Decisions

TATC File No. A-4193-41
MoT File No. 5504-86417

TRANSPORTATION APPEAL TRIBUNAL OF CANADA

BETWEEN:

Manan Air Services Inc., Applicant

- and -

Minister of Transport, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Section 7.7, Aeronautics Act, R.S.C., 1985, c. A-2
Section 706.14 of the Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96-433


Review Determination
J. Ed Macdonald


Decision: January 19, 2017

Citation: Manan Air Services Inc. v. Canada (Minister of Transport), 2017 TATCE 01 (Review)

Heard in: Saint John, New Brunswick, on November 8, 2016

REVIEW DETERMINATION AND REASONS

Held: The Minister of Transport has proven, on a balance of probabilities, that the applicant, Manan Air Services Inc., has contravened section 706.14 of the Canadian Aviation Regulations. The monetary penalty of $3,750 is upheld.

I. BACKGROUND

[1] Transport Canada (TC) alleges that on or about January 28, 2015, at or near Grand Manan, New Brunswick, Manan Air Services Inc. (hereinafter MAS) was the holder of an air operator certificate and did not report to TC any reportable service difficulty related to an aircraft it operated (specifically C-GLLH). Transport Canada alleges that MAS thereby contravened section 706.14 of the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs). On December 3, 2015, pursuant to section 7.7 of the Aeronautics Act,the department issued a monetary penalty of $3,750. On January 4, 2016, MAS requested that the Transportation Appeal Tribunal of Canada (TATC) review Transport Canada's decision.

II. STATUTES AND REGULATIONS

[2] Section 706.14 of the Canadian Aviation Regulations (SOR/96-433) provides:

706.14 The holder of an air operator certificate shall report to the Minister, in accordance with Division IX of Subpart 21 of Part V, any reportable service difficulty related to any aircraft that it operates.

[3] Subsection 521.402(1) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations (SOR/96-433) provides:

521.402 (1) Subject to subsection (2), a person who is required to report a service difficulty shall submit a service difficulty report to the Minister within three working days after the day on which the reportable service difficulty is discovered.

[4] Subsection 7.7(1) of the Aeronautics Act (R.S.C., 1985, c. A-2) provides:

7.7 (1) If the Minister believes on reasonable grounds that a person has contravened a designated provision, the Minister may decide to assess a monetary penalty in respect of the alleged contravention, in which case the Minister shall, by personal service or by registered or certified mail sent to the person at their latest known address, notify the person of his or her decision.

III. EVIDENCE

A. Minister

Mr. Patrick Lastere

[5] The Minister called his only witness, Patrick Lastere, who is an experienced aircraft maintenance engineer (AME) and an enforcement investigator with Transport Canada Civil Aviation. Mr. Lastere received a Detection Notice on March 31, 2015 from the Airworthiness department and he was assigned to the investigation on April 7, 2015. The notice was filed as Exhibit M-1 and stated that during the evening of January 22, 2015, a Piper Seneca aircraft (C‑GLLH) suffered an in-flight loss of power on the right-hand engine. The engine was successfully shut down and the propeller was feathered by the pilot-in-command, Mr. P. Sonnenberg. The aircraft was then flown and landed without incident at the Saint John Airport in New Brunswick. The facts are documented in the aircraft journey log book of C-GLLH on page 40. A certified true copy of the log book was collected on February 25, 2015 at the Transport Canada office in Moncton and entered into evidence as Exhibit M-5. A Service Difficulty Report (SDR) is to be reported within three days of the incident.

[6] Mr. Lastere went on to describe the investigation and the advisory documents publicly available for stakeholders to determine whether a malfunction of an aircraft is to be reported. The overall objective of the SDR program is to improve the level of aviation safety. An Advisory Circular (AC), which is used as guidance material for stakeholders, was introduced asExhibit M‑2. The AC is a detailed description of how to enter a Service Difficulty Report. Accompanying this was Exhibit M-3, an SDR logic flow chart (Logic Chart). Mr. Lastere briefly explained how one determines if an SDR is required and that it applied to the incident in question. He reiterated that the SDR program uses the reporting information to improve the level of aviation safety and not to cast blame or fault.

