Decisions

TATC File No. O-3975-27
MoT File No. 5802-294339 (PAHRL)

TRANSPORTATION APPEAL TRIBUNAL OF CANADA

BETWEEN:

Andrew Charles Turcotte, Applicant

- and -

Minister of Transport, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
paragraph 6.71(b) of the Aeronautics Act, R.S.C., 1985, c. A-2


Review Determination
Richard F. Willems


Decision: March 21, 2014

Citation: Turcotte v. Canada (Minister of Transport), 2014 TATCE 13 (Review)

Heard in: Sudbury, Ontario, on November 7, 2013

REVIEW DETERMINATION AND REASONS

Held: The Minister of Transport has proven, on the balance of probabilities, that the applicant, Andrew Charles Turcotte, has not provided proof of a completed and passed multi-engine flight test. Therefore, the Minister's decision is upheld.

I. BACKGROUND

[1] In 1991, Andrew Charles Turcotte was a student at Laurentide Aviation taking multi‑engine training. Mr. Turcotte's log book indicates that on October 10, 1991, he completed a flight test given to him by Glenn French. Mr. Turcotte stopped flying in 1993, and resumed in 2002.

[2] In 2004, he started the process of having Transport Canada issue him a multi‑engine rating, and was informed that it was unable to do so until a retest had been completed and all the necessary paperwork received by Transport Canada. In May 2013, he once more started the process of having Transport Canada issue him the rating. In a letter dated May 16, 2013, Transport Canada informed Mr. Turcotte that the Minister had decided to refuse to issue him a multi-engine rating because he was unable to show proof of meeting the requirement of standard 421.38(3)(a) to the Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96-433 (CARs). Specifically, he had not provided proof of a completed and passed multi‑engine flight test.

II. STATUTES and standards

[3] Paragraph 6.71(b) of the Aeronautics Act, R.S.C., 1985, c. A‑2 (Act), reads as follows:

6.71 (1) The Minister may refuse to issue or amend a Canadian aviation document on the grounds that

(b) the applicant or any aircraft, aerodrome, airport or other facility in respect of which the application is made does not meet the qualifications or fulfil the conditions necessary for the issuance or amendment of the document

[4] Standard 421.38(3)(a) to the CARs reads as follows:

421.38 Requirements

(3) Multi-engine Class Rating - Requirements

(a) Skill

An applicant for a multi‑engine class rating shall successfully complete a flight test as pilot-in-command of a multi-engine class aeroplane, in accordance with Schedule 7 “Flight Test for the Issuance of a Multi-Engine Class Rating – Aeroplane” of Standard 428 - Conduct of Flight Tests.

III. EVIDENCE

A. Minister

(1) Deborah Fyke

[5] Deborah Fyke is the acting supervisor for civil aviation services in the Ontario region. She has been in the general aviation division for 26 years in pilot licensing.

[6] She described the procedure that she undertook in 2013 to locate Mr. Turcotte's multi‑engine flight test. In 1991, prior to using electronic files, all applications were submitted in duplicate. She found no evidence of a multi-engine flight test in the regional office and also had headquarters in Ottawa check its files. She checked the electronic file system, which has been in place since 2000, and found no record of the flight test on Mr. Turcotte's file.

[7] Next she checked the file systems for the instructor who had done the training, as well for Mr. French, who was the pilot examiner in this case.

[8] In the 1990s, a card system was used to record all flight tests. This system was also checked using Mr. Turcotte's file number, and again no flight test was found. The only reference to the flight test in question was a note dated 1994, which indicated that Mr. Turcotte was looking for the 1991 flight test (Exhibit M‑8); however, no follow-up action seems to have taken place at that time.

[9] She stated that the search did reveal that an attempt had been made by Mr. Turcotte in 2004 to have the endorsement made (Exhibit M‑4). What was found was a copy of Mr. Turcotte's log book entries for the training, pre-flight test, and multi-engine flight test; as well as a receipt for the payment of the multi-engine endorsement, dated October 28, 2004 (Exhibit M‑6), and the application for the multi-engine endorsement, dated October 25, 2004 (Exhibit M‑5). This application was not signed by the instructor that was shown to have done the training, nor by the person who had conducted the pre-flight test recorded in Mr. Turcotte's log book (Exhibit M‑7).

[10] At the conclusion of the 2004 attempt, there is a telephone record signed by Louis Parsons which spells out the remaining steps that Mr. Parsons felt were necessary to issue a multi-engine rating, which were a letter of recommendation from a qualified instructor, as well as another flight test.

[11] Mr. Turcotte chose not to cross-examine the witness.

