Decisions

CAT File No. O-1914-33
MoT File No. PAP5504-P-730494-032825

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Minister of Transport, Applicant

- and -

Alain Tremblay, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96-433, ss. 401.03(1)(b), 601.08(1)
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, c. A-2, art. 7.7, 7.9(3)(b)
Official Languages Act, R.S., 1985, c. 31 (4th Supp.), ss. 15, 18

Questioning of witness, Official language, Language of witness, Flight in Class C airspace without clearance, Invalid medical certificate, Conflict


Review Determination
Pierre Beaudry


Decision: April 11, 2000

TRANSLATION

The Tribunal concluded that the Respondent did contravene paragraph 401.03(1)(b) and subsection 601.08(1) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations and confirmed the penalties of $1,000 and $100 respectively for a total of $1,100. This amount is payable to the Receiver General for Canada and is to be received by the Civil Aviation Tribunal within 15 days following service of this determination.

A Review Hearing on the above matter was held Tuesday, March 7, 2000 at 10:00 hours at the Standard Life Building in Ottawa, Ontario.

SUMMARY OF THE FACTS UNDER REVIEW

Mr. Alain Tremblay, flying a single engine Lake, model LA-4-200, registered C-FBPQ, departing from Gatineau to the southern United States, crossed the airspace of Macdonald-Cartier International Airport at Ottawa on December 18, 1998 without clearance or even prior communication with the control tower in Ottawa. Communication was finally established when the aircraft was leaving the airspace at its southern tip, continuing its flight to the United States. This flight conflicted with two aircraft in the airspace. These incidents were covered in an internal NAV CANADA report which triggered an investigation by Transport Canada. The investigation process led Transport Canada to realize that Mr. Tremblay did not have a valid medical certificate at the time of his return flight on January 26, 1999. Mr. Tremblay was consequently given notice of two contraventions. The first was in the amount of $1,000 for having acted as a flight crew member without a valid medical certificate. The second was for $100 for flying in Class C airspace without prior clearance from the air traffic control unit. Respondent Tremblay did not pay the said penalties which led to a review hearing under section 7.9 of the Aeronautics Act.

THE HEARING

Respondent Tremblay did not appear at the hearing and the Tribunal proceeded ex parte in accordance with subsection 7.9(2) of the Act.

In order to complete his evidence, the Minister had earlier asked that the Tribunal go to the Ottawa air traffic control unit to view the radar route of the C-FBPQ flight. This data had been stored at NAV CANADA. The Tribunal did go to view the radar data as planned. The Minister concluded his evidence at the end of this last testimony.

During the testimony of his first witness, the Minister introduced a motion regarding the use of the other official language for the examination. The mother tongue of the Minister's first witness was English while the hearing was conducted in French, the language of the document holder-respondent. Although simultaneous interpretation services were available, the Minister asked the Tribunal if the witness could be examined by the "presenter" in English. The Tribunal dismissed the motion.

To support his motion, the Minister submitted that the interpretation might not accurately convey all of the finer points of the issues given the technical aspect of the testimony. From the law point of view, the Minister submitted that section 18 of the Official Languages Act (OLA) does not require the presenter to examine in the specific language of the hearing, but in this case, could rightly opt for the language of the witness. The Minister cited the Lavigne v. Canada[1] judgment in which Mr. Justice Noël discussed the interpretation and consequences of section 18 at length and concluded that said section does not impose a linguistic obligation beyond the specifications contained in the section.

Section 18 of the OLA reads as follows:

18. Where Her Majesty in right of Canada or a federal institution is a party to civil proceedings before a federal court,

(a) Her Majesty or the institution concerned shall use, in any oral or written pleadings in the proceedings, the official language chosen by the other parties unless it is established by Her Majesty or the institution that reasonable notice of the language chosen has not been given; and

(b) if the other parties fail to choose or agree on the official language to be used in those pleadings, Her Majesty or the institution concerned shall use such official language as is reasonable, having regard to the circumstances.

