Decisions

CAT File No. C-1964-33
MoT File No. RAP5504-040116 (P)

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Minister of Transport, Applicant

- and -

Ellsworth Brian Hemingson, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. A-2, s. 7.7
Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96-433, s. 602.19(7), (10)

Landing, Loss of separation, Take-off, Attempt


Review Determination
David Lloyd Eckmire


Decision: June 6, 2000

Based upon the evidence before me, I find that the Minister has not proven that Ellsworth Brian Hemingson contravened subsection 602.19(7) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations. The monetary penalty of $250 is dismissed.

A Review Hearing on the above matter was held Thursday, May 4, 2000 at 10:00 hours at the Prince Albert City Hall, in Prince Albert, Saskatchewan.

THE ALLEGATION

By registered mail Captain Ellsworth Brian Hemingson received the following notice of assessment of monetary penalty dated December 9, 1999:

Pursuant to section 7.7 of the Aeronautics Act, the Minister of Transport has decided to assess a monetary penalty on the grounds that you have contravened the following provision(s):

Canadian Aviation Regulation 602.19(7), in that at approximately 2032 hours UTC, on or about the 22nd day of June, 1999, at or near Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, being the pilot-in-command of an aircraft, to wit, a Hawker Siddeley HS748 2B, bearing Canadian registration marks C-FQVE, that was manoeuvring on the surface, you failed to give way to a Cessna 150H aircraft that was landing or about to land.

TRANSPORT CANADA CASE PRESENTATION

Mr. Richard J. C. Gagnon, Civil Aviation Inspector with Transport Canada Aviation Enforcement, in Winnipeg, Manitoba, outlined the Minister's case.

He asserted that Captain Hemingson, pilot-in-command of a Hawker Siddeley HS 748 2B aircraft, bearing Canadian registration marks C-FQVE, and operating as West Wind flight 736, attempted to take off from runway 26 at the Prince Albert, Saskatchewan airport, on or about June 22, 1999, at approximately 20:32 UTC, and that he failed to give way to a Cessna 150H, Canadian registration C-FXLB, thereby contravening subsection 602.19(7) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs).

Subsection 602.19(7) of the CARs states: "Where an aircraft is in flight or manoeuvring on the surface, the pilot-in-command of the aircraft shall give way to an aircraft that is landing or about to land."

Mr. Gagnon stated that a pre-hearing conference between the Applicant and the Respondent had produced agreement that the written statements of witnesses J. D. Gaudry, Robert O'Donovan, and Bill Warrell would be entered into the record, and were accepted as factual by Captain Hemingson.

THE EVIDENCE

Mr. Gagnon then presented documentary evidence including the certificate of registration and certificate of airworthiness for aircraft C-FQVE, the journey log for the aircraft for June 22, 1999, the notice of assessment, a transcript of radio communications made by the Prince Albert Flight Service Station (FSS) during the time period before, during and just after the incident, a copy of the audio tape of the actual radio transmissions, a copy of the Prince Albert airport diagram taken from the Canada Air Pilot, and a copy of West Wind Aviation's aircraft occurrence report, dated June 22, 1999, together with explanatory diagrams.

Mr. Gagnon then played the audio tape of radio transmissions recorded by the Prince Albert FSS during the period beginning at 20:15:56 UTC, until 20:44:40 UTC during which time the incident took place.

DOCUMENT HOLDER CASE PRESENTATION

Captain Hemingson took the stand and was affirmed. He stated that he was the pilot-in-command of West Wind 736 on June 22, 1999 and in fact made the radio transmissions between the aircraft and the Prince Albert FSS. He agreed that the audio tape and transcript were an accurate portrayal of the events that led to the incident.

Captain Hemingson stated that he was aware that the Cessna 150 XLB was inbound to the airport and was planning to overfly the airport, joining a right downwind leg for a landing on runway 26.

