Decisions

TATC File No. O-3315-60
MoT File No. 5802-082107

TRANSPORTATION APPEAL TRIBUNAL OF CANADA

BETWEEN:

Eamon Michael Lang, Applicant

- and -

Minister of Transport, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. A-2, s. 7.1(1)(b)

Suspension, Pilot not flying (PNF), Pilot proficiency check (PPC)


Review Determination
Richard F. Willems


Decision: August 14, 2007

Citation: Lang v. Canada (Minister of Transport), 2007 TATCE 21 (review)

Heard at Toronto, Ontario, on May 1, 2007

Held: The Minister's decision to suspend Captain Eamon Michael Lang's pilot proficiency check (PPC) is referred back to the Minister for reconsideration.

I. BACKGROUND

[1]     On October 3, 2006, the Minister of Transport issued a notice of suspension of Captain Eamon Michael Lang's PPC following a check ride in the A330 simulator on August 26, 2006. Captain Norman Bindon was acting as the first officer, and Captain Guy Bouchard conducted the ride as the check pilot.

[2]     These check rides are normally done in two sessions allowing the check pilot to observe the candidate acting both as pilot flying (PF) and as pilot not flying (PNF). The first portion of the check ride seemed to have progressed fairly normally, other than some alleged problems with the simulator, which interfered with the CAT III approach portion of the check ride. The second half of the check ride is where Captain Lang's performance seemed to diminish. The check flight was unsuccessful in that the PPC was assessed as Below Standard (1). The reason for the failure is found at emergency no. 26 "pax evac" and the comments given are "shutdown both engs prior to checklist call for pax evac". A second comment not assigned to any particular exercise states "too much prompting req'd from F/O" (exhibit M-5).

II. EVIDENCE

A. Captain Norman Bindon

[3]     Captain Bindon was qualified as an expert witness for the Minister. Under direct examination, he related the ride as he remembered it. He had done the training leading up to Captain Lang's check ride and his observations were that the first session of the ride with Captain Lang as PF was going much as he had expected; he did not recall anything specific that was negative.

[4]     The second session of the ride seemed not to have gone as well. In Captain Bindon's words, "Captain Lang appeared to me to be somewhat agitated and rattled a couple of times" (transcript at 6).

[5]     Under cross-examination by Captain Lang, Captain Bindon agreed that Captain Bouchard did interrupt the check ride twice to instruct and correct the way Captain Lang was doing the In Range checklist (exhibit A-1). He also agreed that the procedure insisted on by Captain Bouchard was not in accordance with standard operating procedures (SOPs), and that this was where the tension increased and the quality of Captain Lang's check ride took a turn for the worse.

[6]     Captain Bindon testified as follows with respect to the second half of the check ride which was assessed as Below Standard (1). After stopping the aircraft, Captain Lang shut down both engines and then asked for the passenger evacuation checklist. Once the decision has been made that a passenger evacuation is necessary, the SOP requires that the passenger evacuation checklist be followed. It leads the crew through the proper sequence of events which allow them without any delay to observe the cabin pressure allowing the cabin doors to be opened. Next, both engines are to be shut down to ensure that they are no longer operating once the evacuation is in progress.

[7]     Shutting down the engines out of sequence causes the loss of power to the screen which normally displays the delta-P information. However, according to Captain Bindon, delta-P information can be displayed by an alternate method. Hence, by shutting down the engines early in the sequence, safety had not been compromised because in his words, "the single most significant item in there prior to the evacuation is that the engines are shut down so that the passengers aren't evacuating in front or behind engines that are operating" (transcript at 38-39).

[8]     When asked by Captain Lang if he thought the evacuation would have been successful, even though the sequence of the check had been altered, Captain Bindon agreed that it would have been.

