Decisions

CAT File No. C-1225-33
MoT File No. RAP-6504-P022325-027517

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Minister of Transport, Applicant

- and -

John Robert Angus Clarkson, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, S.C., c. A-2, s. 7.7
Air Regulations, C.R.C. 1978, c. 2, ss 210(1)a), 826(1)
Certificate of Airworthiness Order (Air Navigation Order, Series II, No. 4), ss 3(a), (b)

Journey Log Entries, Certificate of Airworthiness


Review Determination
William C. Pearson, Q.C.


Decision: August 1, 1996

I find the contraventions did occur. However, because some defects had failed to be reported by Transport Canada inspectors or by AMOs employed by the owner, I reduce the penalties for each contravention in counts one to eight from $250.00 to $125.00 for a total of $1,000.00 and from $100.00 to $50.00 for the contravention in count nine for a total penalty of $1,050.00. This sum, payable to the Receiver General for Canada, must be forwarded to the Civil Aviation Tribunal within fifteen days following service of this determination.

A Review Hearing on the above matter was held Tuesday, July 9, 1996 at 10:00 hours at the offices of Environment Canada, in the city of Winnipeg, Manitoba. The Respondent indicated he had received full disclosure by the Minister. Both parties agreed that no agreements had been reached by them.

BACKGROUND

John Robert Angus Clarkson was alleged to have contravened paragraph 210(1)(a) of the Air Regulations on the eight following occasions:

COUNT #1: April 19, 1995, at approximately 1700 hours local time;
COUNT #2: April 21, 1995, at approximately 1810 hours local time;
COUNT #3: April 29, 1995, at approximately 910 hours local time;
COUNT #4: April 29, 1995, at approximately 1750 hours local time;
COUNT #5: May 8, 1995, at approximately 900 hours local time;
COUNT #6: May 8, 1995, at approximately 1635 hours local time;
COUNT #7: May 9, 1995, at approximately 1100 hours local time; and
COUNT #8: May 17, 1995, at approximately 1730 hours local time.

In addition, he is alleged to have contravened subsection 826(1) of the Air Regulations between July 12, 1994 and May 17, 1995 in that he unlawfully failed to maintain an aircraft journey log by neglecting to enter total air time since new on each line of the journey log. An examination shows that the total time was entered at least once on each page of the journey log.

In each of the eight alleged contraventions, the Minister lists the following items as causing a loss of airworthiness under paragraphs 3(a) and (b) of the Certificate of Airworthiness Order, ANO Series II, No. 4:

a) No maintenance release entered for the fixed gear installation which was completed on December 1, 1994;

b) Maintenance entered in the journey log on December 1, 1994 was not transferred over to the technical log (airframe log) as prescribed in Chapter 575, Section 575.7(f) of the Airworthiness Manual;

c) Propeller blade root chafe ring broken and falling out;

d) Tail wheel steering and air rudder linkage and cables were not hooked up in accordance with the standard;

e) Engine had excessive oil leaks;

f) Carburetor air box, seal missing;

g) Left front and rear exterior door handle shafts and linkages were excessively worn;

h) Right front exterior door handle was not an approved part;

i) Right rear main gear attach bolt was not an approved part and part of the said bolt head was cut off;

j) Right upper and lower main gear attach bolt nut not within safety; and k) Jam nut was missing from the left rear main gear rebound block retainer.

There is no question that items c), d), f), h), i), j) and k) were sufficient if proven to cause the loss of airworthiness under the order. Indeed, Mr. Girardin, the AME called by Mr. Clarkson, admitted this.

The evidence discloses that Mr. Clarkson left the aircraft C-FGQJ at Matheson Island, Manitoba and requested Mr. Girardin to fix a magneto in the aircraft while he, Mr. Clarkson, was attending a wedding in Saskatoon. This work was to be done on May 16, 1995. On this day, Inspector Little of the Airworthiness Branch was in attendance at Matheson Island on another matter. He noticed C-FGQJ and did an external examination of the aircraft which resulted in the production of the snag list as detailed in Exhibit M-8. As he was in the process of his inspection, Mr. Girardin arrived to do his work with the magneto.

