Decisions

TATC File No. W-3638-33
MoT File No. 5504-67886 P/B

TRANSPORTATION APPEAL TRIBUNAL OF CANADA

BETWEEN:

David Michael Mathieson, Applicant

- and -

Minister of Transport, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96 433; para. 605.03(1)(b)


Review Determination
Stephen Rogers


Decision: July 9, 2012

Citation: Mathieson v. Canada (Minister of Transport), 2012 TATCE 21 (Review)

Heard at Edmonton, Alberta, on March 6, 2012

Held: The Minister of Transport has proven, on a balance of probabilities, that the Applicant, David Michael Mathieson, contravened paragraph 605.03(1)(b) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations. Consequently, the monetary penalty of $1 500 is maintained.

The amount is payable to the Receiver General for Canada and must be received by the Transportation Appeal Tribunal of Canada within thirty-five (35) days of service of this determination.

I. BACKGROUND

[1] On September 3, 2009, the Minister of Transport ("Minister") issued a Notice of Assessment of Monetary Penalty ("Notice") to the Applicant, David Michael Mathieson, which states as follows:

Schedule A – Annexe A

#1 - CARs 605.03(1)(b)

On or about the 30th day of October 2008, at or near Rocky Mountain House, Alberta, being the pilot-in-command, you did operate an aircraft, to wit a Dornier 228, Canadian registration C-FYEV, in flight when the aircraft was not operated in accordance with the conditions set out in the flight authority, more specifically above 15,000 feet MSL without a maximum allowable airspeed indicator, a contravention of section 605.03(1)(b) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations.

MONETARY PENALTY - $1,500.00

TOTAL MONETARY PENALTY - $1,500.00

[2] The Applicant's Request for Review of the Notice was received by the Transportation Appeal Tribunal of Canada ("Tribunal") on November 18, 2009. The Review Hearing was initially scheduled to be heard on November 23, 2011, but the Applicant failed to appear so the Tribunal issued an adjournment, due to extenuating circumstances. The Review Hearing was rescheduled for March 6, 2012, and did proceed on this date even though the Applicant was again absent.

II. REGULATION

[3] Paragraph 605.03(1)(b) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations ("CARs") provides as follows:

605.03 (1) No person shall operate an aircraft in flight unless

(b) the aircraft is operated in accordance with the conditions set out in the flight authority; and

III. EVIDENCE

A. Minister

(1) William Curtain

[4] William Curtain is a Civil Aviation Safety Inspector at Transport Canada's Aviation Enforcement branch in Edmonton, Alberta. Mr. Curtain introduced the Detection Notice for the event (Exhibit M-1), which he received from Inspector Brandon Smith of Transport Canada. The Detection Notice alleges that the Applicant flew a Dornier 228, registered as C-FYEV, from Edmonton International Airport, Alberta, to Chilliwack, British Columbia, on or about October 30, 2008. He testified that pursuant to FlightAware flight tracking data, a portion of this flight occurred at 16 000 feet above sea level ("ASL") (Exhibit M-2), whereas the maximum operating altitude limit for the aircraft is 15 000 feet ASL according to the Pilot's Operating Handbook ("POH") for the Dornier 228 (Exhibit M-3). While he noted that the maximum operating altitude limit is 25 000 feet ASL if the aircraft is fitted with a maximum allowable airspeed indicator ("MAAS indicator") (Exhibit M-3), he testified that the aircraft in question was not fitted with a MAAS indicator.

(2) Brandon Smith

[5] Brandon Smith is a Civil Aviation Safety Inspector at Transport Canada. In his testimony, Mr. Smith confirmed that, based on the FlightAware flight tracker data (Exhibit M-2), the aircraft in question exceeded its altitude limit of 15 000 feet ASL while flying from Edmonton to Chilliwack. He further testified that the Applicant was the Captain of the aircraft, based on an email sent to him from the Vice President and Flight Operations Manager of Summit Air (Exhibit M-4) as well as the Journey Log (Exhibit M-5). Mr. Smith affirmed that the Captain of an aircraft is responsible for the aircraft at all times, regardless of who is flying the aircraft.

[6] In response to questioning from the Minister's representative, Mr. Smith suggested that the aircraft may have experienced a build-up of ice and had the option of returning to Edmonton where the weather was not an issue, in accordance with the meteorological aerodrome reports ("METARs") and terminal aerodrome forecasts ("TAFs") for October 30, 2008 (Exhibit M-6).

