Decisions

CAT File No. C-2290-33
MoT File No. RAP5504-041706

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Minister of Transport, Applicant

- and -

Norman Edward Colhoun, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. A-2, s. 7.7
Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96-433, s. 202.42(1)(c), 605.03(1)(b)

Registration in Foreign State, Evidence, Approval of Foreign Authority


Review Determination
E. David Dover


Decision: December 5, 2001

I find that there is no evidence Mr. Colhoun operated the aircraft. The monetary penalties listed as counts #1 and #2 assessed by the Minister are cancelled.

A Review Hearing on the above matter was held Thursday, October 4, 2001 at 10:00 hours at the Provincial Court Building, in Regina, Saskatchewan.

There were no pre-hearing conferences between the parties.

BACKGROUND

On May 10, 2001, the Minister of Transport assessed a monetary penalty of $1,250.00 against Mr. Colhoun, the Respondent, pursuant to section 7.7 of the Aeronautics Act claiming that Mr. Colhoun had contravened the following provisions(s):

COUNT #1:

Canadian Aviation Regulation 202.42(1)(c) in that, between the 19th of April 2000 and the 6th of October 2000, you did operate, in Canada, an aircraft that was registered in a foreign state, to wit, a Piper Aircraft Corporation PA-36-285, bearing American registration N55833, that was present in Canada for a total of 90 days or more in the immediately preceding twelve-month period.

COUNT #2:

FURTHER, in that between the 19th of April 2000 and the 6th of October 2000, you did operate an aircraft in flight, to wit, a Piper Aircraft Corporation PA-36-285, bearing American registration, N55833, when the aircraft was not operated in accordance with the conditions set out in the flight authority, specifically, the Special Airworthiness certificate, side 2-D, namely: no person may operate the aircraft described on the reverse: (2) over any foreign country without the special permission of that country, a violation of Canadian Aviation Regulation 605.03(1)(b).

APPLICATION OF THE PENALTY:

COUNT #1                          = $1000.00
COUNT #2                          =     250.00

TOTAL:                                   $1250.00

THE LAW

Subsection 202.42(1) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs) states:

202.42 (1) Subject to section 203.03, no person shall, unless authorized under subsection (3), operate in Canada an aircraft that is registered in a foreign state that has been present in Canada for a total of 90 days or more in the immediately preceding twelve-month period unless

(a) the foreign state is a contracting state;

(b) the operator of the aircraft is

(i) the foreign state,

(ii) an individual who is not a Canadian citizen or a permanent resident but is a citizen or subject of the foreign state, or

(iii) an entity that is incorporated or otherwise formed under the laws of the foreign state; and

(c) where the operator of the aircraft is an entity described in subparagraph (b)(iii), the aircraft is operated in Canada pursuant to an air operator certificate.

Subsection 605.03(1) of the CARs states:

605.03 (1) No person shall operate an aircraft in flight unless

(a) a flight authority is in effect in respect of the aircraft;

(b) the aircraft is operated in accordance with the conditions set out in the flight authority; and

(c) subject to subsections (2) and (3), the flight authority is carried on board the aircraft.

OPENING STATEMENTS

The case presenting officer, Mr. William Douglas Moyse, stated that an American registered aircraft registration N55833 was present in Canada for more that 90 days. He further stated that the aircraft was owned by Skynorth Aviation of Dover, Delaware, USA. He stated that his investigation revealed that the operator of the aircraft had not applied for an air operator certificate for this aircraft and was not in possession of an existing certificate.

Mr. Colhoun made no opening statement.

FOR THE APPLICANT - The Minister of Transport

The case presenting officer, Mr. W. D. Moyse, presented one witness, Mr. Joe Gaudry, who was sworn.

Mr. Gaudry stated that Transport Canada employed him as an inspector with the Enforcement Branch in Winnipeg, Manitoba. Mr. Gaudry entered the following items as evidence:

Exhibit M-1 : Transport Canada Detection Notice dated 00/May/16 indicating that Farm Air Ltd. had requested insurance for N55833. This report indicated that the aircraft was not on the company's air operator certificate and that there was a possible violation of subsection 700.02(1) and paragraph 203.03(l)(e) of the CARs.

