Decisions

CAT File No. C-1192-33
MoT File No. RAP6504-P102780-026265

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Minister of Transport, Applicant

- and -

Raymond Eldon Renaud, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S.C., 1985, c. A-2, s. 7.7
Air Regulations, C.R.C. 1978, c. 2, s. 210(1)a)
Airworthiness Manual, s. 575

Maintenance release, Certificate of Airworthiness


Review Determination
Gordon R. Mitchell


Decision: April 6, 1996

I find that the Respondent, Raymond Eldon Renaud, did contravene Air Regulation 210(1)(a).

I confirm the Minister's decision to assess a monetary penalty totalling $250.00 to be made payable to the Receiver General for Canada and sent to the Civil Aviation Tribunal within fifteen days of the receipt of this determination.

A Review Hearing on the above matter was held Thursday, March 28, 1996 at 9:30 hours at the Valhalla Inn, in the City of Thunder Bay, Ontario.

The Notice of Assessment of Monetary Penalty reads as follows:

Pursuant to section 7.7 of the Aeronautics Act, the Minister of Transport has decided to assess a monetary penalty on the grounds that you have contravened the following provision(s):

COUNT #1:

Air Regulation 210(1)(a) in that, on or about January 24, 1995 at or near Thunder Bay, Ontario, you did unlawfully fly a Maule M 5 210C aircraft bearing Canadian Registration Marks C-GVBI while the Certificate of Airworthiness was not in force by reason of the fact that float gear had been removed and land gear installed without a certification release in accordance with Chap 575.107 of the Airworthiness Manual.

COUNT #2:

Further, in that, on or about February 22, 1995 at or near Thunder Bay, Ontario you did unlawfully fly a Maule M 5 210C aircraft bearing Canadian Registration Marks C-GVBI while the Certificate of Airworthiness was not in force by reason of the fact that float gear had been removed and land gear installed without a certification release in accordance with Chap 575.107 of the Airworthiness Manual. A violation of Air Regulation 210(1)(a).

THE LAW

Certificate of Airworthiness

6. Unless expired, suspended or cancelled in accordance with the Air Regulations, this certificate shall remain in force so long as the aircraft identified above is maintained and certified airworthy in accordance with the Air Navigation Orders.

Airworthiness Manual Chapter 501

"Maintenance" means the preservation of an aeronautical product to its approved design standard, and includes repair, overhaul, inspection, alteration, and the replacement of parts, but does not include servicing (maintenance).

Airworthiness Manual Chapter 575

575.103 Maintenance Release

(a) Except as provided in 575.109, where an aircraft has undergone maintenance, the certificate of airworthiness or flight permit of that aircraft is not in force until a maintenance release has been signed in respect of the work performed.

575.105 Conditional Release for Flight Test Purposes

(a) Where the person signing a maintenance release determines that a flight test is necessary to verify that the maintenance performed is satisfactory, the person shall complete the release statement by adding the phrase "subject to satisfactory test flight".

575.109 Exemptions

(a) No maintenance release is required in the case of:

(1) Elementary maintenance tasks listed in Appendix "A", performed on a piston engine powered, unpressurized aeroplane of 5700 kg (12,566 lb) or less maximum allowable take-off weight, a glider or a balloon, not engaged in commercial operation, when the work is performed by the holder of a pilot licence who is the owner or operator of the aircraft;

APPENDIX A

ELEMENTARY MAINTENANCE

(3) Seasonal reintallation of skis on fixed landing gear, not requiring separation of any hydraulic lines;

OVERVIEW

Mr. Raymond Eldon Renaud is the owner of Maule M-5-210C aircraft, registration C-GVBI, serial number 6152C. He has owned the aircraft for over six years, and during that time it was kept and maintained at Lakehead Aviation (Melnick brothers). A dispute over work performed on February 12, 1994 carried on until Mr. Renaud decided to move his aircraft elsewhere. On January 14, 1995 Mr. Renaud changed the aircraft over from floats to wheel undercarriage and then installed straight skis. He did not have a qualified person in attendance at the changeover, and no entry is shown in either the Journey Log or the Technical Log for this work which requires a proper maintenance release by a qualified person.

