Decisions

TATC File No. C-3593-33
MoT File No. Z 5504-066443 P/B

TRANSPORTATION APPEAL TRIBUNAL OF CANADA

BETWEEN:

David Mitchell Bouchard, Applicant

- and -

Minister of Transport, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96-433, para. 602.14(2)(b)


Review Determination
Franco Pietracupa


Decision: March 29, 2010

Citation: Bouchard v. Canada (Minister of Transport), 2010 TATCE 5 (review)

Heard at Brandon, Manitoba, on January 14, 2010

Held: The Minister of Transport did prove, on a balance of probabilities, that David Mitchell Bouchard contravened paragraph 602.14(2)(b) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations. However, I also find that the Applicant is not liable for the said contravention by virtue of section 8.5 of the Aeronautics Act, having demonstrated to the Tribunal that he exercised all due diligence to prevent the contravention. Consequently, the Notice of Assessment of Monetary Penalty of $750, issued against the Applicant on May 13, 2009, is dismissed.

I. BACKGROUND

[1] On May 13, 2009, the Minister of Transport issued a Notice of Assessment of Monetary Penalty ("Notice") of $750 against the Applicant, David Mitchell Bouchard. It is alleged that, at approximately 01:00 UTC, on or about July 19, 2008, at or near Tilston, Manitoba, Mr. Bouchard operated an aircraft at a distance of less than 500 feet from a Manitoba Hydro power line, thus contravening paragraph 602.14(2)(b) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations ("CARs").

[2] Schedule A of the Notice provides as follows:

COUNT #1: $750.00

Canadian Aviation Regulation 602.14(2)(b), in that, at approximately 0100 hours UTC, on or about July 19, 2008, at or near Tilston, Manitoba, you did operate an aircraft, to wit, a Piper Aircraft Corporation, PA25-235, bearing Canadian Registration marks C-GBXE, at a distance less than 500 feet from a structure, namely, a Manitoba Hydro power line.

The total assessed penalty of $750.00 must be paid on or before June 15, 2009.

Count #1 $750.00

Total Penalty: $750.00

[3] As such, the issues that must be considered and the Determination that will be rendered by the Transportation Appeal Tribunal of Canada ("Tribunal") are based on the following questions:

  1. Was a hazard caused to persons or property on the surface, in contravention of paragraph 602.14(2)(b) of the CARs, thus rendering section 602.15 of the CARs non‑applicable?
  2. Did Mr. Bouchard, the Pilot-in-Command, exercise due diligence to prevent the incident from occurring?
  3. Was aviation safety seriously compromised by Mr. Bouchard's actions? If this is the case, was it appropriate for the Minister to assess a monetary penalty of $750?

II. STATUTES, REGULATIONS AND POLICIES

[4] Subsection 7.7(1) of the Aeronautics Act ("Act") provides as follows:

7.7(1) If the Minister believes on reasonable grounds that a person has contravened a designated provision, the Minister may decide to assess a monetary penalty in respect of the alleged contravention, in which case the Minister shall, by personal service or by registered or certified mail sent to the person at their latest known address, notify the person of his or her decision.

[5] Paragraph 602.14(2)(b) and section 602.15 of the CARs provide as follows:

602.14(2) Except where conducting a take-off, approach or landing or where permitted under section 602.15, no person shall operate an aircraft

. . .

(b) in circumstances other than those referred to in paragraph (a), at a distance less than 500 feet from any person, vessel, vehicle or structure.

602.15(1) A person may operate an aircraft at altitudes and distances less than those specified in subsection 602.14(2) where the aircraft is operated at altitudes and distances that are no less than necessary for the purposes of the operation in which the aircraft is engaged, the aircraft is operated without creating a hazard to persons or property on the surface and the aircraft is operated

(a) for the purpose of a police operation that is conducted in the service of a police authority;

(b) for the purpose of saving human life;

(c) for fire-fighting or air ambulance operations;

(d) for the purpose of the administration of the Fisheries Act or the Coastal Fisheries Protection Act;

(e) for the purpose of the administration of the national or provincial parks; or

(f) for the purpose of flight inspection.

