Decisions

TATC File No. O-2991-33
MoT File No. PAP5504-051305

TRANSPORTATION APPEAL TRIBUNAL OF CANADA

BETWEEN:

Patrick J. J. Tillaart, Applicant

- and -

Minister of Transport, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96-433, s. 602.01

Negligent or reckless operation of an aircraft


Review Determination
Philip D. Jardim


Decision: September 14, 2004

Mr. Patrick Tillaart did contravene section 602.01 of the Canadian Aviation Regulations. He is guilty of both negligence and recklessness on each of the two counts; therefore, I confirm the penalty of $1,000 for each of the two counts. The total penalty of $2,000 must be paid to the Receiver General for Canada and received by the Tribunal within thirty five days of service of this determination.

A review hearing on the above matter was held Tuesday, August 17, 2004 at 10:00 hours at the Courthouse, in Peterborough, Ontario.

BACKGROUND

On July 9, 2003, Mr. Patrick Tillaart was the pilot-in-command of Cessna 150, C-GXID. In the course of his flights Mr. Tillaart flew over the farm of the Knox family, taking aerial photographs. It is alleged by the farmer, Mr. Knox, that the aeroplane flew low enough as to rattle the windows in his farmhouse, such that he could clearly read the registration marks on the wing as C-GXID. Mr. Knox observed the aircraft doing steep turns and climbs such that he was alarmed that the aircraft was out of control. Using his 70-foot high silos as a reference, Mr. Knox estimates the height of the aircraft was as low as 200 feet. Further, Mr. Knox was concerned that the aircraft was endangering his family, property and dairy herd. He filed telephone and written reports with Transport Canada.

On the same day, Lindsay Airport received other unspecified complaints about a low flying aircraft and confirmed that C-GXID was operating from there. At that time, there was also an Air Cadet training programme in progress at Lindsay Airport. It was being conducted by the Kawartha Lakes Flight Centre, using Cessna 152 aircraft. The chief flight instructor, Mr. Mark Brereton, also complained to Transport Canada about the conduct of Mr. Tillaart in the circuit at Lindsay. He is alleged to have taken off on a reciprocal runway, 31, to the runway in use, 13, and having to turn sharply at low level to avoid a collision with another aircraft approaching on 13. Further, Mr. Tillaart is alleged to have entered the aerodrome circuit and, in violation of approved circuit procedure, cut off other Air Cadet aircraft in the circuit by doing a steep descending turn to the runway in use and landing ahead of them.

Transport Canada conducted an investigation into these incidents and fined Mr. Tillaart $1,000 on each of two counts, totalling $2,000, for violation of section 602.01 of the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs) – recklessness or negligence. Mr. Tillaart did not pay the fine and applied to the Tribunal for a review hearing.

THE LAW

Section 602.01 of the CARs states:

No person shall operate an aircraft in such a reckless or negligent manner as to endanger or be likely to endanger the life or property of any person.

EVIDENCE

The Minister brought five witnesses to the hearing, including the investigating inspector, Mr. Jeff McEvoy. The Minister also sought to qualify Mr. Lindsay Cadenhead, a flight test examiner, as an expert on aerodrome circuit procedures. I accepted his credentials and experience and Mr. Tillaart did not object. There were no pre-hearing agreements, and Mr. Tillaart acknowledged that he had received full disclosure.

While the Minister was producing evidence to prove that Mr. Tillaart was the pilot of the C-GXID at the times in question, Mr. Tillaart readily admitted that he was indeed flying that aircraft on July 9, 2003 at the times stipulated.

Mr. John Knox, the farmer who reported the low and dangerous flying over his farm on July 9, 2003, read from his letter of complaint. He further confirmed that he felt for the safety of his family, animals and property on that day and immediately reported the incident to Transport Canada. His letter is articulate (Exhibit M-7) and he is a credible witness. Mr. Knox testified that on the first of three passes, the aircraft rattled the windows in his house. The family was assembled at a birthday lunch for his five-year-old daughter — the noise was loud enough that his son thought that a motorcycle had ridden into the yard. On the third pass he went outside to see what was happening; he saw the aircraft coming from the east, appearing to be climbing, and that it went over them at approximately 200 feet. They could clearly read the registration letters C-GXID and estimated the height of the aircraft as three times the height of his 70-foot silos — approximately 200 feet. The aircraft performed a series of manoeuvres including steep turns, climbs and "wobbling its wings." This created an impression with him that the aircraft was almost out of control.

