Decisions

TATC File No. P-3325-27

TRANSPORTATION APPEAL TRIBUNAL OF CANADA

BETWEEN:

Travis Dass, Applicant

- and -

Minister of Transport, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. A-2, ss. 3; 6.6; 6.7 and 7.21
Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96-433, ss. 401.06(1) and 401.06(1)(c)

Jurisdiction to review, Helicopter, Canadian aviation document (CAD), Flight test report, Definition of privilege, Flight test, Commercial pilot licence


Interlocutory Decision
Faye H. Smith


Decision: July 9, 2007

Citation: Travis Dass v. Canada (Minister of Transport), 2007 TATCE 17

Decided on the basis of written submissions

Held: I find that the Tribunal does not have jurisdiction to review the failed flight test, one of the conditions precedent to the issuance of a commercial pilot licence – helicopter.

I. BACKGROUND

[1]     By e-mails dated December 28, 2006 and January 1, 2007, Brian Jenner as agent for Jason Camille and Travis Dass requested a review by the Tribunal of the failure assessment made by the Minister of Transport of Messrs. Camille and Dass' commercial pilot licence - helicopter (CPL-H) flight test of November 30, 2006 and/or the Minister's refusal to issue Messrs. Camille and Dass a CPL-H based on the results of this November 30th flight test. Mr. Jenner attached a copy of the November 30th failed flight test report together with the partial flight test report from the following day, which lead to the issuance of a CPL-H to each of the applicants.

II. MINISTER'S SUBMISSIONS

[2]     It is the Minister's position that on the facts of these matters no decision was ever made by the Minister to refuse to issue a CPL-H licence to either candidate. He states that there is no evidence that, prior to the successful re-test done shortly after the failed flight test, either applicant submitted an application to the Minister with appropriate documentation as set out in section 401.06(1) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96-433 (CARs), in order to be issued a CPL-H.

[3]     The Minister further states that should either candidate have completed the application process such a refusal may have been the final result given the failed flight test. However, no such finalized applications were made until the candidates passed the flight tests. After the tests were redone and both candidates had passed then the licences were granted based upon the fact that all the prerequisites for the application specified in the CARs had been met.

[4]     It is also the Minister's position that the decisions made by the flight examiner with regard to the actual flight tests themselves do not trigger the jurisdiction of the Tribunal. This is because the flight tests cannot be properly characterized as Canadian aviation documents (CADs). Therefore, their review is outside the jurisdictional mandate of the Tribunal.

[5]     The Minister states that the application process relevant to the issuance of a CPL-H is set out in section 401.06(1) of the CARs which reads as follows:

401.06 (1) Subject to section 6.71 of the Act, the Minister shall, on receipt of an application submitted in the form and manner specified in the personnel licensing standards, issue a flight crew permit or licence to the applicant or endorse the applicant's flight crew permit or licence with a rating if the applicant provides documentation to the Minister that establishes

(a) the applicant's citizenship;

(b) that the applicant meets the applicable requirements set out in the personnel licensing standards in respect of

(i) minimum age,

(ii) medical fitness,

(iii) knowledge,

(iv) experience, and

(v) skill; and

(c) that the applicant has successfully completed, within the applicable period specified in the personnel licensing standards preceding the date of application for the permit, licence or rating, a flight test in accordance with the personnel licensing standards.

[6]     The Minister submits that upon reading the above section it is clearly evident that it is not the failure of the flight test per se that engages the Minister's decision-making authority with respect to the issuance of a CPL-H. Rather, it is only by way of a submission to the Minister of a formal application establishing that the applicant has satisfied all the required elements set out in section 401.06(1) of the CARs that the ministerial decision-making mechanism can be invoked.

[7]     The Minister states that any such application would have been pointless given that it could not have been accompanied by evidence of a "successfully completed" flight test which is required by section 401.06(1)(c) of the CARs. This situation quickly changed, however, after both applicants succeeded in passing the partial re-test performed shortly after the original failure. The candidates were now able to submit applications accompanied by documentation confirming that they met the prerequisites established by section 401.06(1), which they did.

[8]     It follows therefore that the Minister's submission is that the sole issue before the Tribunal is whether it has jurisdiction to review the decision of the flight test examiner to fail both candidates on their initial flight tests.