To support his determination, Noël J. also cited subsection 15(1) and reviewed the facts in light of the principles of natural justice that ensure the right to an impartial hearing.

Subsection 15(1) of the OLA reads as follows:

15. (1) Every federal court has, in any proceedings before it, the duty to ensure that any person giving evidence before it may be heard in the official language of his choice, and that in being so heard the person will not be placed at a disadvantage by not being heard in the other official language.

In the Lavigne case, the issue was whether one party could insist on having the translation of some affidavits submitted as evidence by the other party, in this case, Her Majesty. Noël J. concluded that the various elements of evidence such as an affidavit, do not form an integral part of "oral or written pleadings in the proceedings" as defined in section 18. Consequently, "evidence does not come within the ambit of that term"[2] so there is no requirement to produce an element of evidence in the other language.

Essentially, Noël J. interpreted the OLA as associating the linguistic rights and obligations with the person who produces the substance of the evidence rather than the person that receives it. Subsection 15(1) was cited inter alia to support this conclusion.

So, concerning this hearing, there is no doubt that on one hand, nobody could force the Minister's witness to provide testimony in a language other than that of his choice. On the other hand, nobody could require a formal translation of an element of evidence as testimony, based on section 18.

For the Tribunal, the issue was whether or not the language of examination necessarily and by right of law had to be the language of the witness. The fact of confirming that section 18 does not impose a linguistic obligation on the Minister regarding the evidence does not settle the question. Here, the Minister was attempting to read into the combined elements of section 18 and the Lavigne judgment something that was not stated. Section 18 covers requirements for pleadings in the proceedings, but does not mention anything else and does not specify any other rights or obligations. This is also the case in subsection 15(1) where the rights of the witness are clearly recognized but the language of the examiner is not specified.

Therefore, this type of issue, in the absence of clear rights and obligations, must be resolved by interpreting other principles of the applicable law. During the hearing, guided by the rules of natural justice, the Tribunal took the position that the balance of convenience was the best guide for judging the situation. In this case, the specific circumstances could be compared as follows: on one hand, Respondent Tremblay is Francophone and the hearing was consequently conducted in French; furthermore, the hearing was being conducted ex parte since the Respondent was absent. The stenographer's notes are naturally in the language of the person speaking rather than in the language of the interpreter and, consequently, would not have to be translated formally. The Respondent has a direct interest in having most of the hearing conducted in French, particularly if he wants to exercise his right to appeal. On the other hand, the Minister and his English-speaking witness could take advantage of the interpretation services available. Furthermore, there were no specific form or time restrictions to limit the Minister's examination. The Minister could have monitored the interpretation, exercised quality control at will and asked his questions again to ensure he reached his objectives within the limitations of the applicable law.

If section 18 gave the Respondent the right to demand a formal translation of the testimony, the situation could be viewed from another angle. In this perspective, section 18 opposes the Minister's submissions.

The Tribunal found that the balance of convenience was clearly in the Respondent's favour. The motion was therefore dismissed.

THE EVIDENCE AND THE LAW

The Minister's evidence was essentially supported by the testimony of two inspectors from Transport Canada and the air traffic controller, an employee of NAV CANADA, who was on duty during the events. This testimony was supported by audio tapes of the air communications and the radar route of the flight stored electronically. Finally, various medical reports and files were submitted regarding the absence of a valid medical certificate at the time of the flight in question.

The Minister's burden of proof is based on a preponderance of the evidence or balance of probabilities. This burden was fully satisfied for the two contraventions. The evidence showed that on January 26, 1999, the Respondent assumed the functions of a flight crew member and pilot-in-command without a valid medical certificate and passed through class C airspace in Ottawa without prior communication or clearance on December 18, 1998. The Respondent had not experienced a radio failure such that the "NORDO" procedure would apply. The Minister's notice was issued on September 28, 1999 which was within the specified time limit.

Finally, the evidence indicated that the procedure followed by the Minister resulting in the issuance of the notice of penalty was fair and reasonable.

