the lanyard at Mr. Steele speaks volumes about his attitude about security.

I have read the case of Minister of Transport v. Roy Joseph Eisenrieder and the appeal decision[1]. I find that the fact pattern in the subject case to be different because of the demeanor of the individual and difference in the willingness to conform to what is the law with respect to the visibility of restricted area passes on the person.

I do not find that the due diligence defence in this matter holds nor do I find mitigating circumstances which are relevant.

DETERMINATION

The Minister has proved the offence as alleged and the sanction of $75.00 is confirmed.

May 20, 2005

T. Richard Turner
Member
Transportation Appeal Tribunal of Canada


[1] Minister of Transport v. Roy Joseph Eisenrieder, review determination, [2003], appeal decision [2004], C‑2839‑52.

Décisions

Dossier no W-3117-52 (TATC)
Dossier no R4200-102-FORSTER P/B (MdT)

TRIBUNAL D'APPEL DES TRANSPORTS DU CANADA

ENTRE :

Robert Forster, requérant(e)

- et -

Ministre des Transports, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, c. A-2, art. 7.7
Règlement canadien sur la sûreté aérienne, DORS/2000-111, art. 41


Décision à la suite d'une révision
T. Richard Turner


Décision : le 20 mai 2005

TRADUCTION

Je considère que M. Robert George Forster a effectivement contrevenu à l'article 41 du Règlement canadien sur la sûreté aérienne et je confirme la décision du ministre d'imposer une amende de 75.00 $. Ce montant est payable au Receveur général du Canada et doit parvenir au Tribunal dans les trente-cinq jours de la signification de cette décision.

 Une audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le mercredi 27 avril 2005 à 10 h, à la Cour fédérale du Canada de Calgary (Alberta).

Il y a eu un exposé conjoint des faits avant l'audience entre le requérant et l'intimé, en date du 27 avril 2005, lequel a été signé par les deux parties. Aucune requête n'a été présentée.

HISTORIQUE

Le 4 janvier 2005, une amende de 75.00 $ a été imposée au requérant M. Forster en vertu de l'article 7.7 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, par le ministre des Transports qui allègue que M. Forster a contrevenu à la / aux disposition(s) suivante(s) :

Le 30 décembre 2004, vers 11h, à l'Aéroport international de Calgary, dans la province de l'Alberta, Robert Forster est demeuré dans une zone réglementée, soit les locaux de tri et préparation de bagages d'Air Canada – terminal principal – de l'Aéroport international de Calgary, sans que son laissez-passer de zone réglementée ne soit porté visiblement sur son vêtement extérieur, contrairement au paragraphe 41 du Règlement canadien sur la sûreté aérienne.

EXPOSÉ CONJOINT DES FAITS

L'agent de présentation de cas, M. Jeffrey Viens, et le requérant M. Robert Forster, ont tous deux déclaré officiellement qu'ils avaient lu et signé l'exposé conjoint des faits du 27 avril 2005. Avec le consentement de M. Forster, M. Viens a versé l'exposé conjoint des faits au dossier et un exemplaire signé a été remis à chacune des parties et présenté en preuve (pièce M-1).

Donc, cet exposé conjoint des faits a, par consentement, établi l'ensemble des éléments de ladite infraction alléguée par le ministre, à l'exception de la preuve que le laissez-passer de zone réglementée de M. Forster ne soit porté visiblement sur son vêtement extérieur alors qu'il est demeuré dans une zone réglementée.

DÉCLARATION D'OUVERTURE

Le ministre

M. Jeffrey Viens a relaté les éléments de l'Avis. Il a poursuivi en disant que M. John Steele, inspecteur pour le compte de Transports Canada a aperçu M. Forster dont le laissez-passer de zone réglementée était dissimulé par des vêtements d'hiver d'extérieur. M. Steele a de plus considéré que M. Forster n'avait pas coopéré lorsqu'il lui a demandé de présenter son laissez-passer de zone réglementée afin de l'inspecter.

