Decisions

TATC File No. O-2755-49
MoT File No. PBX5200542

TRANSPORTATION APPEAL TRIBUNAL OF CANADA

BETWEEN:

Dalila Francis Budoo, Applicant

- and -

Minister of Transport, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. A-2, s. 7.1(1)b)


Review Determination
Allister W. Ogilvie


Decision: July 23, 2003

I refer the case back to the Minister for reconsideration.

A review hearing on the above matter was held Tuesday, June 10, 2003 at the Sheraton Gateway Hotel in Toronto, Ontario at 10:00 hours.

BACKGROUND

Security inspectors for Transport Canada routinely monitor and inspect the security systems that are in place at airports across the country. Occasionally, they test the licensed screening officers who inspect passengers during the pre-board screening process. One method of testing is to enlist an inspector to go through the pre-board screening process carrying an article that simulates a prohibited item. Inspectors then monitor the process to see if the screening officers detect the item and follow through with the appropriate procedures.

On January 18, 2003 at the transborder passenger screening checkpoint at Toronto's Pearson International Airport such an infiltration test was conducted.

Ms. D. Budoo was a designated screening officer conducting the search of carry-on baggage by X-ray apparatus when an infiltration test was conducted at her station.

Transport Canada alleges that she failed to correctly interpret and distinguish a prohibited item. Transport Canada then suspended the X-ray endorsement on her screening officer certificate in the following form:

Pursuant to paragraph 7.1(1)(b) of the Aeronautics Act, the Minister has decided to suspend your Canadian aviation document indicated above for the following reasons:

On 18 January 2003 at approximately 1250 hours, at the transboarder [sic] pre-board passenger screening checkpoint, terminal 2 L. B. Pearson International Airport, Mississauga Ontario, as a result of an infiltration test conducted by Lori L. Lougheed, a Transport Canada Security Inspector, you a security Officer designated by the Minister of Transport pursuant to Section 4.7 of the Aeronautics Act, while conducting the search of carry-on baggage with the x-ray equipment, did fail to demonstrate correct search techniques using the x-ray equipment while searching carry-on baggage. Consequently, you failed to find a replica Glock 10 semi-automatic handgun, which was identified by the x-ray equipment. You thereby demonstrated that you cease to have the qualifications necessary to take the appropriate action with all passenger belongings which could pose a threat to the security of civil aviation. The requirements for screening officers are laid out in the Airport Pre-board Passenger Screening (APPS) Course Manual dated 1996.10.30 and the Designation Standards for Screening Officers, as referenced in paragraphs 6 and 7 of the Canadian Aviation Security Regulations, dated 23 March 2000.

Ms. Budoo disagreed with that finding. She applied for a hearing of the matter before the Tribunal.

EVENTS

Ms. L. Lougheed is the Transport Canada inspector who conducted the infiltration test with the aid of two colleagues, Mr. Bruce Hall and Mr. Shawn O'Connor.

Mr. Hall was scheduled to be a passenger on a flight departing Toronto for Atlanta. He volunteered to partake in the test as the airline passenger. A replica Glock 10 pistol was placed in his carry-on bag with his laptop computer. At Terminal Two Mr. Hall was directed to a screening point which turned out to be line 4, at which Ms. D. Budoo was conducting X-ray screening and Ms. Abdalla Hodman was conducting manual bag searches.

Ms. Lougheed positioned herself near the screening point to enable her to observe the test. Mr. O'Connor accompanied Mr. Hall through the line.

According to Ms. Lougheed, Mr. Hall's bag was placed on the belt of the X-ray machine where it then entered the X-ray chamber. Ms. Budoo viewed the X-ray image of the bag and utilized the machine's features to enhance the image. She then passed the bag through the chamber and asked Ms. Hodman to do a manual search of the bag. Ms. Hodman complied, opening the bag to search it. The test was then terminated.

The image that had been viewed by Ms. Budoo remained on the visual monitor. Ms. Lougheed stated that she was able to see the image of the Glock, the bullets, spring of the magazine and the metal slide. The image remained on the monitor and was subsequently viewed by several other persons.

