Decisions

TATC File No. O-3707-41
MoT File No. PAP 5504-069727

TRANSPORTATION APPEAL TRIBUNAL OF CANADA

BETWEEN:

ALCI Aviation Ltd., Applicant

- and -

Minister of Transport, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96-433; paragraph 103.02(2)(a)


Review Determination
Franco Pietracupa


Decision: March 25, 2011

Citation: ALCI Aviation Ltd. v. Canada (Minister of Transport), 2011 TATCE 6 (Review)

Heard at Oshawa, Ontario, on January 25, 2011

Held: The Minister of Transport has proven, on the balance of probabilities, that the Applicant, ALCI Aviation Ltd., has contravened two counts of paragraph 103.02(2)(a)of the Canadian Aviation Regulations. Accordingly, the amount of $5 000 per count, for a total amount of $10 000, as set out in the Notice of Assessment of Monetary Penalty by the Minister of Transport, is upheld. This amount is payable to the Receiver General for Canada and must be received by the Transportation Appeal Tribunal of Canada within thirty-five (35) days of service of this determination.

I. BACKGROUND

[1] The Applicant, ALCI Aviation Ltd. ("ALCI"), is an Ontario commercial operator with its principal base of operations in the Antarctic. It was authorized to operate its Douglas DC3C‑BT67 aircraft, bearing registration marks C‑GEAI and C‑GEAJ, under section 704 of the Canadian Aviation Regulations ("CARs"). These Authorizations (Exhibits M‑3 and M‑4) allow ALCI to operate under paragraph 704.01(c) of the CARs in respect of operation of a Canadian air operator in an air service or in aerial work involving sightseeing operations.

[2] These Authorizations were subject to several conditions of which state in part:

b)    An additional crew member shall be assigned to all passenger-carrying flights to assist the air operator in fulfilling the passenger safety responsibilities under sections 704.33 and 704.34 of the CARs and associated Commercial Air Services Standards. The air operator shall also demonstrate compliance with the additional regulations, standards and guidance provided at Annex A to this authorization;

f)  All flight crew member training shall be conducted in accordance with the requirements of Subpart 704 of the CARs.

[3] Annex A to these Authorizations, pursuant to paragraph 704.01(c) of the CARs, reads in part:

CAR

Requirement

Remark

704.33

Apron Cabin Safety Procedures

The DC3C-BT67 is configured in such a way that the flight crew cannot comply with paragraph 704.33(1)(e). This has necessitated the need for a crew member to be carried in the cabin.

The crew member shall receive training in accordance with subsection 704.33(3). The training requirements referenced in 704.115(2)(d) shall be supplemented by the associated elements of TP 12296, Flight Attendant Training Standard.

[4] Upon completion of a scheduled Program Validation at ALCI on May 5, 2009, Teresa (Terry) Long, Regional Superintendent, Cabin Safety, Transport Canada, who was appointed Program Validation Manager, identified issues of concerns in regard to two flight attendant training records (additional crew members) that could not be produced. A Confirmation Request Form was issued (Exhibit M-10) to Manny Rosario, Director of Flight Operations at ALCI, in which it was requested that ALCI provide a copy of the flight attendant training records of Daniel Levert and Miroslaw Leopold Budzinski. A Detection Notice was completed by Ms. Long on August 26, 2009, when the records could not be produced (Exhibit M-12).

[5] On March 18, 2010, the Minister of Transport ("Minister") issued a Notice of Assessment of Monetary Penalty ("Notice"), pursuant to section 7.7 of the Aeronautics Act, ("Act") against ALCI. Schedule "A" of the Notice reads as follows:

1. On or about May 12, 2009, at or near Oshawa, Ontario, you, being the holder of Air Operator Certificate Number 11028, did not produce a document for inspection in accordance with the terms of a demand made by the Minister on May 5, 2009. Specifically, you did not produce the training records of Mr. Daniel Levert, thereby contravening paragraph 103.02(2)(a) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations.

MONETARY PENALTY ASSESSED- $5,000.00 (Canadian Funds)

2. On or about May 12, 2009, at or near Oshawa, Ontario, you, being the holder of Air Operator Certificate Number 11028, did not produce a document for inspection in accordance with the terms of a demand made by the Minister on May 5, 2009. Specifically, you did not produce the training records of Mr. Miroslaw Leopold Budzinski, thereby contravening paragraph 103.02(2)(a) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations.

