Decisions

TATC File No. P-3324-27
MoT File No. 5802-325276

TRANSPORTATION APPEAL TRIBUNAL OF CANADA

BETWEEN:

Greg Sanders, Applicant

- and -

Minister of Transport, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. A-2, 6.71


Review Determination
Arnold Price Vaughan


Decision: March 14, 2008

Citation: Sanders v. Canada (Minister of Transport) 2008 TATCE 16 (review)

Heard at Prince George, British Columbia, on January 22, 2008

 Held: I confirm the Minister's decision to refuse to issue a class 1 flight instructor rating (helicopter) to Greg Sanders.

I. BACKGROUND

[1] On November 28, 2006, the Minister of Transport issued a refusal to issue a class 1 flight instructor rating (helicopter) to Greg Sanders, the applicant, pursuant to section 6.71(1) of the Aeronautics Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. A-2 (Act). Mr. Sanders failed to meet the assessment standards of Transport Canada set out in the Flight Test Guide – Flight Instructor Rating – Aeroplane, Helicopter, Aerobatic (3rd edition, 2002, TP 5537E; exhibit M-4). Specifically, none of the components of the flight test report met the standards for a class 1 flight instructor rating.

II. LAW

[2] Section 6.71(1) of the Act reads as follows:

6.71 (1) The Minister may refuse to issue or amend a Canadian aviation document on the grounds that

(a) the applicant is incompetent;

(b) the applicant or any aircraft, aerodrome, airport or other facility in respect of which the application is made does not meet the qualifications or fulfil the conditions necessary for the issuance or amendment of the document; or

(c) the Minister is of the opinion that the public interest and, in particular, the aviation record of the applicant or of any principal of the applicant, as defined in regulations made under paragraph (3)(a), warrant the refusal.

III. EVIDENCE

A. Minister of Transport

(1) John Milligan

[3] John Milligan was qualified by the Tribunal as an expert witness. He is the superintendent for the safety oversight operations at the Vancouver regional office, Transport Canada.  Mr. Milligan is the holder of a Canadian air transport pilot licence and a class 1 flight instructor rating. He has an extensive background in flight testing, having conducted over 1 000 flight tests.

[4] The significant contribution of his testimony was to provide an understanding of the laws of learning and the methodology of developmental teaching, as found in the Transport Canada publication, Flight Instructor Guide – Helicopter – 1995 (August 2006, TP 4818E; exhibit M-3).

[5] Mr. Milligan explained the grade and comments in the flight test report. He stated that Mr. Sanders had not grasped nor did he have a command of the learning factors needed to instruct inexperienced class 4 flight instructors. A class 2 instructor is expected to be very proficient in teaching students, but a class 1 instructor must demonstrate a much higher level of understanding.

[6] In cross-examination, Mr. Milligan explained why the applicant's performance in the written exam had not proven his level of knowledge.

(2) Oliver Betz

[7] Oliver Betz has extensive experience in general aviation flight testing. He is a civil aviation safety inspector with Transport Canada. In November 2006, he was called to Prince George to conduct the instructor upgrade on Mr. Sanders. His testimony was corroborated with four pieces of evidence: the flight test report (exhibit M-1), the notes that he took at the time of the flight test (exhibit M-2), the Flight Instructor Guide (exhibit M-3), which he used to select teaching subjects for evaluation, and the Flight Test Guide (exhibit M-4), which he used to evaluate teaching proficiency and performance.

[8] In cross-examination, some of the quantitative assertions were challenged, namely the altitude control that was evaluated as poor. In the remarks section, it is stated that deviations were in the magnitude of 150 feet. Above ground level deviations would have been impossible to determine due to the variations in terrain height. The applicant disputed that a sink rate of 700 feet per minute was conducive to a vortex ring state. The other major area of dispute was the assertion that the pre-flight briefing did not mirror the flight parameters. Mr. Betz could not remember certain specific details of the test parameters, since the test had taken place well over a year ago.

B. Applicant

(1) Greg Sanders

[9] Mr. Sanders' testimony focused on the difficulties in getting adequate and appropriate service from Transport Canada and the high failure rate that his students had experienced in the past 12 years. In spite of these early failures, his students went on to successful careers and were esteemed by their employers.