In cross-examination by Mr. Tillaart it was revealed that Mr. Knox had subsequently bought photographs taken during that flight from Mr. Ghassan Chehadi who is Mr. Tillaart's employer — Homestead Aerial Photography. It seems that Mr. Knox did not realize that the photographs that he had bought were taken during that flight on July 9, 2003. In answer to Mr. Shimmin's re-direct, he said that he would not have bought them had he known who had taken them. Mr. Tillaart produced an invoice to prove that the photographs were indeed bought by Mr. Knox from his company.

The next witness was Mr. Mark Brereton. He was chief flight instructor of the Kawartha Lakes Flight Centre, and acting manager of the Lindsay Airport on July 9, 2003. Mr. Brereton had written a report to Transport Canada about incidents arising at Lindsay between July 9 and 14, 2003 involving Mr. Tillaart and C-GXID. This report involved the events listed in count 2 of the charge by Transport Canada against Mr. Tillaart, in addition to other incidents arising out of his (Tillaart's) presence at Lindsay during the period July 9 to 14, 2003.

Specifically, Mr. Tillaart took off from the reciprocal runway 31 to that in use (13) and headed directly at an approaching Cessna 152 which was on ½ mile final for 13. Mr. Tillaart had to execute a steep turn to the right immediately after becoming airborne to avoid colliding with the landing aircraft. Further, at another time on July 9, 2003, Mr. Tillaart entered the circuit from the east while there were three other Air Cadet Cessna 150's in the circuit ahead of him. He proceeded to fly an extremely tight circuit inside of the other aircraft, one of which was on ¾ mile final approach for runway 31. He executed a steep descending turn and landed in front of the approaching aircraft, thereby cutting it off. Mr. Brereton witnessed these events from the apron of the airport. Mr. Brereton was listening to the UNICOM frequency and heard transmissions from the balked aircraft to C-GXID (see Exhibits M–8, M–9 and M–10).

Mr. Brereton had words with Mr. Tillaart on a number of occasions during this period, advising him that residents in the Fenelon Falls area had phoned in reports of his flying at 200 feet over their properties and some had reported him to the OPP. Mr. Brereton also admonished Mr. Tillaart for his dangerous practices in the circuit at Lindsay, including those mentioned in count 2 of the Notice of Assessment of Monetary Penalty, dated February 24, 2004. Mr. Brereton suggested to Mr. Tillaart that he should leave the airport and not return.

In his cross-examination of Mr. Brereton, Mr. Tillaart denied that there was an aircraft on ½ mile final for 13 when he took off on 31. He also denied seeing any aircraft in the circuit or hearing any radio transmissions protesting at his actions.

Major Terry Bremner was in charge of the Air Cadets. He had made a report to Transport Canada on August 12, 2003 about the incidents involving Mr. Tillaart at Lindsay the week of August 9, 2003. He generally confirmed Mr. Brereton's evidence. However he was of the opinion that the tight circuit landing infraction took place on runway 13 rather than 31. It seemed that Major Bremner was somewhat disoriented and confused about the layout of Lindsay Airport. Mr. Shimmin made no attempt to try to orient him by the use of a diagram. While this appears to be a contradiction in evidence I believe that the witness was confused. The all-important observation was that he saw Mr. Tillaart in C-GXID cut off the other aircraft in the circuit by making a steep descending turn to the button of the runway. Major Bremner expressed concern at the poor airmanship example that Mr. Tillaart was giving to the Air Cadets. He was most concerned about their safety and regarded Mr. Tillaart as a threat.