LA CAUSE DU MINISTRE

M. John Thomas Steele a été appelé par M. Viens et assermenté comme témoin. Il a déclaré qu'il était inspecteur de la sûreté pour le compte de Transports Canada et qu'il travaillait pour le compte de Transports Canada, le 30 décembre 2004.

M. Steele a témoigné qu'il s'agissait d'une journée très froide à Calgary avec des températures d'environ -15 à -16 degrés Celsius. En plus de ses vêtements chauds, il portait une veste de couleur vive.

Il a déclaré que vers 10 h 30, le 30 décembre 2004, il effectuait une ronde des zones réglementées à l'extérieur, sur l'aire de trafic de l'Aéroport international de Calgary. Il patrouillait afin de s'assurer que le personnel porte visiblement le laissez-passer de zone réglementée, tel qu'exigé. Il a énuméré les diverses zones qu'il a visitées dans l'aéroport à cet effet.

M. Steele a déclaré qu'il avait aperçu plusieurs employés de diverses lignes aériennes qui ne portaient pas visiblement leur laissez-passer de zone réglementée; mais lorsqu'ils le voyaient s'approcher, puisqu'il portait une veste de couleur très vive qui l'identifie clairement comme inspecteur de Transports Canada, tous ces employés de piste sortaient leur cordon de leurs vêtements chauds afin de s'assurer que le laissez-passer de zone réglementée attaché au cordon soit correctement visible. Il a témoigné que c'était chose fréquente que les employés qui sont dans une zone réglementée s'assurent que leur laissez-passer de zone réglementée soit clairement visible lorsqu'ils voient un inspecteur de Transports Canada patrouiller dans une zone.

M. Steele a déclaré qu'au nord du hall A, le personnel d'Air Canada traite les bagages pour les vols de l'Aéroport international de Calgary. Il a témoigné qu'alors qu'il se dirigeait du nord au sud et à environ 30 pieds de l'aire des bagages, il a remarqué M. Forster assis sur un tracteur pour avion auquel était attaché un train de chariots à bagages. À ce moment-là M. Forster n'avait pas encore commencé à déplacer le tracteur.

M. Steele a déclaré que M. Forster portait un uniforme d'Air Canada et un veston d'extérieur dont la fermeture éclair était complètement fermée. Alors qu'il avançait en direction de M. Forster, M. Steele a déclaré que M. Forster l'a aperçu approximativement à 20 pieds de distance. Il a déclaré que M. Forster avait alors regardé au plafond, sans faire rien de plus. Lorsque M. Steele est arrivé à côté du tracteur sur lequel M. Forster était assis, celui-ci n'a rien fait pour porter visiblement son laissez-passer de zone réglementée.

M. Steele a déclaré qu'après avoir demandé le laissez-passer de zone réglementée à M. Forster, celui-ci ne le lui a pas présenté immédiatement. Après quelques instants, il a finalement présenté un cordon auquel étaient attachées plusieurs cartes, incluant une carte d'accès blanche. Lorsque M. Forster a sorti le cordon, le laissez-passer de zone réglementée n'était pas clairement visible.

M. Steele a déclaré que M. Forster a fait des commentaires sur le fait que l'inspecteur se souciait peu de la température. M. Steele a ensuite demandé de voir le laissez-passer de zone réglementée de nouveau et M. Forster a alors lancé son cordon et les divers laissez-passer qui y étaient attachés sur le capot du tracteur.

M. Steele a déclaré qu'il a alors vu le laissez-passer de zone réglementée lorsqu'il a pris le cordon du capot du tracteur et il a inscrit l'infraction sur un morceau de papier. Pendant ce temps, M. Forster a continué à parler à M. Steele. M. Steele a alors dit à M. Forster qu'il lui imposerait une amende de 75.00 $.

À la suite de ce bref échange, M. Steele a remis les laissez-passer et le cordon sur le capot du tracteur et il est parti.

