Decisions

CAT File No. O-2210-02
MoT File No. PAP 5504-042542

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Thomas Blackwell, Applicant

- and -

Minister of Transport, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act , S.C., c.A-2, s. 6.9
Canadian Aviation Regulations SOR/96-433, ss. 602.01, 602.19(10)

Suspension, Seaplane, Reckless or Negligent Operation of an Aircraft, Landing, Decision Quashed


Review Determination
Philip D. Jardim


Decision: October 16, 2001

As Mr. Blackwell was not in command of DHC-2 Beaver C-GZBH at 10:10 a.m. local time, on August 15, 2000, I quash the decision by the Minister to suspend his licence.

A Review Hearing on the above matter was held Thursday, October 4, 2001 at 10:00 hours at the offices of the Wayne Cormier Insurance Adjusters in Parry Sound, Ontario.

BACKGROUND

On August 15, 2000, the sightseeing vessel "Island Queen" was negotiating the narrows, northbound between Bob's Point and Salt Point, in Parry Sound Harbour. The width of these narrows varies between approximately 360 feet and 1125 feet. The Island Queen is 132 feet long by 30 feet wide. It is alleged that while negotiating these narrows, a deHavilland Beaver C-GBZH passed down the port side of the vessel and landed astern in the opposite direction, proceeding southbound. This incident caused a stir aboard the vessel, such that its owner reported the matter to Transport Canada, and made a statement, outlining his impressions of the incident.

An investigation ensued, and Transport Canada suspended the licence of the alleged pilot-in-command, Mr. Thomas Blackwell, for a total of 26 days. Mr. Blackwell disputed the charges against him, denying that he was pilot-in-command of the aircraft. He contacted Transport Canada to this effect a number of times, denying that he was flying the aircraft, and supplied the name of the pilot. Nevertheless the investigation proceeded, and Mr. Blackwell was issued a notice of suspension under section 6.9 of the Aeronautics Act. He appealed his suspension to the Tribunal, hence this hearing in Parry Sound, today, October 4, 2001.

Mr. Blackwell is President and Chief Executive Officer of 30,000 Island Air [hereinafter Island Air], the owner and operator of the Beaver, C-GBZH. In his letter to the Tribunal requesting the hearing, he highlighted his claim that he was not the pilot-in-command.

THE LAW

Section 602.01 of the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs) states:

602.01 No person shall operate an aircraft in such a reckless or negligent manner as to endanger or be likely to endanger the life or property of any person.

­Subsection 602.19(10) of the CARs states:

602.19 [...]

(10) No person shall conduct or attempt to conduct a take-off or landing in an aircraft until there is no apparent risk of collision with any aircraft, person, vessel, vehicle or structure in the take-off or landing path.

EVIDENCE

The Minister called five witnesses, the first of which was Mr. Ian Shimmin, Civil Aviation Inspector, Enforcement Branch. Seventeen exhibits were produced by the Minister, but none of them established who the pilot-in-command of the aircraft was. In his cross-examination of Mr. Shimmin, Mr. Blackwell questioned Mr. Shimmin about his (Blackwell's) attempts to contact him. Mr. Shimmin seemed uncertain of whether he contacted Mr. Blackwell to establish the name of the pilot-in-command. However Mr. Blackwell produced phone records and annotated copies of the letters he had received from Transport Canada, warning him of the impending proceedings against him. These bear out his efforts to advise Transport Canada that he was not the pilot-in-command of the aircraft.

On failing to contact Mr. Shimmin directly, he left at least two messages for him, and also called his superior, Mr. Szwalek, who likewise was unavailable. Neither returned his calls.

Three of the other four of the Minister's witnesses testified that they saw Mr. Blackwell flying the aircraft. These witnesses are Mr. Ron Anderson, the owner of the ship, his son, Steve Anderson, the first mate, and Mr. Keith Salt, the captain of the ship. They all testified that they saw Mr. Blackwell at the controls, as the aircraft passed the ship.

Their estimates of the distance of the aircraft from the ship as it passed down the port side in the landing configuration, varied from about 40 feet to 100 feet. The speed of closing of the vessel and the aircraft would have been at least 90 mph - about 150 km/h. I doubt that the features of a face through the cockpit window and the glass of the bridge of the ship could be made out at that speed to enable recognition of a person with any real accuracy. This is not to question the veracity of the witnesses, but rather to suggest that their apparent recognition of Mr. Blackwell stems from associating him with that aircraft, as they all know him as its owner.