At this point the evidence was not clear. Mr. Little understood that Mr. Girardin would look after the snags and ground the aircraft. Mr. Girardin said no; he was only to fix the Magneto. Mr. Little then left the scene, leaving Mr. Girardin who then fixed the magneto and returned to Winnipeg. Neither of them made any attempt to advise Mr. Clarkson, or leave a snag list with the aircraft, where he would spot it, or ground the aircraft.

On May 17, Mr. Clarkson returned from Saskatoon to Matheson Island. According to the journey log, he took off at 1730 hours, flying for 25 minutes to Berens River, his home base.

On May 18, 1995 Inspector Little called Matheson Island (Wam Air) and was advised of the departure of C-FGQJ on the previous day. Inspector Little then issued a Notice of Suspension (Exhibit M-7) and delivered the same, by Fax, to Mr. Clarkson at Berens River, along with Exhibit M-8. No evidence was forthcoming with regard to repairs or any flying after May 17.

I would point out that, except for two items, there is no direct evidence that the condition of the aircraft existed prior to May 16, 1995. These two items are the square door knob and the tail wheel steering linkage and cables, both of which Mr. Clarkson stated were on the aircraft when he acquired it from NORCAN AIR. Mr. Girardin said that he had installed a non-standard part, namely the right main gear attach bolt, but the evidence is not clear when, but presumably it was done no later than December 1, 1994 when the wheels were installed and floats removed.

I am concerned particularly with the rear wheel steering, which the evidence states is non-standard and apparently has never before been questioned either by the Airworthiness Branch or the AMO employed from time to time by Northern Manitoba Outfitters Limited.

On reviewing all of the evidence and in particular the evidence of Mr. Clarkson and Mr. Girardin, I have reached the conclusion that the Minister has established, on a balance of probabilities, that the Certificate of Airworthiness was not in effect as alleged in Counts one to eight. With regard to Count #9 of the contravention, it is alleged that there was a failure to enter the total air time in the journey log on each flight occasion, though the total for each page of the journal showed this figure. Subsection 826(1) of the Air Regulations requires the owner to keep the journey log. However, the Certificate of Registration shows Northern Manitoba Outfitters Limited as the owner. The Minister has proceeded by subsection 8.4(2) of the Aeronautics Act, making Mr. Clarkson vicariously liable as the operator.

I am therefore satisfied on the evidence produced by the Minister and with admissions made by Mr. Clarkson and Mr. Girardin that the contraventions indeed occurred.

I turn now to a consideration of the penalties to be imposed. Because some defects had failed to be reported by Transport Canada inspectors or by AMOs employed by the owner, I reduce the penalties for each contravention in counts one to eight from $250.00 to $125.00 for a total of $1,000.00 and from $100.00 to $50.00 for the contravention in count nine for a total penalty of $1,050.00.

William C. Pearson
Member
Civil Aviation Tribunal

Décisions

Dossier no C-1225-33 (TAC)
Dossier no RAP-6504-P022325-027517 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Ministre des Transports, requérant(e)

- et -

John Robert Angus Clarkson, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Arrêté sur les certificats de navigabilité des aéronefs, (Ordonnance sur la navigation aérienne, série II, n° 4), al. 3a) et b)
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, ch. A-2, art. 7.7, par 8.4(2)
Règlement de l'Air, C.R.C. 1978, ch. 2, al. 210(1)a) et par. 826(1)

Inscriptions au carnet de bord, Certificat de navigabilité


Décision à la suite d'une révision
William C. Pearson, Q.C.


Décision : le 1er août 1996

TRADUCTION

Je conclus que les contraventions se sont produites. Toutefois, étant donné que certaines défaillances n'avaient pas été signalées par les inspecteurs de Transports Canada ni par les mécaniciens d'entretien d'aéronef embauchés par le propriétaire, je réduis les amendes de chacun des chefs d'accusation 1 à 8 de 250,00 $ à 125,00 $, soit à 1 000,00 $ et celle du chef d'accusation 9 de 100,00 $ à 50,00 $. L'amende totale s'élève donc à 1 050,00 $. L'amende est payable au Receveur général du Canada et doit parvenir au Tribunal de l'aviation civile dans les quinze jours suivant la signification de la présente décision.