Exhibit M-2 : Subsection 202.42(1) of the CARs.

Exhibit M-3 : Subsection 605.03(l) of the CARs.

Exhibit M-4 : Mr. Gaudry testified that he received this NCAMS report from Roger Smith, the Site Manager, NAV CANADA Airport Operations, West, of the Regina, Saskatchewan control tower.

This report shows the arrival and departure sequences of N55833 for a period commencing on January 1, 1999 and ending on September 12, 2000.

There was considerable discussion to the accuracy of this report because on certain occasions two arrivals were recorded with no departure (page three) and two departures with no arrivals (page eight).

This report shows that the aircraft was flown between the dates of May 16, 2000 and September 12, 2000 which is in excess of the 90 days required for licensing.

Exhibit M-5 : Transport Canada request from Judy Mussell dated March 20, 1996 to Norm Colhoun of Lumsden Aero Ltd. to contact Wes Watson regarding the operation of a leased foreign registered aircraft by a Canadian air carrier.

Exhibit M-6 : A letter dated April 19, 1996 to Mr. Norm Colhoun, President of Farm Air Ltd., outlines the procedure for a ministerial authorization/exemption to use a foreign-registered aircraft in Canada.

Exhibit M-7 : Mr. Gaudry testified this is a copy of Farm Air Limited's air operator certificate dated 1997.07.09 showing that there is no approval to operate a PA36-285 aircraft.

Exhibit M-8 : Mr. Gaudry indicated that this Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) document titled Aircraft Registry indicates that the aircraft registered as N55833, a Piper PA-36-285, as of 04/17/1996 was owned by Skynorth Aviation Ltd. of Dover, DE. USA.

Contained in this exhibit is a report that Mr. Colhoun possesses an airline transport pilot licence #2327801 and showing his citizenship to be Canadian with his address to be in Lumsden.

Exhibit M-9 : Norman Edward Colhoun's licence information indicating that he is a Canadian citizen.

Exhibit M-10 : Mr. Gaudry testified that he sent this letter by registered mail dated October 4, 2000 to Mr. Colhoun informing him that he was investigating a possible violation of subsection 202.42(1) of the CARs.

Exhibit M-11 : Mr. Gaudry testified that he received this handwritten communication from Mr. Curtis Borsa, a Regional Intelligence Officer with Canada Customs located in Winnipeg, Manitoba.

The report indicates that on April 19, 2000, aircraft N55833 arrived at Lethbridge AB at 11:49 from Montana and was piloted by Allen Walls. The pilot told the inspecting officer that the aircraft was going to be leased to Colhoun Farms for the summer.

Exhibit M-12 : Mr. Gaudry indicated that this transmission verified aircraft N55833 had indeed arrived in Lethbridge, AB, on 1999/04/19 at 11:49 from Montana.

Exhibit M-13 : Confirmation that Skynorth Aviation Ltd. is incorporated in the State of Delaware and is in good standing.

Exhibit M-14 : Special airworthiness certificate for N55833 registered in the USA. This special airworthiness document also contains a directive that N55833 cannot be operated "over any foreign country without the special permission of that country."

Exhibit M-15 : Aircraft registration application forms for Skynorth Aviation Ltd. from Mesa AZ. and Dover Delaware for N55833.

Exhibit M-16 : Notice of assessment of monetary penalty dated May 10, 2001 to Norman Edward Colhoun with attached confirmation that the registered letter had been delivered to Mr. Colhoun.

Exhibit M-17 : Certificate from Transport Canada that no Canadian air operator was issued a temporary certificate to operate N55833.

Exhibit M-18 : Certificate from Transport Canada stating that no authorization in accordance with Chapter 12 and Annex I of the North American Free Trade Agreement was issued by the Minister of Transport to operate N55833.

Cross-examination

Mr. Colhoun questioned the mistakes on the NCAMS (M-4). Mr. Gaudry stated that the reason there were not any sequential arrival and departure times is because the tower was closed.

Mr. Colhoun stated that the date, April 19, 2000 should actually be April 19, 1999 as one can see that the original date showing 1999 has been written over to show the year 2000 (Exhibit M-11).

