Decisions

TATC File No. A-4185-68
MoT File No. 5802-387681

TRANSPORTATION APPEAL TRIBUNAL OF CANADA

BETWEEN:

Fernando Miguel Salvador , Applicant

- and -

Minister of Transport, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Paragraph 6.71(1)(b) of the Aeronautics Act, R.S.C., 1985, c. A-2


Review Determination
J. Ed Macdonald


Decision: March 13, 2017

Citation: Salvador v. Canada (Minister of Transport), 2017 TATCE 06 (Review)

Heard in: Halifax, Nova Scotia, on November 29, 2016

REVIEW DETERMINATION AND REASONS

Held: The Minister has proven, on a balance of probabilities, that the applicant does not fulfil the conditions necessary for the issuance of a Canadian aviation document as per paragraph 6.71(1)(b) of the Aeronautics Act.

I. BACKGROUND

[1] The notice of refusal to issue, dated March 24, 2016, states that qualifications or conditions necessary for issuance or amendment are not met or fulfilled as per paragraph 6.71(1)(b) of the Aeronautics Act. Details of the Minister's grounds for the decision are that on September 26, 2015, the applicant failed to meet the required standards during a flight test conducted on BE02 flight simulator TC-65 at Flight Safety International, Downsview, Toronto, for the issuance of a pilot proficiency check (PPC).

[2] On October 26, 2015, the applicant requested a review by the Transportation Appeal Tribunal of Canada (Tribunal) relating to a failed PPC.

II. STATUTES AND REGULATIONS

[3] Paragraph 6.71(1)(b) of the Aeronautics Act reads as follows:

6.71 (1) The Minister may refuse to issue or amend a Canadian aviation document on the grounds that

[…]

(b) the applicant or any aircraft, aerodrome, airport or other facility in respect of which the application is made does not meet the qualifications or fulfil the conditions necessary for the issuance or amendment of the document; or

[…]

[4] Transport Canada's Pilot Proficiency Check and Aircraft Type Rating Flight Test Guide (Aeroplanes), First Edition(11/2007), TP 14727 (Flight Test Guide) provides that the following six elements are evaluated with a 4-point scale:

Performance

Aircraft Handling

Technical Skills and Knowledge

Situational Awareness

Flight Management Skills

Safety of Flight

[5] Section 22 of the Flight Test Guide concerns pilot not flying (PNF) duties:

22. PNF DUTIES

Aim

Determine the candidate's ability to demonstrate proper division of PNF duties in accordance with the COM and SOP's.

Description

Each pilot will demonstrate PNF duties sufficient to determine compliance with and knowledge of, aircraft procedures and company SOP's. This will include normal and abnormal procedures while operating as PNF.

[…]

Performance Criteria

Base the assessment on the candidate's ability to:

a. adhere to PNF duties as outlined in the COM and/or SOP's;

b. complete necessary duties assigned by the pilot flying;

c. maintain crew discipline during normal and abnormal procedures;

d. demonstrate familiarity with the procedures contained in the QRH or paper checklist;

e. demonstrate FMS inputs, as applicable;

f. maintain situational awareness as a crew member;

g. effectively share cockpit workload; and

h. maintain crew awareness, or attention to flight mode annunciations.

III. EVIDENCE

A. Minister

(1) Mr. Glen Cooper

[6] Mr. Glen Cooper was the Approved Check Pilot (ACP) during the simulator check ride. He stated he had been a pilot since 1969 and was employed on a part-time basis with Exploits Valley Air Services Ltd. (EVAS). Exhibit M-1 is a copy of Mr. Cooper's ACP application form dated May 7, 2014. Exhibit M-2 is a copy of the delegation of authority for Mr. Cooper dated August 11, 2014, which gave him approval to do the flight test on BE02 flight simulator TC-65.

[7] Mr. Cooper testified that on September 26, 2015, he conducted a check ride on two candidates. Mr. Fernando Salvador was the pilot flying (PF) during the first half of the check ride and Mr. P. was the pilot not flying (PNF). During the second half, the roles were reversed.