[9]     On this latter point the Minister states that there is no jurisdiction for the Tribunal to review the failure of the flight tests as the flight test in question is not a Canadian aviation document (CAD) within the definition of CAD as found in section 3 of the Aeronautics Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. A-2, as am. by R.S., c. A-3 (Act), and expanded per section 6.6 of the said Act as set out below:

3. (1) In this Act,

"Canadian aviation document"

« document d'aviation canadien »

"Canadian aviation document" means, subject to subsection (3), any licence, permit, accreditation, certificate or other document issued by the Minister under Part I to or with respect to any person or in respect of any aeronautical product, aerodrome, facility or service;

6.6 In sections 6.7 to 7.21, "Canadian aviation document" includes any privilege accorded by a Canadian aviation document.

[10]     It is the Minister's position that the flight test in question cannot be considered a CAD because it does not, in and of itself, grant any privileges to an applicant and it is thus fundamentally different from the statutory definition of a CAD, and further submitted that the term "other documents" could not be interpreted so as to include such a flight test.

[11]     The flight test is merely one of the conditions precedent to an application made as set out in section 401.06(1) of the CARs for a flight crew permit or licence. It is only within the context of a completed and submitted application that the flight test has any real significance.

[12]     Finally, the Minister compares the relationship between flight tests in general and pilot proficiency checks (PPC) and concludes that the PPC confers a privilege and that the flight test per se is devoid of any privilege-granting significance and thus it cannot be considered to be a CAD and therefore does not trigger the jurisdiction of the Tribunal for review.

III. APPLICANTS' SUBMISSIONS

[13]     Regarding the Tribunal's jurisdiction over flight test failures, Mr. Jenner on behalf of the applicants stated as follows:

1) The flight test report is manifestly a document. They are issued by the Minister under the provisions of Part I of the Aeronautics Act.  In the case of a "pass" the decision rendered by way of the flight test report effectively permits the applicant for the flight test to complete an application for a pilot license. The flight test is therefore like a "licence, permit, accreditation, certificate or other document" (PPC, DFTE, ACP, CCP etc). It is therefore a CAD by definition of article 3 of the Aeronautics Act.

2) In the case of a flight test "fail" the Minister's decision effectively deprives the applicants of the privilege of applying for a pilot license and/or the privilege of being able to comply with the standards for receiving pilot license and/or of receiving a pilot license. The net effect of the Minister's decision to fail the test is the loss of all the above privileges. The flight test is therefore a CAD by definition of article 6.6 of the Aeronautics Act.

3) The flight test is so similar to a PPC that the flight test report is almost identical to the PPC report.  Failure on a flight test and failure of a PPC produce similar consequences: the failure of the Minister to assess a pass on a PPC indirectly cancels the privileges of a commercial pilot license, without actually canceling the pilot license or any of the privileges it provides; failure of the flight test prevents the applicant for the flight test to do something which is indirectly related to the flight test itself. Since the PPC has been declared to be a CAD it follows that a flight test is a CAD because it is tantamount to a PPC both in nature and consequence.

4) Moreover, the position taken by the Minister in regard to "flight tests" is contrary to the legislative intent established by Federal Court decisions in regard to CADs. In giving a very broad interpretation to the definition of CAD the Federal Court has effectively confirmed the legislator's intention to move as much judicial review as possible from the Federal Court to the Tribunal. Since the Minister has provided no arguments supporting the necessity of reviewing "flight test" results by the Federal Court, jurisdiction over such decisions falls to the Tribunal by default.

5) Alternatively the Minister's assessment of a failure on a flight test is in effect a refusal to issue a pilot license. Decisions of the Minister in regard to the refusal to issue a CAD (pilot licence) being subject to review under article 6.72 of the Act, the Tribunal may hear the cases in question without ruling on the nature of the flight test, as viewed in very narrow terms.

IV. MINISTER'S REPLY

[14]     Respecting number 2 of the applicant's submissions, the Minister states that the very definition of privilege given in section 6.6 of the Act presupposes the existence of a CAD. It would seem circular to argue that decisions taken as part of the process of issuing a CAD could be characterized as affecting privileges in advance of the CAD actually being issued.

[15]     The Minister underlines the distinction between the flight test and the PPC as being that the flight test is only one of several conditions required by the application process herein, and the PPC check ride is the only condition and hence a decision not to issue is reviewable.