IV. ARGUMENTS

[10] The Minister's representative submits that Mr. Sanders did not meet the requirements of a class 1 flight instructor (helicopter) at the time of the flight test. He stated that Mr. Sanders has been given a holistic evaluation with regard to his skills as an instructor. The standards against which he was assessed are clearly set out in the Flight Instructor Guide. Mr. Sanders was assessed to be wanting in many aspects.

[11] The Flight Instructor Guide refers to seven learning factors that must be present in the lesson plans and the flight demonstration. Deficiencies in these factors mean that the candidate does not have the knowledge and skills to train flight instructors.

[12] The Minister's representative explains that for the issuance of a class 1 flight instructor rating (helicopter), Transport Canada inspectors look for a high standard performance during all phases of the pre-flight, in-flight and post-flight components of the test. In this case, it would not be acceptable to say or imply that they were looking for a reason to fail the candidate.

[13] The Minister's representative points out that Mr. Sander's testimony referred to "winging it" in some scenarios. Mr. Sanders also admitted that he was distracted on that day by the needs of his students.

[14] The Minister's representative states that there may have been mitigating factors due to the obvious conflict between Mr. Sanders and Transport Canada employees in the Pacific Region.

[15] The applicant argues that he still does not believe that he failed the test. His success as an instructor is proven by the fact that 31 of his graduates are working in the industry. Rather, the problem was with one or two employees at Transport Canada. He could have proven this if he had been allowed to present as evidence numerous emails related to scheduling problems, as well as statistics showing a failure history when certain employees of Transport Canada were involved in testing.

V. DISCUSSION

[16] The Minister endorses the following licences with a class 1, 2, 3 or 4 flight instructor rating – aeroplane, helicopter, aerobatic, if the applicant meets the requirements referred to in section 401.06(1)(b) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96‑433, which reads as follows:

401.06 (1) Subject to section 6.71 of the Act, the Minister shall, on receipt of an application submitted in the form and manner specified in the personnel licensing standards, issue a flight crew permit or licence to the applicant or endorse the applicant's flight crew permit or licence with a rating if the applicant provides documentation to the Minister that establishes

. . .

(b) that the applicant meets the applicable requirements set out in the personnel licensing standards in respect of

(i) minimum age,

(ii) medical fitness,

(iii) knowledge,

(iv) experience, and

(v) skill; and

[17] For issuance of a licence in this case, the Flight Instructor Guide outlines the standards of knowledge and skills, and the Flight Test Guide provides the assessment standards for flight testing. I have considered the grade given and the remarks along with the notes written at the time of the test. I have looked for evidence to support the applicant's argument that the failure may be attributed to personality problems.

[18] There were seven graded evaluations related to the pre-flight, in-flight and post-flight components of the test. Anyone of them not meeting the standards of a class 1 instructor would have been sufficient to deny the upgrade. In fact, none of them exceeded a level 2 grade. This seems unusual, considering Mr. Sanders' level of experience. One would expect that he meet at least a single class 1 standard. Therefore, during Mr. Betz's testimony, I asked some clarifying questions in order to gage the severity of his marking. He explained without equivocation the standards that Mr. Sanders should have met, and he referred to the Flight Instructor Guide and the Flight Test Guide to support his remarks on the test.

[19] Of the seven components, two stood out. The first was his evaluation of the instruction Mr. Sanders gave for confined areas. This is a difficult, complex and can be a hazardous scenario. However, it would be an appropriate assignment for a class 1 test. Given that helicopters often operate in austere environments, safety and prudence would demand thorough teaching of this subject. I could see why Mr. Betz was concerned that the standard had not been met.

[20] At the other end of the spectrum is the lack of training aids and ineffective questioning of the "student instructor" for the classroom instruction. This seemed like an easier class 1 standard to achieve. Yet it was not.

[21] In some aspects, I thought that Mr. Betz could have been called generous with the grading of the test. This is especially true when the lack of a hover check should have been a hard fail.

[22] Quantitative issues of whether 150 feet of altitude was lost during the reconnaissance of the landing area, what the sink rate and airspeed was on short final, or what the temperature and wind speed was at the airport during hovering exercises can readily descend into what one person's recollection was versus another's. This is especially true a year after the fact. The same is true for qualitative issues, such as was the appropriate site chosen for the confined area demonstration or were the meteorological conditions ideal for autorotations and hovering in the R-22 helicopter. Little weight was given to this line of argument.