[8] Exhibit M-3 is a copy of the flight test report for Mr. Salvador dated September 26, 2015. Mr. Salvador received three marks of 2 and a 1 for PNF duties, and therefore failed his ride.

[9] Exhibit M-4 is a copy of an email dated September 27, 2015, sent by Mr. Cooper to Mr. Paul Carter, who was the chief pilot of EVAS at that time. This was confidential information about the M-3 flight test report, so that the company could decide what to do with Mr. Salvador regarding the check ride results. It listed the weak points observed.

[10] As PNF, Mr. Salvador took an excessive amount of time to find a “smoke” emergency check list and the safety of the flight was compromised. The ACP stated that while he did not time it with a stopwatch, time is crucial on any emergency check list, especially one concerning smoke. The PF asked for the emergency check list at the appropriate time. When it was not forthcoming, he took action, declared an emergency, climbed and got into clear skies, and therefore was in position to land at a nearby airport. In Exhibit M-5, the flight test report dated September 26, 2015, the PF was given a 2 on the same exercise. Mr. Cooper explained that because the PF managed the emergency in an appropriate manner, given that the emergency smoke check list was not forthcoming, he therefore did not fail this exercise.

(2) Mr. Edward James Tataryn

[11] Mr. Tataryn works with the Flight Operations branch of Transport Canada in Moncton as a civil aviation safety inspector. He has worked in commercial aviation since 1970 and has been employed with Transport Canada for 25 years.

[12] Exhibit M-6, a copy of extracts from the Approved Check Pilot Manual, was introduced. Mr. Tataryn explained that the ACP program allows individuals to conduct flight checks on pilots independent of having a Transport Canada civil aviation inspector present.

[13] Exhibit M-7, a copy of Pilot Proficiency Check and Aircraft Type Rating Flight Test Guide (Aeroplanes), First Edition, was introduced. Mr. Tataryn went on to explain the flight test report and noted that when Mr. Salvador was acting as PF, he received three marks of 2, which is not a failure. A fail is five marks of 2. As PNF, Mr. Salvador received a mark of 1 on the smoke drill, which is an automatic failure.

[14] Exhibit M-8, a copy of the EVAS Beech 1900 D Standard Operating Procedures (SOP's), Amendment no. 9, was introduced. Mr. Tataryn pointed out that the check list on page 3-25, under “Electrical Smoke or Fire/Environmental System Smoke or Fumes”, covered both electrical and environmental smoke, and was the check list in question.

[15] Exhibit M-9, an extract from the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs), section 704.108, was introduced. It states that according to the Commercial Air Service Standards, a flight crew member must successfully complete a pilot proficiency check.

[16] Exhibit M-10, a copy of the CARs Part VII, Commercial Air Service Standard 724 was introduced. Paragraph 724.108(1)(a) on Flight Crew Member Qualifications states that “The pilot proficiency check (PPC) in an aeroplane shall be conducted in accordance with Schedule I or Schedule II of this section”.

[17] Exhibit M-11, a copy of CARs Part VII, Commercial Air Service Standard 724, Schedule I on Synthetic Flight Training Devices was entered into evidence. This device, also known as a simulator, is the type used for the flight test. Subsection (1)(h) Abnormal and Emergency Procedures, explains the requirements.

B. Applicant

(1) Mr. Fernando Salvador

[18] Mr. Salvador took the stand in his own defence. He stated that there were several discrepancies between his flight test and that of Mr. P.'s. He iterated that with regard to the smoke, he had completed the SOP's and the correct check list, and the issue was the matter of time. When cross-examined by Mr. Forget, he maintained that there was confusion over what kind of smoke and which check list was required. He also stated that it was a two-crew environment and that he failed, while Mr. P. was given a 2. He indicated that Mr. P. had called for the incorrect check list, however it was pointed out that according to the SOP's, the same check list is required for both situations (electrical smoke or fire, and environmental system smoke or fumes). Although the check list was eventually read, he agreed that it was not immediately read. He felt that it only took 20, 30 or 40 seconds and did not agree with Mr. Cooper's statement that it took an excessive amount of time. He pointed out that in some emergencies, it is necessary to act immediately, for example in an engine failure, or when control of the airplane is lost. He stated that fire is critical and should be dealt with in a timely manner, and in this instance, control of the aircraft never deviated.