M. Steele a déclaré que lorsqu'il s'est éloigné du tracteur, M. Forster a aussi quitté la zone. Peu après, M. Forster s'est approché de M. Steele, dans un endroit différent; il voulait lui parler de nouveau de l'imposition d'une amende. M. Steele a dit qu'il s'est simplement éloigné en marchant, et qu'ultérieurement, il a donné suite aux formalités administratives de la façon prescrite pour ce type d'infraction.

M. Steele a témoigné qu'environ deux semaines plus tard, il a vérifié le site de Postes Canada pour savoir si M. Forster avait effectivement récupéré la lettre recommandée qui lui avait été envoyée par M. Steele concernant cet incident. Il ne l'avait pas fait.

C'est pourquoi, a témoigné M. Steele, qu'il s'est rendu à l'Aéroport international de Calgary pour trouver M. Forster et lui remettre une signification à personne.

Il a trouvé M. Forster dans le hall A, près de Jetway A-12. M. Steele lui a dit qu'il lui remettait une signification pour l'incident du 30 décembre 2004. À ce moment-là, il a remarqué que M. Forster ne portait pas visiblement son laissez-passer de zone réglementée, même si son manteau semblait avoir une pochette de plastique à cet effet. Le laissez-passer de zone réglementée n'était pas visible.

M. Steele a témoigné qu'il a signifié les documents à M. Forster.

Puis, alors que M. Steele partait, il a remarqué que le laissez-passer de zone réglementée était sur le plancher du chariot, à l'arrière du tracteur.

À la suite de ce témoignage de M. Steele, M. Viens s'est informé au sujet des autres employés, alors que M. Forster recevait la signification. M. Steele a témoigné que tous les autres employés portaient leur laissez-passer de zone réglementée visiblement. Il a dit que M. Forster n'a fait aucun effort pour sortir son laissez-passer et ne semblait pas vouloir le faire.

LA CAUSE DU REQUÉRANT

M. Forster a été assermenté comme témoin.

M. Forster a témoigné que, dans le cadre de son emploi, il est à l'extérieur et à l'intérieur à des températures variables et qu'il porte constamment des couches de vêtements pour se maintenir soit au chaud ou au frais. Il a témoigné que le 30 décembre 2004 était une journée très froide. Il a de plus témoigné que la température à l'intérieur de la pièce était confortable.

M. Forster a déclaré que lorsque, au jour et à l'heure en question, son tracteur s'est arrêté avec les chariots à bagages derrière le transporteur à courroie de la zone de bagages, il a remarqué M. Steele pour la première fois. Il a nié avoir aperçu M. Steele d'une certaine distance, tel que M. Steele a témoigné.

M. Forster a témoigné que le cordon avec lequel son laissez-passer de zone réglementée était attaché était sous son manteau et qu'il n'était pas visible parce qu'il faisait froid à l'extérieur. M. Forster a déclaré qu'il savait qu'il allait recevoir une contravention et il a donc choisi de le lancer à M. Steele quand ce dernier le lui a demandé. Il a de plus déclaré qu'il a lancé le laissez-passer à M. Steele parce qu'il ne pouvait distribuer les bagages aux passagers et il savait qu'ils attendaient dans l'aérogare.

M. Forster a aussi témoigné qu'il a choisi de contester cette sanction parce qu'il voit constamment des personnes qui ne portent pas visiblement leur laissez-passer de zone réglementée.

M. Forster a déclaré que l'identification était sous son parka et qu'elle n'était pas clairement visible. Il a rappelé que les autres avaient une façon semblable de porter leur laissez-passer par temps froid et ils ne sont pas visibles non plus. M. Forster a aussi déclaré qu'il estimait qu'il était dangereux de sortir son laissez-passer en conduisant le tracteur, puisqu'il faut se concentrer sur la conduite plutôt que sur la visibilité du laissez-passer de zone réglementée. Il a mentionné que la compagnie pour laquelle il travaillait mettait l'accent sur la sécurité et qu'il considérait que c'était plus important qu'un laissez-passer de zone réglementée clairement visible, tel que requis. Il considérait que M. Steele n'a pas favorisé qu'il lui montre son laissez-passer lors de la rencontre.