(2) A person may operate an aircraft, to the extent necessary for the purpose of the operation in which the aircraft is engaged, at altitudes and distances less than those set out in

(a) paragraph 602.14(2)(a), where operation of the aircraft is authorized under Subpart 3 or section 702.22; or

(b) paragraph 602.14(2)(b), where the aircraft is operated without creating a hazard to persons or property on the surface and the aircraft is operated for the purpose of

(i) aerial application or aerial inspection,

(ii)   aerial photography conducted by the holder of an air operator certificate,

(iii)  helicopter external load operations, or

(iv)  flight training conducted by or under the supervision of a qualified flight instructor.

III. EVIDENCE

A. Minister of Transport

(1) Joe Gaudry

[6] Joe Gaudry, Aviation Enforcement Inspector, Transport Canada, was assigned to the investigation of a possible contravention of paragraph 602(2)(b) of the CARs, pertaining to the alleged damage to a Manitoba Hydro service power line of Manitoba Hydro. Mr. Bouchard was the Pilot‑in‑Command of the aircraft involved.

[7] Inspector Gaudry stated that he was made aware of the incident through a Civil Aviation Daily Occurrence Reporting System ("CADORS") Report that had been issued on the matter by the Transportation Safety Board ("TSB") and distributed within Transport Canada (Exhibit M-1). The Report indicated that, on July 19, 2008, at approximately 01:00 UTC, a Piper PA25‑235, Canadian Registration C‑GBXE, while conducting aerial spraying near Tilston, Manitoba, had struck a farm service power line.

[8] Inspector Gaudry testified that he began the investigation by calling Manitoba Hydro, who confirmed that a service power line had been severed on July 19, 2008, and repaired the following day. A Public Contact and Damage to Corporate Plant Report was provided to Inspector Gaudry by Manitoba Hydro (Exhibit M-6). A follow-up through the Distributed Air Personnel Licensing System and the Civil Aviation Registry of Transport Canada confirmed that the owner of the aircraft was Mr. Bouchard.

[9] Inspector Gaudry testified that Mr. Bouchard was informed by a letter dated August 5, 2008 (Exhibit M-3) and a subsequent telephone call that an investigation was being conducted on the incident of July 19, 2008. During his telephone conversation with Inspector Gaudry, Mr. Bouchard admitted that he had been the Pilot‑in‑Command of the aircraft, had struck the service power line and had reported the incident himself to the TSB and Manitoba Hydro. Further to this conversation, Inspector Gaudry requested a copy of the Aircraft Journey Log and proof of insurance.

B. Applicant

(1) David Mitchell Bouchard

[10] Mr. Bouchard testified that, on July 19, 2008, while conducting aerial spraying, he was the Pilot‑in‑Command of aircraft C-GBXE that had severed the farm service power line. Within the next 24 hours, Mr. Bouchard had informed both the TSB and Manitoba Hydro of the incident.

[11] Mr. Bouchard stated that he has been conducting aerial spraying since 1998, and that all due diligence has been carried out to the best of his abilities prior to spraying the field in question.

[12] In accordance with the Canadian Aerial Applicators Association ("CAAA") and the Wire Watch Program guidelines, Mr. Bouchard stated that he informed the TSB, the owner of the field in question and Manitoba Hydro of the incident. At that time, Mr. Bouchard felt that the incident was closed.

[13] Mr. Bouchard testified that, when he inspected the field from his aircraft, he noticed that the power line poles were obstructed and, in spite of his best efforts, the line was severed.

[14] In cross-examination, Mr. Bouchard was asked why the CAAA was not present at the Review Hearing to testify on his behalf. He replied that he did not know. Mr. Bouchard was asked if he had inspected the area of spraying prior to the application, by walking the area in question. His response was "no". Mr. Bouchard stated that he had conducted two precautionary passes over the field and had noted the hazards prior to commencing spraying. The severed power line was not visible at the time. Mr. Bouchard did not dispute that damage had occurred to the service power line.

IV. EVIDENCE, LEGISLATION AND POLICY ANALYSIS

[15] Both the Minister and the Applicant have agreed that Mr. Bouchard was the Pilot‑in‑Command of aircraft C-GBXE on July 19, 2008, and that a Manitoba Hydro service power line was struck and damaged during an aerial spray flight.

