Decisions

TATC File No. O-4030-33
MoT File No. Z5504-082386 P/B

TRANSPORTATION APPEAL TRIBUNAL OF CANADA

BETWEEN:

Stephan Maisonneuve, Applicant

- and -

Minister of Transport, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
subsection 601.04(2) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96 433, pursuant to section 7.7 of the Aeronautics Act, R.S.C., 1985, c. A 2


Review Determination
J. Ed Macdonald


Decision: September 11, 2014

Citation: Maisonneuve v. Canada (Minister of Transport), 2014 TATCE 33 (Review)

Heard in: Ottawa, Ontario, on July 15, 2014

REVIEW DETERMINATION AND REASONS

Held: The Minister of Transport has proven, on a balance of probabilities, that the applicant, Stephan Maisonneuve, contravened subsection 601.04(2) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations. The monetary penalty of $750 is upheld.

The total amount of $750 is payable to the Receiver General for Canada and must be received by the Transportation Appeal Tribunal of Canada within 35 days of service of this determination.

I. BACKGROUND

[1] On January 29, 2014, the Minister of Transport (Minister) issued a Notice of Assessment of Monetary Penalty to the applicant, Stephan Maisonneuve, alleging a contravention of subsection 601.04(2) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96‑433 (CARs). Schedule A of the Notice reads as follows:

On or about September 24, 2013, at approximately 2053 UTC, at CYR538, you operated a Cessna 172N aircraft bearing registration C‑GQUO in the Class F Special Use Restricted airspace area known as CYR538 when you were not authorized to do so by the person specified for that purpose in the Designated Airspace Handbook, thereby contravening subsection 601.04(2) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations.

Monetary Penalty: $750.00

[2] On February 27, 2014, the Transportation Appeal Tribunal of Canada received a request for review of this decision from the applicant.

II. STATUTES AND REGULATIONS

[3] Subsection 601.04 (2) of the CARs reads as follows:

601.04 (2) No person shall operate an aircraft in Class F Special Use Restricted airspace unless authorized to do so by the person specified for that purpose in the Designated Airspace Handbook.

III. EVIDENCE

A. Minister

(1) Robert Gillespie

[4] The first witness, Robert Gillespie, is an experienced pilot with 18 years of aviation experience and was a civil aviation inspector with Transport Canada's Enforcement Branch, Ontario Region, at the time of the incident. He identified the Civil Aviation Daily Occurrence Reporting System (CADORS) report (Exhibit M‑1) indicating that the incident took place September 24, 2013 at 20:53 UTC. A visual flight rules (VFR) flight by a Cessna 172N with registration C‑GQUO was observed entering CYR538 (Rideau Hall, ON) at 1,600 feet.

[5] The witness, for the purpose of investigating this incident, requested and obtained from NAV CANADA the audio and radar data pertaining to the September 24, 2013 flight (Exhibits M‑2 and M‑3). These data were provided in the form of a CD, which the Minister's representative introduced into evidence (Exhibit M‑4).

[6] The flight plan data (Exhibit M‑5), also provided on the CD from NAV CANADA, were entered into evidence, confirming the VFR flight, the airplane registration, the owner of the aircraft as the Rockcliffe Flying Club, the pilot as Stephan Maisonneuve and the flight path that violated the airspace. The witness also discussed his review of the audio data (Exhibit M‑6).

[7] The witness described a series of screen shots from the Winrad program, labelled A through F (Exhibit M‑7), showing the aircraft prior to entering, going through and exiting the restricted airspace.

[8] An excerpt from the Designated Airspace Handbook that was in effect from August 22, 2013 until October 17, 2013 (Exhibit M‑8), defined the airspace CYR538 from surface to 3,000 feet. The operating procedures for this area indicate that “no person shall operate an aircraft within the area described unless the flight has been authorized by the User/Controlling Agency, except for air ambulance, military, police or IFR flights”.

[9] The Minister's representative introduced several documents establishing various elements relevant to the alleged contravention: a VFR Terminal Area Chart showing the location and range of CYR538 (Exhibit M‑9); the record from the Official Canadian Civil Aircraft Register database pertaining to the Cessna 172N aircraft bearing registration mark C‑GQUO, which names the Rockcliffe Flying Club as the registered owner of the aircraft (Exhibit M‑10); records from the Rockcliffe Flying Club requested by the witness, showing that the plane was flown by the applicant on September 24, 2013 (Exhibit M‑11); and, the record from the Distributed Air Personnel Licensing System pertaining to the applicant, listing his personal and licence information (Exhibit M‑12).