Mr. Renaud flew the aircraft on January 24, 1995 and again on February 22, 1995; no entries have been made in the log books for these flights. The allegations against Mr. Renaud result from these two flights.

EVIDENCE

The Minister's first witness Inspector E. Dittbrenner presented eight exhibits as follows:

M-1: A certified true copy of the Aircraft Journey Log for Maule M-5-210C registration C-GVBI dated from 1989 to August 22, 1994.

This copy consists of pages 1 to 8 along with the two cover pages, the last entry being August 22, 1994 on page 7; page 8 is blank.

On January 14, 1995, no entry was made for the changeover from floats to wheel undercarriage.

M-2: A certified true copy of pages 23 to 26 along with the cover page of the Technical Log for C-GVBI.

The first entry in this log is August 26, 1989 on page 23, and the last entry is July 5, 1993 on page 25; the last page is 26 which is blank.

M-3: Copy of Certificate of Registration and Certificate of Airworthiness for C-GVBI.

M-4: Airworthiness Manual 575.105(a)

M-5: Airworthiness Manual Chapter 501

M-6: Airworthiness Manual 575.103(a)

M-7: Airworthiness Manual 575.109(a)(1)

M-8: Airworthiness Manual Chapter 575 Appendix A (3)

The Minister's representative asked Inspector Dittbrenner if he knew of a reference in the Elementary Maintenance list that allowed a changeover from floats to skis. The inspector's answer was, "No".

Harley Melnick, the second witness for the Minister, stated that he held an Aircraft Maintenance Engineer's Licence, Category M2 and along with his brother operated Lakehead Aviation Inc., a company incorporated in October 1990.

One of Lakehead's customers was Mr. Renaud, the owner of Maule aircraft C-GVBI. Lakehead had maintained the aircraft from 1989.

Mr. Melnick said that C-GVBI had been changed over at Lakehead's premises by Mr. Renaud on January 14, 1995. He stated that the change from floats to wheel undercarriage and skis was not under his supervision.

The aircraft had been stored at Lakehead Aviation, and Mr. Melnick stated that to the best of his knowledge the Technical and Journey Logs were in Lakehead's premises during January and February of 1995.

Mr. Melnick stated that he had seen C-GVBI flying January 24, 1995, and that it was flown by Mr. Renaud. He said that it was flown again February 22, 1995, and that when it left the Lakehead area it did not return.

Mr. Melnick said that, during the time the changeover took place and when the aircraft was flown January 24, 1995 and February 22, 1995, he believed the log books were in Lakehead's possession as this was where they were kept normally, and further that no one had asked for the logs at this time.

Hallory Melnick, the Minister's third witness, stated when asked that he was the Inspector of Maintenance for Lakehead Aviation. He stated further that the Maule aircraft C-GVBI belonging to Mr. Renaud was stored in Lakehead's compound and that on January 14, 1995 Mr. Renaud was allowed to use the hoist to do the changeover on C-GVBI from float gear to wheel undercarriage and skis.

Hallory Melnick explained the changeover procedure he would follow if he were doing the work on this aircraft and stated further that this is work normally done by an Aircraft Maintenance Engineer followed by a signed maintenance release for return to service. Hallory Melnick related that after the changeover on January 14, 1995 the aircraft remained in the Lakehead compound until January 24, 1995 when Mr. Renaud flew it and then returned and left it parked on the ice adjacent to Lakehead Aviation.

Hallory Melnick stated that on February 22, 1995 Mr. Renaud again flew C-GVBI and this time did not return to Lakehead Aviation. Hallory Melnick stated that he was not in attendance during the changeover, that he did not know of an AME being there and that he did not sign out the aircraft after the changeover.

Mr. Renaud waived any questions for this witness.

The Minister's fourth witness was Peter Hothins, Superintendent of Airworthiness in the Thunder Bay region. When Inspector Hothins was questioned as to his involvement in the issue at hand, he related that he had received an anonymous phone call during this period regarding lost log books. He told the caller the procedure to be followed and asked for his name or aircraft registration, saying that he could then take care of the problem. He said he later had assumed that the caller was Mr. Renaud.