MONETARY PENALTY ASSESSED- $5,000.00 (Canadian Funds)

II. STATUTES AND REGULATIONS

[6] Paragraph 103.02(2)(a) of the CARs provides as follows:

103.02 (1) The owner or operator of an aircraft shall, on reasonable notice given by the Minister, make the aircraft available for inspection in accordance with the notice.

(2) Every person who

(a) is the holder of a Canadian aviation document,

shall produce the Canadian aviation document, technical record or other document for inspection in accordance with the terms of a demand made by a peace officer, an immigration officer or the Minister.

[7] Section 704.117 of the CARs provides as follows:

Training and Qualification Records

704.117 (1) Every air operator shall, for each person who is required to receive training under this Subpart, establish and maintain a record of

(a) the person's name and, where applicable, personnel licence number, type and ratings;

(b) if applicable, the person's medical category and the expiry date of that category;

(2) An air operator shall retain the records referred to in paragraphs (1)(c) and (d) and a record of each pilot proficiency check for at least three years.

(3) An air operator shall retain a copy of the most recent written examination completed by each pilot for each type of aircraft for which the pilot has a qualification.

III. EVIDENCE

A. Minister of Transport

(1) Teresa (Terry) Long

[8] Terry Long was assigned to conduct a Program Validation of ALCI. A letter confirming this Program Validation was sent to Mr. Rosario, Operations Manager, on March 11, 2009 (Exhibit M-1).

[9] Ms. Long testified that the DC3C-BT67 is normally operated under section 705 of the CARs, but that ALCI had requested and received authorization to operate aircraft C‑GEAI and C‑GEAJ under section 704 of the CARs. This privilege was granted with specific conditions specified under paragraph 704.01(c) of the CARs. (Exhibits M‑3 and M‑4).

[10] One of the conditions specified and required under paragraph 704.01(c) was for ALCI to assign an additional crew member on all passenger-carrying flights. The ALCI Additional Crew Member Training Syllabus for the DC3C-BT67 (Exhibit M‑5) was in accordance with paragraph 704.115(1)(b) of the CARs. As such, each additional crew member is required to undergo flight attendant training under sections 704.33 and 704.34 of the CARs.

[11] On May 5, 2009, during the Program Validation of ALCI, Ms. Long testified that Mr. Rosario was unable to provide a copy of the additional crew member training records of Mr. Levert and Mr. Budzinski. A Confirmation Request Form requesting ALCI to provide the additional crew member training records of these two individuals was then submitted to ALCI on May 5, 2009 (Exhibit M-10).

[12] Ms. Long testified that Mr. Rosario responded on May 5, 2009, that ALCI was in the process of locating these records. Mr. Rosario requested until May 12, 2009, to respond. On May 13, 2009, Ms. Long received an email from Mr. Rosario (Exhibit M‑11) stating that the original records were not found. An effort by Mr. Rosario to duplicate the records was unsuccessful. A Detection Notice recommending further investigation was then completed by Ms. Long (Exhibit M‑12).

[13] In cross-examination by Mr. Rosario, clarification was made on the charges against ALCI. It was explained that the alleged violations centered on records not being produced, not the fact that the training had not occurred.

[14] Ms. Long did give ALCI the opportunity to reproduce and/or reconstruct the records to show that the training had taken place.

(2) James McCoig

[15] James McCoig is a Civil Aviation Inspector, Commercial and Business Aviation, at Transport Canada. He testified as to the confirmation and verification of flight logs and documents pertaining to two passenger-carrying flights that took place on November 22, 2008 and January 20, 2009 (Exhibits M‑8 and M‑9). On aircraft C-GEAJ, Mr. Levert was identified as an additional crew member (November 22, 2008), and on aircraft C-GEAI, Mr. Budzinski was entered as an additional crew member (January 20, 2009).

(3) Audra Oakes

[16] Audra Oakes is a Civil Aviation Safety Inspector, Aviation Enforcement, Transport Canada who was assigned to investigate the alleged violations against ALCI. In testimony, Ms. Oakes explained the requirements to operate under section 704 of the CARs.

[17] ALCI had been approved to operate under this section but with conditions to operate passenger flights on aircraft C-GEAJ and C-GEAI with an additional crew member to act as a flight attendant. She reiterated that this authorization is based on the company adhering to the conditions imposed.

[18] A letter dated October 9, 2009, was sent to ALCI to the attention of Mr. Rosario informing him that Transport Canada, Aviation Enforcement, was investigating possible violations of the CARs pertaining to the retention of additional crew member training and records (Exhibit M‑17).

