Decisions

CAT File No. O-1640-60
MoT File No. 098074

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Harold George Leslie, Applicant

- and -

Minister of Transport, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, S.C., c.A-2, s. 7.1(1)(b)

Quick Reference Handbook, QRH, PPC, Pilot Proficiency Check, Electronic Central Aircraft Monitoring System, Failure, Duty of Pilot, Agreed Statement of Facts, 550 Manual


Review Determination
Philip D. Jardim


Decision: October 4, 1999

That the Minister's decision to issue Captain Leslie an unsatisfactory assessment regarding his Pilot Proficiency Check on May 28th, 1998 be upheld.

A Review Hearing on the above matter was held by teleconference on Tuesday, September 28, 1999. As no witnesses were being called and the only evidence being submitted was the "Agreed Statement of Facts" with attachments, the parties requested that the Hearing be held by teleconference. The hearing was therefore conducted using the "Agreed Statement of Facts" signed and agreed to by both parties in advance of the teleconference. Oral arguments were presented by the two parties in support of their respective positions.

BACKGROUND

Captain Harold Leslie is an Air Canada pilot. On May 28, 1998, he submitted himself to a pilot proficiency check (PPC) in an Airbus A320 flight simulator conducted by Captain David R. Glazier, Company Check Pilot for Air Canada.

Captain Glazier assessed the PPC as a failure, due to the fact that Captain Leslie had used the autopilot in an emergency situation, "Slats jammed for landing" below 500 feet. The Airbus A320 Technical Bulletin # 368 dated January 9, 1997 specifically prohibits the use of the autopilot below 500 feet.

Captain Leslie is appealing this failure of his PPC to the Tribunal.

THE LAW

Paragraph 7.1(1)(b) of the Aeronautics Act states:

7.1 (1) Where the Minister decides

(...)

(b) to suspend or cancel a Canadian aviation document on the grounds that the holder of the document is incompetent or the holder or any aircraft, airport or other facility in respect of which the document was issued ceases to have the qualifications necessary for the issuance of the document or to meet or comply with the conditions subject to which the document was issued, or

(...)

the Minister shall, by personal service or by registered or certified mail sent to the holder or to the owner or operator of the aircraft, airport or facility, as the case may be, at the latest known address of the holder, owner or operator, notify the holder, owner or operator of the Minister's decision.

EVIDENCE AND ORAL ARGUMENTS

AGREED STATEMENT of FACTS

G. Leslie 20.9.99

1. A Pilot Proficiency Checkride (PPC) was conducted in an A320 Airbus simulator on May 28, 1998.

2. The Pilot-in-Command of the checkflight and PPC candidate was Harold George LESLIE, licence # AA 098074.

3. Captain LESLIE was and is employed by Air Canada.

4. The Company Check Pilot was Captain David R. GLAZIER, licence # AA 086623.

5. Captain GLAZIER was monitored by Transport Canada Inspector G.H. SCOTT, licence # AA225451.

6.  The checkride was assessed as a "failure" for the following reasons:

i) An A319/320 Aircraft Technical Bulletin # 368 dated 09 Jan 97 was published by the aircraft manufacturer and this Bulletin prohibited the use of the autopilot below 500 feet above ground level when operating with an abnormal flap/slat configuration. This Bulletin and prohibition was in effect on May 28, 1998.

vi) Captain LESLIE indicated that he remembered the restriction.

ii) Air Canada's Flight Operations Manual (known as the "550 Manual") obligates all Air Canada pilots to review and be thoroughly conversant with all Technical Bulletins before flight.

v) The candidates were informed by the checkpilot that the ride was terminated with a failure.

iii) The checkpilot was using an Air Canada simulator script # D2 and in accordance with the script a "SLAT LOCK" problem was introduced into the cockpit.

iv) The approach was flown and the autopilot was disconnected at 120 feet above ground prior to an uneventful landing.

7. The Air Canada QRH did not contain a reference to Technical Bulletin # 368 at the time of the checkride in question.

8. The Airbus A320 Flight Crew Operation Manual had not yet been amended to make reference to Technical Bulletin # 368 at the time of the checkride.