[23] Of greater concern is that instructors must preach and practice a high standard of flight discipline, proficiency and knowledge. That is not to say that they are perfect, but rather that they meet the standards and often strive to exceed them. That certainly must be the case to aspire to the highest level of flight instructor. A class 1 instructor is expected to pass his personal standards on to the entry level class 4 instructor who, in turn, will transfer them to his students. The Minister has every right to expect the highest standard of teaching from a class 1 flight instructor, as do the students who pay for the instruction.

VI. DETERMINATION

[24] I confirm the Minister's decision to refuse to issue a class 1 flight instructor rating (helicopter) to Mr. Sanders.

March 14, 2008

Arnold P. Vaughan

Member

Décisions

Dossier no P-3324-27 (TATC)
Dossier no 5802-325276 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL D'APPEL DES TRANSPORTS DU CANADA

ENTRE :

Greg Sanders, requérant(e)

- et -

Ministre des Transports, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, c. A-2, 6.71


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Arnold Price Vaughan


Décision : le 14 mars 2008

Référence : Sanders c. Canada (Ministre des Transports) 2008 TATCF 16 (révision)

[Traduction française officielle]

Affaire entendue à Prince George (Colombie-Britannique) le 22 janvier 2008

Arrêt : La décision du ministre, selon laquelle il refuse de délivrer une qualification d'instructeur de vol de classe 1 (hélicoptère) à Greg Sanders, est confirmée.

I. HISTORIQUE

[1] Le 28 novembre 2006, le ministre des Transports a refusé de délivrer une qualification d'instructeur de vol de classe 1 (hélicoptère) à Greg Sanders, le requérant, en vertu de l'article 6.71(1) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, c. A-2 (Loi). M. Sanders n'a pas répondu aux normes d'évaluation de Transports Canada établies dans le Guide de test en vol – Qualification d'instructeur de pilotage – Avion, hélicoptère, voltige (3édition, 2002, TP5537; pièce M-4). Plus spécifiquement, aucun des éléments du rapport de test en vol ne répondait aux normes pour une qualification d'instructeur de vol de classe 1.

II. LOI

[2] L'article 6.71(1) de la Loi dispose :

6.71 (1) Le ministre peut refuser de délivrer ou de modifier un document d'aviation canadien pour l'un des motifs suivants :

a) le demandeur est inapte;

b) le demandeur ou l'aéronef, l'aérodrome, l'aéroport ou autre installation que vise la demande ne répond pas aux conditions de délivrance ou de modification du document;

c) le ministre estime que l'intérêt public, notamment en raison des antécédents aériens du demandeur ou de tel de ses dirigeants—au sens du règlement pris en vertu de l'alinéa (3)a) —, le requiert.

III. PREUVE

A. Ministre des Transports

(1) John Milligan

[3] Le Tribunal a accepté que John Milligan témoigne à titre d'expert. Il est surintendant à la Surveillance de la sécurité des opérations, au bureau régional de Vancouver, Transports Canada. M. Milligan détient une licence de pilote de ligne et une qualification d'instructeur de vol de classe 1. Puisqu'il a fait passer plus de 1000 tests en vol, il possède une vaste expérience en ce domaine.

[4] Son témoignage a contribué de façon importante à la compréhension des règles d'apprentissage et de la méthodologie de l'enseignement raisonné qui figurent dans la publication de Transports Canada, Guide d'instructeur au pilotage – Hélicoptère - 1995 (août 2006, TP4818; pièce M-3).

[5] M. Milligan a expliqué la note et les commentaires du rapport de test en vol. Il a déclaré que M. Sanders n'avait pas compris les facteurs d'apprentissage requis pour former des instructeurs de vol inexpérimentés de classe 4 et qu'il ne les maîtrisait pas non plus. On s'attend à ce qu'un instructeur de classe 2 soit très compétent dans l'enseignement prodigué aux étudiants, mais l'instructeur de classe 1 doit faire preuve d'un niveau de compréhension beaucoup plus élevé.

[6] En contre-interrogatoire, M. Milligan a expliqué pourquoi la performance du requérant lors de l'examen écrit n'avait pas démontré son niveau de connaissance.

(2) Oliver Betz

[7] Oliver Betz possède une vaste expérience de test en vol dans le domaine de l'aviation en général. Il est inspecteur de la sécurité de l'aviation civile à Transports Canada. En novembre 2006, il a été appelé à Prince George pour contrôler le passage à la qualification d'instructeur de M. Sanders. Son témoignage est corroboré par quatre éléments de preuve : le rapport de test en vol (pièce M-1), les notes prises lors du test en vol (pièce M-2), le Guide d'instructeur au pilotage (pièce M-3), qu'il a utilisé pour choisir les matières au programme à évaluer, et le Guide de test en vol (pièce M-4), qu'il a utilisé pour l'évaluation de la compétence et de la performance de l'enseignement.