Mr. Lindsay Cadenhead was the Minister's expert witness. He explained circuit procedures in detail, referring to the A.I.P. Canada[1] and the Flight Training Manual[2]. He described the actions of Mr. Tillaart as dangerous, reckless and irresponsible. Mr. Tillaart cross-examined him about gliding as opposed to power approaches and the relative safety of a gliding approach compared to a powered approach. It seemed that Mr. Tillaart was attempting to justify his steep descent to the runway as a gliding approach in the interests of safety.

Mr. Tillaart took the stand and was sworn. He denied flying at 200 feet over the Knox farm. He produced calculations (Exhibit D-14) and a photograph (D-15) he took of the farm to attempt to prove that the photograph could not have been taken at 200 feet. Whether Mr. Tillaart's calculations are accurate or not, this photograph was taken at 1/2000 second and only represents a minuscule time during his flight over the farm. There is also no way of confirming exactly when the photograph was taken.

Mr. Tillaart also introduced his employer, Mr. Ghassan Chehadi, as his witness. Mr. Chehadi is the owner of Homestead Aerial Photography. He supported Mr. Tillaart's assertion that the camera used, which was brought to the hearing, could not have taken the photograph from 200 feet. Mr. Tillaart's calculations say that the photograph had to have been taken from 700 feet. This denial flies in the face of credible eyewitness testimony from Mr. Knox.

Mr. Tillaart asserts that Mr. Knox is lying. He also points out that there are no cattle visible in the photograph. He says that he is an expert on aircraft spooking cattle and denies that this occurred. He also asserts that Major Bremner's testimony is untrue and unjustified.

Mr. Tillaart introduced an email that he had sent to Mr. David Bland, Regional Manager, Aviation Enforcement, following the receipt of the Notice of Assessment of Monetary Penalty, dated February 24, 2004. Mr. Tillaart read the letter as evidence to the hearing (Exhibit D-17). This letter reiterates Mr. Tillaart's denial that he committed any infraction.

Credibility

We have an issue of credibility to resolve here. On the one hand there are witnesses from Transport Canada who I find fully credible, because they are consistent and have no reason to fabricate evidence against Mr. Tillaart. While there is a contradiction in Major Bremner's testimony, compared with Mr. Brereton's regarding the runway on which the landing took place, I ascribe this to a lack of orientation by Major Bremner. He is a credible person. Other than this explicable exception, all of the Minister's witnesses corroborated one another. There is also evidence in the written statements of both Messrs Brereton and Bremner that Mr. Tillaart was persistently irresponsible at the Lindsay aerodrome over a five-day period, between July 9 and 14, 2003.

The fact that Mr. Knox bought a photograph of his farm which had been taken by Mr. Tillaart is not an issue, as it does not alter the fact that there was dangerous low flying which rattled the windows of the Knox farmhouse.

Mr. Tillaart denies both infractions. He has also accused the Transport Canada witnesses of lying. After careful consideration, I cannot accept his denial. I do not believe him. His evidence is unsubstantiated, and the calculations he has done do not go to prove that he never flew lower than 700 feet. The photograph tendered was taken at an instant (1/2000 sec). There was no evidence to prove exactly when the photo was taken (Exhibit D-15). Further, it is unlikely that Mr. Knox could have read the registration marks at 700 feet. There was evidence in Messrs Brereton's and Bremner's statements that complaints had been received from other farmers in the Fenelon Falls area, including a local councillor. These complainants were all reported to have identified C-GXID.

DECISION

The Minister has charged Mr. Tillaart with negligence or recklessness. These are defined in the Canadian Law Dictionary from the Tribunal case of Newburg v. MoT[3] as follows:

Negligence: Negligence is the omitting to do something that a reasonable [person] would do or the doing something which a reasonable [person] would not do... It is really the absence of such care as it was the duty of the defendant to use...

Reckless: Marked by a lack of proper caution; careless of the consequences. In some cases the term insinuates more than carelessness, even going as far as to imply wilfulness. In this context the meaning may be indifferent to the consequences, mindless, not caring; very negligent; advertent negligence where the consequence was foreseen as possible but not desired. Reckless means grossly careless... the doing of something which in fact involves a risk, whether the doer realizes it or not.

