Decisions

CAT File No. O-1600-60
MoT File No. 124714

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Captain Yves Picard, Applicant

- and -

Minister of Transport, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. A-2, s. 7.1(1)(b)

PPC, Pilot Proficiency Check


Review Determination
Allister W. Ogilvie


Decision: May 3, 1999

I confirm the Minister's decision to issue to Captain Picard an unsatisfactory assessment regarding a pilot proficiency check on Airbus A320.

A Review Hearing on the above matter was held Wednesday, April 14, 1999 at 09:00 hours at the Federal Court of Canada, in Montreal, Quebec.

BACKGROUND

Captain Yves Picard is an Air Canada pilot. He began flying with the company 21 years ago, serving on a variety of aircraft, both as first officer and Captain. In 1997 he had been promoted to Captain on the A320 Airbus aircraft. On March 7, 1998, Captain Picard had undertaken his pilot proficiency check (PPC) after having completed his recurrent training. The PPC was assessed as being unsatisfactory. Captain Picard appealed that decision to the Civil Aviation Tribunal resulting in this hearing of Wednesday, April 14, 1999.

EVIDENCE—The Minister

Mr. Fred Pratt was the case presentation officer for the Minister of Transport. Mr. Pratt called Captain R. Quickfall as a witness for the Minister. Captain Quickfall is an Air Canada pilot, who on March 7, 1998 was serving as a delegate of the Minister of Transport to conduct a PPC in the simulator on Captain Picard and his first officer.

Captain Quickfall utilized a document entitled PPC/IFT-C1: A320, valid October 1, 1997 to March 31, 1998 (Exhibit M-2), which may be called a script. This script sets out the purpose of check, the items that are to be tested, the role of check pilot and the particular scenarios to be flown in the simulator. The same script is used for all the crew members on that type of aircraft during the validity period of the script.

The script called for four flight legs, the Captain being required to fly the first two. On the first leg from Ottawa to Toronto, a pressurisation malfunction was called for, resulting in the aircraft (simulator) having to return to Ottawa. Upon reaching Ottawa, the weather limits in the simulator were set low so as to require the aircraft to overshoot and go around.

Captain Quickfall testified that the script called for an engine failure to occur during the go-around somewhere above 1000 feet above ground level (AGL) because of a double FADEC fault (FADEC – Fully Authorizing Digital Engine Control). The engine failure would have two indications: First, the failed engine instrumentation indicates orange semi-arcs and XXXs instead of its normal green; the ECAM is the Electronic Central Aircraft Monitoring. It provides a variety of information to the crew, which varies dependent upon the phase of flight and the configuration of the aircraft. It does not give an engine failure warning until the aircraft is above 1500 feet. The second indication would be the reducing pitch attitude of the aircraft as it attempts to maintain speed with the reduced thrust. However, if pitch is not reduced either manually or by the auto pilot, the airspeed will decrease.

In this instance the auto pilot was engaged for the go-around, and the Captain selected TOGA (Take-Off and Go-Around). In this particular configuration the auto pilot attempts to maintain a trajectory from present altitude and configuration to the selected level off altitude, based on the assumption of no loss of thrust. The ALT star (ALT*) mode engages when the aircraft reaches the altitude capture zone defined by the aircraft vertical speed. When an engine failure occurs during the ALT* phase the AFDS (Auto Pilot Flight Director System) does not protect the airspeed.

The application of TOGA power caused the aircraft to pitch up to about 15° accompanied by a high rate of climb at speed of Velocity Approach (VAPP) or greater. The high nose attitude combined with a power loss would result in a dramatic loss of airspeed unless the aircraft attitude is reduced by intervention with the auto pilot or by disconnecting the auto pilot and manually reducing pitch attitude to regain airspeed.

Captain Quickfall asserted, that when the FADEC fault was recognized by the crew, no attempt was made to reduce pitch attitude to control the decaying airspeed. He observed that the aircraft decelerated to a configuration called the AFloor (Alpha floor). That speed was 20+ knots below VAPP, which he stated, was below an acceptable standard for safe flying. The AFloor function is a stall protection mode whereby the aircraft automatically lowers the nose to an angle of attack that prevents a stall. Additionally, during this manoeuvre Captain Quickfall observed the speed Trend Vector to indicate a large downward trend.

