Decisions

TATC File No. C-3091-33
MoT File No. RAP5504-53456 P/B

TRANSPORTATION APPEAL TRIBUNAL OF CANADA

BETWEEN:

Jerry Melvin Brodt, Applicant

- and -

Minister of Transport, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. A-2, s. 7.7
Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96-433, s. 801.01(2)(a)


Review Determination
William Thornton Tweed


Decision: June 6, 2005

I confirm that Mr. Jerry Melvin Brodt contravened paragraph 801.01(2)(a) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations and uphold the Minister's assessment of $250.00. This amount is to be made payable to the Receiver General for Canada and must be received by the Tribunal within thirty-five days of service of this determination.

A review hearing on this matter was held Wednesday, March 30, 2005 at 10:00 hours, at the Federal Court of Canada, in Winnipeg, Manitoba.

FACTS

On April 13, 2004 at 0137Z there was a loss of separation between an east bound 737 (Westjet 606) and a west bound 767 (Air Canada 145). Both aircraft were operating at flight level (FL) 410. At approximately 15 miles separation the controller instructed both aircraft to turn. The aircraft passed at the same altitude with 4.9 miles lateral separation.

Both aircraft had been issued clearances. However, their initial clearances were issued prior to entering the air traffic control sector where the loss of separation occurred. The 767 was operating at the wrong altitude for the direction of flight. The flight progress strips were both in place. The 767 flight progress slip was circled in red indicating it was at the wrong altitude for the direction of flight.

ALLEGATION

The Minister alleges that the applicant issued a clearance to the westbound 767 that was not in accordance with the Canadian Domestic Air Traffic Control Separation Standards when he issued a clearance to the 767 at FL 410 ( wrong way) when the 737 was already at FL 410 on a converging course.

DEFENCE

The applicant states that he did not issue the clearance to the aircraft and that he should not be held responsible. Alternatively that if he is responsible, he exercised all due diligence and should therefore not be held accountable.

DISCUSSION

The applicant's argument that he did not issue the clearance is not consistent with the evidence. An aircraft travelling through Canadian airspace on long flights such as the subject aircraft would pass through several sectors. The controller that issues a clearance to an aircraft departing Toronto for Calgary is not responsible for the provision of separation of that aircraft from other aircraft for the entire trip. As the aircraft moves from one sector to the next the system advises the controller of the next sector of the aircraft's pending arrival, its altitude and track. In this case the evidence showed that the flight progress slips had both been passed to the applicant, controller responsible for the sector.

Both aircraft had called the sector controller confirming their entry into the sector and their altitude. The controller acknowledged the transmissions and did not alter the existing clearance, thereby assuming responsibility for the clearance. The controller has in fact issued a clearance for the aircraft to continue through his sector on the existing clearance. If, as was the case here, a conflict is to occur in the sector, the responsible controller must revise the clearance as necessary to ensure the required separation is maintained. In the circumstance of this incident, the controller did not issue a revised clearance until a warning bell alerted him to the converging aircraft.

FINDING

All of the elements of the offence were proven at the hearing. Mr. Brodt was the controller responsible for the sector in which the loss of separation occurred. He had accepted the wrong way 767 and confirmed its routing from the prior sector and spoke to and acknowledged the clearance directly to the aircraft. Approximately twelve minutes later he spoke to the east bound 737 acknowledging its altitude and approximately four minutes later he spoke to Sault sector confirming the 737 altitude and routing. Approximately four minutes later after an alarm sounded, he issued an instruction directing the 767 to turn right 40 degrees. Seventeen seconds later the 737 was instructed to turn right 10 degrees. The two aircraft passed with 4.9 mile of lateral separation. The required separation was lost.

DUE DILIGENCE DEFENCE

Notwithstanding that all of the elements of the offence have been proven, Mr. Brodt has alleged that he exercised all due diligence and should be excused from responsibility for the offence. In the Marsh appeal determination, diligence is defined as "the attention and care legally expected or required of a person".[1]

The Minister referred me to the Norris appeal determination[2] wherein the appeal panel set out the elements necessary to succeed with a due diligence defence:

To succeed with a due diligence defence the Appellant has to prove one or more of the following:

  1. That the document holder took reasonable steps to obtain all relevant information necessary for the discharge of his or her obligations set out in the CARs;
  2. That notwithstanding the document holder's obligations as set out in the CARs he or she was not in control of the events that led to the infraction;
  3. That the appropriate exercise of the authority and responsibility given the document holder did not prevent the infraction;
  4. That the document holder did not have a reasonable opportunity to discover an error made by another document holder from whom he or she accepted responsibility;
  5. That an equipment failure prevented the document holder from discharging his or her duty.

