Decisions

TATC File No. P-3937-99
MoT File No. RDIMS 7390684

TRANSPORTATION APPEAL TRIBUNAL OF CANADA

BETWEEN:

AAT Global Inc., Applicant

- and -

Minister of Transport, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S.C., 1985, c. A-2
CAR 421.40(3)


Interlocutory Decision
J. Richard W. Hall


Decision: April 22, 2013

Citation: AAT Global Inc. v. Canada (Minister of Transport),2013 TATCE 12 (Interlocutory Ruling)

Decided on the basis of written submissions

RULING ON JURISDICTION AND REASONS

Held: The Tribunal does not have jurisdiction to review this matter. Consequently, the Tribunal must deny the Applicant's Request for Review.

I. BACKGROUND

[1] On April 4, 2011, the Minister of Transport (Minister) sent a letter to AAT Global Inc. (AAT Global), which renewed an agreement to accept type rating training services provided by AAT Global regarding the issue of multi-crew type ratings (the Agreement). Specifically, the Agreement provided that:

Transport Canada will accept applications recommended by AAT Global Inc. for multi-crew type ratings under CAR 421.40(3) where the type rating training was provided by AAT Global Inc.

[2] The Agreement stipulated nine conditions to be met by AAT Global, and provided that the Agreement would remain in effect until the earliest of four dates, one of which was “the date on which any of the conditions set out in this agreement is breached.”

[3] On March 9, 2012, the Minister sent a Letter of Cancellation to AAT Global for failing to meet the conditions of the Agreement, specifically for failing to send a list of candidates prior to the start of their training. The Minister sent a further letter to AAT Global on April 25, 2012 regarding this cancellation (Letter of Explanation), an electronic copy of which was also sent to the Applicant's Representative by email.

[4] On November 20, 2012, AAT Global submitted to the Transportation Appeal Tribunal of Canada (Tribunal) a Request for Review of the Minister's decision to cancel the Agreement. Prior to scheduling a Review Hearing, however, the Tribunal requested that the Parties provide the Tribunal with submissions on the Tribunal's jurisdiction to hear this matter.

II. ARGUMENTS

A. Minister

[5] In his submissions, the Minister identified three issues to be considered by the Tribunal in determining its jurisdiction on this matter:

  1. Whether the Agreement between AAT Global and the Minister constituted a Canadian Aviation Document (CAD);
  1. If so, which legislative provision gives the Tribunal authority to review this decision;
  1. Whether AAT Global's Request for Review was out of time pursuant to subsection 7.1(3) of the Aeronautics Act, R.S.C., 1985, c. A-2 (Act).

[6] The Minister contends that the Tribunal lacks jurisdiction to hear this matter because the Agreement between AAT Global and the Minister does not constitute a CAD as defined in the Act.

[7] The Minister submits that the Agreement between AAT Global and the Minister must be a CAD in order to qualify for Tribunal review. In applying the elements of the Act's definition of a CAD, the Minister contends that AAT Global's Request for Review must fail, as the Agreement between the Minister and AAT Global is not a licence or permit identified in the CARs, nor is it an accreditation which gives official authorization or status based on meeting standards through a testing or certification process, as noted in paragraph 4.9(a) of the Act. The Minister submits that the Agreement is not a certificate as it does not formally attest to a fact, nor does it provide authorization to act in a specific way.

[8] Moreover, the Minister contends that the Agreement is not an “other document issued… under Part I” of the Act, as described in the definition of a CAD in the Act. Although the Agreement is an acceptance, the Minister suggests that it is not an authorization since it confers no privileges or delegation of authority.

[9] The Minister submits that the Agreement is not a CAD, but additionally submits that if the Tribunal were to find it to be so, the only provision of the Act that could be relevant to a cancellation would be section 7.1.