(3) Paolo Dal Bello

[7] Paolo Dal Bello, a former Safety Officer for Summit Air, confirmed that he was on the flight in question from Edmonton to Chilliwack, but stated he had no recollection of the flight itself or any related weather or icing concerns; also, he could not recall if there was extra crew on the flight. However, he agreed that the aircraft was not fitted with a MAAS indicator.

B. Applicant

[8] There were no witnesses or evidence available on behalf of the Applicant.

IV. ANALYSIS

A. Proving the Contravention

[9] In order to prove that the alleged contravention occurred, the burden is on the Minister to prove the following, on a balance of probabilities:

  1. that the Applicant was responsible for the aircraft;
  1. that the aircraft flew above the permitted altitude; and
  1. that the aircraft did not have a MAAS indicator installed.

[10] The Minister has provided adequate evidence to prove each of the above facts on a balance of probabilities. The Journey Log (Exhibit M-5) demonstrates that the Applicant was the Captain of the aircraft at the time of the alleged contravention. The FlightAware flight tracking data (Exhibit M-2) demonstrates that the aircraft exceeded its allowable altitude of 15 000 feet ASL during the flight.

[11] Although a contravention of the CARs would not have occurred in this instance if the aircraft had been equipped with a MAAS indicator, it is clear from the evidence before me that this was not the case. As such, on a balance of probabilities, the Minister has proven the occurrence of the strict liability offence.

[12] The Applicant was not present for the Review Hearing; as such, no argument was brought forward to rebut the occurrence of the offence. While necessity might have been a defence in this case, the Minister's witness, Mr. Smith, brought reliable evidence to show that the breach of the CARs could have been avoided by simply turning the aircraft around and returning to Edmonton. As such, it cannot reasonably be stated that the violation was unavoidable or necessary.

B. Penalty

[13] The penalty assessed in this instance was above the minimum penalty allowable for a first offence under paragraph 605.03(1)(b) of the CARs. The Minister submits that this is due to aggravating factors including the risk in which the Captain placed the aircraft, and the requirement for a chief pilot to set a good example for other pilots with regard to compliance with the requirements of an aircraft's operations manual.

[14] I do not believe the assessed penalty to be unduly harsh or unfair. Furthermore, the Applicant was absent from the Review Hearing, and as such did not bring any mitigating circumstances to light. While icy conditions were one factor to consider in this instance, the Minister has shown that these conditions did not require violating the CARs.

C. Costs

[15] The Minister seeks costs pursuant to subsection 19(1) of the Transportation Appeal Tribunal of Canada Act, S.C. 2001, c. 29, which provides that the Tribunal may award costs if a party fails to appear at the Review Hearing and does not provide sufficient reasons for this failure. In this instance, the Applicant failed to appear at both of the scheduled Review Hearings.

[16] Nevertheless, the onus is on the Minister to prove alleged offences. As such, there is no strict requirement for an applicant to attend a review hearing. While attendance is always in the best interest of an applicant, I do not believe it is appropriate in this instance to award costs to the Minister. Consequently, I decline the Minister's request for costs in this matter.

V. DETERMINATION

[17] The Minister of Transport has proven, on a balance of probabilities, that the Applicant, David Michael Mathieson, contravened paragraph 605.03(1)(b) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations. Consequently, the monetary penalty of $1 500 is maintained.

[18] The amount is payable to the Receiver General for Canada and must be received by the Transportation Appeal Tribunal of Canada within thirty-five (35) days of service of this determination.

July 9, 2012

Stephen Rogers

Member

Décisions

Dossier no W-3638-33 (TATC)
Dossier no 5504-67886 P/B (MdT)

TRIBUNAL D'APPEL DES TRANSPORTS DU CANADA

ENTRE :

David Michael Mathieson, requérant(e)

- et -

Ministre des Transports, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Règlement de l’aviation canadien, DORS/96-433; alinéa 605.03(1)b)


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Stephen Rogers


Décision : le 9 juillet 2012

Référence : Mathieson c. Canada (Ministre des Transports), 2012 TATCF 21 (révision)

[Traduction française officielle]

Arrêt : Le ministre des Transports a prouvé, selon la prépondérance des probabilités, que le requérant, David Michael Mathieson a contrevenu à l'alinéa 605.03b) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien.Par conséquent, l'amende de 1 500 $ est maintenue.

Le montant total est payable au receveur général du Canada et doit parvenir au Tribunal d'appel des transports du Canada dans les trente-cinq (35) jours suivant la signification de la présente décision.