[19] Ms. Oakes also testified to a telephone conversation with Mr. Rosario that had taken place on October 26, 2009, in which he stated that he understand the Letter of Investigation. Mr. Rosario also stated during this conversation that the training records had been lost in transit, ALCI had ceased all passenger-carrying flights until everyone was trained, and that the practical training had been done.

[20] Ms. Oakes confirmed that training records may be reconstructed and/or reproduced if required but only if the training event can be proven to have taken place. Neither was produced by Mr. Rosario.

[21] In cross-examination, Mr. Rosario reiterated in his response in the Confirmation Request Form, that training had taken place but the records could not be located (Exhibit M- 10). He questioned the witness as to the right to duplicate the training records if lost and Ms. Oakes clarified that they can, but that the event must be documented to have taken place via invoices or attendance records.

B. Applicant

(1) Manny Rosario

[22] Mr. Rosario testified that during the Process Verification Inspection some training records were missing. Through the Flight Attendant Initial Training Program provided by ALCI (Exhibit A‑1), some records were reproduced. Mr. Rosario indicated that these records were based on recollection and data, and others would be more difficult to reproduce as dates and times were missing.

[23] As he continued to submit the required documentations to Inspector Long, Mr. Rosario testified that a search for the missing records for Mr. Levert and Mr. Budzinski was undertaken. The records had been sent to the Antarctic and Mr. Rosario indicated that this was not the ideal solution.

[24] Mr. Rosario testified that the Flight Attendant Initial Training for Mr. Levert and Mr. Budzinski had been outsourced.

[25] In cross-examination, Mr. Rosario claimed to have submitted all required documentation but that they may have been mishandled by Transport Canada.

[26] Mr. Rosario was questioned regarding the Flight Attendant Initial Training Program (Exhibit A-1). This document was duplicated by Mr. Rosario for Flight Attendant, Jamie Lee, and submitted to Transport Canada. The document, however, is only part of the required training records (Section 7 – The Drills). The remainder of the required documentation was not located.

IV. ANALYSIS

[27] There is no question that ALCI, Air Operator Certificate Number 11028, was the registered owner of aircraft C-GEAI and C-GEAJ at the time of the alleged violations. Furthermore, ALCI had been granted authorization to operate both DC3C‑BT67 aircraft, pursuant to paragraph 704.01(c) of the CARs.

[28] The responsibility of the operator under these Authorizations (Exhibits M‑3 and M‑4) is to ensure that in aerial work involving sightseeing, for example, passenger‑carrying, the following conditions are adhered to:

b)    An additional crew member shall be assigned to all passenger-carrying flight to assist the air operator in fulfilling the passenger safety responsibilities under section 704.33 and 704.34 of the CARs and associated Commercial Air Services Standards. The air operator shall also demonstrate compliance with the additional regulations, standards and guidance provided at Annex A to this authorization;

f)  All flight crew members training shall be conducted in accordance with the requirements of Subpart 704 CARs.

[29] ALCI did have an approved Additional Crew Member Training Syllabus (Exhibit M-5) in accordance with paragraph 704.115(1)(b) of the CARs.

[30] Based on evidence submitted by the Minister, and not disputed by ALCI, two flights on two specific dates were conducted in which an additional crew member was required to be on board.

[31] On November 22, 2008, a passenger-carrying flight was conducted. Mr. Levert was identified on Flight Authorization documents as an additional crew member as per section 704 of the CARs (Exhibit M‑8). On January 20, 2009, a passenger-carrying flight was also conducted. Mr. Budzinski was identified on flight authorization documents as an additional crew member (Exhibit M-9).

[32] Under subsection 704.117(1) of the CARs, the operator must establish and maintain a training record for each of its additional crew member. Mr. Rosario did testify that he was aware of this requirement. The training documents and records are a critical component of assuring that all required training is completed. These documents prove to regulators, industry and the travelling public that crews have been trained to the required standards set forth by Transport Canada.

[33] During a properly scheduled Program Validation, ALCI was unable to produce the training records for Mr. Levert and Mr. Budzinski.

[34] Several plausible explanations were raised during the Review Hearing. The Member agrees that operating in the Antarctic does have its challenges, and that records can be misplaced, lost or destroyed. However, the opportunity to duplicate or reproduce the training records is an option. Based on the actual training having taken place, the operator would be able to trace invoices of third‑party providers of said training, a schedule of the event and/or an attendance records. Based on the evidence submitted by Mr. Rosario (Exhibit M‑11), he was unable to locate, duplicate or reconstruct the training event. The Tribunal is not questioning whether the training occurred, but the fact that the records could not be produced when requested.

