Decisions

CAT File No. O-1480-33
MoT File No. PAP6504-P-143932-029187

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Minister of Transport, Applicant

- and -

Eugene Kocsis, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, S.C., c.A-2, s. 7.7
Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96-433, s.602.126(1)(c)

Take-Off Below Minimum Visibility


Review Determination
Samuel J. Birenbaum


Decision: November 14, 1997

I confirm the Minister's decision to assess a monetary penalty, but I reduce the amount of that penalty from $250 to $125. The payment shall be made to the Receiver General for Canada and sent to the Civil Aviation Tribunal within fifteen days of service of this determination.

A Review Hearing on the above matter was held Wednesday, October 29, 1997 at 11:00 hours at the Waterloo Regional Airport, in Breslau, Ontario.

BACKGROUND

At the onset of the Review Hearing I was presented with a pre-hearing agreement of facts signed by both the Respondent and the Applicant. The facts agreed to by both parties are the following:

  1. Mr. Kocsis was the pilot-in-command of Cessna 414, C-GDLC
  2. Mr. Kocsis conducted a takeoff on runway 07 at approximately 1227 UTC (0727 Local)
  3. The control tower reported the ground visibility just prior to takeoff to be 3/8 sm (statute miles).

The Notice of Assessment of Monetary Penalty for $250.00 reads in part:

Pursuant to section 7.7 of the Aeronautics Act, the Minister of Transport has decided to assess a monetary penalty on the grounds that you have contravened the following provision(s):

Canadian Aviation Regulations, s.602.126(1)(c) in that on or about November 6, 1996 at or near the Kitchener/Waterloo Regional airport you, as the pilot-in-command of aircraft, registered C-GDLC, conducted a take-off on runway 07 when the take-off visibility was less than one-half a mile.

THE LAW

Subsection 602.126(1) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs) reads as follows:

602.126 (1) No pilot-in-command of an aircraft shall conduct a take-off if the take-off visibility, as determined in accordance with subsection (2), is below the minimum take-off visibility specified in

(a) the air operator certificate where the aircraft is operated in accordance with Part VII;

(b) the private operator certificate where the aircraft is operated in accordance with Subpart 4; or

(c) the Canada Air Pilot in any case other than a case described in paragraph (a) or (b).

(2) For the purposes of subsection (1), the take-off visibility is

(a) the RVR of the runway, if the RVR is reported to be at or above the minimum take-off visibility specified in a document or the manual referred to in subsection (1);

(b) the ground visibility of the aerodrome for the runway, if the RVR

(i) is reported to be less than the minimum take-off visibility specified in a document or the manual referred to in subsection (1),

(ii) is reported to be fluctuating above and below the minimum take-off visibility specified in a document or the manual referred to in subsection (1), or

(iii) is not reported; or

(c) the visibility for the runway as observed by the pilot-in-command, if

(i) the RVR is not reported, and

(ii) the ground visibility of the aerodrome is not reported.

EVIDENCE

Ms. K. Richter for the Minister of Transport provided Exhibit M-l, a copy of the Pre-hearing Agreement which the Respondent agreed that he had signed. Mr. Kocsis wished to enlarge on the third statement in the agreement, namely that the control tower reported the ground visibility just prior to take-off to be 3/8 statute miles.

The first witness for the Minister, Mr. James Corbett, the investigating officer, was sworn. He stated that he received an Air Traffic Services Aircraft Occurrence Report that C-GDLC aircraft, the Cessna 414, departed runway 07 with a visibility of 3/8 miles at 12:27 Universal Time on November 6, 1996. The Canada Air Pilot states that departures must be conducted with the ground visibility of one-half mile. The witness requested a copy of the aircraft journey log and had a meeting with the Respondent, before which he cautioned the Respondent of his rights, and took a statement. After reviewing the air traffic control (ATC) audio tapes, he determined a violation had occurred, namely that the take-off had been conducted at less than the required one-half mile of visibility.

He introduced into evidence the Air Traffic Services Aircraft Occurrence Report labelled Exhibit M-2, the Aerodrome Chart in the Canada Air Pilot pertaining to the Kitchener Waterloo Regional airport labelled Exhibit M-3 and the notes taken at the time of the interview of the Respondent entered as Exhibit M-4. A copy of the audio tapes of the communications between the aircraft and the tower was entered as Exhibit M-5, and a transcript of this tape was entered as Exhibit M-6.