(a) Applicable Regulations

[16] Paragraph 602.14(2)(b) of the CARs states that a person may operate an aircraft at a distance less than 500 feet from any person, vessel, vehicle or structure, if that operation is permitted under paragraph 602.15 (2)(b) which states:

602.15(2) A person may operate an aircraft, to the extent necessary for the purpose of the operation in which the aircraft is engaged, at altitudes and distances less than those set out in

. . .

(b) paragraph 602.14(2)(b), where the aircraft is operated without creating a hazard to persons or property on the surface and the aircraft is operated for the purpose of aerial application or aerial inspection

. . .

[17] It is the Tribunal's opinion that the key word in paragraph 602.15(2)(b) of the CARs would be "hazard", and more importantly, the intent of not creating a hazard. Inherently, the operation of aerial spraying in itself carries hazard and thus risk. Under most conditions, it would be simple to equate risk proportionally to the hazard when all factors are equal. In his testimony, the Applicant indicated that, to the best of his abilities, the hazards of the operation at hand were taken into consideration and the risks mitigated. Paragraph 602.14(2)(b) of the CARs allows a person to descend below 500 feet from any person, vessel, vehicle or structure without creating a hazard. It is the belief of the Tribunal that the Applicant has been able to mitigate, to the best of his abilities, the risk inherent with descending below 500 feet, and as such, he met the requirement of paragraph 602.14(2)(b) of the CARs. At no time was the flight conducted in a reckless matter, so as to create a hazard.

(b) Due Diligence

[18] During his testimony, Mr. Bouchard clearly indicated that he was duly licensed and qualified for aerial application flights. He meets the requirement of paragraph 602.14(2)(b) of the CARs. Therefore, the statement, "the aircraft is operated without creating a hazard to persons or property on the surface", needs clarification.

[19] As discussed earlier, the following questions remain: Was a hazard created in the conduct of this flight? Understanding that the activity in itself can be deemed hazardous, the important question to consider in regard to this incident is: Was it conducted in a matter so as to mitigate the hazards to persons or property? Mitigating hazards to what we would call an acceptable risk factor involve planning and preparedness.

[20] Although we can debate the level of preparedness and planning, the Applicant testified that the conduct of the flight was conformed to the standards of planning and due diligence to the best of his ability. Geological and geophysical data, which were filed in evidence and not disputed by the Minister, show that several precautionary passes were conducted to identify hazards and obstacles (Exhibit A-4). A picture of the field in question shows obstructed power line poles, which may have hindered the ability of Mr. Bouchard to properly identify all hazards (Exhibit A‑5).

[21] The Minister's witness, Inspector Gaudry, testified that no inspection of the incident was conducted on-site and that the investigation was initiated following the issuance of a CADORS Report (Exhibit M-1). The question is whether more could have been done to eliminate all hazards in this particular case. The Minister raised the fact that a physical ground inspection prior to the aerial spraying did not occur.

[22] From the Applicant's evidence, a physical ground inspection would seem difficult, as access to the field in question seemed restricted. The occupational hazard of aerial spraying cannot be simply ignored, but understood and minimized. Although we can argue that such an inspection could have been conducted, from the evidence presented, this may not have been feasible. Written and oral evidence from the Applicant indicates that this unfortunate incident was accidental and that reasonable precautions in the conduct of this aerial application mission were taken.

(c) Aviation Safety

[23] In the Minister's closing argument, the issue of aviation safety was raised as a contributing factor to the monetary penalty imposed. Most experts in the aviation industry would agree that the key is safety. It must be the underlying common thread in all policies, operational practices and regulatory oversights in aviation.

[24] One such safety net is the need for pilots to use occurrence reporting systems, such as the Wire Watch Program, for the benefit of the aerial application industry. Both the CAAA and Transport Canada have gone on record as stating that the Wire Watch Program contributes to safety in the Aerial Application Industry (Exhibit A-6). It is further noted that most reporting systems are voluntary in nature.

[25] In this particular incident, it was shown that all steps to mitigate the possible damages to property and persons were carried out. The Applicant informed the owner of the field in question, advised Manitoba Hydro and reported the severed power line to the TSB.

[26] Voluntary reporting programs such as the Wire Watch Program play a critical role in our aviation safety net. Ultimately, it would be important that the message from the regulatory agencies involved be one of support and encouragement for operators and pilots to participate in them.