Mr. Gaudry testified that he had indeed changed the date and indicated that the date of April 19, 1999 was beyond the statute of limitations as Transport Canada can only go back one year in their investigations.

THE RESPONDENT - Mr. Norman Edward Colhoun

Mr. Colhoun was sworn as a witness and entered the following exhibits:

Exhibit D-1: Mr. Colhoun presented a copy of a logbook belonging to Allen Walls together with an unsworn statement that he, Allen Walls, was not flying a PA-36 registration N55833 at any time during the year of 2000.

Exhibit D-2: Division V-Operation of Foreign Aircraft, subsection 202.42(1) - proposed regulation not in effect.

Exhibit D-3: Agreement Concerning the Airworthiness and Environmental Certification.

Exhibit D-4: Section 507.05 of the CARs on the Validation of a Foreign Flight Authority.

Exhibit D-5: Model (TCDS) (type certificate data sheet) Information indicates that the PA-36-285 is certified under Federal Aviation Regulations (FAR) Part 23.

Redirect

The question to Mr. Colhoun queried "where in regulations does it state either in the CARs or the Free Trade Agreement can you operate a foreign aircraft without a permit?" Answer: there is no regulation covering this.

Mr. Colhoun stated that he personally did not operate the aircraft (N55833). He further stated that Colhoun Farms Ltd. operated the aircraft. He stated that he was President and Operations Manager of Skynorth Aviation Ltd.

The evidentiary record was closed.

CLOSING STATEMENTS

Mr. Moyse stated that the aircraft, N55833 operated in Canada for a period in excess of 90 days (M-4). He further stated Mr. Colhoun is the President of Skynorth Aviation Ltd. and the principal of Farm Air Ltd, and Colhoun Farms.

He indicated that the Registry from the United States of America required the aircraft to be in possession of a Canadian operating permit. He stated that no operating permits had been applied for aircraft N55833 (M-17 and M-18).

Mr. Colhoun indicated that there were errors in the NCAMS (M-4). He further stated that Mr. Gaudry had altered a document received from a Canada Customs inspector to further and justify his own case.

ANALYSIS

The first decision must be made as to who was operating the aircraft. In assessing the monetary penalty, Transport Canada assumes that is Mr. Colhoun. Yet we have evidence that the aircraft is owned by Skynorth Aviation Ltd. and operated by Colhoun Farms Ltd.

It is Mr. Colhoun's evidence that Colhoun Farms Ltd. operated the aircraft during the period it was in Canada. There is no evidence to the contrary, and there is no evidence from Transport Canada as to who actually operated the aircraft.

I refer to Minister of Transport v. Lindbergh's Air Service.[1] "For purposes of proceedings under the Act a 'corporation' is the same as a 'person' and both can commit offences under the Act."

The Interpretation Act defines the following:

"person", or any word or expression descriptive of a person, includes a corporation;

The next decision concerns the validity of Transport Canada's evidence, specifically M-4 and M-11.

Mr. Gaudry testified under oath that he altered M-11 to further his own case. To change a year from 1999 to 2000 is not a responsible act. The testimony in the case of M-4 indicates that this is a typewritten copy interpreted from the original NAV CANADA report. Because of the actions taken by Mr. Gaudry in M-11 I give little weight to any documents prepared by Transport Canada that are not certified copies of original documents.

The final decision is to determine if the aircraft required a permit to operate in Canada. This aspect the Minister did prove through M-14 which is the current registration of the aircraft in the United States of America.

I am also convinced that Mr. Colhoun knew that he or his corporations required a permit to operate the aircraft.

DETERMINATION

The Minister must prove, on a balance of probabilities, each element of the offence. The proof must come from the evidence presented, whether through witness testimony or documentary evidence such as exhibits or through other acceptable means.

I find that there is no evidence Mr. Colhoun operated the aircraft. Whichever person or corporation operated the aircraft is still a mystery.

By altering a Canada Customs document the witness destroyed his credibility. Thus I have no evidence as to how long the aircraft was actually operating in Canada and whether it returned to the USA during the period in question.

Mr. Colhoun knew of the requirement to obtain a permit. His evidence is that he did not operate the aircraft and the Minister should have charged the responsible party.

