Decisions

TATC File No. W-3675-33
MoT File No. 5504-70147 P/B

TRANSPORTATION APPEAL TRIBUNAL OF CANADA

BETWEEN:

Brent Allan Gerald Lukian, Applicant

- and -

Minister of Transport, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96 433, para. 602.31(1)(a)


Review Determination
Richard F. Willems


Decision: December 2, 2011

Citation: Lukian v. Canada (Minister of Transport), 2011 TATCE 33 (Review)

Heard in Edmonton, Alberta, on January 26, 2011

Held: The Minister of Transport has not proven, on a balance of probabilities, that the Applicant, Brent Allan Gerald Lukian, contravened paragraph 602.31(1)(a) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations. I dismiss the monetary penalty of $750.

I. BACKGROUND

[1] On February 23, 2010, the Minister of Transport ("Minister") issued a Notice of Assessment of Monetary Penalty ("Notice") to the Applicant, Brent Allan Gerald Lukian, for an alleged contravention of paragraph 602.31(1)(a) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs), pursuant to section 7.7 of the Aeronautics Act, while acting as pilot-in-command (PIC) of a Cessna C‑172, registered as C-GJSE.

[2] Schedule A to the Notice reads as follows:

#1 – CARs 602.31(1)(a)

On or about the 6th day of October 2009, at or near Fort McMurray, Alberta, being the pilot‑in‑command of an aircraft, to wit a Cessna C‑172, Canadian registration C‑GJSE, you did fail to comply with and acknowledge, to the appropriate air traffic control unit, namely Fort McMurray Tower, all the air traffic control clearances directed to and received by you, more specifically a clearance for a full stop landing when you continued with an unauthorized take off, a violation of Canadian Aviation Regulations 602.31(1)(a).

MONETARY PENALTY - $750.00

II. REGULATION

[3] Paragraph 602.31(1)(a) of the CARs, concerning compliance with air traffic control (ATC) instructions and clearances, reads as follows:

602.31 (1) Subject to subsection (3), the pilot-in command of an aircraft shall

(a) comply with and acknowledge, to the appropriate air traffic control unit, all of the air traffic control instructions directed to and received by the pilot-in-command; and

III. EVIDENCE

A. Minister

(1) Guy Bernard Duhoux

[4] Guy Bernard Duhoux is a Civil Aviation Inspector with the Aviation Enforcement branch at Transport Canada. He has been employed with Transport Canada for 10 years and has been involved in the aviation industry since 1971 in a wide spectrum of positions.

[5] On October 9, 2009, Inspector Duhoux was assigned to this case involving an alleged contravention of paragraph 602.31(1)(a) of the CARs by Mr. Lukian at Fort McMurray Airport ("Airport"), in Fort McMurray, Alberta. The Canadian Aviation Daily Occurrence Reporting System (CADORS) report for October 6, 2009 (Exhibit M‑5) indicated to Inspector Duhoux that aircraft C-GJSE had been cleared to land on Runway 25 at the Airport.

[6] However, while on the runway, the pilot informed ATC that he would be remaining in the circuit and took off again before a take‑off clearance could be issued. On January 4, 2010, Inspector Duhoux received the Daily Flight Record for October 6, 2009 (Exhibit M‑1) from McMurray Aviation, based in Fort McMurray. The Daily Flight Record identifies the aircraft as "JSE" and "Lukian" as PIC, and indicates that the aircraft was airborne from "1330" to "1414" local time.

[7] The ATC compact disc (CD) audio recording of the October 6, 2009 incident at Fort McMurray Airport was provided by NAV CANADA to Mr. Duhoux and entered as evidence at the Review Hearing (Exhibit M‑4). The CD contains several transmissions between ATC and aircraft C‑GJSE. When listening to the CD, one can hear that "JSE" is cleared to land on Runway 25 and that the winds are reported at 310 degrees at 9 knots, gusting to 15 knots. The next transmission on the CD is "JSE" advising ATC that they would be remaining in the circuit, followed immediately by a clearance from Tower Control for them to do a touch and go.