V. DETERMINATION

[26] The Minister of Transport did prove, on a balance of probabilities, that David Mitchell Bouchard contravened paragraph 602.14(2)(b) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations. However, I also find that the Applicant is not liable for the said contravention by virtue of section 8.5 of the Aeronautics Act, having demonstrated to the Tribunal that he exercised all due diligence to prevent the contravention. Consequently, the Notice of Assessment of Monetary Penalty of $750, issued against the Applicant on May 13, 2009, is dismissed.

March 29, 2010

Franco Pietracupa

Member

Décisions

Dossier no C-3593-33 (TATC)
Dossier no Z 5504-066443 P/B (MdT)

TRIBUNAL D'APPEL DES TRANSPORTS DU CANADA

ENTRE :

David Mitchell Bouchard, requérant(e)

- et -

Ministre des Transports, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Règlement de l’aviation canadien, DORS/96 433, alinéa 602.14(2)b)


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Franco Pietracupa


Décision : le 29 mars 2010

Référence : Bouchard c. Canada (Ministre des Transports), 2010 TATCF 5 (révision)

[Traduction française officielle]

Affaire entendue à Brandon (Manitoba) le 14 janvier 2010

Arrêt : Le ministre des Transports a démontré, selon la prépondérance des probabilités, que David Mitchell Bouchard a contrevenu à l'alinéa 602.14(2)b) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien. Cependant, je conclus également que le requérant n'est pas responsable de la contravention en vertu de l'article 8.5 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, puisqu'il a démontré au Tribunal qu'il avait pris toutes les précautions voulues pour se conformer au Règlement. Par conséquent, l'avis d'amende pour contravention de 750 $ délivré au requérant le 13 mai 2009, est annulé.

I. HISTORIQUE

[1] Le 13 mai 2009, le ministre des Transports a délivré un avis d'amende pour contravention (« avis ») de 750 $ au requérant, David Mitchell Bouchard. Il est allégué qu'à approximativement 1 h 00 UTC le, ou vers le 19 juillet 2008 à, ou près de Tilston au Manitoba, M. Bouchard a utilisé un aéronef à une distance inférieure à 500 pieds d'une ligne électrique de Manitoba Hydro, contrevenant ainsi à l'alinéa 602.14(2)b) du Règlement de l'aviation canadienRAC »).

[2] L'annexe A de l'avis indique ce qui suit :

[Traduction]

CHEF D'ACCUSATION NO 1 : 750,00 $

Règlement de l'aviation canadien 602.14(2)b); à approximativement 1 h 00 UTC, le ou vers le 19 juillet 2008, à ou près de Tilston, au Manitoba, vous avez utilisé un aéronef, en l'occurrence un aéronef Piper PA25-235 arborant le numéro d'enregistrement canadien C-GBXE, à une distance inférieure à 500 pieds d'une structure, à savoir, une ligne électrique de Manitoba Hydro.

L'amende totale de 750,00 $ doit être payée au plus tard le 15 juin 2009.

Chef d'accusation no1 750,00 $

Amende totale : 750,00 $

[3] Par conséquent, les questions en litige qui doivent être considérées et la décision qui sera rendue par le Tribunal d'appel des transports du Canada (« Tribunal ») sont fondées sur les questions suivantes :

  1. Les personnes et les biens à la surface ont-ils encouru un danger, en contravention de l'alinéa 602.14(2)b) du RAC, rendant ainsi l'article 602.15 du RAC non applicable?
  2. M. Bouchard, le commandant de bord, a-t-il pris toutes les précautions voulues pour se conformer au RAC?
  3. La sécurité aérienne a-t-elle été sérieusement compromise pas les actions de M. Bouchard? Si tel est le cas, était-il approprié que le ministre inflige une amende de 750 $?

II. LOIS, RÈGLEMENTS ET POLITIQUES

[4] Le paragraphe 7.7(1) de la Loi sur l'aéronautiqueLoi ») prévoit ce qui suit :

7.7(1) Le ministre, s'il a des motifs raisonnables de croire qu'une personne a contrevenu à un texte désigné, peut décider de déterminer le montant de l'amende à payer, auquel cas il lui expédie, par signification à personne ou par courrier recommandé ou certifié à sa dernière adresse connue, un avis l'informant de la décision.

