Decisions

TATC File No. C-3530-59
MoT File No. N5802-793967

TRANSPORTATION APPEAL TRIBUNAL OF CANADA

BETWEEN:

Jeffrey Jay O’Neill, Applicant

- and -

Minister of Transport, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. A-2, s. 7.1


Review Determination
Franco Pietracupa


Decision: March 9, 2009

Citation: O'Neill v. Canada (Minister of Transport), 2009 TATCE 4 (review)

Heard at Winnipeg, Manitoba, on January 21, 2009

Held: I refer the matter back to the Minister of Transport for reconsideration of the suspension of the applicant's group 1 instrument rating.

I. BACKGROUND

[1] On September 30, 2008, the Minister of Transport issued a notice of suspension to the applicant, Jeffrey Jay O'Neill, who was informed that his group 1 instrument rating was suspended, pursuant to section 7.1(1)(b) of the Aeronautics Act (Act). It is alleged that during a recurrent IFR/PPC check ride on September 28, 2008, conducted by James David Caine, an approved check pilot (ACP), Mr. O'Neill, a licensed qualified commercial pilot, descended 300 feet below the altitude assigned by the air traffic controller (ATC) during a vectored ILS/DME approach to runway 05 in Thompson, Manitoba.

[2] It is alleged that, as per the Approved Check Pilot Manual (TP 6533E, 9th edition, November 2007), the ACP on board, Mr. Caine, attributed a score of 1 (below standard) to item 16 of the applicant's Flight Test Report. This score was given due to the loss of 300 feet of the aircraft from an assigned altitude by the ATC (exhibit M-4).

[3] As such, the determination that will be rendered by the Tribunal is based on the following question:

Did Mr. O'Neill fail to apply the performance criterion (3D) of section 15-16 of the Pilot Proficiency Check and Aircraft Type Rating − Flight Test Guide (Aeroplanes) (TP 14727E, Flight Test Guide, 1st edition, November 2007, exhibit M‑7)?

II. LAW

[4] Section 7.1(1)(b) of the Act provides as follows:

7.1 (1) If the Minister decides to suspend, cancel or refuse to renew a Canadian aviation document on the grounds that

. . .

b) the holder or any aircraft, airport or other facility in respect of which the document was issued ceases to meet the qualifications necessary for the issuance of the document or to fulfil the conditions subject to which the document was issued.

[5] Section 15-16 of the Flight Test Guide, "Precision Instrument Approach (3D)" provides the following performance criteria:

Performance Criteria

Base the assessment on the candidate's ability to:

a. select and comply with the ILS instrument approach procedure to be performed;

b. establish two-way communications with ATC using the proper communications phraseology and techniques, either personally, or, if appropriate, directs co-pilot/safety pilot to do so, as required for the phase of flight or approach segment;

. . .

e. establish the appropriate aircraft configuration and airspeed/V-speed considering turbulence, wind shear, microburst conditions, or other meteorological and operating conditions;

. . .

h. pior to final approach course, maintain declared or assigned altitudes ±100 feet without descending below applicable minimum altitudes and maintain headings within ±10 degrees.

. . .

III. EVIDENCE

A. Minister of Transport

(1) Paul McCulloch

[6] Paul McCulloch is a Transport Canada civil aviation inspector. His main testimony was to interpolate the Nav Canada's WinRad printouts and data (exhibit M‑9), which included audio and radar imagery in true depiction of the events of September 28 , 2008. It was established that Inspector McCulloch had testified in over 100 cases, using WinRad printouts to clarify and explain flight phases.

[7] Concentrating in the actual phase of the flight in which the failure occurred, Inspector McCulloch, using audio and the WinRad printouts, identified the aircraft as the Calm Air Trainer 8. He gave evidence that the aircraft was shown at an initial altitude of 4200 feet (image 1 of 8) with a ground speed of 180 knots. Subsequent images and audio submitted as evidence displayed the aircraft at 4000 feet (image 3 of 8) with the ATC request to reduce the speed of the aircraft and descend to 3600 feet. Image 7 of 8 indicated that the aircraft had descended to 3300 feet before climbing back to the assigned altitude of 3600 feet. The final image, as testified by Mr. McCulloch, had the aircraft resuming a climb to 3600 feet and a ground speed of 140 knots.