Captain Hemingson taxied to the intersection of taxiway Delta and Runway 08 / 26. At this point, he saw the Cessna 150 cross overhead the airfield, about to turn to join the right downwind traffic pattern for runway 26.

Believing he had sufficient time to backtrack on runway 26, and then take off while the C 150 completed its landing pattern, Captain Hemingson broadcast his intentions on the mandatory frequency, and backtracked to the button of runway 26. During this time, he heard the Prince Albert FSS advise the C 150 XLB that the Hawker 748 was backtracking runway 26 and advising XLB to "extend a little bit."

Captain Hemingson heard the pilot of the C 150 say "I have him in sight." A minute later, Captain Hemingson broadcast that West Wind 736 is "on the roll runway 26 right turn out."

Seconds later the C 150 pilot broadcasts, "You've got a 150 landing over you."

Captain Hemingson aborted the take-off attempt. He believes the pilot of the C-150 XLB was guilty of poor airmanship, and that he (Hemingson), had taken all reasonable precautions to determine the location of the C 150, and allow enough time to backtrack his aircraft and take off before the C 150 commenced its final approach.

CROSS-EXAMINATION

Under cross-examination by Inspector Gagnon, Captain Hemingson revealed that he had been flying for 35 years and had over 20,000 hours.

Mr. Gagnon asked Captain Hemingson if his flight was behind schedule or if there was a need for a hurried departure. Captain Hemingson advised that they were not behind schedule, and that their Prince Albert stop was normally of short duration. Mr. Gagnon asked what options Captain Hemingson may have had which might have prevented this incident. Captain Hemingson admitted that he could have waited for the C 150 to complete the traffic pattern, or called him directly on the radio to discuss the potential conflict.

SUMMARY AND CONCLUSION

The Prince Albert airport is a busy airport hosting scheduled airline traffic, air taxi and charter flights, flight training, itinerant traffic, and in the summer, a forest fire tanker base. A NAV CANADA FSS provides both air and ground advisory service on the mandatory frequency of 122.3. It is customary for aircraft to depart after receiving the local advisory announcement from the FSS, and making the requisite blind radio call, even if other aircraft are in the vicinity or in the circuit. On the day of the incident, the airport was busy, with itinerant traffic, and fire service aircraft both departing and arriving, and accommodating each other in the process.

In his summary, Mr. Gagnon characterized the pilot of the C 150 XLB as "inexperienced" and "a problem child." He indicated that Transport Canada had already dealt with this pilot, although no evidence was introduced, as to how he was dealt with, nor was he produced as a witness. The radio transcript and audio tape reveal however, that the pilot was inbound to Prince Albert from the south, and was planning to fly to a left base for runway 26, not an approved procedure. This potentially dangerous situation was pointed out on the mandatory frequency by a fire service aircraft pilot who suggested that the C 150 pilot follow the approved procedure for joining the traffic pattern.

The clear implication was that then everyone would know where he was supposed to be. The FSS radio operator readily agreed with this suggestion, advising the pilot of XLB that the standard pattern for the circuit was right hand, and could he "cross overhead the field, come straight over the field and join a right hand downwind?" The pilot of the C 150 XLB stated he would comply.

Nevertheless, Inspector Gagnon questioned the judgement and airmanship of Captain Hemingson in commencing a take-off while the C 150 was in the traffic pattern. Mr. Gagnon alleged that the C 150 had priority once in the circuit.

Subsection 602.19(7) of the CARs does not define where or when the "landing" process begins. Does it begin when a pilot radios in that he is inbound and plans to land at a certain airport? Does it begin when the pilot enters the aerodrome control zone? Does it begin when he overflies the airport, or when he joins the downwind, or when he turns base leg? Or does the landing process begin when the pilot turns onto final approach?

The manoeuvring speeds of a variety of aircraft necessitate some latitude in interpreting this regulation. For example, it is reasonable to expect that larger or faster aircraft will fly a wider landing pattern, and that the time and distance of the downwind, base leg and final approach leg, will vary not only with aircraft type, but also with the prevailing wind conditions.