[7] Mr. Lastere stated that the NACIS (National Aviation Company Information System), identifies to the transport world the types of air operator rules. He confirmed that Exhibit M-4 is a printout from the NACIS database that lists Manan Air Services Inc. (trade name Atlantic Charters) as a 703 air operator. It also lists the stakeholders and information on the aircraft, including Melanie Sonnenberg as the accountable executive, and that MAS was a certified air operator.

[8] CADORS (Civil Aviation Daily Occurrence Reporting System) report no. 2015A0165, Exhibit M-6, described the incident that occurred on January 22, 2015. Exhibit M-7, a printout from the Canadian Civil Aircraft Register, determined that C-GLLH was owned by Manan Air Services Inc. The referenced CADORS report was created by the Transportation Safety Board (TSB) a month after the event occurred. Air Traffic Control (ATC) did not create a CADORS report at the time of the event because the pilot-in-command did not declare an emergency. The operator failed to submit a Service Difficulty Report within the three business days as required by CARs 521.402 and CARs 706.14. The report was filed on February 4, 2015 (Exhibit M-8, Service Difficulty Report). Mr. Lastere noted on February 4, 2015 that two aircraft inspectors from TC, on an unrelated inspection at the Saint John airport, noticed aircraft C-GLLH on the ramp with the cowlings open. They spoke to the AMO (Approved Maintenance Operator) and took photos. Later that day, the SDR was filed by Manan Air Services Inc. As the incident took place on January 22, 2015, the report should have been filed within three business days, by January 27, 2015. A last piece of evidence introduced by the Minister was Exhibit M-9, the letter of investigation to Melanie Sonnenberg, issued on July 15, 2015. Subsequently, Mr. Lastere spoke with Paul Sonnenberg regarding the incident and Mr. Sonnenberg admitted it was an oversight on his part.

[9] The witness was cross-examined by Mr. Sonnenberg. He questioned Mr. Lastere on the regulations and the guidance provided by CARs. Mr. Sonnenberg entered the Maintenance Control Manual (MCM) used by Atlantic Charters, pg. 15, as Exhibit A-1. The inference was that the maintenance organization should have filed the SDR. He questioned the witness on the lack of supporting documents in CARs and which service difficulties were considered reportable. The cross-examination did not contradict any of the evidence of the violation.

B. Applicant

Mr. Paul Sonnenberg

[10] Mr. Sonnenberg gave evidence on behalf of MAS. He admitted to the late filing of the SDR. His explanation was that he was unclear of the procedure to report the incident and was not aware of the Advisory Circular or the Logic Chart initially. He found the definition of an SDR very broad and had no prior experience with this issue, and that he had done the best that he could under the circumstances by contacting other people in the industry.

[11] On cross-examination, Mr. Sonnenberg confirmed that he applied for electronic access to the Web-based Service Difficulty Reporting System (WSDRS) on January 29, 2015. He was aware that the responsibility of filing an SDR was on the air operator, according to section 706.14. He did not contact Transport Canada to see if the incident was reportable because he had a poor relationship with TC. He did contact an industry AMO and was advised of the Logic Chart. He stated he was unsure that a power plant, that is not functioning properly, is likely to affect the safety of an aircraft, its occupants or any other person. He stated that the failure of the engine was due to a component and not the engine as a whole.

IV. ARGUMENTS

A. Minister

[12] The Minister's representative submitted that the evidence established all the elements of the violation. Mr. Sonnenberg contravened the applicable section of CARs by failing to submit the SDR within the time limit. The regulations are clear and this is a strict liability offence. He stated the due diligence defence requires that a person exercise all the care and attention that could be legally expected of a person. Mr. Sonnenberg did not have a valid reason for not contacting Transport Canada to determine if a report needed to be filed. TC's overall role is to ensure aviation safety.

