Decisions

TATC File No. C-2885-02
MoT File No. RAP5504-47836 P/B

TRANSPORTATION APPEAL TRIBUNAL OF CANADA

BETWEEN:

Daniel B. Van Nice, Applicant

- and -

Minister of Transport, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. A-2, s. 6.9
Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96-433, s. 602.02


Review Determination
William Thornton Tweed


Decision: January 30, 2004

Mr. Van Nice is in violation of section 602.01 of the Canadian Aviation Regulations in that he was both negligent and reckless. I confirm the Minister's finding and the seven-day suspension. Said suspension shall commence on the thirty-fifth day following the date of service of this determination.

A Review Hearing on the above matter was held Thursday, November 20, 2003 at 10:00 hours at the Delta Winnipeg, in Winnipeg, Manitoba.

BACKGROUND

On October 12, 2000 the document holder Daniel Brendan Van Nice was pilot-in-command of a Piper Aircraft Corporation, PA31-350, Canadian Registered C-GPOW. The flight left Winnipeg for Sun Valley, Idaho, USA with planned stops in Saskatoon and Calgary to pick up passengers and a stop in Kalispell, Montana to clear US customs. The flight was unremarkable to Kalispell. Prior to leaving Kalispell, Mr. Van Nice received a weather briefing that indicated he could expect deteriorating weather and that VFR flight along his intended route was not recommended. After leaving Kalispell on a VFR flight plan, he proceeded south, passed Missoula and Hamilton to the vicinity of Lost Trail Pass near the Montana, Idaho border where Mr. Van Nice reversed course. The turn was carried out in a narrow mountain valley by climbing into cloud, turning using the stall warning as a speed reference, descending to re-established visual reference, and proceeding to Hamilton, Montana where the flight ended; all of which was admitted in Mr. Van Nice's testimony and his written response to the Minister dated May 23, 2003.

EVIDENCE

Four of the nine passengers were called as witnesses. All of them testified to being shaken by the experience. They all testified that they observed deteriorating weather, lowering cloud and reduced visibility. They all said the valley was getting narrower and the valley floor was getting closer. There was testimony that individual trees were distinct, road signs were legible and that faces could be seen in car windows. They all testified that during the turn they could see nothing and a horn was sounding. They all felt they were in danger.

Mr. Van Nice, by his own admission, continued VFR flight into deteriorating weather conditions in an unfamiliar mountain valley that was both narrowing and climbing. He did not know precisely where he was. He was using a World Aeronautical Chart rather than a more detailed sectional aeronautical chart. He did not slow the aircraft and extend flap in anticipation of the need to complete a smaller radius turn. He continued in the valley past the point where he could turn the aircraft within the width of the valley at the altitude and speed he was flying without losing visual reference. He decided to turn when the road he was following unexpectedly switched back on itself. He said his only hope for a successful turn was to climb, presumably to a point were the valley was wider, turn the aircraft without visual reference at a slow speed, then descend back into the valley and re-establish contact for VFR flight back to Hamilton, the closest airport. He succeeded; the flight ended without mishap at Hamilton and the passengers continued on to Sun Valley by rented vehicle.

Mr. Van Nice called three witnesses, all of whom were very credible. They all gave testimony about Mr. Van Nice, and his usual care and attention to detail during his normal flight planning process. None of them gave evidence as to the circumstance of the flight in question.

There was no expert evidence on mountain flying placed before the Tribunal.

THE LAW

Section 602.01 of the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs) states:

602. 01 No person shall operate an aircraft in such a reckless or negligent manner as to endanger or be likely to endanger the life or property of any person.

Negligence is defined as the doing of something a reasonable person would not do or omitting to do something a reasonable person would do. The absence of such care as it is the duty of a reasonable person to take.[1]

The question therefore is: Was Mr. Van Nice exercising such care and doing what a reasonably prudent pilot would do when he entered a valley from which an exit was not visible, at an altitude and at a speed at which the aircraft could not be turned without losing visual reference to the valley wall or floor? Clearly the answer is no.