[5] L'alinéa 602.14(2)b) et l'article 602.15 du RAC prévoient ce qui suit :

602.14(2) Sauf s'il s'agit d'effectuer le décollage, l'approche ou l'atterrissage d'un aéronef ou lorsque la personne y est autorisée en application de l'article 602.15, il est interdit d'utiliser un aéronef :

[. . .]

b) dans les cas autres que ceux visés à l'alinéa a), à une distance inférieure à 500 pieds de toute personne, tout navire, tout véhicule ou toute structure.

602.15(1) Il est permis d'utiliser un aéronef à une altitude et une distance inférieures aux altitudes et aux distances visées au paragraphe 602.14(2), mais non inférieures à l'altitude et à la distance requises pour effectuer le vol aux fins suivantes, si l'aéronef est utilisé sans constituer un danger pour les personnes ou les biens à la surface :

a) une opération policière effectuée pour les besoins d'un corps policier;

b) le sauvetage de vies humaines;

c) les opérations de lutte contre l'incendie ou les services d'ambulance aérienne;

d) l'application de la Loi sur les pêches ou de la Loi sur la protection des pêches côtières;

e) l'administration des parcs nationaux ou provinciaux;

f) une inspection en vol.

(2) Il est permis d'utiliser un aéronef, dans la mesure nécessaire pour effectuer le vol aux fins suivantes, à une altitude et à une distance inférieures à celles visées :

a) à l'alinéa 602.14(2)a), si le vol est autorisé en application de la sous-partie 3 ou de l'article 702.22;

b) à l'alinéa 602.14(2)b), si l'aéronef est utilisé sans constituer un danger pour les personnes ou les biens à la surface :

(i) le traitement aérien ou l'inspection aérienne,

(ii)   la photographie aérienne effectuée par le titulaire d'un certificat d'exploitation aérienne,

(iii)  le transport d'une charge externe par hélicoptère,

(iv)  l'entraînement en vol dispensé ou supervisé par un instructeur de vol qualifié.

III. PREUVE

A. Ministre des Transports

(1) Joe Gaudry

[6] Joe Gaudry, inspecteur du ministère des Transports pour l'application des règlements de l'aéronautique, a été assigné à l'enquête portant sur une possible contravention de l'alinéa 602(2)b) du RAC, concernant le dommage qui aurait été causé à une ligne électrique de Manitoba Hydro. M. Bouchard était le commandant de bord de l'aéronef en question.

[7] L'inspecteur Gaudry a affirmé qu'il a pris connaissance de l'événement grâce à un rapport du Système de comptes rendus quotidiens des événements de l'aviation civile (« SCREAQ »), qui avait été publié par le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (« BST ») et distribué au sein du ministère des Transports (pièce M-1). Le rapport indique que le 19 juillet 2008, à approximativement 01 h 00 UTC, un Piper PA25‑235, numéro d'enregistrement canadien C‑GBXE, a percuté une ligne électrique desservant une ferme pendant un épandage aérien près de Tilston, au Manitoba.

[8] L'inspecteur Gaudry a témoigné qu'il avait commencé son enquête en appelant Manitoba Hydro, qui a confirmé qu'une ligne électrique avait été coupée le 19 juillet 2008 et réparée le jour suivant. Un rapport faisant état des coordonnées destinées au secteur public et des dommages aux installations a été remis à l'inspecteur Gaudry par Manitoba Hydro (pièce M-6). Un suivi effectué par l'entremise du système décentralisé des licences du personnel de l'air et du registre des aéronefs civils canadiens de Transports Canada a confirmé que le propriétaire de l'aéronef était M. Bouchard.

[9] L'inspecteur Gaudry a témoigné que M. Bouchard a été informé par l'entremise d'une lettre datée du 5 août 2008 (pièce M-3) et par un appel téléphonique ultérieur de la tenue d'une enquête au sujet de l'incident survenu le 19 juillet 2008. Lors de sa conversation téléphonique avec l'inspecteur Gaudry, M. Bouchard a admis qu'il était le commandant de bord de l'aéronef, qu'il avait percuté la ligne électrique et qu'il avait lui-même signalé l'incident au BST et à Manitoba Hydro. Après cette conversation, l'inspecteur Gaudry a demandé une copie du carnet de route d'aéronef et une preuve d'assurance.