9. A "SLAT LOCK" problem is an abnormal flap/slat configuration.

10. The checkpilot completed the required 0249 Form – Pilot Check Report and debriefed Captain LESLIE as to the reason for the failure.

A.D. PRATT Harold

for the Minister of Transport

Attached to the "Agreed Statement of Facts" are Exhibits D-1 and D-2, which are extracts from the Airbus A320 Flight Manual/Technical Bulletin, provided by the document holder, Captain Leslie, and agreed to by Mr. Pratt.

Mr. Pratt's argument was simple: The Minister's decision to assess a failure was based on information contained in the Agreed Statement of Facts, inter alia, facts numbered 6i) through vi), above. Captain Leslie accepts that he was aware of the restriction prohibiting use of the autopilot below 500 feet in a "Slats jammed" emergency. Captain Leslie had forgotten this restriction at the time of the check ride. Captain Glazier had no option but to terminate the ride with a failure.

Captain Leslie admitted that he forgot the restriction on May 28, 1998, but contends that the restriction should have been in the Quick Reference Handbook (QRH), and presented on the Electronic Central Aircraft Monitoring (ECAM), which is an electronic presentation of emergency procedures on the flight panel of the A320. It was not, but was subsequently incorporated in the QRH, after his PPC. This is critical information which should be presented to pilots who cannot refer to it in flight libraries during emergencies — time is critical, he contends.

Captain Leslie further admits that Bulletin # 368 does indeed prohibit use of the autopilot below 500 feet above ground level. He says that he had known about it but that it escaped his mind in the "heat of the moment" on the day of his PPC. Air Canada's Flight Operations Manual, (known as the "550 Manual") does require all pilots to review and be thoroughly conversant with all Technical Bulletins before flight. Captain Leslie does acknowledge this.

Captain Leslie contends that if this omission was that critical, and constituted a serious and egregious error, it should have been shown on the ECAM and contained in the QRH. He contends that it is not, and that he was not endangering the aircraft by this omission. The flight proceeded to a normal landing and roll out. There was a 16-month lapse between his PPC and Bulletin # 368, and it had still not been included in the QRH. This only took place some six weeks after his check ride.

Captain Leslie contends that this information should have been available to pilots in the "appropriate place" namely the QRH and the ECAM.

Captain Leslie had been flying the A320 for twelve months prior to his PPC. He does remember the restriction, but it evaded his memory during the failed PPC. He further contends that the limitation should be presented to the pilot on the ECAM. He had never had an actual case of this emergency in an actual aircraft, but he may have experienced it during simulator sessions, and probably during his training on the A320.

Captain Leslie feels that because of the omission of this limitation from readily available media, (the QRH and the ECAM), and because the flight proceeded to an "uneventful" landing, that he should be given the benefit of the doubt.

DETERMINATION

An agreement, such as took place in this case beforehand, is a very powerful document, and one which is difficult to go against, notwithstanding any subsequent arguments. The parties have actually agreed as to what took place. On reviewing the arguments presented to me and the "Agreed Statement of Facts" between the parties, I find as follows:

Pilots are required to be knowledgeable on the critical limitations of their aircraft. Notwithstanding that modern aircraft often do assist pilots in making them aware electronically by ECAMs etc., Airbus Industrie clearly decided that the use of the autopilot in the subject emergency is critical, because it prohibits its use in marginal weather — Category 2 and 3 situations — and it says that: The autopilot is not tuned for abnormal configurations, its behaviour can be less than optimum and must be monitored. (See Exhibit D-1). Captain Leslie should have been critically aware of this limitation, as Captain of the aircraft.

It is evident that pilots of these modern aircraft may have become somewhat expectant that the aircraft systems should alert them to every conceivable limitation and procedure. Notwithstanding that this is often the case, it does not relieve pilots from knowing their aircraft's limitations and observing them. This is why pilots undergo extensive training and familiarisation on these aircraft, before they are allowed to fly them in command. Further, pilot proficiency checks have been instituted to ensure that pilots are current.

