Decisions

TATC File No. C-3140-02
MoT File No. RAP5504-054664 P/B

TRANSPORTATION APPEAL TRIBUNAL OF CANADA

BETWEEN:

John David Castle, Applicant

- and -

Minister of Transport, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. A-2, s. 6.9(8)
Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96-433, s. 302.11(a)
Charter of Rights and Freedoms, ss. 6, 11, 24

Smoking on an Apron, Motion to Quash


Review Determination
William Thornton Tweed


Decision: October 26, 2006

I confirm the Minister of Transport's decision and the sanction of a one-day suspension for each offence for a total of three days.

[1]     A review hearing on this matter was held August 22, 2006 at 1:00 p.m. in Rankin Inlet, Nunavut.

BACKGROUND

[2]     John David Castle received a notice of suspension where it was alleged that he did on four occasions, in particular, August 6, 9, 12 and 18, 2004, smoke on the apron of the Rankin Inlet Airport, in Nunavut, thereby contravening paragraph 302.11(1)(a) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs).

EVIDENCE

[3]     At the hearing of the matter, the Minister of Transport chose to withdraw the allegation that Mr. Castle was smoking on the apron at Rankin Inlet Airport on August 6, 2004.

[4]     Three witnesses, Nigel Kubluitok, Jake Kenneth Punshon and Allyn Burrill testified that they saw Mr. Castle smoking in an area of the Rankin Inlet Airport property they believe to be the "apron". They each identified the date and where on the airport property they observed Mr. Castle smoking. I found all of the witnesses to be credible.

[5]     Based on the testimony of all of the witnesses, Mr. Castle was observed smoking in an area of the airport property that was used for loading and unloading of passengers, cargo and the parking and refuelling of aircraft.

THE LAW

[6]     Paragraph 302.11(a) of the CARs reads as follows:

302.11 (1) Subject to subsections (2) to (4), no person shall, at an airport, smoke or display an open flame

(a) on an apron;

[7]     Subsection 101.01(a) of the CARs reads as follows:

101.01 (1) In these Regulations:

...

"apron" - means a part of an aerodrome, other than the manoeuvring area, that is intended to be used for the loading and unloading of passengers and cargo, the refuelling, servicing, maintenance and parking of aircraft and the movement of aircraft, vehicles and persons engaged in services necessary for those purposes; (aire de trafic)

DETERMINATION

[8]      Based on the evidence presented, I find on balance of probabilities that John David Castle was smoking on the apron of the Rankin Inlet Airport, Nunavut, on August 9, 12 and 18, 2004. I confirm the Minister of Transport's decision and the sanction of a one-day suspension for each offence for a total of three days.

October 26, 2006

William T. Tweed
Member
Transportation Appeal Tribunal of Canada


Appeal decision
Arthur W. Lyon, Faye H. Smith, Richard F. Willems


Decision: August 14, 2007

Citation: Castle v. Canada (Minister of Transport), 2007 TATCE 20 (appeal)

Heard at Toronto, Ontario, on May 9, 2007

Held: The appeal is dismissed. The appeal panel confirms the review determination and the penalty assessed being a three-day suspension for breaches of section 302.11(1)(a) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96-433 (CARs). The appellant elected to serve the suspension prior to his request for review.

I. BACKGROUND

[1]     A notice of suspension dated March 15, 2005 served upon the appellant, John David Castle, assessed a suspension of one day for each of four allegations for a combined suspension of four days of Mr. Castle's airline transport pilot licence. The incidents occurred at or near the airport at Rankin Inlet, Nunavut, on August 6, 9, 12 and 18, 2004 when Mr. Castle is alleged to have been smoking on the apron of the airport in contravention of section 302.11(1)(a) of the CARs. At the review hearing, the Minister of Transport withdrew the first allegation dated August 6, 2004.

[2]     The review hearing was held on August 22, 2006 at Rankin Inlet, Nunavut. In his determination dated October 26, 2006, the member held that the Minister of Transport had proved the offences as alleged and confirmed the Minister's decision to suspend the appellant's pilot licence for three consecutive days in respect of the infractions committed on August 9, 12 and 18, 2004.