On cross-examination Mr. Corbett agreed that there may be differences between the ground visibility as reported by ATC and actual visibility, especially in the presence of ground fog. These differences may occur at different parts of the runway.

The next witness was Mr. Edward Wilson Homeyer, Manager of the Kitchener Waterloo Regional Airport control tower who was in the cab of the tower overhearing the transmissions between the pilot and the air traffic controller on November 6, 1996. Subsequently, he discussed the events with the air traffic controller on duty, and the report was filed immediately. He stated that he was asked to secure the tapes, to make copies of the tapes, and these were then introduced as evidence identified by his initials.

On cross-examination, he stated that he had twenty-seven and a half years of ATC experience. He agreed that varying visibilities are possible under different conditions depending on how the observations are made. In the absence of a runway visual range, the reported visibility by a weather observer is accepted. If there are no such reports available, only then would the pilot observations be accepted as the official visibility.

The witness was asked the question: what would happen if the official weather observation was greater than a half-mile, whereas the pilot in his aircraft on the threshold could only see a quarter mile? He replied that this might be officially legal, but it was nonetheless unsafe, and that, in his entire experience, he had never encountered such a situation.

The Respondent stated that the runway was lit at the time with lights at 200-foot intervals and that he was able to clearly see the VOR hut located a half-mile down the runway, and thus he concluded he had at least a half-mile of visibility. He agreed that he was confused by the various definitions of visibility such as take-off visibility, official visibility, tower visibility, weather observers' visibility, etc. He felt that, in the interest of fairness and natural justice, he should be able to substitute his own observations. He further stated the minister had failed to prove the allegation beyond a reasonable doubt. He added that, since this was a single pilot operation, he did not have a copilot to testify on his behalf.

In her closing remarks Ms. Richter reminded me that the Tribunal operates on a balance of probabilities, not on the criminal principle of beyond a reasonable doubt. She stated that the Pre-hearing Agreement confirmed by the audio tapes indicated that this experienced pilot knowingly took off with reported visibilities below acceptable ones.

She further introduced prior determinations by the Civil Aviation Tribunal. These determinations included reference to the fact that the flight service centre observations are paramount over that of the pilot's and that the Canada Air Pilot definitions and regulations should apply preferentially.

In his closing remarks the Respondent stated that he was certain the visibility was not as reported and that there was genuine confusion about types of visibility. He felt that in the interests of truth and justice, his observation of adequate visibility should be taken into consideration. It was done in the Review Determination of Minister of Transport v. Garry David Majerle[1].

At this point, at the request of the Respondent, witness J. Corbett was recalled and was asked to explain Exhibit M-2, the Air Traffic Services Aircraft Occurrence Report. Specifically, on line two is noted aircraft identification FBHH, Cessna 421, departing runway 07 at 13:12 ZULU with one-quarter mile visibility at the same airport. A light line has been drawn through this information, and Mr. Corbett was asked to explain what this meant. He stated that the line indicated that this information did not apply to this case, and represented another aircraft that had departed at a later time with reduced visibility. I asked Mr. Corbett what happened with the second aircraft, and he stated that the pilot of that aircraft was given verbal counselling, and no further action was taken. I asked why one aircraft pilot would receive an oral counselling while another was given a sanction. He stated that there are many considerations, not the least of which is to ensure future compliance.

Ms. Richter requested to speak to sanction and advised me that the $250 penalty was recommended in the procedures manual for a first offence. Under worse situations a suspension of a licence might have been requested. She stated that there were no mitigating factors and that this penalty was necessary to ensure future compliance.

The Respondent stated that he was not concerned about the amount of money, but rather about the consistency of the law and that it should apply to all cases equally.

DISCUSSION

Operational visibility minima for aircraft are essential to ensure safety. The fact that the reported visibilities cannot be measured with exactness is all the more reason the minimum take-off visibility should be observed meticulously.

Section 602.126 of the CARs clearly defines minimum take-off visibility and gives the order of preference to various methods of obtaining this measurement. Clearly, the pilot's observations are not to be substituted for reported observations on the aerodrome. This principle has been confirmed in the Review Determination of the Minister of Transport v. Joseph P. René Savard[2], as well as the Minister of Transport v. Jerry Wilkins[3], the latter being an Appeal Determination.

The evidence presented clearly indicated that the events had occurred, whereas the Respondent offered in his own defence that his own observations should take precedence, and that official observations are sometimes inaccurate. In the interest of aviation safety I cannot accept this position, though I have great sympathy for this pilot who behaved in a very professional manner, and in his testimony expressed a keen awareness of the need to ensure safety in aviation. It is also significant that in the hourly weather report following the take-off by about thirty-three minutes, the visibility had declined to one-quarter mile.

