Decisions

CAT File No. C-1984-33
MoT File No. RAP5504-040754 (P)

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Minister of Transport, Applicant

- and -

Marty Jay Blythman, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. A-2, s. 7.7
Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96-433, s. 602.86(1)(b), s. 605.22(1)

Seat belts, Unrestrained cargo, Helicopter, Evidence


Review Determination
William Thornton Tweed


Decision: June 22, 2000

Based on the evidence provided, I find that Marty Jay Blythman did operate a Hughes 369D in contravention of paragraph 602.86(1)(b) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations. I confirm the Minister's assessment of a $250 fine for this offence. As to Count 2, I find that on the balance of probabilities and based on the evidence provided the document holder did not operate an aircraft in violation of subsection 605.22(1) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations. The Minister's allegation in Count 2 is dismissed.

The amount of $250, payable to the Receiver General for Canada, must be received by the Tribunal within 15 days of service of this determination.

A Review Hearing on the above matter was held Wednesday, May 10, 2000 at 10:00 hours at the Federal Court of Canada in the city of Winnipeg, Manitoba.

BACKGROUND

Mr. Marty Jay Blythman, the document holder, was served with a Notice of Hearing on March 23, 2000 in compliance with the requirements set out in the Aeronautics Act.

At 10:00 a.m., on May 10, 2000, the Minister was present and ready to present his case. The document holder was not present. I adjourned the hearing until 10:15 when the hearing was reconvened. Mr. Blythman was still not present. The hearing proceeded in his absence with the Minister presenting his case. The circumstances leading to these proceedings occurred on August 10, 1999 when two aviation enforcement officers observed the operation of a Hughes Helicopter 369D registered C-GJMP in the vicinity of Buffalo Narrows, Saskatchewan at approximately 2:00 p.m. local time. Marty Jay Blythman was identified as the pilot-in-command of the helicopter. The inspectors both observed that cargo located in the helicopter was not restrained and the photos taken at the time and filed as exhibits in this matter confirmed this observation.

Inspectors also allege that the passenger who sat in the middle front seat of the helicopter had a seat belt but did not have a seat. The corroborating evidence does not support this observation. The equipment list for C-GJMP filed as an exhibit in this matter confirms the installation of a centre forward seat. The photos filed as an exhibit, in particular Minister's Exhibit M-7 photograph "F", clearly show the presence of a seat structure between the pilot and the co-pilot seat. What appears to be missing is the cushion. In the absence of evidence to prove that the cushion is an integral part of the seat, I am not prepared to find that the centre seat passenger was not in a seat.

Inspector Holbrook also observed that the front centre seat belts were attached to the same hard points as the pilot and co-pilot seat belts. In the absence of proof that the installation was not consistent with the manufacturer's specification, I am not prepared to find that the seat belt installed in the helicopter at the relevant time did not meet the requirements as set out in the Canadian Aviation Regulations.

I therefore confirm the Minister's finding and assessment on Count 1 and dismiss the finding on Count 2.

William T. Tweed
Member
Civil Aviation Tribunal

Décisions

Dossier no C-1984-33 (TAC)
Dossier no RAP5504-040754 (P) (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Ministre des Transports, requérant(e)

- et -

Marty Jay Blythman, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, c. A-2, art. 7.7
Règlement de l'aviation canadien, DORS/96-433, art. 602.86(1)b), art. 605.22(1)

Preuve, Hélicoptère, Fret non assujetti, Ceintures de sécurité


Décision à la suite d'une révision
William Thornton Tweed


Décision : le 22 juin 2000

TRADUCTION

En me fondant sur la preuve présentée, j'estime que Marty Jay Blythman a effectivement utilisé un Hughes 369D en contravention à l'alinéa 602.86(1)b) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien. Je confirme l'imposition par le ministre d'une amende de 250 $ pour cette infraction. En ce qui a trait au chef d'accusation 2, je considère que selon la prépondérance des probabilités et la preuve présentée, le titulaire du document n'a pas utilisé un aéronef en contravention au paragraphe 605.22(1) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien. L'allégation du ministre au chef d'accusation 2 est rejetée.

La somme de 250 $ est payable au receveur général du Canada et doit parvenir au Tribunal dans les quinze jours suivant la signification de la présente décision.

Une audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le mercredi 10 mai 2000 à 10 h à la Cour fédérale du Canada dans la ville de Winnipeg (Manitoba).

HISTORIQUE

Un avis d'audience a été signifié le 23 mars 2000 au titulaire du document, M. Marty Jay Blythman, conformément aux prescriptions de la Loi sur l'aéronautique.

À 10 h, le 10 mai 2000, le ministre était présent et prêt à présenter sa cause. Le titulaire du document n'était pas présent. J'ai ajourné l'audience et repris vers 10 h 15. M. Blythman n'était toujours pas présent. Nous avons procédé à l'audience en son absence et le ministre a présenté sa cause. Les circonstances qui ont donné lieu aux procédures se sont produites le 10 août 1999 alors que deux représentants du service de l'application des règlements de l'aviation ont aperçu les manœuvres d'un hélicoptère Hughes 369D immatriculé C-GJMP dans le voisinage de Buffalo Narrows en Saskatchewan, vers 14 h (heure locale). On a établi l'identité du commandant de bord de l'hélicoptère, Marty Jay Blythman. Les inspecteurs ont tous deux remarqué que le fret de l'hélicoptère n'était pas attaché et les photographies prises alors et présentées en preuve dans cette affaire confirment leur observation.

Les inspecteurs ont aussi prétendu que le passager qui était assis au centre à l'avant de l'hélicoptère avait une ceinture de sécurité mais qu'il n'avait pas de siège. La preuve à l'appui ne confirme pas cette observation. La liste d'équipement du C-GJMP présentée en preuve dans cette affaire confirme l'installation d'un siège au centre à l'avant. Les photographies présentées en preuve, en particulier la pièce M-7 du ministre, à savoir la photographie « F », montrent clairement la présence d'une structure de siège entre les sièges du pilote et du copilote. Le coussin semble manquer. En l'absence de preuve selon laquelle le coussin constitue une partie intégrale du siège, je ne suis pas prêt à conclure que le passager du centre n'occupait pas un siège.

L'inspecteur Holbrook a de plus remarqué que la ceinture de sécurité du siège du centre avant était reliée aux mêmes points d'attache que les ceintures du pilote et du copilote. En l'absence de preuve selon laquelle l'installation n'était pas conforme aux indications du constructeur, je ne suis pas prêt à conclure que les ceintures de sécurité installées dans l'hélicoptère au moment de la présumée infraction ne satisfaisaient pas aux prescriptions du Règlement de l'aviation canadien.

Par conséquent, je confirme la conclusion de l'évaluation du ministre concernant le chef d'accusation no 1 et rejette la conclusion du chef d'accusation no 2.

William T. Tweed
Conseiller
Tribunal de l'aviation civile