II. GROUNDS FOR APPEAL

[3]    The appellant filed a request for appeal on November 27, 2006 on the following grounds:

(1) (a) The hearing was fundamentally unfair and marred by so many procedural and substantive flaws that the verdict was unsound.

(2) (a) That the prosecution undermined several guarantees necessary,

(i) to a fair trial under law and the Canadian Charter of Rights;
(ii) including the right to an impartial court;
(iii) the presumption of innocence, the ability to prepare a defense, and the right to cross-examine witnesses.

(3) (a) The applicant was denied the opportunity by the "decision" of Mr. William Tweed dated May 18, 2006, and was prevented,

(i) from the ability to a hearing by telephone, written submissions (affidavit), to accept alternate forums in the interest of justice;
(ii) failed to provide the defense with adequate disclosure of the Minister's allegations.

(4) (a) Erred in failing to consider that on November 16, 2005 the petitioner request for a postponement pending clarification of the deficiencies in the disclosure statements on the grounds that:

(i) the evidence is insufficient to conduct a hearing;
(ii) the facts contradict the testimony of the Minister's witnesses;
(iii) there is no evidence that a breach of the regulations has occurred;
(iv) that the petitioner had been subjected to a biased investigation.

(5) (a) That the petitioner's 24(1) charter rights would be contravened in commencing a hearing given the above disclosure deficiencies, furthermore that the defendant had been rendered impecunious and could not travel to Rankin as result of these spurious allegations requested relief by hearing by telephone, affidavit, or other means as the member should permit so that "natural justice" could be observed.

(i) the evidence is insufficient to conduct a hearing;
(ii) the facts contradict the testimony of the Minister's witnesses;
(iii) there is no evidence that a breach of the regulations has occurred;
(iv) that the defendant was "ultra vires" to the Minister of Transport at the time and place of the said offence.

(6) (a) That the defendant could not afford to travel to Rankin to cross-examine the Minister's witnesses was a failure of justice before it began. Diminished the petitioner's charter 24(1) right to a court of competent jurisdiction, in part, caused by a derivative of the Minister's representatives failure to respond with "procedural fairness".

(7) The applicant hereby requests relief in the form of

(a) a hearing to be scheduled in Ottawa at the Minister's and the Tribunal's convenience.

III. APPELLANT'S SUBMISSIONS

[4]     The appellant filed an application for the introduction of new evidence on appeal. He sought to introduce exhibits filed at the review hearing, rulings made by the member prior to review, and other matters of record and jurisprudence. The appeal panel advised that these matters could be addressed as they were already part of the record and that jurisprudence could be addressed at appeal as a matter of course. However, item 14 on the appellant's list of documents, being "Log Sheet No. 16855 – Aircraft C-FTXQ – dated August 14, 2004, was new evidence for the purposes of this appeal.

[5]     Section 14 of the Transportation Appeal Tribunal of Canada Act, S.C. 2001, c. 29, sets out the test for the introduction of new evidence on appeal. It states that:

14. An appeal shall be on the merits based on the record of the proceedings before the member from whose determination the appeal is taken, but the appeal panel shall allow oral argument and, if it considers it necessary for the purposes of the appeal, shall hear evidence not previously available.

[6]     Mr. Castle indicated that this logbook page was not part of the record and that he wanted to introduce it to prove that the inspector who had indicated that he had communicated with him on August 14, 2004 was mistaken since this is proof that he was elsewhere on that date. Mr. Castle did not deny that he had communicated with that inspector, just that he did not speak to him on August 14th. The panel rejected the request to introduce the logbook page as on the basis of the foregoing section of the Transportation Appeal Tribunal of Canada Act, the panel considered that it was neither necessary nor relevant to the issues on appeal.

[7]     The appellant made the following arguments:

(a) that there was a lack of disclosure relating to the inspector's conversation which was not dealt with by the member in his preliminary ruling of May 24, 2006;
(b) that the four offences should not have been heard together;
(c) that the hearing should not have been held in Rankin Inlet; and
(d) that the four offences were trivial.

