Decisions

TATC File No. MP-0152-38
MoT File No. P20111102-505-00628

TRANSPORTATION APPEAL TRIBUNAL OF CANADA

BETWEEN:

M/V Alaskan, Applicant

- and -

Minister of Transport, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Canada Shipping Act, 2001, S.C. 2001, c. 26; section 187


Review Determination
Peter Bernard


Decision: October 22, 2012

Citation: M/V Alaskan v. Canada (Minister of Transport), 2012 TATCE 29 (Review)

Heard in Nanaimo, British Columbia, on June 1, 2012

Held: The Minister of Transport has not proven, on a balance of probabilities, that the Applicant, M/V Alaskan, violated section 187 of the Canada Shipping Act, 2001. The penalty of $6 000 is dismissed.

I. BACKGROUND

[1] On November 7, 2011, the Minister of Transport ("Minister") issued a Notice of Violation ("Notice") to Sjoerd van Kleef as Authorized Representative of the M/V  Alaskan, a fishing vessel registered at the Port of New Westminster, British Columbia, for a violation of section 187 of the Canada Shipping Act, 2001, S.C. 2001, c. 26 ("Act").

[2] The violation described in Schedule "A" to the Notice is as follows:

On or about the 19th of October, at or near Thetis Island, in the province of British Columbia, the Alaskan (O.N. 323595) discharged a prescribed pollutant, thereby contravening section 187 of the Canada Shipping Act, 2001.

[3] A penalty of $6 000 was assessed by the Minister, pursuant to the Administrative Monetary Penalties Regulations, SOR/2008-97 ("AMPRs").

[4] On November 16, 2011, Mr. van Kleef requested a review of the administrative monetary penalty by the Transportation Appeal Tribunal of Canada ("Tribunal").

[5] The matter came before me for a Review Hearing on April 26, 2012, but, on a motion from Mr. van Kleef, the Review Hearing was adjourned and rescheduled to June 1, 2012. The applicant stated the adjournment was required due to the absence of a witness whose evidence was said to be significant. The Minister agreed that the adjournment should be allowed.

II. STATUTES AND REGULATIONS AND POLICIES

[6] Provisions 185, 186(1), 187, 190(1)(a) and 191(1)(a) of the Act provide as follows:

185. The definitions in this section apply in this Part.

"discharge" means a discharge of a pollutant that directly or indirectly results in the pollutant entering waters, and includes spilling, leaking, pumping, pouring, emitting, emptying, throwing and dumping.

186.(1) Subject to subsection (2), this Part applies in respect of vessels in Canadian waters or waters in the exclusive economic zone of Canada.

187. No person or vessel shall discharge a prescribed pollutant, except in accordance with the regulations made under this Part or a permit granted under Division 3 of Part 7 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999.

190.(1) The Governor in Council may, on the recommendation of the Minister, make regulations respecting the protection of the marine environment, including regulations

(a) prescribing pollutants for the purpose of sections 187 and 189 and respecting the circumstances in which such pollutants may be discharged;

191.(1) Every person who, or vessel that, contravenes any of the following commits an offence:

(a) section 187 (discharge of a pollutant);

[7] Paragraph 4(a) of the Regulations for the Prevention of Pollution from Ships and for Dangerous Chemicals, SOR/2007-86, ("RPP"), in force under the Act at the time of the incident, provides as follows:

4. For the purposes of Part XV of the Act, the following substances are prescribed to be pollutants:

(a) oil and any oily mixture;

[8] Subsections 2(1) and (2) of the Administrative Monetary Penalties Regulations, SOR/2008‑97 ("AMPRs"), made under the Act, provide as follows:

2.(1) The contravention of a provision of the Act set out in column 1 of the schedule is designated as a violation that may be proceeded with in accordance with sections 229 to 242 of the Act and by the issuance of a notice of violation.

(2) The range of penalties set out in column 2 of the schedule is the range of penalties in respect of a violation set out in column 1.

[9] The Schedule to the AMPRs provides a penalty range of $1 250 to $25 000 for a violation of section 187 of the Act.

[10] The policy framework described under "Penalty Ranges" in the Regulatory Impact Analysis Statement ("RIAS") that accompanies the AMPRs, Canada Gazette, Part II, Volume 142, Number 8 on page 625, provides that a violation of section 187 of the Act is regarded as a high-gravity violation and, accordingly, the minimum penalty payable by a vessel for a first violation is $6 000.

