Decisions

TATC File No. W-3145-59
MoT File No. 5802-306379

TRANSPORTATION APPEAL TRIBUNAL OF CANADA

BETWEEN:

Dik Cusveller, Applicant

- and -

Minister of Transport, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. A-2, s. 7.1(1)(b)


Review Determination
William D. Nicholson


Decision: November 23, 2005

I have determined that the Minister has made its case and the suspension of Mr. Cusveller's instrument rating suspension is confirmed.

A review hearing on this matter was held Tuesday, October 4, 2005 at 10:00 hours, at Canada Place, Public Work Canada Building, in Edmonton, Alberta.

BACKGROUND

On May 16, 2005, Dik Cusveller was pilot-in-command of a Beech 100 King Air aircraft during a Pilot Proficiency Check (PPC)/Instrument Rating renewal check flight. The flight test was conducted by Inspector Pat Cowman who assessed the PPC as failed and IFR as failed. Mr. Cusveller appealed the decision to suspend his instrument rating.

THE NOTICE OF SUSPENSION

The Notice of Suspension was given by Form 26-0363 and stated that, pursuant to subsection 7.1(1) of the Aeronautics Act, and in consideration of the flight test, Mr. Cusveller's instrument rating was suspended. Reinstatement of the instrument rating would require a satisfactory completion of a flight test.

THE EVIDENCE

The Minister called one witness, Pat Cowman.

Mr. Pat Cowman, Transport Canada Inspector, gave a description of the check ride development and format and how the flight of May 16, 2005 proceeded.

The check ride was depicted as having followed the recommended procedures of the Approved Check Pilot Manual (Exhibit M-1), emphasizing the marking scale and assessment standards starting on page 65. Standard 723, Schedule I - Pilot Proficiency Check (Exhibit M-3) was entered and paragraph (2)(d) was highlighted by being read and described. This part shows that under the heading "Instrument Procedures":

[...]

(i) An area departure and an area arrival procedure shall be performed where the pilot:

(A) adheres to actual or simulated air traffic control clearances and instructions; and

(B) properly uses the available navigation facilities;

[...]

Mr. Cowman explained that he planned to conduct the flight test in day VFR simulating IFR conditions. Most of the flight would be in the Wetaskiwin area using the radio navigation facilities referred to as "Papa Two" (Exhibit M-6).

An encompassing description of the May 16, 2005 flight test was given. The ride was initiated upstairs at the Airco facilities. Medicals and licences of Mr. Cusveller (captain) and Mr. Boroumand (pilot not flying) were checked. It was noted that during the oral portion, Mr. Cusveller had difficulties with both the general and technical questions. While in the ground run phase of the pre-take-off checks, the first officer (Mr. Boroumand) had to assist with the propeller governor and auto-feather checks. It was during this ground phase that the global positioning system (GPS) was first observed showing a failure. The flashing warning light was cancelled by pushing a button. A warning message of "NAV Super Flag Failure" was observed and could not be remedied. No maintenance check was called for. Neither radio facility was selected prior to take-off. The departure was on an Edmonton City 3 departure which calls for flying runway heading climbing to 7,000 feet (GPS not required). They then flew two headings instructed from air traffic control (ATC). They were then instructed to fly direct to "Papa Two", at which time the crew selected "Direct to" on the GPS. At this time, Mr. Cowman asked why the failure message was "on" and noted that conventional navigation systems were not selected. He then cancelled the ride. The aircraft was landed and the debriefing completed.

At this point in his testimony, Mr. Cowman stated that he had seen the message announcer light flashing twice, once on the ground and once in the air. The horizontal situation indicator (HSI) did not show correct navigation information.

When asked why he had not failed and cancelled the ride on the ground, Mr. Cowman explained that until take-off the candidate has the ability to correct the situation and that an inspector must see it in use or attempted use.

Under cross-examination by Mr. Cusveller, Inspector Cowman stated that he was reasonably knowledgeable with the KLN 90B from his Minister of Transport training and use. He acknowledged that he does not fly every day, did not know what "NAV Super Flag Failure" meant, nor did he know that the HSI could not be used with a "NAV Super Flag Failure". When asked what constitutes use, he stated selecting "Direct to" on the GPS with no other navigation means selected or tuned would constitute use.

Mr. Cusveller decided not to call any witnesses and to enter a statement. Mr. Boroumand, the designated witness, was invited back in to view the remaining proceedings.

