Decisions

CAT File No. C-1836-41
MoT File No. RAP5504-C11114-031848 (P)

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Minister of Transport, Applicant

- and -

Wapiti Valley Air Ltd., Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. A-2, s. 7.7
Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96-433, s. 700.02(1)

Tribunal bias, Motion to adjourn, Cross-examination of witness, Air Operator Certificate


Review Determination
William Thornton Tweed


Decision: May 11, 2000

I confirm the Minister's finding that Wapiti Valley Air Ltd. did operate an air transport service when it did not hold an air operator certificate authorizing it to operate that service contrary to subsection 700.02(1) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations and confirm the monetary penalty of $5,000. That amount, made payable to the Receiver General for Canada, must be received by the Civil Aviation Tribunal within 15 days of service of this determination.

A Review Hearing on the above matter was held Tuesday, March 21, 2000 at 10:00 hours at the Prince Albert City Hall, in Prince Albert, Saskatchewan.

BACKGROUND

Mr. Leo Hiebert was at the relevant time the owner of a Cessna 185 Canadian registered C-GFVZ. This aircraft was registered to Blue Water Aviation Services Ltd. (Blue Water) pursuant to a lease agreement which among other things provides that the aircraft would be flown only by pilots in the employ of Blue Water and that it would not be flown by Mr. Hiebert, the lessor. There was no management agreement between Wapiti Valley Air Ltd. (Wapiti) and Blue Water.

Blue Water did at the relevant time have an air operator certificate authorizing the operation of Cessna 185 type aircraft. Wapiti did not at the relevant time have an air operator certificate authorizing the operation of Cessna 185 type aircraft.

All negotiations with the Saskatchewan Government were conducted by Mr. Hiebert. All invoices for air charter service to the Saskatchewan Government were on Wapiti bills. All short term aviation service contracts were between Saskatchewan Environment and Resource Management (SERM) and Wapiti.

Aircraft C-GFVZ was flown by Mr. Hiebert under the SERM service contract on July 10, 11, 12, 14, and 15, 1998.

THE EVIDENCE

Mr. Robert Bruce, a regional duty officer for SERM, testified he was contacted by Mr. Hiebert who Mr. Bruce understood was looking for work on behalf of Wapiti. Mr. Bruce made a verbal agreement with Mr. Hiebert to charter a Cessna 185 from Wapiti. Aircraft C-GFVZ was positioned to Stoney Rapids to fly for SERM on a short term air service contract.

Mr. Robert P. Spracklin, the provincial aviation manager for SERM, became aware of Mr. Hiebert and Wapiti on or about July 15, 1998. As there was no standing offer he requested confirmation of operating authority and insurance. The standing offer he received named both Wapiti and Blue Water. Mr. Spracklin indicated his office received the requested documents on or about July 20, 1998.

Ms. Sharon Fitch, an accounts clerk with SERM, confirmed that she processed the invoices for payment, and a cheque was issued to Blue Water on August 31, 1998.

Mr. Edward A. Gaffray, president of Blue Water, advised that his letter dated July 7, 1998 was as a result of a call from Mr. Hiebert who indicated he had a problem with the Saskatchewan Government. Mr. Gaffray stated that Blue Water's records on Mr. Hiebert are incomplete and do not demonstrate that Mr. Hiebert was in fact employed by Blue Water as a pilot.

Based on the context in which Mr. Gaffray referred to the letter and his statement that he was not sure "the letter may have been backdated," I am convinced that the letter was in fact backdated. Mr. Gaffray also confirmed that Blue Water had in fact paid Wapiti a portion of the funds paid it by the Saskatchewan Government.

CONCLUSION

Messrs. Hiebert's and Gaffray's position that the operation was at all times Blue Water's is not supported by any corroborating evidence. I find all the corroborating evidence supports the Minister's position that Wapiti was operating a commercial air service without an air operator certificate. The evidence demonstrates that, but for the Saskatchewan Government requirements and inquiries, Blue Water's name would never have appeared on any documents.

Mr. Hiebert carried out all negotiations with SERM. The operations of aircraft C-GFVZ were controlled by Mr. Hiebert. He flew the aircraft and he maintained the aircraft all on behalf of Wapiti.