[16]     Regarding number 5, while the applicants' representative argues alternatively that the assessment of a failure on a flight test is in effect a refusal to issue a pilot licence, it is the Minister's response that this concern is premature and speculative.

[17]     Finally, it is the Minister's position that should the Tribunal be faced with an application contesting the refusal to issue a CAD, pursuant to section 6.72 of the Act, the scope of its review should be restricted to ensuring that the Minister's decision was made in accordance with the submitted criteria. In other words, the purpose of the review is to ensure that all the required conditions have been reviewed by the Minister in reaching a decision on the application. The Tribunal's review should not encompass a reconsideration of the merits of any of the decisions made by the Minister with respect to the individual grounds of the application. There are many conditions to be satisfied by an applicant which, if reviewable by the Tribunal, would appear to be outside the Tribunal's jurisdiction and likely to lead to instances of administrative absurdity never envisioned by the legislature.

V. DISCUSSION

[18]     There is no dispute as to the facts of the failure of the flight test by both of the applicants on November 30, 2006, or that this flight test was one of the required elements needed to qualify for a CPL-H. Equally, as is stated by the Minister's representative, there is no evidence that, prior to the successful re-test done shortly after the failed flight test, that either applicant submitted an application to the Minister with the appropriate documentation as set out in section 401.06(1) of the CARs, in order to be issued a CPL-H.

[19]     I accept the submissions of the Minister that on the facts of the matter no decision was ever made by the Minister to refuse to issue a licence to either candidate. Given the failed flight test, had either or both of the candidates completed the application process, such refusal may well have been the result since the candidates had both failed the flight test which was a required element for issuance of a licence. When the candidates passed their flight test, the applications were made and their licences were granted on the basis that all prerequisites for the application specified in the CARs had been met.

[20]     I also accept the Minister's position that the decisions made by the flight examiner with regard to the actual flight tests themselves do not trigger the jurisdiction of the Tribunal. It is evident in section 401.06(1) of the CARs that the flight test is one of the conditions of issue of the CPL-H. It is not in itself a CAD but a condition precedent to the issuance of a CAD and at this stage of the procedure, being a condition precedent to the issuance of a licence, does not itself grant any privileges to the applicant.

[21]     However, if the holder of a CPL-H subsequently fails a flight test, this is reviewable by the Tribunal since the pilot now loses a privilege attaching to a CAD in much the same way as would a pilot who had a failed PPC check ride. The case of Canada (Minister of Transport) v. Beingessner, [1996] 3 F.C., [1996] F.C.J. no. 787 (QL) is authority for the Tribunal's jurisdiction to review a failed PPC check ride which is the loss of a privilege as defined in section 6.6 of the Act as this is a privilege which attaches to the licence held by the pilot at the time of his PPC check ride.

[22]     On the basis of the foregoing, there is one matter, however, that I would take issue with found at the second last paragraph at page 5 of the Minister's response to the applicant's submissions. It is the Minister's position that should the Tribunal be faced with an application contesting the refusal to issue a CAD, pursuant to section 6.72 of the Act, the scope of its review should be restricted to ensuring that the Minister's decision was made in accordance with the submitted criteria. In other words, the purpose of the review is to ensure that all the required conditions have been reviewed by the Minister in reaching a decision on the application. The Tribunal's review should not encompass a reconsideration of the merits of any of the decisions made by the Minister with respect to the individual grounds of the application.

[23]     Tribunal jurisprudence has revealed at least two instances where the Tribunal has considered a refusal to issue a commercial pilot licence - aeroplane in the matter of Trinacty v. Canada (Minister of Transport), [2006], appeal decision, TATC file no. O-3094-27, [2006] C.T.A.T.D. no. 68 (QL) and a refusal to issue a private pilot licence in the matter of Lanning v. Canada (Minister of Transport), [2005], review determination, TATC file no. P-3044-27, C.T.A.T.D. no. 2 (QL).

[24]     In Trinacty, the Minister's reasons for refusal were that Mr. Trinacty did not meet the pilot-in-command and instrument experience requirements as required by section 401.06(b)(iv) of the CARs. Upon interpreting section 28 of the Act to the facts of the case, the appeal panel referred the matter back to the Minister for reconsideration holding that Mr. Trinacty had not been given credit as pilot-in-command for a number of flights which, if credited to him, would have met the experience requirements for his commercial pilot licence at the time of his first application.