[13] With respect to sanction, the Minister's representative submitted that section 706.14 of CARs is a designated offence and provides a maximum fine of $15,000, and that $3,750 is the recommended penalty for a first offence.

B. Applicant

[14] Mr. Sonnenberg admitted responsibility for the offence although he took issue with the complexity of the regulations and guidance materials.

[15] Aviation safety is paramount. Mr. Sonnenberg felt that because he grounded the aircraft, it was not in operation and therefore could not affect safety. An SDR is required by Transport Canada for aviation safety. It is used to monitor trends across the country. It is not meant to lay blame on any individual. TC is looking for data that might indicate an issue related to safety.

V. ANALYSIS

[16] Having heard the evidence and submissions from both parties, it is clear the Minister has proven the offence as alleged. It is very important that operators comply with CARs in the interest of aviation safety. The elements of the violation are as follows and the Minister had the burden of proof to prove each and every one of them:

  • The existence of a failure or malfunction of, or defect in, an aeronautical product (i.e. service difficulty).
  • That the service difficulty affects or is likely to affect the safety of an aircraft, its occupants or any other person (i.e. reportable service difficulty).
  • The alleged violator must be the holder of the air operator certificate, in this instance Manan Air Services Inc.
  • The reportable service difficulty and all needed information were not reported by the air operator within the time limits.

[17] On January 22, 2015, MAS experienced a loss of power on the right-hand engine on a flight from Digby, Nova Scotia, while operating C-GLLH. The engine was shut down, the flight landed in Saint John and the aircraft was grounded. This was recorded as required in the log book. The existence of this malfunction should have been noted in a Service Difficulty Report and filed within three business days (by January 27, 2015) with TC. An SDR is filed when an incident is likely to affect the safety of an aircraft, its occupants or any other person (i.e. reportable service difficulty). Transport Canada, through the WSDRS, maintains a database of all occurrences which could affect aircraft safety. The purpose is to monitor trends in the interest of aviation safety.

[18] The Minister proved that MAS was a 703 air operator at the time and that Paul Sonnenberg was chief pilot and also operations manager. As such, he was responsible for filing the SDR by January 27, 2015. On February 4, 2015, two TC Investigators, while in Saint John on a non-related issue, noticed the aircraft C-GLLH with its engine cowlings open. They spoke with the AMO and took pictures. Later that day, an SDR report was filed by the operator.

[19] Mr. Sonnenberg felt that the CARs rules and supplementary materials were difficult to understand and very broad when it came to determining a reportable service difficulty. When questioned, he admitted he contacted four air industry people to clarify an SDR. He failed to contact TC because of previous experiences but did not elaborate on what they were. Initially, up until the cross-examination, he maintained that three broken studs on a cylinder did not constitute a malfunction of an aeronautical part. An engine shut down is definitely a safety concern. He also maintained that the aircraft was grounded, so it did not affect safety; however that is not the intent of service difficulty reporting. On January 29, 2015, he requested a login from TC for the WSDRS. He admitted knowing that he was responsible for filing the SDR. None of these arguments showed that he had exercised due diligence to prevent the contravention, nor was there any evidence that an SDR had been filed by another person or organization (as per section 521.403 of the CARs).

[20] Transport Canada is responsible for enforcing legislation that protects air safety. There are rules and regulations that must adhered to and there must be clear consequences for not reporting incidents such as this in the appropriate manner.

[21] All elements of the violation were proven. Mr. Sonnenberg gave no evidence that he exercised due diligence to prevent the contravention.

[22] I see no reason to interfere with the penalty assessed by the Minister.

VI. DETERMINATION

[23] The Minister of Transport has proven, on a balance of probabilities, that the applicant, Manan Air Services Inc., has contravened section 706.14 of the Canadian Aviation Regulations. The monetary penalty of $3,750 is upheld.