B. Applicant

(1) Brent Allan Gerald Lukian

[8] Mr. Lukian is employed as an Instructor with McMurray Aviation. Mr. Lukian agreed that he was flying aircraft C‑GJSE with a commercial student on October 6, 2009. They were operating under special visual flight rules conditions.

[9] At touch down, during a soft field landing using full flaps, the student was having difficulty controlling the aircraft with the amount of crosswind and, as a result, in Mr. Lukian's words, "the wind did pick us up a little bit". Later in his testimony, Mr. Lukian stated that the wind picked them up once or twice, after which he told Tower Control that he would like to remain in the circuit.

IV. DISCUSSION

[10] Mr. Lukian testified that he was the PIC of aircraft C-GJSE at Fort McMurray Airport on October 6, 2009. The Daily Flight Record shows "Lukian" as PIC and a student as his customer. The ATC CD (Exhibit M‑4) confirms that "JSE" was cleared to land on Runway 25 in Fort McMurray. The CD also indicates that the winds at that time were at 310 degrees at 9 knots, gusting to 15 knots, which could be fairly difficult to handle in a Cessna C‑172 using full flaps. The next transmission on the CD is "JSE" advising Tower Control that they would be remaining in the circuit, followed immediately by Tower Control clearing "JSE" for a touch and go.

[11] Mr. Lukian testified that the student was having trouble controlling the aircraft during landing due to the windy conditions and, after one or two bounces, he decided to "remain in the circuit".

[12] The ATC CD evidence (Exhibit M‑4) presented by the Minister's Representative only shows that a landing clearance was given and that, at a later time, "JSE" advised ATC that they were remaining in the circuit. The CADORS report (Exhibit M‑5) wording is somewhat different from the CD evidence. Its narrative states that, "[w]hen on the runway, the pilot informed the tower controller he would be remaining in the circuit and took off before takeoff clearance could be issued". Based on these two pieces of evidence alone, without the controller who had issued the clearances present, I cannot ascertain where G‑CJSE was in relation to the runway or what stage of flight the aircraft was at when that clearance was issued. The CADORS report on its own does not carry enough weight to convince me of the aircraft's position while all this was taking place.

[13] Mr. Lukian's testimony is the only evidence given by a person who took part in this event. He testified that, due to the windy crosswind conditions encountered during the landing, he elected to apply power and abort the landing. As PIC of the aircraft, Mr. Lukian had full authority to make decisions with regards to the safe operation of his aircraft.

V. DETERMINATION

[14] The Minister has not proven, on a balance of probabilities, that the Applicant, Brent Allan Gerald Lukian, contravened paragraph 602.31(1)(a) of the CARs. The monetary penalty of $750 is dismissed.

December 2, 2011

Richard F. Willems

Member

Décisions

Dossier no W-3675-33 (TATC)
Dossier no 5504-70147 P/B (MdT)

TRIBUNAL D'APPEL DES TRANSPORTS DU CANADA

ENTRE :

Brent Allan Gerald Lukian, requérant(e)

- et -

Ministre des Transports, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Règlement de l'aviation canadien, DORS/96 433, alinéa 602.31(1)a)


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Richard F. Willems


Décision : le 2 décembre 2011

Référence : Lukian c. Canada (Ministre des Transports), 2011 TATCF 33 (révision)

[Traduction française officielle]

Arrêt : Le ministre des Transports n'a pas démontré, selon la prépondérance des probabilités, que le requérant, Brent Allan Gerald Lukian, avait contrevenu à l'alinéa 602.31(1)a) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien. J'annule l'amende de 750 $.

I. HISTORIQUE

[1] Le 23 février 2010, le ministre des Transports (« ministre ») a délivré, en vertu de l'article 7.7 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, un avis d'amende pour contravention (« avis ») au requérant, Brent Allan Gerald Lukian, qui aurait contrevenu à l'alinéa 602.31(1)a) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (« RAC ») alors qu'il agissait comme commandant de bord d'un Cessna C‑172, immatriculé C-GJSE.

