Decisions

CAT File No. O-2162-17
MoT File No. PAP 5504-42528

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Alain Tremblay, Applicant

- and -

Minister of Transport, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. A-2, s. 7.1(1)
Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96-433, ss. 602.01, 602.14(2)(a)
Criminal Code, R.S.C. 1985, c. C-46, s. 249(1)

Open Air Assembly, Negligent or Reckless Operation of an Aircraft, Low Flying, Criminal Code, Built-Up Area


Review Determination
Suzanne Racine


Decision: June 26, 2001

TRANSLATION

Noting the admission of the applicant's counsel, the member confirms the decision of the Minister of Transport to suspend private pilot licence PA 730494 of the applicant, Mr. Alain Tremblay, for the reasons appearing in both the notice of suspension of September 1, 2000, and in its attachment.

A review hearing on the above matter was held Wednesday, May 23, 2001, at 10:00 hours, on the 18th floor of the Standard Life Building in Ottawa, Ontario.

OBJECT OF THE REVIEW HEARING

On September 1, 2000, Transport Canada served the applicant, Mr. Alain Tremblay, with a notice of suspension of his private pilot licence no. PA 730494, pursuant to subsection 7.1(1) of the Aeronautics Act. The notice of suspension states that the suspension will take effect on September 1, 2000, at 23:59 hours, local time, and will remain in force until such time as the conditions of reinstatement mentioned in its attachment are met and the document (private pilot licence) is reinstated by the Minister.

The reasons for the suspension and the conditions for reinstatement formulated by the Minister are as follows:

Reason for the suspension

In the past, Mr. Tremblay has been accused and found guilty of various safety violations. Recent allegations have been made indicating that he has continued to commit these same violations. Although these allegations are currently the subject of an inquiry, the risk posed to the public is so great that suspension of the licence was necessary. Most of the violations (confirmed and alleged) have been committed in the vicinity of persons and property, which shows that Mr. Tremblay represents a tangible risk to the safety of the public.

Record of enforcement - Mr. Alain Tremblay

  1. April 1998 - violation of paragraph 602.14(2)(a) of the CARs - monetary penalty assessed and paid
  2. June 1998 - violation of subsection 602.13(1) of the CARs - monetary penalty assessed and paid
  3. December 1998 - violation of subsection 601.08(1) of the CARs - monetary penalty assessed and not paid
  4. January 1999 - violation of subsection 401.03(1) of the CARs - monetary penalty assessed and not paid
  5. July 1999 - violation of paragraph 602.14(2)(b) of the CARs - monetary penalty assessed and paid

Current allegations of contraventions against Mr. Alain Tremblay

  1. March 1999 - subsection 401.03(1) of the CARs, 1 count
  2. June 2000 - section 602.01 of the CARs, 1 count
  3. July/August 2000 - subsection 605.94(1) of the CARs, 6 counts
  4. August 2000 - paragraph 602.14(2)(a) of the CARs, 1 count
  5. August 2000 - section 602.01 of the CARs, 1 count
  6. June 2000 - subsection 249(1) of the Criminal Code
  7. August 2000 - subsection 249(1) of the Criminal Code

Conditions of reinstatement

The licence may be reinstated when the regional manager of General Aviation, considers that Mr. Tremblay meets the following conditions:

  1. Taking of a course in pilot decision making offered by System Safety, Transport Canada;
  2. Interview by a civil aviation safety inspector of Transport Canada (General Aviation) to discuss matters related to aviation safety. Demonstration that reinstatement of the licence will not pose any danger to the public. Upon successful completion of the interview, a recommendation for reinstatement of the licence may be submitted to the regional manager of General Aviation.

The applicant is appealing this decision before the Civil Aviation Tribunal.

PRELIMINARY MOTION

First of all, the applicant's counsel, Mr. Bourget, served the office of the Tribunal and the respondent, on Tuesday, May 22, 2001, with an application for postponement of the review hearing set for Wednesday, May 23, 2001, in Ottawa on the ground that he wished to proceed first with the hearing of a case scheduled for trial June 4, 2001, concerning an incident that occurred June 24, 2000. This incident concerning dangerous operation of an aircraft (section 249 of the Criminal Code) appears in the attachment to the notice of suspension, item 6 of the current allegations of contraventions against Mr. Alain Tremblay. This written application for postponement was denied that same day by the member charged with this hearing, as it had been filed late. The notice of hearing had been issued and delivered to the parties, after consultation with them, on March 9, 2001, i.e., more than two months before the date scheduled for the hearing.

Later, Mr. Bourget reapplied to the member for postponement of this hearing, repeating the arguments alleged in his application for postponement of May 22, 2001. He stresses the fact that it is prejudicial to his client to mention the incident of June 24, 2000 (section 249 of the Criminal Code), in the current allegations of contraventions appearing in the attachment to the notice of suspension issued by the Minister. Firstly, this allegation has been neither confirmed nor proven. Secondly, it unduly taints the aeronautical record of his client, who is currently in training to obtain his commercial pilot licence. He also alleges that, in any event, his client has met all the conditions for reinstatement requested by the Minister and that his private pilot licence was reinstated November 1, 2000.