B. Requérant

(1) David Mitchell Bouchard

[10] M. Bouchard a témoigné qu'il était le commandant de bord de l'aéronef C-GBXE qui avait coupé la ligne électrique de la ferme le 19 juillet 2008, alors qu'il effectuait un épandage aérien. Au cours des 24 heures suivantes, M. Bouchard a informé le BST et Manitoba Hydro de l'incident.

[11] M. Bouchard a affirmé qu'il effectuait des épandages aériens depuis 1998 et qu'il avait pris toutes les précautions voulues, au mieux de ses capacités, avant l'épandage du champ en question.

[12] Conformément à la Canadian Aerial Applicators Association (« CAAA ») et aux lignes directrices du programme Wire Watch, M. Bouchard a affirmé qu'il avait informé le BST, le propriétaire du champ en question et Manitoba Hydro de l'incident. M. Bouchard a alors pensé que l'incident était clos.

[13] M. Bouchard a témoigné qu'il avait remarqué que les poteaux de la ligne électrique étaient obstrués lorsqu'il avait examiné le champ depuis son aéronef, et, bien qu'il ait fait de son mieux, la ligne a été coupée.

[14] En contre-interrogatoire, M. Bouchard a été appelé à préciser la raison pour laquelle le CAAA ne s'était pas présenté à l'audience en révision pour témoigner en son nom. Il a répondu qu'il ne le savait pas. On a demandé à M. Bouchard s'il avait inspecté la zone en parcourant les lieux à pied avant d'effectuer l'épandage. Il a répondu par la négative. M. Bouchard a dit qu'il avait effectué deux passages préventifs au-dessus du champ et qu'il avait pris note des dangers avant de commencer l'épandage. La ligne électrique coupée n'était pas visible à ce moment. M. Bouchard ne conteste pas que la ligne électrique ait été endommagée.

IV. ANALYSE DE LA PREUVE, DE LA LÉGISLATION ET DE LA POLITIQUE

[15] Le ministre et le requérant ont convenu que M. Bouchard était le commandant de bord de l'aéronef C-GBXE le 19 juillet 2008 et que la ligne électrique de Manitoba Hydro a été endommagée au cours d'un épandage aérien.

a) Règlement pertinent

[16] L'alinéa 602.14(2)b) du RAC prévoit qu'une personne peut utiliser un aéronef à une distance inférieure à 500 pieds de toute personne, tout navire, tout véhicule ou toute structure, si cette utilisation est permise selon l'alinéa 602.15(2)b), lequel dispose :

602.15(2) Il est permis d'utiliser un aéronef, dans la mesure nécessaire pour effectuer le vol aux fins suivantes, à une altitude et à une distance inférieures à celles visées :

[. . .]

b) à l'alinéa 602.14(2)b), si l'aéronef est utilisé sans constituer un danger pour les personnes ou les biens à la surface :

[. . .]

[17] Le Tribunal est d'avis que « danger » est le mot qui compte à l'alinéa 602.15(2)b) du RAC, plus précisément l'intention de ne pas constituer un danger. En soi, l'épandage aérien constitue une activité dangereuse qui comporte donc des risques. Dans la plupart des cas, on peut facilement considérer que le risque est proportionnel au danger si tous les facteurs sont les mêmes. Dans son témoignage, le requérant a dit qu'il avait tenu compte des dangers et qu'il avait limité les risques au mieux de ses capacités. L'alinéa 602.14(2)b) du RAC permet à une personne de voler à une distance inférieure à 500 pieds de toute personne, tout navire, tout véhicule ou toute structure sans constituer un danger. Le Tribunal est d'avis que le requérant a été en mesure de limiter, aux mieux de ses capacités, le danger inhérent à l'utilisation d'un aéronef à une distance inférieure à 500 pieds et, par conséquent, il a respecté l'exigence formulée à l'alinéa 602.14(2)b) du RAC. À aucun moment l'aéronef n'a été utilisé de manière insouciante, de façon à constituer ainsi un danger.

b) Diligence raisonnable

[18] Lors de son témoignage, M. Bouchard a clairement indiqué que son permis était en règle et qu'il était qualifié pour effectuer des épandages aériens. Il satisfait aux exigences énumérées à l'alinéa 602.14(2)b) du RAC. Par conséquent, il importe de clarifier ce que signifie « l'aéronef est utilisé sans constituer un danger pour les personnes ou les biens à la surface ».