In the statement to the hearing, Mr. Cusveller described himself as a very experienced commercial pilot having started in 1978 and having held positions as captain and safety officers for various air carriers. He stated that the letter of May 17, 2005 to the Tribunal (Exhibit M-10) best described his position of the suspension.

Under cross-examination, when asked what his intention was when he entered "Direct to" on the GPS, Mr. Cusveller answered "to go to the facility".

CONCLUSION

The evidence indicates that an assessed failure for the instrument rating was reasonable and should stand.

This brings up the next point. Should Mr. Cusveller's file be expunged of the failure/suspension? It is my conclusion that it should not be. The error that must be considered is not selecting "Direct to" in the air but having taken off after having observed a warning and not discovering what the root cause or ramifications of the observed failure would be to the navigation system.

DETERMINATION

I have determined that the Minister has made its case and the suspension of Mr. Cusveller's instrument rating is confirmed.

November 23, 2005

William Nicholson
Member
Transportation Appeal Tribunal of Canada

Décisions

Dossier no W-3145-59 (TATC)
Dossier no 5802-306379 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL D'APPEL DES TRANSPORTS DU CANADA

ENTRE :

Dik Cusveller, requérant(e)

- et -

Ministre des Transports, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, c. A-2, art. 7.1(1)b)


Décision à la suite d'une révision
William D. Nicholson


Décision : le 23 novembre 2005

TRADUCTION

J'ai décidé que le ministre a établi le bien-fondé de sa cause et la suspension de la qualification de vol aux instruments de M. Cusveller est confirmée.

Une audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le mardi 4 octobre 2005 à 10 h à Place Canada, l'édifice de Travaux publics Canada à Edmonton (Alberta).

HISTORIQUE

Le 16 mai 2005, Dik Cusveller était commandant de bord d'un aéronef Beech 100 King Air lors d'un examen en vol pour le renouvellement du contrôle de la compétence du pilote (CCP) / qualification de vol aux instruments. L'inspecteur Pat Cowman a dirigé l'examen en vol et son évaluation du CCP et de l'IFR concluait à des échecs. M. Cusveller a interjeté appel de la décision de suspendre sa qualification de vol aux instruments.

L'AVIS DE SUSPENSION

L'Avis de suspension a été remis par le biais d'un formulaire 26-0363, lequel indiquait qu'en vertu du paragraphe 7.1(1) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique et en considération de l'examen en vol, la qualification de vol aux instruments de M. Cusveller était suspendue. Le rétablissement de la qualification de vol aux instruments exigerait qu'un examen en vol soit exécuté avec satisfaction.

LA PREUVE

Le ministre a appelé un témoin, Pat Cowman.

M. Pat Cowman, inspecteur pour le compte de Transports Canada, a donné une description de la conception, de la structure et du déroulement de l'examen en vol du 16 mai 2005.

Selon sa description, l'examen en vol s'est déroulé en vertu des procédures recommandées par le Manuel du pilote vérificateur agréé (pièce M-1), soit en mettant l'accent sur l'échelle de notation et les normes d'évaluation qui débutent à la page 65. Les principaux points de la Norme 723, à l'Annexe I – Contrôle de compétence pilote (pièce M-3) et l'alinéa (2)d) ont été lus et décrits. Dans cette partie, on peut lire, sous «  Procédures de vol aux instruments  »:

[...]

(i) Exécuter une procédure de départ d'une région et d'arrivée dans une région :

(A) en respectant les autorisations et les instructions réelles ou simulées du contrôle de la circulation aérienne; et

(B) en se servant convenablement des installations de navigation disponibles;

[...]

M. Cowman a expliqué qu'il a planifié d'effectuer un examen en vol de jour en VFR, en simulant les conditions IFR. La majeure partie du vol aurait lieu dans la région de Wetaskiwin, avec l'aide des appareils de radionavigation appelés «  Papa Two  » (pièce M-6).