The monetary penalties listed as counts #1 and #2 assessed by the Minister are cancelled.

E. David Dover
Member
Civil Aviation Tribunal


CAT File No. O-0025-10 (Appeal).

Décisions

Dossier no C-2290-33 (TAC)
Dossier no RAP5504-041706 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Ministre des Transports, requérant(e)

- et -

Norman Edward Colhoun, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, c. A-2, art. 7.7
Règlement de l’aviation canadien, DORS/96-433, art. 202.42(1)c), 605.03(1)b)

Immatriculation dans un état étranger, Approbation par une autorité étrangère, Preuve


Décision à la suite d'une révision
E. David Dover


Décision : le 5 décembre 2001

TRADUCTION

Je considère qu'il n'y a aucune preuve démontrant que M. Colhoun a exploité l'aéronef. Les amendes inscrites aux chefs d'accusation nos 1 et 2 et imposées par le ministre sont annulées.

Une audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le jeudi 4 octobre 2001 à 10 h, au Provincial Court Building, à Regina (Saskatchewan).

Il n'y a eu aucune conférence préparatoire à l'audience entre les parties.

HISTORIQUE

Le ministre des Transports a imposé une amende de 1 250 $ à M. Colhoun, l'intimé, le 10 mai 2001, en vertu de l'article 7.7 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique sous prétexte que M. Colhoun avait contrevenu aux dispositions suivantes :

CHEF D'ACCUSATION No1 :

L'alinéa 202.42(1)c) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien parce que vous avez effectivement exploité, au Canada, un aéronef immatriculé dans un État étranger, à savoir un Piper Corporation PA-36-285, portant les marques d'immatriculation américaine N55833, qui avait été au Canada pendant 90 jours ou plus au cours des derniers douze mois, entre le 19 avril 2000 et le 6 octobre 2000.

CHEF D'ACCUSATION No 2 :

DE PLUS, vous avez effectivement piloté un aéronef, à savoir un Piper Corporation PA-36-285, portant les marques d'immatriculation américaine N55833, alors que l'aéronef n'était pas exploité selon les conditions de l'autorité de vol, en particulier du certificat de navigabilité spécial, face 2-D, soit : nul ne peut utiliser l'aéronef décrit au verso : (2) au-dessus d'un pays étranger sans la permission particulière de ce pays, en contravention à 605.03(1)b) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien, entre le 19 avril 2000 et le 6 octobre 2000.

APPLICATION DE L'AMENDE :

CHEF D'ACCUSATION No 1 = 1 000 $
CHEF D'ACCUSATION No 2 =    250 $

TOTAL :                                 1 250 $

LA LOI

THE LAW

Le paragraphe 202.42(1) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC) prévoit :

202. 42 (1) Sous réserve de l'article 203.03 et sauf dans les cas où une autorisation est délivrée conformément au paragraphe (3), il est interdit d'utiliser au Canada un aéronef qui est immatriculé dans un État étranger et qui, dans les 12 mois précédents, s'est trouvé au Canada pendant un nombre total de 90 jours ou plus, à moins que les conditions suivantes ne soient réunies :

a) l'État étranger est un État contractant;
b) l'utilisateur de l'aéronef est :
      (i) soit l'État étranger,
      (ii) soit une personne physique qui n'est ni un citoyen canadien ni un résident permanent, mais        un citoyen ou un sujet de l'État étranger, 
      (iii) soit un organisme qui est constitué sous le régime des lois de l'État étranger;
c) dans le cas où l'utilisateur de l'aéronef est un organisme tel que décrit au sous-alinéa b)(iii), l'aéronef est utilisé au Canada conformément à un certificat d'exploitation aérienne.

L'alinéa 605.03(1) du RAC prévoit :

605. 03 (1) Il est interdit d'utiliser un aéronef en vol, à moins que les conditions suivantes ne soient respectées :
a) une autorité de vol à l'égard de l'aéronef est en vigueur;
b) l'aéronef est utilisé conformément aux conditions énoncées dans l'autorité de vol;
c) sous réserve des paragraphes (2) et (3), l'autorité de vol est transportée à bord de l'aéronef.