To assist the pilot flying (PF) the pilot not flying (PNF) is to call out any airspeed deviation above or below a safe speed for the particular configuration (Exhibit M-4). He stated that during this phase the PNF either did not make the appropriate "Airspeed" call or that it was not emphatic. In any case, during the overshoot, the PF did not control the speed.

Captain Quickfall submitted that in any case the pilot must monitor the basic flight instruments, speed, heading, altitude, and vertical speed. Reference was made to the A320 Flight Crew Operating Manual (FCOM), Standard Operating Procedures (SOPS) (Exhibit M-5), which makes several references to the crew's responsibility to monitor and check Auto pilot and/or Flight Director functions, and to disengage those instruments should they not be guiding the aircraft to where it is expected.

The check ride was not immediately terminated after the airspeed loss and recovery, but continued for about another 10 minutes. Upon its termination, the crew was debriefed and a check report completed (Exhibit M-8). The missed approach section was judged unsatisfactory. Under comments, it states that during the missed approach a FADEC fault was introduced, speed control not monitored, resulting in an AFloor activation.

During the debriefing, Captain Picard asserted that he had not received any training on the double FADEC fault. The PNF was knowledgeable regarding it and made reference to a bulletin entitled "Land Green" which is an Air Canada Newsletter regarding Airbus aircraft (Exhibit M-6). At pages 5 and 6 of the April 1995 issue, the procedure for airspeed loss in like circumstance is addressed. The script calling for this fault had been in place for five months and Captain Quickfall had utilized it to perform about 20 checks on other crews.

Under cross-examination Captain Quickfall stated that he had not terminated the check ride immediately after the missed approach as he wanted to further assess the performance.

Numerous questions were posed as to the availability to the PF of other indication of faults. It was established that the ECAM does not provide warning of this fault while below 1500 AGL, as the ECAM is inhibited in that range. A fault such as an engine fire is not inhibited, as such fault requires pilot input immediately whereas the double FADEC failure does not.

A page from the FCOM, Abnormal and Emergency, Power Plant p. 23 (Exhibit D-1) addressing Engine FADEC FAULT, indicates other system pages such as Hyd Elec or Bleed must be used to confirm engine status when the FADEC fault occurs.

It was determined that the clues available in the cockpit during certain windshear encounters were similar to those encountered when this fault occurs.

EVIDENCE—Captain Picard

In Captain Picard's 21 years of flying at Air Canada he had always maintained a very high standard, except for his check of March 7. He did a re-check shortly thereafter and again attained a very high standard. His unsatisfactory performance on that day was an exception and was very disturbing for him. He sought to explain the circumstances and show that he flew safely at all times.

His remembrance of the flight differs somewhat from Captain Quickfall's. He asserts that he and the First Officer did not identify the FADEC fault, nor did First Officer call a power loss, but the First Officer did call "Airspeed".

He felt that the only indication of this fault was the airspeed loss but this could also have been attributed to windshear. Captain Picard asserted that he had received no training for this particular fault. After the fact, he was made aware of Land Green articles addressing the subject (Exhibits D-2 and M-6) but points out that the publication has no official authority but rather is only informational.

He described his action during go-around. When he became aware of the decaying airspeed, he disconnected the auto pilot and pushed the nose down to gain airspeed. Captain Picard acknowledged that during this recovery he encountered the AFloor regime, but maintains that the AFloor is there to offer protection, that it is not a device to fail you.

Upon cross-examination Captain Picard acknowledged that at the start of the go-around, the aircraft speed was about VAPP + 10, but that it fell below VAPP, eventually falling to a speed that engaged the AFloor.

Captain Provost appeared on behalf of Captain Picard. His credentials were such that he was qualified to be called as an expert on the A320 aircraft.