IV. ARGUMENTS

A. Minister

[19] Mr. Salvador failed his ride for PNF duties because he took an excessive amount of time to find a smoke emergency check list. Safety of the flight was compromised and risk was unacceptably mitigated, as stated by Mr. Cooper. According to the ACP program, you have to react rapidly because smoke is very dangerous and puts the safety of the flight in jeopardy. Although the check list was completed eventually, the time factor was the reason for the mark of 1. Mr. Cooper explained why the PF received a mark of 2 for the same exercise. It is possible for one pilot to fail a ride and the other pilot to pass, depending on how he handles the situation. It was pointed out that although Mr. Salvador felt it was not an excessive amount of time, perhaps 20 to 40 seconds, he was under stress at the time. However, Mr. Cooper's evaluation was undertaken in, what was for him, a non-stressful situation. Mr. Tataryn, who is a Transport Canada inspector, stated that the safety of the flight was compromised.

B. Applicant

[20] Mr. Salvador stated that in an emergency situation with cabin smoke, the PF calls for memory checks. These were completed in a timely manner. Finding the appropriate check list took “an amount of time” because of confusion between the pilot flying and pilot not flying. In the end, the correct check list was completed and the only issue was time. Control of the airplane was never lost.

V. ANALYSIS

[21] The Minister argued that the grounds for refusing to issue a PPC to the applicant were that, pursuant to paragraph 6.71(1)(b) of the Aeronautics Act, the individual did not meet the qualifications or conditions necessary for the issuance. The Minister has created various guidelines, like the TP 14727 Flight Test Guide, that provide for the qualifications or conditions necessary for the issuance. The Tribunal is not strictly bound by TP 14727 but may apply it insofar as it furthers the purpose of paragraph 6.71(1)(b) of the Aeronautics Act. The Tribunal determines that TP 14727 furthers the purpose of the said provision and will apply its standards to the case at hand.

[22] TP 14727 provides that the PNF must follow the SOP's, which provide specific calls to make in a smoke situation. TP 14727 provides that a PNF will fail where the performance is below standard, described as follows:

1 Below Standard Unacceptable deviations from the qualification standards occur, which may include excursions beyond prescribed limits that are not recognized or corrected in a timely manner.
  • Performance includes deviations that adversely affect the overall performance, are repeated, have excessive amplitude, or for which recognition and correction are excessively slow or nonexistent, or the aim of the task was not achieved.
  • Aircraft handling is rough or includes uncorrected or excessive deviations from specified limits.
  • Technical skills and knowledge reveal unacceptable levels of technical proficiency and/or depth of knowledge.
  • Behavior indicates lapses in situational awareness that are not identified or corrected by the pilot/crew.
  • Flight management skills are ineffective, unless continuously challenged or prompted by other crewmembers.
  • Safety of flight is compromised. Risk is unacceptably mitigated.

[Emphasis Added]

[23] According to the four-point marking scale in the Flight Test Guide, recognition and correction was excessively slow. Mr. Salvador made the admission that he had difficulty locating the correct check list.

[24] This indicates that his technical skills and knowledge revealed unacceptable levels of technical proficiency and/or depth of knowledge.

[25] I have no doubt that the testimony heard from all the witnesses is credible and sincere. Mr. Salvador's position revolves around one issue: time. He stated that after the memory check was completed, he estimated that he took 20, 30 or 40 seconds to procure the correct check list. The fact that the PF elected to take alternative action shows that the correct check list was not produced in a timely manner.

