Decisions

CAT File No. O-1944-33
MoT File No. PAP 5504-744326-033636

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Minister of Transport, Applicant

- and -

Patrick William Burnside, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. A-2, s. 7.7
Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96-433, s. 401.03(1)(b)

Valid medical certificate


Review Determination
Philip D. Jardim


Decision: April 13, 2000

I have determined that Patrick William Burnside did have a valid medical certificate for his private pilot licence No. 744326 on April 4, 1999. Therefore, no offence took place, and the fine of $1,000 is hereby quashed.

A Review Hearing on the above matter was held Tuesday, April 11, 2000 at 10:00 hours at North Bay, Ontario.

BACKGROUND

On April 4, 1999, Patrick Burnside flew his Wagaero Cuby aircraft, registered C-GAUO from Lake Nabonsing, Ontario. The aircraft suffered engine failure during the flight, and in the ensuing forced landing, struck trees. Mr. Burnside was fortunate to escape from the wreck without injury; however, the aircraft was subsequently destroyed by fire (see Exhibits M-1 and M-2).

Transport Canada and the Transportation Safety Board investigated the accident, and the Aviation Enforcement branch of Transport Canada wrote Mr. Burnside on September 14, 1999 alleging that at the time of the accident, his medical certificate was not in force, contrary to paragraph 401.03(1)(b) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs). Mr. Burnside did not respond to the letter, and on November 18, 1999 a Notice of Assessment of Monetary Penalty was issued in an amount of $1,000, under section 7.7 of the Aeronautics Act (Exhibit M-5).

Mr. Burnside did not pay the fine, hence Transport Canada applied to the Tribunal for this hearing.

THE LAW

Section 7.7 of the Aeronautics Act states:

7.7 (1) Where the Minister believes on reasonable grounds that a person has contravened a designated provision, the Minister shall notify the person of the allegations against the person in such form as the Governor in Council may by regulation prescribe, specifying in the notice, in addition to any other information that may be so prescribed,

(a) subject to any regulations made under paragraph 7.6(1)(b), the amount that is determined by the Minister, in accordance with such guidelines as the Minister may make for the purpose, to be the amount that must be paid to the Minister by the person as the penalty for the contravention in the event that the person does not wish to appear before a member of the Tribunal to make representations in respect of the allegations; and

(b) the time, being not less than thirty days after the date the notice is served or sent, at or before which and the place at which the amount is required to be paid in the event referred to in paragraph (a).

(2) A notice under subsection (1) shall be served personally or by ordinary mail sent to the latest known address of the person to whom the notice relates.

Paragraph 401.03(1)(b) of the CARs states:

401.03 (1) No person shall act as a flight crew member or exercise the privileges of a flight crew permit, licence or rating unless

(a) subject to subsection (2) and sections 401.19 to 401.27, the person is the holder of, and can produce while so acting and while exercising such privileges, the appropriate permit, licence or rating; and

(b) the person is the holder of, and can produce while so acting and while exercising such privileges, a valid and appropriate medical certificate.

EVIDENCE AND ORAL ARGUMENTS

Transport Canada, represented by Mr. David Bland, gave sworn evidence, supported by six exhibits, that Mr. Burnside was the pilot-in-command of C-GAUO on April 4, 1999, and that his medical certificate was not in force, according to Transport Canada's records. This evidence included a certificate from the Secretary of the Department of Transport (Exhibit M-6), stating that Mr. Burnside's medical certificate was valid up to October 1, 1998. Further, that between October 1, 1998 and April 30, 1999, no medical certificate was issued to Mr. Burnside. Hence, an infraction of the CARs had taken place. Mr. Bland rested his case.

Mr. Sangster, representing Mr. Burnside, produced three exhibits in support of his client's response to Transport Canada's allegations:

Exhibit D-7 Mr. Burnside's Civil Aviation Medical Examination Report, dated "96-09-03." This report required Mr. Burnside to undergo a further colour blindness test (Farnsworth D-15). This test was completed on November 15, 1996.