The respondent's counsel, Mr. Béland, objects to this second application for postponement on the ground that it is not necessary for a court to dispense first with a charge of dangerous operation arising from the incident of June 24, 2000, in order for the Civil Aviation Tribunal to hear the present case, and that he is prepared to establish in evidence the validity of the suspension measure taken against Mr. Tremblay with the aid of three witnesses who have travelled for this purpose.

The member, after having heard the parties, concurs with the Minister's counsel and has decided to hear the case brought before her by the applicant's counsel, Mr. Bourget, in order to rule on the validity of the grounds alleged by the Minister for suspension of the applicant's private pilot licence.

Mr. Béland, asked by the member to explain the violations confirmed and alleged by the Minister in its attachment to the notice of suspension, informed the Tribunal that the applicant has paid the monetary penalties for each of the five contraventions listed in the "record of enforcement — Mr. Alain Tremblay" appearing in the attachment to the notice of suspension dated September 1, 2000. Mr. Béland also pointed out that item 1 of the current allegations of contraventions against Mr. Alain Tremblay in the attachment has been struck out and that no notices of assessment have been issued in respect of the counts of item 3.

Mr. Béland questioned his first witness, Mrs. Oonagh Elliott, an inspector at Transport Canada, about the remaining allegations and filed several exhibits in support of the witness' claims. When it came time to cross-examine, however, Mr. Bourget told the Tribunal that he does not intend to contest the grounds which prompted the Minister to suspend his client's private pilot licence.

DETERMINATION

Noting the admission of the applicant's counsel, the member confirms the decision of the Minister of Transport to suspend private pilot licence PA 730494 of the applicant, Mr. Alain Tremblay, for the reasons appearing in both the notice of suspension of September 1, 2000, and in its attachment.

Suzanne Racine
Member
Civil Aviation Tribunal

Décisions

Dossier no O-2162-17 (TAC)
Dossier no PAP 5504-42528 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Alain Tremblay, requérant(e)

- et -

Ministre des Transports, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Code criminel, L.R.C. 1985, c. C-46, article 249(1)
Loi sur l’aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, c. A-2, article 7.1(1)
Règlement de l’aviation canadien, DORS/96-433, articles 602.01, 602.14(2)(a)

Agglomération urbaine, Code criminel, Assemblée de personnes, Utilisation d'un aéronef de façon imprudente ou négligente, Vol à basse altitude


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Suzanne Racine


Décision : le 26 juin 2001

Constatant l'admission du procureur du requérant, la conseillère confirme la décision du ministre des Transports d'avoir suspendu la licence de pilote privé PA 730494 du requérant, M. Alain Tremblay, pour les motifs apparaissant tant à l'avis de suspension daté du 1er septembre 2000 qu'à son annexe.

Une audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le mercredi 23 mai 2001 à 10 heures, au 18e étage de l'édifice Standard Life à Ottawa (Ontario).

OBJET DE L'AUDIENCE EN RÉVISION

Le 1er septembre 2000, Transports Canada a signifié au requérant, M. Alain Tremblay, un avis de suspension de sa licence de pilote privé n° PA 730494, conformément au paragraphe 7.1(1) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique. L'avis de suspension précise que cette dernière entrera en vigueur le 1er septembre 2000 à 23 h 59, heure locale, et demeurera en vigueur tant et aussi longtemps que les conditions de rétablissement mentionnées à son annexe ne seront pas respectées et que le document (licence de pilote privé) ne sera pas rétabli par le ministre.

Les raisons de la suspension et les conditions de rétablissement formulées par le ministre sont les suivantes :

Raison de la suspension

Dans le passé, M. Tremblay a été accusé et trouvé coupable de diverses infractions à la sécurité. Des allégations récentes ont été faites indiquant qu'il a continué à commettre ces mêmes infractions. Bien que ces allégations fassent actuellement l'objet d'une enquête, le risque posé au public est d'une telle importance que la suspension de la licence fut nécessaire. La plupart des infractions (confirmées et alléguées) ont été commises dans les environs de personnes et de biens, ce fait démontre que M. Tremblay représente un risque tangible pour la sécurité du public.

Dossier de l'application de la loi - M. Alain Tremblay

  1. Avril 1998 - infraction à l'alinéa 602.14(2)a) du RAC - amende déterminée et payée
  2. Juin 1998 - infraction au paragraphe 602.13(1) du RAC - amende déterminée et payée
  3. Décembre 1998 - infraction au paragraphe 601.08(1) du RAC - amende déterminée et non payée
  4. Janvier 1999 - infraction au paragraphe 401.03(1) du RAC - amende déterminée et non payée
  5. Juillet 1999 - infraction à l'alinéa 602.14(2)b) du RAC - amende déterminée et payée