III. EVIDENCE

A. Minister

(1) Ralph Maurice Hilchie

[11] Ralph Maurice Hilchie was presented as an expert in the identification of oil on the surface of water observed from an aircraft. The Minister submitted that Mr. Hilchie would be able to give a professional opinion that the substance detected was oil or an oily substance.

[12] Mr. Hilchie joined the Federal Government in 1964 as a Radio Officer and then as a Meteorological Technician. In 1970, he assumed a role with the Canadian Ice Service dealing with ice recognizance from aircraft in the arctic and eastern Canada.

[13] The witness described the use of Radarsat imagery and Side-Looking Aerial Radar ("SLAR"), indicating that they are tools providing for the mapping of ice conditions.

[14] In 2006, Mr. Hilchie transferred to the Maritime Aerial Recognizance Team working on the east coast of Canada for two years on pollution overflight missions. In 2009, Mr. Hilchie then moved to Vancouver in the same line of work, which involves flying over shipping routes to determine if oil has been spilled into the ocean. Each aircraft has two technologists: one carries out visual observation; and the second utilizes SLAR and a pod containing an assortment of high-resolution cameras.

[15] Based on his lengthy experience, I accepted Mr. Hilchie as an expert in interpreting visual observations onboard an aircraft, as well as in the equipment described.

[16] Mr. Hilchie described the flight on October 19, 2011. The aircraft flew out to the west coast of Vancouver Island and while returning, crossed over Telegraph Harbour on Thetis Island. At that point, the visual observer saw an area below which appeared to contain hydrocarbons on the surface of the water. Using the cameras, Mr. Hilchie captured the visual elements, which he stated were significant in determining whether the substance on the surface of the water was, in fact, hydrocarbon.

[17] Mr. Hilchie identified a number of photographs of the area of Telegraph Harbour (Exhibit M‑1) showing vessels moving within a patch of material exhibiting various colours and which Mr. Hilchie testified was a stream of oil. The aircraft descended to view the situation from a closer position. More photographs were taken, which Mr. Hilchie identified as showing a patch of a "rainbow pattern" or "iridescence", turning into a stream leading to the marina where the M/V Alaskan was berthed.

[18] Finally, Mr. Hilchie described his observations, supported by the photographs, of different colours in the spill area, which indicate the thickness of the oil on the surface. The observations enabled his team to conclude that approximately 6.2 litres of oil had been put into the water.

[19] Thereafter, Mr. Hilchie described the efforts of those onboard the aircraft to determine the source of the oil. In the first instance, he suggested that certain vessels observed within the area of the oil should be eliminated as potential sources of the discharge.

[20] Mr. Hilchie argued that, "any vessel that is basically within the slick, and if that oil slick is entirely surrounding them, is not the source". As a general practice, he looks to see if the slick leads to a certain position and accordingly, follows the slick to assist in reaching a conclusion with respect to the source of the oil.

[21] Referring to close-up photographs taken from the aircraft at a lower level (Exhibit M‑1), Mr. Hilchie testified that one can see oil between the M/V Alaskan and the dock, and that it appeared to be coming from the bow of the M/V Alaskan. He also stated that some oil was detected off the port and starboard sides of the vessel and that "we could not determine exactly a precise source".

[22] While referring to one of the photographs on Exhibit M-1, Mr. Hilchie noted that the marina manager could be seen on the dock near the M/V Alaskan. The co‑pilot radioed the marina and spoke to the manager who said that he had gone to that position as a result of a request by the pilot of the aircraft.

[23] Under cross-examination, Mr. Hilchie stated that the manager advised the aircraft crew that he "could not see where the oil was coming from. He could not see oil around the vessel". Mr. Hilchie tendered the explanation that it is difficult to see oil on the water when you are looking at a thin sheen up close.

[24] Finally, Mr. Hilchie stated that "[t]he only thing that led us to the Alaskan was the stream of oil that always came from the vicinity of the Alaskan".