There was no evidence that Blue Water exercised any operational control over the aircraft. To the contrary Blue Water's only involvement was to provide documents requested by SERM and cash the Government of Saskatchewan's cheque.

I confirm the Minister's finding that Wapiti Valley Air Ltd. did operate an air transport service when it did not hold an air operator certificate authorizing it to operate that service contrary to subsection 700.02(1) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations and confirm the monetary penalty of $5,000.

William T. Tweed
Member
Civil Aviation Tribunal


Appeal decision
Allister W. Ogilvie, E. David Dover, William G. McDonald


Decision: October 31, 2000

The appeal is dismissed. The Appeal Panel finds that the Tribunal Member had made no reviewable error. We uphold the Minister's decision to assess a monetary penalty of $5,000. This amount is to be made payable to the Receiver General for Canada and must be received by the Civil Aviation Tribunal within 15 days of service of this determination.

An appeal hearing on the above entitled matter was held October 12, 2000 at 10:30 hours at Prince Albert City Hall in Prince Albert, Saskatchewan.

BACKGROUND

Mr. Leo Hiebert is a pilot and the proprietor of Wapiti Valley Air Ltd. He also owns a Cessna 185 aircraft C-GFVZ. In the summer of 1998 the aircraft was leased to and registered in the name of a company in Pine Falls, Manitoba, doing business as Blue Water Aviation Services Ltd. Blue Water held an air operator certificate, issued by the Minister of Transport. That certificate authorized, amongst other things, the operation of a Cessna 185 aircraft.

In July of 1998 Mr. Hiebert was flying C-GFVZ in northern Saskatchewan. The aircraft was chartered to the Forest Fire Management branch, a division of the Saskatchewan government, on a short term aviation contract during a busy fire season.

The contract for the flying was drawn between the appropriate government division and Wapiti Valley Air, signed by Mr. Hiebert. The Saskatchewan government flight logs show Wapiti Valley Air as the company or agency that owns or leased the aircraft.

Mr. Hiebert had a letter from Blue Water purportedly allowing him to act as their agent. After some consideration the Saskatchewan government issued payment to Bluewater for the contracted flying. Wapiti Valley then received payment from Blue Water.

A subsequent investigation by the Minister of Transport lead it to the conclusion that Wapiti Valley Air Ltd. was operating an air transport service when it did not hold an air operator certificate. The Minister assessed a monetary penalty against Wapiti in the amount of $5,000. As the penalty was not paid, the Minister requested a hearing of the matter before the Civil Aviation Tribunal.

The review hearing, before a single member was held in Prince Albert, Saskatchewan on March 21, 2000. The hearing Member confirmed the Minister's finding that Wapiti Valley Air Ltd. did operate an air transport service when it did not hold an air operator certificate.

Mr. Hiebert, on behalf of Wapiti Valley, appealed the decision in the following form:

In the case Minister of Transport verus Wapiti Valley Air please be advised that we are appealing the decision by Mr. Tweed.

Mr. Tweed has shown that he is not inpartial when he indicated favor to MOT when the Tribunal was postponed the last time even thought Transport had postponed it twice previous.

He gave Wapiti improper instructions on how they were to cross examine or redirect questioning on evidence given by Transport wittness. This did not afford the opportunity to properly examine the evidence against Wapiti or the the facts as repersented by Transport witnesses.

Mr. Tweeds conclusion are based on bias and not on actual fact or law. Such as his conclusion that Mr. Hiebert has to lease his aircraft for free to Blue Water Aviation.

It is also apparent that Mr. Gaffery may not remember all the facts of dealings with Hiebert in regards to this case. This may be caused by the horrific aircraft accident that Mr. Gaffery was in several months previous, which in fact caused Transport to postpone the Tribunal as Mr. Gaffery had broken neck and was extremely lucky to be alive, althought his engineer riding with him was not so lucky.

It is the postion of Wapiti Valley Air that in fact this case should be dealt with in a court of law with real judge and leagal council present for Wapiti.

I would also suggest that the appeal be booked for late fall at the earliest.