[26] The ACP, Mr. Cooper, stated that Mr. Salvador took an excessive amount of time to find a “smoke” emergency check list. That was his evaluation of the time frame.

[27] Time is crucial in a smoke situation and in Mr. Cooper's assessment, the excessive time he took to access the correct check list compromised the safety of the flight. Once Mr. Salvador had the check list, he had difficulty finding the correct page. The PF was getting frustrated, and the ACP stated that the situation was getting serious.

[28] The PNF stated that there was confusion over which check was required. There is only one check list for “electrical smoke or fire” and/or “environmental system smoke or fumes” according to the SOP's for the EVAS Beech 1900 D. As per the performance criteria for PNF duties in the Flight Test Guide, the candidate should have the ability to demonstrate familiarity with procedures in the Quick Reference Handbook (QRH) or paper check list. Mr. Salvador's statement that the aircraft was under control does not mean that safety of the flight was not in jeopardy. Smoke is a very serious emergency that requires an immediate reaction.

[29] I feel that Mr. Cooper's assessment of the time frame is believable as, under the circumstances, he was not the one in a stressful situation. Mr. Salvador stated that for him, it was a stressful situation.

[30] Based on the above considerations, the safety of the flight was jeopardized by the PNF when he failed to procure the emergency check list in a timely manner.

VI. DETERMINATION

[31] The Minister has proven, on a balance of probabilities, that the applicant does not fulfil the conditions necessary for the issuance of a Canadian aviation document as per paragraph 6.71(1)(b) of the Aeronautics Act.

March 13, 2017

(Original signed)

James E. Macdonald

Member

Décisions

Dossier no A-4185-68 (TATC)
Dossier no 5802-387681 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL D'APPEL DES TRANSPORTS DU CANADA

ENTRE :

Fernando Miguel Salvador , requérant(e)

- et -

Ministre des Transports , intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
L’alinéa 6.71(1)b) de la Loi sur l’aéronautique, L.R.C., 1985, ch. A-2


Décision à la suite d'une révision
J. Ed Macdonald


Décision : le 13 mars 2017

Référence : Salvador c. Canada (Ministre des Transports), 2017 TATCF 06 (révision)

Audience tenue à : Halifax (Nouvelle-Écosse), le 29 novembre 2016

[Traduction française officielle]

DÉCISION ET MOTIFS À LA SUITE D'UNE RÉVISION

Arrêt : Le ministre a démontré, selon la prépondérance des probabilités, que le requérant n'avait pas répondu aux conditions de délivrance du document d'aviation canadien en vertu de l'alinéa 6.71(1)b) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique.

I. HISTORIQUE

[1] L'avis de refus de délivrer le document, daté du 24 mars 2016, mentionne que les qualifications ou les conditions requises de délivrance ou de modification du document ne sont pas remplies conformément à l'alinéa 6.71(1)b) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique. Le ministre fonde sa décision sur le fait que le 26 septembre 2015, le requérant n'a pas été en mesure de répondre aux normes de délivrance d'un contrôle de la compétence du pilote (CCP) lors d'un test en vol effectué sur un simulateur de vol BE02 de TC-65 à Flight Safety International, situé à Downsview, à Toronto.

[2] Le 26 octobre 2015, le requérant a présenté une demande de révision auprès du Tribunal d'appel des transports du Canada (le Tribunal) concernant l'échec au CCP.

II. LOIS ET RÈGLEMENTS

[3] L'alinéa 6.71(1)b) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique prévoit ce qui suit :

6.71 (1) Le ministre peut refuser de délivrer ou de modifier un document d'aviation canadien pour l'un des motifs suivants :

[...]

b) le demandeur ou l'aéronef, l'aérodrome, l'aéroport ou autre installation que vise la demande ne répond pas aux conditions de délivrance ou de modification du document;

[...]