SANCTION

Regarding the absence of a medical certificate, the Minister assessed a penalty of $1,000 in accordance with the guide used at Transport Canada. For this type of offence, the guide recommends a sanction of $1,000 for a first offence, while the absolute regulatory maximum is $5,000. During the investigation, Mr. Tremblay indicated that he never received a notice informing him that his medical certificate was due for renewal and also put forward the excuse that his responsibilities in business had kept him very busy (Exhibit M-13). Such responses do not constitute a defence. The requirement for holding a valid licence is based on strict law and the Tribunal informed Mr. Tremblay that countries that signed applicable multilateral agreements rely reciprocally on each of the relevant signatories to ensure the regulatory standards of the originating country are applied and respected. In short, Respondent Tremblay was required to renew his medical certificate before his departure for the "south".

Regarding the second count, the flight in class C airspace without prior clearance, the Minister acted in the same manner by assessing a penalty of $100 as recommended in the guide for a first offence.

In this case, the Tribunal had much more difficulty in principle with the Minister's position given the serious nature of the events. Respondent Tremblay acted with disconcerting imprudence, indicative of a pilot-in-command who is ignorant or completely unconcerned. Whether it is one or the other or a combination of the two, the allegations shocked the Tribunal because no more dangerous situation exists in a VFR context. The facts were disturbing: a flight in class "D" airspace without communication (even though the Minister decided not to assess a penalty for such count), a flight in class "C" airspace without prior clearance, a flight four miles from the airport passing over the Ottawa radio beacon thereby cutting through the final approach leg for runway 25 at 2,500 feet which is 300 feet over the IFR approach altitude, cutting an aeroplane while the radar targets merged on the screen, then cutting a second aircraft on the far left final approach to runway 32 while the minimum IFR radar altitude was at 2,200 feet south of Ottawa, an inactivated transponder prior to leaving the airspace to the south and finally, making radio contact only at the very end when leaving the airspace.

Exhibits M-13 and M-14 indicate that the Respondent knew the region well but, according to his deposition, his GPS equipment was potentially not functioning and he believed he was at the edge of class "C" airspace. The weather was favourable, such that none of the evidence pointed to the possibility of a defence of necessity or due diligence. In fact, the Respondent and the aviation system were both lucky. The favourable weather, and particularly the low density of traffic, allowed the controllers involved to take the necessary measures to protect the Respondent-offender and the immediate traffic.

In this case, we are not talking about a partial and circumstantial intrusion at the edge of the airspace, but a flight directly over the Ottawa radio beacon at the IFR altitude without prior communication, the whole preceded by a flight in class "D" airspace without verbal or electronic communication. The facts in this case indicated a dangerous situation created by a pilot who should seriously review his airmanship and knowledge regarding applicable procedures.

When questioned by the Tribunal about the level of the penalty in the notice, inspector Elliott submitted that she did not see any reasons for a penalty higher than the minimum in the guide. Even if this was a first offence combined with the Respondent's cooperation during the investigation, the inherent risk to safety was high. Witness Elliott emphasized that the weather was favourable and that there were no critical manoeuvres since the converging aircraft saw each other (thanks to the controllers on duty). This reasoning is far from convincing since the level of the penalty should not, in the opinion of the Tribunal, be based on real damage to persons and property nor based on probability. The Tribunal would prefer a level of penalty that considers the whole context and that could actively contribute to accident prevention which is the objective of the system as a whole. Nevertheless, in an ex parte hearing, the wording of paragraph 7.9(3)(b) does not allow the Tribunal to modify the penalty indicated in the notice. The penalty of $100 could therefore not be raised.

CONCLUSION

The Tribunal concludes that the Respondent did contravene paragraph 401.03(1)(b) and subsection 601.08(1) of the CARs and confirms the penalties of $1,000 and $100 respectively for a total of $1,100.

Pierre Beaudry
Member
Civil Aviation Tribunal


[1] [1995] F.C.J. No. 737.

[2] See paragraphs 7 and 8 of the decision.