(2) James David Caine

[8] Mr. Caine is an experienced ACP with Calm Air International Ltd. (Calm Air). On September 28, 2008, he was conducting the check ride for the applicant. According to Mr. Caine, the pre-flight briefing was conducted as normal with clarification to the pilot flying (PF) and the pilot not flying (PNF), concerning their duties and responsibilities. Further evidence by Mr. Caine, as indicated in the Flight Test Report, showed that a score of 2 (basic standard) had been given on several items of the flight test. Mr. Caine testified that the safety pilot had made numerous callouts and operational prompts to the PF regarding speed, configuration and altitude deviation.

[9] Mr. Caine further testified that after the first non-precision approach to a go-around, the scenario on the check ride had the crew manage an engine fire. He indicated that once this emergency was completed, the crew was advised to prepare for a vectored ILS/DME approach. As the aircraft was being vectored on a downwind leg to this approach, Mr. Caine instructed Mr. O'Neill that the safety pilot was going to simulate an incapacitation of laryngitis. He explained to Mr. O'Neill that the pilot was still able to perform, but was unable to communicate. Mr. O'Neill began to operate the aircraft as a single crew, was over-tasked, and a subsequent ATC request to descend to 3600 feet resulted in the aircraft descending the 3300 feet before returning to 3600 feet. At this point, a score of 1 (below standard) was given, resulting in a failure.

[10] In cross-examination, Mr. Caine testified that the aircraft was at 3300 for a few seconds, before returning to 3600 feet. When asked if the scenario of an incapacitated safety pilot with laryngitis was well understood by Mr. O'Neill, Mr. Caine responded that the scenario had been well explained.

(3) Conrad Schnellert

[11] Conrad Schnellert is an experienced pilot with Calm Air. On September 28, 2008, he was acting as the safety pilot during Mr. O'Neill's check ride. Evidence submitted by Mr. Schnellert revolved around his general observation of the check ride. He indicated that several callouts, as per the company standard operating procedures (SOPs), were required in order to address any deviation by Mr. O'Neill in altitude and configuration profiles. Areas that were highlighted by Mr. Schnellert, which required callouts to deviations, were during the steep turns and the VOR approach. Mr. Schnellert also testified that the aircraft had descended from 300 to 400 feet below the assigned altitude for several seconds, before returning to its assigned altitude of 3600 feet.

B. Applicant

(1) Jeffrey Jay O'Neill

[12] Mr. O'Neill's testimony centred on the two following factors:

· the scenario presented to him by Mr. Caine lacked clarity and understanding. The safety pilot's partial incapacitation due to laryngitis was not clear, and as such, his understanding was that of a totally incapacitated crew member;

· the loss of altitude which occurred on the base leg portion of the approach was noted as 300 feet from the assigned altitude. In cross-examination, Messrs. Caine and Schnellert recognized and agreed that this deviation was corrected within "a few seconds". Mr. Schnellert would estimate that it was approximately 10 seconds.

IV. DISCUSSION

[13] The Minister's case is based on the specific fact that Mr. O'Neill had not been able to comply with an ATC request to descend and maintain an altitude of 3600 feet. It was presented and accepted by all parties that the aircraft had descended to 3300 feet before correcting and returning to the assigned altitude clearance. Further discussion revolving around the overall test performance was addressed and presented by the Minister and the witnesses. I will address these separately.

A. Section 4.1 and 4.1 (d) of the ACP Manual (exhibit M-11):

4.1 FLIGHT CHECK PHILOSOPHY

. . .

Flight test principles intent is to focus on Threat and Error Management strategies and performance where it is recognized that from time to time, errors or deviations from standard practices will occur. While undesirable, it is a fact that flight crew or others associated with flight operations will make errors and that these errors if not recognized and managed properly could have serious consequences.

. . .

Evaluators must focus on how the crew:

. . .

4.1 (d)  recognize errors when they occur (using good communication, monitoring and feedback, and situational awareness).