In cross-examination Mr. Renaud actually began giving evidence, not questioning the witness. Mr. Renaud stated that he had called Inspector Hothins and that he had given the Inspector Hothins his name and address.

In re-direct Inspector Hothins was asked if he had any further involvement with the log books for C-GVBI. His answer was that the Journey Log and the Technical Log for aircraft C-GVBI were brought to him by Harley Melnick and that he in turn sent them to the Winnipeg Office as requested by Inspector Dittbrenner.

Mr. Renaud was sworn in and made a presentation on his own behalf. He mentioned the dispute with the Melnicks (Lakehead Aviation) about the work on his aircraft completed on February 12, 1994 (page 6 in the Journey Log, Exhibit M-1). He was concerned at what he felt was an overcharge. He said he checked with two other sources, and in his estimation this verified his conclusion. This, Mr. Renaud stated, "was the dispute that started the whole thing". He stated that the dispute continued, that they (Lakehead Aviation) would not give him his log books and that he felt he had to get his aircraft off their property.

Mr. Renaud said that he had a letter (not produced) from the Canadian Owners and Pilots Association related to the Airworthiness Manual, Chapter 575, Appendix A, Elementary Maintenance quoting Item (3), indicating that no maintenance release was necessary for seasonal reinstallation of skis on fixed landing gear, not requiring separation of any hydraulic lines.

Mr. Renaud said that he had asked Lakehead for his log books four times and received excuses for not producing them. He stated that if he had had the logs he could have gotten them signed. He said he could have had another engineer sign them, but he did not have the log books.

When questioned, Mr. Renaud said that he always carried the Journey Log in the aircraft, that it was never taken out of the aircraft but that when he went to changeover it was missing. Mr. Renaud said this was the first time he had changed the aircraft, that previously it had always been done by Lakehead Aviation, and he said he had the bills showing this.

Mr. Renaud, when questioned, stated that he kept his aircraft locked and that the log book was kept in the pouch behind the seat.

CONCLUSION

This aircraft, C-GVBI, had been changed over previously by Lakehead Aviation, although there are no entries showing this. There are seven signed maintenance releases between July 7, 1989 and August 22, 1994; none of these refer to undercarriage changeover. One of these entries in the Journey Log on February 12, 1994 indicates a return to service pending a satisfactory test flight. No test flight is entered following this. The final entry in the Journey Log on page 7 is dated August 22, 1994, and page 8 is blank.

The Technical Log contains even less properly documented information. The opening date is August 26, 1989 and the final date is July 5, 1993; page 26 is blank.

An entry on April 2, 1991 shows the prop removed for overhaul, in the aircraft Technical Log, the next entry shows the prop reinstalled after overhaul, there is no signed maintenance release in the appropriate column.

It is the owner's responsibility to see that the aircraft log books are properly maintained.

The central issue at this hearing is the changeover of C-GVBI from float gear to wheel undercarriage and skis carried out by the owner, Mr. Renaud, without proper supervision and signed maintenance release entered in the log books.

In the Airworthiness Manual, Chapter 575, Appendix A, item (3) is not being interpreted correctly. There is no mention of float gear or wheel undercarriage being removed or reinstalled. The correct meaning of this item (3) is simply the removal of the wheels and the reinstallation of skis. The exception (not requiring separation of any hydraulic lines) would refer to certain wheel-ski assemblies.

The enormity of the task of removing float gear and installing wheel undercarriage precludes any thought of this procedure being classified as ELEMENTARY maintenance. The 22 items listed in Exhibit M-8 are intended to be of a more minor nature therefore the heading ELEMENTARY MAINTENANCE.

The owner or operator of an aircraft must keep himself current on regulations as they apply to his operation of the aircraft. Mr. Renaud was not aware of all of his responsibilities in this case, and some of the qualified people he has had maintaining his aircraft are lacking in this area as well. This is proven by the lack of pertinent entries in his log books.

DETERMINATION

I confirm the Minister's decision to assess a total monetary penalty of $250.00 for Counts #1 and #2.