[10] The Minister argues that should the Tribunal find that the Agreement between AAT Global and the Minister constitutes a CAD, that AAT Global's Request for Review was nevertheless filed “beyond any reasonable allowance which could be applied” to the existing 30‑day limitation period set out in subsection 7.1(3) of the Act. Indeed, the Minister argues that AAT Global did not submit its Request for Review until five and a half months after the Applicant's Representative confirmed receipt of the Letter of Explanation with regard to the Minister's decision to cancel the Agreement. Consequently, the Minister contends that AAT Global's Request for Review is untimely and should not be accepted by the Tribunal.

B. Applicant

[11] The Applicant's Representative submits that the Agreement between AAT Global and the Minister is a document pursuant to the Act. According to the Applicant's Representative, “logic would tell you that if the Minister is cancelling the Agreement, then the Minister has issued the Agreement.” The Applicant's Representative argues that the evidence before the Tribunal demonstrates that the Tribunal has jurisdiction to review the Minister's decision on this point, since the document in question is an “other document” that was issued by the Minister.

[12] With regard to the Minister's submissions regarding the untimeliness of the Request for Review, the Applicant's Representative contends that AAT Global did not receive the Minister's Letter of Cancellation dated March 9, 2012 because the Letter of Cancellation was sent to an old address of AAT Global instead of AAT Global's current address. Consequently, the Applicant's Representative argues that it was not possible for him to file a Request for Review of the Minister's decision within the 30‑day period set out in the Act.

[13] The Applicant's Representative submits that the five agreements written by the Minister over the past 13 years constitute an “other document issued by the Minister” as noted in the Act, which is within the Tribunal's jurisdiction to review.

C. Minister's Reply

[14] The Minister submits that it is important to distinguish between the acceptance of evidence demonstrating the completion of each requirement prior to the issuance of a CAD, and the actual issuance of a CAD to an individual.

[15] The Minister submits that correspondence which serves to pre-accept specific elements of evidence towards the issuance of a CAD for future applicants is not found in any CAD-related provision in Part I of the Act, and as such cannot be considered an “other document issued … under Part I” as found in the definition of a CAD.

[16] Moreover, the Minister argues that withdrawing a pre-acceptance of evidence demonstrating a completion of a prerequisite for a licensing action is not the same as refusing to issue the CAD, since no CAD is being applied for in this case.

D. Applicant's Reply

[17] In his final reply, the Applicant's Representative states that “AAT Global categorically rejects all 16 items in the letter from Mr. Walker to [the Tribunal] of February 1, 2013.”

III. ANALYSIS

[18] The Tribunal is a creature of statute. As such, any powers exercised by the Tribunal must be provided for in statutory law. Subsection 2(2) of the Transportation Appeal Tribunal of Canada Act, S.C. 2001, c. 29 (TATC Act), provides that the Tribunal has jurisdiction in respect of reviews and appeals as expressly provided under the Act, as well as the other statutes enumerated in that subsection.

[19] The jurisdiction provided to the Tribunal under the Act is limited to the powers to review decisions made by the Minister in relation to: a) CADs, as found in section 6.72 (a request for review resulting from a refusal to issue or amend a CAD); section 6.9 (an enforcement suspension or cancellation of a CAD); section 7 (a suspension of a CAD for an immediate threat to aviation safety or security); section 7.1 (a suspension, cancellation or refusal to renew a CAD); and in relation to: b) the assessment of monetary penalties under section 7.7 of the Act.

[20] The matter at hand is not related to an assessment of a monetary penalty. As such, the Agreement between the Minister and AAT Global must qualify as a CAD in order for the Tribunal to have jurisdiction on this issue.

[21] The Act defines a CAD as “any licence, permit, accreditation, certificate or other document issued by the Minister under Part I to or with respect to any person or in respect of any aeronautical product, aerodrome, facility or service.” Based on this definition, the Agreement must constitute a licence, permit, accreditation, certificate or other document issued by the Minister under Part I of the Aeronautics Act in order to qualify as a CAD.

[22] While the range of documents that fall under the definition of a CAD may seem broad, the scope of documents that qualify as a CAD is limited by the terms “issued by the Minister” and “under Part I”. In this matter, there is no question that the Agreement was issued by the Minister. However, in order for the Agreement to constitute a CAD, it must also be shown to have been issued under Part I of the Act.