Contre-interrogatoire

M. Viens a demandé à M. Forster s'il devait enlever son parka pour montrer son laissez-passer de zone réglementée et M. Forster a répondu par la négative; mais il devait le retrouver parce que des couches de vêtements le recouvraient. Interrogé à cet effet, il a ensuite témoigné qu'il n'avait pas vu M. Steele s'approcher de lui et compte tenu du fait que M. Steele portait une veste d'une couleur très vive, il l'aurait vu s'il avait été suffisamment proche.

PLAIDOIRIES FINALES

L'intimé

M. Viens a passé en revue la preuve présentée par le ministre et l'inspecteur Steele. Il a déclaré que, par le biais de l'Exposé conjoint des faits et de la preuve directe de M. Steele, tous les éléments de l'Avis ont été prouvés.

M. Viens a déclaré que la défense de diligence raisonnable présentée par M. Forster ne tient pas parce qu'il n'a pas exercé toute la diligence raisonnable pour prévenir l'infraction, conformément à l'article 8.5 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique. M. Viens a de plus déclaré que M. Forster avait témoigné qu'il devait ouvrir sa fermeture éclair de son parka pour montrer son laissez-passer, ce qu'il n'a pas fait, même s'il pouvait le faire.

M. Viens a déclaré que, selon la prépondérance des probabilités, il a établi le bien-fondé de sa cause.

En ce qui concerne la peine, M. Viens a parlé du besoin de sûreté dans les aérodromes, des raisons pour lesquelles les laissez-passer de zone réglementée sont délivrés et de l'importance de les porter visiblement. Il a déclaré que la peine maximale en vertu de la Loi sur l'aéronautique est 5 000.00 $ et qu'une amende de 75.00 $ était appropriée dans les circonstances.

Le requérant

M. Forster a déclaré qu'il n'avait pas eu l'intention de ne pas tenir compte de la sûreté et qu'il comprenait son importance. Il a déclaré qu'il avait déjà perdu divers types de papiers d'identité et que le fait de les perdre de nouveau l'inquiétait. Il a de plus déclaré qu'il avait perdu et trouvé son laissez-passer de zone réglementée et d'autres laissez-passer à différentes reprises au cours de ses 32 années de travail à deux aéroports internationaux. Il a dit qu'il avait tenté d'utiliser différentes méthodes pour attacher le laissez-passer sur son vêtement extérieur; mais cela n'était pas efficace, étant donné la nature de son travail. Il a dit qu'aucun système pour l'attacher ne semble fonctionner car, soit que le laissez-passer est porté sans être visible, soit qu'il tombe.

LA LOI

La Partie 3 du Règlement canadien sur la sûreté aérienne, Sûreté des aérodromes, Contrôle d'accès aux zones réglementées :

41. Il est interdit à toute personne d'entrer ou de demeurer dans une zone réglementée à moins que le laissez-passer de zone réglementée délivré à la personne ne soit porté visiblement sur son vêtement extérieur.

DISCUSSION

L'Exposé conjoint des faits, de consentement entre les parties, situe clairement M. Forster dans une zone réglementée de l'Aéroport international de Calgary, le 30 décembre 2004, vers 11 h. Il précise de plus que M. Forster est titulaire du laissez-passer de zone réglementée numéro 69704. Ces faits ne sont ni mis en doute, ni contestés. L'Exposé conjoint des faits ne traite pas d'un laissez-passer de zone réglementée porté visiblement sur le vêtement extérieur d'une personne.

Avant de permettre que l'Exposé conjoint de faits ne soit déposé en preuve (pièce M-1), j'ai interrogé M. Forster officiellement pour m'assurer qu'il comprenait les effets de ce document. Il m'a dit qu'il comprenait et qu'il était d'accord avec son contenu. Il a signé le document devant moi et a permis à M. Viens de le verser au dossier. Je suis convaincu qu'il comprenait ce qu'il signait et les répercussions du document sur son audience.