Gordon R. Mitchell
Member
Civil Aviation Tribunal

Décisions

Dossier no C-1192-33 (TAC)
Dossier no RAP6504-P102780-026265 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Ministre des Transports, requérant(e)

- et -

Raymond Eldon Renaud, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, ch. A-2, art. 7.7
Manuel de navigabilité, ch. 575
Règlement de l'Air, C.R.C. 1978, ch. 2, al. 210(1)a)

Certificat de navigabilité, Certificat après maintenance


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Gordon R. Mitchell


Décision : le 6 avril 1996

TRADUCTION

Je conclus que l'intimé Raymond Eldon Renaud a contrevenu à l'alinéa 210(1)a) du Règlement de l'Air.

Je confirme par conséquent la décision du ministre d'imposer une amende de 250,00 $. Le paiement de l'amende devra être versé au Receveur général du Canada et parvenir au Tribunal de l'aviation civile dans les quinze jours suivant la réception de la présente décision.

L'audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le jeudi 28 mars 1996 à 9 h 30 au Valhalla Inn de la ville de Thunder Bay (Ontario).

L'avis d'amende pour contravention se lit comme suit :

En vertu de l'article 7.7 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, le ministre des Transports a décidé d'imposer une amende parce que vous avez contrevenu :

Chef d'accusation no 1 :

L'alinéa 210(1)a) du Règlement de l'Air : le ou vers le 24 janvier 1995, à ou près de Thunder Bay (Ontario), vous avez illégalement piloté un aéronef Maule M 5 210C portant les marques d'immatriculation canadienne C-GVBI alors que le certificat de navigabilité n'était pas en vigueur puisque le train d'amerrissage avait été enlevé et remplacé par un train d'atterrissage sans qu'un certificat après maintenance soit rédigé conformément au chapitre 575.107 du Manuel de navigabilité.

Chef d'accusation no 2 :

De plus, le ou vers le 22 février 1995, à ou près de Thunder Bay (Ontario), vous avez illégalement piloté un aéronef Maule M 5 210C portant les marques d'immatriculation canadienne C-GVBI alors que le certificat de navigabilité n'était pas en vigueur puisque le train d'amerrissage avait été enlevé et remplacé par un train d'atterrissage sans qu'un certificat après maintenance soit rédigé conformément au chapitre 575.107 du Manuel de navigabilité. Contravention à l'alinéa 210(1)a) du Règlement de l'Air.

LE DROIT

Certificat de navigabilité

6. Sauf expiration, suspension ou annulation en vertu du Règlement de l'Air, le présent certificat demeurera en vigueur tant que l'aéronef mentionné ci-dessus sera entretenu et certifié comme étant en bon état de navigabilité conformément aux Ordonnances sur la Navigabilité aérienne.

Manuel de navigabilité, chapitre 501

« Maintenance » : conservation d'un produit aéronautique en bon état et présentant la sécurité nécessaire pour le vol et, le cas échéant, conformément aux normes de conception approuvées; y sont assimilés, la réparation, la révision, l'inspection, la modification et le remplacement de leurs éléments constitutifs mais non leur entretien courant (maintenance).

Manuel de navigabilité, chapitre 575

575.103 Certificat après maintenance

(a) Sous réserve des dispositions de la section 575.109, le certificat de navigabilité ou le permis de vol d'un aéronef cesse d'être en vigueur dès qu'un travail de maintenance est exécuté sur ledit aéronef jusqu'à ce qu'une certification après maintenance soit signée, relativement à ces travaux de maintenance.

575.105 Certification conditionnelle pour essai en vol

(a) Si une personne, qui signe une certification après maintenance, considère qu'un essai en vol est nécessaire afin de confirmer que les travaux de maintenance ont été exécutés de façon satisfaisante, elle devra ajouter à la déclaration de certification après maintenance la phrase suivante : « dépendant d'un essai en vol satisfaisant ».