[35] Mr. Rosario testified that all requested records had been submitted to Transport Canada. Based on evidence and testimony, ALCI has failed to make a compelling case for this possible scenario.

[36] I have no doubt that both ALCI and the Minister operate with safety as paramount in all flight operations, more so in areas such as the Antarctic. Safety compliance specified in the CARs is based on operators being able to produce the required documentation in relation to all safety training. On the basis of the evidence, I have come to the conclusion that the training records were not produced when requested. Ultimately, it is the training records that prove that the required training is completed and an air operator is complying with regulatory requirements.

[37] Definitive evidence was presented that proves, on the balance of probabilities, that ALCI had operated two passenger-carrying flights with additional crew members on board. When requested by Transport Canada, no training records for the two additional crew members assigned to these flights could be reproduced by ALCI in order to validate the required training.

[38] The maintaining, retaining, and documenting of required qualification records is the responsibility of ALCI. As stated, records can be lost, destroyed or misplaced. The due diligence in being able to confirm training is the responsibility of the air operator. Date of training, invoicing from third‑party providers, or any other document that can assert that the training was conducted by ALCI would have allowed for the reproduction of the training records. However, no records could be found by ALCI.

[39] Aviation safety and the protection of the travelling public are key elements in determining the enforcement action taken by Transport Canada. As such, the Tribunal confirms the monetary penalty of $5 000 for each of the two counts, as assessed by the Minister.

V. DETERMINATION

[40] The Minister of Transport has proven, on the balance of probabilities, that the Applicant, ALCI Aviation Ltd., has contravened two counts of paragraph 103.02(2)(a)of the Canadian Aviation Regulations. Accordingly, the amount of $5 000 per count, for a total amount of $10 000, as set out in the Notice of Assessment of Monetary Penalty by the Minister of Transport, is upheld.

March 25, 2011

Franco Pietracupa

Member

Décisions

Dossier no O-3707-41 (TATC)
Dossier no PAP 5504-069727 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL D'APPEL DES TRANSPORTS DU CANADA

ENTRE :

ALCI Aviation Ltd., requérant(e)

- et -

Ministre des Transports, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Règlement de l’aviation canadien, DORS/96-433; alinéa 103.02(2)a)


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Franco Pietracupa


Décision : le 25 mars 2011

Référence : ALCI Aviation Ltd. c. Canada (Ministre des Transports), 2011 TATCF 6 (révision)

[Traduction française officielle]

Arrêt : Le ministre des Transports a démontré, selon la prépondérance des probabilités, que la requérante a contrevenu à deux reprises à l'alinéa 103.02(2)a) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien. Par conséquent, le montant de 5 000 $ par chef d'accusation, pour un montant total de 10 000 $, comme l'indique l'avis d'amende pour contravention émis par le ministre des Transports, est confirmé. Ce montant est payable au Receveur général du Canada et doit être reçu par le Tribunal d'appel des transports du Canada dans les trente-cinq (35) jours de la signification de la présente décision. 

I. HISTORIQUE

[1] La requérante, ALCI Aviation Ltd. (« ALCI »), est un exploitant aérien commercial de l'Ontario exerçant ses activités principales dans l'Antarctique. Elle a été autorisée à utiliser les aéronefs Douglas DC3C‑BT67, portant les marques d'immatriculation C‑GEAI et C‑GEAJ, conformément à l'article 704 du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (« RAC »). Ces autorisations (pièces M‑3 et M‑4) permettent à ALCI d'exercer ses activités en vertu de l'alinéa 704.01c) du RAC, lequel porte sur l'utilisation par un exploitant aérien canadien d'un aéronef dans le cadre d'un service de transport aérien ou d'un travail aérien comportant des excursions aériennes.

[2] Ces autorisations étaient assujetties à plusieurs conditions énonçant en partie ce qui suit :

[traduction]

[…]

b) Un membre d'équipage supplémentaire doit être assigné à tous les vols de transport de passagers pour aider l'exploitant aérien à assurer la sécurité des passagers, conformément aux articles 704.33 et 704.34 du RAC et aux Normes de service aérien commercial connexes. L'exploitant aérien doit aussi démontrer qu'il respecte les dispositions réglementaires, les normes et les lignes directrices supplémentaires indiquées à l'annexe A de la présente autorisation;

[…]

f) Tous les membres d'équipage de conduite doivent recevoir une formation conforme aux exigences énoncées à la sous-partie 704 du RAC.