[23] To be considered a CAD for the purposes of the Act, a document must be made pursuant to a statutory provision which expressly authorizes the Minister to issue such a document. No provision exists under Part I of the Act which provides for the acceptance, accreditation or certification of the flight training services of an organization like AAT Global. Since no provision in the Act expressly provides for an agreement such as that between the Minister and AAT Global, the Agreement cannot be seen to fulfill the requirement of being made under Part I of the Act.

[24] Since the Agreement between the Minister and AAT Global was not created pursuant to Part I of the Act, the Agreement does not qualify as a CAD. Consequently, the Tribunal has no jurisdiction to review the Minister's decision to cancel the Agreement.

IV. RULING

[25] The Tribunal does not have jurisdiction to review this matter. Consequently, the Tribunal must deny the Applicant's Request for Review.

April 22, 2013

J. Richard W. Hall

Chairperson

Décisions

Dossier no P-3937-99 (TATC)
Dossier no RDIMS 7390684 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL D'APPEL DES TRANSPORTS DU CANADA

ENTRE :

AAT Global Inc., requérant(e)

- et -

Ministre des transports, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l’aéronautique L.R.C. 1985, ch. A-2
RAC 421.40(3)


Décision interlocutoire
J. Richard W. Hall


Décision : le 22 avril 2013

Référence : AAT Global Inc. c. Canada (Ministre des Transports), 2013 TATCF 12 (Décision interlocutoire)

Décidé sur la base des observations écrites

DÉCISION SUR LA COMPÉTENCE ET RAISONS

Arrêt : Le Tribunal n'a pas compétence pour examiner cette affaire. Par conséquent, le Tribunal doit refuser la requête en révision du requérant.

I. HISTORIQUE

[1] Le 4 avril 2011, le ministre des Transports (ministre) a envoyé une lettre à AAT Global Inc. (AAT Global), qui renouvelait un accord visant à accepter des services de formation de qualification de type fournis par AAT Global relativement au problème des qualifications de type d'équipage multiple (l'accord). Plus précisément, l'accord stipulait ce qui suit :

Transport Canada acceptera les candidatures recommandées par AAT Global INC. pour les qualifications de type d'équipage multiple en vertu du RAC 421.40(3), lorsque la formation de qualification de type a été fournie par AAT Global Inc...

[2] L'accord stipulait neuf conditions à respecter par AAT Global et prévoyait que l'accord demeurerait en vigueur jusqu'à la première des quatre dates, l'une d'entre elles étant « la date à laquelle l'une des conditions définies dans le présent accord est violée ».

[3] Le 9 mars 2012, le ministre a envoyé une lettre de résiliation à AAT Global pour ne pas avoir respecté les conditions de l'accord, plus précisément pour ne pas avoir envoyé une liste de candidats avant le début de leur formation. Le ministre a envoyé une nouvelle lettre à AAT Global le 25 avril 2012 concernant la résiliation (lettre d'explication), dont une copie électronique a également été envoyée au représentant du requérant par courriel.

[4] Le 20 novembre 2012, AAT Global a envoyé au Tribunal d'appel des transports du Canada (Tribunal) une requête en révision de la décision du ministre de résilier l'accord. Toutefois, avant de planifier une audience en révision, le Tribunal a demandé aux parties de lui faire part de leurs observations sur la compétence du Tribunal à entendre cette affaire.

II. ARGUMENTS

A. Ministre

[5] Dans ses observations, le ministre a identifié trois questions à considérer par le Tribunal lors de la détermination de sa compétence dans cette affaire :

  1. L'accord entre AAT Global et le ministre était-il un document d'aviation canadien (DAC)?;
  1. Si oui, quelle disposition législative confère le droit au Tribunal d'examiner cette décision?;
  1. La requête en révision d'AAT Global était-elle tardive conformément au paragraphe 7.1(3) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique L.R.C. 1985, ch. A-2 (Loi).