(2) Patrick Lwyn

[25] Patrick Lwyn is a Senior Marine Inspector for Transport Canada. He was asked by his superior to conduct a follow-up investigation by speaking with Nicole Chiasson on October 28, 2011. Mr. Lwyn identified the Certificate of Registry for M/V Alaskan (Exhibit M‑2) which shows Mr. van Kleef and Ms. Chiasson as joint owners.

[26] Mr. Lwyn spoke to Ms. Chiasson by telephone, understanding her to say that she had changed the oil in the vessel on October 19, 2011, and suggesting that some of the oil had spilled into the bilge.

B. Applicant

(1) Rob Hunter

[27] Mr. Hunter testified that he lives onboard his vessel at another marina in Telegraph Harbour, and that during his time at that marina, he observed quite a few instances of deposits of oil into the harbour. He suggested that the "general populace of this area are really not that diligent on a lot of their issues with pollution and how they get rid of waste oils…"

[28] Mr. Hunter suggested that another vessel in the marina where the M/V Alaskan was berthed had been recently acquired by a new owner who had been doing a general clean-up and disposal of unwanted items. He suggested the owner and those onboard had placed these various items and materials on deck and speculated that a container of oil might have gone over the side into the harbour.

[29] Under cross-examination, Mr. Hunter stated that he was on the M/V Alaskan later in the night of October 19, 2011, and he could not see where the oil would have come from. This led him to consider that it had to be from a source other than the M/V Alaskan.

(2) Nicole Chiasson

[30] Nicole Chiasson testified that she went onboard the M/V Alaskan with Mr. Hunter on October 20, 2011. She observed Mr. Hunter making efforts to determine if the oil was coming from the M/V Alaskan. He went into the engine room and into the bilges, but could not find any leaks or sources of discharged oil.

[31] Ms. Chiasson also took photographs of the bilge (Exhibit A‑1), which were tendered as evidence of the lack of oil in that space. Finally, Ms. Chiasson identified photographs (Exhibit A‑2) and a video (Exhibit A‑3) of a spill in Telegraph Harbour, which she had taken on May 9, 2012, in support of the proposition that there is oil or another similar pollutant on the surface of the water in Telegraph Harbour from time to time.

[32] Ms. Chiasson testified that she did not change the oil on October 19, 2011, as Mr. Lwyn had testified. She said that she did not understand what Mr. Lwyn was asking when he called. She thought he must have misunderstood what she said about the oil being changed by Mr. van Kleef when he winterized the vessel sometime prior to October 19, 2011.

IV. SUBMISSIONS

A. Minister

[33] The Minister submitted that the following required elements had been established, on a balance of probabilities:

  1. contrary to section 187 of the Act, a prescribed pollutant had been discharged from the M/V Alaskan on October 19, 2011;
  2. the material in the water was oil or an oily mixture, which was a prescribed pollutant pursuant to paragraph 4(a) of the RPP made under the Act.

B. Applicant

[34] Mr. van Kleef argued that there was no evidence of any discharge from the vessel. He pointed to the evidence of Mr. Hunter and Ms. Chiasson, who could not find any leak when inspecting the vessel on the day following the detection of oil in the harbour.

V. ANALYSIS

[35] Although I would have preferred more substantial evidence, including sample testing and specific scientific observation of properties, I am satisfied from the evidence, particularly that of Mr. Hilchie, that the material on the water of Telegraph Harbour on October 19, 2011, was a hydrocarbon (oil or an oily mixture) and, therefore, was a prescribed pollutant.

[36] However, I am not persuaded that the evidence demonstrates, on a balance of probabilities, that the pollutant was discharged from the M/V Alaskan. There are, in my view, other potential sources.

[37] The only evidence put forward by the Minister suggesting that the M/V Alaskan was the source of the discharge did not go beyond the proposition stated by Mr. Hilchie that the only factor suggesting the oil came from the M/V Alaskan, is that the trail led from the larger area of the oil to the end of the pier where the M/V Alaskan was berthed, as first in a line of a number of other vessels. The Minister has not shown that it is more likely than not that the oil was discharged by the M/V Alaskan rather than any other vessel in line.

[38] Furthermore, Mr. Lwyn's evidence was difficult to follow at times and was contradicted by the evidence of Ms. Chiasson. I accept that Mr. Lwyn misunderstood what Ms. Chiasson said to him. Consequently, I do not accord this evidence any weight.