Exhibit D-8 A copy of Mr. Burnside's Farnsworth colour test, stating that he had passed it on November 15, 1996. This was sent at that time to Transport Canada, and the certificate tendered as D-8 is dated March 30, 2000.

Exhibit D-9 A copy of a Transport Canada medical certificate, issued to Patrick William Burnside, No. 744326. This certificate is a copy of the original which was destroyed in the aircraft fire on April 4, 1999. This certificate is clearly dated "1997-10-22," and validates licence P744326 to "1999-10-01." The date of the medical examination on this certificate is given as "1997-09-03."

Mr. Burnside took the stand and was duly sworn. He stated that the original of Exhibit D-9—his medical certificate —was destroyed in the aircraft fire. This photocopy had been made by his wife, and was transmitted by facsimile to his insurance company. He testified that his wife made and kept copies of his documents, and that this was a true copy of the certificate destroyed with the aircraft.

Mr. Sangster remarked that paragraph two of Exhibit M-6, the certificate from the Secretary of the Department of Transport, does NOT include any reference to 1997. It seemed to him that someone in the Ministry keyed in 1997 instead of 1996, and issued Mr. Burnside's medical certificate, dated 1997-10-22, valid to 1999-10-01. Mr. Burnside did therefore have a valid medical certificate on April 4, 1999. The fact that the date of the Medical Examination Report is "96-09-03" was of little or no consequence to his client. Mr. Burnside acted properly in assuming that the medical certificate issued to him properly validated his licence.

I enquired of Mr. Bland whether Transport Canada had a record of this medical certificate, dated 1997-10-22. He replied that they did not. There was only a mention on the file that a medical certificate had been issued. The validity of the certificate was taken two years from the date of the medical report. Private pilot licence medical certificates are valid for two years from the date of the completed medical examination for pilots under 40 years old.

Mr. Bland requested a recess, and he and Mr. Sangster, Counsel for Mr. Burnside, left the room for a discussion.

On resuming, Mr. Bland confirmed that Transport Canada does not keep copies of medical certificates. I further questioned Mr. Bland as to the authenticity of this copy of the medical certificate: its format, font, etc. He asserted that it seemed to him to be in the proper form and he had no concerns as to its authenticity.

DETERMINATION

Given that the medical certificate issued to Mr. Burnside (D-9), is authentic, and there is no reason to doubt this, even though the original was destroyed in the aircraft accident, it is clear that Mr. Burnside was in full compliance with paragraph 401.03(1)(b) of the CARs.

It is evident that in the course of processing Mr. Burnside's medical report, someone in Transport Canada erred in entering the dates on his medical certificate. Since Transport Canada no longer keeps records of these certificates, they could only rely on the dates given on the doctor's Medical Examination Report, hence the Secretary, Mr. McCullough's, certificate, (M-6).

This shortcoming in Transport Canada's record keeping should be rectified as soon as possible, before further embarrassment and inconvenience are caused to document holders, not to mention Transport Canada itself.

In conclusion, I have determined that Patrick William Burnside did have a valid medical certificate for his private pilot licence No. 744326 on April 4, 1999. Therefore, no offence took place, and the fine of $1,000 is hereby quashed.

Philip D Jardim
Member
Civil Aviation Tribunal

Décisions

Dossier no O-1944-33 (TAC)
Dossier no PAP 5504-744326-033636 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Ministre des Transports, requérant(e)

- et -

Patrick William Burnside, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, c. A-2, art. 7.7
Règlement de l'aviation canadien, DORS/96-433, al. 401.03(1)b)

Certificat médical valide


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Philip D. Jardim


Décision : le 13 avril 2000

TRADUCTION

J'ai décidé que, le 4 avril 1999, Patrick William Burnside avait effectivement un certificat médical valide pour sa licence de pilote privé no 744326. Pour ces motifs, aucune infraction n'a été commise et l'amende de 1 000 $ est annulée par les présentes.

Une audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le mardi 11 avril 2000 à 10 h, à North Bay (Ontario).

