Decisions

TATC File No. O-2833-37
MoT File No. PAP5504-049791

TRANSPORTATION APPEAL TRIBUNAL OF CANADA

BETWEEN:

Minister of Transport, Applicant

- and -

Brampton Flying Club, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. A-2, s. 7.7
Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96-433, s. 605.03(1)(a)


Review Determination
Richard F. Willems


Decision: March 2, 2004

The Minister has proven each element of the offence. Therefore, Brampton Flying Club did contravene paragraph 605.03(1)(a) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations. I uphold the monetary penalty of $1,250.00 imposed by the Minister. That amount is to be made payable to the Receiver General for Canada and must be received by the Tribunal within fifteen days of service of this determination.

A review hearing on the above matter was held Tuesday, January 20, 2004 at 10:00 hours at the Four Points Hotel in Mississauga, Ontario.

BACKGROUND

On June 22, 2002, C-GJSY was flown from Pembroke to Brampton with five persons on board. Transport Canada conducted a regulatory audit between November 18 and 27, 2002. It revealed that the flight had been made after a hydraulic line had been replaced with a non approved line which according to Transport Canada rendered the certificate of airworthiness invalid.

The Brampton Flying Club was charged under paragraph 605.03(1)(a) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs) which states in part that:

605.03 (1) No person shall operate an aircraft in flight unless

(a) a flight authority is in effect in respect of the aircraft;

EVIDENCE

The Minister's Exhibit M-1 is the journey log for C-GJSY. It indicates the log entry dated June 22, 2002 which states "Hydraulic system inspected, hydraulic line from left hand engine check valve to filter, found bad pin holes in line, hydraulic line installed in that position and ground run, serviceable, no leaks noted. Aircraft serviceable for ferry flight from Pembroke to Brampton only."

The next page of the journey log indicates the flight took place on June 22, 2002 from Pembroke to Brampton, the crew being Wynott and Jacobs, departing 17:44 arriving 19:06, with a total of five persons on board.

Exhibits M-4 and M-6 provide the information that the Brampton Flying Club is the owner and operator of C-GJSY, and that Richard Charles Wynott holds the following positions at that company:

(1) Chief Flying Instructor

(2) Chief Pilot

(3) Operations Manager

Exhibit M-5 is the certificate of airworthiness which was in force on June 22, 2002. Paragraph 6 of the certificate states "The aircraft identified above shall be maintained and certified in accordance with the applicable requirements of the Canadian Aviation Regulations."

Exhibits M-2 and M-3 show us the process of the audit team, in finding the log entry for the hydraulic line change, and subsequent to the finding, the interview with the maintenance manager where he explains to them that the defective metal hydraulic line had been replaced with a flexible line removed from a Cessna 100 series for the flight; and that an application had not been made to Transport Canada for a flight permit.

Exhibit M-7 is a registered letter advising the Brampton lying Club of the possible violation of subsection 605.03(l), and invites them to respond; however, they are advised that they are not obliged to respond and that if they do, the statement made will be used as evidence in this case.

Exhibits M-8 and M-9 address Brampton Flying Club's response. It describes the events of June 22, 2002 as viewed by Rick Rantz, Director of Maintenance. It enlightens us to the thought process and procedures used to solve the problem on June 22, 2002. He has no problem with the allegation that a flexible line from a Cessna 100 series was installed on C-GJSY. Exhibit M-10 identifies the hydraulic line in question.

Exhibit M-11 is of particular interest. Mr. Dwayne Ayres from Cessna Product Support advises that a different line could possibly be used for a ferry flight as long as it was determined how much pressure the line could withstand. He stated that there is a pressure test outlined in the maintenance manual to do a pressure test on the system. This test involves taking the pressure up to approximately 3,000 psi in order to check the lines.

Exhibits M-13 and M-14 confirm the fact that the manufacturer of C-GJSY states there is no alternate part number for this aluminum line. M-14 also indicates that installation of a flex line to replace the aluminum line would require a supplemental type certificate.

Transport Canada Inspector Miller tells us that in order to have the certificate of airworthiness in effect, only approved parts can be installed, and that the flex line was not approved.

Mr. Chiu, an aircraft maintenance engineer (AME) and shop manager for Leggat Aviation, under cross-examination stated that the line could only be replaced with a line with the same part number.

Exhibit M-12 supports the fact that a flight permit was not applied for or issued with regard to the flight in question.

The Brampton Flying Club's exhibits D-1 thru D-7 were accepted at the hearing. None of them go to the events of the day in question; consequently, I will not give them any consideration. They do however provide some insight to the flying club's very positive policy on training and safety.

DISCUSSION

Do we know that an unapproved hydraulic line was installed on C-GJSY, which caused the certificate of airworthiness to be invalid? Exhibit M-1 shows us the log entry made by the AME stating that new hydraulic line had been installed. In a letter to Inspector Miller (Exhibit M-9), Mr. Rantz states that the failed line in the stub wing had been replaced with a serviceable flexible line from a Cessna 100 series aircraft. Exhibit M-14, a letter from the manufacturer, states that only approved parts can be used.