Regarding the engine indications of orange semi-arcs and XXXs he explained that such indication was given when the sensors were not sure of the signal. Therefore, it was necessary to consult the ECAM and refer to the Quick Reference Handbook (QRH) before being certain that the indication was an engine failure. The ECAM inhibits certain messages during critical phases of flight, depending on the urgency of action required to deal with the problem.

Captain Provost also stated that he had not been trained or briefed on an engine failure during the ALT* phase of flight.

He testified that it is not forbidden to activate the AFloor regime, as it is designed to help the crew recover from certain situations such as windshear encounter, collision avoidance and low energy situations (Exhibits D-5 and D-6). As well, he testified that computers monitor trends and rates rather then just set figures. Because of this, the point at which the computer activates certain modes (eg. ALT*) can vary.

Exhibit D-6 from the A319/A320 FCOM, giving SOPS for Handling of Emergencies, including Windshear Warnings and Ground Proximity Warning (GPWS) stipulates at p. 12, at 3, that if one engine is inoperative, ... reduce speed with care below VLS (velocity lowest selectable) .... This he says contradicts Captain Quickfall's evidence that one is forbidden to reduce speed below that figure.

Captain Provost refers to FCOM regarding FMGS (flight management guidance system) Procedures, Go Around, 4.05.80 p. 5 at 5 (Exhibit D-7) where it states:

If ALT* engages out of SRS mode and an engine out occurs quasi simultaneously, an airspeed loss may be encountered during the altitude capture. No protection is provided at VLS when ALT* is engaged. Low speed protection is ensured by the Alpha floor. (emphasis added)

He states that this shows that AFloor regime is designed to be used for protection. (SRS – Speed Reference System)

THE LAW

Paragraph 7.1(1)(b) of the Aeronautics Act:

7. 1(1) Where the Minister decides

(...)

(b) to suspend or cancel a Canadian aviation document on the grounds that the holder of the document is incompetent or the holder or any aircraft, airport or other facility in respect of which the document was issued ceases to have the qualifications necessary for the issuance of the document or to meet or comply with the conditions subject to which the document was issued, or

(...)

the Minister shall, by personal service or by registered mail sent to the holder or the owner or operator of the aircraft, airport or facility, as the case may be, at the latest known address of the holder, owner or operator, notify the holder, owner or operator of the Minister's decision.

ARGUMENT

Mr. Pratt reiterated that the evidence showed the airspeed to have fallen below VAPP and subsequently the AFloor was activated. The speed was below the accepted standard for the manoeuvre, so Captain Quickfall had made the right decision in assessing the check as unsatisfactory.

Captain Dorée took us back through areas of controversy. He queried how one should react to a situation when one was not trained to recognize and react to it. He pointed out that the ride was continued for some time after the go-around which indicated to him that the failure was not obvious. Although the manoeuvre in the go-around had not been elegant, it had been handled safely.

He contended that the airspeed was the only obvious clue to the failure, and that it was not recognized by the Captain as a FADEC failure.

Captain Dorée queried why this type of malfunction was not found in the reference material when the Land Green publication described it as a potential trap. He argued that other manoeuvres, such as that required in Windshear on Terrain Avoidance, called for speeds below VAPP. As there were no clear procedures for this particular manoeuvre, how could one know the standard to be met?

DISCUSSION

The issue for me to decide is whether on March 7, 1998, Captain Picard failed to demonstrate the required standard for certain manoeuvres required for the PPC. The Minister must prove on a balance of probability that he did not meet the standard.

Regarding the standard to be met, Captain Quickfall testified that the minimum acceptable airspeed for the manoeuvre was VAPP. Flying below that speed was unacceptable at any time. It was his observation that his speed did go below that value and that the AFloor regime was activated.

Captain Picard admits that his speed did fall below the VAPP and that the AFloor activated. However, evidence given on his behalf casts doubt upon the applicability of the standard in the given situation. He raises other mitigating factors, such as lack of training for the scenario.

Captain Picard had always maintained a very high standard before this check and again attained that standard on the subsequent check. The PPC of March 7 remains an anomaly and raises the question of whether the anomaly was the standard required or his performance.

Captain Picard's representatives cast doubt upon the efficacy of the standard by illustrating that in certain circumstances the FCOM materials recognize that the airspeed required can be below VAPP.