[3] Conformément à l'alinéa 704.01c) du RAC, l'annexe A de ces autorisations est rédigée en partie comme suit :

RAC

Exigence

Remarque

704.33

Procédures de sécurité dans la cabine et sur l'aire de trafic

Le DC3C-BT67 est configuré de façon à ce que l'équipage de conduite ne puisse se conformer à l'alinéa 704.33(1)e). Il a donc fallu qu'un membre d'équipage soit installé dans la cabine.

Le membre d'équipage doit recevoir une formation conformément au paragraphe 704.33(3). Les exigences de la formation prévues à l'alinéa 704.115(2)d) sont complétées par les éléments connexes du document TP 12296 : Norme de formation des agents de bord.

[4] Le 5 mai 2009, après avoir terminé la validation d'un programme à ALCI, Teresa (Terry) Long, surintendante régionale, sécurité des cabines, Transports Canada, nommée à titre de gestionnaire de validation de programmes, a soulevé des préoccupations concernant les dossiers de formation de deux agents de bord (membres d'équipage supplémentaires) qui ne pouvaient être soumis. Un formulaire de demande de confirmation a été remis (pièce M-10) à Manny Rosario, directeur des opérations aériennes à ALCI, dans lequel on demandait à celle‑ci de fournir une copie des dossiers de formation des agents de bord Daniel Levert et Miroslaw Leopold Budzinski. Madame Long a émis un avis de détection le 26 août 2009, lorsque les dossiers ne pouvaient être soumis (pièce M-12).

[5] Le 18 mars 2010, le ministre des Transports (le « ministre ») a émis un avis d'amende pour contravention (l'« avis »), conformément à l'article 7.7 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique (la « Loi »), contre ALCI. L'annexe A de l'avis est rédigée comme suit :

[traduction]

1. Le ou vers le 12 mai 2009, à la ville d'Oshawa, en Ontario, ou dans les environs, en tant que titulaire du certificat d'exploitation aérienne numéro 11028, vous n'avez pas soumis un document aux fins d'inspection selon les conditions précisées dans la demande formulée par le ministre le 5 mai 2009. Plus particulièrement, vous n'avez pas soumis les dossiers de formation de M. Daniel Levert, contrevenant ainsi à l'alinéa 103.02(2)a) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien.

AMENDE INFLIGÉE – 5 000 $ (monnaie canadienne)

2. Le ou vers le 12 mai 2009, à la ville d'Oshawa, en Ontario, ou dans les environs, en tant que titulaire du certificat d'exploitation aérienne numéro 11028, vous n'avez pas soumis un document aux fins d'inspection selon les conditions précisées dans la demande formulée par le ministre le 5 mai 2009. Plus particulièrement, vous n'avez pas soumis les dossiers de formation de M. Miroslaw Leopold Budzinski, contrevenant ainsi à l'alinéa 103.02(2)a) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien.

AMENDE INFLIGÉE – 5 000 $ (monnaie canadienne)

II. LOIS ET RÈGLEMENTS

[6] L'alinéa 103.02(2)a) du RAC prévoit ce qui suit :

103.02 (1) Le propriétaire ou l'utilisateur d'un aéronef doit, après avoir reçu un avis raisonnable du ministre, permettre l'inspection de l'aéronef conformément à l'avis.

(2) Toute personne doit soumettre un document d'aviation canadien ou un dossier technique ou tout autre document aux fins d'inspection selon les conditions précisées dans la demande faite par un agent de la paix, un agent d'immigration ou le ministre si cette personne, selon le cas :

a) est le titulaire d'un document d'aviation canadien;

[…]

[7] L'article 704.117 du RAC prévoit ce qui suit :

Dossiers de formation et de qualifications

704.117 (1) L'exploitant aérien doit établir et tenir à jour, pour chaque personne tenue de recevoir la formation visée dans la présente sous-partie, les renseignements suivants :

a) le nom de la personne et, s'il y a lieu, le numéro, le type et les qualifications de sa licence de membre du personnel;

b) s'il y a lieu, la catégorie médicale de la personne et la date d'expiration de cette catégorie;

[…]

(2) L'exploitant aérien doit conserver pendant au moins trois ans les renseignements visés aux alinéas (1)c) et d) et le dossier de chaque contrôle de la compétence du pilote.

(3) L'exploitant aérien doit conserver la copie de l'examen écrit le plus récent qu'un pilote a subi pour chaque type d'aéronef pour lequel ce pilote a une qualification.

