Decisions

TATC File No. O-3285-27
MoT File No. 5802-811784

TRANSPORTATION APPEAL TRIBUNAL OF CANADA

BETWEEN:

Philip Gregory Childerhose, Applicant

- and -

Minister of Transport, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, S.C., c. A-2, subsection 6.71(1)

flight test, fairness and natural justice, errors, class 4 instructor rating, Canadian aviation document (CAD)


Review Determination
John D. Issenman


Decision: December 5, 2006

I confirm the Minister's decision to refuse to issue a class 4 instructor rating on the grounds that the applicant has unsuccessfully completed a flight test conducted on July 11, 2006.

[1]     A review hearing in the above matter was held Friday, September 29, 2006, at 9:50 a.m. at the Sheraton Gateway Hotel, in Toronto, Ontario.

BACKGROUND

[2]     A review hearing was requested by Philip G. Childerhose following the refusal to issue a Canadian aviation document by the Minister of Transport who alleged that Mr. Childerhose unsuccessfully completed a flight test, pursuant to subsection 6.71(1) of the Aeronautics Act. Mr. Childerhose was undergoing his flight test for a class 4 instructor rating during which the unsuccessful ride took place.

FACTS

[3]     I am of the view that the witnesses who testified presented an honest and accurate account of the facts as they believed them to be at the time. Different views of the subject flight were expressed in evidence, as well as conflicting interpretations of the notes taken by the inspector during the flight test.

[4]     Despite the fact that some of the documents submitted by the Minister were not the most recent versions available, the same or more stringent standards relating to the flight limits allegedly exceeded by the applicant were in effect at the time of the flight test. On a balance of probabilities and given the fact that limits were exceeded, the Minister's assessment is supported.

[5]     While attempting to obtain a class 4 instructor rating by taking a flight test conducted by Inspector Duncan Chalmers on July 11, 2006, the applicant failed to meet the assessment standard set out at page 5 of the Flight Test Guide, Flight Instructor Rating, Aeroplane, Helicopter, Aerobatic (exhibit M-4) according to the flight test report (exhibit M-2). During the test, the inspector noted several occasions on which the applicant exceeded the maximum allowable error for a number of manoeuvres (exhibit M-3).

[6]     According to the applicant's assessment/interpretation (exhibit D-1) of the inspector's notes (exhibit M-3) and as noted in his presentation, his flight test was successfully passed as a result of only having exceeded the altitude maximum allowable error. He further stated that the number of major errors necessary for a flight test to be considered a failure was greater than one, given the plural use of the word "errors" on page 5 of the Flight Test Guide (exhibit M-4). The inspector determined that sufficient failures to meet the standards resulted in the failed flight test as evidenced in the flight test report.

[7]     The repeated failure by the applicant to remain within the 100-foot allowable error during the manoeuvres appears to meet the criteria established for the plural use of the word "errors". In addition, the notation in the inspector's notes (exhibit M-3) regarding excessive roll-out beyond the allowed 10 degrees further substantiates the inspector's assessment that the errors committed during the flight test exceeded the maximum allowable from both the quantitative and qualitative perspectives.

ARGUMENT

[8]     It appears clear from the entries in the inspector's notes taken during the subject flight test that a number of errors were made, sufficient in number and severity to warrant the failed result.

[9]     While the notes may have been clearer and more definitive and the exercises listed in the flight test report more detailed, the standard of flight manoeuvres expected to be successfully demonstrated by an instructor appears to have not been met.

[10]     The applicant admits that the altitude error limit was exceeded on several attempts for one manoeuvre. The inspector demonstrated the proper skills required to successfully complete another. These alone or in combination led the inspector to the conclusion that the applicant did not meet the standard for the issue of a class 4 instructor rating.

[11]     The ride might have been terminated earlier for cause, but the inspector chose to allow the applicant to continue the test, including demonstrations by the inspector of the standard to be met for the sought after rating.

[12]     The evidence presented raises issues regarding the manner in which the flight test inspector's notes were written, the lack of full conveyance of the test results from the notes to the flight test report, and the lack of clarity in the flight test guides provided by the Minister in determining the quantity and extent of errors permissible for certain types of tests.

[13]     Notwithstanding the above, testimony given by both witnesses substantiate the fact that limits were exceeded, despite several attempts to complete specific manoeuvres, and that the standard expected of a class 4 instructor was not met. These would justify a failed flight test.

DETERMINATION

[14]     The burden of proof is always on the Minister to substantiate the alleged failed flight test for the applicant's class 4 instructor rating and subsequent refusal to issue.

[15]     After consideration of fairness and natural justice and a thorough review of the relevance, reliability and weight of the evidence, on the balance of probabilities, I confirm the inspector's decision to fail the applicant's flight test and the resulting Minister's refusal to issue a class 4 instructor rating.

December 5, 2006

John D. Issenman
Member
Transportation Appeal Tribunal of Canada

Décisions

Dossier no O-3285-27 (TATC)
Dossier no 5802-811784 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL D'APPEL DES TRANSPORTS DU CANADA

ENTRE :

Philip Gregory Childerhose, requérant(e)

- et -

Ministre des Transports, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L. R., ch. A-2, par. 6.71(1)

Principes de l'équité et de la justice naturelle, Erreurs, Essais de vol, Document d'aviation canadien (DAC), qualification d'instructeur de classe 4


Décision à la suite d'une révision
John D. Issenman


Décision : le 5 décembre 2006

TRADUCTION

Je confirme la décision du ministre de refuser de délivrer une qualification de classe 4 parce que le requérant n'a pas réussi le test en vol effectué le 11 juillet 2006.