January 19, 2017

(Original signed)

James E. Macdonald

Member

Décisions

Dossier no A-4193-41 (TATC)
Dossier no 5504-86417 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL D'APPEL DES TRANSPORTS DU CANADA

ENTRE :

Manan Air Services Inc., requérant(e)

- et -

Ministre des Transports, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
l’article 7.7 de la Loi sur l’aéronautique, L.R.C., 1985, ch. A-2
l’article 706.14 du Règlement de l’aviation canadien, DORS/96-433


Décision à la suite d'une révision
J. Ed Macdonald


Décision : le 19 janvier 2017

Référence : Manan Air Services Inc. c. Canada (Ministre des Transports), 2017 TATCF 01 (révision)

[Traduction française officielle]

Affaire entendue à : Saint John (Nouveau‑Brunswick), le 8 novembre 2016

DÉCISION ET MOTIFS À LA SUITE DE LA RÉVISION

Arrêt : Le ministre des Transports a prouvé, selon la prépondérance des probabilités, que la requérante, Manan Air Services Inc., a contrevenu à l'article 706.14 du Règlement de l'aviation canadien. L'amende de 3 750 $ est maintenue.

I. HISTORIQUE

[1] Transports Canada (TC) allègue que, le ou vers le 28 janvier 2015, à Grand Manan (Nouveau‑Brunswick) ou à proximité de cet endroit, Manan Air Services Inc. (ci‑après MAS), qui était titulaire d'un certificat d'exploitant aérien, n'a pas fait rapport à TC d'une difficulté en service à signaler concernant un aéronef utilisé par elle (plus précisément, C-GLLH). Transports Canada allègue que MAS a par conséquent contrevenu à l'article 706.14 du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC). Le 3 décembre 2015, conformément à l'article 7.7 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique,le ministère lui a infligé une amende de 3 750 $. Le 4 janvier 2016, MAS a demandé que le Tribunal d'appel des transports du Canada (TATC) révise la décision de Transports Canada.

II. LOIS ET RÈGLEMENTS

[2] L'article 706.14 du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (DORS/96-433) dispose que :

706.14 Le titulaire d'un certificat d'exploitant aérien doit, conformément à la section IX de la sous‑partie 21 de la partie V, faire rapport au ministre de toute difficulté en service à signaler concernant tout aéronef qu'il utilise.

[3] Le paragraphe 521.402(1) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (DORS/96-433) dispose que :

521.402 (1) Sous réserve du paragraphe (2), la personne qui est tenue de faire un rapport de difficultés en service le transmet au ministre dans les trois jours ouvrables suivant la date de la découverte de la difficulté en service à signaler.

[4] Le paragraphe 7.7(1) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique (L.R.C., 1985, ch. A-2) dispose que :

7.7 (1) Le ministre, s'il a des motifs raisonnables de croire qu'une personne a contrevenu à un texte désigné, peut décider de déterminer le montant de l'amende à payer, auquel cas il lui expédie, par signification à personne ou par courrier recommandé ou certifié à sa dernière adresse connue, un avis l'informant de la décision.

III. PREUVE

A. Ministre

M. Patrick Lastere

[5] Le ministre a appelé un seul témoin, Patrick Lastere. M. Lastere est un technicien chevronné en entretien d'aéronefs (TEA) et un enquêteur chargé de l'application de la loi pour Transports Canada, Aviation civile. M. Lastere a reçu de la Direction de la navigabilité un avis de détection le 31 mars 2015, et il a été affecté à l'enquête, le 7 avril 2015. L'avis, déposé comme pièce M-1, précisait que, au cours de la soirée du 22 janvier 2015, une perte de puissance en vol touchant le moteur droit s'était produite sur un aéronef de type Piper Seneca (C‑GLLH). Le commandant de bord, M. P. Sonnenberg, a réussi à éteindre le moteur et à mettre l'hélice en drapeau. L'aéronef a alors été conduit à l'aéroport de Saint John (Nouveau-Brunswick) où il a atterri sans incident. Les faits sont consignés dans le carnet de route de l'aéronef C-GLLH, à la page 40. Un exemplaire certifié conforme de ce carnet a été produit le 25 février 2015 par le bureau de Transports Canada à Moncton et déposé en preuve comme pièce M-5. Le rapport de difficultés en service (RDS) doit être produit dans les trois jours de l'incident.