Pursuant to that request an appeal hearing before three members was convened on October 13, 2000 in Prince Albert.

REPRESENTATION BY THE PARTIES

Mr. Hiebert

At the outset of the hearing Mr. Hiebert was granted a half-hour postponement to review his documentation.

Mr. Hiebert took issue with the hearing Member, Mr. Tweed's findings of fact, for example that he was not an employee of Blue Water. The lack of pay stubs or incomplete training records were problems with Blue Water, but did not show that he was not an employee of that firm. Even though he was an employee of Blue Water he was also entitled to his lease payment, which he had received.

The postponements granted by Mr. Tweed favoured Transport Canada and thus showed that he was biased. In fact, one letter from Mr. Tweed stated that he had sympathy for Transport Canada's position. Regarding the earliest of postponements, Mr. Hiebert had not received any correspondence.

Mr. Hiebert argued that the instructions regarding cross-examination given to him by Mr. Tweed prevented his effective examination of the witness. This was further indicia of bias. Mr. Hiebert expressed his utter and complete dissatisfaction with the process in which he found himself enmeshed and expressed a desire to have his case heard in a court of law rather than the Tribunal setting.

Upon conclusion of his verbal presentation Mr. Hiebert elected to leave the hearing without listening to the Minister's presentation thus denying himself his right to reply. He did receive the Minister's written factum.

Mr. Hector

As Mr. Hiebert had left the proceeding Mr. Hector, the Minister's Advisory and Appeal Officer chose not to present a verbal argument to which Mr. Hiebert could not respond. Rather, as Mr. Hiebert was in possession of the factum, Mr. Hector restricted his presentation to a verbal review of that document.

Through the factum, Mr. Hector asserted that the Review Member's determination was based on certain findings of fact. Those findings of fact should not be disturbed unless they are unreasonable, and here they were not unreasonable.

The factum listed various findings the Member had made, and reviewed the source of the findings in the transcript. Mr. Hector urged that the Member's determination be upheld.

DISCUSSION

A review of the registry records shows that the 1st two postponements were conducted by telephone. That is why Mr. Hiebert did not get a written confirmation. The 1st of those occurred when Mr. Gaffery was immobile after his accident. Another postponement was granted when a Transport Canada witness had an illness in the family which turned out to be terminal.

The record does show that Mr. Tweed was sympathetic to the Applicant's (Transport Canada's) argument in one request for postponement. Transport Canada was resisting a request for adjournment from Mr. Hiebert. Although sympathetic to the argument, Mr. Tweed nevertheless granted the adjournment. We do not agree that the history of postponements indicates that Mr. Tweed was not impartial.

A review of the transcript does not reveal that the hearing Member gave improper instructions regarding cross-examination. On the contrary we find that Mr. Tweed attempted to assist Mr. Hiebert, an unrepresented document holder, with his directions on cross-examination.

We are in agreement with the Minister's position that the findings of fact are not unreasonable. Mr. Hiebert suggests that they are unreasonable and gives the example of Mr. Tweed's conclusion that Mr. Hiebert has to lease his aircraft for free to Blue Water. It may be that Mr. Hiebert has drawn that conclusion from Mr. Tweed's findings but nowhere in the reasons nor in the transcript are we able to find such an assertion.

Regarding the reliability of Mr. Gaffery's remembrance of the facts in his dealings with Mr. Hiebert, we have no basis on which to evaluate that assertion. We do note that Mr. Hiebert gave his testimony as to those dealings and was free to counter or contradict those given by Mr. Gaffery.

Mr. Hiebert takes the position that his case should be dealt with in a court of law. Participation in aviation is voluntary. A person must fulfill certain criteria in order to obtain an aviation document, whether it be a pilot licence or company operations certificate. Once a participant in this regime, the document holder has both privileges and obligations. The administrative penalties regime prescribed by the Aeronautics Act applies to all of those participants and appeals from such administrative action is to the Civil Aviation Tribunal as prescribed by Part IV of the Act. Thus Mr. Hiebert/Wapiti Valley Air, although an unwilling participant, is nevertheless subject to strictures of the regime. It may be that he has other legal recourse but comment upon that is not within our purview.