Experienced pilots will have developed a sense of this timing and therefore the ability to judge situations accordingly. Captain Hemingson observed the C 150 overhead the airport, just before it would have joined the downwind leg. He determined that he had sufficient time to backtrack his aircraft the short distance to the button of runway 26, turn around and commence an immediate departure, without interfering with the landing of the C 150 XLB.

His sense of situational awareness was reinforced by hearing first that the C 150 was on base leg, and then acknowledging the FSS suggestion that it "might want to extend a little bit" by stating "I have him in sight." Captain Hemingson then hears XLB state he is "on final 26" and commences his take-off roll, still in the belief that there is ample separation, and that the pilot of XLB has him in sight.

In this regard, it must be noted that subsection 602.19(10) of the CARs states: "No person shall conduct or attempt to conduct a take-off or landing in an aircraft until there is no apparent risk of collision with any aircraft, person, vessel, vehicle, or structure in the take-off or landing path." [Emphasis added.]

Captain Hemingson made the required and customary radio calls on the Prince Albert mandatory frequency. He established situational awareness by maintaining a listening watch on the radio frequency, and by visually locating the C 150 aircraft as it was overhead the airfield and about to turn downwind. He then heard the pilot of the C 150 say that he was on base leg, and that he had the Hawker in sight. At this point Captain Hemingson would have turned his aircraft to line up with the runway for take-off, and would no longer be able to see the C 150. However the responsibility for "see and avoid" now clearly rested with the pilot of the C 150 XLB.

When Captain Hemingson heard the radio transmission from XLB "You've got a 150 landing over you", he immediately radioed the FSS asking "Is he overshooting or what's he doing?" The FSS radio operator replied, "No he's right on top of you, you'd better hold your position." Captain Hemingson then said, "Okay 736 is going back to the button here. Hey he said he had us in sight, I thought he was extending." The FSS radio operator said, "Yeah that's what I thought too."

There is no doubt that a contravention of the CARs took place here. The essential question is just who was at fault?

I am not persuaded that the Minister has proven that Captain Hemingson contravened subsection 602.19(7) of the CARs. The monetary penalty of $250 is dismissed.

David Lloyd Eckmire
Member
Civil Aviation Tribunal

Décisions

Dossier no C-1964-33 (TAC)
Dossier no RAP5504-040116 (P) (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Ministre des Transports, requérant(e)

- et -

Ellsworth Brian Hemingson, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, c. A-2, art. 7.7
Règlement de l'aviation canadien, DORS/96-433, art. 602.19(7), (10)

Tentative, Perte d'espacement, Décollage, Atterrissage


Décision à la suite d'une révision
David Lloyd Eckmire


Décision : le 6 juin 2000

TRADUCTION

D'après la preuve présentée, j'estime que le ministre n'a pas prouvé que Ellsworth Brian Hemingson a contrevenu au paragraphe 602.19(7) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien.

Une audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le jeudi 4 mai 2000 à 10 h à l'hôtel de ville de Prince Albert à Prince Albert (Saskatchewan).

LES FAITS REPROCHÉS

Le commandant Ellsworth Brian Hemingson a reçu l'avis d'amende pour contravention du 9 décembre 1999 par courrier recommandé :

En vertu de l'article 7.7 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, le ministre des Transports a décidé de vous imposer une amende parce que vous avez contrevenu aux dispositions suivantes :

Le paragraphe 602.19(7) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien, à savoir que vers 20 h 32 UTC, le ou vers le 22 juin 1999, à ou près de Prince Albert en Saskatchewan, à titre de commandant de bord d'un aéronef, soit un Hawker Siddeley HS748 2B portant la marque d'immatriculation canadienne C-FQVE, alors que vous manoeuvriez à la surface, vous avez fait défaut de céder le passage à un aéronef Cessna 150H qui atterrissait ou qui était sur le point d'atterrir.