Was the negligent act reckless? Was it voluntarily done with knowledge of existing conditions that placed the life or property of others at risk? Certainly Mr. Van Nice knew the risk. Controlled flight into terrain is almost always fatal. The passengers certainly felt they were at risk and the evidence of the circumstances leading up to the turn confirms that they were at risk. Continuing flight beyond the point where a turn could be carried out with continued visual reference is in my opinion reckless.

The fact that the turn was successful is not relevant to the finding of negligence and recklessness. The turn itself may have been expertly executed, it may have been luck, or a combination of both, it matters not. The fact that the pilot let the aircraft get into a circumstance where such a turn was the only option is the absence of such care as a reasonable pilot would take and in so doing he put his passengers and his aircraft in danger.

DETERMINATION

Mr. Van Nice is therefore in violation of section 602.01 of the CARs in that he was both negligent and reckless. I confirm the Minister's finding and the seven-day suspension.

William T. Tweed
Member
Transportation Appeal Tribunal of Canada


[1] Black's Dictionary; Francis Dominic Decicco v. Minister of Transport, Appeal Determination, C-0316-02.

Décisions

Dossier no C-2885-02 (TATC)
Dossier no RAP5504-47836 P/B (MdT)

TRIBUNAL D'APPEL DES TRANSPORTS DU CANADA

ENTRE :

Daniel B. Van Nice, requérant(e)

- et -

Ministre des Transports, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, c. A-2, art. 6.9
Règlement de l'aviation canadien, DORS/96-433, art. 602.01


Décision à la suite d'une révision
William Thornton Tweed


Décision : le 30 janvier 2004

TRADUCTION

M. Van Nice a contrevenu à l'article 602.01 du Règlement de l'aviation canadien en ayant été à la fois imprudent et négligent. Je confirme la décision du ministre et la suspension de sept jours. Ladite suspension entrera en vigueur le trente-cinquième jour suivant la date de signification de la présente décision.

Une audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le jeudi 20 novembre 2003 à 10 h au Delta de Winnipeg (Manitoba).

HISTORIQUE

Le 12 octobre 2000, le titulaire d'un document Daniel Brendan Van Nice était commandant de bord d'un aéronef Piper, PA31-350, portant l'immatriculation canadienne C-GPOW. Le vol a quitté Winnipeg pour Sun Valley (Idaho), É-U et devait effectuer deux arrêts, soit à Saskatoon et à Calgary pour prendre des passagers et un arrêt à Kalispell (Montana) pour passer à la douane américaine. On ne signale aucun incident jusqu'à Kalispell. Avant qu'il ne quitte Kalispell, on a prévenu M. Van Nice qu'il pouvait s'attendre à une détérioration du temps et que le vol en VFR le long de sa route prévue n'était pas recommandé. Après avoir quitté Kalispell avec un plan de vol VFR, il s'est dirigé vers le sud, a survolé Missoula et Hamilton dans les environs de la Lost Trail Pass près de la frontière du Montana et de l'Idaho où M. Van Nice a rebroussé chemin. Le virage a été effectué dans une vallée montagneuse étroite, par une montée dans les nuages et l'utilisation de l'avertisseur de décrochage comme référence de vitesse, une descente pour rétablir le contact visuel et une arrivée à Hamilton (Montana) où le vol a pris fin. Dans son témoignage, M. Van Nice a admis tous ces faits de même que dans une réponse rédigée au ministre en date du 23 mai 2003.

PREUVE

Quatre des neuf passagers ont été appelés à témoigner. Tous ont déclaré avoir été ébranlés par l'expérience. Ils ont tous témoigné avoir remarqué des conditions de temps en détérioration, des nuages bas et une visibilité réduite. Ils ont tous dit que la vallée se rétrécissait et que le fond de la vallée se rapprochait. Certains ont témoigné qu'on pouvait discerner des arbres, lire les panneaux de circulation de la route et distinguer des visages dans les voitures. Ils ont tous témoigné que pendant le virage, ils ne voyaient rien et qu'un avertisseur se faisait entendre. Ils se sont tous sentis en danger.