[8]     The appellant further argued that the matter should have been dealt with in writing or by affidavit and further that there was no offence committed. Additionally, Mr. Castle stated that the area on which he was smoking was not part of the apron and that he could not have been on the apron since the aircraft was in the middle of the apron. He further argued that Transport Canada had no jurisdiction over him as he was not acting in the capacity as crew member at the time. Mr. Castle concluded that there were a number of complaints about him in a short period of time because he had complained about the fuel handler at Rankin Inlet airport.

[9]     Mr. Castle argued that the member's review determination is deficient because he considered evidence that was wrong and that he had no opportunity to cross-examine because the Minister would not agree to a change of venue.

IV. MINISTER'S SUBMISSIONS

[10]     The Minister filed submissions setting out the facts, law and findings of credibility and stated that the appeal panel could not overturn Mr. Tweed's review determination unless it was patently unreasonable. The Minister stated that Mr. Tweed decided the case and made no reviewable findings of fact and that it was clear that the Minister had refuted all of the submissions made in writing by the appellant.

[11]     The Minister's representative stated that the appellant sought to have a rehearing. At paragraphs 43 and 44 of his submissions, he states that the alleged deficiencies which the appellant wished to have cleared up before the hearing were actually allegations to be proved by the Minister at the hearing. Hence, no further clarification could be made prior to the review hearing. Additionally, the assertion that there was no evidence of an offence or that the evidence was insufficient to conduct a hearing were really matters to be decided by the member following the review hearing.

[12]     The Minister's representative submitted that the review determination must stand as it cannot rationally be described with respect to any of its elements as an "unreasonable decision". Conversely, he argued that the review determination is clearly reasonable in all of its aspects.

V. DISCUSSION

[13]     The appellant's arguments are concentrated on two issues arising out of Mr. Tweed's ruling of May 18, 2006 to proceed with the hearing in Rankin Inlet. The appellant argues that he should have been permitted to participate in the hearing through the use of alternate means such as telephone and/or affidavit. The second issue seems to be whether the appellant was provided with adequate disclosure of the allegations made against him.

[14]     In his ruling of May 18, 2006, the member states the following with reference to the issue of a non-attending party's participation in a hearing.

This Tribunal and its predecessor the Civil Aviation Tribunal have a long standing policy of holding hearings into alleged infractions as close as possible to the location of the alleged occurrence . . . This Tribunal has in the past accepted telephone testimony and affidavit evidence; however, only with the agreement of the parties. A party's ability to effectively cross-examine the witness in the case of telephone evidence is limited and in the case of affidavit evidence is non-existent. The Tribunal is then tasked with applying the appropriate weight to the evidence.

[15]     The member made a decision that no special allowances would be made for non-traditional forms of participation in the hearing by a non-attending party. As alluded to in the foregoing paragraph, the absence of a party from a hearing leads to impediments. However, where attempts to come to some accommodation are unworkable, the member must make the decision as to the location of the hearing based on the balance of convenience. It is our view that the member made the correct decision on the facts of this case considering that the offence took place at Rankin Inlet and as well that the Minister had four witnesses, three of whom resided in Rankin Inlet. It was clear that Rankin Inlet was the most convenient forum.

[16]     We concur with the Minister's representative that the questions of deficiencies of evidence or contradictions of facts are matters to be dealt with at the hearing. These are not matters that can be resolved by a series of requests for clarification in advance of the hearing, given that the member had stated in his ruling of May 18, 2006 that upon his review of the notice of suspension, he found that it clearly sets out the dates of the alleged offences and the particular section of the CARs that is alleged to have been violated, providing to the applicant the information necessary to enable him to prepare a defence.

VI. DECISION

[17]     The appeal is dismissed. The appeal panel confirms the review determination and the penalty assessed being a three-day suspension for breaches of section 302.11(1)(a) of the CARs.