Décisions

Dossier no O-1914-33 (TAC)
Dossier no PAP5504-P-730494-032825 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Ministre des Transports, requérant(e)

- et -

Alain Tremblay, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, c. A-2, art. art. 7.7, 7.9(3)b)
Loi sur les langues officielles, L.R.C. 1985, ch. 31 (4e suppl.), art. 15, 18
Règlement de l'aviation canadien, DORS/96-433, al. 401.03(1)b), par. 601.08(1)

Vol sans autorisation dans l'espace aérien de classe C, Langue officielle, Langue du témoin, Interrogatoire du témoin, Certificat médical invalide, Conflit


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Pierre Beaudry


Décision : le 11 avril 2000

Le Tribunal conclut que l'intimé a effectivement contrevenu à l'alinéa 401.03(1)b) et au paragraphe 601.08(1) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien et confirme les amendes de 1 000 $ et 100 $ respectivement pour un total de 1 100 $. Ce montant est payable au receveur général du Canada et doit parvenir au Tribunal de l'aviation civile dans les 15 jours suivant la signification de la présente décision.

Une audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le mardi 7 mars 2000 à 10 heures, à l'édifice Standard Life, à Ottawa (Ontario).

SOMMAIRE DES FAITS EN RÉVISION

M. Alain Tremblay, aux commandes d'un monomoteur Lake, modèle LA-4-200, immatriculé C-FBPQ, en partance de Gatineau pour le sud des États-Unis, a traversé l'espace aérien de l'Aéroport international Macdonald-Cartier à Ottawa le 18 décembre 1998 sans autorisation ou même communication préalable avec la tour de contrôle d'Ottawa. Une communication a finalement été établie alors que l'aéronef quittait l'espace aérien en son extrémité sud poursuivant son vol en direction des États-Unis. Ce vol est entré en conflit avec deux aéronefs à l'intérieur de l'espace aérien. Ces incidents ont fait l'objet d'un rapport interne au sein de NAV CANADA, ce qui a déclenché une enquête par Transports Canada. Le processus d'enquête a amené Transports Canada à réaliser que M. Tremblay n'avait pas un certificat médical valide au moment de son vol de retour effectué le 26 janvier 1999. En conséquence, deux contraventions ont été émises contre M. Tremblay, soit une première au montant de 1 000 $ pour avoir agi en qualité de membre d'équipage de conduite sans certificat médical valide, et une deuxième de 100 $ pour vol à l'intérieur de l'espace aérien de classe C sans autorisation préalable de l'unité de contrôle de la circulation aérienne. L'intimé Tremblay n'a pas payé lesdites amendes ce qui a conduit à une audience en révision au terme de l'article 7.9 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique.

L'AUDIENCE

L'intimé Tremblay ne s'est pas présenté à l'audience de sorte que le Tribunal a procédé ex parte conformément au paragraphe 7.9(2) de la Loi.

Afin de compléter sa preuve, le ministre avait préalablement demandé à ce que le Tribunal se déplace à l'unité de contrôle de la circulation aérienne d'Ottawa afin de visionner le parcours radar du vol de C-FBPQ, données conservées en mémoire chez NAV CANADA. Effectivement, le Tribunal s'est déplacé tel que prévu pour visionner les données radar. Le ministre a terminé sa preuve au terme de ce dernier témoignage.

Lors du témoignage de son premier témoin, le ministre a déposé une requête concernant l'utilisation de l'autre langue officielle pour l'interrogatoire. Le premier témoin du ministre était de langue maternelle anglaise alors que la langue de l'audience en était le français, soit la langue du titulaire-intimé. Les services de traduction simultanée étaient sur place mais le ministre a tout de même demandé au Tribunal à ce que le témoin puisse être interrogé par le « présentateur » en anglais, requête que le Tribunal a rejeté.