CONCLUSION

Our review of the record and consideration of the parties' arguments leads us to the conclusion that they do not reveal the legal frailties asserted by Wapiti Valley Air Ltd.

DETERMINATION

The appeal is dismissed. The Appeal Panel finds that the Tribunal Member had made no reviewable error. We uphold the Minister's decision to assess a monetary penalty of $5,000.

Reasons for Appeal Determination by:

Allister Ogilvie, Vice-Chairperson

Concurred:

E. David Dover, Member
William G. McDonald, Member

Décisions

Dossier no C-1836-41 (TAC)
Dossier no RAP5504-C11114-031848 (P) (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Ministre des Transports, requérant(e)

- et -

Wapiti Valley Air Ltd., intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, c. A-2, art. 7.7
Règlement de l'aviation canadien, DORS/96-433, art. 700.02(1)

Parti pris du Tribunal, Motion d'ajournement, Contre-interrogatoire du témoin, Certificat d'opérateur aérien


Décision à la suite d'une révision
William Thornton Tweed


Décision : le 11 mai 2000

TRADUCTION

Je confirme la décision du ministre selon laquelle Wapiti Valley Air Ltd. a exploité un service de transport aérien sans détenir de certificat d'exploitation aérienne lui permettant d'exploiter ce service, en contravention au paragraphe 700.02(1) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien et je confirme l'amende imposée de 5 000 $. L'amende est payable au receveur général du Canada et doit parvenir au Tribunal de l'aviation civile dans les quinze jours suivant la signification de la présente décision.

Une audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le mardi, 21 mars 2000 à 10 h au Prince Albert City Hall de Prince Albert (Saskatchewan).

HISTORIQUE

À l'époque en question, M. Leo Hiebert était propriétaire d'un Cessna 185 portant l'immatriculation canadienne C-GFVZ. L'aéronef était immatriculé sous Blue Water Aviation Services Ltd. (Blue Water) en vertu d'un contrat de location stipulant entre autres que l'aéronef ne serait utilisé que par des pilotes au service de Blue Water et qu'il ne serait pas piloté par M. Hiebert, le locateur. Aucune entente de gestion n'avait été convenue entre Wapiti Valley Air Ltd. (Wapiti) et Blue Water.

Blue Water disposait, à ce moment, d'un certificat d'exploitation aérienne autorisant l'utilisation d'un aéronef de type Cessna 185. Au même moment, Wapiti n'avait pas de certificat d'exploitation aérienne autorisant l'utilisation d'un aéronef de type Cessna 185.

Toutes les négociations avec le gouvernement de la Saskatchewan étaient effectuées par M. Hiebert. Toutes les factures de services aériens nolisés adressées au gouvernement de la Saskatchewan provenaient de Wapiti. Tous les contrats de services aériens à court terme étaient passés entre Saskatchewan Environment and Resource Management (SERM) et Wapiti.

L'aéronef C-GFVZ a été piloté par M. Hiebert conformément au contrat de service de la SERM les 10, 11, 12, 14, et 15 juillet 1998.

LA PREUVE

M. Robert Bruce, agent régional de service de SERM, a témoigné que M. Hiebert avait communiqué avec lui parce que, selon les termes de M. Bruce, il cherchait du travail pour le compte de Wapiti. M. Bruce a conclu avec M. Hiebert une entente verbale de nolisement d'un Cessna 185 de Wapiti. L'aéronef C-GFVZ a été stationné à Stoney Rapids en vue de déplacements pour le compte de SERM en vertu d'un contrat de service à court terme.

Le gestionnaire provincial de l'aviation de SERM, M. Robert P. Spracklin, a été mis au fait de l'existence de M. Hiebert et Wapiti le ou vers le 15 juillet 1998. Comme il n'y avait pas d'offre permanente, il a demandé une confirmation de l'autorisation de vol et des assurances. Il a reçu une offre permanente mentionnant les noms de Wapiti et de Blue Water. M. Spracklin a indiqué que son bureau avait reçu les documents demandés vers le 20 juillet 1998.