August 14, 2007

Reasons for appeal decision:

Faye Smith, Chairperson

Concurred by:

Richard F. Willems
Arthur W. Lyon

Décisions

Dossier no C-3140-02 (TATC)
Dossier no RAP5504-054664 P/B (MdT)

TRIBUNAL D'APPEL DES TRANSPORTS DU CANADA

ENTRE :

John David Castle, requérant(e)

- et -

Ministre des Transports, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Charte des droits et libertés, art. 6, 11 et 24
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, c. A-2, article 6.9(8)
Règlement de l'aviation canadien, DORS/96-433, article 302.11a)

Requête en rejet, Fumer sur une aire de trafic


Décision à la suite d'une révision
William Thornton Tweed


Décision : le 26 octobre 2006

TRADUCTION

Je confirme la décision du ministre des Transports et la suspension d'une journée par infraction, soit un total de trois jours.

[1]     Une audience en révision relative à cette affaire a eu lieu le 22 août 2006 à 13 h à Rankin Inlet au Nunavut.

HISTORIQUE

[2]     John David Castle a reçu un avis de suspension alléguant qu'il avait, à quatre reprises, plus précisément les 6, 9,12 et 18 août 2004, fumé sur l'aire de trafic de l'aéroport de Rankin Inlet au Nunavut, contrevenant ainsi à l'alinéa 302.11(1)a) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC).

PREUVE

[3]     À l'audience en révision de cette affaire, le ministre des Transports a choisi de retirer l'allégation selon laquelle M. Castle avait fumé sur l'aire de trafic de l'aéroport de Rankin Inlet le 6 août 2004.

[4]     Trois témoins, Nigel Kubluitok, Jake Kenneth Punshon et Allyn Burrill ont affirmé avoir vu M. Castle fumer dans un secteur de l'aéroport de Rankin Inlet qu'ils estiment être «  l'aire de trafic  ». Ils ont tous précisé la date et l'endroit de l'aéroport où ils avaient vu M. Castle fumer. Je juge tous les témoins crédibles.

[5]     D'après les affirmations des témoins, M. Castle a été vu en train de fumer sur les lieux de l'aéroport servant à l'embarquement et au débarquement des passagers, au chargement et au déchargement des marchandises, au stationnement et au ravitaillement en carburant.

LOI

[6]     L'alinéa 302.11(1)a) du RAC se lit ainsi :

302.11 (1) Sous réserve des paragraphes (2) à (4), il est interdit de fumer ou d'exposer une flamme nue aux endroits suivants d'un aéroport :

a) sur une aire de trafic;

[7]     Le paragraphe 101.01(1)a) du RAC se lit ainsi :

101.01 (1) Les définitions qui suivent s'appliquent au présent règlement.

[...]

«  aire de trafic  » - Partie d'un aérodrome, autre que l'aire de manoeuvre, destinée à l'embarquement et au débarquement des passagers, au chargement et au déchargement du fret, à l'avitaillement en carburant, à l'entretien courant, à la maintenance et au stationnement des aéronefs, ainsi qu'à tout mouvement d'aéronefs, de véhicules et de personnes affectées à de telles opérations. (apron)

DÉCISION

[8]      D'après la preuve présentée, je conclus selon la prépondérance des probabilités que John David Castle a fumé sur l'aire de trafic de l'aéroport de Rankin Inlet au Nunavut, les 9, 12 et 18 août 2004. Je confirme la décision du ministre des Transports et la suspension d'une journée par infraction, soit un total de trois jours.

Le 26 octobre 2006

William T. Tweed
Conseiller
Tribunal d'appel des transports du Canada


Décision à la suite d'un appel
Arthur W. Lyon, Faye H. Smith, Richard F. Willems


Décision : le 14 août 2007

Référence : Castle c. Canada (Ministre des Transports), 2007 TATCF 20 (appel)

[Traduction française officielle]

Affaire entendue à Toronto (Ontario) le 9 mai 2007

Arrêt : L'appel est rejeté. Le comité d'appel confirme la décision en révision et la pénalité infligée, à savoir une suspension de trois jours pour des contraventions à l'article 302.11(1)a) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien, DORS/96-433. L'appelant a choisi de purger la suspension avant de présenter sa demande de révision.