However, the actions required in Exhibit D-6 re: Windshear/GPWS Warnings are classed as "Handling of Emergency Procedures". The reference regarding reducing speed with care below VLS, if one engine inoperative is found, under heading 3 "When Ground Contact is a Factor".

It may be that the minimum speed required during such manoeuvres is less than VAPP, as suggested by Exhibit D-6, but if so, it may be restricted to these specific emergency handling procedures, but that point was not the subject of direct testimony.

However, regarding the minimum speed in the manoeuvre in question, there is the direct testimony of Captain Quickfall, who, as delegate of the Minister, testified that the minimum speed could not fall below VAPP. He stated that he observed the speed to fall below that level. Captain Picard acknowledged that fact.

In this circumstance I must confirm the Minister's decision on the evidence given.

However, Captain Picard and his representatives have raised valid and compelling issues regarding the training and subsequent standards of performance which should be addressed. I do not possess the knowledge or experience to address those ancillary issues, but the parties before me do. All witnesses had an in-depth knowledge given of long study and experience with the aircraft and its systems. Representatives of the pilots, the Minister and the company whose interests are at stake should collectively address the ancillary issues raised.

I thank the parties for having presented the complex issues in such a competent and professional manner.

DETERMINATION

I confirm the Minister's decision to issue to Captain Picard an unsatisfactory assessment regarding a pilot proficiency check on Airbus A320.

Allister Ogilvie
Vice-Chairperson
Civil Aviation Tribunal

Décisions

Dossier no O-1600-60 (TAC)
Dossier no 124714 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

le Commandant Yves Picard, requérant(e)

- et -

Ministre des Transports, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, c. A-2, art. 7.1(1)

Contrôle de la compétence du pilote, CCP


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Allister W. Ogilvie


Décision : le 3 mai 1999

TRADUCTION

Je confirme la décision du ministre d'accorder au commandant Picard une évaluation insatisfaisante pour un contrôle de la compétence du pilote sur le Airbus A320.

Une audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le mercredi 14 avril 1999, à 9 heures à la Cour fédérale du Canada à Montréal (Québec).

HISTORIQUE

Le commandant Yves Picard est pilote chez Air Canada. Il est entré au service de la compagnie il y a 21 ans et il a piloté différents types d'aéronefs, tant comme copilote que comme commandant. En 1997, il a été promu commandant de l'aéronef Airbus A320. Le 7 mars 1998, le commandant Picard a subi un contrôle de la compétence du pilote (CCP) après avoir terminé sa formation périodique. On a jugé que le CCP était insatisfaisant. Le commandant Picard a interjeté appel de cette décision au Tribunal de l'aviation civile, d'où l'audience du mercredi 14 avril 1999.

LA PREUVE — Le ministre

M. Fred Pratt était l'agent chargé de présenter le cas pour le ministre des Transports. M. Pratt a appelé le commandant R. Quickfall comme témoin du ministre. Le commandant Quickfall est un pilote d'Air Canada et il agissait comme mandataire du ministre des Transports le 7 mars 1998 pour effectuer, dans un simulateur, un CCP du commandant Picard et de son copilote.

Le commandant Quickfall a utilisé un document intitulé PPC/IFT-C1 : A320, en vigueur du 1er octobre 1997 au 31 mars 1998 (pièce M-2) qu'on peut appeler un scénario. Il énonce l'objectif du contrôle, les points à vérifier, le rôle du pilote vérificateur et les scénarios de vol particuliers dans le simulateur. Au cours de sa période de validité, on utilise le même scénario pour tous les membres de l'équipage de ce type d'aéronef.

Le scénario prévoit quatre tronçons; on exige que le commandant pilote lors des deux premiers tronçons. Au cours du premier tronçon d'Ottawa à Toronto, on a fait intervenir une anomalie de la pressurisation qui forçait l'aéronef (le simulateur) à retourner à Ottawa. Alors qu'il parvenait à Ottawa, on a réglé les limites de météo dans le simulateur à un niveau bas, de sorte que l'aéronef devait remettre les gaz.