L'audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le mardi 9 juillet 1996 à 10 h dans les bureaux d'Environnement Canada dans la ville de Winnipeg (Manitoba). L'intimé a mentionné que toute la preuve avait été divulguée par le ministre à cet égard. Les deux parties ont affirmé qu'elles n'avaient pas conclu d'entente entre elles.

HISTORIQUE

On reproche à John Robert Angus Clarkson d'avoir contrevenu à l'alinéa 210(1)a) du Règlement de l'Air à huit occasions, comme suit :

Chef d'accusation 1 : Le 19 avril 1995 vers 17 h, heure locale;

Chef d'accusation 2 : le 21 avril 1995 vers 18 h 10, heure locale;

Chef d'accusation 3 : le 29 avril 1995 vers 9 h 10, heure locale;

Chef d'accusation 4 : le 29 avril 1995 vers 17 h 50, heure locale;

Chef d'accusation 5 : le 8 mai 1995 vers 9 h, heure locale;

Chef d'accusation 6 : le 8 mai 1995 vers 16 h 35, heure locale;

Chef d'accusation 7 : le 9 mai 1995 vers 11 h, heure locale; et

Chef d'accusation 8 : le 17 mai 1995 vers 17 h 30, heure locale.

De plus, il est présumé avoir contrevenu au paragraphe 826(1) du Règlement de l'Air entre le 12 juillet 1994 et le 17 mai 1995, en négligeant illicitement de tenir pour l'aéronef un carnet de route, n'ayant pas indiqué le temps de vol total depuis neuf aux lignes prévues à cet effet. L'examen du carnet révèle cependant que le total du temps de vol a été indiqué au moins une fois sur chaque page.

Pour chacune des huit présumées contraventions, le ministre relève les facteurs suivants causant l'annulation de la navigabilité en vertu des alinéas 3a) et b) de l'Arrêté sur les certificats de navigabilité des aéronefs des ONA, série II, no 4 :

a) aucun certificat après maintenance n'a été rédigé pour l'installation de l'atterrisseur fixe effectuée le 1er décembre 1994;

b) l'entretien signalé au carnet de route le 1er décembre 1994 n'a pas été transcrit au carnet technique (livret cellule) conformément à l'alinéa 575.7f) du chapitre 575 du Manuel de navigabilité;

c) l'anneau de frottement de l'emplanture de pale d'hélice était cassé et décroché;

d) le volant de la roue de queue ainsi que la timonerie et les câbles du gouvernail aérien n'étaient pas reliés selon les normes;

e) le moteur perdait des quantités excessives d'huile;

f) le joint du réchauffeur de carburateur manquait;

g) la tringlerie et les tiges des poignées extérieures des portes gauches avant et arrière étaient excessivement usées;

h) la poignée de la porte avant extérieure droite n'était pas une pièce conforme;

i) le boulon de fixation de l'atterrisseur principal droit arrière n'était pas une pièce conforme et la tête du boulon était coupée;

j) l'écrou du boulon de fixation des atterrisseurs supérieurs et inférieurs droits n'était pas sécuritaire; et k) le contre-écrou de la bague de fixation de la butée de talonnage de l'atterrisseur principal arrière gauche manquait.

Il est évident qu'à eux seuls, les facteurs c), d), f), h), i), j) et k) suffisaient, advenant qu'ils soient prouvés, à annuler la navigabilité en vertu de l'arrêté. M. Girardin, le mécanicien d'entretien d'aéronef appelé par M. Clarkson, a admis le fait.

La preuve indique que M. Clarkson a laissé l'aéronef C-FGQJ à l'île Matheson (Manitoba) et a demandé à M. Girardin de réparer une magnéto de l'aéronef pendant qu'il se rendait à un mariage à Saskatoon. Le travail devait être fait le 16 mai 1995. Le même jour, l'inspecteur Little de la division de la navigabilité se trouvait à l'île Matheson pour d'autres affaires. Il a remarqué le C-FGQJ dont il a examiné l'extérieur à la suite de laquelle la liste d'anomalies techniques constituant la pièce M-8 a été rédigée. Pendant l'inspection, M. Girardin est arrivé sur les lieux pour effectuer la réparation de la magnéto.