[25]     In Lanning, the Minister refused to issue the applicant a private pilot licence on the basis that she did not meet the solo long cross-country requirement as outlined in section 421.26(4)(b)(ii) of the Personnel Licensing and Training Standards respecting Flight Crew Permits, Licences and Ratings. The Minister's decision was upheld by the member at review who confirmed that the applicant had not done two full-stop landings on one cross-country flight.

[26]     I include these references as both relate to a refusal to issue a pilot licence by the Minister and clearly both candidates had made application for their respective licences on the basis that they had met all licence requirements. The subsequent decision by the Minister to refuse to issue the licences in both cases was a matter of interpretation of the facts relating to the experience qualification in issue.

[27]     My point of departure with the Minister's submission is the scope of the review which the Tribunal may undertake. I am of the view that the two cases cited above make it clear that the interpretation of a pilot's flight experience or the meaning of take-offs and landings or solo flights may be open to review by the Tribunal notwithstanding their status of conditions precedent to the issue of a CAD where the interpretation of the experience criteria is the reason for the Minister's decision to refuse to issue the CAD.

[28]     It is clear from the foregoing discussion that an application must be submitted to the Minister prior to any consideration of the Minister's decision to refuse to issue a CAD, pursuant to section 6.71 of the Act. It is equally well founded that a failed flight test as one of the conditions precedent to the issuance of a CAD is not itself a CAD nor at that stage of the process herein could it be considered a privilege attaching to a CAD which did not yet exist.

[29]     Consequently, I find that the Tribunal does not have jurisdiction to review the failed flight tests herein and the applications for review are rejected.

July 9, 2007

Faye Smith
Chairperson

Décisions

Dossier no P-3325-27 (TATC)

TRIBUNAL D'APPEL DES TRANSPORTS DU CANADA

ENTRE :

Travis Dass, requérant(e)

- et -

Ministre des Transports, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l’aéronautique, L.R.C (1985), c. A-2, art. 3, 6.6, 6.7 et 7.21
Règlement de l’aviation canadien, DORS/96-433, art. 401.06(1) et 401.06(1)c)

Test en vol, Rapport des essais en vol, Licence de pilote commercial, Hélicoptère, Document d’aviation canadien (CAD), Définition d’avantage, Compétence en matière de révision


Décision interlocutoire
Faye H. Smith


Décision : le 9 juillet 2007

Travis Dass c. Canada (Ministre des Transports), 2007 TATCF 17

[Traduction française officielle]

Jugé sur dossier

JUGEMENT SUR UNE REQUÊTE CONCERNANT LA COMPÉTENCE

Arrêt : Je conclus que le Tribunal n'a pas compétence pour réviser un échec subi lors d'un test en vol, qui est une des conditions préalables à la délivrance d'une licence de pilote professionnel – hélicoptère.

I. CONTEXTE

[1] Dans des courriels datés du 28 décembre 2006 et du 1er janvier 2007, Brian Jenner, agissant à titre de représentant pour Jason Camille et Travis Dass, a présenté une requête en révision au Tribunal concernant un échec attribué par le ministre des Transports à l'égard de MM. Camille et Dass le 30 novembre 2006 pour un test en vol effectué afin d'obtenir une licence de pilote professionnel − hélicoptère (LPP-H) et concernant le refus du ministre de leur délivrer une LPP-H fondé sur les résultats du test en vol du 30 novembre. M. Jenner a joint une copie du rapport du test en vol échoué du 30 novembre et du rapport du test en vol partiel du lendemain, qui a mené à la délivrance d'une LPP‑H à chacun des requérants.

II. ARGUMENTS DU MINISTRE

[2] Le ministre plaide que d'après les faits de l'espèce, il n'a jamais refusé de délivrer une LPP-H à l'un ou l'autre des candidats. Il affirme qu'il n'existe aucune preuve que les deux requérants lui ont présenté une demande accompagnée de la documentation appropriée, antérieurement à la reprise réussie du test effectué peu de temps après que l'échec au test en vol ait eu lieu, comme le prévoit l'article 401.06(1) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien, DORS/96 433 (RAC), en vue d'obtenir une LPP‑H.