[10] The Minister's representative then introduced a chain of e‑mails exchanged between Mr. Gillespie and the representative of the controlling agency for CYR538, Sergeant Daniel Bernier of the RCMP (Exhibit M‑13), indicating that Mr. Maisonneuve had not sought permission to enter CYR538.

[11] The Minister's representative had the witness describe records of communications that occurred between the witness and the applicant over the course of the investigation into the incident. In a letter of investigation dated October 31, 2013 (Exhibit M‑14), the witness informed Mr. Maisonneuve that he was conducting an investigation into the flight of September 24, 2013, with regard to possible violations of the CARs. As a result of this letter, on December 2, 2013, the witness and Mr. Maisonneuve spoke by telephone about the incident. The witness recorded the conversation (Exhibit M‑16) and summarized it in a telephone record (Exhibit M‑15).

(2) Yan Picard

[12] The second witness, Yan Picard, is an air traffic control supervisor with NAV CANADA who works in the Capital sub-unit, which takes care of the Ottawa Region Terminal and Québec City Terminal, and is the procedure supervisor with 14 years' experience as an air traffic controller.On September 24, 2013, at approximately 20:53 UTC, he was working at the Ottawa terminal and identified C-GQUO as the aircraft checked in. The aircraft entered or turned toward CYR538.He confirmed that the pilot of the aircraft was informed that he had passed through CYR538 and the pilot acknowledged that he would be more careful in the future.As per procedure, Mr. Picard generated the Aviation Occurrence Report.Subsequently, the CADORS report (Exhibit M‑1) was issued. Mr. Picard stated that he is required to report all anomalies.

(3) Cross-examinations by the applicant

[13] Both witnesses were cross-examined by Mr. Maisonneuve. He introduced two pieces of evidence: a chart of the Rockcliffe Airport area airspace from March 2012 (Exhibit A‑1) and a VFR navigation chart for the Ottawa area from January 2012 (Exhibit A‑2). Cross-examination of the Minister's witnesses revealed that a change was made to CYR538 in February 2012, when the height restriction was raised from 1,500 to 3,000 feet and the radius expanded from 0.25 mile to 0.35 mile.

B. Applicant

[14] Mr. Maisonneuve took the stand in his own defense. He acknowledged responsibility for the incident and admitted that he should have looked over the chart prior to filing his flight plan. The plane he usually flew was unavailable, so he rented the C-GQUO Cessna 172 from the Rockcliffe Flying Club. This aircraft was not equipped with a GPS, which he was used to using.

IV. ARGUMENTS

A. Minister

[15] The Minister's representative submitted that the evidence had established all elements of the violation. He said that notwithstanding the fact that Mr. Maisonneuve did not intend to violate CYR538, this constitutes a strict liability offence. Pilots operating in this area should make themselves aware of these areas for not only demonstrating good airmanship but, more importantly, to ensure they are not breaching national security or any aviation regulations. The Minister's overall role in Canada is to ensure aviation safety, which is related to national security. Issuing monetary penalties to those who breach the aviation regulations is an enforcement tool that has to be exercised in situations like these in part to deter individuals like Mr. Maisonneuve from breaching the very regulations that were established to ensure aviation safety and proper conduct.

[16] With respect to the sanction, the Minister's representative submitted that subsection 601.04(2) of the CARs is a designated provision and that the maximum fine for an individual for breaching this provision is $3,000. The Minister imposed a fine of $750, which is the recommended penalty for a first offence.

B. Applicant

[17] Mr. Maisonneuve admitted responsibility for violating the airspace. He took issue with the fact that he had never been invited to discuss the matter with Mr. Gillespie. When he received the court date and the evidence, he then realized that he had violated the airspace. Arguing that he had a clean record and had never breached any laws, he requested leniency and that the sanction be waived.

V. ANALYSIS

[18] Based on the evidence and submissions from both parties, it is clear that the Minister has proven the offence as alleged. The only issue to be decided is the amount of the sanction. The penalty assessed by the Minister is the minimum recommended for this offence. It is my opinion that pilots must comply with and be aware of aviation regulations in the interest of aviation safety.

[19] I understand that Mr. Maisonneuve has issues with the process, however, a contravention of subsection 601.04(2) of the CARs is a strict liability offence and therefore, as the Supreme Court of Canada determined in R. v. Sault Ste. Marie (City), [1978] 2 SCR 1299, intent does not need to be proven in such a case, only that the offence was committed.