[8] En contre-interrogatoire, certaines déclarations quantitatives ont été contestées, notamment le maintien de l'altitude, qualifié de piètre. Dans la section des remarques, il est noté que les déviations étaient de l'ordre de 150 pieds. Il aurait été impossible de déterminer celles au‑dessus du sol à cause des variations de hauteur du terrain. Le requérant a contesté qu'une vitesse verticale de descente de 700 pieds par minute avait généré une situation d'anneau tourbillonnaire. L'autre sujet de dispute sérieux était fondé sur l'assertion que l'exposé avant le vol ne reflétait pas les paramètres de vol. Étant donné que le test en vol s'est déroulé il y a plus d'un an, M. Betz n'a pu se souvenir de certains détails précis de ces paramètres.

B. Requérant

(1) Greg Sanders

[9] Le témoignage de M. Sanders a mis l'accent sur les difficultés d'obtenir un service adéquat et approprié de Transports Canada et sur le haut taux d'échec essuyé par ses étudiants au cours des 12 dernières années. En dépit de ces échecs initiaux, ses étudiants ont mené des carrières fructueuses et sont tenus en haute estime par leurs employeurs.

IV. ARGUMENTS

[10] Le représentant du ministre soutient que M. Sanders n'a pas répondu aux exigences d'un instructeur de vol de classe 1 (hélicoptère) lors du test en vol. Il a déclaré que les compétences d'instructeur de M. Sanders avaient été soumises à une évaluation holistique. Les normes en vertu desquelles il a été évalué sont clairement exposées dans le Guide d'instructeur au pilotage. Selon l'évaluation, M. Sanders montrait des lacunes à de nombreux égards.

[11] Le Guide d'instructeur au pilotage identifie sept facteurs d'apprentissage qui doivent se retrouver dans les plans de leçon et la présentation en vol. Des carences au niveau de ces facteurs indiquent que le candidat ne possède ni les connaissances, ni les compétences pour l'entraînement d'instructeurs au pilotage.

[12] Le représentant du ministre a expliqué que lors du passage à la qualification d'instructeur de vol de classe 1 (hélicoptère), les inspecteurs de Transports Canada recherchent un degré élevé de performance pendant toute la durée des phases du test, soit l'avant‑vol, le vol et l'après‑vol. En l'espèce, il serait inapproprié de dire ou de laisser entendre que ceux-ci cherchaient un motif pour faire échouer le candidat.

[13] Le représentant du ministre a souligné que le témoignage de M. Sanders renvoyait à une [traduction] « improvisation » en certaines situations. M. Sanders a aussi admis s'être laissé distraire ce jour- là par les besoins de ses étudiants.

[14] Le représentant du ministre a fait état de possibles circonstances atténuantes en raison du conflit évident qui existait entre M. Sanders et les employés de Transports Canada de la région du Pacifique.

[15] Le requérant dit qu'il ne croit toujours pas avoir échoué le test. Le fait que 31 de ses diplômés travaillent dans le milieu illustre ses succès en tant qu'instructeur. Il y avait plutôt un problème avec un ou deux employés de Transports Canada; ce que M. Sanders aurait pu établir s'il avait été autorisé à présenter en preuve de nombreux courriels relatifs à des conflits d'horaire ainsi que des données statistiques dépeignant un historique d'échecs lors des tests auxquels participaient certains employés de Transports Canada.

V. ANALYSE

[16] Le ministre annote les licences suivantes d'une qualification d'instructeur de vol de classe 1, 2, 3 ou 4 (avion, hélicoptère, acrobaties aériennes), si le demandeur répond aux exigences énoncées à l'article 401.06(1)b) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien, DORS/96‑433, qui dispose :

401.06 (1) Sous réserve de l'article 6.71 de la Loi, le ministre délivre un permis ou une licence de membre d'équipage de conduite ou annote une qualification sur le permis ou la licence de membre d'équipage de conduite si le demandeur lui en fait la demande en la forme et de la manière précisées dans les normes de délivrance des licences du personnel, et lui fournit les documents suivants :

[. . .]

b) les documents qui établissent que le demandeur satisfait aux exigences applicables précisées dans les normes de délivrance des licences du personnel quant aux points suivants :

(i) l'âge minimal,

(ii) l'aptitude physique et mentale,

(iii) les connaissances,

(iv) l'expérience,

(v) les habiletés.