Au soutien de sa requête, le ministre a fait valoir que la traduction pourrait ne pas fidèlement véhiculer toutes les subtilités des questions compte tenu de l'aspect technique du témoignage. Au plan du droit, le ministre a soutenu que l'article 18 de la Loi sur les langues officielles (LLO) n'avait pas pour effet d'obliger le présentateur à interroger dans la langue particulière à une audience mais en l'espèce, à pouvoir opter de plein droit à la langue du témoin. Le ministre a cité l'arrêt Lavigne c. Canada[1] dans lequel Monsieur le Juge Noël discute longuement de l'interprétation et des conséquences de l'article 18 et conclut à l'effet que ledit article n'a pas pour effet d'imposer une obligation linguistique allant au-delà des spécifications contenues à même l'article.

L'article 18 de la LLO se lit comme suit :

18. Dans une affaire civile à laquelle elle est partie devant un tribunal fédéral, Sa Majesté du chef du Canada ou une institution fédérale utilise, pour les plaidoiries ou les actes de la procédure, la langue officielle choisie par les autres parties à moins qu'elle n'établisse le caractère abusif du délai de l'avis l'informant de ce choix. Faute de choix ou d'accord entre les autres parties, elle utilise la langue officielle la plus justifiée dans les circonstances.

Au soutien de sa décision, le juge Noël cite également le paragraphe 15(1) et effectue une revue des faits à la lumière des principes de la justice naturelle donnant droit à une audience impartiale.

Le paragraphe 15(1) de la LLO se lit comme suit :

15. (1) Il incombe aux tribunaux fédéraux de veiller à ce que tout témoin qui comparaît devant eux puisse être entendu dans la langue officielle de son choix sans subir de préjudice du fait qu'il ne s'exprime pas dans l'autre langue officielle.

Dans cette affaire Lavigne, la question était de savoir si l'une partie pouvait exiger la traduction de certains affidavits déposés en preuve par l'autre partie, en l'occurrence Sa Majesté. Le juge Noël en a conclu que les divers éléments de preuve tel un affidavit, ne font pas partie intégrante de l'expression « les plaidoiries ou les actes de la procédure » contenue à l'article 18. En conséquence, le mot « plaidoirie ne couvre pas la preuve »[2] de sorte qu'il n'y a pas d'obligation de produire un élément de preuve dans l'autre langue.

Essentiellement, le juge Noël interprète la LLO comme reliant les droits et obligations linguistiques à la personne qui produit la substance de la preuve et non celle qui la reçoit. Le paragraphe 15(1) est cité inter alia au soutien de cette conclusion.

Ainsi par rapport à la présente audience, il ne fait aucun doute que d'une part, personne ne pourrait obliger le témoin du ministre à témoigner dans une langue autre que la langue de son choix; et que d'autre part, personne ne pourrait obliger de par l'article 18, à formellement traduire un élément de preuve comme un témoignage.

Quant au Tribunal, la question est de savoir si la langue de l'interrogatoire suit nécessairement et de plein droit la langue du témoin. Or, le fait d'affirmer que l'article 18 n'impose aucune obligation linguistique au ministre quant au domaine de la preuve n'a pas pour effet de vider la question. Ici, le ministre tente de faire dire aux éléments conjugués de l'article 18 et de l'arrêt Lavigne ce qui n'est pas dit. L'article 18 couvre les obligations en matière de plaidoiries et actes de la procédure mais demeure silencieux quant au reste ne prescrivant aucun autre droit ou obligation. De même au paragraphe 15(1) où les droits du témoin sont explicitement reconnus sans pour autant que la langue de l'interrogeant ne soit spécifiée.