(2) Richard Schobesberger

[12] Richard Schobesberger has been with Transport Canada since 1988. Prior to that time, he accumulated 7,500 hours of flying time primarily in instructing, multi-engine training, and testing. He currently holds the title of regional manager of civil aviation services.

[13] Mr. Schobesberger described the process that would take place at Transport Canada when dealing with an application for a multi-engine rating. Transport Canada looks for the application form, the fee, and the flight test with all the appropriate sections completed, as well as the instructor's recommendation, and other documents depending on the nature of the application. In the case of Mr. Turcotte's application, there is no copy of the flight test, and as a result, no assessment of his skill level of the required exercises. He stated that by conforming to the required exercises and the grading system, Transport Canada is able to ensure that all pilots meet the standards.

[14] He further stated that in his opinion, since Mr. Turcotte's flight test was done over two decades ago, and since there is no proof of any training having taken place since that time, he would be apprehensive to issue him a multi-engine rating. He would be concerned that the skills necessary to operate the aircraft would not be available in the case of an emergency.

[15] He testified that a pilot examiner is required to keep records of all the flight tests done by them for two years, and that this is part of the agreement of the letter of appointment.

B. Applicant

(1) Andrew Charles Turcotte

[16] In October 1991, Andrew Charles Turcotte was a student at Laurentide Aviation. He testified that on October 10, 1991, he completed a multi-engine flight test administered by Mr. French, and was given a temporary pilot licence with a multi-engine endorsement signed by Mr. French; however, he does not have that document at this time.

[17] From 1993, Mr. Turcotte was no longer involved in flying until 2002, when he began to pursue anything missing in his flight training records. He contacted Laurentide Aviation and he believes that the chief flight instructor (CFI) at the time used the company logs to verify that the flight times logged into Mr. Turcotte's personal log book were correct (Exhibit M‑7).

[18] Mr. Turcotte testified that the training and test flights took place, but that he never had custody of the flight test report itself.

IV. DISCUSSION

[19] From the evidence before me, I see that Mr. Turcotte has four hours of multi‑engine time. In 1991, Laurentide Aviation's CFI certified the flight times in Mr. Turcotte's personal log book. This was confirmed in 2004 by another one of Laurentide Aviation's CFIs.

[20] Mr. Turcotte testified that he was given a flight test by Mr. French, and I have no reason to doubt that.

[21] What we do not have in evidence, however, is the flight test report, or the contents of the flight test report, or what was done, or the ability to which it was done. Without this information, it has not been proven that Mr. Turcotte successfully completed a flight test as required for the issuance of a multi-engine rating pursuant to standard 421.38(3)(a) to the CARs. Consequently, the Minister's refusal to issue him a multi-engine rating is reasonable.

[22] Without a verification of the skill portion of the flight test, Transport Canada would not be able to uphold the requirement to maintain the standard required by the Minister in order to ensure a level of competence and safety in all aspects of aviation.

[23] However, I am also concerned by the timeframe involved. I see no flight time logged in a multi-engine aircraft since 1991, which is 22 years. No one could be expected to be able to safely handle an emergency, such as asymmetric thrust, on a multi‑engine aircraft after not having flown one for that amount of time.

V. DETERMINATION

[24] The Minister of Transport has proven, on the balance of probabilities, that the applicant, Andrew Charles Turcotte, has not provided proof of a completed and passed multi-engine flight test. Therefore, the Minister's decision is upheld.

March 21, 2014

Richard F. Willems

Member

Décisions

Dossier no O-3975-27 (TATC)
Dossier no 5802-294339 (PAHRL) (MdT)

TRIBUNAL D'APPEL DES TRANSPORTS DU CANADA

ENTRE :

Andrew Charles Turcotte, requérant(e)

- et -

Ministre des transports, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
l’alinéa 6.71b) de la Loi sur l’aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, ch. A-2


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Richard F. Willems


Décision : le 21 mars 2014

Référence : Turcotte c. Canada (Ministre des Transports), 2014 TATCF 13 (révision)

[Traduction française officielle]

Révision entendue à Sudbury (Ontario), le 7 novembre 2013

DÉCISION ET MOTIFS DE LA RÉVISION

Arrêt : Le ministre des Transports a prouvé, selon la prépondérance des probabilités, que le requérant, Andrew Charles Turcotte, n'a pas prouvé qu'il a passé et réussi un test en vol sur multimoteur. Par conséquent, la décision du ministre est maintenue.

I. HISTORIQUE

[1] En 1991, Andrew Charles Turcotte était étudiant à Laurentide Aviation, où il suivait une formation multimoteur. Le carnet de M. Turcotte indique que le 10 octobre 1991, il a achevé un test en vol conduit par Glenn French. M. Turcotte a arrêté de piloter en 1993, et a repris cette activité en 2002.