[6] M. Lastere a ensuite décrit l'enquête qu'il a menée et les documents publics que les intéressés peuvent consulter afin de déterminer si, en cas de mauvais fonctionnement d'un aéronef, il convient de faire un rapport. L'objectif global du programme de RDS est d'améliorer le niveau de sécurité aérienne. Une circulaire d'information (CI), qui sert de document d'orientation à l'intention des intéressés, a été déposée comme pièce M‑2. Cette CI décrit en détail comment faire un rapport des difficultés en service. Elle était accompagnée de la pièce M-3, un diagramme logique de RDS (diagramme logique). M. Lastere a expliqué brièvement comment déterminer s'il convient de faire un RDS et qu'il en fallait un pour l'incident en question. Il a rappelé que le programme de RDS utilise l'information rapportée pour améliorer le niveau de sécurité aérienne et non pour blâmer qui que ce soit.

[7] M. Lastere a dit que le SINCA (système d'information national des compagnies aériennes) informe le secteur des transports des types de règles s'appliquant aux transporteurs aériens. Il a confirmé que la pièce M-4 est une copie papier de la base de données du SINCA, selon laquelle Manan Air Services Inc. (dont le nom commercial est Atlantic Charters) est un exploitant aérien régi par le RAC 703. On y trouve également le nom des intéressés et des renseignements sur l'aéronef, notamment que Melanie Sonnenberg est la gestionnaire supérieure responsable et que MAS est un exploitant aérien certifié.

[8] Le rapport no 2015A0165 du CADORS (système de compte rendu quotidien des événements de l'Aviation civile), la pièce M-6, décrit l'incident qui est survenu le 22 janvier 2015. La pièce M-7, une copie papier du registre d'immatriculation des aéronefs civils canadiens, indique que l'appareil C-GLLH appartenait à Manan Air Services Inc. Le rapport CADORS a été établi par le Bureau de la sécurité des transports (BST) un mois après l'incident. Le contrôle de la circulation aérienne (CCA) n'a établi aucun rapport CADORS au moment de l'incident parce que le commandant de bord n'a pas déclaré qu'il s'agissait d'une urgence. L'exploitant n'a pas présenté le rapport de difficultés en service dans les trois jours ouvrables de l'incident comme l'exigent les articles 521.402 et 706.14 du RAC. Le rapport a été déposé le 4 février 2015 (pièce M-8, rapport de difficultés en service). M. Lastere a indiqué, le 4 février 2015, que deux inspecteurs d'aéronefs de TC, qui procédaient à une inspection sans lien avec l'incident à l'aéroport de Saint John, avaient remarqué l'appareil C-GLLH, capots ouverts, sur l'aire de trafic. Ils ont parlé au responsable de l'organisme de maintenance agréé (OMA) et pris des photos. Plus tard ce jour‑là, le RDS a été déposé par Manan Air Services Inc. Comme l'incident est survenu le 22 janvier 2015, le rapport aurait dû être déposé dans les trois jours ouvrables suivants, soit le 27 janvier 2015 au plus tard. Enfin, le ministre a produit en preuve la pièce M-9, la lettre d'enquête envoyée à Melanie Sonnenberg, en date du 15 juillet 2015. Par la suite, M. Lastere a parlé avec Paul Sonnenberg de l'incident et M. Sonnenberg a reconnu qu'il s'agissait d'un oubli de sa part.

[9] Le témoin a été contre‑interrogé par M. Sonnenberg. Ce dernier a questionné M. Lastere sur la réglementation et les lignes directrices établies par le RAC. M. Sonnenberg a déposé le Manuel de contrôle de la maintenance (MCM) utilisé par Atlantic Charters, p. 15, comme pièce A‑1. Il semble que l'organisme de maintenance aurait dû déposer un RDS. M. Sonnenberg a questionné le témoin au sujet de l'absence de documents à l'appui et du RAC, et sur les difficultés en service qui devraient être signalées. Le contre‑interrogatoire n'a permis de réfuter aucun des éléments de preuve de la violation.