[20] Having considered the applicant's request for leniency, the fact that the contravention constitutes a strict liability offence and the fact that the Minister imposed the minimum recommended penalty for a first offence, I opt not to interfere with the Minister's decision.

VI. DETERMINATION

[21] The Minister has proven, on a balance of probabilities, that the applicant, Stephan Maisonneuve, contravened subsection 601.04(2) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations. The monetary penalty of $750 is upheld.

September 11, 2014

J. Ed Macdonald
Member

Décisions

Dossier no O-4030-33 (TATC)
Dossier no Z5504-082386 P/B (MdT)

TRIBUNAL D'APPEL DES TRANSPORTS DU CANADA

ENTRE :

Stephan Maisonneuve, requérant(e)

- et -

Mniistre des Transports, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
paragraphe 601.04(2) du Règlement de l’aviation canadien, DORS/96 433, conformément à l’article 7.7 de la Loi sur l’aéronautique, L.R.C. (1985), ch. A 2


Décision à la suite d'une révision
J. Ed Macdonald


Décision : le 11 septembre 2014

Référence : Maisonneuve c. Canada (Ministre des Transports), 2014 TATCF 33 (révision)

[Traduction française officielle]

Affaire entendue à Ottawa (Ontario) le 15 juillet 2014

DÉCISION ET MOTIFS À LA SUITE DE LA RÉVISION

Arrêt : La ministre des transports a prouvé, selon la prépondérance des probabilités, que le requérant, Stephan Maisonneuve, a contrevenu au paragraphe 601.04(2) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien. L'amende de 750 $ est maintenue.

Le montant total de 750 $ est payable au receveur général du Canada et doit parvenir au Tribunal d'appel des transports du Canada dans les 35 jours suivant la signification de la présente décision.

I. HISTORIQUE

[1] Le 29 janvier 2014, la ministre des Transports (ministre) a délivré au requérant, Stephan Maisonneuve, un avis d'amende pour une contravention alléguée au paragraphe 601.04(2) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien, DORS/96‑433 (RAC). L'annexe A de l'avis est rédigé comme suit :

[traduction]

Le ou vers le 24 septembre 2013, à environ 20 h 53 UTC, à CYR538, vous avez piloté un aéronef Cessna 172N portant la marque C‑GQUO dans l'espace aérien de classe F à statut spécial réglementé appelé CYR538 sans en avoir reçu l'autorisation de la personne indiquée dans le Manuel des espaces aériens désignés, contrevenant ainsi au paragraphe 601.04(2) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien.

Amende : 750,00 $

[2] Le 27 février 2014, le Tribunal d'appel des transports du Canada a reçu de la part du requérant une demande de révision de cette décision.

II. LOIS ET RÈGLEMENTS

[3] Le paragraphe 601.04(2) du RAC prévoit ce qui suit :

601.04 (2) Il est interdit d'utiliser un aéronef dans l'espace aérien de classe F à statut spécial réglementé, à moins d'en avoir reçu l'autorisation de la personne indiquée dans le Manuel des espaces aériens désignés.

III. PREUVE

A. Ministre

(1) Robert Gillespie

[4] Le premier témoin, Robert Gillespie, pilote chevronné ayant 18 années d'expérience en aviation, était inspecteur de l'aviation civile à la Direction de l'application de la loi de Transports Canada pour la région de l'Ontario au moment de l'incident. Il a décrit le rapport du Système de compte rendu quotidien des événements de l'aviation civile (SCRQEAC) indiquant que l'incident avait eu lieu le 24 septembre 2013 à 20 h 53 UTC (pièce M‑1). Un vol effectué conformément aux règles de vol à vue (VFR) par un Cessna 172N a été observé entrant dans l'espace aérien CYR538 (Rideau Hall, ON) à 1 600 pieds.

[5] Aux fins de son enquête sur l'incident, le témoin a demandé et obtenu auprès de NAV CANADA les données audio et radar relatives au vol du 24 septembre 2013 (pièces M‑2 et M‑3). Ces données ont été transmises sur un support CD, que la ministre a déposé en preuve (pièce M‑4).