[3] Le ministre ajoute que si l'un ou l'autre des candidats avait complété le processus de demande, il est probable que le résultat final aurait été un refus compte tenu des échecs obtenus lors des tests en vol. Cependant, aucune demande complète n'a été présentée avant que les candidats réussissent les tests en vol. Une fois les tests repris et réussis par les deux candidats, les licences ont été délivrées puisque toutes les conditions préalables à la demande prévues par le RAC avaient été respectées.

[4] Le ministre est également d'avis que les décisions de l'examinateur de vol concernant les tests en vol ne relèvent pas en fait de la compétence du Tribunal, car les tests en vol n'appartiennent pas à la catégorie des documents d'aviation canadien (DAC). Par conséquent, leur révision ne fait pas partie du mandat du Tribunal.

[5] Le ministre affirme que le processus de demande propre à la délivrance d'une LPP-H est exposé à l'article 401.06(1) du RAC :

401.06 (1) Sous réserve de l'article 6.71 de la Loi, le ministre délivre un permis ou une licence de membre d'équipage de conduite ou annote une qualification sur le permis ou la licence de membre d'équipage de conduite si le demandeur lui en fait la demande en la forme et de la manière précisées dans les normes de délivrance des licences du personnel, et lui fournit les documents suivants :

a) les documents qui établissent la citoyenneté du demandeur;

b) les documents qui établissent que le demandeur satisfait aux exigences applicables précisées dans les normes de délivrance des licences du personnel quant aux points suivants :

(i) l'âge minimal,

(ii) l'aptitude physique et mentale,

(iii) les connaissances,

(iv) l'expérience,

(v) les habiletés;

c) les documents qui établissent que, dans la période applicable précisée dans les normes de délivrance des licences du personnel qui précède la date de la demande du permis, de la licence ou de la qualification, le demandeur a réussi un test en vol conformément aux normes de délivrance des licences du personnel.

[6] Le ministre fait valoir qu'à la lecture de l'article susmentionné, il ressort clairement que ce n'est pas l'échec du test en vol en soi qui déclenche le processus décisionnel du ministre concernant la délivrance d'une LPP-H. Au contraire, seul le fait de présenter une demande officielle démontrant au ministre que le demandeur satisfait à tous les critères figurant à l'article 401.06(1) du RAC entraîne cet effet.

[7] Le ministre affirme qu'une demande de ce type aurait été sans objet compte tenu du fait qu'elle n'aurait pu être accompagnée d'une preuve que le demandeur « a réussi » le test en vol requis par l'article 401.06(1)c) du RAC. Cependant, cette situation a changé rapidement après que les deux requérants ont réussi la reprise du test partiel peu de temps après l'échec. Les candidats étaient désormais en mesure de présenter des demandes accompagnées de documents confirmant qu'ils avaient satisfait aux critères figurant à l'article 401.06(1), ce qu'ils ont fait.

[8] Le ministre fait donc valoir que la seule question devant être tranchée est celle de savoir si le Tribunal a compétence pour réviser la décision de l'examinateur de vol de faire échouer les deux candidats lors du test en vol initial de chacun.

[9] À ce propos, le ministre affirme que le Tribunal n'a pas compétence pour réviser les échecs obtenus lors des tests en vol puisque le test en vol n'est pas un document d'aviation canadien (DAC) au sens de la définition de DAC figurant à l'article 3 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, c. A-2, modifié par L.R., c. A-3 (Loi), et élargie par l'article 6.6 de la Loi de la manière suivante :

3. (1) Les définitions qui suivent s'appliquent à la présente loi,

« document d'aviation canadien »

"Canadian aviation document"

«document d'aviation canadien » Sous réserve du paragraphe (3), tout document — permis, licence, brevet, agrément, autorisation, certificat ou autre — délivré par le ministre sous le régime de la partie I et concernant des personnes, des aérodromes, ou des produits, installations ou services aéronautiques ;

6.6 Pour l'application des articles 6.7 à 7.21, est assimilé à un document d'aviation canadien tout avantage qu'il octroie.