I. CONTEXTE

[1]     Un avis de suspension daté du 15 mars 2005 et signifié à l'appelant, John David Castle, imposait une suspension d'une journée pour chacune des quatre allégations, soit un total de quatre jours de suspension de la licence de pilote de ligne de M. Castle. Les faits se sont produits les 6, 9, 12 et 18 août 2004 à l'aéroport de Rankin Inlet (Nunavut) ou dans ses environs. M. Castle aurait fumé dans l'aire de trafic de l'aéroport, contrevenant ainsi à l'article 302.11(1)a) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien, DORS/96-433 (RAC). À l'audience en révision, le ministre des Transports a retiré la première allégation concernant le 6 août 2004.

[2]     L'audience en révision s'est tenue le 22 août 2006 à Rankin Inlet (Nunavut). Dans sa décision, datée du 26 octobre 2006, le conseiller a jugé que le ministre des Transports avait établi les infractions reprochées. Il a confirmé la décision du ministre de suspendre la licence de pilote de l'appelant pendant trois jours consécutifs à l'égard des infractions commises les 9, 12 et 18 août 2004.

II. MOTIFS D'APPEL

[3]     L'appelant a déposé une demande d'appel le 27 novembre 2006 pour les motifs suivants :

[traduction]

(1) (a) L'audience était fondamentalement inéquitable et entachée d'erreurs procédurales et substantielles si nombreuses que le verdict n'était pas justifié.

(2) (a) La poursuite n'a pas respecté plusieurs garanties obligatoires,

(i) le droit à un procès équitable conformément au droit et à la Charte des droits;
(ii) y compris le droit à un tribunal impartial;
(iii) la présomption d'innocence, la possibilité de préparer une défense et le droit de contre-interroger les témoins.

(3) (a) Le requérant s'est vu refuser les possibilités suivantes, en raison de la «  décision  » de M. William Tweed, datée du 18 mai 2006. Il n'a pas pu :

(i) participer à l'audience par téléphone, présenter des observations écrites (affidavit), accepter d'autres lieux pour l'audience dans l'intérêt de la justice;
(ii) obtenir, pour préparer sa défense, la communication complète des allégations du ministre.

(4) (a) A commis une erreur en omettant de tenir compte de la demande du requérant présentée le 16 novembre 2005 en vue d'obtenir la remise de l'audience jusqu'à ce soit clarifiée la nature des omissions entachant les documents de divulgation pour les motifs suivants :

(i) les preuves sont insuffisantes pour tenir une audience;
(ii) les faits contredisent le témoignage des témoins du ministre;
(iii) il n'existe aucune preuve qu'il y a eu violation du Règlement;
(iv) le requérant a fait l'objet d'une enquête partiale.

(5) (a) Les droits du requérant reconnus à l'art. 24(1) de la Charte des droits ne seraient pas respectés par la tenue d'une audience vu les omissions susmentionnées en matière de divulgation, d'autant plus que l'accusé se trouvait dans l'impossibilité d'assumer des dépenses considérables pour se rendre à Rankin à la suite de ces allégations injustifiées. Il a demandé que l'audience soit tenue par téléphone, affidavit, ou tout autre moyen que le conseiller pourrait autoriser pour que la «  justice naturelle  » soit respectée.

(i) les preuves sont insuffisantes pour qu'on puisse tenir une audience;
(ii) les faits contredisent le témoignage des témoins du ministre;
(iii) il n'existe aucune preuve qu'il y a eu violation du Règlement;
(iv) l'accusé ne relevait pas des pouvoirs du ministre des Transports au moment et à l'endroit où l'infraction aurait été commise.

(6) (a) L'accusé n'avait pas les moyens financiers de se rendre à Rankin pour contre-interroger les témoins du ministre, ce qui constitue un déni de justice au départ. Le droit du requérant à un tribunal compétent garanti par l'art. 24(1) de la Charte a été compromis, en partie, par le défaut des représentants du ministre d'agir en respectant «  l'équité procédurale  ».

(7) Par la présente, le requérant demande une réparation, notamment :

(a) une audience tenue à Ottawa, à une date qui conviendra au ministre et au Tribunal.