[6] Les données sur le plan de vol (pièce M‑5), qui se trouvent également sur le CD de NAV CANADA, ont été déposées en preuve. Ces données confirment le statut VFR du vol, l'immatriculation de l'aéronef, le propriétaire de l'avion comme étant le Rockcliffe Flying Club, le pilote comme étant Stephan Maisonneuve et la trajectoire du vol ayant violé l'espace aérien. Le témoin a également présenté ses notes relatives aux données audio (pièce M‑6).

[7] Le témoin a décrit une série de captures d'écran provenant du programme Winrad, répertoriées de A à F (pièce M‑7), montrant l'aéronef avant son entrée dans l'espace aérien réglementé, sa traversée de cet espace aérien et sa sortie de celui-ci.

[8] Un extrait du Manuel des espaces aériens désignés, dans la version ayant cours du 22 août 2013 au 17 octobre 2013, définit l'espace aérien CYR538 comme s'étendant de la surface à 3 000 pieds. La procédure d'exploitation pour cette zone précise que « personne ne doit piloter un aéronef dans la zone décrite sans autorisation de vol préalable de l'organisme utilisateur/de contrôle, sauf pour les vols d'aéronefs médicaux, policiers ou militaires dans l'exercice de leurs fonctions et vols IFR ».

[9] Le représentant de la ministre a déposé plusieurs documents afin de prouver différents éléments relatifs à la contravention alléguée : une carte de région terminale VFR montrant la zone et la portée de CYR538 (pièce M‑9), l'enregistrement tiré de la base de données du Registre des aéronefs civils canadiens relatif à l'aéronef Cessna 172N portant la marque d'immatriculation C‑GQUO, sur lequel le Rockcliffe Flying Club apparaît comme le propriétaire immatriculé de l'appareil (pièce M‑10), des documents demandés par le témoin provenant des dossiers tenus par le Rockcliffe Flying Club montrant que le requérant a pris l'appareil le 24 septembre 2013 (pièce M‑11) et l'enregistrement du Système décentralisé des licences du personnel de l'air relatif au requérant, sur lequel figurent des renseignements personnels et sur sa licence de pilote (pièce M-12).

[10] Le représentant de la ministre a ensuite déposé un échange de courriels entre M. Gillespie et le représentant de l'organisme de contrôle de CYR538, le sergent Daniel Bernier de la GRC (pièce M‑13). Ces courriels montrent que M. Maisonneuve n'avait pas cherché à obtenir l'autorisation d'entrer dans CYR538.

[11] Le représentant de la ministre a fait décrire par le témoin les documents consignant les communications ayant eu lieu entre le témoin et le requérant au cours de l'enquête sur l'incident. Le 31 octobre 2013 (pièce M‑14), le témoin a informé M. Maisonneuve par lettre du fait qu'il effectuait une enquête sur le vol du 24 septembre 2013, relativement à la possibilité qu'une infraction au RAC ait été commise. À la suite de cette lettre, le 2 décembre 2013, le témoin et M. Maisonneuve se sont entretenus au téléphone au sujet de l'incident. Le témoin a enregistré la conversation (pièce M‑16) et l'a résumée dans un relevé des appels téléphoniques (pièce M‑15).

(2) Yan Picard

[12] Le deuxième témoin, Yan Picard, superviseur du contrôle de la circulation aérienne à NAV CANADA pour la sous-unité de la capitale, qui s'occupe du terminal de la région d'Ottawa et du terminal de Québec, est le superviseur chargé des procédures et possède 14 années d'expérience à titre de contrôleur aérien. Le 24 septembre 2013, à environ 20 h 53 UTC, il travaillait au terminal d'Ottawa et a identifié C‑GQUO alors que l'aéronef établissait la communication. L'aéronef est entré dans CYR538 ou a tourné vers cette zone. Le témoin a confirmé que le pilote de l'aéronef avait été informé qu'il avait traversé CYR538 et que le pilote avait répondu qu'il ferait plus attention à l'avenir. Conformément à la procédure en place, M. Picard a créé le compte rendu d'événements aéronautiques. Par la suite, le rapport du SCRQEAC (pièce M‑1) a été émis. M. Picard a précisé qu'il a l'obligation de rapporter toute anomalie.

(3) Contre-interrogatoires par le requérant

[13] Les deux témoins ont été soumis au contre-interrogatoire de M. Maisonneuve. Celui-ci a déposé deux éléments de preuve : une carte de l'espace aérien du secteur de l'aéroport de Rockcliffe en date de mars 2012 (pièce A‑1) et une carte de navigation VFR pour la région d'Ottawa en date de janvier 2012 (pièce A‑2). Il est ressorti du contre-interrogatoire des témoins de la ministre qu'une modification a été apportée à CYR538 en février 2012, alors que la limite supérieure de la zone est passée de 1 500 à 3 000 pieds et que le rayon est passé de 0,25 mille à 0,35 mille.