DETERMINATION

Mr. Kocsis, in his testimony, indicated that he learned from this experience, and thus I feel no further deterrent is necessary. I confirm the Minister's decision to assess a monetary penalty, but I reduce the amount of the assessed monetary penalty from $250 to $125.

Dr. S. Birenbaum
Member
Civil Aviation Tribunal


[1] CAT File No. C-0149-33.

[2] CAT File No. A-0012-33.

[3] CAT File No. Q-0453-33.

Décisions

Dossier no O-1480-33 (TAC)
Dossier no PAP6504-P-143932-029187 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Ministre des Transports, requérant(e)

- et -

Eugene Kocsis, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, S.C., c. A-2, art. 7.7
Règlement de l'Aviation canadien, SOR/96-433, art. 602.126(1)c)

Décollage dans des conditions de visibilité inférieures à la visibilité minimale


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Samuel J. Birenbaum


Décision : le 14 novembre 1997

TRADUCTION

Je confirme la décision du ministre d'imposer une amende mais je réduis le montant de cette amende de 250 $ à 125 $. Le paiement doit être fait au Receveur général du Canada et doit parvenir au Tribunal de l'aviation civile dans les quinze jours suivant la signification de la présente décision.

Une audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le mercredi 29 octobre 1997 à 11 h à l'aéroport régional de Waterloo à Breslau (Ontario).

HISTORIQUE

Au début de l'audience en révision, on m'a présenté un exposé conjoint des faits convenu avant l'audience et signé par l'intimé et le requérant. Les deux parties s'entendent sur les faits qui suivent :

  1. M. Kocsis était le commandant de bord du Cessna 414, C-GDLC
  2. M. Kocsis a effectué un décollage sur la piste 07 vers 12 h 27 TUC (7 h 27 heure locale)
  3. La tour de contrôle a communiqué que la visibilité au sol immédiatement avant le décollage était de 3/8 SM (milles terrestres).

L'Avis d'amende de 250 $ pour contravention se lit en partie comme suit :

En vertu de l'article 7.7 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, le ministre des Transports a décidé de vous imposer une amende parce que vous avez contrevenu :

À l'alinéa 602.126(1)c) du Règlement de l'aviation canadienne : le ou vers le 6 novembre 1996 à l'aéroport ou à proximité de l'aéroport régional de Kitchener/Waterloo, à titre de commandant de bord de l'aéronef portant l'immatriculation C-GDLC, vous avez effectué un décollage sur la piste 07 lorsque la visibilité au décollage était inférieure à un demi-mille.

LE DROIT

Le paragraphe 602.126(1) du Règlement de l'aviation canadienne (RAC) se lit comme suit :

602.126 (1) Il est interdit au commandant de bord d'un aéronef d'effectuer un décollage lorsque la visibilité au décollage, déterminée conformément au paragraphe (2), est inférieure à la visibilité au décollage minimale précisée :

a) soit dans le certificat d'exploitation aérienne lorsque l'aéronef est utilisé en application de la partie VII;

b) soit dans le certificat d'exploitation privée lorsque l'aéronef est utilisé en application de la sous-partie 4;

c) soit dans le Canada Air Pilot, si les alinéas a) ou b) ne s'appliquent pas.

(2) Pour l'application du paragraphe (1), la visibilité au décollage est :

a) soit la RVR de la piste, si la RVR communiquée est égale ou supérieure à la visibilité au décollage minimale précisée dans un des documents ou dans le manuel visés au paragraphe (1);

b) soit la visibilité au sol de l'aérodrome pour la piste si :

(i) la RVR communiquée est inférieure à la visibilité au décollage minimale précisée dans un des documents ou dans le manuel visés au paragraphe (1),

(ii) la RVR communiquée fluctue au-dessus et au-dessous de la visibilité au décollage minimale précisée dans un des documents ou dans le manuel visés au paragraphe (1),

(iii) la RVR n'est pas communiquée;

c) soit la visibilité pour la piste telle qu'elle est observée par le commandant de bord, si à la fois :

(i) la RVR n'est pas communiquée,

(ii) la visibilité au sol de l'aérodrome n'est pas communiquée.