The evidence described Mr. Brodt as a very competent controller. Nothing in the evidence would suggest otherwise. However, he did fail to recognize the conflict even after being alerted to the wrong way aircraft. His sector was described as busy but not overwhelmed by Mr. McDonald. Mr. Brodt, however, stated that he was overwhelmed. The evidence established that Mr. Brodt did not ask the supervisor for assistance. The only explanation offered for the loss of separation was that Mr. Brodt was concerned about a different conflict. In the circumstance of this matter, based on criteria previously established, Mr. Brodt has not discharged his onus to prove that on the balance of probabilities he exercised all due diligence required of an air traffic controller.

DETERMINATION

I confirm that Mr. Jerry Melvin Brodt contravened paragraph 801.01(2)(a) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations and uphold the Minister's assessment of $250.00.

June 6, 2005

William T. Tweed
Member
Transportation Appeal Tribunal of Canada


[1] Leslie G. Marsh v. Minister of Transport, appeal determination, [1996], C-1095-02.

[2] John Henry Norris v. Minister of Transport, appeal determination, [2000], W-1931-39.

Décisions

Dossier no C-3091-33 (TATC)
Dossier no RAP5504-53456 P/B (MdT)

TRIBUNAL D'APPEL DES TRANSPORTS DU CANADA

ENTRE :

Jerry Melvin Brodt, requérant(e)

- et -

Ministre des Transports, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, c. A-2, art. 7.7
Règlement de l'aviation canadien, DORS/96-433, art. 801.01(2)a)


Décision à la suite d'une révision
William Thornton Tweed


Décision : le 6 juin 2005

TRADUCTION

Je confirme que M. Jerry Melvin Brodt a contrevenu à l'alinéa 801.01(2)a) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien et je maintiens l'amende du ministre de 250 $. Ce montant est payable au Receveur général du Canada et doit parvenir au Tribunal dans les trente-cinq jours de la signification de cette décision.

Une audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le mercredi 30 mars 2005 à 10 h, à la Cour fédérale du Canada à Winnipeg (Manitoba).

FAITS

Le 13 avril 2004 à 0137Z, il y a eu une perte d'espacement entre un 737 (Westjet 606) qui circulait ouest-est et un 767 (Air Canada 145), direction est-ouest. Les deux aéronefs avaient un niveau de vol (FL) de 410. À environ 15 milles d'espacement, le contrôleur a ordonné aux deux aéronefs de tourner. Les aéronefs sont passés à la même altitude avec un espacement latéral de 4,9 milles.

Les deux aéronefs avaient reçu des autorisations. Toutefois, leurs autorisations initiales avaient été accordées avant qu'ils n'entrent dans le secteur de contrôle de la circulation aérienne où s'est produite la perte d'espacement. Le 767 se situait à la mauvaise altitude eu égard à la direction du vol. Les fiches de progression de vol étaient toutes deux en place. Le bordereau de progression de vol du 767 a été encerclé en rouge indiquant que son altitude était incorrecte eu égard à la direction du vol.

ALLÉGATION

Le ministre allègue que le requérant a communiqué une autorisation au 767 circulant est-ouest qui n'était pas conforme aux Normes d'espacement du contrôle de la circulation aérienne de l'intérieur canadien lorsqu'il a délivré une autorisation au 767 de FL 410 (mauvaise direction) alors que le 737 était déjà au FL 410 sur une trajectoire convergente.

DÉFENSE

Le requérant déclare qu'il n'a pas communiqué l'autorisation à l'aéronef et qu'il ne doit pas être tenu responsable. Par ailleurs, s'il est responsable, il a exercé toute la diligence raisonnable et ne devrait donc pas être justiciable.

DISCUSSION

L'argument du requérant selon lequel il n'a pas communiqué l'autorisation n'est pas cohérent avec la preuve. Un aéronef qui se déplace dans l'espace aérien canadien sur de longs vols comme l'aéronef en question, franchit plusieurs secteurs. Le contrôleur qui donne une autorisation à un aéronef qui part de Toronto vers Calgary n'est pas responsable des dispositions d'espacement entre cet aéronef et un autre aéronef pour la durée du voyage. Lorsque l'aéronef se déplace d'un secteur vers le prochain, le système avise le contrôleur du prochain secteur de l'arrivée imminente de l'aéronef, de son altitude et de sa route. Dans cette cause, la preuve a montré que les bordereaux de progression de vol avaient tous deux été remis au requérant, par le contrôleur responsable du secteur.