VI. DETERMINATION

[39] The Minister of Transport has not proven, on a balance of probabilities, that the Applicant, M/V Alaskan, violated section 187 of the Canada Shipping Act, 2001. The penalty of $6 000 is dismissed.

October 22, 2012

Peter G. Bernard

Member

Décisions

Dossier no MP-0152-38 (TATC)
Dossier no P20111102-505-00628 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL D'APPEL DES TRANSPORTS DU CANADA

ENTRE :

M/V Alaskan, requérant(e)

- et -

Ministre des Transports, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi de 2001 sur la marine marchande du Canada, L.C. 2001, ch. 26, article 187


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Peter Bernard


Décision : le 22 octobre 2012

Référence : N/M Alaskan c. Canada (Ministre des Transports), 2012 TATCF 29 (révision)

[Traduction française officielle]

Affaire entendue à Nanaimo (Colombie-Britannique), le 1er juin 2012

Arrêt : Le ministre des Transports n'a pas prouvé, selon la prépondérance des probabilités, que N/M Alaskan, le requérant, a violé l'article 187 de la Loi de 2001 sur la marine marchande du Canada. L'amende de 6 000 $ est rejetée.

I. HISTORIQUE

[1] Le 7 novembre 2011, le ministre des Transports ( ministre) a émis un procès-verbal à Sjoerd van Kleef en tant que représentant autorisé du N/M Alaskan, un bâtiment de pêche enregistré au Port de New Westminster (Colombie-Britannique), concernant une violation de l'article 187 de la Loi de 2001 sur la marine marchande du Canada, L.C. 2001 ch. 26 (« Loi »).

[2] La violation décrite dans l'Annexe « A » du procès-verbal se lit comme suit :

[Traduction]

À la date du, ou autour du, 19 octobre, à, ou à proximité de, l'île Thétis, province de la Colombie-Britannique, l'Alaskan (O.N. 323595) a rejeté un polluant précisé par les règlements, contrevenant ainsi à l'article 187 de la Loi de 2001 sur la marine marchande du Canada.

[3] Une amende de 6 000 $ a été imposée par le ministre, en vertu du Règlement sur les sanctions administratives pécuniaires, DORS/2008-97 (RSAP).

[4] Le 16 novembre 2011, M. van Kleef a demandé un examen de la sanction administrative pécuniaire par le Tribunal d'appel des transports du Canada (Tribunal).

[5] L'affaire m'a été soumise lors d'une audience en révision le 26 avril 2012, mais, suite à une requête de M. van Kleef, l'audience en révision a été ajournée et reportée au 1er juin 2012. Le requérant a déclaré que l'ajournement était nécessaire en raison de l'absence d'un témoin dont la preuve était considérée comme significative. Le ministre a donné son accord pour que l'ajournement soit autorisé.

II. LOIS, RÈGLEMENTS ET POLITIQUES

[6] Les clauses 185, 186(1), 187, 190(1)a) et 191(1)a) de la Loi disposent que :

185. Les définitions qui suivent s'appliquent à la présente partie.

« rejet » signifie le rejet d'un polluant qui, directement ou indirectement, atteint l'eau, notamment par déversement, fuite, déchargement ou chargement par pompage, rejet liquide, émanation, vidange, rejet solide et immersion.

186.(1) Sous réserve du paragraphe (2), la présente partie s'applique à l'égard des bâtiments dans les eaux canadiennes et dans les eaux de la zone économique exclusive du Canada.

187. Il est interdit à tout bâtiment ou à toute personne de rejeter un polluant précisé par les règlements, sauf si le rejet se fait en conformité avec les règlements d'application de la présente partie ou un permis délivré sous le régime de la section 3 de la partie 7 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999).