HISTORIQUE

Le 4 avril 1999, Patrick Burnside pilotait son aéronef Wagaero Cuby, immatriculé C-GAUO, en partance de Lake Nabonsing (Ontario). L'aéronef a subi une panne de moteur au cours du vol et l'atterrissage forcé qui a suivi a fauché des arbres. M. Burnside est heureusement sorti indemne de l'épave mais par ailleurs, l'aéronef a par la suite été détruit par le feu (pièces M-1 et M-2).

Transports Canada et le Bureau de la sécurité des transports ont enquêté sur l'accident et la division de l'Application des règlements de l'aéronautique de Transports Canada a écrit à M. Burnside, le 14 septembre 1999 en alléguant qu'au moment de l'accident, son certificat médical n'était pas en vigueur, en contravention à l'alinéa 401.03(1)b) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC). M. Burnside n'a pas répondu à la lettre et, le 18 novembre 1999, on lui a remis un avis d'amende pour contravention de 1 000 $ en vertu de l'article 7.7 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique (pièce M-5).

M. Burnside n'a pas payé l'amende et Transports Canada a fait une demande d'audience au Tribunal.

LA LOI

L'article 7.7 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique prévoit :

7.7 (1) Le ministre, s'il a des motifs raisonnables de croire qu'une personne a contrevenu à un texte désigné, l'informe des faits reprochés par un avis établi en la forme et comportant les renseignements que le gouverneur en conseil peut déterminer par règlement et y indique :

a) sous réserve des règlements d'application de l'alinéa 7.6(1)b), le montant qu'il détermine, conformément aux critères qu'il peut établir à cette fin, et qui doit être payé à titre d'amende pour la contravention lorsque la personne ne désire pas comparaître devant un conseiller pour présenter ses observations sur les faits reprochés;

b) la date limite, qui suit d'au moins trente jours celle de signification ou d'expédition de l'avis, et le lieu où le montant visé à l'alinéa a) doit être versé.

(2) L'avis est à signifier à personne ou par courrier ordinaire à la dernière adresse connue de l'intéressé.

L'alinéa 401.03(1)b) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien prévoit :

401.03 (1) Il est interdit à toute personne d'agir en qualité de membre d'équipage de conduite ou d'exercer les avantages d'un permis, d'une licence ou d'une qualification de membre d'équipage de conduite à moins qu'elle ne satisfasse aux conditions suivantes :

a) sous réserve du paragraphe (2) et des articles 401.19 à 401.27 la personne est titulaire d'un permis, d'une licence ou d'une qualification propres aux fonctions ou aux avantages qu'elle exerce et peut produire le permis, la licence ou la qualification dans l'exercice de ces fonctions ou avantages;

b) la personne est titulaire d'un certificat médical valide propre aux fonctions ou aux avantages qu'elle exerce et peut produire le certificat dans l'exercice de ces fonctions ou avantages.

LA PREUVE ET LA PLAIDOIRIE

Transports Canada, représenté par M. David Bland, a témoigné sous serment avec six pièces à l'appui, que M. Burnside était commandant de bord du C-GAUO le 4 avril 1999 et que son certificat médical n'était pas en vigueur selon les dossiers de Transports Canada. Ladite preuve comprenait un certificat du secrétaire du ministère des Transports (pièce M-6) qui déclarait que le certificat médical de M. Burnside était valide jusqu'au 1er octobre1998 et qu'entre le 1er octobre 1998 et le 30 avril 1999, aucun certificat médical n'avait été délivré à M. Burnside. Conséquemment, on invoquait une infraction au RAC. M. Bland a mis fin à son plaidoyer.