Ms. Beverley Slater, the fifth witness, was in the galley, heard the aircraft, and saw it pass behind the vessel as it landed. She did not see the pilot.

All four witnesses' evidence is consistent in establishing that the aircraft did pass closer to the vessel than is consistent with safety. Further, the statement in Island Air's brochure to the effect that: "We usually 'Buzz' the cruise boats on this flight" does nothing to impress passengers that Island Air is a safety conscious operator (Exhibit M-5).

Mr. Blackwell called his first witness, Ms. Elke Dyck. She is the office manager and dispatch officer for Island Air. She produced the operational flight plan and load record #000815, Exhibit D-21, and testified that Mr. Blackwell was not flying the aircraft. Exhibit D-21 shows that the pilot-in-command of the aircraft was Lawrence Turcotte, and Ms. Dyck confirmed that this was the case. Mr. Blackwell was at his cottage at the time of the incident.

Mr. Donald Ferris, an employee of Island Air, testified that he was aboard the aircraft at the time, and confirmed that the pilot was Mr. Turcotte.

Mr. Lawrence Turcotte testified that he was the pilot-in-command of that flight, although he seemed unsure of the registration of the aircraft. He testified that at no time did he come as close as alleged to the Island Queen, during his landing at 10:10 a.m. on August 15, 2000. He claims that he was half a kilometre from the vessel at the end of his landing run. He landed on the north shore as the vessel entered the narrows. The vessel passed him as he was on the water.

Mr. Turcotte said that he called Transport Canada from Florida to tell them that he was the pilot-in-command of the aircraft, but he was told that this was Mr. Blackwell's issue and they would not speak to him any further. As Mr. Turcotte does not keep a personal flying logbook, he only enters his flying totals in a diary, and does not record the registration of the aircraft that he flies. Exhibit D-22 is an extract from his diary of August 15, 2000. It shows that he flew two hours for Island Air, but neither the registration, nor type of aircraft is recorded. However, he recognizes his writing on sheet 000815 — the operational flight plan and load record for August 15, 2000. The registration of the aircraft on this document just says "DHC." The time of landing does coincide with the time of the incident - 10:10 a.m. August 15, 2000.

Island Air does have two Beavers, but Mr. Blackwell testified that the other aircraft C-FJAB was at Gananoque at the time, and was painted yellow.

Although I do not consider it relevant, at the insistence of Mr. Hector, the Minister's case presenter, I admitted the operational flight plan and journey log extract for this Beaver, which was many miles removed from Parry Sound on August 15, 2000 - the documents show that it was in Gananoque, Ontario (Exhibits M-24 and M-25).

Mr. Blackwell took the stand and testified that he was asleep at his cottage 25 miles away at the time of this incident. This evidence has been very substantially corroborated by his previous witnesses and the documentation. The extract from the journey logbook of C-GBZH for August 15 was filled out by Mr. Blackwell. This is not unusual as it can be filled out by any authorized person.

Mr. Blackwell produced a letter (Exhibit D-23) he had written to Mr. Art LaFlamme of Transport Canada, expressing his indignation at being persecuted by the enforcement branch, when he was not in the aircraft at the time. Mr. LaFlamme had said that he should take this up with enforcement.

CONCLUSION

I find it somewhat bizarre that the enforcement branch of Transport Canada would pursue an investigation into an incident and apparently refuse to listen to the subject of the investigation. Not only did Mr. Blackwell deny to them that he was the pilot-in-command of the aircraft, but he gave them Mr. Turcotte's name, and even had Mr. Turcotte phone them. They refused to speak to Mr. Turcotte.

Without appearing to hold a brief for Island Air and Mr. Blackwell, I can only conclude that this amounts to persecution, is a waste of resources, and brings the department into disrepute. What is also significant is that there is no time recorded on the notice of suspension, just the date is given. Since more than one pilot can fly the same aircraft on the same day, it is vital that the time of the alleged offence is stated on the notice of suspension.

With regard to whether the regulations were breached on that day, there is a credibility issue which is somewhat difficult to resolve: on the one hand we have four witnesses on the vessel more or less corroborating each other that the aircraft was flown dangerously. On the other hand, we have Mr. Turcotte's denial that he was anywhere near the vessel when he landed, corroborated by Mr. Ferris. There is the unfortunate statement in Island Air's brochure that: "We usually 'Buzz' the cruise boats". And, arising out of Mr. Blackwell's evidence, there may be jealousy, backbiting, and sparring between Island Air and the owners of the vessel, who seem convinced that Mr. Blackwell was the pilot, more by associating him with the aircraft than actually recognizing him, as the aircraft sped by at 90 mph.