II. PREUVE

A. Ministre des Transports

(1) Teresa (Terry) Long

[8] Terry Long a été nommée pour procéder à la validation d'un programme d'ALCI. Une lettre confirmant cette validation a été envoyée à M. Rosario, directeur des opérations aériennes, le 11 mars 2009 (pièce M-1).

[9] Madame Long a déclaré que le DC3C-BT67 est habituellement utilisé en vertu de l'article 705 du RAC, mais qu'ALCI avait demandé et reçu l'autorisation d'utiliser les aéronefs C‑GEAI et C‑GEAJ en vertu de l'article 704 du RAC. Ce privilège a été accordé selon des conditions précises indiquées à l'alinéa 704.01c) du RAC (pièces M‑3 et M‑4).

[10] L'une des conditions précisées et exigées à l'alinéa 704.01c) était qu'ALCI assigne un membre d'équipage supplémentaire sur tous les vols transportant des passagers. Le plan de cours de la formation des membres d'équipage supplémentaires d'ALCI pour le DC3C-BT67 (pièce M‑5) était conforme à l'alinéa 704.115(1)b) du RAC. À ce titre, chaque membre d'équipage supplémentaire est tenu de suivre une formation d'agent de bord conformément aux articles 704.33 et 704.34 du RAC.

[11] Le 5 mai 2009, au cours de la validation du programme d'ALCI, Mme Long a déclaré que M. Rosario n'était pas en mesure de fournir une copie des dossiers de formation des membres d'équipage supplémentaires M. Levert et M. Budzinski. Un formulaire de demande de confirmation dans lequel on demandait à ALCI de fournir les dossiers de formation de ces deux membres d'équipage supplémentaires a été présenté à ALCI le 5 mai 2009 (pièce M-10).

[12] Selon Mme Long, M. Rosario a répondu le 5 mai 2009 qu'ALCI était en train de chercher ces dossiers. Monsieur Rosario a demandé à pouvoir répondre au plus tard le 12 mai 2009. Le 13 mai 2009, Mme Long a reçu un courriel de la part de M. Rosario (pièce M‑11) dans lequel il affirmait ne pas avoir trouvé les dossiers originaux. Il a tenté sans succès de reproduire les dossiers. Madame Long a alors émis un avis de détection recommandant une enquête plus poussée (pièce M‑12).

[13] Dans le cadre du contre‑interrogatoire mené par M. Rosario, on a fait des précisions sur les accusations visant ALCI. On a expliqué que les contraventions reprochées portaient sur les dossiers qui n'avaient pas été soumis, et non sur le fait que la formation n'avait pas eu lieu.

[14] Madame Long a donné l'occasion à ALCI de reproduire ou de reconstituer les dossiers pour démontrer que la formation avait eu lieu.

(2) James McCoig

[15] James McCoig est un inspecteur en aviation civile, aviation commerciale et d'affaires, à Transports Canada. Il a témoigné concernant la confirmation et la vérification de journaux de bord et de documents se rapportant à deux vols transportant des passagers qui ont été effectués le 22 novembre 2008 et le 20 janvier 2009 (pièces M‑8 et M‑9). Monsieur Levert a été désigné comme membre d'équipage supplémentaire de l'aéronef C-GEAJ (le 22 novembre 2008) et M. Budzinski a été désigné comme membre d'équipage supplémentaire de l'aéronef C-GEAI (le 20 janvier 2009).

(3) Audra Oakes

[16] Audra Oakes est une inspectrice de la sécurité de l'aviation civile, application de la loi en aviation, Transports Canada, chargée d'enquêter sur les contraventions reprochées à ALCI. Dans son témoignage, Mme Oakes a expliqué les exigences pour utiliser un aéronef suivant l'article 704 du RAC.

[17] ALCI a été autorisée à utiliser un aéronef suivant cette disposition, mais à condition qu'un membre d'équipage supplémentaire agissant à titre d'agent de bord soit présent sur les vols de passagers à bord des aéronefs C-GEAJ et C-GEAI. Madame Oakes a réitéré que cette autorisation est fondée sur le fait que la compagnie a accepté les conditions imposées.

[18] Une lettre datée du 9 octobre 2009 a été envoyée à ALCI, à l'attention de M. Rosario, dans laquelle on l'informe que le service d'application de la loi en aviation de Transports Canada enquêtait sur des contraventions possibles au RAC se rapportant à la conservation des dossiers de formation des membres d'équipage supplémentaires (pièce M‑17).

