Decisions

CAT File No. C-1870-52
MoT File No. SB4200-C146-TAYLOR

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Minister of Transport, Applicant

- and -

Dwayne Taylor, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aerodrome Security Regulations s. 20(3)
Aeronautics Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. A-2, s. 7.7

Retricted area pass


Review Determination
James C. Campbell


Decision: February 8, 2000

Given the evidence, I confirm the Minister's decision to assess a monetary penalty of $75 to Mr. Dwayne Taylor. That amount is payable to the Receiver General for Canada and must be received by the Civil Aviation Tribunal within 15 days of service of this determination.

A Review Hearing on the above matter was held Friday, December 10, 1999, at 13:00 hours at the Federal Court of Canada, in Winnipeg, Manitoba.

BACKGROUND

On or about the 18th day of June, AD., 1999, at approximately 09:35 hours, at the Winnipeg International Airport, in the City of Winnipeg, in the Province of Manitoba, Dwayne Taylor, the holder of a restricted area pass designed to be worn on the outer clothing, did enter and remain in a restricted area, to wit: the north end of Apron 1 of the Winnipeg International Airport, without visibly displaying his restricted area pass on his outer clothing, thereby contravening subsection 20(3) of the Aerodrome Security Regulations.

Subsection 20(3) of the Aerodrome Security Regulations states clearly:

Where a restricted area pass has been designed to be worn on outer clothing, no person shall enter or remain in a restricted area unless the pass is visibly displayed on the person's clothing in a place where the pass is designed to be worn.

This case seems rather straightforward in that Mr. Tweedy, an Inspector for Transport Canada Security, observed Mr. Taylor on the Winnipeg International Airport without his restricted area pass visibly displayed.

Mr. Taylor concurs with Mr. Tweedy and said he did not want to display the pass "unless someone else paid for losing it." Mr. Taylor gave an argument as to how fragile the pass and its clip were.

Mr. Walter Weber, Police and Security Services Coordinator, Transport Canada, testified that the pass can be worn any way one wishes but, as the regulation states clearly, must be "visibly displayed."

In Exhibit M-3 "Statement of Ralph Charles Tweedy," I quote, "Following further persuasion, Mr. Taylor clipped his pass onto the outside of his pocket. It was apparent from Mr. Taylor's attitude regarding pass display that continued compliance was not likely forthcoming."

Therein lies the reason for the violation. Mr. Taylor as reluctant and argumentative as he was complied at the scene. Mr. Tweedy, in his wisdom, did not believe it would last and an attitude adjustment must be made and Mr. Taylor was fined.

Mr. Clint Toews, presenting officer for Transport Canada, explained Transport Canada's purpose regarding security.

Transport Canada does not feel the penalty was excessive and begged the $75 fine be upheld.

CONCLUSION

Upon lengthy deliberation and in consideration of the maximum penalty not exceeding $1,000, I am convinced hereby to confirm the Minister's decision.

James C. Campbell
Member
Civil Aviation Tribunal

Décisions

Dossier no C-1870-52 (TAC)
Dossier no SB4200-C146-TAYLOR (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Ministre des Transports, requérant(e)

- et -

Dwayne Taylor, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, c. A-2, art. 7.7
Réglement sur les mesures de sureté aux aérodromes art. 20(3)

Laissez-passer de zone réglementée


Décision à la suite d'une révision
James C. Campbell


Décision : le 8 février 2000

TRADUCTION

Étant donné la preuve, je confirme la décision du ministre d'imposer une amende de 75 $ à M. Dwayne Taylor. Ce montant est payable à l'ordre du receveur général du Canada et doit parvenir au Tribunal de l'aviation civile dans les quinze jours suivant la signification de la présente décision.

Une audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le vendredi 10 décembre 1999 à 13 h, à la Cour fédérale du Canada, à Winnipeg (Manitoba).

HISTORIQUE

Le ou vers le 18 juin 1999 (A.D.), aux environs de 9 h 35, à l'Aéroport international de Winnipeg dans la ville de Winnipeg, dans la province du Manitoba, Dwayne Taylor, titulaire d'un laissez-passer de zone réglementée conçu pour être porté sur l'extérieur d'un vêtement, est entré et est demeuré dans une zone réglementée, à savoir, l'extrémité nord de l'aire de trafic 1 de l'Aéroport international de Winnipeg, sans porter visiblement son laissez-passer de zone réglementée sur l'extérieur de son vêtement, contrevenant ainsi au paragraphe 20(3) du Règlement sur les mesures de sûreté aux aérodromes.

Le paragraphe 20(3) du Règlement sur les mesures de sûreté aux aérodromes prévoit clairement :

Lorsque le laissez-passer est conçu pour être porté sur l'extérieur d'un vêtement, il est interdit d'entrer ou de demeurer dans une zone réglementée à moins de porter visiblement le laissez-passer là où il est censé être porté.

Cette cause semble plutôt simple puisque M. Tweedy, un inspecteur de sûreté de Transports Canada, a vu M. Taylor à l'Aéroport international de Winnipeg International, alors qu'il ne portait pas visiblement son laissez-passer de zone réglementée.

M. Taylor a souscrit aux propos de M. Tweedy et il a dit qu'il ne voulait pas porter visiblement le laissez-passer « à moins que quelqu'un ne paie son remplacement ». M. Taylor a allégué que le laissez-passer et son agrafe étaient fragiles.

M. Walter Weber, coordonateur des services de police et de sûreté de Transports Canada, a témoigné qu'une personne peut porter le laissez-passer de la façon dont elle l'entend mais, par ailleurs, le règlement établit clairement qu'il doit être « porté visiblement ».

À la pièce M-3. Soit la déclaration de Ralph Charles Tweedy, on trouve et je cite : « Après que j'aie insisté, M. Taylor a agrafé son laissez-passer sur l'extérieur de sa poche. Il ressortait clairement de l'attitude de M. Taylor en ce qui a trait au port de son laissez-passer, qu'il n'allait vraisemblablement pas respecter cela en permanence. »

Ce sont là les raisons de la contravention. M. Taylor s'est conformé à la situation tout en étant hésitant et opiniâtre. M. Tweedy, dans sa sagesse, n'a pas cru que cela allait continuer et qu'un changement d'attitude s'imposait; on a imposé une amende à M. Taylor.

M. Clint Toews, agent chargé de présenter le cas pour Transports Canada, a expliqué le point de vue de Transports Canada en ce qui a trait à la sûreté.

Transports Canada ne croit pas que le peine soit trop élevée et a demandé le maintien de l'amende à 75 $.

CONCLUSION

À la suite d'une longue délibération et en considérant que la peine maximale ne peut excéder 1 000 $, je décide aux présentes de confirmer la décision du ministre.

James C. Campbell
Conseiller
Tribunal de l'aviation civile