190.(1) Le gouverneur en conseil peut, sur recommandation du ministre, prendre des règlements relativement à la protection du milieu marin, notamment des règlements

(a) précisant des polluants pour l'application des articles 187 et 189 et régissant les circonstances dans lesquelles il est permis de rejeter ces polluants ;

191.(1) Commet une infraction la personne ou le bâtiment qui contrevient :

a) à l'article 187 (rejet d'un polluant) ;

[7] L'alinéa 4(a) du Règlement sur la prévention de la pollution par les navires et sur les produits chimiques dangereux, DORS/2007-86, (RPP), en vigueur en vertu de la Loi au moment de l'incident, se lit comme suit :

4. Aux fins de la partie XV de la Loi, les substances suivantes sont précisées par les règlements comme étant des polluants :

a) huile et tout mélange d'hydrocarbures;

[8] Les paragraphes 2(1) et (2) du Règlement sur les sanctions administratives pécuniaires, DORS/2008‑97 (RSAP), faits en vertu de la Loi, disposent que :

2.(1) La contravention à une disposition de la Loi figurant à la colonne 1 de l'annexe est désignée comme une violation qui est punissable au titre des articles 229 à 242 de la Loi et qui peut faire l'objet d'un procès-verbal.

(2) Le barème des sanctions figurant à la colonne 2 de l'annexe constitue le barème des sanctions applicables à une violation qui est désignée à la colonne 1.

[9] L'annexe du RSAP prévoit un montant d'amende allant de 1 250 $ à 25 000 $ pour une violation de l'article 187 de la Loi.

[10] Le cadre d'action décrit sous « Peines prévues » dans le Résumé de l'étude d'impact de la réglementation (REIR) qui accompagne le RSAP, Gazette du Canada, partie II, volume 142, numéro 8, page 625, dispose qu'une violation de l'article 187 de la Loi est considérée comme une violation de haute gravité et, par conséquent, l'amende minimum que doit verser un bâtiment pour une première violation s'élève à 6 000 $.

III. PREUVE

A. Ministre

(1) Ralph Maurice Hilchie

[11] Ralph Maurice Hilchie a été présenté en tant qu'expert dans l'identification des hydrocarbures à la surface de l'eau observée depuis un aéronef. Le ministre a allégué que M. Hilchie serait capable de donner une opinion professionnelle permettant de déterminer que la substance détectée était un hydrocarbure ou tout mélange d'hydrocarbures.

[12] M. Hilchie a rejoint le gouvernement fédéral en 1964 en qualité d'officier radio, puis de technicien en météorologie. En 1970, il a travaillé pour le Service canadien des glaces, où sa mission était la reconnaissance des glaces depuis un aéronef dans l'Arctique et l'est du Canada.

[13] Le témoin a décrit l'utilisation de l'imagerie Radarsat et du Radar aéroporté à antenne latérale (SLAR), en nous indiquant qu'il s'agissait d'outils permettant la représentation sur carte des conditions de glace.

[14] En 2006, M. Hilchie a rejoint l'Équipe de reconnaissance aérienne maritime travaillant sur la côte est du Canada pendant deux ans sur des missions de survol concernant la pollution. En 2009, M. Hilchie a emménagé à Vancouver où il a continué d'exercer les mêmes fonctions, qui impliquent de survoler des routes de navigation pour déterminer si des hydrocarbures ont été déversés dans l'océan. Chaque aéronef dispose de deux technologues : l'un réalise une observation visuelle et l'autre utilise le SLAR ainsi qu'une nacelle contenant un assortiment d'appareils photo haute résolution.

[15] Sur la base de sa longue expérience, j'ai accepté de donner à M. Hilchie la qualité d'expert dans l'interprétation des observations visuelles à bord d'un aéronef, ainsi que dans les équipements décrits.

[16] M. Hilchie a décrit le vol du 19 octobre 2011. L'aéronef s'est envolé pour la côte ouest de l'île de Vancouver et, sur le chemin du retour, a survolé Telegraph Harbour sur l'île Thétis. À ce moment, l'observateur visuel a vu une zone sous lui qui lui a semblé contenir des hydrocarbures à la surface de l'eau. À l'aide des appareils photo, M. Hilchie a pris en photo les éléments visuels, qui, selon ses déclarations, étaient d'importance considérable pour décider si la substance à la surface de l'eau était bien des hydrocarbures.

[17] M. Hilchie a identifié un certain nombre de photographies de la zone de Telegraph Harbour (pièce M‑1) montrant des bâtiments se déplaçant sur une flaque de matières présentant différentes couleurs et dont M. Hilchie a attesté qu'il s'agissait d'un flux d'huile. L'aéronef est descendu pour voir la situation de plus près. D'autres photographies furent prises, sur lesquelles M. Hilchie a identifié une flaque présentant un « motif ressemblant à un arc-en-ciel » ou une « irisation », se changeant en un flux menant à la marina où le N/M Alaskan mouillait.