Mr. Hall has a different recollection of the sequence of events at the X-ray machine. When the bag had passed through the unit he was asked by one of the screeners if it contained a computer. The person who had asked then began to manually search the bag. Ms. Lougheed and Mr. O'Connor asked him if he would like to see it on the X-ray, to which he replied yes. They took the bag and recycled it through. Upon viewing that image, Mr. Hall stated what it was, was obvious. He could make out three rounds and the spring.

Mr. O'Connor testified that he had accompanied Mr. Hall through the screening process but had missed the bag going through the X-ray machine as he was behind him. He had caught up to it at the EDT machine where the bag was being hand searched. The test was assessed as failed and terminated when the hand search commenced. He stated that the bag was not sent through the X-ray a second time.

Regarding the image, he saw three bullets, the spring, and the slide. The image was dark, dense, metallic. He asserted that this was the same image as was seen by the screening officer.

Ms. Hodman was performing the manual searches when the test took place. She says that she had just returned from a break at that time. The bag was already out of the chamber when she had returned. Ms. Budoo asked her to search it. When she began to do so, Ms. Lougheed instructed her to stop.

She said that she could make out bullets on the image on the monitor. However, she was unable to say if that image was the original or if it was a second one, nor could she recollect whether the bag was reintroduced into the chamber.

Ms. Budoo testified on her own behalf. She stated that she stopped the bag in the chamber as she saw a dark object along with a laptop. She utilized the enhancement feature of the X-ray machine to obtain a better view of the contents. The view of the laptop was clear, but there remained a dark object, perhaps a battery. As she could not tell what it was she asked Ms. Hodman to check the bag. When Ms. Hodman started to do so, she was stopped.

She did not see a gun or any of its components when the bag was in the X-ray chamber nor afterward when she reviewed it on the monitor.

The foregoing people were witnesses to the infiltration test. Other witnesses were called but none of them were witnesses to the test. Each one of them viewed the image on the monitor after the fact.

Mr. Raj Singh, the Terminal Manager was notified that an infiltration test had been conducted on his personnel but one had failed. He stated that like Ms. Budoo he too had difficulty seeing the image of a weapon on the X-ray monitor. At first look he did not see a gun, it took him about 30 seconds to put it together although he finally recognized it. Although there is no time limit for a screener to view an object, in practice they have but a few seconds to make a decision.

Documentary Evidence

Security regulations provide that screening officers must meet certain minimum standards. Those standards are set out in the Designation Standards for Screening Officers.

That document provides that every screening officer must be able to perform certain functions. Among the functions regarding the X-ray equipment, the screening officer is required to perform correct search techniques using the equipment, use correctly all main image evaluation functions of the machine, interpret and distinguish correctly various images on the X-ray monitor, to identify passenger goods which pose a threat to the security of civil aviation and to respond correctly when weapons or other prohibited goods are found.

The response required when a weapon is found is the subject of a section of the training manual which forms part of training given to screening officer candidates.

These requirements were set out in the documentary evidence and were attested to by Ms. Lougheed who is herself an inspector for the purpose of assessing the performance of screening officers and therefore were established to the Tribunal's satisfaction. However, the case presenting officer reviewed these requirements and the steps in response to identifying a weapon with many of the witnesses. Such questioning was wholly irrelevant after establishing the requirement as the only person whose competence and knowledge of procedures that are in issue are Ms. Budoo's. Whether other witnesses know them or not is immaterial.

DISCUSSION

In Tribunal hearings it is very common for there to be inconsistent or contradictory testimony. Most often the testimony that is inconsistent or contradictory is, as between parties who are adverse in interest. Often such contradictions may be resolved by finding that the testimony of one witness is preferable to that of another or by finding that some testimony is untruthful.

The dilemma presented to me in this case is the contradictory evidence given as between the Minister's own witnesses. Those witnesses were each a member of the infiltration test team. The contradiction lies in the sequence of events regarding the test bag's journey through the X-ray monitor and more importantly the image that resulted.

Ms. Lougheed testified that the bag did not go through the X-ray chamber a second time. However, Mr. Hall remembered it differently. After having gone through the checkpoint he stated that Ms. Lougheed and Mr. O'Connor asked him if he would like to see the image on the X-ray, and he indicated that he would. In so many words, he then stated that they took the bag and recycled it through, and then he went over to view the image.