La preuve sur les faits qui suivent n'est pas claire. M. Little avait compris que M. Girardin s'occuperait des anomalies et interdirait l'aéronef de voler. M. Girardin dit plutôt qu'il devait seulement réparer la magnéto. M. Little a quitté les lieux, laissant M. Girardin effectuer la réparation pour ensuite retourner à Winnipeg. Ni l'un ni l'autre n'a tenté d'aviser M. Clarkson ni de laisser une liste des anomalies à vue dans l'aéronef ni encore d'interdire l'aéronef de voler.

Le 17 mai, M. Clarkson est revenu à l'île Matheson de Saskatoon. Le carnet de route indique qu'il a décollé à 17 h 30 et qu'il a effectué un vol de 25 minutes le menant à Berens River, son aéroport d'attache.

Lors d'un appel téléphonique à l'île Matheson (Warm Air) le 18 mai 1995, l'inspecteur Little a appris que le C-FGQJ s'était envolé le jour précédent. Il a alors émis un avis de suspension (pièce M-7) qu'il a transmis par télécopieur, accompagné de la pièce M-8, à M. Clarkson à Berens River. Aucune preuve n'a été présentée concernant des réparations ou un vol effectués après le 17 mai.

Je tiens à signaler qu'à part deux des facteurs présentés, aucun autre facteur ne contient la preuve directe que l'état rapporté existait avant le 16 mai 1995. Il s'agit du bouton de porte carré et de la timonerie et des câbles du volant de la roue de queue qui, selon les déclarations de M. Clarkson, étaient déjà sur l'aéronef lorsqu'il l'a acheté de NORCAN AIR. M. Girardin a déclaré qu'il avait installé une pièce non standard, soit le boulon de fixation de l'atterrisseur principal droit mais la preuve n'indique pas le moment exact de l'installation qui a probablement été faite au plus tard le 1er décembre 1994, lorsqu'on a remplacé les flotteurs par des roues.

Je me préoccupe particulièrement du volant arrière que la preuve indique comme non standard, élément qui n'a jamais auparavant été signalé ni par la division de la navigabilité ni par le mécanicien d'entretien d'aéronef embauché de temps à autre par Northern Manitoba Outfitters Limited.

L'examen de la preuve et particulièrement des témoignages de MM. Clarkson et Girardin m'amène à conclure que le ministre a établi, selon la prépondérance des probabilités, que le certificat de navigabilité n'était pas en vigueur, tel que l'allègue le ministre par les chefs d'accusation 1 à 8. En ce qui concerne le chef d'accusation 9 de la contravention, il stipule qu'il y a eu défaut d'inscrire le temps de vol total au carnet de route pour chaque vol bien que le temps total de vol figure sur chaque page. Le paragraphe 826(1) du Règlement de l'Air stipule que le propriétaire doit tenir un carnet de route. Cependant, le certificat d'immatriculation indique que le propriétaire est Northern Manitoba Outfitters Limited. Le ministre a utilisé le paragraphe 8.4(2) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, tenant ainsi M. Clarkson responsable du fait d'autrui en tant qu'utilisateur.

J'accepte par conséquent la preuve présentée par le ministre et l'admission des faits par MM. Clarkson et Girardin concernant les contraventions et j'estime qu'il y a eu contraventions.

Je tiens à m'arrêter sur les amendes à imposer. Étant donné que certaines défaillances n'avaient pas été signalées par les inspecteurs de Transports Canada ni par les mécaniciens d'entretien d'aéronef embauchés par le propriétaire, je réduis les amendes de chacun des chefs d'accusation 1 à 8 de 250,00 $ à 125,00 $, soit à 1 000,00 $ et celle du chef d'accusation 9 de 100,00 $ à 50,00 $. L'amende totale s'élève donc à 1 050,00 $.

William C. Pearson
Conseiller
Tribunal de l'aviation civile