Mme Sharon Fitch, commis-comptable de SERM, a confirmé avoir traité le paiement des factures et émis un chèque à Blue Water le 31 août 1998.

M. Edward A. Gaffray, président de Blue Water, a signalé que sa lettre du 7 juillet 1998 faisait suite à un appel de M. Hiebert par lequel ce dernier indiquait qu'il éprouvait des difficultés avec le gouvernement de la Saskatchewan. M. Gaffray a déclaré que les dossiers de Blue Water concernant M.. Hiebert sont incomplets et qu'ils ne démontrent pas que M. Hiebert était effectivement au service de Blue Water à titre de pilote.

D'après le contexte dans lequel M. Gaffray a fait référence à la lettre et d'après son énoncé selon lequel il dit ne pas être « certain que la lettre n'ait pas été antidatée », je suis convaincu que la lettre a été antidatée. M. Gaffray a également confirmé que Blue Water avait effectivement remis à Wapiti une partie des fonds qui lui avaient été payés par le gouvernement de la Saskatchewan.

CONCLUSION

L'affirmation de MM. Hiebert et Gaffray selon laquelle les activités étaient entièrement celles de Blue Water n'est appuyée par aucune preuve corroborante. J'estime que la preuve corroborante appuie la position du ministre selon laquelle Wapiti exploitait un service commercial aérien sans certificat d'exploitation. La preuve démontre que, sauf dans le cas des exigences et des demandes du gouvernement de la Saskatchewan, le nom de Blue Water n'a jamais figuré sur aucun document.

M. Hiebert a mené toutes les négociations avec SERM. Il dirigeait les déplacements de l'aéronef C-GFVZ. Il a piloté l'aéronef et assurait son entretien au nom de Wapiti.

On n'a pas démontré que Blue Water exerçait le contrôle de l'exploitation de l'aéronef. Au contraire, la seule participation de Blue Water a consisté à fournir les documents demandés par SERM et à encaisser le chèque du gouvernement de la Saskatchewan.

Je confirme la décision du ministre selon laquelle Wapiti Valley Air Ltd. a exploité un service de transport aérien sans détenir de certificat d'exploitation aérienne lui permettant d'exploiter ce service, en contravention au paragraphe 700.02 (1) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien et je confirme l'amende imposée de 5 000 $.

William T. Tweed
Conseiller
Tribunal de l'aviation civile


Décision à la suite d'un appel
Allister W. Ogilvie, E. David Dover, William G. McDonald


Décision : le 31 octobre 2000

TRADUCTION

L'appel est rejeté. Le comité d'appel estime que le conseiller n'a pas commis d'erreur à réviser. Nous maintenons la décision du ministre d'imposer une amende de 5 000 $, laquelle est payable au receveur général du Canada et doit parvenir au Tribunal de l'aviation civile dans les quinze jours suivant la signification de la présente décision.

Une audience en appel relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le 12 octobre 2000 à 10 h 30 au Prince Albert City Hall de Prince Albert (Saskatchewan).

HISTORIQUE

M. Leo Hiebert est pilote et propriétaire de Wapiti Valley Air Ltd. Il possède également un aéronef Cessna 185, C-GFVZ. À l'été de 1998, l'aéronef a été loué et immatriculé au nom d'une compagnie de Pine Falls au Manitoba qui exerçait ses activités sous le nom de Blue Water Aviation Services Ltd. Blue Water détenait un certificat d'exploitation aérienne établi par le ministre des Transports qui l'autorisait entre autres à utiliser un aéronef Cessna 185.

En juillet 1998, M. Hiebert pilotait le C-GFVZ dans le nord de la Saskatchewan. L'aéronef avait été affrété par une division du gouvernement de la Saskatchewan, le Forest Fire Management, aux termes d'un court contrat pour la durée de la saison des feux.

Le contrat de vol avait été établi entre la division gouvernementale appropriée et Wapiti Valley Air, et signé par M. Hiebert. Les carnets de vol du gouvernement de la Saskatchewan indiquent Wapiti Valley Air comme compagnie ou agence possédant ou louant l'aéronef.