That answer was given during direct testimony. The contradiction was not pursued by the case presenting officer; nor was it explored or challenged on cross-examination.

Prior to the redirect I asked Mr. Hall if he had said that they recycled the bag and that he then saw that image. He replied "yes". He could not say if the image he was looking at was the recycled image or not.

The Minister did not clarify or challenge the point on the redirect.

Mr. O'Connor's experience was somewhat different. Mr. Hall had gone through screening and Mr. O'Connor came shortly after. He missed the actual bag going through the X-ray as he was behind Mr. Hall, catching up to him only when the bag was being searched. At that time the test was terminated.

Mr. O'Connor was able to state that he did not enter the bag a second time stating that it did not go back into the chamber.

However, when asked if what he viewed on the screen was the original image, not a secondary, he was only able to say that was what he was told, but that he was not there.

The other eyewitnesses, the screening officers, were of no assistance on the point. Ms. Hodman, the screening officer who was to manually check the bag, could not say whether the image she saw was the original or secondary. The question was not explored with Ms. Budoo.

THE ISSUE

Was the image seen by Ms. Budoo the same image that was subject of testimony at this hearing?

Often contradictory testimony may be resolved by rejecting some as being untruthful or unlikely for any of a variety of reasons. Here I have no doubt as to the veracity of any of the witnesses. My observation of them and my assessment of their demeanour and character did not lead me to doubt what each had to say.

However, Mr. Hall recalls that the bag was recycled through the machine, which would indicate that the image that was then viewed by him and others was not the one originally seen by Ms. Budoo. That is the crux of the matter.

The importance of that possibility was acknowledged by Mr. O'Connor when being cross-examined. He had stated that each test is a bit different, the positions of the bag in the X-ray chamber could be different, there were all kinds of variables.

As I have concluded that no one is being untruthful, yet the testimony differs, I must conclude that someone's recollection is faulty or mistaken. Unfortunately, I am unable to ascertain, on the evidence, who is mistaken.

As I am unable to find who is mistaken, the result is that the Minister has not proven his case to me.

I have come to the conclusion to refer the case back to the Minister on the above noted point, but I also refer to a second dilemma, one upon which I was not obliged to make a finding.

A picture of the image that was displayed on the X-ray monitor was unfortunately not available in evidence. It would be most helpful for the Tribunal to be able to review what was seen by the screening officer.

Lacking physical evidence to be viewed, the Member must rely on the testimony as to what the image revealed.

This case shows the problem with such reliance. The various witnesses have significantly different views as to what the image revealed.

Ms. Lougheed repeatedly stated that the image was clear. She stated that she could see the three bullets, the spring of the magazine and the metal slide. During cross-examination she added that she could also see the trigger.

Mr. O'Connor testified that he saw three bullets, the spring and the slide of the gun. Mr. Hall recognized the spring and three rounds.

Those witnesses who were not Transport Canada personnel were not so quick to declare the image "clear".

Ms. Budoo, having viewed the bag in the chamber and then having reviewed the image on the monitor, never did recognize the image of a gun. Her co-worker Ms. Hodman was able to identify bullets. Their supervisor, Mr. R. Singh, told us that it took quite some time for him to be able to put the picture together. At first he saw only a dark, dense object.

Ms. Lougheed was of the opinion that the supervisors may be reluctant to acknowledge that they saw the image as they may be accountable for those they supervise. On the other hand it might be that the infiltration team is predisposed to see what they know to be there.

In any case the various testimony given as to what the image revealed was anything but clear which shows that an objective view of the X-ray image in question, if available, would be valuable.

CONCLUSION

I refer the case back to the Minister for reconsideration.

Allister Ogilvie
Vice-Chairperson
Transportation Appeal Tribunal of Canada

Décisions

Dossier no O-2755-49 (TATC)
Dossier no PBX5200542 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL D'APPEL DES TRANSPORTS DU CANADA

ENTRE :

Dalila Francis Budoo, requérant(e)

- et -

Ministre des Transports, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, c. A-2, art. 7.1(1)b)


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Allister W. Ogilvie


Décision : le 23 juillet 2003

TRADUCTION

Je renvoie le dossier au ministre pour réexamen.