However, because it is abundantly proven that Mr. Blackwell was not the pilot-in-command, I do not have to resolve this issue conclusively. With that said, I believe that there may well have been infractions of the CARs on that day, and that Island Air should exercise extreme care in conducting its operations, and remove that unfortunate statement from its brochure.

DETERMINATION

As Mr. Blackwell was not in command of DHC-2 Beaver C-GZBH at 10:10 a.m. local time, on August 15, 2000, I quash the decision by the Minister to suspend his licence.

Philip D. Jardim
Member
Civil Aviation Tribunal

Décisions

Dossier no O-2210-02 (TAC)
Dossier no PAP 5504-042542 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Thomas Blackwell, requérant(e)

- et -

Ministre des Transports, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l’aéronautique, L.C., ch. A-2, art. 6.9
Règlement de l’aviation canadien,DORS/96-433, art. 602.01, par. 602.19(10)

Utilisation imprudente ou négligente des aéronefs, Suspension, Hydravion, Décision annulée, Atterrissage


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Philip D. Jardim


Décision : le 16 octobre 2001

TRADUCTION

Étant donné que M. Blackwell n'était pas aux commandes du Beaver DHC-2 C-GZBH à 10 h 10 (heure locale), le 15 août 2000, j'annule la décision du ministre de suspendre sa licence.

Une audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le jeudi 4 octobre 2001 à 10 h au bureau de Wayne Cormier Insurance Adjusters à Parry Sound (Ontario).

HISTORIQUE

Le 15 août 2000, le navire de plaisance «  Island Queen  » s'engageait dans le passage entre Bob's Point et Salt Point, direction nord, dans le port de Parry Sound. La largeur de ce passage varie approximativement de 360 à 1 125 pieds. Le «  Island Queen  » mesure 132 pieds de long sur 30 pieds de large. On allègue que pendant qu'il franchissait ce passage, un Beaver deHavilland C-GBZH est passé à bâbord du navire et a amerri derrière celui-ci en sens inverse, a causé un remous à bord du navire, de sorte que son propriétaire a rapporté l'affaire à Transports Canada; il a fait une déclaration et il a décrit ses impressions sur l'incident.

Une enquête a eu lieu et Transports Canada a suspendu la licence du présumé commandant de bord, M. Thomas Blackwell, pour un total de 26 jours. M. Blackwell a contesté les accusations qui lui étaient imputées en niant qu'il était commandant de bord de l'aéronef. Il a communiqué avec Transports Canada bon nombre de fois à ce sujet, en niant qu'il pilotait l'aéronef et il a fourni le nom du pilote. L'enquête a toutefois suivi son cours et un avis de suspension a été délivré à M. Blackwell en vertu de l'article 6.9 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique. Il a interjeté appel de sa suspension devant le Tribunal, d'où l'audience d'aujourd'hui à Parry Sound, le 4 octobre 2001.

M. Blackwell est président directeur général de 30,000 Island Air [ci-après Island Air], et propriétaire et exploitant du Beaver C-GBZH. Dans sa lettre au Tribunal pour demander une audience, il a mis en évidence sa prétention selon laquelle il n'était pas commandant de bord.

LA LOI

L'article 602.01 du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC) prévoit ce qui suit :

602.01 Il est interdit d'utiliser un aéronef d'une manière imprudente ou négligente qui constitue ou risque de constituer un danger pour la vie ou les biens de toute personne.

Le paragraphe 602.19(10) du RAC prévoit ce qui suit :

602.19 [...]

(10) Il est interdit d'effectuer ou de tenter d'effectuer le décollage ou l'atterrissage d'un aéronef lorsqu'il existe un risque apparent d'abordage avec un autre aéronef, une personne, un navire, un véhicule ou une structure sur la trajectoire de décollage ou d'atterrissage.