Count 1. I find that Mr. Tillaart's flight over the Knox farm was both negligent and reckless. His actions endangered the lives, property and livestock of Mr. Knox and so alarmed the farmer that he said that he immediately called to report the incident. He flew low enough to rattle the windows of the farmhouse on his first pass; this suggests that he may have been even lower than 200 feet on this first approach. This is highly unnecessary, in violation of the regulations and reckless. Further, on his second and third approaches he was unnecessarily putting life and property at risk. He claims to be highly aware of possible engine failure, hence his steep gliding approaches to the runway, while here, he pays no heed to its possibility at low level over people and their property.

Count 2. I find Mr. Tillaart's disregard for the inexperienced Air Cadets in training at Lindsay and his flouting of safe circuit procedures are inexcusable. I do not accept his denial that he neither saw the other aircraft nor heard radio transmissions from the instructors accompanying them. He knew that there was training taking place in the circuit at Lindsay, yet he not only flouted the circuit procedures, but in doing so endangered his own life and those of the cadets who he cut off. He is certainly guilty of both negligence and recklessness on this count.

It is unfortunate that he does not seem to accept or care that he endangered and annoyed other people by his actions. Had he indicated some remorse for his actions, there would have been some room for leniency. In the circumstances therefore I have to confirm the substantial fine of $1,000 for each of the two counts of the charge against him, totalling $2,000.00.

Philip D. Jardim
Member
Transportation Appeal Tribunal of Canada


[1] Aeronautical Information Publication.

[2] Transport Canada Aviation Flight Training Manual, 4th edition.

[3] Jason R. Newburg v. Minister of Transport, CAT File No. O-0415-02.

Décisions

Dossier no O-2991-33 (TATC)
Dossier no PAP5504-051305 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL D'APPEL DES TRANSPORTS DU CANADA

ENTRE :

Patrick J. J. Tillaart, requérant(e)

- et -

Ministre des Transports, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Règlement de l'aviation canadien, DORS/96-433, art. 602.01

Utilisation négligente d'un aéronef de façon imprudente ou négligente


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Philip D. Jardim


Décision : le 14 septembre 2004

TRADUCTION

M. Tillaart a effectivement contrevenu à l'article 602.01 du Règlement de l'aviation canadien. Il est coupable de négligence et d'imprudence pour chacun des deux chefs d'accusation; donc, je confirme l'amende de 1 000 $ pour chacun des deux chefs d'accusation. L'amende totale de 2 000 $ doit être payée au Receveur général du Canada et doit parvenir au Tribunal dans les trente cinq jours de la signification de cette décision.

Une audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le mardi 17 août 2004 à 10 h au palais de justice, à Peterborough (Ontario).

HISTORIQUE

Le 9 juillet 2003, M. Patrick Tillaart était commandant de bord du Cessna 150, C-GXID. Au cours de ses vols, M. Tillaart a survolé la ferme de la famille Knox afin de prendre des photographies aériennes. Le fermier, M. Knox, a prétendu que l'avion avait volé suffisamment bas pour faire vibrer les fenêtres de la maison et qu'il était possible de lire clairement les marques d'immatriculation C-GXID sur l'aile. M. Knox a vu l'aéronef effectuer des virages serrés et des montées au point qu'il craignait que l'aéronef soit hors contrôle. En utilisant ses silos de 70 pieds comme référence, M. Knox estime que l'aéronef était à une hauteur aussi basse que 200 pieds. De plus, M. Knox craignait que l'aéronef mette en danger sa famille, ses biens et son troupeau laitier. Il a téléphoné et présenté des rapports écrits à Transports Canada.