[14] All testimony presented in this case indicated that the applicant had deviated from an assigned altitude request from the ATC, but that deviation of 300 feet was recognized and corrected. Although it is recognized that any deviation from an assigned altitude jeopardizes flight safety, the minimum sector altitude (MSA) as per the Nav Canada's publication entitled Canada Air Pilot (CAP 3 at 319, exhibit M-8,) for the ILS /DME approach to runway 05 was 2400 feet (25 nautical miles (NM) centered off the YTH − Thompson Fix). The altitude noted by Messrs. Caine and Schnellert before correcting was 3300 feet. As per the WinRad printouts, the aircraft was within approximately 10 to 12 NM from this fix.

B. Section entitled "4-Point Marking Scale"of the Flight Test Guide

(exhibit M-7) and the WinRad printouts (exhibit M-9)

Exhibit M-7

2

Basic Standard

Major deviations from the qualification standards occur, which may include momentary excursions beyond prescribed limits but these are recognized and corrected in a timely manner.

1

Below Standard

Unacceptable deviations from the qualification standards occur, which may include excursions beyond prescribed limits that are not recognized or corrected in a timely manner.

Exhibit M-9

The WinRad printouts display the aircraft as follows:

at 20:16:09Z – Altitude of 4000 feet climbing – 180 knots (base leg);

at 20:16:43Z – Altitude of 3300 feet descending – 140 knots (turn to intercept);

at 20:16:53Z – Altitude of 3500 feet climbing – 140 knots (on intercept course).

[15] Messrs. Caine and Schnellert testified that the aircraft had deviated from the assigned altitude for several seconds before correction. All evidence points to a correction time of approximately 10 seconds. Further testimony from Mr. Caine confirms the aircraft at speed and on configuration. This event would, as per the Flight Test Guide, qualify to be a score of 2 (basic standard).

[16] Item h. of section 15-16 of the Flight Test Guide, "Precision Instrument Approach (3D)" provides the following performance criterion:

h. prior to final approach course, maintain declared or assigned altitudes within  ±100 feet without descending below applicable minimum altitudes and maintain headings within ± 10 degrees.

Oral evidence and the documentary evidence provided in the Nav Canada's publication entitled Canada Air Pilot suggest that the final approach course intercept would have an initial altitude of 2300 feet, and this performance criterion would normally be observed during the final phase of the approach, and not at the initial vectored turn inbound.

C. Standard 725 Schedule II − Pilot Proficiency Check (PPC) − Aeroplane of the Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR 96/-433 (exhibit M-6)

(g) Normal Procedures

The crew shall demonstrate use of as many of the air operator's approved Standard Operating Procedures, and normal procedures as are necessary to confirm that the crew has the knowledge and ability to properly use installed equipment.

(h) Abnormal and Emergency Procedures

(i) The crew shall demonstrate use of as many of the air operator's approved Standard Operating Procedures and abnormal and emergency procedures for as many of the emergency situations as is necessary to confirm that the crew has an adequate knowledge and ability to perform these procedures;

(ii) System malfunctions shall consist of a selection adequate to determine that the crew has satisfactory knowledge and ability to safely handle malfunctions;

(iii) at least two simulated engine failures any time during the check.

[17] The use of emergency and abnormal events in a check ride is important to assess the knowledge and the ability of the candidate to perform the procedures. Mr. Caine gave evidence that, up to the event in question, the applicant had benefited from numerous SOP callouts from the safety pilots. This concern from the ACP was never noted in the Flight Test Report. These calls, such as altitude, speed and configuration deviations are in fact part of the company SOPs.

[18] Further testimony from Mr. Caine alluded to the fact that a second abnormal event was added to the original "engine fire" emergency, which was handled to specifically assess the applicant's ability to continue the approach with prompts or callouts from the safety pilot. As such, the "partial, incapacitated pilot" was introduced. The clarity of what functions the safety pilot can and cannot do seems to have been misunderstood by the applicant. According to the applicant's testimony, this laryngitis meant that the safety pilot was unavailable for the approach. There is enough testimony to indicate that, although clear in the minds of Messrs. Cain and Schnellert, the applicant's actions indicated a complete pilot incapacitation. Flying a manual single engine during an ILS/DME approach, and adding this additional abnormal event in which the flight is now conducted as a single pilot, would seem to be excessive and counter productive.

V. DETERMINATION

[19] I refer the matter back to the Minister of Transport for reconsideration of the suspension of the applicant's group 1 instrument rating.