Le commandant Quickfall a témoigné que le scénario prévoyait une panne de moteur pendant la remise des gaz quelque part à 1 000 pieds au-dessus du sol (AGL), en raison d'une double panne FADEC (régulation automatique à pleine autorité redondante). La panne de moteur serait signalée de deux façons : premièrement, les instruments moteur affichent des demi-arcs orange et XXX au lieu du vert habituel. L'ECAM est le moniteur électronique centralisé de bord; il fournit différentes informations à l'équipage qui varient en fonction de l'étape du vol et de la configuration de l'aéronef. Il n'indique pas de signal de panne de moteur avant que l'aéronef ne dépasse 1 500 pieds. La deuxième indication serait la réduction de l'assiette longitudinale de l'aéronef alors qu'on tente de maintenir sa vitesse avec une propulsion réduite. Toutefois, si l'assiette longitudinale n'est pas réduite soit manuellement ou par le pilote automatique, la vitesse diminuera.

Dans ce cas-ci, le pilote automatique était en action pour la remise des gaz et le commandant a choisi le mode TOGA (décollage et remise des gaz). Par cette configuration particulière, le pilote automatique tente de maintenir la trajectoire de la configuration et l'altitude actuelles dans l'altitude choisie, en tenant pour acquis qu'il n'y a aucune perte de propulsion. Le mode ALT* se déclenche lorsque l'aéronef atteint la zone de capture d'altitude définie par la vitesse verticale de l'aéronef. Lorsqu'il y a panne de moteur pendant la phase ALT*, l'AFDS (pilote automatique / directeur de vol) ne garde plus la vitesse.

L'application du mode TOGA a provoqué une cambrure de l'aéronef d'environ 15 ° à un fort taux d'ascension à la vitesse d'approche (VAPP) ou encore plus grande. Une assiette de cabré prononcée combinée à une perte de puissance entraînerait une perte de vitesse-air importante à moins que l'attitude de l'aéronef ne soit réduite au moyen du pilote automatique ou en débranchant celui-ci et en réduisant l'assiette longitudinale manuellement pour reprendre de la vitesse.

Le commandant Quickfall a affirmé que lorsque l'équipage a constaté la panne FADEC, l'équipage n'a fait aucune tentative pour réduire l'assiette longitudinale afin de contrôler la diminution de la vitesse. Il a remarqué que l'aéronef a décéléré jusqu'à ce qu'il atteigne la configuration qu'on appelle le AFloor (plancher alpha). Cette vitesse était de 20 nœuds en-dessous de la VAPP, ce qui selon lui, se situe en-dessous de la norme de vitesse suffisante pour le vol sécuritaire. La fonction AFloor est un mode antidécrochage qui baisse automatiquement l'avant de l'aéronef et le place dans un angle d'attaque prévenant le décrochage. De plus, au cours de cette manœuvre, le commandant Quickfall a remarqué que le vecteur variation de vitesses indiquait une forte tendance vers le bas.

Afin d'aider le pilote aux commandes (PF), celui qui ne l'est pas (PNF) doit signaler tout écart de vitesse au-dessus ou en-dessous de la vitesse de sécurité appropriée à une configuration particulière (pièce M-4). Il a déclaré qu'au cours de cette phase, le PNF n'a pas signalé la « vitesse » appropriée ou qu'il ne l'a pas fait avec insistance. Quoiqu'il en soit, au cours de la remise des gaz, le PF n'a pas réglé la vitesse.

Le commandant Quickfall a soutenu que quoi qu'il en soit, le pilote doit surveiller les instruments de vol élémentaires, la vitesse, le cap, l'altitude et la vitesse verticale. On a fait référence aux procédures d'utilisation normalisées (SOPS) du Manuel de vol de l'équipage pour le A320 (FCOM) (pièce M-5), qui mentionnent à plusieurs reprises que l'équipage est responsable de la vérification du pilote automatique, des fonctions de directeur de vol et du débrayage de ces instruments lorsqu'ils ne conduisent pas l'aéronef au point voulu.