Le même jour, l'aéroport Lindsay a reçu d'autres plaintes non identifiées concernant un aéronef qui volait à basse altitude et il a été confirmé que le C-GXID était utilisé à partir de là. Au même moment, un programme de formation des Cadets de l'Air était en cours à l'aéroport Lindsay. Le programme était dirigé par le Kawartha Lakes Flight Centre, sur un aéronef Cessna 152. Le chef-instructeur de vol, M. Mark Brereton, s'est de plus plaint à Transports Canada au sujet de la conduite de M. Tillaart sur le circuit de Lindsay. On allègue qu'il a décollé d'une piste inverse, la 31, jusqu'à la piste en service, la 13, et qu'il a dû tourner abruptement à basse altitude pour éviter une collision avec un autre aéronef en approche sur la 13. De plus, on allègue que M. Tillaart est entré sur le circuit de l'aérodrome et que, contrevenant aux procédures de circuit approuvées, il a coupé l'autre aéronef des Cadets de l'Air sur le circuit en effectuant un virage en descente serré sur la piste en service et en atterrissant devant lui.

Transports Canada a effectué une enquête sur ces incidents et a imposé une amende de 1 000 $ à M. Tillaart sur chacun des deux chefs d'accusation, soit un total de 2 000 $, en contravention à l'article 602.01 du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC) – imprudence ou négligence. M. Tillaart n'a pas payé l'amende et a demandé une audience en révision au Tribunal.

LA LOI

L'article 602.01 du RAC prévoit :

Il est interdit d'utiliser un aéronef d'une manière imprudente ou négligente qui constitue ou risque de constituer un danger pour la vie ou les biens de toute personne.

LA PREUVE

Le ministre a cité cinq témoins à l'audience, y compris l'inspecteur chargé de l'enquête, M. Jeff McEvoy. Le ministre a de plus cherché à faire reconnaître M. Lindsay Cadenhead, un examinateur de test en vol, comme expert en procédures de circuits d'aérodrome. J'ai accepté ses références et son expérience et M. Tillaart ne s'est pas objecté. Il n'y a eu aucune entente préalable à l'audience et M. Tillaart a reconnu qu'il avait reçu une communication complète de la preuve.

Lorsque le ministre a présenté une preuve attestant que M. Tillaart pilotait le C-GXID aux heures en question, M. Tillaart a admis avec empressement qu'il pilotait effectivement l'aéronef, le 9 juillet 2003, aux heures mentionnées.

M. John Knox, le fermier qui a rapporté le vol dangereux à basse altitude au-dessus de sa ferme, le 9 juillet 2003, a cité des extraits de sa lettre de plainte. Il a par la suite confirmé qu'il s'était inquiété de la sécurité de sa famille, de ses animaux et de ses biens ce jour-là et qu'il a immédiatement rapporté l'incident à Transports Canada. Sa lettre est percutante (pièce M-7) et il constitue un témoin crédible. M. Knox a témoigné que lors du premier des trois passages, l'aéronef a fait vibrer les fenêtres de la maison. La famille était rassemblée à l'occasion d'un repas d'anniversaire pour les cinq ans de sa fille — le bruit était si fort que son fil a pensé qu'il y avait une moto dans la cour. Au troisième passage, il est allé à l'extérieur voir ce qui se passait; il a vu l'aéronef en provenance de l'est qui semblait monter et qui s'est dirigé au-dessus d'eux, à environ 200 pieds. Ils pouvaient clairement lire les lettres d'immatriculation C-GXID et ils ont estimé que l'aéronef était à une hauteur équivalente à trois fois celle de son silo de 70 pieds — soit approximativement à 200 pieds. L'aéronef a effectué une série de manœuvres, y compris des virages serrés, des montées et des « oscillations d'ailes », ce qui lui a donné l'impression que l'aéronef était quasiment hors contrôle.

Contre-interrogé par M. Tillaart, on a révélé que M. Knox avait par la suite acheté les photographies prises pendant ce vol de M. Ghassan Chehadi qui est l'employeur de M. Tillaart — Homestead Aerial Photography. Il semble que M. Knox n'avait pas réalisé que les photographies qu'il avait achetées avaient été prises pendant le vol du 9 juillet 2003. En réponse au réinterrogatoire de M. Shimmin, il a dit qu'il n'aurait pas acheté ces photos s'il avait su qui les avait prises. M. Tillaart a présenté une facture pour montrer que M. Knox avait effectivement acheté les photographies de son entreprise.