[18] Enfin, M. Hilchie a décrit ses observations, étayées par les photographies, des différentes couleurs dans la zone de déversement, qui indiquent l'épaisseur de l'huile à la surface. Les observations ont permis à son équipe de conclure qu'approximativement 6,2 litres d'huile ont été versés dans l'eau.

[19] Ensuite, M. Hilchie a décrit les efforts des personnes à bord de l'aéronef pour déterminer la source de l'huile. En premier lieu, il a suggéré que certains bâtiments observés dans la zone souillée par l'huile devraient être éliminés en tant que sources potentielles du rejet.

[20] M. Hilchie a allégué que « tout bâtiment se trouvant sur la nappe, et qui est complètement entouré par la nappe d'huile, n'en est pas la source ». De manière générale, il observe afin de voir si la nappe mène à un certain point et, selon le cas, il s'aide en suivant la nappe pour arriver à une conclusion à l'égard de la source de l'huile.

[21] En se référant aux photographies en gros plan prises de l'aéronef à une altitude inférieure (pièce M‑1), M. Hilchie a attesté que l'on pouvait voir l'huile entre le N/M Alaskan et le dock, et qu'elle semblait venir de la proue du N/M Alaskan. Il a aussi déclaré qu'une certaine quantité d'huile avait été détectée à bâbord et à tribord du bâtiment et « qu'on ne pouvait pas déterminer exactement une source précise ».

[22] En se référant à l'une des photographies présentées en pièce M-1, M. Hilchie a remarqué que le directeur de la marina était visible sur le dock près du N/M Alaskan. Le copilote a joint la marina par radio et a parlé au directeur, qui lui a dit qu'il s'était rendu à cet endroit suite à une demande du pilote de l'aéronef.

[23] Lors du contre-interrogatoire, M. Hilchie a déclaré que le directeur avait prévenu l'équipage de l'aéronef qu'il « ne voyait pas d'où venait l'huile ». Il ne voyait pas d'huile autour du bâtiment ». M. Hilchie a proposé l'explication qu'il était difficile de voir l'huile sur l'eau quand on regarde un lustre peu épais de près.

[24] Enfin, M. Hilchie a déclaré que « la seule chose nous menant à l'Alaskan était le flux d'huile qui venait toujours du voisinage de l'Alaskan ».

(2) Patrick Lwyn

[25] Patrick Lwyn est inspecteur maritime principal pour Transports Canada. Son supérieur lui a demandé de mener une enquête complémentaire en parlant avec Nicole Chiasson le 28 octobre 2011. M. Lwyn a identifié le certificat d'immatriculation du N/M Alaskan (pièce M‑2) sur lequel M. van Kleef et Mme Chiasson apparaissent en tant que copropriétaires.

[26] M. Lwyn a parlé à Mme Chiasson au téléphone. Selon lui, elle lui a dit avoir changé l'huile du navire le 19 octobre 2011 et a suggéré qu'une partie de cette huile s'était déversée dans le bouchain.

B. Requérant

(1) Rob Hunter

[27] M. Hunter a attesté qu'il vit à bord de son bâtiment à une autre marina de Telegraph Harbour, et que pendant ce temps à cette marina, il a observé bon nombre de cas de rejets d'huiles dans le port. Il a suggéré que la « population de cette région en général n'est pas vraiment diligente concernant un grand nombre de leurs problèmes de pollution et leur façon de se débarrasser des déchets d'hydrocarbures… »

[28] M. Hunter a suggéré qu'un autre bâtiment à la marina où le N/M Alaskan mouillait avait récemment était racheté par un nouveau propriétaire qui avait effectué un nettoyage général et avait rejeté des choses indésirables. Il a suggéré que le propriétaire et les personnes à bord avaient placé ces choses et équipements sur le pont et a émis la supposition qu'un container d'huile avait pu se déverser dans le port.

[29] Lors du contre-interrogatoire, M. Hunter a déclaré qu'il était à bord du N/M Alaskan plus tard la même nuit du 19 octobre 2011, et qu'il n'avait pas été en mesure de voir d'où provenait l'huile. Ceci le menait à penser que celle-ci était provenue d'une autre source que le N/M Alaskan.