575.109 Exemptions

(a) Une certification après maintenance, n'est pas requise dans les cas suivants :

(1) Les travaux de maintenance élémentaire figurant à l'annexe A du présent chapitre, effectués sur un avion à moteur à pistons, non pressurisé, dont la masse maximale autorisée au décollage est de 5 700 kg (12 556 lb) ou moins, un planeur ou un ballon, exploité de façon non commerciale, lorsque le travail est effectué par le titulaire d'une licence de pilote qui est le propriétaire ou l'exploitant de l'aéronef;

ANNEXE A

MAINTENANCE ÉLÉMENTAIRE

(3) Montage saisonnier de skis sur un train d'atterrissage fixe, à condition qu'il n'y ait pas débranchement des conduites hydrauliques;

APERÇU

M. Raymond Eldon Renaud est propriétaire de l'aéronef Maule M-5-210C portant l'immatriculation C-GVBI et le numéro de série 6152C. Il en est propriétaire depuis plus de six ans et durant cette période, l'aéronef a toujours été entretenu par Lakehead Aviation (frères Melnick) et entreposé sur le terrain de l'entreprise. Un différend existait entre les deux parties à propos de travaux effectués le 12 février 1994 et M. Renaud a décidé de stationner l'aéronef ailleurs. Le 14 janvier 1995, M. Renaud a enlevé le train d'amerrissage de l'aéronef et l'a remplacé par un train d'atterrissage auquel il a ajouté des skis. Aucune personne qualifiée n'assistait au changement et aucune inscription à cet égard ne figure au carnet de route ni au livret technique. Un travail de ce type doit être effectué par une personne qualifiée et confirmé par une certification après maintenance.

M. Renaud a piloté l'aéronef le 24 janvier 1995 et de nouveau le 22 février 1995. Aucune inscription faisant état de ces vols ne figure aux livrets de bord. Les faits reprochés à M. Renaud concernent ces deux vols.

LA PREUVE

Le premier témoin du ministre, l'inspecteur E. Dittbrenner, a présenté les huit pièces suivantes :

M-1 : Une copie certifiée conforme du carnet de route de l'aéronef Maule M-5-210C immatriculé C-GVBI et couvrant la période de 1989 jusqu'au 22 août 1994.

Cette copie comporte les pages 1 à 8 et deux pages couvertures, la dernière inscription datant du 22 août 1994 figurant en page 7. La page 8 est vierge.

Aucune inscription datée du 14 janvier 1995 n'indique le remplacement du train d'amerrissage par un train d'atterrissage.

M-2 : Une copie certifiée conforme des pages 23 à 26 et de la page couverture du livret technique du C-GVBI.

La première inscription au livret porte la date du 26 août 1989 en page 23 et la dernière inscription porte la date du 5 juillet 1993 en page 25; la dernière page, page 26, est vierge.

M-3 : Copie du certificat d'immatriculation et du certificat de navigabilité du C-GVBI.

M-4 : Manuel de navigabilité 575.105(a)

M-5 : Manuel de navigabilité, chapitre 501

M-6 : Manuel de navigabilité 575.103(a)

M-7 : Manuel de navigabilité 575.109(a)(1)

M-8 : Manuel de navigabilité, chapitre 575, Annexe A (3)

Le représentant du ministre à demandé à l'inspecteur Dittbrenner s'il connaissait une partie de la section traitant de maintenance élémentaire qui permettait de remplacer le train d'amerrissage par des skis. L'inspecteur a répondu : « Non ».

Harley Melnick, le deuxième témoin du ministre, a déclaré qu'il possédait une licence de mécanicien d'entretien d'aéronef de catégorie M2 et qu'avec son frère, il exploitait Lakehead Aviation Inc., une entreprise incorporée en octobre 1990.

L'entreprise compte au nombre de ses clients, M. Renaud, propriétaire de l'aéronef Maule C-GVBI et elle a entretenu l'aéronef depuis 1989.

M. Melnick a déclaré que le remplacement du train d'amerrissage du C-GVBI par un train d'atterrissage avait été effectué par M. Renaud sur le terrain de l'entreprise le 14 janvier 1995. Il a ajouté ne pas avoir supervisé les travaux.