LA PREUVE

Mme K. Richter a produit la pièce M-1 pour le ministre des Transports, soit une copie de l'exposé conjoint convenu avant l'audience que l'intimé a admis avoir signée. M. Kocsis désirait étayer le troisième énoncé de l'entente, à savoir que la tour de contrôle a rapporté immédiatement avant le décollage que la visibilité au sol était de 3/8 mille terrestre.

Le premier témoin du ministre M. James Corbett, agent chargé de l'enquête, a été assermenté. Il a déclaré avoir reçu le compte rendu d'événement d'aviation des Services de la circulation aérienne concernant le décollage de l'aéronef C-GDLC, un Cessna 414, sur la piste 07 par une visibilité de 3/8 mille, le 6 novembre 1996, à 12 h 27 (temps universel). Le Canada Air Pilot précise que les départs doivent être effectués par visibilité au sol d'un demi-mille. Le témoin a demandé une copie du carnet de route de l'aéronef et a rencontré l'intimé pour prendre sa déclaration après l'avoir informé de ses droits. Après analyse des bandes sonores du contrôle de la circulation aérienne (ATC), il a décidé qu'il y avait eu une violation, à savoir que le décollage a été effectué sans le demi-mille de visibilité prescrit.

Il a présenté en preuve le compte rendu d'événement d'aviation des services de la circulation aérienne (pièce M-2), la carte d'aérodrome du Canada Air Pilot représentant l'aéroport régional de Kitchener Waterloo (pièce M-3) et les notes prises lors de l'entrevue avec l'intimé (pièce M-4). Une copie des bandes sonores des communications entre l'aéronef et la tour a été présentée sous la cote M-5 et la transcription de ces bandes a été déposée comme pièce M-6.

En contre-interrogatoire, M. Corbett a admis qu'il puisse y avoir des différences entre le rapport de visibilité au sol de la tour de contrôle et la visibilité réelle, particulièrement en présence de brume au sol. Ces différences peuvent survenir à des endroits distincts de la piste.

Le témoin suivant M. Edward Wilson Homeyer, directeur de la tour de contrôle de l'aéroport régional de Kitchener Waterloo, était dans la cabine de la tour de contrôle à l'écoute des communications entre le pilote et le contrôleur de la circulation aérienne, le 6 novembre 1996. Par la suite, il a discuté des événements avec le contrôleur de la circulation aérienne de service et un rapport a été produit immédiatement. Il a déclaré qu'on lui avait demandé de mettre les bandes sonores en sûreté et d'en faire des copies; ces dernières, marquées de ses initiales, ont ensuite été présentées en preuve.

En contre-interrogatoire, il a déclaré avoir une expérience du contrôle de la circulation aérienne de vingt-sept ans et demi. Il se rallie aux possibilités de visibilités variables en fonction des changements de conditions et de la façon dont les observations sont faites. En l'absence d'une portée visuelle de piste, la visibilité signalée par l'observateur météorologique est acceptée. Si aucun de ces rapports n'est disponible, alors seulement, les observations du pilote seront considérées comme rapport officiel de visibilité.

Le témoin a été interrogé sur ce qui se passerait si les rapports météorologiques officiels déclaraient une visibilité supérieure à un demi-mille, alors que le pilote dans son aéronef sur le seuil de la piste ne pouvait voir qu'un quart de mille? Il a répliqué qu'une telle situation pouvait être légale mais non sécuritaire pour autant et qu'il n'avait jamais vu une situation du genre au cours de toute sa carrière.

L'intimé a déclaré que la piste était alors éclairée par des phares situés espacés de deux cents pieds, qu'il était capable de voir clairement la signalisation VOR située à un demi-mille sur la piste et qu'il a donc conclu qu'il avait une visibilité d'au moins un demi-mille. Il a convenu qu'il était dérouté par les différentes définitions de la visibilité : visibilité au décollage, visibilité officielle, visibilité de la tour, visibilité de l'observateur météorologique, etc. Il estimait que, dans l'intérêt de l'équité et de la justice naturelle, il devrait pouvoir substituer ses propres observations. Il a de plus déclaré que le ministre n'avait pas prouvé les faits reprochés hors de tout doute raisonnable. Il a ajouté que, comme il s'agissait d'un vol à pilote unique, aucun copilote ne pouvait témoigner en sa faveur.

Au cours de ses observations finales, Mme Richter m'a rappelé que le Tribunal fonctionne en vertu de la prépondérance des probabilités et non pas du doute raisonnable comme en droit criminel. Elle a déclaré que l'entente préalable à l'audience, comme l'ont confirmé les bandes sonores, indiquait que ce pilote expérimenté a décollé en sachant que les visibilités signalées se situaient sous la norme acceptable.