M. Hiebert avait une lettre de Blue Water lui permettant prétendument d'agir comme agent. Après avoir examiné la question, le gouvernement de la Saskatchewan a établi un paiement à Blue Water à l'égard du vol. Wapiti Valley a ensuite été payée par Blue Water.

Une enquête subséquente du ministre des Transports a révélé que Wapiti Valley Air Ltd. exploitait un service de transport aérien sans certificat d'exploitation aérienne. Le ministre a imposé une amende de 5 000 $ à Wapiti. Comme l'amende n'était pas payée, le ministre a demandé une audience en révision devant le Tribunal de l'aviation civile.

L'audience en révision, devant un seul conseiller, a été tenue à Prince Albert (Saskatchewan) le 21 mars 2000. Le conseiller à l'audience a confirmé la conclusion du ministre selon laquelle Wapiti Valley Air Ltd. exploitait un service de transport aérien sans certificat d'exploitation aérienne.

Au nom de Wapiti Valley, M. Hiebert en a appelé de la décision dans les termes suivants :

Dans la cause du ministre des Transports contre Wapiti Valley Air, veuillez prendre note que nous en appelons de la décision de Me Tweed.

Me Tweed ne s'est pas montré impartial en favorisant le MdT alors que l'audience au Tribunal avait été reportée la dernière fois, même si le MdT l'avait déjà reportée deux fois auparavant.

Il a donné à Wapiti des directives incorrectes sur la façon de contre-interroger ou de réinterroger sur les preuves présentées par le témoin de Transports. Wapiti n'a donc pas eu l'occasion d'examiner vraiment la preuve présentée contre elle ou les faits présentés par les témoins de Transports.

Les conclusions de Me Tweed sont biaisées et ne reposent pas sur des faits véritables ni sur la loi. Il en va de même de sa conclusion que M. Hiebert doit louer son aéronef gratuitement à Blue Water Aviation.

Il semble aussi que M. Gaffery ne se rappelle pas tous les éléments négociés avec M. Hiebert en ce qui concerne cette cause. Ce pourrait être dû au terrible accident d'aéronef dont il a été victime quelques mois auparavant, ce qui a en fait incité Transports à remettre l'audience, M. Gaffery ayant une fracture au cou et étant très chanceux d'être vivant. Le technicien qui l'accompagnait n'a pas eu la même chance.

Wapiti Valley Air estime en fait que cette cause devrait être entendue devant une cour de justice, avec un véritable juge et un conseiller juridique représentant Wapiti.

Je suggère aussi que l'appel ne soit pas fixé avant la fin de l'automne.

Pour faire suite à cette demande, une audience en appel devant trois conseillers a été fixée au 13 octobre 2000 à Prince Albert.

REPRÉSENTATIONS DES PARTIES

M. Hiebert

En début d'audience, on a accordé une demi-heure à M. Hiebert pour revoir sa documentation.

M. Hiebert a contesté la conclusion du conseiller de l'audience, Me Tweed, selon laquelle il n'était pas un employé de Blue Water. L'absence de talons de chèques de paye et des dossiers de formation incomplets constituait un problème chez Blue Water, mais ne démontrait pas qu'il n'était pas un employé de la firme. Même s'il était employé de Blue Water, il avait droit de toucher un paiement de location, ce qui s'est effectivement produit.

Les ajournements accordés par Me Tweed favorisaient Transports Canada et démontrent qu'il n'était pas impartial. En fait, une lettre de Me Tweed démontrait qu'il penchait en faveur de Transports Canada. M. Hiebert n'avait pas reçu de communication sur le premier ajournement.

M. Hiebert a prétendu que les directives concernant le contre-interrogatoire que lui a données Me Tweed l'empêchait d'interroger efficacement le témoin. C'était un autre indice de partialité M. Hiebert a exprimé une insatisfaction complète à l'égard de la procédure à laquelle il a été mêlé et a exprimé le désir que sa cause soit entendue devant une cour de justice plutôt que devant le Tribunal.

En conclusion à sa présentation verbale, M. Hiebert a choisi de quitter l'audience sans entendre la présentation du ministre, se privant ainsi du droit de répliquer. Il a reçu le mémoire écrit du ministre.