B. Requérante

M. Paul Sonnenberg

[10] M. Sonnenberg a témoigné pour le compte de MAS. Il a admis avoir produit le RDS en retard. Il a expliqué qu'il ne connaissait pas bien la procédure à suivre pour signaler l'incident et qu'au départ, il n'était pas au courant de la Circulaire d'information ou du diagramme logique. Selon lui, la définition de RDS est très large et ce problème était nouveau pour lui. Il avait fait de son mieux dans les circonstances en communiquant avec d'autres personnes de l'industrie.

[11] En contre‑interrogatoire, M. Sonnenberg a confirmé qu'il avait présenté une demande d'accès électronique au Système Web de rapports de difficultés en service (SWRDS), le 29 janvier 2015. Il savait que l'obligation de déposer un RDS incombait à l'exploitant aérien, conformément à l'article 706.14. Il n'a pas communiqué avec Transports Canada pour savoir s'il devait faire rapport de l'incident parce que sa relation avec TC était mauvaise. Il a communiqué avec un OMA de l'industrie qui lui a parlé du diagramme logique. Il a dit qu'il ne savait pas vraiment si un groupe motopropulseur, qui ne fonctionne pas bien, risque de compromettre la sécurité d'un aéronef, de ses occupants ou de toute autre personne. La défaillance du moteur a été causée par un composant et non par le moteur dans son ensemble.

IV. ARGUMENTS

A. Ministre

[12] Le représentant du ministre a fait valoir que la preuve établissait tous les éléments de la violation. M. Sonnenberg a contrevenu à la disposition applicable du RAC en ne produisant pas le RDS dans le délai prescrit. Le règlement est clair et l'infraction commise en est une de responsabilité stricte. Selon le représentant du ministre, la défense de diligence raisonnable exige de la personne qui l'invoque qu'elle ait agi avec le soin et l'attention auxquels on s'attend en droit. M. Sonnenberg n'avait pas de raison valable de ne pas communiquer avec Transports Canada pour savoir si un rapport devait être déposé. Le rôle général de TC est de veiller à la sécurité aérienne.

[13] Quant à la sanction, le représentant du ministre a fait valoir que l'infraction visée à l'article 706.14 du RAC est une infraction désignée pour laquelle l'amende maximale prévue est de 15 000 $, et que l'amende recommandée pour une première infraction est de 3 750 $.

B. Requérante

[14] M. Sonnenberg a reconnu sa responsabilité pour ce qui est de l'infraction, bien qu'il s'élève contre la complexité du règlement et des documents d'orientation.

[15] La sécurité aérienne est primordiale. M. Sonnenberg estime que, puisqu'il a immobilisé l'aéronef au sol, celui-ci n'était plus en service et ne pouvait pas compromettre la sécurité. Transports Canada exige un RDS pour assurer la sécurité aérienne. Le rapport sert à surveiller les tendances au pays. Il ne vise pas à blâmer qui que ce soit. TC tente d'obtenir des données qui pourraient faire ressortir un problème de sécurité.

V. ANALYSE

[16] Après avoir entendu la preuve et les observations des deux parties, il m'apparaît évident que le ministre a prouvé l'infraction alléguée. Il est très important que les exploitants respectent le RAC pour des raisons de sécurité aérienne. Les éléments de la violation sont les suivants, et c'est au ministre qu'il incombait de prouver chacun d'eux :

  • L'existence d'une défaillance ou d'un mauvais fonctionnement, ou encore d'une défectuosité, touchant un produit aéronautique (c.‑à‑d. une difficulté en service).
  • La difficulté en service compromet ou risque de compromettre la sécurité d'un aéronef, de ses occupants ou de toute autre personne (difficulté en service à signaler).
  • L'auteur allégué de la violation doit être le titulaire du certificat d'exploitant aérien, dans le cas présent, Manan Air Services Inc.
  • L'exploitant aérien n'a pas fait rapport de la difficulté en service à signaler et de tous les renseignements nécessaires dans le délai prescrit.