[6] Le ministre soutient que le Tribunal n'avait pas compétence pour entendre cette affaire, car l'accord entre AAT Global et le ministre n'est pas un DAC tel que prévu par la Loi.

[7] Le ministre fait valoir que l'accord entre AAT Global et le ministre doit être un DAC pour qu'il puisse être examiné par le Tribunal. En appliquant les éléments de la définition par la Loi d'un DAC, le ministre soutient que la requête en révision d'AAT Global doit être rejetée, étant donné que l'accord entre le ministre et AAT Global n'est ni une licence, ni un permis identifié dans le RAC. Il ne s'agit pas non plus d'un agrément qui octroie une autorisation ou un statut officiel basé sur le respect de normes au moyen d'un processus de test ou de certification, comme mentionné à l'alinéa 4.9a) de la Loi. Le ministre fait valoir que l'accord n'est pas un certificat puisqu'il n'atteste en aucun cas un fait, ni ne fournit une autorisation à agir de manière spécifique.

[8] De plus, le ministre soutient que l'accord n'est pas « un autre document délivré ... sous le régime de la partie I » de la Loi, tel que décrit dans la définition par la Loi d'un DAC. Bien que l'accord constitue une acceptation, le ministre laisse entendre qu'il ne s'agit pas d'une autorisation, puisqu'il n'octroie aucun privilège ou délégation de pouvoir.

[9] Le ministre fait valoir que l'accord n'est pas un DAC, mais soutient ensuite que si le Tribunal le jugeait comme tel, la seule disposition de la Loi pouvant s'appliquer à une résiliation serait l'article 7.1.

[10] Le ministre soutient que si le Tribunal considère que l'accord entre AAT Global et le ministre est un DAC, la requête en révision d'AAT Global a été néanmoins déposée « au-delà de toute tolérance jugée raisonnable susceptible d'être appliquée » au délai de prescription de 30 jours défini dans le paragraphe 7.1(3) de la Loi. En effet, le ministre fait valoir qu'AAT Global n'a envoyé sa requête en révision que cinq mois et demi après que le représentant du requérant ait confirmé la réception de la lettre d'explication relativement à la décision du ministre de résilier l'accord. Par conséquent, le ministre soutient que la requête en révision d'AAT Global est inopportune et ne doit pas être acceptée par le Tribunal.

B. Requérant

[11] Le représentant du requérant soutient que l'accord entre AAT Global et le ministre est un document conforme à la Loi. Selon le représentant du requérant, « la logique nous dit que si le ministre résilie l'accord, celui-ci a délivré l'accord ». Le représentant du requérant fait valoir que les preuves présentées devant le Tribunal démontrent que le Tribunal a compétence pour examiner la décision du ministre sur ce point, puisque le document en question est un « autre document » délivré par le ministre.

[12] Concernant les observations du ministre sur le non-respect des délais de la requête en révision, le représentant du requérant soutient qu'AAT Global n'a pas reçu la lettre de résiliation du ministre daté du 9 mars 2012, car celle-ci a été envoyée à une ancienne adresse d'AAT Global et non pas à son adresse actuelle. Par conséquent, le représentant du requérant fait valoir qu'il était impossible pour lui de déposer une requête en révision de la décision du ministre dans la période de 30 jours prévue par la Loi.

[13] Le représentant du requérant soutient que les cinq accords écrits par le ministre ces 13 dernières années constituent un « autre document délivré par le ministre », comme indiqué dans la Loi, relevant ainsi de la compétence du Tribunal.

C. Réponse du ministre

[14] Le ministre soutient qu'il convient de faire la différence entre l'acceptation des preuves démontrant la satisfaction à chaque exigence avant la délivrance d'un DAC et la délivrance réelle d'un DAC à une personne.

[15] Le ministre soutient que la correspondance servant à accepter préalablement des éléments de preuves spécifiques concernant la délivrance d'un DAC pour les futurs candidats ne figure dans aucune disposition relative au DAC dans la partie I de la Loi. Par conséquent, elle ne peut pas être considérée comme un « autre document délivré ... sous le régime de la partie I » tel que l'indique la définition d'un DAC.