Because of this expectation (i.e. that the aircraft's electronic system briefs them in all emergencies), airlines should be aware and cause critical limitations to be appropriately placarded in a timely manner in the shortest possible time after they are issued by the aircraft manufacturer. This should not however remove from pilots their responsibility to know these vital limitations.

In the circumstances, I find that Captain Leslie was justly failed on May 28, 1998. He must accept responsibility for his omission. PPCs are there for a purpose — to ensure that pilots are current and demonstrate their continued ability to operate the aircraft they are licensed to fly safely and competently. The "Agreed Statement of Facts" is clear, and there is no doubt that a lapse occurred during his PPC on May 28, 1998.

The Minister's decision to issue Captain Leslie an unsatisfactory assessment regarding his Pilot Proficiency Check on May 28th, 1998 is upheld.

Philip D Jardim
Member
Civil Aviation Tribunal

Décisions

Dossier no O-1640-60 (TAC)
Dossier no 098074 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Harold George Leslie, requérant(e)

- et -

Ministre des Transports, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, S.C., chap. A-2, al. 7.1(1)b)

QRH, Manuel 550, Moniteur électronique centralisé de bord, Index des procédures, Fonction du pilote, Échec, Exposé conjoint des faits, ECAM, Contrôle compétence pilote, CCP


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Philip D. Jardim


Décision : le 4 octobre 1999

TRADUCTION

La décision du ministre de juger insatisfaisant le contrôle de la compétence du pilote subi par le commandant Leslie en date du 28 mai 1998 est maintenue.

Une audience en révision relativement à l'affaire en rubrique a eu lieu par téléconférence, le mardi 28 septembre 1999. Étant donné qu'aucun témoin n'était appelé à témoigner et que la seule preuve présentée était l'« exposé conjoint des faits » et les annexes, les parties ont demandé que l'audience ait lieu par téléconférence. Le déroulement de l'audience était donc fondé sur l'« exposé conjoint des faits » signé et accepté par les deux parties avant la téléconférence. Les deux parties ont présenté des observations orales pour appuyer leur point de vue respectif.

HISTORIQUE

Le commandant Harold Leslie est pilote chez Air Canada. Le 28 mai 1998, il a subi volontairement un contrôle de la compétence du pilote (CCP) sur le simulateur de vol Airbus A320 sous la direction du commandant David R. Glazier, pilote vérificateur de transporteurs aériens pour Air Canada.

Le commandant Glazier a conclu à l'échec du CCP puisque le commandant Leslie avait utilisé le pilote automatique dans une situation d'urgence à moins de 500 pieds alors que les « becs de sécurité étaient verrouillés pour l'atterrissage ». Le Bulletin technique n° 368 du 9 janvier 1997 qui porte sur le Airbus A320 interdit expressément l'utilisation du pilote automatique à moins de 500 pieds.

Le commandant Leslie en appelle de l'échec du CCP devant le Tribunal.

LA LOI

Le paragraphe 7.1(1) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique prévoit :

7.1 (1) Lorsque le ministre décide ... soit de suspendre ou d'annuler un document [d'aviation canadien] parce que le titulaire du document est inapte ou que le titulaire ou l'aéronef, l'aéroport ou autre installation que vise le document ne répond plus aux conditions de délivrance ou de maintien en étant de validité du document, ... il expédie un avis de la mesure par signification à personne ou par courrier recommandé à la dernière adresse connue du titulaire ou du propriétaire, exploitant ou utilisateur en cause.

LA PREUVE ET LES ARGUMENTS PRÉSENTÉS ORALEMENT

EXPOSÉ CONJOINT des FAITS

1.   Le 28 mai 1998, on a subi un contrôle de la compétence du pilote (CCP) sur un simulateur Airbus A320.

2.   Le commandant de bord du vol de vérification et candidat au CCP était Harold George LESLIE, dont le n° de licence est AA 098074.

3.   Le commandant LESLIE travaillait et travaille toujours pour Air Canada.

4.   Le pilote vérificateur de transporteurs aériens était le commandant David R. GLAZIER, licence n° AA 086623.

5.   Le commandant David R. GLAZIER était sous la surveillance de l'inspecteur G. H. SCOTT, licence n° AA225451, de Transports Canada.