Le vol de contrôle de la compétence ne s'est pas immédiatement terminé après la perte de vitesse et le redressement et s'est poursuivi pendant environ dix minutes. À la fin du vol, l'équipage a été soumis à un exposé après vol et un rapport de test a été établi (pièce M-8). La partie de l'approche interrompue a été jugée insatisfaisante. Dans les commentaires, on déclare que pendant l'approche interrompue, une panne FADEC a été introduite, la vitesse n'a pas été contrôlée, d'où le déclenchement du AFloor.

Pendant la session d'exposé après vol, le commandant Picard a affirmé qu'il n'avait pas reçu de formation sur la double panne FADEC. Le PNF connaissait cette question et il a fait référence à un bulletin d'Air Canada intitulé « Land Green » à propos des aéronefs Airbus (pièce M-6). Aux pages 5 et 6 de l'édition d'avril 1995, on se prononce sur les procédures de perte de vitesse dans des circonstances semblables. Le scénario prévoyant cette panne existait depuis cinq mois et le commandant Quickfall l'avait utilisé pour effectuer environ 20 vérifications auprès d'autres équipages.

En contre-interrogatoire, le commandant Quickfall a déclaré qu'il n'avait pas mis fin au vol de contrôle de la compétence immédiatement après l'approche interrompue étant donné qu'il voulait continuer à évaluer la performance.

De nombreuses questions ont été posées concernant la signalisation au PF d'autres indices de panne. On a établi que l'ECAM ne fournit aucun avertissement de cette panne en deçà de 1 500 AGL, étant donné que l'ECAM ne fonctionne pas à cette hauteur. Une panne telle qu'un feu dans le moteur peut être signalée, étant donné qu'elle requiert l'intervention immédiate du pilote alors que ce n'est pas le cas pour une double panne FADEC.

À la page 23 du FCOM, au chapitre concernant les pannes et les urgences du groupe motopropulseur (pièce D-1) et qui porte sur les pannes FADEC, on indique qu'on doit utiliser d'autres systèmes d'avertissement comme Hyd Elec ou Bleed pour confirmer l'état du moteur lorsqu'il y a une panne FADEC.

On a établi que les indices disponibles dans le poste de pilotage lors de certains cisaillements de vent ressemblent à ceux de cette panne.

LA PREUVE — Le commandant Picard

Au cours de ses vingt et un ans de pilotage chez Air Canada, le commandant Picard a toujours maintenu des normes de qualité élevées, sauf lors de son contrôle du 7 mars. Il a subi un contrôle de nouveau peu de temps après et là encore, il a obtenu des normes de qualité élevées. Sa performance insatisfaisante de ce jour-là constituait une exception et elle l'a énormément troublé. Il a cherché à expliquer les circonstances et démontrer qu'il pilotait toujours en toute sécurité.

Son souvenir du vol diffère quelque peu de celui du commandant Quickfall. Il affirme que ni le copilote, ni lui-même n'ont relevé la panne FADEC, que le copilote n'a pas signalé de perte de puissance mais que le copilote a signalé la « vitesse ».

Il considérait que la seule indication de cette panne était la perte de vitesse mais on aurait pu l'attribuer au cisaillement du vent. Le commandant Picard a affirmé qu'il n'avait reçu aucune formation pour cette panne particulière. Par la suite, il a pris connaissance des articles publiés à ce sujet dans Land Green (pièces D-2 et M-6) mais il fait remarquer que ces publications n'ont pas d'autorité officielle et qu'elles n'ont qu'une valeur informative.

Il a décrit ses gestes au cours de la remise des gaz. Lorsqu'il a constaté la diminution de la vitesse, il a interrompu le pilote automatique et il a piqué du nez pour reprendre de la vitesse. Le commandant Picard a reconnu qu'en recouvrant sa vitesse, il a atteint le AFloor mais il maintient que le AFloor constitue un système de protection et non pas de nuisance.

En contre-interrogatoire, le commandant Picard a reconnu qu'au début de la remise des gaz, la vitesse de l'aéronef étant de presque la VAPP + 10 mais qu'elle est tombée en-dessous de la VAPP pour éventuellement atteindre une vitesse qui a fait déclencher le AFloor.