Une audience en révision de l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le mardi 10 juin 2003, à l'hôtel Sheraton Gateway de Toronto (Ontario) à 10 h.

HISTORIQUE

Les inspecteurs de sûreté de Transports Canada surveillent et inspectent couramment les systèmes de sûreté des aéroports à travers le pays. À l'occasion, ils surveillent les agents de contrôle accrédités qui font l'inspection des passagers pendant les procédures d'embarquement. Une des méthodes de contrôle consiste à engager un inspecteur pour qu'il subisse l'ensemble du processus de contrôle avant l'embarquement en transportant un article qui simule un élément prohibé. Les inspecteurs surveillent alors le processus pour voir si les agents de contrôle détecteront l'élément et mettront en application les procédures appropriées.

Le 18 janvier 2003, on a effectué ce type d'essai d'infiltration au point de contrôle transfrontalier des passagers à l'Aéroport international Lester B. Pearson de Toronto.

Dans le cadre d'un essai d'infiltration effectué à son poste, Mme D. Budoo a été désignée en qualité d'agent de contrôle pour effectuer une fouille des bagages de cabine à l'aide d'un détecteur radioscopique.

Transports Canada allègue qu'elle n'a pas distingué ni identifié correctement un article prohibé. Transports Canada a ensuite suspendu l'annotation rayons X de son certificat d'agent de contrôle de la façon suivante :

En vertu du paragraphe 7.1(1) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, le ministre a décidé de suspendre votre document d'aviation canadien mentionné ci-dessus pour les raisons suivantes :

Le 18 janvier 2003, vers 12 h 50, au point de contrôle transfrontalier des passagers avant l'embarquement, soit à l'aérogare 2 de l'Aéroport international L. B. Pearson, Mississauga (Ontario), à la suite d'un essai d'infiltration effectué par Lori L. Lougheed, inspecteur de sûreté de Transports Canada, vous, en qualité d'agent de contrôle désigné par le ministre des Transports en vertu de l'article 4.7 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, en effectuant la fouille de bagages de cabine à l'aide de l'équipement radioscopique, n'avez pas démontré une utilisation correcte des techniques de fouille en utilisant l'équipement radioscopique lors d'une fouille de bagages de cabine. Conséquemment, vous n'avez pas trouvé une réplique d'un pistolet à main Glock 10 semi-automatique, qui avait été repérée par l'équipement radioscopique. Vous avez donc démontré que vous n'avez plus les qualifications nécessaires pour prendre les mesures appropriées concernant tous les biens des passagers susceptibles de représenter une menace à la sûreté de l'aviation civile. Les exigences concernant les agents de contrôle figurent au Cours pour préposés au contrôle des passagers avant l'embarquement (PCPE) en date du 1996.10.30 et dans les Normes de désignation des agents de contrôle sont citées aux alinéas 6 et 7 du Règlement canadien sur la sûreté aérienne, en date du 23 mars 2000.

Mme Budoo était en désaccord avec cette conclusion. Elle a fait une demande d'audience devant le Tribunal concernant cette affaire.

LES ÉVÉNEMENTS

Mme L. Lougheed est l'inspecteur de Transports Canada qui a effectué l'essai d'infiltration avec l'aide de deux collègues, MM. Bruce Hall et Shawn O'Connor.

M. Hall devait être passager d'un vol de Toronto en direction d'Atlanta. Il s'est proposé pour prendre part à l'essai à titre de passager de ligne aérienne. Une réplique d'un pistolet Glock 10 et un ordinateur portatif avaient été placés dans son bagage de cabine. À l'aérogare deux, M. Hall a été dirigé vers le point de contrôle, soit celui de la ligne 4, où Mme D. Budoo effectuait les fouilles au détecteur radioscopique et Mme Abdalla Hodman fouillait les bagages de cabine.

Mme Lougheed s'est placée près du point de contrôle afin observer l'essai. M. O'Connor accompagnait M. Hall dans la file.