PRÉSENTATION DE TRANSPORTS CANADA

M. Richard J. C. Gagnon, inspecteur de l'aviation civile au Service de l'Application des règlements de Transports Canada à Winnipeg au Manitoba, a présenté la cause au nom du ministre.

Il a affirmé que le commandant Hemingson, commandant de bord d'un aéronef Hawker Siddeley HS 748 2B, portant la marque d'immatriculation canadienne C-FQVE et le numéro de vol West Wind 736, avait tenté de décoller de la piste 26 de l'aéroport de Prince Albert en Saskatchewan le ou vers le 22 juin 1999, vers 20 h 32 UTC, et qu'il avait fait défaut de céder le passage à un aéronef Cessna 150H portant la marque d'immatriculation canadienne C-FXLB, contrevenant ainsi au paragraphe 602.19(7) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC).

Le paragraphe 602.19(7) du RAC stipule : « Le commandant de bord d'un aéronef en vol ou qui manœuvre à la surface doit céder le passage à un aéronef qui atterrit ou qui est sur le point d'atterrir. »

M. Gagnon a déclaré que dans une rencontre préparatoire à l'audience entre le requérant et l'intimé, les parties s'étaient entendues sur le fait que les déclarations écrites des témoins J. D. Gaudry, Robert O'Donovan et Bill Warrell seraient portées au dossier, et le commandant Hemingson les a jugées conformes aux faits.

LA PREUVE

M. Gagnon a ensuite présenté la preuve documentaire, dont le certificat d'immatriculation et le certificat de navigabilité de l'aéronef C-FQVE, le carnet de route de l'aéronef pour le 22 juin 1999, l'avis d'amende, une transcription de la communication radio de la station d'information de vol (FSS) de Prince Albert pour la période précédant et suivant l'incident et couvrant l'incident et une copie de la bande audio de la communication radio, une copie de la disposition des pistes de l'aéroport de Prince Albert tirée du Canada Air Pilot, et une copie du rapport d'événement d'aviation de West Wind en date du 22 juin 1999 et enfin, des diagrammes explicatifs.

M. Gagnon a ensuite fait entendre la bande audio de la communication radio enregistrée par la FSS de Prince Albert entre 20 h 15 min 56 s UTC et 20 h 44 min 40 s, pendant que se déroulait l'incident.

PRÉSENTATION DU TITULAIRE

Le commandant Hemingson a rendu témoignage solennellement. Il a déclaré qu'il était commandant de bord du West Wind 736 le 22 juin 1999 et qu'il avait lui-même effectué les transmissions radio entre l'aéronef et la FSS de Prince Albert. Il a admis que la bande audio et les transcriptions décrivaient exactement les étapes qui avaient précédé l'incident.

Le commandant Hemingson a déclaré qu'il savait que le Cessna 150 XLB approchait de l'aéroport et qu'il s'apprêtait à le survoler pour ensuite effectuer un virage à droite pour passer en vent arrière en vue d'atterrir sur la piste 26.

Le commandant Hemingson a circulé au sol jusqu'à l'intersection des voies de circulation Delta 08 et de la piste 26. C'est alors qu'il a vu le Cessna 150 traverser l'espace au-dessus du terrain d'aviation, en préparation à un virage pour atterrir en vent arrière sur la piste 26.

Croyant qu'il disposait de suffisamment de temps pour remonter la piste 26 et décoller pendant que le C 150 terminait sa manœuvre d'atterrissage, le commandant Hemingson a diffusé ses intentions sur la fréquence obligatoire et a reculé au point d'impact de la piste 26. Au même moment, il a entendu la FSS de Prince Albert communiquer au C 150 XLB que le Hawker 748 reculait sur la piste 26, recommandant au XLB de « prolonger quelque peu sa manœuvre ».