III. OBSERVATIONS DE L'APPELANT

[4]     L'appelant a déposé une demande en vue de présenter de nouvelles preuves en appel. Il a voulu présenter des pièces déposées à l'audience en révision, des décisions prises par le conseiller avant la révision, et d'autres éléments du dossier et de la jurisprudence. Le comité d'appel l'a informé du fait qu'il était possible d'aborder ces éléments puisqu'ils faisaient déjà partie du dossier et qu'en appel, la jurisprudence pouvait toujours être invoquée. Cependant, l'élément 14 de la liste des documents de l'appelant, à savoir [traduction] «  Carnet de route no 16855 – Aéronef C-FTXQ – daté du 14 août 2004  », constituait une nouvelle preuve aux fins du présent appel.

[5]     L'article 14 de la Loi sur le Tribunal d'appel des transports du Canada, L.C. 2001, c. 29, énonce ainsi le critère applicable à la présentation de nouvelles preuves en appel :

14. L'appel porte au fond sur le dossier d'instance du conseiller dont la décision est contestée. Toutefois, le comité est tenu d'autoriser les observations orales et il peut, s'il l'estime indiqué pour l'appel, prendre en considération tout élément de preuve non disponible lors de l'instance.

[6]     M. Castle a déclaré que cette page de son carnet de route ne faisait pas partie du dossier et qu'il souhaitait la présenter pour établir que l'inspecteur qui avait déclaré avoir communiqué avec lui le 14 août 2004 s'était trompé puisque, selon ce document, il était ailleurs ce jour-là. M. Castle n'a pas nié avoir communiqué avec cet inspecteur, mais il a simplement soutenu qu'il ne lui avait pas parlé le 14 août. Le comité a rejeté la demande de présenter la page du carnet de route en se fondant sur l'article ci-dessus de la Loi sur le Tribunal d'appel des transports du Canada, ayant jugé que ce document n'était pas nécessaire ni pertinent à l'examen des questions soulevées en appel.

[7]     L'appelant a présenté les arguments suivants :

a) il n'y a pas eu divulgation en ce qui concerne la teneur de la conversation avec l'inspecteur, laquelle n'a pas été prise en compte par le conseiller dans sa décision préliminaire du 24 mai 2006;
b) les quatre infractions n'auraient pas dû être examinées ensemble;
c) l'audience n'aurait pas dû être tenue à Rankin Inlet;
d) les quatre infractions étaient mineures.

[8]     L'appelant a également soutenu que cette affaire aurait dû être examinée sur dossier ou en se fondant sur des affidavits et qu'en outre, aucune infraction n'avait été commise. De plus, M. Castle a déclaré que l'endroit où il fumait ne faisait pas partie de l'aire de trafic et qu'il n'aurait pas pu s'y trouver, étant donné que l'aéronef était garé au milieu de cette aire. Il a également soutenu que Transports Canada n'avait pas compétence à son égard puisqu'il n'agissait pas en qualité de membre de l'équipage à ce moment-là. M. Castle a conclu qu'il avait fait l'objet d'un certain nombre de plaintes pendant une brève période parce qu'il s'était plaint du préposé à la manutention du carburant de l'aéroport de Rankin Inlet.

[9]     M. Castle a soutenu que la décision en révision du conseiller comportait des lacunes parce que celui-ci avait tenu compte de preuves qui étaient fausses. En outre, il a allégué qu'il n'avait pas eu la possibilité de contre-interroger les témoins puisque le ministre avait refusé de modifier le lieu de l'audience.

IV. OBSERVATIONS DU MINISTRE

[10]     Le ministre a présenté des observations dans lesquelles il a exposé les faits, le droit et les conclusions relatives à la crédibilité et a déclaré que le comité d'appel ne pouvait infirmer la décision en révision de M. Tweed que si celle-ci était manifestement déraisonnable. Le ministre a déclaré que M. Tweed avait tranché l'affaire et n'avait pas tiré de conclusions de fait susceptibles d'être révisées et qu'il était clair que le ministre avait réfuté toutes les observations que l'appelant avait présentées par écrit.