DÉCLARATION D'OUVERTURE

OPENING STATEMENTS

L'agent de présentation de cas, M. William Douglas Moyse, a déclaré qu'un aéronef portant les marques d'immatriculation américaine N55833 était au Canada depuis plus de 90 jours. Il a de plus déclaré que l'aéronef appartenait à Skynorth Aviation de Dover (Delaware), États-Unis. Il a déclaré que son enquête avait révélé que l'utilisateur de l'aéronef n'avait demandé aucun certificat d'exploitation aérienne pour cet aéronef et qu'il n'était pas en possession d'un certificat en vigueur.

M. Colhoun n'a fait aucune déclaration d'ouverture.

POUR LE REQUÉRANT — Le ministre des Transports

FOR THE APPLICANT õ The Minister of Transport

L'agent de présentation de cas, M. W. D. Moyse, a présenté un témoin, M. Joe Gaudry, qui a été assermenté.

M. Gaudry a déclaré qu'il travaillait pour Transports Canada à titre d'inspecteur à l'Application de la loi à Winnipeg (Manitoba). M. Gaudry a présenté en preuve les pièces suivantes :

Pièce M-1 : L'avis de détection de Transports Canada en date du 16 mai 2000 qui indique que Farm Air Ltd. avait fait une demande d'assurances pour l'aéronef N55833. Ce rapport indiquait que l'aéronef ne figurait pas au certificat d'exploitation aérienne de la compagnie et qu'il y avait peut-être une violation du paragraphe 700.02(1) et de l'alinéa 203.03(l)e) du RAC.

Pièce M-2 : Paragraphe 202.42(1) du RAC.

Pièce M-3 : Paragraphe 605.03(l) du RAC.

Pièce M-4 : M. Gaudry a témoigné qu'il avait reçu ce rapport NCAMS (Nav Canada Aircraft Movement System) de Roger Smith, gestionnaire de site des opérations aéroportuaires de NAV CANADA, section Ouest de la tour de contrôle de Regina (Saskatchewan).

Le rapport montre la séquence des arrivées et des départs du N55833 pour la période du 1 janvier 1999 au 12 septembre 2000.

Il y a eu de nombreuses discussions sur la pertinence de ce rapport parce qu'à certaines reprises, deux arrivées étaient consignées et aucun départ ne l'était (page trois) et l'on trouvait deux départs sans arrivées (page huit).

Le rapport montre que l'aéronef a été utilisé entre le 16 mai 2000 et le 12 septembre 2000, ce qui dépasse les 90 jours prescrits pour la licence.

Pièce M-5 : La demande de Judy Mussell de Transports Canada à Norm Colhoun de Lumsden Aero Ltd., en date du 20 mars 1996, afin qu'il communique avec Wes Watson concernant l'utilisation d'un aéronef loué immatriculé à l'étranger par un exploitant canadien.

Pièce M-6 : Une lettre en date du 19 avril 1996 à M. Norm Colhoun, président de Farm Air Ltd., qui donne un aperçu de la procédure d'autorisation ou d'exemption ministérielle afin d'utiliser au Canada un aéronef immatriculé à l'étranger.

Pièce M-7 : M. Gaudry a témoigné qu'il s'agit d'un exemplaire d'un certificat d'exploitation aérienne de Farm Air Limited en date du 1997.07.09 qui montre qu'il n'y a aucune autorisation pour exploiter l'aéronef PA36-285.

Pièce M-8 : M. Gaudry a indiqué que ce document du Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) intitulé Aircraft Registry montre que, le 1996/04/17, l'aéronef immatriculé N55833, un Piper PA-36-285, était la propriété de Skynorth Aviation Ltd. de Dover (DE), É.-U.

Dans cette pièce, il y a un rapport indiquant que M. Colhoun est titulaire d'une licence de pilote de ligne no 2327801, qu'il est citoyen canadien et qu'il est domicilié à Lumsden.

Pièce M-9 : Données de la licence d'Edward Colhoun confirmant sa citoyenneté canadienne.

Pièce M-10 : M. Gaudry a témoigné qu'il a fait parvenir cette lettre par courrier recommandé à M. Colhoun, le 4 octobre 2000, afin de l'informer qu'il enquêtait sur une présumée violation du paragraphe 202.42(1) du RAC.