Les deux aéronefs avaient appelé le contrôleur du secteur pour confirmer leur entrée dans le secteur et leur altitude. Le contrôleur a accusé réception des transmissions et n'a pas modifié l'autorisation existante, assumant ainsi la responsabilité de l'autorisation. Le contrôleur a effectivement donné à l'aéronef l'autorisation de poursuivre sa route dans son secteur selon l'autorisation existante. Si, comme c'est le cas ici, un conflit survient dans le secteur, le contrôleur responsable doit réviser l'autorisation si nécessaire pour s'assurer que l'espacement requis est maintenu. Dans les circonstances de cet incident, le contrôleur n'a pas communiqué une autorisation révisée jusqu'à ce qu'une sonnerie ne l'avertisse de l'aéronef convergent.

CONCLUSION

Tous les éléments de l'infraction ont été prouvés à l'audience. M. Brodt était le contrôleur responsable du secteur dans lequel la perte d'espacement s'est produite. Il avait accepté la trajectoire erronée du 767, il a confirmé sa trajectoire à partir du secteur antérieur, et il a communiqué directement avec le pilote de l'aéronef et reçu un accusé réception de celui-ci. Environ douze minutes plus tard, il a parlé au 737 qui circulait ouest-est pour accuser réception de son altitude et approximativement quatre minutes plus tard, il a parlé au secteur de Sault pour confirmer l'altitude du 737 et sa trajectoire. Environ quatre minutes plus tard, une alarme a sonné, il a communiqué des directives pour diriger le 767 afin qu'il tourne 40 degrés vers la droite. Dix-sept secondes plus tard, le 737 a reçu des directives pour tourner 10 degrés vers la droite. Les deux aéronefs sont passés à 4,9 milles d'espacement latéral. L'espacement requis n'était pas respecté.

DÉFENSE DE DILIGENCE RAISONNABLE

Bien que tous les éléments de l'infraction aient été prouvés, M. Brodt a allégué qu'il avait exercé toute la diligence raisonnable et qu'il devait être exempté de la responsabilité de l'infraction. Dans la décision à la suite de l'appel de la cause Marsh, la diligence est définie comme « l'attention et le soin requis d'une personne et auxquels on peut s'attendre »[1].

Le ministre m'a renvoyé à la décision Norris à la suite d'un appel[2] dans laquelle le comité d'appel énonce les éléments nécessaires pour réussir une défense de diligence raisonnable :

Pour utiliser la défense de diligence raisonnable, l'appelant doit prouver un ou plusieurs des éléments suivants :

  1. Le titulaire du document a pris les dispositions raisonnables pour obtenir toute l'information nécessaire à l'exécution de ses tâches prévues au RAC.
  2. Malgré la définition de ses obligations au RAC, le titulaire du document n'avait pas la maîtrise des événements qui ont mené à la contravention.
  3. L'exercice approprié de l'autorité et des responsabilités du titulaire du document n'a pas empêché la contravention.
  4. Le titulaire du document n'a pas eu l'occasion de découvrir une erreur commise par un autre titulaire du document don't il a assumé les responsabilités.
  5. Un défaut d'équipement a prévenu le titulaire du document d'exercer ses fonctions.

La preuve a décrit M. Brodt comme un contrôleur très compétent. Rien dans la preuve ne laisse entendre le contraire. Toutefois, il n'a pas reconnu le conflit, même que son attention ait été attiré par l'aéronef circulant dans la mauvaise direction. M. McDonald a décrit son secteur comme étant fort occupé mais non submergé. Toutefois, M. Brodt a déclaré qu'il était submergé. La preuve a établi que M. Brodt n'avait pas demandé d'aide au superviseur. La seule explication offerte pour la perte d'espacement était que M. Brodt était préoccupé par un conflit différent. Dans les circonstances de cette affaire, selon les critères déjà établis, M. Brodt ne s'est pas acquitté du fardeau de prouver selon la prépondérance des probabilités qu'il avait exercé toute la diligence raisonnable requise d'un contrôleur de la circulation aérienne.

DÉCISION

Je confirme que M. Jerry Melvin Brodt a contrevenu à l'alinéa 801.01(2)a) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien et je maintiens l'amende du ministre de 250 $.

Le 6 juin 2005

William T. Tweed
Conseiller
Tribunal d'appel des transports du Canada


[1] Leslie G. Marsh c. Ministre des Transports, décision à la suite d'un appel, [1996], C-1095-02.

[2] John Henry Norris c. Ministre des Transports, décision à la suite d'un appel, [2000], W-1931-39.