Selon Mme Lougheed, le sac de M. Hall a été placé sur la courroie de l'appareil radioscopique et est ensuite entré dans la chambre de radioscopie. Mme Budoo a examiné les images radiographiques du sac et a utilisé la touche de l'appareil servant à agrandir l'image. Elle a ensuite passé le sac à travers la chambre et a demandé à Mme Hodman d'effectuer une fouille manuelle du sac. Mme Hodman s'est exécutée et a ouvert le sac pour le fouiller. L'essai a dès lors été interrompu.

L'image qui avait été visionnée par Mme Budoo est demeurée sur le moniteur visuel. Mme Lougheed a déclaré qu'elle pouvait voir l'image du Glock, des balles, le ressort du chargeur et la glissière de métal. L'image est demeurée sur le moniteur et de nombreuses autres personnes l'ont visionnée par la suite.

M. Hall a un souvenir différent de la séquence des événements reliés à l'appareil radioscopique. Après que le sac soit passé dans l'unité, un des agents de contrôle lui a demandé si celui-ci contenait un ordinateur. La personne qui avait posé cette question a ensuite entrepris une fouille manuelle du sac. Mme Lougheed et M. O'Connor lui ont demandé s'il voulait le voir sur la radiographie, ce à quoi il a répondu affirmativement. Ils ont pris le sac et l'ont repassé dans l'appareil. En visionnant cette image, M. Hall a déclaré que son contenu était évident. Il pouvait discerner trois cartouches et le ressort.

M. O'Connor a témoigné qu'il avait accompagné M. Hall pendant le processus de l'essai, sauf pendant que le sac traversait l'appareil radioscopique étant donné qu'il était derrière lui. Il l'a rejoint à l'équipement DTE où le sac a été fouillé à la main. L'essai a été marqué d'un échec et interrompu dès le début de la fouille à la main. Il a déclaré que le sac n'avait pas été repassé au détecteur radioscopique une deuxième fois.

En ce qui concerne l'image, il a vu trois balles, le ressort et la glissière. L'image était foncée, dense et métallique. Il a affirmé qu'il s'agissait de la même image qui avait été vue par l'agent de contrôle.

Mme Hodman effectuait les fouilles manuelles pendant le déroulement de l'essai. Elle dit qu'à ce moment-là, elle revenait tout juste d'une pause. Le sac était déjà à l'extérieur de la chambre quand elle est revenue. Mme Budoo lui a demandé de le fouiller. Quand elle a commencé à le faire, Mme Lougheed lui a dit d'arrêter.

Elle a dit qu'elle pouvait discerner les balles sur l'image du moniteur. Toutefois, elle était incapable de dire si cette image était l'originale ou la deuxième et elle ne pouvait se rappeler si le sac avait été réintroduit dans la chambre.

Mme Budoo a témoigné en son propre nom. Elle a déclaré qu'elle avait arrêté le sac dans la chambre lorsqu'elle a vu un objet foncé avec un ordinateur portatif. Elle a utilisé la fonction d'agrandissement de l'appareil radioscopique afin d'obtenir une meilleure image du contenu. L'image de l'ordinateur portatif était claire mais il y avait un objet foncé, peut-être une pile. Comme elle ne pouvait dire ce dont il s'agissait, elle a demandé à Mme Hodman de vérifier le sac. Lorsque Mme Hodman a commencé la fouille, on l'a interrompue.

Elle n'a pas vu le pistolet, ni aucune de ses composantes lorsque le sac était dans la chambre de radioscopie, ni par la suite lorsqu'elle l'a visionné de nouveau sur le moniteur.

Les personnes précédentes ont été témoins de l'essai d'infiltration. D'autres témoins ont été appelés mais aucun d'eux n'ont été témoins de l'essai. Chacun d'eux avait visionné l'image sur le moniteur, à la suite de l'événement.

M. Raj Singh, directeur de l'aérogare, avait été informé qu'un essai d'infiltration de certains employés avait été effectué et qu'un d'eux avait subi un échec. Il a déclaré qu'à l'instar de Mme Budoo, il avait aussi eu de la difficulté à voir l'image d'une arme sur le moniteur de l'appareil radioscopique. Il n'a pas vu de pistolet au début; il lui a fallu environ 30 secondes pour le reconstituer et enfin le reconnaître. Bien qu'il n'y ait pas de délai fixe au contrôleur qui visionne un objet, en pratique, ils n'ont que quelques secondes pour prendre une décision.