Le commandant Provost a comparu pour le commandant Picard. Ses références professionnelles étaient telles qu'il s'est qualifié comme expert de l'aéronef A320.

Au sujet des indications de demi-arcs orange et les XXX apparaissant aux instruments moteur, il a expliqué que ces indications étaient données lorsque les détecteurs ne sont pas certains du signal. Il était donc nécessaire de consulter l'ECAM et de faire référence au Manuel de référence rapide (QHR) avant de conclure à une panne de moteur. L'ECAM censure certains messages au cours de phases critiques de vol, selon la priorité d'action requise pour faire face au problème.

Le commandant Provost a aussi déclaré qu'il n'a pas été formé ou informé sur les pannes de moteur pendant la phase ALT* du vol.

Il a témoigné qu'il n'était pas interdit de déclencher le AFloor étant donné qu'il est conçu pour aider l'équipage à se sortir de certaines situations, soit rencontrer un cisaillement de vent, éviter une collision et dans des situations à faible énergie (pièces D-5 et D-6). De même, il a témoigné que les ordinateurs mesurent la variation et les taux plutôt que les ensembles définis de chiffres. C'est la raison pour laquelle le point d'où l'ordinateur déclenche certains modes (p. ex. : ALT*) peut varier.

La pièce D-6, un extrait du FCOM A319/A320 indique les SOPS pour faire face aux urgences, incluant les avertissements de cisaillement de vent et le dispositif avertisseur de proximité du sol (GPWS) et prévoit au point 3 de la page 12 que si un moteur ne fonctionne pas, ... il faut prudemment réduire la vitesse sous la vitesse acceptable la plus basse (VLS).... Selon lui, ce point de vue contredit la preuve du commandant Quickfall selon laquelle il est interdit de réduire la vitesse en-dessous de ce chiffre.

Le commandant Provost cite le FCOM sur les procédures de système de conduite et de gestion de vol (FMGS) et de remises des gaz, 4.05.80 à 5 p. 5 (pièce D-7) dans laquelle on stipule :

Lorsque le mode ALT* se déclenche en guidage longitudinal et qu'une panne moteur se produit presque au même moment, une perte de vitesse peut survenir au cours de la capture d'altitude. Lorsque le mode ALT* se déclenche à la VLS, aucune protection n'est assurée. À faible vitesse, c'est le AFloor qui assure une protection. (Notre traduction/Nous soulignons)

Il a déclaré que cela démontre que le mode AFloor est conçu pour fournir une protection.

LA LOI

Au paragraphe 7.1(1) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique :

7.1(1) Lorsque le ministre décide [...] soit de suspendre ou d'annuler un document parce que le titulaire du document est inapte ou que le titulaire ou l'aéronef, l'aéroport ou autre installation que vise le document ne répond plus aux conditions de délivrance ou de maintien en état de validité du document, [...] il expédie un avis de la mesure par signification à personne ou par courrier recommandé à la dernière adresse connue du titulaire ou du propriétaire, exploitant ou utilisateur en cause.

LES PLAIDOIRIES

M. Pratt a réitéré que la preuve démontrait que la vitesse était descendue en-dessous de la VAPP et qu'en conséquence le AFloor avait été déclenché. La vitesse était en dessous des normes acceptables pour cette manœuvre de sorte que le commandant Quickfall a pris la bonne décision en évaluant que le contrôle était insatisfaisant.

Le commandant Dorée nous a ramené en pleine controverse. Il s'est interrogé sur la façon de réagir à une situation lorsqu'on n'a pas été formé pour la reconnaître et y faire face. Il a fait remarquer qu'on avait continué le vol pendant quelque temps après la remise des gaz, ce qui lui indiquait que la panne n'était pas évidente. Même si la manœuvre de la remise des gaz n'était pas élégante, elle a été accomplie en toute sécurité.

Il a affirmé que la vitesse était le seul véritable indice de la panne et que le commandant ne l'a pas associée à une panne FADEC.