March 9, 2009

Franco Pietracupa

Member

Décisions

Dossier no C-3530-59 (TATC)
Dossier no N5802-793967 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL D'APPEL DES TRANSPORTS DU CANADA

ENTRE :

Jeffrey Jay O’Neill, requérant(e)

- et -

Ministre des Transports, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, c. A-2, art. 7.1


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Franco Pietracupa


Décision : le 9 mars 2009

Référence : O'Neill c. Canada (Ministre des Transports), 2009 TATCF 4 (révision)

Affaire entendue à Winnipeg (Manitoba) le 21 janvier 2009

Arrêt : Je renvoie l'affaire au ministre des Transports pour qu'il réexamine sa décision de suspendre la qualification de vol aux instruments de groupe 1 du requérant.

I. HISTORIQUE

[1] Le 30 septembre 2008, le ministre des Transports a délivré un avis de suspension au requérant, Jeffrey Jay O'Neill, l'informant que sa qualification de vol aux instruments de groupe 1 était suspendue, en vertu de l'article 7.1(1)b) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique (Loi). Il est allégué que durant un vol de contrôle de la compétence IFR/CCP périodique, le 28 septembre 2008, effectué par James David Caine, un pilote vérificateur agréé (PVA), M. O'Neill, un pilote professionnel compétent titulaire d'une licence, est descendu 300 pieds sous l'altitude assignée par le contrôleur de la circulation aérienne (CCA) durant une approche sous guidage radar ILS/DME vers la piste 05 à Thompson, au Manitoba.

[2] Il est allégué que, conformément au Manuel du pilote vérificateur agréé (TP 6533F, 9e édition, novembre 2007), le PVA à bord, M. Caine, a attribué la note 1 (inférieure au standard) au point 16 du Rapport du test en vol. Ce résultat est attribuable à une perte d'altitude de 300 pieds de l'aéronef par rapport à l'altitude assignée par le CCA (pièce M-4).

[3] Par conséquent, la décision qui sera rendue par le Tribunal est fondée sur la question suivante :

M. O'Neill a-t-il omis d'appliquer les critères d'exécution (3D) énoncés à la section 15‑16 du Contrôle de la compétence du pilote et qualification de type d'aéronefGuide de test en vol (avions) (TP 14727F, Guide de test en vol, 1re édition, novembre 2007, pièce M-7)?

II. DROIT

[4] L'article 7.1(1)b) de la Loi se lit comme suit :

7.1 (1) Le ministre, s'il décide de suspendre, d'annuler ou de ne pas renouveler un document d'aviation canadien pour l'un des motifs ci-après […]

[…]

b) le titulaire ou l'aéronef, l'aéroport ou autre installation ne répond plus aux conditions de délivrance ou de maintien en état de validité du document.

[5] La section 15-16 du Guide de test en vol, « Approche aux instruments de précision (3D) », prévoient les critères d'exécution suivants :

Critères d'exécution

Baser l'évaluation du candidat sur son aptitude à :

a. choisir et respecter la procédure d'approche aux instruments au VOR/ LOC/ LOC BC ou NDB à effectuer;

b. établir des communications bidirectionnelles avec l'ATC en se servant de la bonne phraséologie et des bonnes techniques de communication, soit personnellement, soit en demandant au copilote ou au pilote de sécurité de le faire, compte tenu de la phase de vol ou du segment d'approche;

[…]

e. établir la configuration et la vitesse/vitesse V appropriée, compte tenu de la turbulence, du cisaillement du vent, des micro-rafales ou d'autres conditions météorologiques et opérationnelles;

[…]

h. avant la trajectoire d'approche finale, maintenir les altitudes déclarées (±100 pieds) sans descendre sous les altitudes minimales applicables, et maintenir les caps (±10 degrés).

[…]

III. PREUVE

A. Ministre des transports

(1) Paul McCulloch

[6] Paul McCulloch est inspecteur de l'aviation civile à Transports Canada. Son témoignage principal a servi à déposer en preuve les imprimés et les données WinRad de Nav Canada (pièce M‑9), incluant une imagerie audio et radar donnant une représentation réelle des événements du 28 septembre 2008. Il a été établi que l'inspecteur McCulloch a témoigné dans plus de 100 instances en utilisant des imprimés WinRad pour clarifier et expliquer les phases de vol.