[10] Selon le ministre, le test en vol ne peut être considéré comme un DAC parce qu'en soi, il n'octroie aucun privilège à un demandeur et qu'il est donc fondamentalement différent d'un DAC, selon la définition qu'en donne la Loi. Il a également fait valoir que l'expression « autre document » ne pouvait être interprétée de façon à s'appliquer à ce type de test en vol.

[11] Le test en vol n'est qu'une des conditions préalables à la présentation d'une demande fondée sur l'article 401.06(1) du RAC en vue d'obtenir un permis ou une licence de membre d'équipage de conduite. Ce n'est que dans le cas où une demande complète est présentée que le test en vol acquiert une réelle signification.

[12] Enfin, le ministre compare la relation entre les tests en vol en général et les contrôles de la compétence d'un pilote (CCP) et conclu que le CCP confère un privilège, contrairement au test en vol et que ce dernier ne peut donc pas être considéré comme étant un DAC. Par conséquent, il ne relève pas de la compétence du Tribunal en matière de révision.

III. ARGUMENTS DES REQUÉRANT

[13] Concernant la compétence du Tribunal en matière d'échecs aux tests en vol, M. Jenner, pour le compte des requérants, a déclaré ce qui suit :

[traduction]

1)  De toute évidence, le rapport de test en vol est un document. Celui-ci est produit par le ministre en vertu des dispositions de la partie I de la Loi sur l'aéronautique. Dans le cas d'une « réussite », la décision rendue par l'intermédiaire du rapport de test en vol accorde effectivement au demandeur du test en vol le droit de remplir une demande afin d'obtenir une licence de pilote. Par conséquent, le test en vol s'apparente à « tout document — permis, licence, brevet, agrément, autorisation, certificat ou autre » (CCP, EDTV, PVA, PVTA, etc). Il s'agit donc d'un DAC au sens de l'article 3 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique.

2) Dans le cas d'un test en vol « échoué », la décision du ministre prive effectivement le demandeur du privilège de présenter une demande dans le but d'obtenir une licence de pilote et du privilège de pouvoir satisfaire aux conditions préalables à l'obtention d'une licence de pilote. L'effet concret de la décision du ministre d'attribuer un échec est la perte de tous les privilèges susmentionnés. Le test en vol est donc un DAC selon la définition de l'article 6.6 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique.

3) Le test en vol ressemble au CCP à un point tel que le rapport de test en vol est pratiquement identique au rapport de CCP. Un échec à un test en vol ou à un CCP a des conséquences similaires : lorsque le ministre décerne un échec pour un CCP, il annule indirectement les privilèges associés à une licence de pilote professionnel sans annuler réellement la licence du pilote ou les privilèges qui y sont rattachés; un échec à un test en vol empêche le demandeur du test en vol de faire quelque chose qui est indirectement relié au test en vol en soi. Puisqu'il a été décidé que le CCP est un DAC, il s'ensuit qu'un test en vol est un DAC parce qu'il est équivalent à un CCP tant par sa nature qu'en raison des conséquences qui y sont rattachées.

4) De plus, la thèse défendue par le ministre à l'égard des « tests en vol » est contraire à l'esprit des décisions rendues par la Cour fédérale au sujet des DAC. En adoptant une interprétation très large de la définition de DAC, la Cour fédérale a en réalité confirmé l'intention du législateur de transférer au Tribunal le plus grand nombre possible de révisions qui incombaient à la Cour fédérale. Puisque le ministre n'a invoqué aucun argument appuyant la nécessité de faire réviser les résultats des « tests en vol » par la Cour fédérale, la compétence en la matière revient donc par défaut au Tribunal.

5) Subsidiairement, la décision du ministre d'attribuer un échec à un test en vol correspond dans les faits à un refus de délivrer une licence de pilote. Comme les décisions du ministre au sujet du refus de délivrer un DAC (licence de pilote) peuvent faire l'objet d'une révision en vertu de l'article 6.72 de la Loi, le Tribunal peut entendre les affaires en question sans avoir à se prononcer sur la nature du test en vol, suivant une interprétation très stricte.

IV. RÉPONSE DU MINISTRE

[14] Au sujet de l'argument 2 du requérant, le ministre affirme que la définition même de privilège figurant à l'article 6.6 de la Loi présuppose l'existence d'un DAC. Il est illogique de faire valoir que les décisions rendues au cours du processus de délivrance d'un DAC pourraient être décrites comme ayant une incidence sur les privilèges avant que le DAC ne soit effectivement délivré.