[2] L'annexe A de l'avis est rédigée comme suit :

[traduction]

No 1 - alinéa 602.31(1)a) du RAC

Le ou vers le 6 octobre 2009, à Fort McMurray (Alberta), ou près de là, à titre de commandant de bord d'un aéronef, à savoir un Cessna C‑172 immatriculé C‑GJSE au Canada, vous avez omis de vous conformer à toutes les instructions de contrôle de la circulation aérienne qui vous étaient destinées et que vous avez reçues, et d'en accuser réception auprès de l'unité de contrôle de la circulation aérienne compétente, soit la Tour de Fort McMurray, plus particulièrement vous avez omis de vous conformer à une autorisation d'atterrissage avec arrêt complet, alors que vous avez continué en procédant à un décollage non autorisé, et avez ainsi contrevenu à l'alinéa 602.31(1)a) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien.

Amende – 750 $

II. Règlements

[3] L'alinéa 602.31(1)a) du RAC, qui porte sur le respect des instructions et autorisations du contrôle de la circulation aérienne (« ATC »), est rédigé comme suit :

602.31 (1) Sous réserve du paragraphe (3), le commandant de bord d'un aéronef doit:

a) se conformer à toutes les instructions du contrôle de la circulation aérienne qui lui sont destinées et qu'il reçoit et en accuser réception auprès de l'unité de contrôle de la circulation aérienne compétente;

[…]

III. Preuve

A. Ministre

(1) Guy Bernard Duhoux

[4] Guy Bernard Duhoux est inspecteur de l'aviation civile à la Direction de l'application de la loi de Transports Canada. Il est à l'emploi de Transports Canada depuis dix ans et travaille dans l'industrie de l'aviation depuis 1971, où il a occupé un grand nombre de postes.

[5] Le 9 octobre 2009, l'inspecteur Duhoux a été assigné au présent dossier, qui porte sur une infraction à l'alinéa 602.31(1)a) du RAC qu'aurait commise M. Lukian à l'aéroport Fort McMurray (« l'aéroport ») situé à Fort McMurray, en Alberta. Le rapport du système de comptes rendus quotidiens des événements de l'aviation civile (« CADORS ») pour le 6 octobre 2009 (pièce M‑5) a informé l'inspecteur Duhoux que l'aéronef C-GJSE avait été autorisé à atterrir sur la piste 25 dudit aéroport.

[6] Or, alors qu'il était sur la piste, le pilote a avisé l'ATC qu'il demeurait dans le circuit et il a décollé à nouveau avant qu'une autorisation de décollage puisse être donnée. Le 4 janvier 2010, l'inspecteur Duhoux a reçu le registre quotidien des vols pour le 6 octobre 2009 (pièce M‑1) de la McMurray Aviation, établie à Fort McMurray. Il appert de ce registre, où « JSE » est inscrit comme aéronef et « Lukian » comme commandant de bord, que l'aéronef était dans les airs de « 1330 » à « 1414 », heure locale.

[7] NAV CANADA a fourni à M. Duhoux un disque compact (« CD ») contenant l'enregistrement audio de l'ATC quant à l'incident du 6 octobre 2009 survenu à l'aéroport de Fort McMurray; cet enregistrement a été présenté en preuve à l'audience en révision (pièce M‑4). Le CD contient l'enregistrement de plusieurs communications entre l'ATC et l'aéronef C‑GJSE. On peut y entendre que le « JSE » a été autorisé à atterrir sur la piste 25 et que les vents étaient de 310 degrés à neuf nœuds, avec rafales à 15 nœuds. Dans la communication suivante, le « JSE » a avisé l'ATC qu'il demeurait dans le circuit, puis tout de suite après, la tour de contrôle l'a autorisé à effectuer un atterrissage avec remise de gaz (posé-décollé).