[17] Pour la délivrance d'une licence en l'espèce, le Guide d'instructeur au pilotage met en relief les normes de connaissances et d'habiletés, alors que le Guide de test en vol établit les normes d'évaluation pour les tests en vol. J'ai pris en compte les notes accordées et les remarques ainsi que les annotations consignées lors du test. J'ai aussi cherché les éléments de preuve étayant la position du requérant, à savoir que des conflits de personnalité pourraient être la cause de l'échec.

[18] Les phases avant‑vol, en vol et après‑vol du test ont fait l'objet de sept évaluations qui ont toutes été notées. Il aurait suffi que l'une ou l'autre d'elles ne réponde pas à la norme d'instructeur de classe 1 pour faire échec à l'avancement. En fait, aucune d'elles n'a surpassé le niveau 2 de notation, ce qui semble inhabituel, compte tenu du niveau d'expérience de M. Sanders. On aurait pu s'attendre à ce qu'il réponde à au moins une norme de classe 1. En conséquence, j'ai questionné M. Betz lors de son témoignage pour tenter de jauger la sévérité de ses notes. Celui-ci a expliqué sans aucune équivoque les normes auxquelles M. Sanders aurait dû répondre et il s'est référé au Guide d'instructeur au pilotage et au Guide de test en vol pour étayer ses remarques sur le test.

[19] Deux des sept phases se sont démarquées des autres. La première est son évaluation des instructions données par M. Sanders eu égard aux zones d'accès difficile. Il s'agit d'un scénario difficile, complexe et qui peut s'avérer dangereux. Il pourrait cependant s'agir d'une affectation propice à un test de classe 1. Compte tenu du fait que les hélicoptères sont souvent utilisés dans des environnements austères, la sécurité et la prudence exigent un enseignement intensif en cette matière. Je peux voir pourquoi le fait de ne pas répondre à cette norme préoccupait M. Betz.

[20] À l'autre extrémité du continuum, pour les cours en classe, il y a le manque de matériel d'instruction et les questions inefficaces de l'« apprenti-instructeur ». Il semblait plus facile de répondre à cette norme de classe 1, pourtant cela n'a pas été le cas.

[21] À certains égards, M. Betz m'est apparu comme généreux dans sa notation du test. Cela est particulièrement vrai pour l'absence de vérification en vol stationnaire, qui aurait dû valoir un échec automatique.

[22] Des questions d'évaluation quantitative comme la survenance ou non d'une perte d'altitude de 150 pieds lors de la reconnaissance de l'aire d'atterrissage, les vitesses verticale de descente et anémométrique en courte finale, ou le degré de température et la vitesse du vent à l'aéroport lors des exercices de vol stationnaire peuvent indéniablement être ramenées au niveau de souvenirs qu'en garde une personne par rapport à une autre. Cela est particulièrement vrai un an après le fait. Il en est de même pour des questions qualitatives telles que la question de savoir si le choix du site retenu pour la démonstration en zone confinée était approprié ou si les conditions météorologiques étaient idéales pour les autorotations et le vol stationnaire de l'hélicoptère R-22. Peu de poids a été accordé à ces arguments.

[23] Fait plus significatif, les instructeurs doivent préconiser et mettre en pratique une norme élevée de discipline en vol, de compétence et de connaissance. Ce qui ne veut pas dire qu'ils sont parfaits, mais plutôt qu'ils répondent aux normes et souvent qu'ils visent à les surpasser. Cela doit certainement être le cas pour espérer atteindre le plus haut niveau d'instructeur au pilotage. On attend de l'instructeur de classe 1 qu'il fasse passer ses normes personnelles à l'instructeur de classe 4 débutant qui, à son tour, les transmettra à ses étudiants. Le ministre est parfaitement en droit de s'attendre à la plus haute norme d'enseignement d'un instructeur de classe 1, tout comme les étudiants qui paient pour leur formation.

VI. DÉCISION

[24] Je confirme la décision du ministre de refuser la délivrance d'une qualification d'instructeur de vol de classe 1 (hélicoptère) à M. Sanders.

Le 14 mars 2008

Arnold P. Vaughan

Conseiller