[17] Le 22 janvier 2015, MAS a observé une perte de puissance touchant le moteur droit (de l'aéronef C-GLLH) au cours d'un vol en partance de Digby (Nouvelle‑Écosse). Le moteur a été coupé, l'aéronef a atterri à Saint John où il a été immobilisé au sol. L'incident a été consigné tel que requis dans le carnet de route. Ce mauvais fonctionnement aurait dû être constaté dans un rapport de difficultés en service, qui aurait dû être déposé dans les trois jours ouvrables (le 27 janvier 2015 au plus tard) auprès de TC. Un RDS est déposé lorsqu'un incident risque de compromettre la sécurité d'un aéronef, de ses occupants ou de toute autre personne (difficulté en service à signaler). Transports Canada, au moyen du SWRDS, consigne dans une base de données tous les incidents susceptibles de compromettre la sécurité d'un aéronef. L'objectif est de surveiller les tendances pour des raisons de sécurité aérienne.

[18] Le ministre a prouvé que MAS était un exploitant aérien régi par l'article 703 du RAC au moment de l'incident et que Paul Sonnenberg était le pilote en chef et le gestionnaire des opérations. À ce titre, il était responsable de déposer le RDS au plus tard le 27 janvier 2015. Le 4 février 2015, deux enquêteurs de TC, qui étaient à Saint John pour un problème non lié à l'incident, ont remarqué l'aéronef C-GLLH dont les capots du moteur étaient ouverts. Ils ont parlé à l'OMA et pris des photos. Plus tard ce jour‑là, un rapport RDS a été déposé par l'exploitant.

[19] M. Sonnenberg a jugé que les dispositions du RAC et les documents complémentaires étaient difficiles à comprendre et que leur caractère très général pose problème lorsque vient le temps de déterminer si une difficulté en service doit être signalée. Interrogé à ce sujet, il a admis avoir communiqué avec quatre personnes de l'industrie aérienne pour en savoir plus sur le RDS. Il n'a pas communiqué avec TC à cause de ses expériences passées avec ce ministère, mais il n'a pas précisé en quoi consistaient ces expériences. Dès le départ, et jusqu'au contre‑interrogatoire, il a soutenu que trois goujons de cylindre cassés ne constituaient pas un mauvais fonctionnement d'une pièce aéronautique. Certes, un arrêt du moteur soulève un problème de sécurité. Il a également soutenu que l'aéronef était immobilisé au sol, de sorte que sa sécurité n'était pas compromise; or, là n'est pas le but visé par le rapport de difficulté en service. Le 29 janvier 2015, il a présenté à TC une demande d'accès au SWRDS. Il a admis qu'il savait qu'il devait déposer le RDS. Aucun de ces arguments ne montre qu'il a pris les précautions voulues pour se conformer, et rien ne prouve qu'un RDS ait été déposé par une autre personne ou un autre organisme (conformément à l'article 521.403 du RAC).

[20] Transports Canada est chargé de l'application de la législation sur la sécurité aérienne. Il y a des règles et des règlements à respecter, et les conséquences pour ceux qui ne signalent pas de manière appropriée les incidents comme celui de l'espèce doivent être claires.

[21] Tous les éléments de la violation ont été prouvés. M. Sonnenberg n'a pas prouvé qu'il a pris toutes les précautions voulues pour se conformer à la loi.

[22] Je ne vois aucune raison de modifier l'amende infligée par le ministre.

VI. DÉCISION

[23] Le ministre des Transports a prouvé, selon la prépondérance des probabilités, que la requérante, Manan Air Services Inc., a contrevenu à l'article 706.14 du Règlement de l'aviation canadien. L'amende de 3 750 $ est maintenue.

Le 19 janvier 2017

(Original signé)

James E. Macdonald

Conseiller