La preuve documentaire

Les règlements sur la sûreté prévoient que les agents de contrôle doivent respecter certaines normes minimales. Ces normes figurent aux Normes de désignation des agents de contrôle.

Le document prévoit que chaque agent de contrôle doit être capable d'effectuer certaines fonctions. Parmi les fonctions reliées à l'appareil radioscopique, l'agent de contrôle doit exécuter correctement les techniques de fouille reliées à l'utilisation de l'appareil, toutes les fonctions principales de l'appareil reliées à l'évaluation de l'image, à l'interprétation et à la distinction exactes de diverses images sur le moniteur radioscopique, à l'identification des biens des passagers qui représentent un danger pour la sûreté de l'aviation civile et ils doivent réagir correctement lorsqu'ils trouvent des armes ou d'autres effets prohibés.

La façon dont il convient de réagir lorsqu'on trouve une arme fait l'objet d'une partie du manuel de formation remis aux candidats au poste d'agents de contrôle.

Les exigences ont été exposées dans la preuve documentaire et attestées par Mme Lougheed qui est elle-même inspecteur pour évaluer le rendement des agents de contrôle; elles ont donc été prouvées à la satisfaction du Tribunal. Par ailleurs, l'agent de présentation de cas a examiné ces exigences et les étapes à la suite de l'identification d'une arme avec plusieurs des témoins. Ce type de questions n'était pas pertinent dans l'ensemble une fois les exigences établies, puisque la seule personne dont la compétence et la connaissance des procédures sont contestées est Mme Budoo. Que d'autres témoins soient au courant ou non est sans importance.

DISCUSSION

Il arrive souvent dans le cadre d'audiences du Tribunal, que les témoignages soient incompatibles ou contradictoires. La plupart du temps, le témoignage qui est incompatible ou contradictoire provient de parties dont les intérêts sont divergents. Souvent, ces contradictions peuvent être résolues par le choix d'un témoignage particulier par rapport à celui d'un autre ou par le manque de sincérité attribué à un témoignage.

Le dilemme auquel je suis confronté dans cette cause est relié à la preuve contradictoire présentée au sein même des témoins du ministre. Ces témoins faisaient tous partie de l'équipe d'essai d'infiltration. La contradiction repose sur la séquence des événements reliée au déroulement du sac dans le moniteur du détecteur radioscopique lors de l'essai et, de façon plus importante, l'image qui a été produite.

Mme Lougheed a témoigné que le sac n'est pas passé dans la chambre de radioscopie une deuxième fois. Toutefois, M. Hall avait des souvenirs différents. Après qu'il a traversé le point de contrôle, il a déclaré que Mme Lougheed et M. O'Connor lui ont demandé s'il désirait voir l'image radiographique et il a acquiescé. En d'autres mots, il a ensuite déclaré qu'ils ont pris le sac, qu'ils l'ont repassé et il est allé voir l'image par la suite.

Cette réponse a été donnée pendant l'interrogatoire. La contradiction n'a pas été relevée par l'agent de présentation de cas, pas plus qu'elle n'a été explorée ou contestée en contre-interrogatoire.

Avant le réinterrogatoire, j'ai demandé à M. Hall s'il avait dit qu'ils ont repassé le sac et qu'il avait ensuite vu cette image. Il a répondu «  oui  ». Il ne pouvait dire si l'image qu'il regardait était l'image recyclée ou non.

Le ministre n'a pas clarifié ou contesté le point en réinterrogatoire.

L'expérience de M. O'Connor était quelque peu différente. M. Hall avait subi l'essai et M. O'Connor est arrivé peu après. Il n'a pas vu le sac en question qui passait dans le détecteur radioscopique étant donné qu'il était derrière M. Hall, le rattrapant uniquement alors qu'on fouillait le sac. À ce moment-là, l'essai a été interrompu.

M. O'Connor a pu affirmer qu'il n'a pas fait passer le sac une deuxième fois et qu'il n'est pas repassé dans la chambre.

Toutefois, quand on lui a demandé si ce qu'il avait vu sur le moniteur était l'image originale et non une image secondaire, il a seulement pu dire que c'était ce qu'on lui avait dit mais qu'il n'était pas là.