B. Captain Guy Bouchard

[9]     Captain Bouchard's recollection of this check ride is somewhat different. He testified about Captain Bindon prompting a "little too much" and that during the ride he had advised Captain Bindon that it was being done on Captain Lang, not on himself (transcript at 45). He also explained the basics of the passenger evacuation checklist as it was done out of sequence. His decision to fail this ride was based on a combination of the passenger evacuation checklist not being done in accordance with the SOPs and the excessive prompting by Captain Bindon.

[10]     He was unable to recall the other events of this check ride which seem to be pivotal to the outcome of this ride as far as Captains Lang and Bindon are concerned. He did not recall simulator malfunctions and the In Range check scenario or that there was allegedly a very tense atmosphere in the second half of the ride. When challenged under cross-examination about having given Captain Lang a completed flight test report, Captain Bouchard was unsure that it was given to Captain Lang at the debriefing.

C. Captain Eamon Michael Lang

[11]     First of all, Captain Lang indicated in his testimony that he was upset that the check pilot, Captain Bouchard, was late for the briefing. He felt it set a "mood of tension" (transcript at 73). He also felt that there were differences of opinion and friction between Captains Bindon and Bouchard which added to the uncomfortable atmosphere in the simulator.

[12]     Shortly after the ride started, the simulator was lowered to repair a fault, which took about an hour. The same fault occurred once the check ride was continued, which in Captain Lang's words " further frustrat[ed] check pilot Bouchard which could be felt due to the nature of his anxiety, his anger and attitude which added confusion and soured the environment for the ride" (transcript at 73). At this point, Captain Bouchard indicated that the ride would continue, but would be downgraded to a CAT II approach. Captain Lang at this time believed that his licence renewal required a CAT III approach to be successful. This misunderstanding added more stress to the ride.

[13]     Captain Lang testified about the In Range checklist event. He was then the PNF completing the In Range checklist for the approach and landing which were to be done by Captain Bindon. While performing the check, he was told by Captain Bouchard that he was doing it wrong and to do it again. After having redone the checklist, the simulator was frozen and Captain Bouchard demonstrated how he wanted the checklist done. This sequence being different from what Captain Lang had been trained to do and the uncertainty created by this event interfered with his performance for the remainder of the ride, and thus the incorrect procedures on the subsequent emergency landing and passenger evacuation.

[14]     In Captain Lang's description of the debriefing, he indicated not to have seen the report and that the debriefing did not include Captain Bindon.

III. LAW

[15]     Section 7.1(1) of the Aeronautics Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. A-2, as amended by R.S., c. A-3, reads as follows:

7.1 (1) If the Minister decides to suspend, cancel or refuse to renew a Canadian aviation document on the grounds that

(a) the holder of the document is incompetent,

(b) the holder or any aircraft, airport or other facility in respect of which the document was issued ceases to meet the qualifications necessary for the issuance of the document or to fulfill the conditions subject to which the document was issued, or

(c) the Minister is of the opinion that the public interest and, in particular, the aviation record of the holder of the document or of any principal of the holder, as defined in regulations made under paragraph 6.71(3)(a), warrant it,

the Minister shall, by personal service or by registered or certified mail sent to the holder or the owner or operator of the aircraft, airport or facility, as the case may be, at their latest known address, notify that person of the Minister's decision.

IV. DISCUSSION

[16]     With respect to the assessment of the failed exercise, no one argues the fact that it was done out of SOP sequence. Captain Bindon indicated that in his opinion the passenger evacuation in a real life situation would have been successful. According to him, the most important item on that checklist was to shut down the engines to ensure that they were not operating once the evacuation was in progress. He did agree that, although out of sequence, the checklist was completed. According to the Approved Check Pilot Manual (ACP Manual), 8th ed., February 2006 (TP 6533), it fits the Basic Standard (2) assessment. I find that safety was not compromised, even though this portion of the flight was poorly managed in the fact that the passenger evacuation checklist was done out of SOP sequence. Deviations did occur, but as a crew, all items for the passenger evacuation checklist were completed so as not to endanger anyone during the evacuation.