LA PREUVE

Le ministre a appelé cinq témoins, dont le premier était M. Ian Shimmin, inspecteur de l'aviation civile, au service de l'Application de la loi. Dix-sept pièces ont été présentées par le ministre mais aucune d'entre elles n'établissait qui était le commandant de bord de l'aéronef. Lors du contre-interrogatoire de M. Shimmin, M. Blackwell l'a interrogé sur ses tentatives de communiquer avec lui. M. Shimmin semblait incertain à savoir s'il avait communiqué avec M. Blackwell afin d'établir le nom du commandant de bord. Toutefois, M. Blackwell a présenté des registres d'appel et des copies de lettres annotées qu'il avait reçues de Transports Canada le prévenant des procédures imminentes contre lui. Ceux-ci corroborent les tentatives qu'il a faites pour avertir Transports Canada qu'il n'était pas commandant de bord de l'aéronef.

Bien qu'il n'ait pas communiqué avec M. Shimmin directement, il lui a laissé au moins deux messages; il a de plus téléphoné à son supérieur, M. Szwalek, qui, apparemment, n'était pas disponible. Aucun d'entre eux n'a retourné ses appels.

Trois des quatre autres témoins du ministre ont témoigné qu'ils ont vu M. Blackwell piloter l'aéronef. Ces témoins sont M. Ron Anderson, le propriétaire du navire, son fils et capitaine en second, Steve Anderson et M. Keith Salt, le capitaine du navire. Ils ont tous témoigné qu'ils ont vu M. Blackwell aux commandes, lorsque l'aéronef est passé près du navire.

Leurs estimations de la distance entre l'aéronef et le navire lorsqu'il s'avançait à bâbord du navire en configuration d'amerrissage variaient entre 40 et 100 pieds. La vitesse de rapprochement du navire et de l'aéronef était d'environ au moins 90 mph - soit environ 150 km/h. Je doute qu'à travers la fenêtre de la cabine de pilotage et la vitre du pont du navire et à cette vitesse, on puisse établir les caractéristiques d'un visage et reconnaître une personne avec une précision réelle. Cette remarque ne remet pas en cause la sincérité des témoins; elle laisse plutôt entendre que leur prétendue reconnaissance de M. Blackwell découle du fait qu'on l'associe à cet aéronef, étant donné qu'il est connu comme étant son propriétaire.

Mme Beverley Slater, le cinquième témoin, était dans l'office; elle a entendu l'aéronef et l'a vu passer derrière le navire alors qu'il atterrissait. Elle n'a pas vu le pilote.

La preuve des quatre témoins concorde pour établir que l'aéronef est passé plus près du navire que la sécurité ne le permet. De plus, l'énoncé du dépliant d'Island Air : « Sur ce vol, nous frôlons habituellement les bateaux de croisière » n'a rien pour laisser entendre aux passagers qu'Island Air est un exploitant consciencieux qui ne prend pas de risque (pièce M-5).

M. Blackwell a appelé son premier témoin, Mme Elke Dyck. Elle est directrice et agent de répartition pour le compte d'Island Air. Elle a présenté les plans de vol opérationnels et l'inscription du chargement no 000815, à la pièce D-21, et elle a témoigné que M. Blackwell ne pilotait pas l'aéronef. La pièce D-21 montre que le commandant de bord de l'aéronef était Lawrence Turcotte et Mme Dyck a confirmé que c'était le cas. M. Blackwell était à son chalet au moment de l'incident.

M. Donald Ferris, un employé d'Island Air, a témoigné qu'il était à bord de l'aéronef à ce moment-là et il a confirmé que le pilote était M. Turcotte.

M. Lawrence Turcotte a témoigné qu'il était commandant de bord de ce vol, même s'il semblait incertain de l'immatriculation de l'aéronef. Il a témoigné qu'en aucun temps au cours de son amerrissage du 15 août 2000 à 10 h 10 il ne s'était approché aussi près du Island Queen, comme on le prétend dans l'allégation. Il prétend qu'il était à un demi-kilomètre du navire à la fin de la course à l'amerrissage. Il a amerri près de la rive nord alors que le navire entrait dans le passage. Il était sur l'eau lorsque le navire l'a croisé.