[1]     Une audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le vendredi 29 septembre 2006 à 9 h 50 à l'hôtel Sheraton Gateway de Toronto (Ontario).

HISTORIQUE

[2]     Philip G. Childerhose a demandé une audience en révision à la suite du refus du ministre des Transports de délivrer un document d'aviation canadien. Le ministre allègue que M. Childerhose n'a pas réussi son test en vol en vertu du paragraphe 6.71(1) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique. L'échec du vol a eu lieu alors que M. Childerhose subissait un test en vol pour une qualification d'instructeur de classe 4.

FAITS

[3]     Je suis d'avis que les témoins ont présenté un compte rendu des faits honnête et précis qui correspond à leur perception du moment. Les témoignages ont relaté différents points de vue sur le vol en question, de même que sur les interprétations contradictoires des notes prises par l'inspecteur pendant le test en vol.

[4]     Même si le ministre n'a pas présenté les plus récentes versions de certains documents, les mêmes normes de vol, ou des normes plus strictes encore, étaient en vigueur au moment du test et le requérant est présumé les avoir dépassées. Selon la prépondérance des probabilités et en raison du dépassement des limites, l'évaluation du ministre est corroborée.

[5]     Selon le compte rendu d'évaluation du test en vol (pièce M-2) de la page 5 du Guide de test en vol – Qualification d'instructeur de pilotage – Avion, hélicoptère, voltige (pièce M-4), le requérant n'a pas réussi à répondre aux normes alors qu'il tentait d'obtenir une qualification d'instructeur de classe 4 lors d'un test en vol (pièce M-2) effectué par l'inspecteur Duncan Chalmers, le 11 juillet 2006. Pendant le test, l'inspecteur a remarqué à diverses reprises que le requérant a dépassé le nombre maximal d'erreurs permises pour un certain nombre de manoeuvres (pièce M-3).

[6]     Selon son évaluation et son interprétation (pièce D-1) des notes de l'inspecteur (pièce M-3) et comme il l'a lui-même indiqué dans sa présentation, le requérant a réussi son test en vol, si ce n'est du fait qu'il a dépassé l'altitude maximale permise. Il a par la suite déclaré que plus d'une erreur majeure doit avoir été commise pour qu'un test en vol soit considéré comme un échec, compte tenu que le mot «  erreurs  » à la page 5 du Guide de test en vol (pièce M-4) est au pluriel. L'inspecteur a décidé que les échecs étaient suffisants pour constituer un test en vol échoué comme en fait foi le compte rendu du test en vol.

[7]     Les erreurs répétées du requérant de demeurer à l'intérieur des 100 pieds permis lors des manœuvres semblent répondre aux critères établis pour l'utilisation plurielle du mot «  erreurs  ». De plus, les annotations aux notes de l'inspecteur (pièce M-3) qui concernent un redressement exagéré, au-delà des 10 degrés permis, viennent corroborer son évaluation selon laquelle les erreurs commises pendant le test en vol ont excédé le maximum permis, tant d'un point de vue quantitatif que qualitatif.

ARGUMENTS

[8]     Les inscriptions dans les notes de l'inspecteur prises pendant le vol en question indiquent clairement qu'un certain nombre d'erreurs suffisamment nombreuses et importantes pour justifier l'échec ont été commises.

[9]     Bien que les notes auraient pu être plus claires et plus formelles et les exercices énoncés dans le compte rendu de vol plus détaillés, la norme dont un instructeur doit faire preuve lors de manœuvres de vol ne semble pas avoir été atteinte.

[10]     Le requérant admet qu'il a dépassé la limite d'erreur d'altitude à plusieurs reprises lors d'une manoeuvre. L'inspecteur a prouvé les compétences utiles nécessaires pour réussir une autre manoeuvre. Considérées individuellement ou ensemble, ces manœuvres ont amené l'inspecteur à conclure que le requérant n'a pas respecté les normes de délivrance d'une qualification d'instructeur de classe 4.

[11]     En raison de cela, le vol aurait pu se terminer plus tôt, mais l'inspecteur a choisi de permettre au requérant de continuer le test et ainsi faire la preuve des normes à respecter pour la qualification recherchée.

[12]     La preuve présentée soulève des interrogations sur la façon dont les notes de l'inspecteur de vol ont été rédigées, sur les résultats de tests qui n'ont pas été transférés au complet des notes au compte rendu du vol et sur le manque de clarté du guide de test en vol fourni par le ministre pour déterminer jusqu'à quel point et dans quelle mesure les erreurs sont permises pour certains types de test.

[13]     Malgré ce qui précède, les témoignages des deux témoins corroborent le fait que, malgré plusieurs tentatives pour exécuter des manoeuvres particulières, les limites ont été franchies et les normes prévues pour un instructeur de classe 4 n'ont pas été respectées, ce qui justifie un échec de test en vol.

DÉCISION

[14]     Le ministre a toujours le fardeau de prouver le présumé échec du test en vol pour la qualification de classe 4 du requérant et le refus subséquent de la délivrer.

[15]     Après avoir pris en considération l'équité et la justice naturelle et passé en revue la pertinence, la fiabilité et le poids de la preuve, selon la prépondérance des probabilités, je confirme la décision de l'inspecteur d'imposer un échec au test en vol du requérant et le refus du ministre de délivrer une qualification d'instructeur de classe 4.

Le 5 décembre 2006

John D. Issenman
Conseiller
Tribunal d'appel des transports du Canada