6.   On a évalué que le vol de vérification constituait un « échec » pour les raisons suivantes :

i) Le Bulletin technique d'aéronef A319/320 n° 368 du 9 janvier 1997 publié par le fabricant de l'aéronef. On y interdit d'utiliser le pilote automatique à moins de 500 pieds du sol lorsqu'on pilote avec des volets hypersustentateurs ou des becs de sécurité dont la configuration est anormale. Ce Bulletin ainsi que l'interdiction étaient en vigueur le 28 mai 1998.

ii) Le Manuel d'exploitation d'Air Canada (connu sous l'appellation « Manuel 550 ») oblige tous les pilotes d'Air Canada de consulter et de se familiariser avec tous les bulletins techniques avant de piloter.

iii) Le pilote vérificateur a utilisé le scénario de vol simulé n° D2 d'Air Canada et conformément à celui-ci, il a ajouté un problème de « verrouillage des becs » dans la cabine de pilotage.

iv) On a effectué l'approche et débranché le pilote automatique à 120 pieds au-dessus du sol avant d'atterrir sans incident.

v) Le pilote vérificateur a informé les candidats de l'échec du vol.

vi) Le commandant LESLIE a indiqué qu'il se souvenait de la restriction.

7. Au moment du vol de vérification en question, le QRH d'Air Canada ne contenait aucune référence au Bulletin technique n° 368.

8. Au moment du vol de vérification, on avait pas encore modifié le Manuel d'exploitation de l'Airbus A320 pour y faire mention du contenu du Bulletin technique n° 368.

9. Un problème de « verrouillage de becs » constitue une configuration anormale des volets hypersustentateurs et des becs de sécurité.

10. Le pilote vérificateur a rempli le formulaire requis, soit le 0249, le rapport d'épreuve-pilote et s'est entretenu avec le commandant LESLIE à propos des raisons de l'échec.

A. D. PRATT Harold

pour le ministre des Transports

G. Leslie 20.9.99

Les pièces D-1 et D-2 sont jointes à l'« exposé conjoint des faits »; ce sont des extraits du manuel d'exploitation du Airbus A320 et du Bulletin technique que le titulaire du document, le commandant Leslie, a présenté et que M. Pratt a accepté.

Les observations orales de M. Pratt étaient simples : la décision du ministre de conclure à l'échec reposait sur les informations contenues dans l'« exposé conjoint des faits », entre autres choses, les faits 6i) à vi), ci-dessus. Le commandant Leslie convient qu'il était au courant de la restriction interdisant d'utiliser le pilote automatique à moins de 500 pieds lorsque « les becs de sécurité sont verrouillés » d'urgence. Le commandant Leslie avait oublié cette restriction au moment du vol de vérification. Le commandant Glazier n'avait d'autre choix que de mettre fin au vol et de conclure à l'échec.

Le commandant Leslie a admis qu'il avait oublié la restriction le 28 mai 1998 mais affirme qu'on aurait dû l'inclure dans l'Index des procédures (QRH) et l'indiquer sur le contrôleur électronique des systèmes de l'avion (ECAM) qui constitue une indication électronique des procédures d'urgence sur le tableau de bord du A320. L'indication ne figurait pas au tableau de bord mais on a éventuellement ajouté les données dans le QRH, à la suite de son CCP. Il s'agit, selon lui, d'une information de première nécessité que les pilotes ne peuvent consulter dans la documentation de vol au moment d'une urgence — le temps est crucial, a-t-il ajouté.

Le commandant Leslie a de plus admis que le Bulletin n° 368 interdit effectivement l'utilisation du pilote automatique à moins de 500 pieds au-dessus du sol. Il dit qu'il le savait mais que le jour de son CCP, il l'a oublié dans le « feu de l'action ». Le Manuel d'exploitation d'Air Canada (connu sous l'appellation de « Manuel 550 ») exige que tous les pilotes consultent et se familiarisent avec tous les bulletins techniques avant de piloter. Le commandant Leslie reconnaît cela.