[17]     The ACP Manual provides the following:

9.1.6 A procedure or sequence that would normally rate a "2 - basic standard" may be repeated at the discretion of the ACP provided that the procedure or sequence does not clearly come under the definition of "1 - below standard"

[…]

10.3.4 Basic Standard (2)

(a) Deviations from the qualification standards occur, which may include momentary excursions beyond prescribed limits but these are recognized and corrected in a timely manner.

(b) A sequence shall be rated Basic Standard (2) where

(i) performance includes deviations that detract from the overall performance, but are recognized and corrected within an acceptable time frame,

(ii) aircraft handling is performed with limited proficiency and/or includes momentary deviations from specified limits,

(iii) technical skills and knowledge reveal limited technical proficiency and/or depth of knowledge,

(iv) behaviour indicates lapses in situational awareness that are identified and corrected by the crew,

(v) flight management skills are effective, but slightly below standard. Some items are only addressed when challenged or prompted by other crew members,

(vi) safety of flight is not compromised. Risk is poorly mitigated.

[18]     With respect to the issue of the prompting by Captain Bindon acting as first officer, Captain Bouchard's comments in the flight test report are basically that there was "too much prompting req'd from F/O" (exhibit M-5). He testified that part way through the ride, he warned Captain Bindon and reminded him that this was Captain Lang's ride, not his. When Captain Bouchard was asked under direct examination for specific times that Captain Bindon was too helpful, he could not remember specifics.

[19]     When challenged by Captain Lang under cross-examination about the prompting, Captain Bouchard agreed that the crew members need to work together, as defined by crew resource management, and inferred that Captain Bindon was a good first officer.

[20]     Since Captain Bouchard could not provide any specific information, I do not see any direct evidence given by him as to the "too much prompting" statement.

21]     Captain Lang indicated, and Captain Bindon agreed, that his performance started to deteriorate when Captain Bouchard interrupted the ride to show him how he wanted the In Range check done, and that the procedure demonstrated was in fact not in accordance with the SOPs. Captain Bouchard again could not recall interrupting the ride with regard to the In Range check, or that the level of tension had increased.

[22]     As we see below, this is in direct contravention to the ACP Manual:

9.1.1 ACPs shall refrain from teaching or briefing the candidate on the correct completion of an exercise or from taking any action that will prompt the candidate to take a specific action.

[…]

9.1.4 Flight checks may induce tension and feelings of apprehension in even the most experienced pilots. The ACP shall attempt to reduce apprehension and create an environment in which a true demonstration of ability can be established.

[23]     I find it hard to believe that of all the check rides Captain Bouchard did over the three years, this being only the second failure he had issued, that he could not remember more details of this ride. In fact at one point, he indicated "I don't remember a whole bunch of this ride" (transcript at 56). As a result, I find Captains Lang's and Bindon's versions of the events more compelling and complete.

[24]     Captain Lang spoke at length about not seeing the flight test report (exhibit M-5) until he received the notice of suspension from Transport Canada dated October 3, 2006. When challenged, Captain Bouchard was not sure that a copy of the report had been given at the debriefing.

[25]     In this regard, the ACP Manual provides that:

9.10.1 An ACP shall carry out the following administrative procedures after failure of a PPC by:

[…]

(b) ensuring that grades and evaluation of the failed flight check are recorded in the individual's training and flight check records. A PPC report shall be completed for each flight check, including any terminated during pre-flight preparation, or before all air exercises are completed, and the candidate is to be offered a copy of the report;

[…]

9.11.3 In accordance with section 8(2)(a) of the Privacy Act, a copy of the flight test report shall be given to the candidate for a flight test and a copy shall be retained by the examiner who conducted the flight test. A copy may also be given to the individual responsible for the quality of flight training for the operator. Specific information about the results of a flight test will not be given by Transport Canada to anyone but the individuals named on the flight test report except in accordance with the Privacy Act.