L'aéronef était entreposé chez Lakehead Aviation et M. Melnick a déclaré que, selon lui, le carnet de route et le livret technique se trouvaient dans les locaux de Lakehead en janvier et février 1995.

M. Melnick a déclaré avoir vu le C-GVBI voler le 24 janvier 1995 et que M. Renaud en était le pilote. Il a ajouté que l'aéronef avait été utilisé de nouveau le 22 février 1995 et qu'il avait quitté le secteur de Lakehead pour ne plus y revenir.

M. Melnick a dit qu'il croyait qu'au moment où les modifications avaient été faites sur l'aéronef et que lors des vols du 24 janvier 1995 et 22 février 1995, les carnets étaient entre les mains de Lakehead puisque c'est là qu'on les gardait normalement, et que personne ne les avaient réclamés.

Le troisième témoin du ministre, Hallory Melnick, a affirmé être inspecteur de maintenance chez Lakehead Aviation. Il a ajouté que l'aéronef Maule C-GVBI appartenant à M. Renaud était entreposé sur les terrains de Lakehead et que le 14 janvier 1995, M. Renaud avait reçu la permission d'utiliser le palan pour remplacer le train d'amerrissage du C-GVBI par un train d'atterrissage et des skis.

Hallory Melnick a expliqué les étapes qu'il suivrait pour effectuer cette modification et il a ajouté que ces travaux sont normalement effectués par un mécanicien d'entretien d'aéronef et qu'ils doivent être confirmés par une certification après maintenance. Hallory Melnick a déclaré qu'à la suite des modifications du 14 janvier 1995, l'aéronef est demeuré sur le terrain de Lakehead jusqu'au 24 janvier 1995, date à laquelle M. Renaud l'a utilisé et l'a ramené sur la glace adjacente à Lakehead Aviation.

Hallory Melnick a déclaré que le 22 février 1995, M. Renaud a utilisé de nouveau le C-GVBI sans revenir à Lakehead Aviation. Hallory Melnick a déclaré qu'il n'était pas de service au moment des modifications et qu'à sa connaissance, aucun mécanicien d'entretien d'aéronef n'était sur place, et qu'il n'avait pas signé de certification après maintenance.

M. Renaud n'a pas exercé son droit de contre-interroger le témoin.

Le quatrième témoin du ministre, Peter Hothins, est surintendant de la navigabilité dans la région de Thunder Bay. Lorsqu'on l'a interrogé sur son lien à cette affaire, il a raconté qu'il avait reçu un appel téléphonique anonyme durant cette période au sujet de livrets de bord perdus. Il a expliqué à son interlocuteur le processus à suivre et lui a demandé son nom ou le numéro d'immatriculation de son aéronef, en lui disant qu'il pouvait s'occuper du problème. Il a dit qu'il avait plus tard pensé que l'interlocuteur était M. Renaud.

En contre-interrogation, M. Renaud a entrepris une déposition sans interroger le témoin. Il a déclaré qu'il avait appelé l'inspecteur Hothins et qu'il lui avait donné son nom et son adresse.

En réinterrogatoire, on a demandé à l'inspecteur Hothins s'il s'était occupé des livrets de bord du C-GVBI. Il a répondu que Harley Melnick lui avait amené le carnet de route et le livret technique de l'aéronef C-GVBI et qu'à son tour, il les avait fait parvenir au bureau de Winnipeg, conformément à la demande de l'inspecteur Dittbrenner.

M. Renaud a prêté serment et a fait une déclaration en son nom propre. Il a parlé de son différend avec les Melnick (Lakehead Aviation) au sujet des travaux sur son aéronef terminés le 12 février 1994 (page 6 du carnet de route, pièce M-1). Il estimait la facture trop élevée. Il a déclaré qu'une vérification auprès de deux autres fournisseurs a confirmé ses soupçons. Selon les propos de M. Renaud : « le différend a été à l'origine de toute cette affaire ». Il a dit que le désaccord se poursuivait et qu'ils (Lakehead Aviation) refusaient de lui remettre ses livrets de bord et qu'il avait estimé qu'il devait retirer son aéronef de leur propriété.