M. Steele a témoigné de mémoire et à partir de notes écrites auxquelles il s'est référé plusieurs fois.

M. Steele est inspecteur pour le compte de Transports Canada et je crois qu'il possède une certaine expérience en la matière. Il a déclaré qu'il effectuait une ronde, le 30 décembre 2004 vers 10 h 30, à l'Aéroport international de Calgary. Il a témoigné qu'il portait une veste de couleur vive, du type qui ne laisse aucun doute sur son identité et sur ce qu'il fait. Il a déclaré avoir aperçu plusieurs employés travaillant sans porter visiblement leur laissez-passer de zone réglementée sur leur vêtement extérieur mais tous ont rectifié la situation en tirant leur cordon lorsqu'ils ont vu M. Steele. J'ai l'impression qu'il s'agit d'une pratique habituelle, du moins à Calgary.

M. Steele a témoigné que la rencontre avec M. Forster n'a pas été tout à fait plaisante et il m'a donné un compte-rendu complet sur la question du laissez-passer de zone réglementée non visiblement porté et sur le comportement de M. Forster. Par le témoignage de M. Steele, je considère que le ministre a prouvé l'élément de l'Exposé conjoint des faits qui manquait. Je crois que le ministre a prouvé tous les éléments de l'infraction.

M. Forster ne nie pas que le laissez-passer de zone réglementée n'était pas porté visiblement sur son vêtement extérieur. Il m'apparaît évident qu'il a l'intention de s'appuyer sur une défense de diligence raisonnable. Il a déclaré qu'il était et est incapable de toujours porter son laissez-passer de zone réglementée visiblement sur son vêtement extérieur en raison de la nature de son travail et de la température à Calgary. Il a déclaré qu'il est difficile de respecter la consigne parce que si le cordon du laissez-passer de zone réglementée est à l'extérieur du vêtement extérieur, en hiver, il nuit à l'exécution de son travail. Il a de plus déclaré que pour des raisons de sûreté, il n'est pas toujours conscient qu'un inspecteur effectue une ronde. Il a déclaré qu'il situe la sûreté avant le respect de la consigne dans cette cause et il présume que son employeur en fait autant.

J'ai jugé que le comportement de M. Forster était difficile et empreint de défi. Je ne crois pas qu'il se sentait responsable de l'infraction et il était heureux de s'en prendre à la température froide. Je ne crois pas qu'il se comportera différemment à l'avenir, pas plus qu'il ne tentera de trouver des solutions au problème lié au fait de porter visiblement le laissez-passer de zone réglementée tel que requis. Je crois qu'il compte sur le fait de ne pas se faire attraper. Il n'a pas nié son comportement vis-à-vis de M. Steele et je peux voir de quelle façon cela peut se manifester, après l'avoir observé à l'audience. J'estime qu'il a soutenu du bout des lèvres l'importance de la sûreté dans sa plaidoirie.

M. Forster est au service d'aéroports internationaux depuis 32 ans et doit certainement savoir qu'en matière aéronautique, la sûreté est très importante. Son lancement du cordon à M. Steele en dit long sur son attitude quant à la sûreté.

J'ai lu la cause du Ministre des Transports c. Roy Joseph Eisenrieder et la décision en appel[1]. Je considère que le sujet de la cause est différent en raison du comportement de l'individu et de la volonté de se conformer à la loi en ce qui a trait à la visibilité des laissez-passer de zone réglementée sur la personne.

Je ne considère pas que la défense de diligence raisonnable s'applique à cette cause, ni que des circonstances atténuantes sont pertinentes.

DÉCISION

Le ministre a prouvé l'infraction tel qu'alléguée et la sanction de 75,00 $ est confirmée.

Le 20 mai 2005

T. Richard Turner
Conseiller
Tribunal d'appel des transports du Canada


[1] Ministre des Transports c. Roy Joseph Eisenrieder, décision à la suite d'une révision, [2003], décision à la suite d'un appel [2004], C-2839-52.