Le témoin suivant était M. Mark Brereton. Il était chef-instructeur de vol au Kawartha Lakes Flight Centre et directeur intérimaire à l'aéroport Lindsay, le 9 juillet 2003. M. Brereton avait écrit un rapport à Transports Canada au sujet d'incidents qui ont eu lieu à Lindsay entre le 9 et le 14 juillet 2003 et qui mettaient en cause M. Tillaart et le C-GXID. Ce rapport relatait les événements qui figuraient au chef d'accusation 2 de Transports Canada contre M. Tillaart, en plus des autres incidents qui ont eu lieu hors de sa présence (celle de M. Tillaart) à Lindsay pendant la période du 9 au 14 juillet 2003.

Plus particulièrement, M. Tillaart a décollé de la piste inverse (la 31) vers la piste en service (la 13) et s'est dirigé vers un Cessna 152 qui approchait, lequel était en finale à ½ mille de la 13. M. Tillaart a dû exécuter un virage serré à droite immédiatement après avoir quitté le sol, afin d'éviter une collision avec l'aéronef qui atterrissait. De plus, à une autre occasion, le 9 juillet 2003, M. Tillaart est entré sur le circuit en provenance de l'est alors qu'il y avait trois autre Cessna 150 des Cadets de l'Air sur le circuit devant lui. Il s'est placé sur circuit extrêmement serré avant les autres aéronefs, dont l'un était à environ ¾ de mille en approche finale sur la piste 31. Il a effectué un virage serré en descente et il a atterri devant l'aéronef qui s'approchait, en le coupant. M. Brereton a été témoin de ces événements de l'aire de trafic de l'aéroport. M. Brereton écoutait la fréquence UNICOM et il a entendu les transmissions de l'aéronef coupé au C-GXID (pièces M–8, M–9 et M–10).

M. Brereton avait parlé à M. Tillaart à un certain nombre de reprises pendant cette période, l'avisant que des résidents de la région de Fenelon Falls l'avaient appelé pour rapporter ses vols à 200 pieds au-dessus de leur propriété et certains l'ont rapporté à la PPO. M. Brereton a aussi admonesté M. Tillaart pour ses pratiques dangereuses sur le circuit de Lindsay, y compris celles mentionnées au chef d'accusation 2 de l'Avis d'amende pour contravention, en date du 24 février 2004. M. Brereton a proposé à M. Tillaart de quitter l'aéroport et de ne plus revenir.

Lors de son contre-interrogatoire de M. Brereton, M. Tillaart a nié qu'il y avait un aéronef en finale à ½ mille de la 13 lorsqu'il a décollé sur la 31. Il a aussi nié qu'il voyait un aéronef sur le circuit ou qu'il entendait des transmissions radio s'opposant à ses manoeuvres.

Le major Terry Bremner était responsable des Cadets de l'Air. Il avait présenté un rapport à Transports Canada le 12 août 2003 au sujet des incidents qui mettaient en cause M. Tillaart à Lindsay, la semaine du 9 août 2003. Dans l'ensemble, il a confirmé la preuve de M. Brereton. Toutefois, à son avis, l'infraction dans un circuit restreint a eu lieu sur la piste 13 plutôt que sur la piste 31. Il a semblé que le major Bremner était en quelque sorte désorienté et confus quant à l'aménagement de l'aéroport Lindsay. M. Shimmin n'a fait aucune tentative pour essayer de l'orienter en utilisant un diagramme. Bien que ces propos peuvent sembler être une contradiction de la preuve, je crois que le témoin était confus. L'observation qui importe est qu'il a vu M. Tillaart à bord du C-GXID couper l'autre aéronef sur le circuit en effectuant un virage descendant serré au point d'impact de la piste. Le major Bremner s'est dit préoccupé du piètre exemple de discipline aéronautique donné par M. Tillaart aux Cadets de l'Air. Il était surtout préoccupé par leur sécurité et considérait M. Tillaart comme une menace.