[4] La première édition de Vérification de compétence pilote et qualification de type d'aéronef (Avions) TP 14727 (Guide de test en vol) de Transports Canada stipule que les six éléments suivants sont évalués à l'aide d'une échelle de notation à quatre niveaux :

L'exécution

Le pilotage de l'aéronef

Les aptitudes et les connaissances techniques

La conscience de la situation

Les aptitudes en gestion du vol

La sécurité du vol

[5] La section 22 du Guide de test en vol se rapporte aux tâches de pilote non aux commandes (PNF) :

22. Tâches du PNF

But

Déterminer l'aptitude du candidat à démontrer une bonne division des tâches du PNF conformément au COM et aux SOP.

Description

Chaque pilote effectuera des tâches de PNF en nombre suffisant pour qu'il soit possible d'établir qu'il y a respect et connaissance des procédures de l'aéronef et des SOP de l'entreprise. On y trouvera des procédures en situation normale et anormale pendant que le pilote agira à titre de PNF.

[...]

Critères d'exécution

Baser l'évaluation du candidat sur son aptitude à :

  1. se conformer aux tâches de PNF telles qu'elles figurent dans le COM et/ou les SOP;
  2. effectuer les tâches nécessaires assignées par le pilote aux commandes;
  3. maintenir une discipline d'équipage pendant les procédures en situation normale ou anormale;
  4. démontrer une bonne connaissance des procédures du QRH ou de la liste de vérifications papier;
  5. démontrer qu'il connaît les entrées à faire dans le FMS, le cas échéant;
  6. maintenir une bonne conscience de la situation à titre de membre d'équipage;
  7. bien partager la tâche de travail dans le poste de pilotage;
  8. maintenir une bonne conscience d'équipage ou faire attention aux annonces du mode de vol.

III. PREUVE

A. Ministre

(1) M. Glen Cooper

[6] M. Glen Cooper était le pilote vérificateur agréé (PVA) lors du vol de vérification. Il a affirmé qu'il était pilote depuis 1969 et qu'il travaillait à temps partiel à Exploits Valley Air Services Ltd. (EVAS). La pièce M-1 est une copie de la demande de PVA de M. Cooper, datée du 7 mai 2014. La pièce M-2 est une copie de la délégation des pouvoirs de M. Cooper datée du 11 août 2014 et qui lui donne l'approbation d'effectuer le test en vol sur le simulateur de vol BE02 de TC-65.

[7] M. Cooper a témoigné qu'il a effectué un vol de vérification avec deux candidats le 26 septembre 2015. M. Fernando Salvador était le pilote aux commandes (PF) lors de la première moitié du vol de vérification et M. P. était le PNF. Les rôles ont été inversés lors de la deuxième moitié du vol de vérification.

[8] La pièce M-3 est une copie du rapport du test en vol pour M. Salvador daté du 26 septembre 2015. M. Salvador a reçu trois cotes 2 et une cote 1 pour les tâches du PNF et a donc échoué à son vol de contrôle de la compétence.

[9] La pièce M-4 est une copie du courriel daté du 27 septembre 2015 envoyé par M. Cooper à M. Paul Carter, qui était le chef pilote d'EVAS à ce moment-là. Il s'agit de renseignements confidentiels sur le rapport d'évaluation (pièce M-3) qui devaient aider l'entreprise à prendre une décision concernant les résultats du vol de vérification. Le document énumérait les points faibles observés lors du vol.

[10] En tant que PNF, M. Salvador a pris trop de temps pour trouver la liste de vérification en cas de fumée et a compromis la sécurité du vol. Le PVA a affirmé qu'il n'avait pas mesuré le temps avec un chronomètre, mais qu'il était crucial de trouver rapidement les listes de vérification, surtout celle qui se rapporte à la fumée. Le PF a demandé la liste de vérification en cas d'urgence au moment opportun. Lorsqu'il a constaté que le PNF ne la lui donnait pas, il a agi, a déclaré une situation d'urgence, est monté jusqu'en ciel clair et a pu atterrir à l'aéroport le plus proche. On peut voir, dans la pièce M-5, c'est-à-dire le rapport de vérification daté du 26 septembre 2015, que le PF s'est vu attribuer une cote 2 pour le même exercice. M. Cooper a expliqué que le PF n'avait pas échoué l'exercice, parce qu'il avait géré la situation d'urgence de façon appropriée, même s'il n'avait pas reçu la liste de vérification en cas de fumée.