[15] Le ministre souligne que la distinction entre le test en vol et le CCP réside dans le fait que le test en vol n'est qu'une des multiples conditions requises par le processus de demande en question, et que le vol de vérification du CCP est l'unique condition. Par conséquent, la décision de ne pas délivrer le DAC est donc susceptible d'être révisée.

[16] Quant à l'argument 5, bien que le mandataire des requérants fasse valoir subsidiairement qu'un résultat d'échec à un test en vol constitue en réalité un refus de délivrer une licence de pilote, le ministre estime que cette conclusion est prématurée et qu'elle n'est que spéculation.

[17] Enfin, le ministre est d'avis que dans le cas où le Tribunal devait se pencher sur une demande contestant le refus de délivrer un DAC en vertu de l'article 6.72 de la Loi, la portée de sa révision devrait se limiter à veiller à ce que la décision du ministre ait été prise en conformité avec les critères établis. Autrement dit, l'objet de la révision est de voir à ce que le ministre ait tenu compte de toutes les conditions requises avant de rendre une décision au sujet de la demande. La révision du Tribunal ne devrait pas remettre en question le bien-fondé des décisions rendues par le ministre à l'égard de chacun des motifs de la demande. Le demandeur doit satisfaire à un grand nombre de conditions qui, dans le cas où elles pourraient être révisées par le Tribunal, sembleraient ne pas relever de la compétence de ce dernier et mèneraient probablement à des absurdités administratives non voulues par le législateur.

V. DISCUSSION

[18] Les parties conviennent des faits quant à l'échec au test en vol des deux requérants ayant eu lieu le 30 novembre 2006 et quant au fait que la réussite de ce test en vol était l'une des conditions préalables à la délivrance d'une LPP-H. De la même manière, comme l'a affirmé le représentant du ministre, il n'existe aucune preuve que l'un ou l'autre des requérants ait présenté une demande au ministre accompagnée de la documentation appropriée avant la réussite du test ayant été repris peu de temps après l'échec au test en vol, tel que le prévoit l'article 401.06(1) du RAC, afin d'obtenir une LPP-H.

[19] Je fais miens les arguments du ministre voulant qu'à la lumière des faits de l'espèce, il n'ait jamais refusé de délivrer une licence à l'un des candidats. Même si les candidats avaient complété le processus de demande, il est probable que la demande aurait été refusée puisque les candidats ont tous les deux échoué au test en vol conditionnel à la délivrance d'une licence. Une fois le test en vol réussi par les candidats, les demandes ont été présentées et les licences délivrées puisque toutes les conditions préalables à la présentation de la demande figurant au RAC avaient été remplies.

[20] Je retiens également l'argument du ministre voulant que les décisions rendues par l'examinateur de vol à l'égard des tests en vol ne relèvent pas de la compétence du Tribunal. Il ressort clairement de l'article 401.06(1) du RAC que le test en vol est une des conditions préalables à la délivrance du LPP-H. Il ne s'agit pas d'un DAC en soi, mais plutôt d'une condition préalable à la délivrance d'un DAC et, à cette étape du processus, le fait que cela soit une condition préalable à la délivrance d'une licence ne confère pas en soi de privilèges au demandeur.

[21] Cependant, si le titulaire d'une LPP-H échoue par la suite à un test en vol, il peut faire réviser la décision par le Tribunal puisqu'il perd dès lors un privilège rattaché à un DAC d'une manière similaire à celle d'un pilote qui échouerait à un vol de vérification du CCP. L'affaire Canada (Ministre des Transports) c. Beingessner, [1996] 3 C.F., [1996] A. C. F. no 787 (QL) fait autorité quant à la compétence du Tribunal de réviser un échec obtenu pour un vol de vérification du CCP, qui correspond à la perte d'un privilège suivant l'article 6.6 de la Loi dans le sens où ce privilège est rattaché à la licence détenue par le pilote au moment où celui-ci a effectué le vol de vérification du CCP.