M. Lindsay Cadenhead était le témoin expert du ministre. Il a expliqué les procédures de circuit en détail, en se rapportant à l'A.I.P. Canada[1] et au Manuel de pilotage[2]. Il a décrit les gestes de M. Tillaart comme dangereux, imprudents et irresponsables. M. Tillaart l'a contre-interrogé au sujet d'un vol plané par opposition à une approche à moteur et sur la sécurité relative d'une approche planée comparativement à celle d'une approche à moteur. Il semble que M. Tillaart tentait de justifier sa descente abrupte vers la piste en approche planée dans les intérêts de la sécurité.

M. Tillaart a été assermenté et a témoigné. Il a nié avoir survolé la ferme des Knox à 200 pieds. Il a présenté des calculs (pièce D-14) et une photographie (D-15) qu'il a prise de la ferme pour tenter de prouver que la photographie ne pouvait avoir été prise à 200 pieds. Que les calculs de M. Tillaart soient précis ou non, la photographie a été prise à 1/2000 seconde, ce qui représente une fraction minuscule de son vol au-dessus de la ferme. De plus, il n'y a aucune façon de confirmer exactement quand la photographie a été prise.

M. Tillaart a de plus présenté son employeur, M. Ghassan Chehadi, comme témoin. M. Chehadi est propriétaire de Homestead Aerial Photography. Il a appuyé l'affirmation de M. Tillaart selon laquelle la caméra utilisée, présentée à l'audience, ne pouvait pas avoir pris la photographie à 200 pieds. Selon les calculs de M. Tillaart, la photographie devait avoir été prise à 700 pieds. Cette dénégation contredit la version d'un témoin oculaire crédible, M. Knox.

M. Tillaart affirme que M. Knox ment. Il souligne de plus qu'il n'y a pas de bétail visible sur la photographie. Il dit qu'il est un expert des aéronefs qui font peur au bétail et nie que cela ait eu lieu. Il affirme de plus que le témoignage du major Bremner est faux et non justifié.

M. Tillaart a présenté un courriel qu'il avait fait parvenir à M. David Bland, gestionnaire régional de l'application de la loi, après avoir reçu l'Avis d'amende pour contravention, en date du 24 février 2004. M. Tillaart a lu la lettre en preuve à l'audience (pièce D-17). Cette lettre réitère que M. Tillaart nie avoir commis quelque infraction que ce soit.

Crédibilité

Nous avons une question de crédibilité à résoudre ici. D'un côté, nous avons des témoins de Transports Canada que je considère entièrement crédibles parce qu'ils sont cohérents et n'ont aucune raison de fabriquer une preuve contre M. Tillaart. Bien qu'il y ait une contradiction dans le témoignage du major Bremner, comparativement à celui de M. Brereton, en ce qui concerne la piste sur laquelle l'atterrissage a eu lieu, j'attribue cela à un manque d'orientation du major Bremner. Il s'agit d'une personne crédible. À part cette exception qui s'explique, tous les témoins du ministre ont corroboré leur témoignage. Les déclarations écrites de MM Brereton et Bremner selon lesquelles M. Tillaart était constamment irresponsable à l'aérodrome Lindsay pendant une période de cinq jours du 9 au 14 juillet 2003 ont aussi servi en preuve.

Que M. Knox ait acheté une photographie de sa ferme qui avait été prise par M. Tillaart n'est pas en cause, puisque cela ne modifie aucunement le fait qu'il y a eu un vol dangereux à basse altitude qui a fait vibrer les fenêtres de la maison des Knox.

M. Tillaart nie les deux infractions. Il a de plus accusé les témoins de Transports Canada de mentir. Après avoir considéré sérieusement la question, je ne peux accepter sa dénégation. Je ne le crois pas. Sa preuve est non fondée et les calculs qu'il a faits ne contribuent pas à prouver qu'il n'a jamais volé à moins de 700 pieds. La photographie présentée a été prise en un instant (1/2000 sec). Il n'y a eu aucune preuve pour démontrer à quel moment exact la photographie a été prise (pièce D-15). De plus, il est peu probable que M. Knox ait pu lire les marques d'immatriculation à 700 pieds. Il y a eu une preuve dans les déclarations de MM Brereton et Bremner que des plaintes provenaient d'autres fermiers de la région de Fenelon Falls, dont un conseiller municipal. Tous ces plaignants ont rapporté avoir identifié le C-GXID.