(2) M. Edward James Tataryn

[11] M. Tataryn travaille aux Opérations aériennes de Transports Canada, à Moncton, en tant qu'inspecteur de la sécurité de l'aviation civile. Il travaille dans le domaine de l'aviation commerciale depuis 1970 et pour Transports Canada depuis 25 ans.

[12] La pièce M-6, qui est une copie d'extraits tirés du Manuel du pilote vérificateur agréé, a été présentée. M. Tataryn a expliqué que le programme de PVA permet aux individus d'effectuer une vérification en vol des pilotes, qu'un inspecteur de l'aviation civile de Transports Canada soit présent ou non.

[13] La pièce M-7, qui est une copie de la première édition du Guide de test en vol – Vérification de compétence pilote et qualification de type d'aéronef (Avions), a été présentée. M. Tataryn a expliqué le rapport de vérification et a fait remarquer que M. Salvador avait reçu trois cotes 2 en tant que PF, ce qui ne constitue pas un échec. Pour échouer, il faut avoir reçu cinq cotes 2. En tant que PNF, M. Salvador a reçu une cote 1 pour le test de fumée, ce qui entraîne automatiquement un échec.

[14] La pièce M-8, qui est une copie de la modification no 9 des procédures d'utilisation normalisées (SOP) d'EVAS pour le Beech 1900D, a été présentée. M. Tataryn a souligné que la section intitulée « Fumée ou incendie du système électrique (d'origine électrique)/Fumée ou vapeurs dans le système de conditionnement d'air » (p. 3-25) porte sur la fumée d'origine électrique ou provenant du système de ventilation/réfrigération et qu'il s'agissait de la liste de vérification en question.

[15] La pièce M-9, qui est un extrait de l'article 704.108 du Règlement de l'aviation canadien, a été présentée. L'article prévoit que tout membre d'équipage doit avoir subi avec succès, conformément aux Normes de service aérien commercial, un contrôle de la compétence du pilote.

[16] La pièce M-10, qui est une copie de la partie VII du Règlement de l'aviation canadien se rapportant à la norme de service aérien commercial 724, a été présentée. L'alinéa 724.108(1)a) sur les qualifications des membres d'équipage de conduite prévoit que « [l]e contrôle de la compétence du pilote (CCP) sur avion doit être effectué conformément à l'annexe I ou à l'annexe II de la présente section ».

[17] La pièce M-11, qui est une copie de la partie VII du Règlement de l'aviation canadien se rapportant à la norme de service aérien commercial 724, Annexe I - Dispositif d'entraînement synthétique de vol, a été présentée. Ce dispositif, aussi connu sous le nom de simulateur, est le type d'appareil qui a été utilisé lors du test en vol. L'alinéa (1)(h) Procédures anormales et d'urgence explique ces exigences.