Il a présenté une description exhaustive de l'examen en vol du 16 mai 2005. Le parcours a débuté à l'étage supérieur des installations d'Airco. Il a procédé à la vérification des papiers médicaux et des immatriculations de M. Cusveller (commandant) et de M. Boroumand (pilote qui n'est pas aux commandes). Il a remarqué qu'au cours de la partie orale, M. Cusveller avait de la difficulté avec les questions générales et techniques. À l'étape des vérifications avant décollage au sol, le premier officier (M. Boroumand) a dû l'assister pour les vérifications de régulateur d'hélice et de mise en drapeau automatique. C'est durant cette phase au sol que le système de positionnement mondial (GPS) a d'abord relevé un échec. On a arrêté le clignotement de l'avertisseur lumineux en enfonçant le bouton. Un message d'alerte lié à un «  NAV Super Flag Failure  » a été décelé mais on n'a pu y remédier. Aucune vérification de maintenance n'a été sollicitée. Aucune installation radio n'a été choisie avant le décollage. Le départ a eu lieu de la zone de départ Edmonton City 3, ce qui nécessite de parcourir la piste puis d'effectuer une montée à 7 000 pieds (GPS non requis). Par la suite, ils ont volé vers deux caps en suivant les directives du contrôle de la circulation aérienne (ATC). On leur a par la suite donné l'indication de voler à l'aide de «  Papa Two  » et l'équipage a alors choisi «  Direct to  » sur le GPS. À ce moment-là, M. Cowman a demandé pourquoi le message d'échec fonctionnait et il a remarqué que les systèmes de navigation conventionnels n'avaient pas été sélectionnés. Il a donc annulé le vol. L'aéronef a atterri et le compte rendu du vol a été effectué.

À ce stade de son témoignage, M. Cowman a déclaré qu'il avait vu l'indicateur du message clignoter à deux reprises, une fois au sol et une autre dans les airs. L'information relative à la navigation sur l'indicateur de situation horizontale (HSI) n'était pas exacte.

Lorsqu'on lui a demandé la raison pour laquelle il n'avait pas imposé un échec et annulé le test avant le décollage, M. Cowman a expliqué que jusqu'au moment du décollage, le candidat avait la possibilité de corriger la situation et qu'un inspecteur doit pouvoir constater l'utilisation ou la tentative de l'utilisation.

Contre-interrogé par M. Cusveller, l'inspecteur Cowman a déclaré qu'il avait une connaissance raisonnable des KLN 90B acquise par sa formation et son utilisation, du ministère des Transports. Il a reconnu qu'il ne pilote pas à tous les jours, qu'il ne savait pas ce que désignait «  NAV Super Flag Failure  », pas plus qu'il ne savait qu'un indicateur de situation horizontale ne pouvait être utilisé avec un «  NAV Super Flag Failure  ». Interrogé sur ce qu'il entendait par l'utilisation, il a déclaré que choisir «  Direct to  » sur le GPS sans sélectionner ou syntoniser d'autres moyens de navigation constituait une utilisation.

M. Cusveller a décidé de ne pas appeler d'autres témoins à comparaître et a fait une déclaration. M. Boroumand, le témoin désigné, a été invité pour rentrer et prendre part aux procédures restantes.

Dans sa déclaration à l'audience, M. Cusveller s'est décrit lui-même comme un pilote professionnel très expérimenté qui a débuté en 1978 et qui a occupé divers postes de commandant et d'agent de sécurité pour le compte de différents transporteurs aériens. Il a déclaré que la lettre du 17 mai 2005 au Tribunal (pièce M-10) était celle qui décrivait le mieux son point de vue sur la suspension.

En contre interrogatoire, lorsqu'on lui a demandé quelle était son intention lorsqu'il a indiqué «  Direct to  » sur le GPS, M. Cusveller a répondu qu'il voulait «  aller aux installations  ».

CONCLUSION

La preuve indique que l'échec imposé pour la qualification de vol aux instruments était raisonnable et devrait être maintenu.

Cela nous amène au point suivant. Est-ce que l'échec/suspension doivent être rayés du dossier de M. Cusveller? J'estime qu'ils ne devraient pas l'être. L'erreur qui doit être prise en compte n'est pas d'avoir choisi «  Direct to  » dans les airs mais de décoller après avoir remarqué un avertissement sans chercher à découvrir sa cause fondamentale ou les conséquences de la panne observée sur le système de navigation.

DÉCISION

J'ai décidé que le ministre avait établi le bien-fondé de sa cause et la suspension de la qualification de vol aux instruments de M. Cusveller est confirmée.

Le 23 novembre 2005

William Nicholson
Conseiller
Tribunal d'appel des transports du Canada