Ainsi une telle question, en l'absence de droits et obligations explicites, doit trouver sa résolution à partir des autres principes du droit applicable. Guidé par les règles de la justice naturelle, le Tribunal a pris la position lors de l'audience que la balance des inconvénients constituait le meilleur guide pour juger de la situation. En l'espèce, les situations particulières peuvent se comparer comme suit : D'une part quant à l'intimé Tremblay, celui-ci est francophone et l'audience en conséquence est une audience francophone; de plus, l'audience se tient ex parte puisque l'intimé est absent. Or, les notes sténographiques sont nécessairement dans la langue de la personne qui parle et non dans la langue du traducteur, et en conséquence, ne sauraient être traduites sur une base formelle. Ainsi, l'intimé, particulièrement s'il devait exercer son droit d'appel, a un intérêt direct à ce que le maximum de l'audience soit réalisé en français. D'autre part, le ministre et son témoin de langue anglaise bénéficient sur les lieux des services de traduction. De plus, aucune restriction particulière de forme ou de temps ne vient contraindre le ministre quant à son interrogatoire; le ministre peut suivre la traduction, exercer un contrôle de qualité à sa guise et reposer ses questions de manière à atteindre ses objectifs dans les limites du droit applicable.

Si l'article 18 donnait un droit à l'intimé d'exiger une traduction formelle du témoignage, la situation pourrait être vue sous un autre angle. Ainsi, dans cette perspective, l'article 18 vient en fait jouer à l'encontre des prétentions du ministre.

Il est apparu au Tribunal que la balance des inconvénients jouait nettement en faveur de l'intimé. La requête a donc été rejetée.

LA PREUVE ET LE DROIT

Essentiellement, la preuve du ministre s'est appuyée sur le témoignage de deux inspecteurs de Transports Canada et du contrôleur de la circulation aérienne, employée de NAV CANADA, qui était en poste lors des événements. Ces témoignages sont complétés par les bandes sonores des communications aériennes de même que par le parcours radar du vol conservé en mémoire électronique. Enfin, divers rapports et dossiers médicaux ont été déposés quant à l'absence de certificat médical valide au moment du vol en cause.

Le fardeau de preuve du ministre en est un de prépondérance de la preuve ou balance des probabilités. Ce fardeau a été amplement assumé quant aux deux contraventions. L'ensemble de la preuve est concordant à l'effet que le 26 janvier 1999, l'intimé a effectivement assumé la fonction de membre d'équipage de conduite et commandant de bord sans certificat médical valide et traversé l'espace aérien de classe C d'Ottawa sans communication ni autorisation préalable le 18 décembre 1998. L'intimé n'était pas en situation de panne de radio de sorte que la procédure « NORDO » n'est pas en cause. L'avis du ministre a été émis le 28 septembre 1999 soit à l'intérieur des délais prescrits.

Enfin, l'ensemble de la preuve indique que le processus suivi par le ministre et qui a abouti à l'émission de l'avis d'amende, a été juste et raisonnable.

LA SANCTION

Au titre de l'absence de certificat médical, le ministre a imposé une amende de 1 000 $ suivant ainsi le guide utilisé au sein de Transports Canada. Pour ce type d'infraction, le guide recommande un niveau d'amende de 1 000 $ pour une première infraction alors que le plafond réglementaire absolu se situe à 5 000 $. Lors de l'enquête, M. Tremblay a indiqué qu'il n'avait pas reçu d'avis de renouvellement de son certificat médical et prétexté également que ses activités d'affaires l'avait gardé fort occupé (pièce M-13). De tels éléments de réponse ne constituent aucune défense. L'obligation de détenir une licence valide est de droit strict et le Tribunal se permet d'indiquer à M. Tremblay que les pays signataires des conventions multilatérales applicables se fient réciproquement à chacun des signataires pertinents pour l'application et le respect des normes réglementaires dans le pays d'origine. En somme, l'intimé Tremblay avait l'obligation de renouveler son certificat médical avant son départ pour le « sud ».

Au titre du deuxième chef, soit le vol à l'intérieur de l'espace aérien de classe C sans autorisation préalable, le ministre a agi de la même manière, à savoir l'imposition d'un niveau d'amende de 100 $ tel que recommandé par le guide pour une première contravention.