Exhibit M-l shows us that the aircraft was then flown from Pembroke to Brampton by Captain Wynott. These events took place on June 22, 2002. We also know that a flight permit had not been applied for, or issued. This is based on Exhibit M-12. Exhibits M-4 and M-6 show us the aircraft in question is owned and operated by the Brampton Flying Club, and that Captain Wynott is one of the officers of the company.

The Minister has proven all elements of the case.

SANCTION

The Brampton Flying Club does not dispute that all the events took place; however, they do take exception to some of the policies and procedures of Transport Canada.

The Brampton Flying Club submits that they have been harshly dealt with because this is a first offence, and by Transport Canada's own admission, has a good maintenance record, cooperated during the audit and this investigation. They also referred to the problem of the time needed to obtain a ferry permit, especially on a weekend.

In their view the hydraulic line installed did not take away from the safety of the flight later that day. The decision to change the line was made by company personnel which included the Director of Maintenance and the AME with 25 years in the industry, who did the work.

According to Mr. Ayres from Cessna Product, a different hydraulic line could be installed for a ferry flight as long as it could be determined how much pressure the line could withstand, and the pressure test outlined in the maintenance manual followed. None of this was done, and proves fatal in the decision process used by the Brampton Flying Club.

DETERMINATION

The Minister has proven each element of the offence. Therefore, Brampton Flying Club did contravene paragraph 605.03(1)(a) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations. I uphold the monetary penalty of $1,250.00 imposed by the Minister.

Richard F. Willems
Member
Transportation Appeal Tribunal of Canada

Décisions

Dossier no O-2833-37 (TATC)
Dossier no PAP5504-049791 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL D'APPEL DES TRANSPORTS DU CANADA

ENTRE :

Ministre des Transports, requérant(e)

- et -

Brampton Flying Club, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, c. A-2, art. 7.7
Règlement de l'aviation canadien, DORS/96-433, art. 605.03(1)a)


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Richard F. Willems


Décision : le 2 mars 2004

TRADUCTION

Le ministre a prouvé chaque élément de l'infraction. En conséquence, Brampton Flying Club a effectivement contrevenu à l'alinéa 605.03(1)a) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien. Je maintiens l'amende de 1 250 $ imposée par le ministre. Ce montant est payable au Receveur général du Canada et doit parvenir au Tribunal dans les quinze jours de la signification de cette décision.

Une audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le mardi 20 janvier 2004 à 10 h à l'Hôtel Four Points de Mississauga (Ontario).

HISTORIQUE

Le 22 juin 2002, le C-GJSY a été piloté de Pembroke à Brampton avec cinq personnes à bord. Transports Canada a effectué une vérification réglementaire entre le 18 et le 27 novembre 2002. La vérification a révélé que le vol avait été effectué après le remplacement de la conduite hydraulique par une conduite non approuvée ce qui, selon Transports Canada, invalidait le certificat de navigabilité.

Brampton Flying Club a été accusée en vertu de l'alinéa 605.03(1)a) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC) qui prévoit en partie :

605.03 (1) Il est interdit d'utiliser un aéronef en vol, à moins que les conditions suivantes ne soient respectées :

a) une autorité de vol à l'égard de l'aéronef est en vigueur;

LA PREUVE

La pièce M-1 du ministre est le carnet de route du C-GJSY. L'inscription au carnet de route en date du 22 juin 2002 indique : «  Système hydraulique inspecté, vérification de la conduite hydraulique du côté gauche du clapet anti-retour du moteur au filtre, avons décelé piqûres dans la conduite, conduite hydraulique installée dans cette position et roulement au sol, en bon état de service, n'avons remarqué aucun écoulement. L'aéronef est en bon état de service, uniquement pour vol de convoyage de Pembroke à Brampton  ».

La page suivante du carnet de route indique que le vol a eu lieu le 22 juin 2002, de Pembroke à Brampton, que l'équipage était composé de Wynott et Jacobs; ils sont partis à 17 h 44 et sont arrivés à 19 h 06. Il y avait, au total, cinq personnes à bord.

Les pièces M-4 et M-6 fournissent des informations selon lesquelles Brampton Flying Club est propriétaire et exploitant du C-GJSY et Richard Charles Wynott occupe les fonctions suivantes dans la compagnie :

  1. chef-instructeur de vol
  2. pilote en chef
  3. gestionnaire des opérations

La pièce M-5 est le certificat de navigabilité qui était en vigueur le 22 juin 2002. L'alinéa 6 du certificat prévoit : «  L'aéronef ci-haut mentionné est entretenu et certifié conformément aux exigences pertinentes du Règlement de l'aviation canadien  ».

Les pièces M-2 et M-3 démontrent les démarches de l'équipe de vérification, après la constatation de l'inscription au carnet concernant le changement de la conduite hydraulique, soit l'interrogatoire du gestionnaire de la maintenance qui leur explique que la conduite hydraulique métallique défectueuse avait été remplacée par une conduite flexible provenant d'un Cessna 100 pour le vol et qu'aucune demande de permis de vol n'a été faite à Transports Canada.