B. Requérant

(1) Brent Allan Gerald Lukian

[8] M. Lukian travaille comme instructeur pour McMurray Aviation. Il a reconnu que, le 6 octobre 2009, il pilotait l'aéronef C‑GJSE avec un élève inscrit à un cours de pilote professionnel. Il volait dans des conditions spéciales de règles de vol à vue.

[9] Au moment de se poser, alors qu'il effectuait un atterrissage sur terrain avec pleins volets, l'élève a eu de la difficulté à contrôler l'aéronef en raison de la force du vent latéral, ce qui fait que, pour reprendre les termes de M. Lukian, [traduction] « le vent nous a soulevés un peu ». Plus tard dans son témoignage, M. Lukian a déclaré que le vent avait soulevé l'aéronef une fois ou deux et que, pour cette raison, il avait indiqué à la tour de contrôle qu'il souhaitait demeurer dans le circuit.

IV. Analyse

[10] M. Lukian a indiqué dans son témoignage qu'il était le commandant de bord de l'aéronef C‑GJSE qui se dirigeait vers l'aéroport de Fort McMurray le 6 octobre 2009. Le registre quotidien des vols indique que « Lukian » était inscrit comme commandant de bord et qu'il était accompagné d'un élève (client). Le CD de l'ATC (pièce M‑4) permet de confirmer que le « JSE » était autorisé à atterrir sur la piste 25 à Fort McMurray. Il nous apprend également qu'à ce moment-là, les vents étaient de 310 degrés à neuf nœuds, avec rafales à 15 nœuds, ce qui pouvait rendre la manœuvre d'un Cessna C‑172 utilisant les pleins volets relativement difficile. Dans la communication suivante, le « JSE » avise la tour de contrôle qu'il reste dans le circuit, puis tout de suite après, la tour de contrôle autorise le « JSE » à faire un posé-décollé.

[11] Dans son témoignage, M. Lukian a déclaré que l'élève avait eu de la difficulté à contrôler l'aéronef pendant l'atterrissage en raison du vent, et qu'après un ou deux sauts, il avait décidé de [traduction] « rester dans le circuit ».

[12] Le CD de l'ATC (pièce M‑4) soumis en preuve par le représentant du ministre montre uniquement qu'une autorisation d'atterrissage a été donnée et que, plus tard, le « JSE » a avisé l'ATC qu'il demeurait dans le circuit. Les termes employés dans le rapport du CADORS (pièce M‑5) sont quelque peu différents de ceux qu'on peut entendre sur le CD. Le rapport indique ce qui suit : [traduction] « Alors qu'il était sur la piste, le pilote a informé le contrôleur de la tour qu'il restait dans le circuit et il a décollé avant qu'une autorisation de décollage puisse être donnée ». À partir de ces deux seuls éléments de preuve, et en l'absence du contrôleur qui a donné l'autorisation, je ne saurais dire où se trouvait l'aéronef G‑CJSE par rapport à la piste ni à quelle étape du vol l'aéronef était rendu lorsque cette autorisation a été donnée. Le rapport du CADORS à lui seul n'a pas suffisamment de poids pour me convaincre de la position de l'aéronef pendant que tout cela se produisait.

[13] Le témoignage de M. Lukian est le seul témoignage de quelqu'un qui a pris part à l'incident. M. Lukian a déclaré qu'en raison des vents latéraux qui soufflaient pendant l'atterrissage, il a choisi de mettre les gaz et de faire avorter l'atterrissage. En qualité de commandant de bord de l'aéronef, M. Lukian avait pleinement le pouvoir de prendre des décisions concernant l'utilisation sécuritaire de son aéronef.

V. Décision

[14] Le ministre n'a pas démontré, selon la prépondérance des probabilités, que le requérant Brent Allan Gerald Lukian avait contrevenu à l'alinéa 602.31(1)a) du RAC. L'amende de 750 $ est annulée.

Le 2 décembre 2011

Richard F. Willems

Conseiller