[26]     In summary, the facts as presented to me do not warrant a Below Standard (1) assessment. This check ride was not conducted in accordance with the guidelines set out in the ACP Manual as far as not teaching or demonstrating during the ride, and the atmosphere was allowed to deteriorate during the ride to a level not acceptable for a crew to work in. Finally, I find that Captain Bouchard did not follow the proper administrative procedures after a failure of a PPC, as set out in the ACP Manual.

V. DETERMINATION

[27]     For these reasons, the Minister's decision to suspend Captain Lang's PPC is referred back to the Minister for reconsideration.

August 14, 2007

Richard F. Willems
Member

Décisions

Dossier no O-3315-60 (TATC)
Dossier no 5802-082107 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL D'APPEL DES TRANSPORTS DU CANADA

ENTRE :

Eamon Michael Lang, requérant(e)

- et -

Ministre des Transports, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, c. 2, art. 7.1(1)(b)

Suspension, Pilote qui n’est pas aux commandes (PNF), Contrôle compétence pilote (CCP)


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Richard F. Willems


Décision : le 14 août 2007

Référence : Lang c. Canada (Ministre des Transports), 2007 TATCF 21 (révision)

[Traduction française officielle]

Affaire entendue à Toronto (Ontario) le 1er mai 2007

Arrêt : La décision du ministre des Transports de suspendre le contrôle de la compétence de pilote du commandant Eamon Michael Lang est renvoyée au ministre pour réexamen.

I. HISTORIQUE

[1]     Le 3 octobre 2006, le ministre des Transports a émis un avis de suspension du contrôle de la compétence de pilote (CCP) du commandant Eamon Michael Lang à la suite d'un vol de vérification de la compétence (VVC) effectué sur un simulateur A330 le 26 août 2006. Le commandant Norman Bindon agissait en qualité de premier officier, et le commandant Guy Bouchard dirigeait le vol en qualité de pilote vérificateur.

[2]     Les VVC s'effectuent habituellement en deux parties de façon à permettre au pilote vérificateur d'observer le candidat lorsqu'il agit comme pilote aux commandes (PF) et comme pilote qui n'est pas aux commandes (PNF). La première partie du VVC semble s'être déroulée relativement normalement, à l'exception de certains problèmes qu'aurait eus le simulateur et qui ont gêné une partie du VVC, à savoir une approche CAT III. C'est au cours de la seconde partie du VVC que la performance du commandant Lang a semblé diminuer. Le VVC a été un échec dans la mesure où le CCP a reçu une évaluation inférieure à la note standard (1). La raison de l'échec est l'urgence 26 «  pax evac  » (évacuation des passagers) et les commentaires fournis sont [traduction] «  arrêt des deux moteurs avant d'exécuter les manœuvres de la liste de vérification pour pax evac  ». Un second commentaire qui n'est pas associé à un exercice particulier précise que [traduction] «  le premier officier est obligé de fournir trop de conseils  » (pièce M-5).

II. PREUVE

A. Commandant Norman Bindon

[3]    Le commandant Bindon a été reconnu à titre de témoin expert pour le ministre. Au cours de son interrogatoire principal, il a décrit le vol en se fiant à sa mémoire. Il avait reçu la formation qui l'a amené à participer au VVC du commandant Lang, et il a déclaré que la première partie du vol au cours duquel le commandant Lang était aux commandes s'était passée comme il l'avait prévu. Il ne se souvient d'aucun élément négatif précis.

[4]     La seconde partie du vol ne semble pas s'être passée aussi bien. Pour reprendre les mots du commandant Bindon, [traduction] «  le commandant Lang m'a semblé un peu nerveux et ébranlé à quelques reprises  » (transcription à la p. 6).