[16] En outre, le ministre fait valoir que retirer une acceptation préalable des preuves démontrant la satisfaction d'un prérequis pour une attribution de licence ne revient pas à refuser de délivrer un DAC, étant donné qu'aucun DAC n'est appliqué dans ce cas.

D. Réponse du requérant

[17] Dans sa réponse finale, le représentant du requérant indique que « AAT Global rejette de façon catégorique les 16 éléments figurant dans la lettre de M. Walker au [Tribunal] datant du 1er février 2013. »

III. ANALYSE

[18] Le Tribunal est une créature issue de la loi. Par conséquent, les pouvoirs exercés par le Tribunal doivent être prévus par la loi. Le paragraphe 2(2) de la Loi sur le Tribunal d'appel des transports du Canada, L.C. 2001, ch. 29 (Loi TATC) prévoit que le Tribunal a compétence relativement aux révisions et aux appels, comme l'indiquent explicitement la Loi, ainsi que les autres lois mentionnées dans ce paragraphe.

[19] La compétence attribuée au Tribunal en vertu de la Loi est limitée aux pouvoirs d'examiner les décisions prises par le ministre relativement : a) aux DAC, comme l'indique l'article 6.72 (une requête en révision découlant d'un refus de délivrer ou de modifier un DAC; l'article 6.9 (une annulation ou une suspension d'un DAC); l'article 7 (une suspension d'un DAC en raison d'un danger immédiat pour la sécurité ou la sûreté aérienne); l'article 7.1 (une suspension, une annulation ou un refus de renouveler un DAC); et relativement : b) à la détermination des amendes en vertu de l'article 7.7 de la Loi.

[20] La présente affaire n'est pas liée à la détermination d'une amende. Par conséquent, l'accord entre le ministre et AAT Global doit être considéré comme un DAC afin que le Tribunal ait compétence sur cette question.

[21] La Loi définit un DAC comme suit : « tout document – permis, licence, brevet, agrément, autorisation, certificat ou autre – délivré par le ministre sous le régime de la partie I et concernant des personnes, des aérodromes, ou des produits, installations ou services aéronautiques ». En se basant sur cette définition, l'accord doit être une licence, un permis, un agrément, un certificat ou un autre document délivré par le ministre sous le régime de la partie I de la Loi sur l'aéronautique afin qu'il puisse être considéré comme un DAC.

[22] Bien que l'éventail de documents correspondant à la définition d'un DAC puisse sembler large, les documents considérés comme étant des DAC sont limités par les termes « délivrés par le ministre » et « sous le régime de la partie I ». Dans cette affaire, il ne fait aucun doute que l'accord a été délivré par le ministre. Toutefois, pour que l'accord puisse être considéré comme un DAC, il convient également de démontrer qu'il a été délivré sous le régime de la partie I de la Loi.

[23] Pour être considéré comme un DAC aux fins de la Loi, un document doit être élaboré en vertu d'une disposition législative qui autorise expressément le ministre à délivrer un tel document. Aucune disposition en vertu de la partie I de la Loi prévoyant l'acceptation, l'agrément ou la certification de services d'entraînement au pilotage d'une société comme AAT Global n'existe. Puisqu'aucune disposition de la Loi ne prévoit expressément un accord tel que celui existant entre le ministre et AAT Global, l'accord ne peut pas être considéré comme conforme aux exigences d'élaboration sous le régime de la partie I de la Loi.

[24] Étant donné que l'accord entre le ministre et AAT Global n'a pas été créé conformément à la partie I de la Loi, celui-ci n'est pas considéré comme un DAC. Par conséquent, le Tribunal n'a pas compétence pour examiner la décision du ministre de résilier l'accord.

IV. DÉCISION

[25] Le Tribunal n'a pas compétence pour examiner cette affaire. Par conséquent, le Tribunal doit refuser la requête en révision du requérant.

Le 22 avril 2013

J. Richard W. Hall

Président