Me Sangster qui représentait M. Burnside, a présenté trois pièces pour appuyer la réponse de son client aux allégations de Transports Canada :

pièce D-7 le rapport d'examen médical de l'aviation civile de M. Burnside en date du « 96-09-03 ». Ce rapport exige que M. Burnside subisse un autre test de daltonisme (Farnsworth D-15). Ce test a été fait le 15 novembre 1996;

pièce D-8 un exemplaire du test de daltonisme Fransworth que M. Burnside a subi le 15 novembre 1996. À cette époque-là, les résultats sont parvenus à Transports Canada et le certificat soumis sous la cote D-8 est en date du 30 mars 2000;

pièce D-9 un exemplaire du certificat médical no 744326 de Transports Canada délivré à Patrick William Burnside. Ce certificat constitue une copie de l'original détruit lors de l'incendie de l'aéronef, le 4 avril 1999. Ce certificat porte de toute évidence la date de « 1997-10-22 » et valide la licence P744326 jusqu'au « 1999-10-01 ». La date de l'examen médical qui figure au certificat est « 1997-09-03 ».

M. Burnside a été assermenté et a témoigné. Il a déclaré que l'original de la pièce D-9 - son certificat médical - a été détruit dans l'incendie de l'aéronef. Cette photocopie a été faite par son épouse et télécopiée à sa compagnie d'assurance. Il a témoigné que son épouse avait fait et gardé des copies de ses documents et qu'il s'agissait d'une copie authentique du certificat détruit avec l'aéronef.

Me Sangster a souligné que le paragraphe deux de la pièce M-6, à savoir le certificat du secrétaire du ministère des Transports, ne présentait aucune référence à 1997. Il lui semblait qu'une personne au ministère avait tapé 1997 à la place de 1996 et délivré le certificat médical de M. Burnside en date du 22-10-97, valide jusqu'au 1-10-1999. Le 4 avril 1999, M. Burnside avait donc un certificat médical valide. Que le rapport d'examen médical de l'aviation civil soit en date du « 96-09-03 » avait peu ou pas de conséquence pour son client. M. Burnside a agi correctement en assumant que le certificat médical qu'on lui avait délivré validait sa licence.

J'ai demandé à M. Bland si Transports Canada avait le certificat médical en date du 22-10-1997 dans ses dossiers. Il a répondu dans la négative. La seule mention au dossier portait sur la délivrance d'un certificat. On a validé le certificat pour deux ans suivant la date du rapport médical. Pour les pilotes âgés de moins de 40 ans, les certificats médicaux pour les licences de pilote privé sont valides pendant les deux ans suivant la date de l'examen médical.

M. Bland a demandé un ajournement et il s'est absenté de la pièce en compagnie de Me Sangster, procureur de M. Burnside.

Au retour, M. Bland a confirmé que Transports Canada ne conserve pas de copies des certificats médicaux. J'ai questionné M. Bland de nouveau sur l'authenticité de cette copie du certificat médical : son format, ses caractères, etc. Il a affirmé que le format lui semblait correct et il ne doutait pas de son authenticité.

DÉCISION

Étant donné que le certificat médical délivré à M. Burnside (D-9) est authentique et qu'il n'y a aucune raison d'en douter même si l'original a été détruit lors de l'accident de l'aéronef, il est évident que M. Burnside se conformait entièrement à l'alinéa 401.03(1)b) du RAC.

Il est évident que lors du traitement du rapport médical de M. Burnside, une personne de Transports Canada a commis une erreur en inscrivant les dates sur son certificat médical. Étant donné que Transports Canada ne conserve plus les dossiers de ces certificats, on peut seulement s'appuyer sur les dates mentionnées au rapport d'examen médical du médecin, soit le certificat du secrétaire, M. McCullough. (M-6).

Cette lacune dans les dossiers de Transports Canada doit être rectifiée le plus tôt possible avant que d'autres situations embarrassantes et inconvénients ne soient causés aux titulaires de documents, sans compter à Transports Canada même.

En conclusion, j'ai décidé que le 4 avril 1999, Patrick William Burnside avait effectivement un certificat médical valide pour sa licence de pilote privé no 744326. En conséquence, aucune infraction n'a été commise et l'amende de 1 000 $ est annulée par les présentes.

Philip D. Jardim
Conseiller
Tribunal de l'aviation civile