Pièce M-11 : M. Gaudry a témoigné qu'il avait reçu une lettre manuscrite de M. Curtis Borsa, agent régional du renseignement pour Douanes Canada de Winnipeg (Manitoba).

Le rapport indique que l'aéronef N55833 est arrivé à Lethbridge (Alberta) à 11 h 49 en provenance du Montana, le 19 avril 2000, qu'il était piloté par Allen Walls. Le pilote a dit à l'agent inspecteur que l'aéronef serait loué à Colhoun Farms pendant l'été.

Pièce M-12 : M. Gaudry a indiqué que cette communication attestait que l'aéronef N55833 était effectivement arrivé à Lethbridge (Alberta) le 1999/04/19 à 11 h 49, en provenance du Montana.

Pièce M-13 : Confirmation selon laquelle Skynorth Aviation Ltd. est en règle et constituée dans l'État du Delaware.

Pièce M-14 : Certificat de navigabilité spécial pour l'aéronef N55833 immatriculé aux É-U. Ce document de navigabilité spécial contient aussi une directive selon laquelle le N55833 ne peut être exploité «  au-dessus d'un pays étranger sans permission spéciale de ce pays  ».

Pièce M-15 : Formulaires de demande d'immatriculation de l'aéronef pour Skynorth Aviation Ltd. de Mesa (AZ) et Dover (Delaware) pour le N55833.

Pièce M-16 : Avis d'amende pour contravention à Norman Edward Colhoun, en date du 10 mai 2001 et une confirmation que la lettre recommandée a été envoyée à M. Colhoun.

Pièce M-17 : Attestation de Transports Canada selon laquelle aucun certificat temporaire n'a été délivré à un exploitant aérien canadien pour exploiter le N55833.

Pièce M-18 : Attestation de Transports Canada selon laquelle aucune autorisation en vertu du chapitre 12 et de l'annexe I de l'Accord de libre-échange nord-américain n'a été délivrée par le ministre des Transports pour exploiter le N55833.

Contre-interrogatoire

M. Colhoun a posé des questions sur les erreurs relevées au NCAMS (M-4). M. Gaudry a déclaré qu'aucune heure de départ et d'arrivée séquentielle n'était indiquée parce que la tour était fermée.

M. Colhoun a déclaré que la date du 19 avril 2000 devait être en fait le 19 avril 1999 et que l'on a écrit 2000 sur la date originale, 1999, et que celle-ci transparaît toujours (pièce M-11).

M. Gaudry a témoigné qu'il avait effectivement changé la date et il a indiqué que la date du 19 avril 1999 était au-delà des délais prescrits par la loi étant donné que Transports Canada ne peut enquêter sur une période de plus d'un an.

L'INTIMÉ — M. Norman Edward Colhoun

M. Colhoun a été assermenté comme témoin et il a présenté les pièces suivantes :

Pièce D-1: M . Colhoun a présenté un exemplaire d'un carnet de route appartenant à Allen Walls, de même qu'une déclaration non assermentée selon laquelle il, Allen Walls, n'avait jamais piloté un PA-36 immatriculé N55833 pendant l'année 2000.

Pièce D-2 : Section V—Utilisation d'un aéronef étranger, paragraphe 202.42(1) – règlement proposé qui n'est pas en vigueur.

Pièce D-3 : Entente concernant le certificat de navigabilité et d'environnement.

Pièce D-4 : L'article 507.05 du RAC sur la validation d'une autorité de vol étrangère.

Pièce D-5 : La fiche de données de certificat de type (FDCT) indique que le PA-36-285 est reconnu en vertu de la partie 23 du Federal Aviation Regulations (FAR).

Réinterrogatoire

La question demandée à M. Colhoun était «  Où prévoit-t-on dans les règlements, soit dans le RAC ou dans l'Accord de libre-échange qu'il est possible d'exploiter un aéronef étranger sans licence?  » La réponse : aucun règlement ne porte sur cette question.

M. Colhoun a plaidé qu'il n'a jamais personnellement exploité l'aéronef (N55833). Il a de plus plaidé que Colhoun Farms Ltd. a exploité l'aéronef. Il a déclaré qu'il était président et gestionnaire des opérations de Skynorth Aviation Ltd.