[2] En 2004, il a entamé la procédure visant à obtenir la délivrance d'une qualification multimoteur par Transports Canada. Il a alors été informé que la délivrance était impossible tant qu'il n'avait pas repassé un test et tant que Transports Canada n'avait pas reçu les documents nécessaires. En mai 2013, il a, une fois de plus, entamé la procédure visant à obtenir la délivrance d'une qualification multimoteur par Transports Canada. Dans une lettre datée du 16 mai 2013, Transports Canada a informé M. Turcotte que le ministre avait décidé de refuser de lui délivrer une qualification multimoteur parce qu'il n'était pas en mesure de prouver qu'il satisfaisait aux exigences du standard 421.38(3)(a) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien, DORS/96-433 (RAC). De manière plus spécifique, il n'avait pas fourni de preuve qu'il a passé et réussi un test en vol sur multimoteur.

II. LOIS ET STANDARDS

[3] L'alinéa 6.71b) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C., 1985, ch. A‑2 (Loi), se lit comme suit :

6.71 (1) Le ministre peut refuser de délivrer ou de modifier un document d'aviation canadien pour l'un des motifs suivants : 

b) le demandeur ou l'aéronef, l'aérodrome, l'aéroport ou autre installation que vise la demande ne répond pas aux conditions de délivrance ou de modification du document;

[4] La Norme 421.38(3)a) du RAC se lit comme suit :

421.38 Exigences

(3) Exigences relatives à la qualification multimoteur

a) Compétences

Le demandeur d'une qualification sur multimoteurs doit réussir un test en vol à titre de commandant de bord d'un avion multimoteur conformément à l'annexe 7 « Test en vol nécessaire à la délivrance d'une qualification multimoteur - Avion » de la norme 428 - Conduite de tests en vol.

III. PREUVE

A. Ministre

(1) Deborah Fyke

[5] Deborah Fyke est superviseure suppléante pour les services de l'aviation civile, région de l'Ontario. Elle travaille pour la division responsable de l'aviation générale depuis 26 ans dans l'octroi de licences.

[6] Elle a décrit la procédure entreprise par elle-même en 2013 pour trouver le test en vol sur multimoteur de M. Turcotte. En 1991, soit avant que les fichiers électroniques ne soient utilisés, toutes les demandes étaient déposées en double. Elle n'a trouvé aucune preuve d'un test en vol sur multimoteur dans le bureau régional et a aussi demandé au siège à Ottawa de vérifier ses fichiers. Elle a vérifié le système de fichiers électroniques, qui est en place depuis 2000, et n'a trouvé aucune trace d'un test en vol dans le fichier de M. Turcotte.

[7] Puis, elle a effectué une recherche dans le système de fichiers portant sur l'instructeur qui avait conduit la formation, ainsi que sur M. French, qui était le pilote-examinateur.

[8] Dans les années 1990, un système de cartes était employé pour enregistrer tous les tests en vol. Ce système a également été vérifié à l'aide du numéro de fichier de M. Turcotte, et, une nouvelle fois, aucun test en vol n'a été trouvé. La seule référence au test en vol en question est une note datée de 1994, qui indiquait que M. Turcotte cherchait le test en vol de 1991 (pièce M‑8); cependant, aucune mesure de suivi ne semble avoir été prise à ce moment.

[9] Elle a déclaré que la recherche a révélé qu'une tentative avait été faite par M. Turcotte en 2004 pour obtenir l'annotation (pièce M-4). Ce qu'elle a trouvé est une copie des inscriptions faites sur le carnet de M. Turcotte concernant la formation, le test prévol et le test en vol sur multimoteur; ainsi qu'un reçu de paiement pour l'annotation multimoteur, daté du 28 octobre 2004 (pièce M-6) et la demande de l'annotation multimoteur, datée du 25 octobre 2004 (pièce M-5). Cette demande n'a pas été signée par l'instructeur dont il est démontré qu'il a conduit la formation, ni par la personne qui a conduit le test prévol consigné dans le carnet de M. Turcotte (pièce M-7).

[10] À la conclusion de la tentative de 2004, on trouve un enregistrement téléphonique signé par Louis Parsons explicitant les étapes restantes et nécessaires, selon M. Parsons, pour la délivrance d'une qualification multimoteur, c'est-à-dire une lettre de recommandation d'un instructeur qualifié, ainsi qu'un autre test en vol.

[11] M. Turcotte a choisi de ne pas contre-interroger le témoin.