M. Renaud a dit qu'il possédait une lettre (pièce non présentée) du Canadian Owners and Pilots Association traitant du Manuel de navigabilité, chapitre 575, Annexe A, Maintenance élémentaire, point no 3 où l'on expliquait qu'aucune certification après maintenance n'était requise pour le montage saisonnier de skis sur un train d'atterrissage fixe s'il n'y avait pas débranchement des conduites hydrauliques.

M. Renaud a déclaré qu'il avait demandé ses livrets de bord à quatre reprises à Lakehead Aviation et qu'on lui avait toujours présenté mille excuses pour ne pas les lui remettre. Il a ajouté que s'il avait eu les carnets en main, il aurait pu les faire signer. Il a dit qu'un autre mécanicien aurait pu les signer.

Aux questions qu'on lui a posées, M. Renaud a déclaré qu'il gardait toujours le carnet de route dans l'aéronef, qu'il ne l'en retirait jamais mais qu'il avait constaté son absence au moment des modifications. M. Renaud a déclaré que c'était la première fois qu'il faisait les modifications lui-même et qu'auparavant, elles avaient toujours été effectuées par Lakehead Aviation. Il avait les factures à l'appui.

M. Renaud a déclaré qu'il gardait son aéronef verrouillé et que le livret était dans la pochette du dossier du siège.

CONCLUSION

Les modifications du train d'atterrissage de l'aéronef C-GVBI ont déjà été effectuées par Lakehead Aviation bien qu'il n'y ait aucune inscription à cet égard. Il existe sept certifications après maintenance pour la période du 7 juillet 1989 au 22 août 1994 mais aucune ne concerne une modification du train d'atterrissage. Une inscription du 22 février 1994 au carnet de route signale un retour en service après un essai en vol satisfaisant. Il n'y a pas eu d'essai de vol après cette date. La dernière inscription du carnet de route figure en page 7 et porte la date du 22 août 1994 et la page 8 est vierge.

Le livret technique contient encore moins de renseignements appropriés. La première inscription est datée du 26 août 1989 et la dernière du 5 juillet 1993; la page 26 est vierge.

Une inscription du 2 avril 1991 au livret technique concerne l'enlèvement de l'hélice aux fins de révision. L'inscription suivante concerne la réinstallation de l'hélice après révision mais la colonne de certification après maintenance ne comporte aucune signature.

Il incombe au propriétaire d'un aéronef de voir à la mise à jour des livrets de bord de son aéronef.

Le point principal de la présente audience est le remplacement du train d'amerrissage du C-GVBI par un train d'atterrissage et des skis effectué par le propriétaire, M. Renaud, sans supervision appropriée et sans signature d'une certification après maintenance aux livrets de bord.

L'interprétation du point (3) de l'Annexe A du chapitre 575 du Manuel de navigabilité est incorrecte. On n'y fait pas mention de train d'amerrissage ou de train d'atterrissage enlevé ou réinstallé. La signification correcte du point (3) concerne tout simplement l'enlèvement des roues et la réinstallation de skis. L'exception (sans débranchement des conduites hydrauliques) concerne l'installation de certains types de skis sur train d'atterrissage.

L'ampleur des travaux de remplacement d'un train d'amerrissage par un train d'atterrissage élimine totalement la possibilité de les inclure à la liste de maintenance ÉLÉMENTAIRE. Les 22 points de la pièce M-8 sont de nature beaucoup moins importante et correspondent à une MAINTENANCE ÉLÉMENTAIRE.

Le propriétaire ou exploitant d'un aéronef doit se tenir au courant des règlements qui se rapportent à l'exploitation de son aéronef. M. Renaud n'était pas conscient de toutes ses responsabilités dans cette affaire et certains des gens qualifiés qui ont assuré l'entretien de son aéronef ont commis des manquements à cet égard. La preuve est donnée par l'absence d'inscriptions appropriées aux livrets techniques.

DÉCISION

Je confirme la décision du ministre d'imposer une amende de 250,00 $ concernant les chefs d'accusation nos 1 et 2.

Gordon R. Mitchell
Conseiller
Tribunal de l'aviation civile