Allégations de contraventions actuelles contre M. Alain Tremblay

  1. Mars 1999 - paragraphe 401.03(1) du RAC, 1 chef d'accusation
  2. Juin 2000 - article 602.01 du RAC, 1 chef d'accusation
  3. Juillet/août 2000 -paragraphe 605.94(1) du RAC, 6 chefs d'accusation
  4. Août 2000 - alinéa 602.14(2)a) du RAC, 1 chef d'accusation
  5. Août 2000 - alinéa 602.01 du RAC, 1 chef d'accusation
  6. Juin 2000 - paragraphe 249(1) du Code criminel
  7. Août 2000 - paragraphe 249(1) du Code criminel

Conditions pour rétablissement

La licence pourra être rétablie lorsque le gestionnaire régional de l'Aviation générale considérera que M. Tremblay remplit les conditions suivantes :

  1. Suivre un cours de prise de décisions du pilote offert par la Direction de la sécurité du système de Transports Canada;
  2. Passer une entrevue avec un inspecteur de la sécurité de l'aviation civile de Transports Canada (Aviation générale) pour discuter de questions liées à la sécurité aérienne. Démontrer que la restitution de la licence ne posera aucun danger pour le public. Une fois l'entrevue réussie, une recommandation pour la restitution de la licence pourra être soumise au gestionnaire régional de l'Aviation générale.

Le requérant en appelle de cette décision devant le Tribunal de l'aviation civile.

REQUÊTE PRÉLIMINAIRE

Dans un premier temps, le procureur du requérant, Me Bourget, a signifié au greffe du Tribunal et à l'intimé, le mardi 22 mai 2001, une demande de remise de l'audience en révision fixée à Ottawa pour le mercredi 23 mai 2001, au motif qu'il désirait procéder d'abord à l'audition d'une cause prévue pour procès le 4 juin 2001 relative à un incident survenu le 24 juin 2000. Cet incident pour conduite dangereuse d'un aéronef (article 249 du Code criminel) figure à l'annexe à l'avis de suspension, item 6 des allégations de contraventions actuelles contre M. Alain Tremblay. Cette demande écrite de remise fut refusée le jour même par la conseillère chargée de la présente audience car elle a été faite tardivement. L'avis d'audience avait en effet été émis et délivré aux parties, après consultation avec celles-ci, le 9 mars 2001, soit au-delà de deux mois avant la date prévue pour l'audience.

Ensuite, Me Bourget redemande à la conseillère la remise de la présente audience en reprenant les arguments allégués dans sa demande de remise datée du 22 mai 2001. Il insiste sur le fait qu'il est préjudiciable pour son client de faire mention de l'incident du 24 juin 2000 (article 249 du Code criminel) dans les allégations de contraventions actuelles figurant à l'annexe de l'avis de suspension émis par le ministre. D'une part, cette allégation n'a pas été confirmée ni prouvée. D'autre part, elle entache indûment le dossier aéronautique de son client qui suit actuellement une formation en vue d'obtenir sa licence de pilote professionnel. Il allègue aussi que son client a de toute façon, respecté toutes les conditions de rétablissement demandées par le ministre et qu'il s'est vu restitué sa licence de pilote privé le 1er novembre 2000.

Le procureur de l'intimé, Me Béland, s'objecte à cette seconde demande de remise au motif qu'il n'est pas nécessaire qu'une cour dispose d'abord d'une accusation de conduite dangereuse découlant de l'incident du 24 juin 2000 pour que le Tribunal de l'aviation civile entende la présente cause et qu'il est prêt à établir la preuve du bien-fondé de la mesure de suspension prise à l'encontre de M. Tremblay avec l'aide de trois témoins qui se sont déplacés à cet effet.

La conseillère, après avoir entendu les parties, donne raison au procureur du ministre et décide d'entendre la cause portée devant elle par le procureur du requérant, Me Bourget, afin de statuer sur le bien-fondé des motifs allégués par le ministre pour suspendre la licence de pilote privé du requérant.

Me Béland, appelé par la conseillère à préciser les infractions confirmées et alléguées par le ministre à son annexe à l'avis de suspension, indique au Tribunal que le requérant s'est acquitté des amendes pour chacune des cinq contraventions énumérées au dossier de l'application de la loi — M. Alain Tremblay figurant à l'annexe jointe à l'avis de suspension daté du 1er septembre 2000. D'autre part, Me Béland souligne que l'item 1 des allégations de contraventions actuelles contre M. Alain Tremblay en annexe a été radié et que les six chefs d'accusation de l'item 3 ne font pas l'objet d'avis d'infraction.

Me Béland interroge son premier témoin, Mme Oonagh Elliott, inspecteur à Transports Canada, sur les allégations restantes et dépose plusieurs pièces à l'appui des prétentions du témoin. Cependant, au moment du contre-interrogatoire, Me Bourget indique au Tribunal qu'il n'entend pas contester les motifs ayant conduit le ministre à suspendre la licence de pilote privé de son client.

DÉCISION

Constatant ainsi l'admission du procureur du requérant, la conseillère confirme la décision du ministre des Transports d'avoir suspendu la licence de pilote privé PA 730494 du requérant, M. Alain Tremblay, pour les motifs apparaissant tant à l'avis de suspension daté du 1er septembre 2000 qu'à son annexe.

Suzanne Racine
Conseillère
Tribunal de l'aviation civile