[19] Madame Oakes a également fait état d'une conversation téléphonique qu'elle a eue avec M. Rosario le 26 octobre 2009, dans laquelle il a déclaré qu'il comprenait la lettre d'enquête. Monsieur Rosario a également affirmé durant cette conversation que les dossiers de formation avaient été perdus en cours de route, qu'ALCI avait suspendu tous les vols transportant des passagers jusqu'à ce que tous les membres d'équipage aient reçu la formation et que la formation pratique avait été donnée.

[20] Madame Oakes a confirmé que les dossiers de formation peuvent être reconstitués ou reproduits si nécessaire, mais seulement si l'on peut prouver que la formation a eu lieu. Monsieur Rosario n'a produit aucun de ces dossiers.

[21] En contre‑interrogatoire, M. Rosario a réitéré dans sa réponse au formulaire de demande de confirmation que la formation avait eu lieu, mais que les dossiers étaient introuvables (pièce M‑10). Il a questionné Mme Oakes quant au droit de reproduire les dossiers de formation perdus, et cette dernière a précisé qu'ils peuvent être reproduits, mais que l'on doit démontrer que la formation a eu lieu par des factures ou des fiches de présence.

B. Requérante

(1) Manny Rosario

[22] Monsieur Rosario a déclaré que durant l'inspection de validation du programme, certains dossiers de formation étaient manquants. Grâce au programme de formation initiale des agents de bord fourni par ALCI (pièce A‑1), certains dossiers ont été reproduits. Monsieur Rosario a indiqué que ces dossiers avaient été reproduits selon ses souvenirs et à partir des données existantes et qu'il serait plus difficile de reproduire les autres dossiers puisque les dates et l'heure étaient manquantes.

[23] En soumettant la documentation requise à l'inspectrice Long, M. Rosario a déclaré qu'ALCI avait commencé à chercher les dossiers manquants de M. Levert et de M. Budzinski. Les dossiers avaient été envoyés en Antarctique, ce qui n'est pas la solution idéale selon M. Rosario.

[24] Monsieur Rosario a déclaré que la formation initiale des agents de bord M. Levert et M. Budzinski avait été externalisée.

[25] En contre‑interrogatoire, M. Rosario a prétendu avoir soumis toute la documentation requise, mais que celle‑ci aurait peut‑être été mal traitée par Transports Canada.

[26] Monsieur Rosario a été questionné concernant le programme de formation initiale des agents de bord (pièce A-1). Ce document a été reproduit par M. Rosario pour l'agent de bord Jamie Lee et soumis à Transports Canada. Toutefois, le document ne représente qu'une partie des dossiers de formation requis (article 7 – les exercices d'automatisation). Le reste de la documentation requise est demeurée introuvable.

IV. ANALYSE

[27] Il ne fait aucun doute qu'ALCI, titulaire d'un certificat d'exploitation aérienne numéro 11028, était le propriétaire enregistré des aéronefs C-GEAI et C-GEAJ au moment des contraventions reprochées. De plus, ALCI avait reçu l'autorisation d'utiliser l'aéronef DC3C‑BT67, conformément à l'alinéa 704.01c) du RAC.

[28] Suivant ces autorisations (pièces M‑3 et M‑4), l'exploitant doit s'assurer que dans le cadre d'un travail aérien comportant des excursions aériennes, comme le transport de passagers, les conditions suivantes sont respectées :

[traduction]

[…]

b) Un membre d'équipage supplémentaire doit être assigné à tous les vols de transport de passagers pour aider l'exploitant aérien à assurer la sécurité des passagers, conformément aux articles 704.33 et 704.34 du RAC et aux Normes de service aérien commercial connexes. L'exploitant aérien doit aussi démontrer qu'il respecte les dispositions réglementaires, les normes et les lignes directrices supplémentaires indiquées à l'annexe A de la présente autorisation.

[…]

f) Tous les membres d'équipage de conduite doivent recevoir une formation conforme aux exigences énoncées à la sous-partie 704 du RAC.

[29] ALCI avait un plan de cours de formation des membres d'équipage supplémentaires approuvé (pièce M-5) conformément à l'alinéa 704.115(1)b) du RAC.

[30] Selon la preuve présentée par le ministre, et non contestée par ALCI, deux vols à deux dates précises ont été effectués alors qu'un membre d'équipage supplémentaire devait être à bord.