Les autres témoins oculaires, les agents de contrôle, n'ont été d'aucune aide sur ce point. Mme Hodman, l'agent de contrôle qui vérifiait manuellement les bagages, ne pouvait dire si l'image qu'elle regardait était l'originale ou la secondaire. La question n'a pas été explorée avec Mme Budoo.

LA QUESTION EN LITIGE

L'image visionnée par Mme Budoo était-elle celle qui faisait l'objet d'un témoignage à cette audience?

Souvent, on peut résoudre un témoignage contradictoire en le rejetant en partie par manque de sincérité, par invraisemblance, ou pour toute autre raison. Dans la cause en l'espèce, je n'ai aucun doute quant à la sincérité des témoins. Mon observation et mon évaluation de leur comportement et de leur caractère ne m'ont pas amené à douter de ce que chacun avait à dire.

Par ailleurs, M. Hall se rappelle que le sac a été repassé dans l'appareil, ce qui indiquait que l'image qui avait alors été visionnée par lui et les autres n'était pas l'image qui avait été vue à l'origine par Mme Budoo. Voilà le fond de l'affaire.

L'importance de cette possibilité a été reconnue par M. O'Connor en contre-interrogatoire. Il avait déclaré que chaque essai est quelque peu différent, l'emplacement du sac dans la chambre de radioscopie peut être différent et qu'il y avait toutes sortes de variables.

Bien que j'aie conclu que personne n'a menti, il n'en reste pas moins que les témoignages diffèrent. Je dois conclure que le souvenir de certains est défaillant ou erroné. Malheureusement, je suis incapable d'affirmer qui est dans l'erreur, à partir de la preuve.

Étant donné que je suis incapable de trouver qui est dans l'erreur, il en résulte que le ministre n'a pas établi le bien-fondé de sa cause.

J'en suis venu à la conclusion de renvoyer la cause au ministre en raison de la question soulevée ci-dessus mais je suis aussi en proie à un deuxième dilemme sur lequel je n'ai pas été obligé de conclure.

L'image qui apparaissait sur le moniteur du détecteur radioscopique n'a malheureusement pas été présentée en preuve. Il serait fort utile au Tribunal de pouvoir revoir ce que l'agent de contrôle a visionné.

Faute de visionner une telle preuve matérielle, le conseiller doit s'appuyer sur le témoignage relatif à ce que l'image révèle.

Or la cause en l'espèce pose un problème quant à ce type de référence. Les divers témoins ont des points de vue fort différents concernant ce que l'image révélait.

Mme Lougheed a déclaré à maintes reprises que l'image était claire. Elle a déclaré qu'elle pouvait voir trois balles, le ressort du chargeur et la glissière de métal. Pendant le contre-interrogatoire, elle a ajouté qu'elle pouvait aussi voir la détente.

M. O'Connor a témoigné qu'il a vu trois balles, le ressort et la glissière du pistolet. M. Hall a distingué le ressort et trois cartouches.

Les témoins qui ne faisaient pas partie du personnel de Transports Canada n'ont pas été aussi empressés de déclarer que l'image était «  claire  ».

Mme Budoo, après avoir vu le sac dans la chambre et avoir revu l'image sur le moniteur, n'a jamais reconnu l'image d'un pistolet. Sa collègue de travail, Mme Hodman a été capable d'identifier les balles. Leur superviseur, M. R. Singh, nous a dit qu'il lui a fallu un certain temps pour reconstituer l'image. Au début, il a vu uniquement un objet foncé et dense.

Mme Lougheed était d'avis que les superviseurs peuvent être réticents à reconnaître qu'ils ont vu l'image étant donné qu'ils peuvent être responsables de ceux qu'ils supervisent. D'autre part, il se peut que l'équipe d'infiltration soit prédisposée à voir ce dont elle connaît la présence.

À tout événement, les divers témoignages concernant ce que l'image a révélé étaient tout sauf clairs, ce qui montre qu'un examen objectif de l'image radiographique en question, si elle est accessible, serait précieux.

CONCLUSION

Je renvoie le dossier au ministre pour réexamen.

Allister Ogilvie
Vice-président
Tribunal d'appel des transports du Canada