1. HISTORIQUE

[1] Le 3 septembre 2009, le ministre des Transports (« ministre ») a délivré un avis d'amende pour contravention (« avis ») au requérant, David Michael Mathieson, stipulé comme suit :

[traduction]

Appendice A - Annexe A

#1 - RAC 605.03(1)b)

Le ou vers le 30 octobre 2008, à Rocky Mountain House ou dans les environs, en Alberta, en tant que commandant de bord, vous avez exploité un aéronef en vol, à savoir un Dornier 228, immatriculé C-FYEV, alors que l'aéronef ne fonctionnait pas conformément aux conditions stipulées dans l'autorité de vol, plus particulièrement à 15 000 pieds au-dessus du niveau moyen de la mer, sans indicateur de vitesse aérodynamique maximale permise. Il s'agit d'une contravention à l'article 605.03(1)b) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien.

AMENDE - 1 500 $

AMENDE TOTALE - 1 500 $

[2] La demande du requérant relative à la révision de l'avis a été reçue par le Tribunal d'appel des transports du Canada (« Tribunal ») le 18 novembre 2009. L'audience en révision était initialement prévue le 23 novembre 2011, mais le requérant n'a pas comparu. Par conséquent, en raison des circonstances atténuantes, le Tribunal a prononcé un ajournement. L'audience en révision a été reportée au 6 mars 2012 et a bien eu lieu à cette date, même si le requérant était à nouveau absent.

II. RÈGLEMENT

[3] L'alinéa 605.03(1)b) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC) stipule ce qui suit :

605.03 (1) Il est interdit d'utiliser un aéronef en vol, à moins que les conditions suivantes ne soient respectées

b) l'aéronef est utilisé conformément aux conditions énoncées dans l'autorité de vol;

III. PREUVE

A. Ministre

(1) William Curtain

[4] William Curtain est un inspecteur de la sécurité de l'aviation civile pour la direction de l'application de la loi en aviation de Transports Canada à Edmonton, en Alberta. M. Curtain a présenté l'avis de détection relatif à l'événement (pièce M-1) qu'il a reçu de la part de l'inspecteur Brandon Smith de Transports Canada. L'avis de détection prétend que le requérant a piloté un Dornier 228, immatriculé C-FYEV, de l'aéroport international d'Edmonton, en Alberta, à Chilliwack en Colombie-Britannique, le ou vers le 30 octobre 2008. M. Curtain a déclaré que, conformément aux données de suivi des vols de FlightAware, une partie du vol a eu lieu à 16 000 pieds au-dessus du niveau de la mer (ASL) (pièce M-2), alors que l'altitude d'utilisation maximale de l'aéronef est 15 000 pieds ASL selon le Pilot's Operating Handbook (« POH ») du Dornier 228 (pièce M-3). Bien qu'il ait déclaré que l'altitude d'utilisation maximale est de 25 000 pieds ASL si l'aéronef est équipé d'un indicateur de vitesse maximale autorisée (indicateur VMA), (pièce M-3), il a confirmé que l'aéronef en question n'était pas équipé d'un indicateur VMA.

(2) Brandon Smith

[5] Brandon Smith est un inspecteur de la sécurité de l'aviation civile à Transports Canada. Dans son témoignage, M. Smith a confirmé que, d'après les données de suivi des vols de FlightAware (pièce M-2), l'aéronef en question a dépassé son altitude maximale de 15 000 pieds ASL tandis qu'il volait d'Edmonton à Chilliwack. Il a ensuite déclaré que le requérant était le capitaine de l'aéronef, d'après un courriel que le vice-président et directeur des opérations aériennes de Summit Air (pièce M-4) lui a envoyé, ainsi que d'après le carnet de route (pièce M-5). M. Smith a affirmé que le capitaine est responsable de l'aéronef en tout temps, peu importe qui est le pilote commandant de bord.

[6] En réponse aux questions du représentant du ministre, M. Smith a émis la possibilité que l'aéronef ait subi une accumulation de glace et qu'il était possible de revenir à Edmonton, où les conditions météorologiques ne présentaient aucun problème, conformément aux rapports météorologiques régulier pour l'aviation (METAR) et aux prévisions d'aérodrome (TAF) du 30 octobre 2008 (pièce M-6).