[31] Le 22 novembre 2008, un vol transportant des passagers a été effectué. Sur les documents d'autorisation de vol, M. Levert a été désigné comme membre d'équipage supplémentaire conformément à l'article 704 du RAC (pièce M‑8). Le 20 janvier 2009, un vol transportant des passagers a également été effectué. Sur les documents d'autorisation de vol, M. Budzinski a été désigné comme membre d'équipage supplémentaire (pièce M‑9).

[32] Suivant le paragraphe 704.117(1) du RAC, l'exploitant doit établir et tenir à jour un dossier de formation pour chacun de ses membres d'équipage supplémentaires. Monsieur Rosario a déclaré qu'il était au courant de cette exigence. Les documents et les dossiers de formation sont un élément essentiel pour faire en sorte que toute la formation requise soit dispensée. Ces documents prouvent aux responsables de la réglementation, à l'industrie et au public voyageur que l'équipage a été formé selon les normes exigées par Transports Canada.

[33] Durant la validation dûment planifiée du programme, ALCI n'a pas été en mesure de soumettre les dossiers de formation de M. Levert et de M. Budzinski.

[34] Plusieurs explications possibles ont été soulevées à l'audience en révision. Le Conseiller convient que le fait d'exercer ses activités dans l'Antarctique présente un lot de difficultés et que les dossiers peuvent être mal rangés, perdus ou détruits. Or, il est possible de reproduire ou de reconstituer les dossiers de formation. Compte tenu de la formation qui a eu lieu, l'exploitant devrait être en mesure de retrouver les factures des tiers qui ont donné la formation, l'horaire de la formation ou les fiches de présence. Selon la preuve qu'il a présentée (pièce M‑11), M. Rosario n'était pas en mesure de repérer, de reproduire ni de reconstituer la formation qui a eu lieu. Le Tribunal ne s'interroge pas sur la question de savoir si la formation a eu lieu, mais sur le fait que les dossiers ne pouvaient être soumis sur demande.

[35] Monsieur Rosario a déclaré que tous les dossiers demandés avaient été présentés à Transports Canada. Selon les éléments de preuve et les témoignages, ALCI n'a pas présenté d'arguments convaincants en ce sens.

[36] Je n'ai aucun doute qu'ALCI et le ministre exercent leurs activités en toute sécurité, comme l'exige toute opération aérienne, encore plus dans des endroits comme l'Antarctique. Le respect des mesures de sécurité précisées dans le RAC est fondé sur le fait que les exploitants sont en mesure de soumettre la documentation requise relativement à la formation sur la sécurité. Au vu de la preuve, j'en suis arrivé à la conclusion que les dossiers de formation n'ont pas été soumis sur demande. Au bout du compte, ce sont les dossiers de formation qui prouvent que la formation requise a été suivie et que l'exploitant aérien respecte les exigences réglementaires.

[37] On a présenté une preuve absolue démontrant, selon la prépondérance des probabilités, qu'ALCI avait effectué deux vols transportant des passagers à bord desquels des membres d'équipage supplémentaires étaient présents. Lorsque Transports Canada lui a demandé de produire les dossiers de formation des deux membres d'équipage supplémentaires assignés à ces vols afin de valider la formation requise, ALCI n'a pas été en mesure de le faire.

[38] La conservation, la mise à jour et la documentation des dossiers de qualification requis reviennent à ALCI. Comme nous l'avons indiqué, les dossiers peuvent être perdus, détruits ou mal rangés. L'exploitant aérien doit faire preuve de diligence raisonnable lorsqu'il doit confirmer la formation. La date de la formation, démontrée par les factures des tiers, ou tout autre document qui peut confirmer que la formation a été dispensée par ALCI, aurait permis la reproduction des dossiers de formation. Toutefois, ALCI n'a pu trouver aucun dossier.

[39] La sécurité aérienne et la protection du public voyageur sont des éléments essentiels pour déterminer les mesures d'application prises par Transports Canada. À ce titre, le Tribunal confirme l'amende de 5 000 $ pour chacun des deux chefs d'accusation, établie par le ministre.

V. DÉCISION

[40] Le ministre des Transports a démontré, selon la prépondérance des probabilités, que la requérante, ALCI Aviation Ltd., a contrevenu à deux reprises à l'alinéa 103.02(2)a) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien. Par conséquent, le montant de 5 000 $ par chef d'accusation, pour un montant total de 10 000 $, comme l'indique l'avis d'amende pour contravention émis par le ministre des Transports, est confirmé.

Le 25 mars 2011

Franco Pietracupa

Conseiller