Decisions

CAT File No. C-1285-33
MoT File No. RAP-6504-P346503-027576

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Minister of Transport, Applicant

- and -

Kenneth Wayne Frey, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S.C., 1985, c. A-2, s. 7.7
Air Carriers Using Small Aeroplanes Order, (Air Navigation Order, Series VII, No. 3), s. 39(3)

Crew Member Requirements


Review Determination
William C. Pearson, Q.C.


Decision: October 17, 1996

The agreed statement of facts contained an admission that the allegation by the Minister was correct. Accordingly I must find the contravention occurred as alleged. As this is Mr. Frey's first offence and as the penalty of $750.00 is the minimum, then I am of the opinion that it is adequate and should not be changed. This amount, payable to the Receiver General for Canada, must be received by the Tribunal within fifteen days of service of this determination.

The Review Hearing on the above matter was held Friday, September 27, 1996 at 10:00 hours at the Red Lake Inn, in Red Lake, Ontario.

Upon opening the Review Hearing, I was advised that the parties had agreed to the facts stated in Exhibit M-1.

The agreed statement of facts contained an admission that the allegation by the Minister was correct. Accordingly I must find the contravention occurred as alleged.

Mr. Frey, in argument, showed how he arrived at the conclusion that he could operated IFR as a single crew member in a multi-engine aircraft. Mr. Frey has since qualified on his Pilot Proficiency Checks to fly the Navajo as a single crew member. It is, however, quite clear that at the time, he was not so qualified. Unfortunately, Mr. Frey's interpretation of the Operating Certificate of Wildcountry Airways Ltd. does not provide such authority unless he is personally qualified.

There remains only the question of the penalty. As this is Mr. Frey's first offence and as the penalty of $750.00 is the minimum, then I am of the opinion that it is adequate and should not be changed.

William C. Pearson, Q.C.
Member
Civil Aviation Tribunal

Décisions

Dossier no C-1285-33 (TAC)
Dossier no RAP-6504-P346503-027576 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Ministre des Transports, requérant(e)

- et -

Kenneth Wayne Frey, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Arrêté sur les transporteurs aériens utilisant des avions petits porteurs (Ordonnance sur la navigation aérienne, série VII, n° 3), par. 39(3)
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, ch. A-2, art. 7.7

Exigences relatives aux membres d'équipage


Décision à la suite d'une révision
William C. Pearson, Q.C.


Décision : le 17 octobre 1996

TRADUCTION

L'exposé conjoint des faits contient l'admission des faits reprochés par le ministre. Par conséquent, je doit statuer que la contravention s'est produite telle qu'alléguée. Étant donné qu'il s'agit de la première infraction de M. Frey et que l'amende de 750,00 $ constitue la peine minimale, j'estime qu'elle est juste et qu'elle doit être maintenue. L'amende est payable au Receveur général du Canada et doit parvenir au Tribunal dans les quinze jours de la signification de la décision.

L'audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le vendredi 27 septembre 1996 à 10 h au Red Lake Inn à Red Lake (Ontario).

À l'ouverture de l'audience, on m'a avisé que les parties s'entendaient sur les faits énoncés à la pièce M-1.

L'exposé conjoint des faits contient l'admission des faits reprochés par le ministre. Par conséquent, je doit statuer que la contravention s'est produite telle qu'alléguée.

Dans ses observations, M. Frey a expliqué comment il en était arrivé à la conclusion qu'il pouvait piloter seul en IFR un aéronef multimoteur. Depuis, il a subi avec succès des examens de contrôle de la compétence d'un pilote et peut piloter seul le Navajo. Il est par contre évident qu'à l'époque, il n'était pas apte à le faire. Malheureusement, l'interprétation du certificat d'exploitation de Wildcountry Airways Ltd. par M. Frey ne lui accorde pas une telle autorisation, sauf s'il est personnellement agréé.

Il ne reste que la question de l'amende, puisqu'il s'agit de la première infraction de M. Frey et que la peine imposée, soit 750,00 $, constitue la peine minimale, j'estime qu'elle est juste et qu'elle doit être maintenue.

William C. Pearson, c.r.
Conseiller
Tribunal de l'aviation civile