M. Van Nice a admis avoir poursuivi son vol en VFR malgré les conditions météorologiques qui se dégradaient et dans une vallée montagneuse qui ne lui était pas familière, qui se rétrécissait et dont le fond se rapprochait. Il ne savait pas exactement où il se trouvait. Il se servait d'une Carte aéronautique du Monde au lieu d'une carte aéronautique par section plus détaillée. Il n'a pas ralenti l'aéronef ni étendu le volet de courbure en prévision de devoir exécuter un virage plus serré. Il a poursuivi sa route dans la vallée au-delà du point où il pouvait effectuer un virage à l'intérieur de la vallée, compte tenu de son altitude et de sa vitesse sans perdre le contact visuel. Il a décidé de tourner lorsque la route qu'il suivait a, contre toutes attentes, présenté une courbe retournant sur elle-même. Il a dit que la seule façon de réussir son virage consistait à monter, vraisemblablement à un point où la vallée s'élargirait, à tourner l'aéronef sans contact visuel et en vitesse réduite, puis à redescendre dans la vallée pour rétablir le contact visuel et voler en VFR jusqu'à Hamilton, l'aéroport le plus près. Il a réussi; le vol s'est terminé sans incident à Hamilton et les passagers ont poursuivi leur route jusqu'à Sun Valley en véhicule de location.

M. Van Nice a appelé trois témoins, tous très crédibles. Ils ont tous témoigné des soins et de l'attention aux détails qu'il apporte en général à la planification de ses vols. Aucun d'entre eux n'a témoigné sur les circonstances du vol en question.

Aucun témoignage d'expert n'a été présenté devant le Tribunal sur le vol en montagne.

LA LOI

L'article 602.01 du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC) se lit comme suit :

602. 01 Il est interdit d'utiliser un aéronef d'une manière imprudente ou négligente qui constitue ou risque de constituer un danger pour la vie ou les biens de toute personne.

La négligence consiste à faire quelque chose qu'une personne raisonnable ne ferait pas ou ne pas faire quelque chose qu'une personne raisonnable ferait. C'est l'omission de mesures qu'une personne raisonnable prendrait[1].

La question consiste donc à déterminer si M. Van Nice a fait preuve de prudence et a agi comme le ferait un pilote raisonnablement prudent lorsqu'il a pénétré dans la vallée, de laquelle il ne pouvait voir de sortie, à une altitude et une vitesse auxquelles l'aéronef ne pouvait effectuer de virage sans que le pilote ne perde le contact visuel avec le fond de la vallée ou les versants qui l'encerclaient. On doit manifestement répondre non à ces questions.

S'agit-il d'un geste négligent imprudent ? A-t-il été posé avec la connaissance du fait que les conditions en place constituaient un danger pour la vie ou les biens de personnes ? Il est certain que M. Van Nice savait qu'il courait un risque. Un accident avec impact sans perte de contrôle est presque toujours fatal. Les passagers ont certainement senti qu'ils étaient en danger et la preuve des circonstances qui ont mené au virage confirme qu'ils l'étaient. Poursuivre un vol au-delà du point où un virage pouvait être effectué sans perdre le contact visuel est à mon avis imprudent.

Le fait que le virage ait été réussi n'a rien à voir avec les conclusions de négligence et d'imprudence. Il importe peu que le virage ait été exécuté de façon experte ou que ce soit peut être dû à la chance ou une combinaison des deux. Le fait que le pilote ait mené le vol jusqu'au point où un tel virage devenait la seule option possible constitue une omission de mesures qu'un pilote raisonnable doit prendre pour éviter de mettre ses passagers et son aéronef en danger.

DÉCISION

M. Van Nice a donc contrevenu à l'article 602.01 du RAC en ayant été à la fois négligent et imprudent. Je confirme la décision du ministre et la suspension de sept jours.

William T. Tweed
Conseiller
Tribunal d'appel des transports du Canada


[1] Black's Dictionary; Francis Dominic Decicco c. Ministre des Transports, Décision à la suite d'un appel, C-1316-02.