(2) Richard Schobesberger

[12] Richard Schobesberger travaille pour Transports Canada depuis 1988. Avant cette époque, il a accumulé 7 500 heures de vol, majoritairement en instructions, formations sur multimoteurs et tests. Il a actuellement le titre de gestionnaire régional des services de l'aviation civile.

[13] M. Schobesberger a décrit la procédure qui serait suivie par Transports Canada pour traiter une demande de qualification multimoteur. Transports Canada cherche le formulaire de demande, les frais, et le test en vol, dont toutes les parties appropriées doivent être remplies, ainsi que la recommandation de l'instructeur, et d'autres documents suivant la nature de la demande. Dans le cas de la demande de M. Turcotte, aucune copie du test en vol n'existe et, par conséquent, aucune évaluation de son niveau d'aptitude pour les exercices requis. Il a déclaré que, en se conformant aux exercices et au système de notation requis, Transports Canada est en mesure de garantir que tous les pilotes satisfont aux normes.

[14] Il a, de plus, déclaré que, selon lui, étant donné que le test en vol de M. Turcotte a été effectué il y a plus de deux décennies, et étant donné qu'aucune preuve n'existe qu'une formation quelconque a été suivie depuis cette époque, il appréhenderait de lui délivrer une qualification multimoteur. Son inquiétude serait que les aptitudes nécessaires pour piloter un aéronef ne soient pas disponibles en cas d'urgence.

[15] Il a témoigné qu'un pilote examinateur est tenu de conserver des registres de tous les tests en vol conduits par eux-mêmes pendant deux ans, et que ceci fait partie de l'accord contenu dans la lettre d'engagement.

B. Requérant

(1) Andrew Charles Turcotte

[16] En octobre 1991, Andrew Charles Turcotte était étudiant à Laurentide Aviation. Il a attesté que, le 10 octobre 1991, il a effectué un test en vol sur multimoteur administré par M. French, et qu'il a reçu une licence de pilote temporaire avec une annotation multimoteur signée par M. French; cependant, il n'est pas en possession de ce document actuellement.

[17] À partir de 1993, M. Turcotte n'a plus exercé son activité de pilote, jusqu'en 2002, quand il a commencé à chercher à obtenir tout élément manquant à son dossier de formation pilote. Il a contacté Laurentide Aviation et il pense que le chef instructeur de vol (CIV) à cette époque a utilisé les inscriptions dans les carnets de la société pour vérifier que les temps de vol consignés dans le carnet personnel de M. Turcotte étaient exacts (pièce M-7).

[18] M. Turcotte a attesté que la formation et les vols de test ont eu lieu, mais qu'il n'a jamais eu la garde du rapport de test en vol proprement dit.

IV. DISCUSSION

[19] Sur la base de la preuve qui m'a été présentée, je constate que M. Turcotte a quatre heures de temps de vol sur multimoteur. En 1991, le CIV de Laurentide Aviation a certifié les temps de vol inscrits dans le carnet personnel de M. Turcotte. Ceci a été confirmé en 2004 par un autre CVI de Laurentide Aviation.

[20] M. Turcotte a témoigné que M. French lui a fait passer son test en vol, et je n'ai aucune raison de douter de cela.

[21] Ce que nous n'avons pas en preuve, cependant, est le rapport du test en vol, ou le contenu du rapport du test en vol, ou ce qui a été fait, ou ce qui a pu être fait. Sans ces informations, il n'a pas été prouvé que M. Turcotte a passé avec succès un test en vol tel que requis pour la délivrance d'une qualification multimoteur en vertu de la norme 421.38(3)a) du RAC. Par conséquent, le refus du ministre de lui délivrer une qualification multimoteur est raisonnable.

[22] Sans vérification de la partie relative aux aptitudes du test en vol, Transports Canada ne serait pas en mesure d'assurer l'exigence de respect du standard requise par le ministre afin d'assurer un niveau de compétence et de sécurité dans tous les aspects de l'aviation.

[23] Toutefois, je suis également préoccupé par le calendrier dans cette affaire. Je vois qu'aucun temps de vol à bord d'un aéronef multimoteur n'est inscrit depuis 1991, c'est-à-dire depuis 22 ans. On ne peut attendre de personne qu'il soit capable de gérer une urgence en toute sécurité, comme une poussée asymétrique, sur un aéronef multimoteur après avoir passé autant de temps sans piloter.

V. DÉCISION

[24] Le ministre des Transports a prouvé, selon la prépondérance des probabilités, que le requérant, Andrew Charles Turcotte, n'a pas prouvé qu'il a passé et réussi un test en vol sur multimoteur. Par conséquent, la décision du ministre est maintenue.

Le 21 mars 2014

Richard F. Willems

Conseiller