M. Turcotte a dit qu'il avait appelé Transports Canada de Floride pour leur dire qu'il était commandant de bord de l'aéronef mais on lui a dit que cette question concernait M. Blackwell et qu'ils ne lui parleraient pas davantage. Comme M. Turcotte ne tient pas de carnet de vol personnel, il entre seulement ses totaux de vol dans un agenda et il n'inscrit pas l'immatriculation de l'aéronef qu'il pilote. La pièce D-22 est un extrait de son agenda, en date du 15 août 2000. Il montre qu'il a piloté pour le compte d'Island Air pendant deux heures mais ni l'immatriculation, ni le type d'aéronef n'est inscrit. Toutefois, il reconnaît son écriture sur la feuille 000815 — le plan de vol opérationnel et l'inscription du chargement en date du 15 août 2000. L'immatriculation de l'aéronef sur ce document porte la mention « DHC ». Le moment de l'amerrissage coïncide effectivement avec celui de l'incident - soit le 15 août 2000 à 10 h 10.

Island Air possède deux Beavers mais M. Blackwell a témoigné que l'autre aéronef C-FJAB était à Gananoque à ce moment-là et qu'il était peint en jaune.

Même si je ne peux considérer cela comme pertinent, sous l'insistance de Me Hector qui présente le cas du ministre, j'ai admis en preuve le plan de vol opérationnel et l'extrait du carnet de route pour ce Beaver, qui était à plusieurs milles de Parry Sound, le 15 août 2000 — les documents montrent qu'il était à Gananoque (Ontario) (pièces M-24 et M-25).

M. Blackwell s'est présenté et a témoigné qu'il dormait à son chalet à 25 milles plus loin, au moment de cet incident. Cette preuve a été amplement corroborée par ses témoins précédents et par la documentation. L'extrait du carnet de route du C-GBZH, en date du 15 août a été rempli par M. Blackwell, ce qui n'est pas inhabituel puisqu'il peut l'être par toute personne autorisée.

M. Blackwell a présenté une lettre (pièce D-23) qu'il avait écrite à M. Art LaFlamme de Transports Canada, dans laquelle il exprimait son indignation d'être persécuté par le service de l'Application de la loi alors qu'il n'était pas dans l'aéronef à ce moment-là. M. LaFlamme avait dit qu'il devait présenter la question au service de l'Application de la loi.

CONCLUSION

Je considère qu'il est toutefois bizarre que le service de l'Application de la loi de Transports Canada poursuive une enquête au sujet d'un incident et refuse apparemment d'écouter le sujet de l'enquête. Non seulement M. Blackwell a-t-il nié être le commandant de bord de l'aéronef mais il leur a donné le nom de M. Turcotte et ce dernier les a même appelés. Ils ont refusé de parler à M. Turcotte.

Sans avoir l'air de prendre la défense de Island Air et de M. Blackwell, je peux uniquement conclure que cette attitude équivaut à de la persécution, constitue une perte de ressources et jette le discrédit sur le ministère. Il est aussi significatif qu'on n'ait inscrit aucune heure sur l'avis de suspension et que, seule, la date soit indiquée. Étant donné que plus d'un pilote peut piloter le même aéronef le même jour, il est vital que l'heure de la prétendue infraction soit énoncée sur l'avis de suspension.

Quant à savoir si les règlements ont été enfreints ce jour-là, il y une question de crédibilité en jeu qui est quelque peu difficile à résoudre : d'une part, nous avons quatre témoins du navire qui corroborent tous plus ou moins que l'aéronef était piloté de façon dangereuse. D'autre part, nous avons M. Turcotte qui nie avoir été près du navire lors de l'amerrissage, ce qui est corroboré par M. Ferris. Il y a la malencontreuse citation du dépliant d'Island Air : «  Nous frôlons habituellement les bateaux de croisière  ». Et, il ressort de la preuve de M. Blackwell, qu'il peut y avoir de la jalousie, du dénigrement et des disputes entre Island Air et les propriétaires du navire; ceux-ci semblent plus convaincus que M. Blackwell était pilote en l'associant à l'aéronef que parce qu'ils l'ont effectivement reconnu, d'autant plus que l'aéronef filait à 90 mph.

Toutefois, parce qu'il est amplement prouvé que M. Blackwell n'était pas le commandant de bord, je n'ai pas à résoudre la question irréfutablement. Celà étant dit, je crois qu'il y a sans doute eu des infractions au RAC ce jour-là et que Island Air devrait exercer une grande vigilance dans la conduite de ses activités et retirer cette déclaration malencontreuse de son dépliant.

DÉCISION

Étant donné que M. Blackwell ne pilotait pas le Beaver DHC-2 C-GZBH à 10 h 10 (heure locale), le 15 août 2000, j'annule la décision du ministre de suspendre sa licence.

Philip D. Jardim
Conseiller
Tribunal de l'aviation civile