À la face du dossier, le Tribunal a beaucoup plus de difficulté de principe avec la position du ministre compte tenu du sérieux des événements. L'intimé Tremblay a agi avec une imprudence déconcertante, indicatif d'un commandant ou bien ignorant, ou bien totalement insouciant : Que ce soit l'un ou l'autre ou une combinaison des deux, les faits reprochés choquent le Tribunal car on ne peut trouver situation plus dangereuse en contexte VFR. Les faits sont troublants : un vol à l'intérieur de l'espace aérien de classe « D » sans communication (bien que le ministre ait opté pour ne pas imposer d'amende sous ce chef), un vol à l'intérieur de l'espace aérien de classe « C » sans autorisation préalable, un vol à quatre milles de l'aéroport passant au-dessus du radiophare d'Ottawa coupant ainsi l'étape finale de la piste 25 et ce à 2 500 pieds, soit 300 pieds au-dessus de l'altitude d'approche IFR, coupant un avion alors que les cibles radar se sont même fusionnées à l'écran, poursuivant en coupant un deuxième aéronef en étape gauche éloignée pour la piste 32 alors que l'altitude minimum radar IFR se situe à 2 200 pieds au sud d'Ottawa, un répondeur non activé avant la sortie de l'espace aérien au sud et enfin, l'établissement du contact radio qu'à la toute fin de la sortie de l'espace aérien.

Les pièces M-13 et M-14 indiquent que l'intimé connaît bien la région mais que, suivant sa déposition, son équipement GPS était possiblement périmé de sorte qu'il se croyait en bordure de l'espace aérien de classe « C ». La météo était favorable de sorte qu'aucun fait en preuve ne permet d'inférer une possibilité de défense de nécessité ou de diligence raisonnable. En vérité, l'intimé et le système aérien dans son ensemble ont été chanceux. La météo favorable mais surtout la faible densité de la circulation a permis aux contrôleurs impliqués de prendre les mesures nécessaires pour protéger l'intimé-délinquant et sa circulation immédiate.

En l'espèce donc, on ne parle pas ici d'une intrusion partielle et circonstanciée à la limite de l'espace mais bien d'un vol réalisé carrément au-dessus du radiophare d'Ottawa à l'altitude IFR sans communication préalable, le tout précédé d'un vol dans l'espace aérien de classe « D » sans communication orale ou électronique. Les faits au dossier sont indicatifs d'une situation dangereuse réalisée par un pilote qui devra sérieusement revoir son « airmanship » et ses connaissances quant aux procédures applicables.

Questionnée par le Tribunal quant au niveau d'amende contenu à l'avis, l'inspecteur Elliott a soumis qu'elle ne voyait pas de raisons pour une amende supérieure au plancher du guide. Or, s'il est exact qu'il s'agisse d'une première contravention conjuguée à la coopération de l'intimé lors de l'enquête, le risque inhérent à la sécurité était élevé. Le témoin Elliott soulignant que la météo était favorable, a fait valoir qu'il n'y avait pas eu de manoeuvres critiques du fait que les aéronefs convergents s'étaient vus l'un l'autre (et ce grâce aux contrôleurs en poste). Ce raisonnement est loin d'être convaincant car le niveau d'amende ne saurait être, de l'avis du Tribunal, fonction du dommage réel aux personnes et à la propriété ou de sa probabilité. Le Tribunal préférerait opter pour un niveau d'amende qui tienne compte de l'ensemble du contexte et susceptible de contribuer activement à la prévention des accidents, mission du système dans son ensemble. Néanmoins, dans une audience ex parte, la lettre de l'alinéa 7.9(3)b) ne permet pas au Tribunal de modifier l'amende indiquée à l'avis. L'amende de 100 $ ne peut donc être modifiée à la hausse.

CONCLUSION

Le Tribunal conclut que l'intimé a effectivement contrevenu à l'alinéa 401.03(1)b) et au paragraphe 601.08(1) du RAC et confirme les amendes de 1 000 $ et 100 $ respectivement pour un total de 1 100 $.

Pierre Beaudry
Conseiller
Tribunal de l'aviation civile


[1] [1995] A.C.F. n° 737.

[2] Voir les paragraphes 7 et 8 de la décision.