B. Requérant

[14] M. Maisonneuve, qui se représentait lui-même, a ensuite témoigné. Il a assumé la responsabilité de l'incident et admis qu'il aurait dû passer en revue la carte avant de déposer son plan de vol. L'avion qu'il était habitué de piloter n'était pas disponible, donc il avait loué le Cessna 172 immatriculé C‑GQUO du Rockcliffe Flying Club. Cet appareil n'était pas équipé d'un GPS, un outil qu'il avait l'habitude d'avoir à sa disposition.

IV. PLAIDOIRIES

A. Ministre

[15] Le représentant de la ministre a fait valoir que la preuve déposée permet de confirmer tous les éléments de l'infraction. Il a ajouté que sans égard au fait que M. Maisonneuve n'avait pas eu l'intention de traverser CYR538, il s'agit d'une infraction de responsabilité stricte. Les pilotes qui fréquentent la région devraient veiller à connaître ces zones particulières, non seulement par souci de professionnalisme mais aussi, voire surtout, pour s'assurer de n'enfreindre ni la sécurité nationale, ni les règlements régissant l'aviation. Globalement, le rôle de la ministre au Canada est d'assurer la sécurité aérienne, laquelle est liée à la sécurité nationale. L'imposition d'amendes à ceux qui contreviennent aux règlements régissant l'aviation constitue un outil d'application de la loi destiné à être employé dans des situations comme celle‑ci, entre autres objectifs pour dissuader les personnes comme M. Maisonneuve d'enfreindre les règlements qui ont été mis en place justement en vue d'assurer la sécurité aérienne et la bonne conduite.

[16] En ce qui concerne la sanction, le représentant de la ministre a observé que le paragraphe 601.04(2) du RAC est un texte désigné et que le montant maximal de l'amende pour une personne physique ayant contrevenu à cette disposition est de 3 000 $. La ministre a imposé une amende de 750 $, ce qui correspond au montant recommandé pour une première infraction.

B. Requérant

[17] M. Maisonneuve a admis qu'il était responsable d'avoir violé l'espace aérien. Toutefois, il a souhaité opposer le fait qu'il n'avait pas été invité à discuter de ce qui s'était produit avec M. Gillespie. Lorsqu'il a été informé de la date de l'audience et reçu les documents qui seraient déposés en preuve, c'est alors qu'il a réalisé qu'il avait violé l'espace aérien. Faisant valoir son dossier professionnel exemplaire et le fait qu'il n'avait aucun antécédent d'infraction, il a demandé au Tribunal de faire preuve de clémence et de lever sa sanction.

V. ANALYSE

[18] Considérant la preuve et les témoignages des deux parties, il ressort clairement que la ministre a prouvé la contravention telle qu'alléguée. La seule question à résoudre est celle du montant de la sanction. Le montant déterminé par la ministre correspond au montant minimal recommandé pour l'infraction en l'espèce. Je suis d'avis que les pilotes doivent observer et connaître les règlements qui régissent l'aviation, et ce, dans l'intérêt de la sécurité aérienne.

[19] Je peux comprendre que M. Maisonneuve ne soit pas satisfait de la manière dont le processus s'est déroulé. Cependant, le paragraphe 601.04(2) du RAC donne lieu à une infraction de responsabilité stricte. Or, dans un tel cas, comme l'a déterminé la Cour suprême du Canada dans l'arrêt R. c. Sault Ste. Marie, [1978] 2 RCS 1299, il n'est pas nécessaire d'établir que le contrevenant avait l'intention de commettre l'infraction, mais simplement que celle-ci a effectivement été commise.

[20] Ayant pris en compte l'appel à la clémence de la part du requérant, la nature de responsabilité stricte de l'infraction et le fait que la ministre ait imposé l'amende minimale recommandée pour une première infraction, je m'abstiens d'intervenir dans la décision de la ministre.

VI. DÉCISION

[21] La ministre des transports a prouvé, selon la prépondérance des probabilités, que le requérant, Stephan Maisonneuve, a contrevenu au paragraphe 601.04(2) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien. L'amende de 750 $ est maintenue.

Le 11 septembre 2014

J. Ed Macdonald
Conseiller