DÉCISION

Le ministre a déposé des accusations de négligence ou d'imprudence contre M. Tillaart. Ces notions sont définies dans le Canadian Law Dictionary et se retrouve dans la cause du Tribunal Newburg c. MdT[3] comme suit :

Négligence : La négligence consiste à ne pas faire quelque chose qu'une personne raisonnable ferait, ou à faire quelque chose qu'une personne raisonnable ne ferait pas. Les défendeurs ont pu faire preuve de négligence s'ils ont omis involontairement de faire ce qu'une personne raisonnable aurait fait, ou s'ils ont fait ce qu'une personne qui prend des précautions normales n'aurait pas fait.

Imprudence : Manque de prudence; indifférence face aux conséquences. Dans certains cas, le terme comporte un sens plus fort que négligence : il peut même impliquer une conduite intentionnelle. Dans ce contexte, le sens du terme peut être : indifférent face aux conséquences, inattentif, insouciant; très négligent; négligence en sachant que des conséquences étaient possibles, mais non souhaitables. Imprudence possède le sens de négligence grave, c'est-à-dire faire quelque chose qui implique en fait un risque, que l'auteur en cause en soit conscient ou non.

Chef d'accusation 1. Je considère que le vol de M. Tillaart au-dessus de la ferme des Knox était à la fois négligent et imprudent. Ses gestes ont mis en danger des vies, des biens et le bétail de M. Knox et a tellement inquiété le fermier qu'il a dit avoir téléphoné immédiatement pour rapporter l'incident. Il a survolé à une altitude suffisamment basse pour faire vibrer les fenêtres de la maison lors de son premier passage; ce qui laisse entendre que l'altitude était sans doute plus basse que 200 pieds, lors de la première approche. C'était tout à fait inutile et en violation des règlements et imprudent. De plus, à la deuxième et troisième approche, il mettait inutilement en danger des vies et des biens. Il prétend être fort conscient des possibilités de panne de moteur, en dépit de ses approches abruptes en vol plané sur la piste, alors qu'ici, il ne porte aucunement attention à une telle possibilité, à basse altitude au-dessus des personnes et de leur propriété.

Chef d'accusation 2. Je considère que M. Tillaart n'a pas tenu compte de l'inexpérience des Cadets de l'Air en formation à Lindsay et le fait qu'il soit passé outre les procédures de circuit concernant la sécurité est inexcusable. Je n'accepte pas ses dénégations, que ce soit parce qu'il n'a pas vu l'autre aéronef ou qu'il n'a pas entendu les transmissions radio des instructeurs qui accompagnaient les cadets. Il savait qu'une formation était en cours sur le circuit à Lindsay, et non seulement il a fait fi des procédures de circuit mais, ce faisant, il a mis en danger sa propre vie et celles des cadets qu'il a coupés. Il est certainement coupable de négligence et d'imprudence sur ce chef d'accusation.

Il est déplorable qu'il ne semble pas accepter ou se soucier du fait qu'il a mis d'autres personnes en danger ou ennuyé d'autres personnes par ses gestes. S'il avait démontré un certain remord pour ses gestes, il y aurait sans doute eu une ouverture pour une certaine clémence. Dans les circonstances, je dois confirmer l'amende substantielle de 1 000 $ pour chacun des deux chefs d'accusation contre lui, soit 2 000 $.

Philip D. Jardim
Conseiller
Tribunal d'appel des transports du Canada


[1] Publications d'information aéronautique.

e Transports Canada Aviation Manuel de pilotage, 4 édition.

[3] Jason R. Newburg c. Ministre des Transports, dossier no O-0415-02 (TAC).