[7] En se concentrant sur la phase du vol à laquelle on a attribué une cote d'échec, l'inspecteur McCulloch, au moyen de l'imagerie radio et d'imprimés WinRad, a décrit l'aéronef comme étant le Calm Air Trainer 8. Il a démontré que l'aéronef avait une altitude initiale de 4 200 pieds (image 1 de 8) et une vitesse sol de 180 nœuds. Des images subséquentes et des données audio déposées en preuve ont établi que l'aéronef volait à 4 000 pieds (image 3 de 8) avant que le CCA ne demande au pilote de réduire la vitesse de l'aéronef et de descendre à 3 600 pieds. L'image 7 de 8 montre que l'aéronef a descendu à 3 300 pieds avant de remonter à l'altitude assignée de 3 600 pieds. La dernière image, comme l'a indiqué M. McCulloch dans son témoignage, montre la remontée de l'aéronef à 3 600 pieds et établit sa vitesse sol à 140 nœuds.

(2) James David Caine

[8] M. Caine est un PVA expérimenté de Calm Air International Ltd. (Calm Air). Le 28 septembre 2008, il effectuait le vol de contrôle de la compétence du requérant. Selon M. Caine, l'exposé avant vol a été fait en règle, des précisions ayant été données au pilote aux commandes (PF) et au pilote qui n'était pas aux commandes (PNF), concernant leurs fonctions et leurs obligations. M. Caine a présenté un élément de preuve supplémentaire, compris dans le Rapport du test en vol, établissant que la note 2 (standard de base) avait été attribuée à plusieurs points du test en vol. M. Caine a déclaré que le pilote de sécurité avait adressé de nombreux rappels et messages guides opérationnels au PF au sujet de sa vitesse, de sa configuration et de l'écart d'altitude.

[9] M. Caine a également déclaré qu'après la première approche de non-précision dans le cadre de la procédure de remontée et de reprise des gaz, le scénario du vol de contrôle de la compétence prévoyait que l'équipage devait éteindre un incendie moteur. Il a précisé qu'une fois cette urgence réglée, l'équipage avait été avisé de se préparer à une approche sous guidage radar ILS/DME. Tandis que l'aéronef était guidé par radar pendant l'étape vent arrière de cette approche, M. Caine a informé M. O'Neill que le pilote de sécurité allait simuler une incapacité en raison d'une laryngite. Il a expliqué à M. O'Neill que le pilote était toujours apte à voler, mais incapable de communiquer. Le fait que M. O'Neill avait commencé à piloter l'aéronef en tant que monopilote, qu'il était surchargé et que le PVA lui a ensuite demandé de descendre à 3 600 pieds a fait en sorte qu'il est descendu à 3 300 pieds avant de remonter à 3 600 pieds. À ce moment, la note 1 (inférieure au standard) lui a donc été attribuée, entraînant un échec.

[10] En contre-interrogatoire, M. Caine a déclaré que l'aéronef avait volé à 3 300 pieds pendant quelques secondes avant de remonter à 3 600 pieds. Lorsqu'on lui a demandé si le scénario concernant un pilote de sécurité souffrant d'une incapacité en raison d'une laryngite avait été bien compris par M. O'Neill, M. Caine a répondu que le scénario avait été bien expliqué.

(3) Conrad Schnellert

[11] Conrad Schnellert est un pilote expérimenté de Calm Air. Le 28 septembre 2008, il agissait à titre de pilote de sécurité durant le vol de contrôle de la compétence de M. O'Neill. La preuve déposée par M. Schnellert était fondée sur ses observations générales à l'égard du vol de contrôle de la compétence. Il a déclaré que plusieurs rappels, selon les procédures d'utilisation normalisées (SOP) de la compagnie, ont dû être lancés pour corriger les écarts de M. O'Neill relativement à l'altitude et aux profils de configuration. M. Schnellert a souligné que des rappels en raison des écarts ont été nécessaires durant les virages serrés et l'approche VOR. M. Schnellert a également déclaré que l'aéronef était descendu à une altitude de 300 à 400 pieds sous l'altitude assignée pendant plusieurs secondes avant de remonter à l'altitude assignée de 3 600 pieds.