(2) Nicole Chiasson

[30] Nicole Chiasson a attesté qu'elle est montée à bord du N/M Alaskan avec M. Hunter le 20 octobre 2011. Elle a vu que M. Hunter avait fait des efforts pour déterminer si l'huile provenait du N/M Alaskan. Il s'est rendu dans la salle des machines et dans les bouchains, mais n'a pas pu trouver de fuite ou de source du rejet de l'huile.

[31] Mme Chiasson a également pris des photographies du bouchain (pièce A‑1), qui ont été proposées à titre de preuve de l'absence d'huile à cet endroit. Enfin, Mme Chiasson a identifié les photographies (pièce A‑2) et une vidéo (pièce A‑3) d'un déversement à Telegraph Harbour, qu'elle a prises le 9 mai 2012, pour étayer la proposition suivant laquelle on trouvait de l'huile ou des polluants similaires à la surface de l'eau de Telegraph Harbour de temps à autre.

[32] Mme Chiasson a attesté qu'elle n'a pas changé l'huile le 19 octobre 2011, comme M. Lwyn l'avait attesté. Elle a dit qu'elle n'avait pas compris ce que M. Lwyn lui avait demandé quand il l'avait appelée. Selon elle, il a dû mal comprendre ce qu'elle a dit à propos de l'huile, c'est-à-dire qu'elle avait été changée par M. van Kleef lors de l'hivérisation du bâtiment à une date inconnue avant le 19 octobre 2011.

IV. OBSERVATIONS

A.    Ministre

[33] Le ministre a observé que les éléments requis suivants avaient été établis, selon la prépondérance des probabilités :

  1. à l'encontre de l'article 187 de la Loi, un polluant précisé par les règlements avait été rejeté du N/M Alaskan le 19 octobre 2011;
  2. la matière trouvée dans l'eau était un hydrocarbure ou un mélange d'hydrocarbures, qui constituait un polluant précisé par les règlements en vertu de l'alinéa 4a) du RPP fait en vertu de la Loi.

B.    Requérant

[34] M. van Kleef a allégué qu'il n'existait aucune preuve de rejet en provenance du bâtiment. Il a mentionné les témoignages de M. Hunter et de Mme Chiasson, qui n'avaient pas été en mesure de trouver une fuite lors de leur inspection du bâtiment le lendemain de la détection de l'huile dans le port.

V. ANALYSE

[35] Bien que j'aurais préféré disposer de preuves plus substantielles, y compris l'analyse d'un échantillon et des observations scientifiques spécifiques de ses propriétés, la preuve me satisfait, en particulier celle de M. Hilchie, selon laquelle la matière trouvée sur l'eau de Telegraph Habour le 19 octobre 2011 était un hydrocarbure (huile ou mélange d'hydrocarbures) et, par conséquent, qu'il s'agissait d'un polluant précisé par les règlements.

[36] Toutefois, je ne suis pas persuadé que la preuve démontre, selon la prépondérance des probabilités, que le polluant a été rejeté en provenance du N/M Alaskan. Il existe, selon moi, d'autres sources potentielles.

[37] La seule preuve avancée par le ministre suggérant que le N/M Alaskan était la source du rejet n'est pas allée plus loin que la proposition faite par M. Hilchie, que le seul facteur suggérant que l'huile provenait du N/M Alaskan est que la traînée menait de la région plus vaste de l'huile à l'embarcadère où le N/M Alaskan mouillait, au premier plan parmi un certain nombre d'autres bâtiments. Le ministre n'a pas montré qu'il était plus probable qu'improbable que l'huile a été rejetée par le N/M Alaskan et non un autre bâtiment en ligne.

[38] De plus, la preuve de M. Lwyn a été difficile à suivre par moments et a été contredite par le témoignage de Mme Chiasson. Je conviens que M. Lwyn a mal compris ce que Mme Chiasson lui a dit. Par conséquent, je ne prête pas d'importance à cette preuve.

VI. DÉCISION

[39] Le ministre des Transports n'a pas prouvé, selon la prépondérance des possibilités, que le requérant, N/M Alaskan, a violé l'article 187 de la Loi de 2001 sur la marine marchande du Canada. L'amende de 6 000 $ est rejetée.

Le 22 octobre 2012

Me Peter G. Bernard

Conseiller