Me Hector

Puisque M. Hiebert avait quitté l'audience, Me Hector, agent d'appel du ministre, a choisi de ne pas présenter d'argumentation verbale à laquelle M. Hiebert ne pouvait répondre. Puisque M. Hiebert avait le mémoire en main, Me Hector a limité sa présentation à une révision verbale du document.

Par le mémoire, Me Hector affirmait que la décision du conseiller en révision reposait sur certaines conclusions de fait qu'il ne fallait pas contester à moins qu'elles ne soient déraisonnables, ce qui n'était pas le cas.

Le mémoire citait diverses conclusions du conseiller et les reliait à leur source dans la transcription. Me Hector a insisté pour que la conclusion du conseiller soit maintenue.

DISCUSSION

Un examen des dossiers révèle que les deux premiers ajournements ont été effectués par téléphone. C'est pourquoi M. Hiebert n'a pas reçu de confirmation écrite. Le premier ajournement s'est produit au moment où M. Gaffery était immobilisé à la suite de son accident. Un autre ajournement a été accordé pour cause de maladie qui s'est avérée terminale dans la famille du témoin de Transports Canada.

Le dossier indique que Me Tweed a penché en faveur du requérant (Transports Canada) dans le cas d'une demande d'ajournement. Transports Canada s'opposait à une demande d'ajournement de M. Hiebert. Quoiqu'il ait compris le motif de l'opposition, Me Tweed a tout de même accordé l'ajournement. Nous ne croyons pas que la série des ajournements indique que Me Tweed n'était pas impartial.

Un examen de la transcription ne laisse pas voir que le conseiller à l'audience a donné de mauvaises directives concernant le contre-interrogatoire. Au contraire, nous estimons que Me Tweed a tenté d'aider M. Hiebert, un titulaire de document non représenté, en lui donnant des directives quant au contre-interrogatoire.

Nous sommes d'accord avec l'opinion du ministre que les conclusions de fait ne sont pas déraisonnables. M. Hiebert laisse entendre qu'elles le sont et cite à titre d'exemple la conclusion de Me Tweed selon laquelle M. Hiebert doit louer gratuitement son aéronef à Blue Water. Il se peut que M. Hiebert ait tiré cette conclusion de celles de Me Tweed mais rien dans les motifs ni dans la transcription ne permet de conclure à une telle affirmation.

En ce qui concerne la capacité de se rappeler le détail de ses interventions avec M. Hiebert, de la part de M. Gaffery, nous ne disposons d'aucune base d'évaluation. Nous savons que M. Hiebert a donné un témoignage sur ces interventions et était libre de contredire celui de M Gaffery.

M. Hiebert est d'avis que sa cause devrait être entendue par une cour de justice. L'aviation est une activité libre. Pour obtenir un document d'aviation, notamment une licence de pilote ou un certificat d'exploitation d'une compagnie, un candidat doit répondre à certains critères. Une fois qu'il a adhéré au système, le titulaire de document bénéficie de certains privilèges mais a aussi des obligations. Les sanctions administratives prévues à la Loi sur l'aéronautique s'appliquent à tous les participants et les appels des mesures administratives relèvent du Tribunal de l'aviation civile, en vertu de la partie IV de la Loi. Par conséquent, M. Hiebert/Wapiti Valley Air, bien que réticent, n'en est pas moins assujetti à la structure du système. Il se peut qu'il ait d'autres recours juridiques mais il n'est pas de notre ressort de commenter son opinion.

CONCLUSION

Notre examen du dossier et des arguments des parties ne nous permet pas de conclure aux faiblesses juridiques invoquées par Wapiti Valley Air Ltd.

DÉCISION

L'appel est rejeté. Le comité d'appel conclut que le conseiller du Tribunal n'a pas commis d'erreur à réviser. Nous maintenons la décision du ministre d'imposer une amende de 5 000 $.

Motifs de la décision à la suite d'un appel :

Allister Ogilvie, vice-président

Y souscrivent :

E. David Dover, conseiller
William G. McDonald, conseiller