Elle a par la suite présenté des décisions antérieures du Tribunal de l'aviation civile. Ces décisions faisaient référence à la suprématie des observations du bureau d'information de vol sur celles du pilote et au fait que les définitions et les règlements du Canada Air Pilot ont préséance.

Dans ses observations finales, l'intimé a déclaré être certain que la visibilité n'était pas telle qu'on l'avait indiquée et qu'il y avait une confusion réelle quant aux types de visibilité. Il estimait que dans l'intérêt de la vérité et de la justice, son point de vue sur la visibilité suffisante devrait être pris en considération comme le Tribunal l'a fait lors de la décision à la suite d'une révision Ministre des Transports c. Garry David Majerle[1].

À ce stade, à la demande de l'intimé, le témoin J. Corbett a été rappelé et interrogé sur la pièce M-2, le compte rendu d'événement d'aviation des Services de la circulation aérienne. En particulier, à la ligne deux on signale le décollage de l'aéronef Cessna 421 immatriculé FBHH, qui décolle de la piste 07 à 13 h 12 ZULU avec une visibilité d'un quart de mille, au même aéroport. On a rayé cette information d'un trait et M. Corbett a été interrogé sur le sens de cela. Il a déclaré que l'information a été rayée car elle ne s'appliquait pas à cette cause mais à un autre aéronef ayant décollé plus tard avec une visibilité réduite. J'ai demandé à M. Corbett ce qui était advenu du deuxième aéronef et il a déclaré que le pilote de cet aéronef a reçu un avertissement verbal, sans plus. J'ai demandé pourquoi un pilote d'aéronef recevrait un avertissement verbal alors qu'un autre reçoit une sanction. Il a déclaré que plusieurs facteurs doivent être considérés et que s'assurer du respect de la loi dans le futur n'est pas le moindre d'entre eux.

Mme Richter a demandé à se prononcer sur la sanction et m'a informé que l'amende de 250 $ était recommandée dans le manuel de procédures dans le cas d'une première infraction. Dans des circonstances plus graves, on aurait pu demander une suspension de licence. Elle a déclaré qu'il n'y avait aucun facteur atténuant et que cette amende était nécessaire pour s'assurer du respect de la loi dans le futur.

L'intimé a déclaré qu'il n'était pas préoccupé par le montant d'argent mais plutôt par l'uniformité d'application de la loi dans tous les cas.

DISCUSSION

Les normes minimales opérationnelles de visibilité sont essentielles afin d'assurer la sécurité. Comme la visibilité signalée ne peut être mesurée avec exactitude, il est d'autant plus important que la visibilité minimale au décollage soit observée consciencieusement.

L'article 602.126 du RAC définit clairement la visibilité au décollage minimale et indique par ordre de préférence les différentes façons de la mesurer. Évidemment, les observations du pilote ne peuvent se substituer aux observations météo signalées par l'aérodrome. Ce principe a été confirmé dans la décision à la suite d'une révision Ministre des Transports c. Joseph P. René Savard[2] de même que dans Ministre des Transports c. Jerry Wilkins[3]; dans ce dernier cas, il s'agissait d'une décision à la suite d'un appel.

La preuve soumise indiquait clairement que les événements avaient eu lieu alors que l'intimé prétendait dans sa défense que ses propres observations devraient avoir préséance et que les observations officielles sont quelquefois inexactes. Dans l'intérêt de la sécurité aérienne, je ne peux accepter ce point de vue même si j'ai beaucoup de sympathie pour ce pilote qui s'est comporté de façon fort professionnelle et qui a exprimé dans son témoignage une grande conscience de la nécessité d'assurer la sécurité aérienne. Il est de plus significatif que sur le bulletin horaire qui a suivi le décollage d'environ trente-trois minutes, la visibilité était réduite à un quart de mille.

DÉCISION

Dans son témoignage, M. Kocsis a indiqué qu'il a appris de son expérience et comme je considère qu'un élément dissuasif n'est pas nécessaire, je confirme la décision du ministre d'imposer une amende mais je réduis le montant de l'amende imposée de 250 $ à 125 $.

Dr S. Birenbaum
Conseiller
Tribunal de l'aviation civile


o Dossier n C-0149-33 (TAC).

o Dossier n A-0012-33 (TAC).

o Dossier n Q-0453-33 (TAC).