[19] Comme je l'ai affirmé ci-dessus, il nous reste à examiner si la façon dont l'aéronef a été utilisé constituait un danger. En admettant que l'activité en soi puisse être considérée comme dangereuse, la question d'importance dont il doit être tenu compte concernant cet incident est la suivante : l'aéronef a-t-il été utilisé de façon à limiter les risques pour les personnes et les biens? Limiter les risques à un facteur de risque que nous pourrions juger acceptable nécessite de la planification et de la préparation.

[20] Bien que nous puissions débattre du niveau de préparation et de planification, le requérant a témoigné que le vol avait été effectué conformément aux normes de planification et il a affirmé qu'il avait pris toutes les précautions nécessaires, au mieux de ses capacités. Les données géologiques et géographiques, qui ont été déposées en preuve et qui ne sont pas contestées par le ministre, montrent que plusieurs passages préventifs ont été effectués pour déterminer les dangers et les obstacles (pièce A-4). Une photographie du champ en question montre des poteaux de ligne électrique obstrués ce qui peut avoir empêché M. Bouchard d'envisager correctement tous les risques (pièce A‑5).

[21] Le témoin du ministre, l'inspecteur Gaudry, a témoigné qu'aucune enquête n'avait été menée sur les lieux de l'incident et que l'enquête a commencé après la publication d'un rapport rédigé par le SCREAQ (pièce M-1). La question consiste à déterminer s'il était possible d'en faire davantage pour éliminer tous les dangers concernant le présent incident. Le ministre a fait valoir qu'une inspection des lieux n'avait pas été effectuée avant l'épandage.

[22] Selon le témoignage du requérant, une inspection des lieux aurait été difficile à effectuer puisque l'accès au champ semblait restreint. On ne saurait simplement écarter le risque inhérent associé à l'épandage aérien, mais plutôt le comprendre et le diminuer. Bien qu'on puisse faire valoir qu'une inspection aurait pu être effectuée, la preuve présentée montre qu'elle n'aurait peut‑être pu avoir lieu. Le témoignage et la preuve du requérant démontrent que cet incident malheureux était un accident et que les précautions raisonnables avaient été prises avant d'entreprendre l'épandage aérien.

c) Sécurité aérienne

[23] En conclusion, le ministre a plaidé que la question de la sécurité aérienne a été soulevée pour étayer l'argument selon lequel une amende devait être infligée. La plupart des experts du secteur de l'aviation seraient d'accord pour dire que la sécurité est ce qui importe le plus. Cela doit être la ligne directrice sous-jacente à toutes les politiques, les pratiques opérationnelles et les activités de surveillance réglementaire en matière d'aviation.

[24] Pour assurer leur sécurité, les pilotes doivent utiliser les systèmes de compte rendu, comme le programme Wire Watch, au profit du secteur de l'épandage aérien. Tant la CAAA que Transports Canada ont affirmé publiquement que le programme Wire Watch contribue à améliorer la sécurité dans le secteur de l'épandage aérien (pièce A-6). Précisions également que la plupart des systèmes de compte rendu fonctionnent sur une base volontaire.

[25] Pour cet incident en particulier, il a été démontré que toutes les étapes visant à limiter les dommages possibles aux biens et aux personnes ont été suivies. Le requérant a informé le propriétaire du champ en question et Manitoba Hydro, et a signalé au BST que la ligne électrique avait été coupée.

[26] Les programmes de compte rendu volontaire, comme le programme Wire Watch, jouent un rôle capital en matière de sécurité aérienne. Ultimement, il serait important que les organismes de réglementation concernés encouragent les opérateurs et les pilotes à y prendre part.

V. DÉCISION

[27] Le ministre des Transports a prouvé, selon la prépondérance des probabilités, que David Mitchell Bouchard a contrevenu à l'alinéa 602.14(2)b) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien. Cependant, je conclus également que le requérant n'est pas responsable de la contravention en vertu de l'article 8.5 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, car il a prouvé au Tribunal qu'il a pris toutes les précautions voulues pour se conformer au RAC. Par conséquent, l'avis d'amende pour contravention de 750 $, délivré au requérant le 13 mai 2009, est annulé.

Le 29 mars 2010

Franco Pietracupa

Conseiller