[11]     Le représentant du ministre a déclaré que l'appelant souhaitait la tenue d'une nouvelle audience. Aux paragraphes 43 et 44 de ses observations, il a précisé que les omissions alléguées que l'appelant souhaitait éclaircir à l'audience étaient en fait des allégations que le ministre devait établir à l'audience. Par conséquent, il n'était pas possible d'apporter des précisions supplémentaires avant l'audience en révision. De plus, l'affirmation selon laquelle il n'existait aucune preuve qu'une infraction avait été commise ou que les preuves étaient insuffisantes pour permettre la tenue d'une audience étaient en fait des questions que le conseiller devait trancher au terme de l'audience en révision.

[12]     Selon le représentant du ministre, la décision en révision doit être maintenue parce qu'il n'est pas possible de qualifier rationnellement de «  décision déraisonnable  » l'un quelconque de ces éléments. Inversement, il a soutenu que tous les éléments de la décision en révision étaient manifestement raisonnables.

V. ANALYSE

[13]     Les arguments de l'appelant visent principalement deux aspects découlant de la décision de M. Tweed, en date du 18 mai 2006, de tenir l'audience à Rankin Inlet. L'appelant soutient qu'il aurait dû être autorisé à participer à l'audience en utilisant d'autres moyens, comme le téléphone ou les affidavits. La seconde question en litige semble être celle de savoir si les allégations concernant l'appelant ont été divulguées de façon adéquate.

[14]     Dans sa décision du 18 mai 2006, le conseiller déclare ce qui suit au sujet de la question de la participation à une audience d'une partie absente :

[traduction]
Le Tribunal et son prédécesseur, le Tribunal de l'aviation civile, ont adopté depuis longtemps la pratique consistant à tenir les audiences concernant des infractions imputées le plus près possible de l'endroit où elles ont été commises... Le Tribunal a déjà accepté d'entendre des témoignages par téléphone et de recevoir des preuves par affidavit, mais uniquement avec l'accord des parties. La capacité des parties de contre-interroger efficacement les témoins qui ont témoigné par téléphone est limitée et elle est inexistante dans le cas des preuves par affidavit. Il incombe alors au Tribunal d'apprécier la force probante des preuves présentées.

[15]     Le conseiller a décidé qu'il n'y avait pas lieu d'accorder l'autorisation spéciale d'utiliser des formes non traditionnelles de participation à une audience par une partie absente. Ainsi qu'il ressort du paragraphe précédent, l'absence d'une partie à l'audience occasionne des difficultés. Cependant, lorsque les tentatives déployées pour en arriver à des arrangements acceptables sont infructueuses, le conseiller doit prendre une décision au sujet du lieu de l'audience en se fondant sur la prépondérance des inconvénients. Nous estimons que le conseiller a pris une décision appropriée d'après les faits de l'affaire, étant donné que l'infraction a été commise à Rankin Inlet et aussi parce que le ministre avait quatre témoins dont trois résidaient à Rankin Inlet. Il est évident que Rankin Inlet était le lieu d'audience approprié.

[16]     Nous souscrivons aux allégations du représentant du ministre selon lesquelles l'insuffisance des preuves ou la réfutation des faits sont des questions qu'il y a lieu d'aborder à l'audience. Ce ne sont pas des questions qui peuvent être résolues en présentant une série de demandes de précisions avant l'audience, étant donné que le conseiller avait déclaré dans sa décision du 18 mai 2006 qu'après avoir examiné l'avis de suspension, il avait constaté que celui-ci mentionnait clairement la date des infractions reprochées ainsi que l'article pertinent du RAC dont la violation était alléguée, ce qui donnait au requérant l'information dont il avait besoin pour préparer sa défense.

VI. DÉCISION

[17]     L'appel est rejeté. Le comité d'appel confirme la décision en révision et la pénalité infligée, à savoir une suspension de trois jours pour contravention à l'article 302.11(1)a) du RAC.

Le 14 août 2007

Motifs de la décision d'appel :

Faye Smith, présidente

Y ont souscrit :

Richard F. Willems, Conseiller
Arthur W. Lyon, Conseiller