[22] Toutefois, à la lumière de ce qui précède, il existe un point sur lequel je ne suis pas d'accord et qui se trouve à l'avant-dernier paragraphe de la page 5 de la réponse du ministre aux arguments du requérant. Le ministre est d'avis que dans le cas où le Tribunal devait se pencher sur une demande contestant le refus de délivrer un DAC en vertu de l'article 6.72 de la Loi, la portée de sa révision devrait se limiter à veiller à ce que la décision du ministre ait été prise en conformité avec les critères établis. Autrement dit, l'objet de la révision est de voir à ce que le ministre ait tenu compte de toutes les conditions requises avant de rendre une décision au sujet de la demande. La révision du Tribunal ne devrait pas remettre en question le bien-fondé des décisions rendues par le ministre à l'égard de chacun des motifs de la demande.

[23] La jurisprudence du Tribunal montre que ce dernier a instruit à au moins deux reprises des affaires portant sur le refus de délivrer une licence de pilote professionnel − avion dans l'affaire Trinacty c. Canada (Ministre des Transports), [2006], décision à la suite d'un appel, dossier TATC  nO-3094-27, [2006] D.T.A.T.C. no 68 (QL), et sur le refus de délivrer une licence de pilote privé, dans l'affaire Lanning c. Canada (Ministre des Transports), [2005], décision à la suite d'une révision, dossier TATC  no P‑3044-27, D.T.A.T.C. no 2 (QL).

[24] Dans l'affaire Trinacty, le refus du ministre s'expliquait par le fait que M. Trinacty ne satisfaisait pas aux exigences de pilote commandant de bord et de vol aux instruments prescrites par l'article 401.06(b)(iv) du RAC. Après avoir interprété l'article 28 de la Loi à la lumière des faits de l'espèce, le comité d'appel a renvoyé l'affaire au ministre pour réexamen, en expliquant que M. Trinacty n'avait pas reçu tout le crédit auquel il avait droit à titre de commandant de bord pour un certain nombre de vols qui, s'ils lui avaient été crédités, lui auraient permis de satisfaire aux exigences d'expérience pour l'obtention de sa licence de pilote professionnel à sa première demande.

[25] Dans l'affaire Lanning, le ministre a refusé de délivrer à la requérante une licence de pilote privé au motif qu'elle ne satisfaisait pas à l'exigence relative au vol-voyage long en solo énoncé à l'article 421.26(4)(b)(ii) des Normes de délivrance des licences et de formation du personnel relatives aux permis, licences et qualifications des membres d'équipage de conduite. La décision du ministre a été maintenue par le conseiller lors de la révision, qui a confirmé que la requérante n'avait pas effectué deux atterrissages avec arrêt complet au cours d'un vol‑voyage.

[26] Je cite ces décisions puisqu'elles portent toutes deux sur le refus du ministre de délivrer une licence de pilote, et que de toute évidence les deux candidats ont présenté une demande en vue d'obtenir leur licence respective parce qu'ils satisfaisaient à toutes les exigences prescrites à cet égard. La décision subséquente du ministre de refuser de délivrer les licences dans ces deux affaires était une question d'interprétation des faits liée à la question du critère de l'expérience.

[27] La portée de la révision permet au Tribunal d'effectuer le point de départ de mon analyse quant à l'argument du ministre. J'estime que les deux décisions susmentionnées démontrent clairement que l'évaluation de l'expérience en vol d'un pilote ou l'interprétation des mots décollage, atterrissage ou vol en solo peuvent être sujets à une révision par le Tribunal, même s'il s'agit de conditions préalables à la délivrance d'un DAC lorsque l'évaluation du critère de l'expérience est la raison sur laquelle repose la décision du ministre de refuser de délivrer le DAC.

[28] Il ressort clairement de l'analyse qui précède qu'une demande doit avoir été présentée au ministre avant que la décision du ministre de refuser de délivrer un DAC en vertu de l'article 6.71 de la Loi ne puisse être révisée. Il est également bien établi que le fait d'échouer à un test en vol, dont la réussite est l'une des conditions préalables à la délivrance d'un DAC, ne représente pas en soi un DAC, et à cette étape du processus, il ne peut non plus être perçu comme un privilège rattaché à un DAC n'existant pas encore.

[29] Par conséquent, j'estime que le Tribunal n'a pas compétence pour réviser la décision d'attribuer un échec pour les tests en l'espèce et les requêtes en révision sont rejetées.

Le 9 juillet 2007

Faye Smith

Présidente