Le commandant Leslie affirme que si cette omission était si grave et constituait une erreur flagrante et sérieuse, on aurait dû l'indiquer sur le ECAM et dans le QRH. Puisque selon lui ce n'est pas le cas, son omission ne mettait pas l'aéronef en danger. Le vol a effectué un atterrissage et un redressement normal. Il s'est écoulé un délai de 16 mois entre son CCP et le Bulletin n° 368 et les informations ne figuraient toujours pas dans le QRH; elles y seront environ six semaines après son vol de vérification.

Le commandant Leslie affirme que cette information aurait dû être communiquée aux pilotes aux « endroits appropriés », notamment dans le QRH et sur le ECAM.

Le commandant Leslie avait piloté un A320 pendant douze mois avant son CCP. Il se souvient de la restriction mais il l'avait oubliée au moment du CCP qu'il a échoué. Il a affirmé par la suite que cette restriction devrait être communiquée aux pilotes sur le ECAM. Il n'a jamais eu d'urgence de ce type dans un aéronef réel mais il a pu l'expérimenter au cours des sessions de simulation et sans doute au cours de sa formation sur le A320.

Le commandant Leslie considère qu'étant donné l'omission de cette restriction dans les documents disponibles (le QRH et le ECAM) et en raison du fait que le vol et l'atterrissage se sont déroulés « sans incident », on devrait lui laisser le bénéfice du doute.

DÉCISION

Une entente, du type de celle qui a eu cours dans le cas en l'espèce, constitue un document qui a beaucoup de poids et il est difficile de s'y opposer, indépendamment des observations qui ont suivi. Les parties ont effectivement consenti à ce déroulement. En passant en revue les arguments présentés et l'« exposé conjoint des faits » des parties, je conclue ce qui suit :

On exige que les pilotes connaissent les restrictions importantes concernant leur aéronef. Bien que dans les aéronefs modernes, les pilotes soient souvent assistés par les informations électroniques des ECAM etc., Airbus Industrie a clairement décidé que l'utilisation du pilote automatique dans des situations d'urgence est grave, que son usage est interdit lors de mauvaises conditions atmosphériques — soit des situations de catégorie 2 et 3 — et précise que : Le pilote automatique n'est pas réglé pour des configurations anormales; il risque d'être alors moins efficace et on doit l'utiliser sous surveillance (voir pièce D-1). À titre de commandant de l'aéronef, le commandant Leslie aurait dû être en mesure d'évaluer cette restriction.

Il est évident que les pilotes de ces aéronefs modernes comptent en quelque sorte sur les systèmes d'aéronef pour les avertir de toutes restrictions et procédures imaginables. Bien que ce soit souvent le cas, cette situation n'exonère pas les pilotes de connaître et d'observer les restrictions de leur aéronef. Voilà pourquoi les pilotes sont soumis à des formations et à des adaptations élaborées avant d'être autorisés à commander à bord. De plus, on a mis sur pied les contrôles de la compétence du pilote pour s'assurer que les pilotes sont à jour.

En raison de cette attente (c.-à-d. que le système électronique de l'aéronef les informe de toutes urgences), les lignes aériennes devraient être informées et prendre en considération les restrictions sérieuses qui doivent être placardées en temps utile et dans les meilleurs délais après que le fabricant d'aéronef les ait publiées. Cela n'exonère pas les pilotes de leur responsabilité de connaître ces restrictions vitales.

Dans les circonstances, je considère que l'échec du commandant Leslie en date du 28 mai 1998 était justifié. Il doit assumer la responsabilité de son omission. Les CCP servent à — s'assurer que les pilotes sont à jour et démontrent une habilité constante à piloter l'aéronef pour lequel ils ont une autorisation de voler en toute sécurité et de façon compétente. L'« exposé conjoint des faits » est clair et il n'y a aucun doute qu'un écart s'est produit au cours de son CCP du 28 mai 1998.

La décision du ministre de juger insatisfaisant le contrôle de la compétence du pilote commandant Leslie en date du 28 mai 1998 est maintenue.

Philip D. Jardim
Conseiller
Tribunal de l'aviation civile