B. Requérant

(1) Jeffrey Jay O'Neill

[12] Le témoignage de M. O'Neill reposait sur les deux facteurs suivants :

· le scénario présenté par M. Caine était imprécis et confus. L'incapacité partielle du pilote de sécurité attribuable à une laryngite n'a pas été communiquée clairement et, par conséquent, il a compris qu'il s'agissait d'un membre de l'équipage atteint d'une incapacité totale;

· la perte d'altitude qui s'est produite à l'étape de base de l'approche a été notée à 300 pieds sous l'altitude assignée. En contre-interrogatoire, MM. Caine et Schnellert ont reconnu et convenu que son écart a été corrigé en quelques secondes, soit environ 10 secondes, selon M. Schnellert.

IV. DISCUSSION

[13] Le dossier du ministre est fondé sur le fait précis que M. O'Neill a été incapable de respecter la demande du CCA de descendre à une altitude de 3 600 pieds et de la maintenir. Les parties ont toutes affirmé et confirmé que l'aéronef était descendu à 3 300 pieds avant de corriger son altitude et de remonter sur autorisation à l'altitude assignée. Le ministre et les témoins ont effectué et présenté une analyse supplémentaire portant sur l'ensemble de l'exécution du test. Je les examinerai séparément.

A. Les articles 4.1 et 4.1d) du Manuel du PVA (pièce M-11) :

4.1 PRINCIPE DE LA VÉRIFICATION EN VOL

[…]

Les développements récents dans les techniques d'évaluation portent principalement sur les stratégies de gestion des menaces et des erreurs et sur le rendement où l'on tient compte du fait que, de temps à autre, des erreurs ou des écarts par rapport aux pratiques normalisées se produisent. Même si l'on aimerait qu'il en soit autrement, c'est un fait que les équipages de conduite ou d'autres services associés aux opérations aériennes vont faire des erreurs et que ces dernières, si elles ne sont pas détectées et gérées efficacement, risquent d'avoir des conséquences désastreuses.

Les évaluateurs doivent porter leur attention sur la façon dont l'équipage :

[…]

4.1 (d)  reconnaît les erreurs lorsqu'elles se produisent (grâce à de bonnes techniques de communication, de surveillance et de rétroaction, et une bonne conscience de la situation.

[14] Tous les témoignages présentés en l'espèce démontrent que le requérant n'a pas respecté l'altitude assignée par le CCA, mais que l'écart de 300 pieds a été reconnu et corrigé. Même s'il est reconnu que toute dérogation à l'altitude assignée compromet la sécurité de vol, l'altitude minimale de secteur (MSA), conformément à la publication de Nav Canada intitulé Canada Air Pilot (CAP3 à la p. 319 (version anglaise); pièce M-8), concernant l'approche ILS/DME vers la piste 05, était 2 400 pieds (25 milles marins (NM) hors trajectoire vers le YTH − repère Thompson). L'altitude notée par MM. Caine et Schnellert avant la correction de l'altitude était 3 300 pieds. Selon les imprimés WinRad, l'aéronef se situait à une distance d'environ 10 à 12 NM de son repère.

B. La partie du Guide de test en vol intitulée « Généralités – Échelle d'évaluation à quatre points » (pièce M-7) et les imprimés WinRad (pièce M-9) :

Pièce M-7

2

Standard de base

L'exécution inclut quelques écarts majeurs et peut inclure des écarts de courte durée hors des limites exigées par la norme de qualification, mais ces écarts sont perçus et corrigés de façon appropriée.

1

Inférieure au standard

L'exécution inclut des écarts majeurs inacceptables par rapport à la norme de qualification ou dépassant les limites spécifiées et ces écarts ne sont ni perçus ni corrigés de façon appropriée.

Pièce M-9

Les imprimés WinRad présentent l'aéronef comme suit :

à 20:16:09Z – Altitude de 4 000 pieds en montée – 180 nœuds (étape de base);

à 20:16:43Z – Altitude de 3 300 pieds en descente – 140 nœuds (virage en vue de l'interception);

à 20:16:53Z – Altitude de 3 500 pieds en montée – 140 nœuds (sur la trajectoire de l'interception).