La pièce M-7 est une lettre recommandée pour aviser Brampton Flying Club d'une contravention possible au paragraphe 605.03(l) et qui l'invite à donner suite; toutefois, elle est avisée et elle n'est pas obligée de donner suite et, si elle le fait, la déclaration sera utilisée comme preuve dans cette cause.

Les pièces M-8 et M-9 concernent la réponse de Brampton Flying Club. Elle décrit les événements du 22 juin 2002, du point de vue de Rick Rantz, gestionnaire de la maintenance. La description nous éclaire sur le processus et les procédures utilisées pour résoudre le problème, le 22 juin 2002. Il ne proteste pas contre l'allégation selon laquelle une conduite flexible d'un Cessna 100 a été installée sur le C-GJSY. La pièce M-10 identifie la conduite hydraulique en question.

La pièce M-11 présente un intérêt particulier. M. Dwayne Ayres de Cessna Product Support est d'avis qu'une conduite différente pourrait être utilisée pour un vol de convoyage pourvu qu'on détermine la quantité de pression que la conduite peut supporter. Il a déclaré que le manuel de maintenance cite un test de pression servant à vérifier la pression du système. Pour effectuer ce test, il faut monter la pression à environ 3 000 psi afin de vérifier les conduites.

Les pièces M-13 et M-14 corroborent l'affirmation du constructeur du C-GJSY selon laquelle il n'y a pas de numéro de pièce de rechange pour cette conduite en aluminium. De plus, M-14 indique que l'installation d'une conduite flexible pour remplacer la conduite en aluminium nécessiterait un certificat de type supplémentaire.

L'inspecteur Miller de Transports Canada nous dit que pour avoir un certificat de navigabilité valide, seules les pièces approuvées peuvent être installées et la conduite flexible n'était pas approuvée.

M. Chiu, technicien d'entretien d'aéronef (TEA) et chef d'atelier chez Leggat Aviation, a déclaré en contre-interrogatoire que la conduite pouvait uniquement être remplacée par une conduite portant le même numéro de pièce.

La pièce M-12 confirme qu'aucun permis de vol n'a été demandé ou délivré pour le vol en question.

Les pièces de Brampton Flying Club, D-1 à D-7, ont été admises à l'audience. Aucune d'elles ne correspond aux événements du jour en question. En conséquence, je ne les prendrai pas en considération. Par ailleurs elles donnent un aperçu des politiques très positives du club de vol sur la formation et la sécurité.

DISCUSSION

Savons-nous qu'une conduite hydraulique non approuvée a été installée sur le C-GJSY, ce qui a invalidé le certificat de navigabilité ? La pièce M-1 nous montre que l'inscription dans le carnet effectuée par le TEA déclare qu'une nouvelle conduite hydraulique avait été installée. Dans une lettre à l'inspecteur Miller (pièce M-9), M. Rantz déclare que la ligne défectueuse dans le moignon d'aile a été remplacée par une conduite flexible en bon état de service provenant d'un aéronef Cessna 100. La pièce M-14, une lettre du constructeur, déclare que seules les pièces approuvées peuvent être utilisées.

La pièce M-l nous montre que l'aéronef a par la suite été piloté de Pembroke à Brampton par le commandant Wynott. Ces événements ont eu lieu le 22 juin 2002. Nous savons de plus, par la pièce M-12, qu'un permis de vol n'avait pas été demandé ou délivré. Les pièces M-4 et M-6 nous montrent que l'aéronef en question appartient et est exploité par Brampton Flying Club et que le commandant Wynott fait partie des administrateurs de la compagnie.

Le ministre a prouvé tous les éléments de la cause.

LA PEINE

Brampton Flying Club ne conteste pas que tous les événements ont eu lieu; par ailleurs, il soulève une objection quant à certaines politiques et procédures de Transports Canada.

Brampton Flying Club plaide qu'elle a été traitée sévèrement parce qu'il s'agit d'une première infraction et, que de l'aveu même de Transports Canada, son dossier de maintenance est bon et elle a collaboré au moment de la vérification et de l'enquête. Elle a de plus fait référence au problème relatif au délai nécessaire pour obtenir un permis de convoyage, en particulier la fin de semaine.

Selon elle, la conduite hydraulique installée n'a pas entravé la sécurité du vol qui a eu lieu plus tard ce jour-là. La décision de changer la conduite a été faite par le personnel de la compagnie, notamment le gestionnaire de la maintenance et le TEA, lequel compte 25 ans d'expérience dans le domaine et a effectué le travail.

Selon M. Ayres, de Cessna Product, une conduite hydraulique différente pouvait être installée pour un vol de convoyage pourvu qu'il soit possible de déterminer quelle quantité de pression la conduite peut supporter et respecter le test de pression indiqué dans le manuel de maintenance. Le fait que rien de tout cela n'ait été effectué constitue une erreur de décision fatale de la part de Brampton Flying Club.

DÉCISION

Le ministre a prouvé chaque élément de l'infraction. Donc, Brampton Flying Club a effectivement contrevenu à l'alinéa 605.03(1)a) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien. Je maintiens l'amende de 1 250 $ imposée par le ministre.

Richard F. Willems
Conseiller
Tribunal d'appel des transports du Canada