Le commandant Hemingson a entendu le pilote du C 150 dire : « Je le vois. » Une minute après, le commandant Hemingson a transmis que le West Wind 736 était « en piste sur la 26, vers la droite ».

Quelques secondes après, le pilote du C 150 transmet : « Il y a un 150 qui atterrit au-dessus de vous ».

Le commandant Hemingson a mis fin à sa tentative de décollage. Il a estimé que le pilote du C-150 XLB avait manqué de professionnalisme aéronautique, alors que lui-même (Hemingson) avait pris toutes les mesures raisonnables pour établir la position du C 150 et avait prévu suffisamment de temps pour reculer et décoller avant que le C 150 n'amorce son approche finale.

CONTRE-INTERROGATOIRE

Contre-interrogé par l'inspecteur Gagnon, le commandant Hemingson a déclaré qu'il pilotait depuis 35 ans et qu'il comptait plus de 20 000 heures de vol.

M. Gagnon a demandé au commandant Hemingson si son vol était en retard ou s'il avait à décoller rapidement. Le commandant Hemingson a répondu que le vol n'était pas en retard et que l'arrêt à Prince Albert n'était jamais bien long. M. Gagnon a demandé quelles autres options auraient pu prévenir l'incident. Le commandant Hemingson a admis qu'il aurait pu attendre que le C 150 termine son circuit ou l'appeler directement par radio pour discuter du conflit possible.

RÉSUMÉ ET CONCLUSION

L'aéroport de Prince Albert est très achalandé. Il reçoit un trafic aérien régulier et irrégulier, des vols de taxi aérien et des vols nolisés; on y effectue de la formation de pilotage et en été, il devient une base d'avions citernes qui luttent contre les feux de forêt. Une FSS de NAV CANADA fournit des services aériens et des services au sol sur la fréquence obligatoire de 122.3. Il est normal que les aéronefs décollent après avoir reçu les messages locaux de la FSS et avoir effectué les appels radio exigés et sans accusé de réception, même si d'autres aéronefs circulent dans les environs ou suivent le circuit d'aérodrome. Le jour de l'incident, l'aéroport était occupé par du trafic irrégulier et les départs et arrivées d'aéronefs luttant contre les incendies de forêt, lesquels communiquent entre eux dans l'exécution de leurs manœuvres.

Dans son résumé, M. Gagnon a présenté le pilote du C 150 XLB comme « inexpérimenté » et « enfant problème ». Il a signalé que Transports Canada s'était déjà occupé du cas de ce pilote, bien qu'aucune preuve n'ait été présentée sur la façon dont le cas avait été réglé et qu'on ne l'ait pas appelé à témoigner. La transcription radio et la bande audio révèlent cependant que le pilote arrivait à Prince Albert en provenance du sud et qu'il s'apprêtait à s'approcher par la gauche vers la piste 26, une procédure non approuvée. La situation vraisemblablement dangereuse a été signalée sur la fréquence obligatoire par le pilote d'un aéronef de service d'incendie qui a suggéré que le pilote du C 150 suive la procédure approuvée pour s'intégrer au circuit d'aérodrome.

Ce message signifiait qu'ainsi, chacun saurait où il serait. L'opérateur radio de la FSS a immédiatement abondé dans le même sens et a indiqué au pilote du XLB que la circulation normale était sur la droite, lui demandant de traverser le champ d'aviation, de revenir au-dessus du champ et d'amorcer sa descente par la droite. Le pilote a répondu affirmativement.

Néanmoins, l'inspecteur Gagnon a remis en question le jugement et le professionnalisme du commandant Hemingson puisqu'il a amorcé son décollage alors que le C 150 se trouvait sur le circuit d'aérodrome. M. Gagnon a prétendu que le C 150 avait la priorité puisqu'il se trouvait déjà dans le circuit.