[15] MM. Caine et Schnellert ont déclaré que l'aéronef s'est écarté de l'altitude assignée pendant plusieurs secondes avant de corriger son altitude. Tous les éléments de preuve démontrent que le délai de rétablissement de l'altitude était d'environ 10 secondes. Dans une autre partie de son témoignage, M. Caine confirme que l'aéronef avait repris la vitesse et la configuration adéquates. D'après le Guide de test en vol, cette situation devrait mériter la note 2 (standard de base).

[16] Le point  h. de la section15-16 du Guide de test en vol, « Approche de précision aux instruments (3D) », prévoit le critère d'exécution suivant :

h. avant la trajectoire d'approche finale, maintenir les altitudes déclarées (±100 pieds) sans descendre sous les altitudes minimales applicables, et maintenir les caps (±10 degrés).

Les témoignages et la preuve documentaire provenant de la publication de Nav Canada intitulé Canada Air Pilot suggèrent que l'interception d'une trajectoire d'approche finale devrait avoir une altitude initiale de 2 300 pieds et que ce critère d'exécution devrait généralement s'appliquer durant la phase finale de l'approche, et non lors du virage en rapprochement sous guidage radar initial.

C. La norme 725 de l'annexe II − Contrôle de la compétence du pilote (CCP) − Avions du Règlement de l'aviation canadien, DORS 96/433 (pièce M-6) :

g) Procédures normales

Le pilote doit démontrer qu'il connaît autant de procédures d'utilisation normalisées approuvées de l'exploitant et de procédures normales qu'il est nécessaire pour déterminer s'il a les connaissances et les compétences nécessaires pour utiliser convenablement l'équipement de bord (y compris le pilote automatique et les manœuvres pilotées manuellement, selon le cas).

h) Procédures anormales et d'urgence

(i) Le pilote doit démontrer qu'il connaît autant de procédures d'utilisation normalisées approuvées de l'exploitant et de procédures d'utilisation anormales et d'urgence qu'il y a de situations d'urgence nécessaires pour déterminer s'il a les connaissances et les compétences nécessaires pour exécuter ces procédures.

(ii) Les anomalies des systèmes doivent porter sur des éléments choisis de manière à déterminer si le pilote possède les connaissances et les compétences nécessaires pour réagir en toute sécurité aux défaillances.

(iii) au moins deux pannes moteur simulées qui peuvent être provoquées n'importe quand pendant le vol de contrôle de la compétence du pilote.

[17] Il est important d'utiliser des situations anormales et d'urgence dans un vol de contrôle de la compétence pour évaluer les connaissances et la capacité du candidat d'exécuter les procédures. M. Caine a prouvé que, jusqu'à l'événement en question, le requérant avait reçu de nombreux rappels de la part des pilotes de sécurité, conformément aux SOP. Cette préoccupation du PVA n'a jamais été notée dans le rapport de test en vol. Ces rappels, concernant entre autres les dérogations liées à l'altitude, à la vitesse et à la configuration, font partis des SOP de la compagnie.

[18] Dans une autre partie de son témoignage, M. Caine a fait allusion au fait qu'une seconde situation anormale s'était ajoutée à l'urgence de l'incendie moteur, et qu'elle visait précisément à évaluer la capacité du requérant de continuer l'approche tout en recevant des messages-guides ou des rappels du pilote de sécurité; c'est dans ces circonstances que le « pilote atteint d'une incapacité partielle » a fait son entrée. Les précisions quant aux fonctions que le pilote de sécurité pouvait ou ne pouvait exécuter semblaient avoir été mal comprises par le requérant. Selon le témoignage du requérant, cette laryngite signifiait que le pilote de sécurité était incapable d'effectuer l'approche. Les témoignages sont suffisants pour établir que, même si ces directives étaient claires pour MM. Caine et Schnellert, les agissements du requérant indiquent qu'il avait compris qu'il s'agissait d'un pilote atteint d'une incapacité totale. Le pilotage d'un avion monomoteur manuel durant une approche ILS/DME, jumelé à cette situation anormale additionnelle lorsque l'aéronef est piloté par un seul pilote, semble être un scénario excessif allant à l'encontre du but recherché.

V. DÉCISION

[19] Je renvoie l'affaire au ministre des Transports pour qu'il réexamine sa décision de suspendre la qualification de vol aux instruments de groupe 1 du requérant.

Le 9 mars 2009

Franco Pietracupa

Conseiller