Fin de l'enregistrement de la preuve.

OBSERVATIONS FINALES

M. Moyse a déclaré que l'aéronef N55833 avait été exploité au Canada pendant une période de plus de 90 jours (M-4). Il a de plus plaidé que M. Colhoun était président de Skynorth Aviation Ltd. et directeur de Farm Air Ltd. ainsi que de Colhoun Farms.

Il a indiqué que sur le formulaire d'immatriculation des États-Unis d'Amérique, on exigeait que l'aéronef soit muni d'une licence d'exploitation canadienne. Il a déclaré qu'on n'avait fait aucune demande de licence d'exploitation pour l'aéronef N55833 (M-17 et M-18).

M. Colhoun a indiqué qu'il y avait des erreurs dans le NCAMS (M-4). Il a de plus déclaré que M. Gaudry avait modifié un document qui provenait de l'agent inspecteur de Douanes Canada pour servir et justifier sa cause.

ANALYSE

Il faut d'abord trancher sur l'identité de la personne qui exploitait l'aéronef. En imposant l'amende, Transports Canada considère qu'il s'agit de M. Colhoun. Déjà, nous avons en preuve que l'aéronef est la propriété de Skynorth Aviation Ltd. et qu'il est exploité par Colhoun Farms Ltd.

La preuve de M. Colhoun révèle que Colhoun Farms Ltd. a exploité l'aéronef pendant la période où il se trouvait au Canada. Il n'y a aucune preuve à l'effet contraire et aucune preuve de Transports Canada concernant la personne qui exploitait en fait l'aéronef.

J'invoque la cause Ministre des Transports c. Lindbergh's Air Service[1]. « Aux termes des poursuites intentées en vertu de la Loi, une «  société  » est assimilable à une «  personne  » et toutes deux peuvent commettre des infractions en vertu de la Loi  ».

La Loi d'interprétation définit comme suit :

«  personne  » Personne physique ou morale; l'une et l'autre notions sont visées dans des formulations générales;

La décision suivante porte sur la validité de la preuve de Transports Canada, en particulier M-4 et M-11.

M. Gaudry a témoigné sous serment qu'il avait modifié M-11 pour faire avancer sa cause. Changer l'année 1999 pour 2000 ne constitue pas un geste responsable. Le témoignage lié à M-4 indique qu'il s'agit d'un exemplaire dactylographié modifié d'un rapport original de NAV CANADA. En raison des gestes posés par M. Gaudry en ce qui a trait à M-11, j'accorde peu de poids aux documents préparés par Transports Canada qui ne sont pas des copies certifiées conformes de documents originaux.

La dernière décision consiste à trancher sur l'obligation d'avoir une licence pour exploiter l'aéronef au Canada. Le ministre a effectivement prouvé cet aspect avec M-14, soit l'immatriculation de l'aéronef en vigueur aux États-Unis d'Amérique.

Je suis de plus convaincu que M. Colhoun savait que lui ou ses compagnies devaient détenir une licence pour exploiter l'aéronef.

DÉCISION

Le ministre doit prouver, selon la prépondérance des probabilités, chacun des éléments de l'infraction. La preuve doit provenir des éléments probants présentés, soit des témoignages, de la preuve documentaire comme les pièces déposées ou d'autres moyens acceptables.

Je considère qu'il n'y a aucune preuve que M. Colhoun a exploité l'aéronef. Quelle personne ou quelle compagnie a exploité l'aéronef demeure toujours un mystère.

En modifiant un document de Douanes Canada, le témoin a détruit sa crédibilité. Ainsi, aucune preuve n'établit la durée effective d'exploitation de l'aéronef au Canada et s'il est retourné aux États-Unis pendant la période en question.

M. Colhoun connaissait les exigences d'obtention d'un permis. Selon sa preuve, il n'a pas exploité l'aéronef et le ministre devait accuser la partie responsable.

Les amendes inscrites aux chefs d'accusation nos 1 et 2 et imposées par le ministre sont annulées.

E. David Dover
Conseiller
Tribunal de l'aviation civile


Dossier no O-0025-10 (TAC) (Appel).