Le paragraphe 602.19(7) du RAC ne définit ni où ni quand commence la manœuvre d'atterrissage. Commence-t-elle lorsque le pilote signale son arrivée par radio et qu'il planifie son atterrissage à un aéroport donné? Ou lorsque le pilote franchit la zone de contrôle de l'aérodrome? Ou lorsque le pilote survole l'aéroport, lorsqu'il passe en vent arrière, lorsqu'il amorce le parcours de base? Ou lorsque le pilote entreprend l'approche finale?

Les vitesses de manœuvre de différents aéronefs donnent lieu à une certaine latitude dans l'interprétation du règlement. Ainsi, il est normal de s'attendre à ce que les aéronefs plus lourds ou plus rapides utilisent un circuit d'atterrissage plus imposant et que le temps et la distance du passage en vent arrière, de l'amorce du passage de base et de l'approche finale varient, non seulement en fonction du type d'aéronef mais des conditions du vent.

Les pilotes d'expérience ont acquis la notion du temps et par conséquent la capacité d'évaluer les situations. Le commandant Hemingson avait remarqué le C 150 survolant l'aéroport, immédiatement avant qu'il ne passe en vent arrière. Il a jugé qu'il disposait de suffisamment de temps pour reculer son aéronef au point d'impact de la piste 26, retourner et amorcer son décollage, sans nuire à l'atterrissage du C 150 XLB.

Son sens d'évaluation d'une situation a été éveillé d'abord lorsqu'il a entendu que le C 150 amorçait son parcours de base puis, lorsqu'il s'est rendu compte que la FSS lui suggérait de « prolonger quelque peu sa manœuvre », ce à quoi le pilote a répondu « Je le vois ». Le commandant Hemingson a ensuite entendu le XLB déclarer qu'il était en finale sur la piste 26 et a amorcé sa course de décollage, croyant encore que l'écart était suffisant et que le pilote du XLB le voyait.

À cet égard, il faut signaler que le paragraphe 602.19(10) du RAC prévoit : « Il est interdit d'effectuer ou de tenter d'effectuer le décollage ou l'atterrissage d'un aéronef lorsqu'il existe un risque apparent d'abordage avec un autre aéronef, une personne, un navire, un véhicule ou une structure sur la trajectoire de décollage ou d'atterrissage ». [Nous soulignons]

Le commandant Hemingson a effectué les appels radio nécessaires et habituels sur la fréquence obligatoire à Prince Albert. Il a exercé la vigilance appropriée en se mettant à l'écoute de la fréquence radio et en repérant visuellement l'aéronef C 150 qui survolait le champ d'aviation et qu'il s'apprêtait à tourner en vent arrière. C'est alors qu'il a entendu le pilote du C 150 dire qu'il amorçait son parcours de base et qu'il voyait le Hawker. Au même moment, le commandant Hemingson aurait tourné son aéronef en position parallèle à la piste pour le décollage et n'aurait plus été en mesure de voir le C 150. Cependant, la responsabilité de « voir et d'éviter » incombait dorénavant clairement au pilote du C 150 XLB.

Lorsque le commandant Hemingson a entendu la communication radio du XLB « Il y a un 150 qui atterrit au-dessus de vous », il a aussitôt demandé par radio à la FSS : « Son atterrissage est trop long ou quoi? » L'opérateur a répondu : « Non, il est juste au-dessus de vous; mieux vaut maintenir votre position. » Le commandant a alors répliqué « O.K., le 736 retourne au point d'impact. Il avait dit qu'il nous voyait. Je croyais qu'il allait prolonger. » L'opérateur a répondu : « Oui, c'est ce que je croyais aussi. »

Il n'existe aucun doute quant à une contravention au RAC dans les circonstances. Reste à déterminer qui est coupable.

Je ne suis pas convaincu que le ministre a prouvé que le commandant Hemingson a contrevenu au paragraphe  602.19(7) du RAC. L'amende imposée de 250 $ est annulée.

David Lloyd Eckmire
Conseiller
Tribunal de l'aviation civile