B. Requérant

(1) M. Fernando Salvador

[18] M. Salvador est venu à la barre pour se défendre lui-même. Il a déclaré qu'il y avait plusieurs incompatibilités entre son test en vol et celui de M. P. Il a réitéré que pour ce qui touche la fumée, il avait achevé les SOP et la bonne liste de vérification et que le véritable problème était le temps que cela lui avait pris. Lors du contre-interrogatoire mené par M. Forget, il a soutenu qu'il y avait eu de la confusion concernant le type de fumée et la liste de vérification à consulter. Il a également affirmé qu'il s'agissait d'un équipage à deux et qu'il avait échoué, alors que M. P. avait reçu une cote 2. Il a affirmé que M. P. n'avait pas demandé la bonne liste de vérification, mais on a fait remarquer que selon les SOP, il faut utiliser la même liste de vérification pour les deux situations (fumée ou incendie du système électrique [d'origine électrique]/fumée ou vapeurs dans le système de conditionnement d'air). Bien qu'il ait fini par lire la liste de vérification, il a convenu que cela lui avait pris un certain temps. Il estime que cela ne lui a pris que 20, 30 ou 40 secondes et n'est pas d'accord avec l'affirmation de M. Cooper que cela lui a pris un temps déraisonnable. Il a souligné que dans certaines situations d'urgence, il est nécessaire d'agir immédiatement, par exemple lors d'une panne moteur ou lorsque le contrôle de l'avion est perdu. Il a déclaré qu'un feu est une situation grave et qu'il faut agir rapidement et que, dans la situation où il se trouvait, le contrôle de l'aéronef n'a jamais dévié.

IV. ARGUMENTS

A. Ministre

[19] M. Salvador a échoué à son vol pour les tâches du PNF, parce qu'il a pris trop de temps pour trouver la liste de vérification en cas de fumée. Il a compromis la sécurité du vol et les risques n'ont pas été suffisamment atténués, comme l'a affirmé M. Cooper. Selon le programme de PVA, il faut réagir rapidement, car la fumée est très dangereuse et met la sécurité du vol en péril. Bien que la liste de vérification ait été achevée au bout du compte, le facteur temps est la raison pour laquelle M. Salvador a reçu une cote 1. M. Cooper a expliqué la raison pour laquelle le PF avait reçu une cote 2 pour le même exercice. Il est possible qu'un pilote échoue à un vol et que l'autre le réussisse, puisque tout dépend de la façon dont ils gèrent la situation. Il a été souligné que M. Salvador estimait qu'il n'avait pas pris un temps déraisonnable, soit de 20 à 40 secondes, il était soumis à un certain stress à ce moment-là. Cependant, l'évaluation de M. Cooper a été entreprise dans ce qui était pour lui une situation non stressante. M. Tataryn, inspecteur de Transports Canada, a affirmé que la sécurité du vol avait été compromise.

B. Requérant

[20] M. Salvador a déclaré que le PF demande des vérifications de mémoire lors d'une situation d'urgence dans laquelle il y a de la fumée dans la cabine. Celles-ci ont été complétées en temps opportun. Trouver la liste de vérification appropriée a pris « un certain temps », car il y a eu une certaine confusion entre le pilote aux commandes et le pilote qui n'était pas aux commandes. Au bout du compte, la bonne liste de vérification a été complétée et le seul problème était le temps. Le contrôle de l'aéronef n'a jamais été perdu.

V. ANALYSE

[21] Le ministre a soutenu qu'il avait refusé de délivrer un CCP au requérant, puisque celui‑ci n'avait pas satisfait aux qualifications ou aux conditions de délivrance d'un CCP en vertu de l'alinéa 6.71(1)b) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique. Le ministre a créé diverses lignes directrices, comme TP 14727 Guide de test en vol, qui précisent les qualifications et les conditions de délivrance d'un CCP. Le Tribunal n'est pas nécessairement assujetti au TP 14727, mais peut l'appliquer dans la mesure où il sert également l'objectif de l'alinéa 6.71(1)b) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique. Le Tribunal détermine que le TP 14727 sert également l'objectif de ladite disposition et appliquera ses normes en l'espèce.