Le commandant Dorée a demandé pourquoi ce type d'anomalie n'était pas mentionné au manuel de référence alors que le bulletin Land Green la décrit comme un piège éventuel. Il a soutenu que d'autres manœuvres, notamment celles qui servent à l'évitement du sol en cas de cisaillements de vent requièrent des vitesses en-dessous des VAPP. Étant donné qu'il n'y avait aucune procédure claire pour cette manœuvre particulière, comment peut-on connaître les modalités à utiliser?

DISCUSSION

La question en litige sur laquelle je dois me prononcer est de savoir si le 7 mars 1998, le commandant Picard n'a pas réussi à démontrer les normes exigées pour certaines manœuvres du CCP. Le ministre doit prouver selon la prépondérance des probabilités qu'il n'a pas satisfait aux normes.

En ce qui a trait aux normes à satisfaire, le commandant Quickfall a témoigné que la vitesse minimale acceptable pour la manoeuvre était la VAPP. Voler en-dessous de cette vitesse est toujours inacceptable. Selon lui, sa vitesse est descendue en-dessous de cette valeur et le AFloor s'est déclenché.

Le commandant Picard admet que sa vitesse est descendue en-dessous de la VAPP et que le AFloor s'est déclenché. Toutefois, la preuve donnée en son nom soulève le doute sur l'applicabilité des normes dans la situation donnée. Il soulève d'autres facteurs atténuants comme le manque de formation concernant le scénario.

Le commandant Picard a toujours maintenu des normes très élevées avant ce contrôle et il a atteint cette norme de nouveau lors du contrôle subséquent. Le CCP du 7 mars demeure une anomalie, ce qui soulève la question de savoir si l'anomalie résulte de la norme requise ou de la performance.

Les représentants du commandant Picard soulèvent le doute sur l'efficacité de la norme en démontrant qu'en certaines circonstances, la documentation FCOM considère que la vitesse requise peut être en-dessous de la VAPP.

Toutefois, les gestes requis à la pièce D-6, à savoir les avertissements concernant les cisaillements de vent/GPWS sont répertoriés au chapitre du traitement des procédures d'urgence. La référence concernant la réduction de la vitesse au-dessous de la VLS avec prudence lorsqu'un moteur ne fonctionne pas se trouve à la rubrique 3 traitant du contact avec la terre comme facteur à considérer.

Il peut arriver que la vitesse minimale requise pendant ce type de manœuvres soit moindre que la VAPP comme il est proposé à la pièce D-6 mais, si c'est le cas, cela peut s'appliquer uniquement lors du recours aux procédures d'urgence particulières; par ailleurs, cette question n'a pas fait l'objet d'un témoignage direct.

Toutefois, en ce qui a trait à la vitesse minimale de la manœuvre en question, il existe un témoignage direct du commandant Quickfall qui, comme mandataire du ministre, a témoigné que la vitesse minimale ne devait pas descendre en-dessous de la VAPP. Il a déclaré qu'il a remarqué que la vitesse était descendue en-dessous de ce niveau. Le commandant Picard a reconnu ce fait.

Dans ces circonstances, je dois confirmer la décision du ministre en ce qui a trait à la preuve présentée.

Toutefois, le commandant Picard et ses représentants ont soulevé des questions valables et convaincantes sur les normes de formation et de performance subséquentes sur lesquelles on devrait se prononcer. Je ne possède pas les connaissances ou l'expérience pour me prononcer sur ces questions subsidiaires mais c'est le cas des parties qui sont devant moi. Tous les témoins avaient une parfaite connaissance étant donné de longues études et une grande expérience avec l'aéronef et ses systèmes. Les représentants des pilotes, le ministre et la compagnie dont les intérêts sont en jeu devraient collectivement se pencher sur les questions subsidiaires soulevées.

Je remercie les parties pour avoir présenté des questions en litiges complexes d'une façon si compétente et professionnelle.

DÉCISION

Je confirme la décision du ministre d'accorder au commandant Picard une évaluation insatisfaisante pour un contrôle de la compétence du pilote sur le Airbus A320.

Allister Ogilvie
Vice-président
Tribunal de l'aviation civile