(3) Paolo Dal Bello

[7] Paolo Dal Bello, ancien agent de sécurité à Summit Air, a confirmé qu'il faisait partie du vol en question d'Edmonton à Chilliwack, mais a déclaré qu'il n'avait aucun souvenir du vol ou de tout autre problème lié à de la glace ou aux conditions météorologiques. En outre, il ne pouvait pas se rappeler s'il y avait des membres d'équipage supplémentaires sur ce vol. Toutefois, il a confirmé que l'aéronef n'était pas équipé d'un indicateur VMA.

B. Requérant

[8] Il n'y avait aucun témoin ni aucune preuve disponible au nom du requérant.

IV. ANALYSE

A. Preuve de l'infraction

[9] Afin de prouver que l'infraction reprochée s'est produite, il incombe au ministre de prouver les faits suivants, selon la prépondérance des probabilités :

a) le requérant était responsable de l'aéronef;

b) l'aéronef a volé au-dessus de l'altitude maximale autorisée; et

c) l'aéronef n'était pas équipé d'un indicateur VMA.

[10] Le ministre a fourni les pièces permettant de prouver chacun des faits selon la prépondérance des probabilités. Le carnet de route (pièce M-5) prouve que le requérant était le capitaine de l'aéronef au moment de l'infraction reprochée. Les données de suivi des vols de FlightAware (pièce M-2) démontrent que l'aéronef a dépassé l'altitude maximale autorisée de 15 000 pieds ASL pendant le vol.

[11] Bien qu'une infraction du RAC ne se serait pas produite si l'aéronef avait été équipé d'un indicateur VMA, il est évident, selon la preuve dont je dispose, que ce n'était pas le cas. Ainsi, selon la prépondérance des probabilités, le ministre a prouvé la survenance de l'infraction de responsabilité stricte.

[12] Le requérant n'était pas présent à l'audience en révision; ainsi, aucun argument n'a été avancé pour réfuter la survenance de l'infraction. Bien que l'état de nécessité aurait pu constituer un élément de défense dans ce cas, le témoin du ministre, M. Smith, a avancé des preuves fiables démontrant que l'infraction au RAC aurait pu être évitée en effectuant simplement un demi-tour et en retournant à Edmonton. Ainsi, on ne peut raisonnablement déclarer que l'infraction était inévitable ou nécessaire.

B. Amende

[13] L'amende infligée était supérieure à l'amende minimale autorisée dans le cas d'une première infraction en vertu de l'alinéa 605.03(1)b) du RAC. Le ministre estime que cela est dû aux facteurs aggravants, notamment le risque auquel le capitaine a exposé l'aéronef et l'obligation selon laquelle un pilote en chef doit donner l'exemple aux autres pilotes en ce qui a trait à la conformité aux exigences du manuel d'exploitation d'un aéronef.

[14] Je ne pense pas que l'amende infligée soit excessivement sévère ou injuste. De plus, le requérant était absent de l'audience en révision, ce qui n'a pas permis de mettre en lumière les circonstances atténuantes. Bien que les conditions de glace constituaient un facteur dont il faut tenir compte, le ministre a démontré que ces conditions ne nécessitaient pas d'enfreindre le RAC.

C. Dépens

[15] Le ministre demande les dépens en vertu du paragraphe 19(1) de la Loi sur le Tribunal d'appel des transports du Canada, L.C. 2011, ch. 29, qui stipule que le Tribunal peut adjuger les dépens si l'une des parties omet de comparaître à l'audience en révision et que les raisons de cette omission ne sont pas suffisantes. Dans ce cas, le requérant a omis de comparaître aux deux audiences en révision.

[16] Néanmoins, il incombe au ministre de prouver les infractions reprochées. Ainsi, un requérant n'est pas tenu d'assister à une audition en révision. Bien qu'assister à l'audience soit toujours dans le meilleur intérêt d'un requérant, je ne pense pas qu'il convienne d'adjuger les dépens au ministre dans ce cas. Par conséquent, je décline la demande d'attribution des dépens du ministre en l'espèce.

V. DÉCISION

[17] Le ministre des Transports a prouvé, selon la prépondérance des probabilités, que le requérant, David Michael Mathieson, a contrevenu à l'alinéa 605.03(b) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien.Par conséquent, l'amende de 1 500 $ est maintenue.

[18] Le montant est payable au receveur général du Canada et doit parvenir au Tribunal d'appel des transports du Canada dans les trente-cinq (35) jours suivant la signification de la présente décision.

Le 9 juillet 2012

Stephen Rogers

Conseiller