[22] Le TP 14727 prévoit que le PNF doit suivre les SOP, qui indiquent les mesures précises à prendre en cas de fumée. Le TP 14727 prévoit que le PNF échouera si son rendement est inférieur à la norme, et indique ce qui suit :

1 Inférieur à la note standard L'exécution inclut des écarts inacceptables par rapport à la norme de qualification pouvant comprendre des écarts hors des limites prescrites qui ne sont pas perçus ou corrigés en temps opportun.
  • L'exécution inclut des écarts qui ont une influence négative sur l'ensemble de l'exécution, qui sont répétés,qui ont trop d'ampleur et qui sont perçus et corrigés avec beaucoup de retard, voire pas du tout, et le but de l'exercice n'est pas atteint.
  • Maîtrise de l'aéronef marginale ou comportant des déviations non corrigées ou excessives par rapport aux limites spécifiées.
  • Les aptitudes et connaissances techniques dénotent des compétences techniques et/ou des connaissances d'un niveau inacceptable.
  • Le comportement du pilote ou de l'équipage révèle des retards de conscience de la situation qui ne sont pas identifiés ni corrigés.
  • La gestion du vol est inefficace, à moins que les autres membres d'équipage fassent des demandes ou passent des critiques.
  • La sécurité du vol est compromise. Les risques sont atténués de façon inacceptable.

[Non souligné dans l'original]

[23] Selon l'échelle de notation à quatre niveaux du Guide de test en vol, la reconnaissance et la correction des écarts étaient excessivement lentes. M. Salvador a admis qu'il avait eu de la difficulté à trouver la bonne liste de vérification.

[24] Cela indique des compétences techniques et/ou des connaissances d'un niveau inacceptable.

[25] Je n'ai aucun doute que le témoignage de tous les témoins est crédible et sincère. La position de M. Salvador ne repose que sur un élément : le facteur temps. Il a déclaré qu'une fois que la vérification de mémoire a été faite, il a estimé qu'il n'avait pris que 20, 30 ou 40 secondes pour trouver la bonne liste de vérification. Le fait que le PF a choisi de prendre d'autres mesures révèle que M. Salvador n'a pas trouvé la bonne liste de vérification assez rapidement.

[26] Le PVA, M. Cooper, a affirmé que M. Salvador avait pris trop de temps pour trouver la liste de vérification en cas de fumée. C'est ce qu'il pense du rendement de M. Salvador.

[27] Le temps est un facteur crucial lors d'une situation d'urgence et, selon M. Cooper, M. Salvador a pris trop de temps pour trouver la bonne liste de vérification et a donc compromis la sécurité du vol. Lorsque M. Salvador a trouvé la liste de vérification, il a eu de la difficulté à trouver la bonne page. Le PF perdait patience et le PVA a affirmé que la situation empirait.

[28] Le PNF a déclaré qu'il y avait de la confusion concernant la liste de vérification qu'il fallait lire. Selon les SOP d'EVAS pour le Beech 1900D, il n'y a qu'une seule liste de vérification pour « fumée ou incendie du système électrique » et/ou « fumée ou vapeurs dans le système de conditionnement d'air ». Selon les critères d'exécution énoncés dans le Guide de test en vol pour les tâches du PNF, le candidat devrait être en mesure de  démontrer une bonne connaissance des procédures du QRH ou de la liste de vérifications papier. M. Salvador a affirmé que le contrôle de l'aéronef n'avait jamais été perdu, mais cela ne signifie pas que la sécurité du vol n'avait pas été compromise. La fumée est une situation d'urgence grave pour laquelle des mesures doivent être prises rapidement.

[29] Je crois que l'évaluation qu'a faite M. Cooper du temps qu'avait pris M. Salvador pour trouver la liste de vérification est crédible et que, compte tenu des circonstances, M. Cooper ne se trouvait pas celui dans une situation stressante. M. Salvador a affirmé qu'il estimait se trouver dans une situation stressante.

[30] En se fondant sur l'exposé des motifs, l'on peut conclure que le PNF a compromis la sécurité du vol lorsqu'il a omis de trouver la liste de vérification en cas d'urgence en temps opportun.

VI. DÉCISION

[31] Le ministre a démontré, selon la prépondérance des probabilités, que le requérant n'avait pas répondu aux conditions de délivrance du document d'aviation canadien en vertu de l'alinéa 6.71(1)b) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique.

13 mars 2017

(Original signé)

James E. Macdonald

Conseiller