[5]     Contre-interrogé par le commandant Lang, le commandant Bindon a reconnu que le commandant Bouchard avait interrompu à deux reprises le VVC pour donner des instructions au commandant Lang et corriger la façon dont celui-ci exécutait les manœuvres de la liste de vérification en approche (pièce A-1). Le commandant Bindon a également admis que la procédure exigée par le commandant Bouchard n'était pas conforme aux procédures d'utilisation normalisées (SOP), et que cela a eu pour effet d'accroître les tensions et de compromettre la qualité du VVC du commandant Lang.

[6]     Le commandant Bindon a témoigné de la façon suivante au sujet de la seconde partie du VVC qui a reçu une évaluation inférieure à la note standard (1). Après avoir immobilisé l'aéronef, le commandant Lang a arrêté les deux moteurs. Il a ensuite demandé la liste de vérification pour l'évacuation des passagers. Lorsque la décision est prise d'évacuer les passagers, les SOP exigent que l'on suive la liste de vérification pour l'évacuation des passagers. Cette liste guide l'équipage dans l'exécution de la séquence des manœuvres permettant de vérifier rapidement la pression dans la cabine pour pouvoir ouvrir les portes. Ensuite, il faut arrêter les deux moteurs pour s'assurer qu'ils ne sont plus en marche au moment où l'on procède à l'évacuation.

[7]     Le fait d'arrêter les deux moteurs à un autre moment entraîne une panne d'alimentation touchant ainsi l'écran qui affiche habituellement l'information delta-P. Cependant, d'après le commandant Bindon, il est possible d'avoir accès à l'information delta-P au moyen d'une autre méthode. Il en résulte qu'arrêter les moteurs au début de la séquence ne compromet pas la sécurité parce que, pour reprendre ses paroles, [traduction] «  la manœuvre la plus importante qui figure sur cette liste avant l'évacuation est d'arrêter les moteurs pour que les passagers qui évacuent l'avion ne le fassent pas devant ou derrière des moteurs en marche  » (transcription aux pp. 38 et 39).

[8]     Lorsque le commandant Lang a demandé au commandant Bindon s'il pensait que l'évacuation se serait bien passée, même avec une séquence de manœuvres modifiée, il a admis que c'était exact.

B. Commandant Guy Bouchard

[9]     Le souvenir qu'a le commandant Bouchard de ce VVC est quelque peu différent. Il a parlé du fait que le commandant Bindon donnait [traduction] «  un peu trop de conseils  » et a mentionné qu'au cours du vol, il avait rappelé au commandant Bindon qu'il s'agissait de vérifier la compétence du commandant Lang, et non la sienne (transcription à la p. 45). Il a également expliqué les éléments essentiels de la liste de vérification pour l'évacuation des passagers, étant donné que la séquence n'avait pas été respectée. Sa décision d'attribuer une note d'échec était fondée en partie sur le fait que les manœuvres de la liste de vérification pour l'évacuation des passagers n'avaient pas été exécutées conformément aux SOP et en partie sur les conseils trop nombreux donnés par le commandant Bindon.

[10]     Le commandant Bouchard n'est pas parvenu à se souvenir d'autres aspects de ce VVC qui semblent avoir joué un rôle essentiel dans l'issue du vol en ce qui concerne les commandants Lang et Bindon. Il ne se rappelle pas que le simulateur ait mal fonctionné, ni du scénario de la liste de vérification en approche, ni qu'il régnait apparemment une atmosphère très tendue pendant la seconde partie du vol. Lorsqu'on lui a demandé en contre-interrogatoire s'il avait remis au commandant Lang un rapport du test en vol, le commandant Bouchard ne savait pas très bien s'il lui en avait remis un au moment de l'exposé après vol.

C. Commandant Eamon Michael Lang

[11]     En premier lieu, le commandant Lang a précisé dans son témoignage qu'il n'avait pas aimé le fait que le pilote vérificateur, le commandant Bouchard, soit arrivé en retard pour l'exposé avant vol. Il a estimé que cela avait [traduction] «  tendu l'atmosphère  » (transcription à la p. 73). Il a également estimé qu'il y avait des divergences d'opinion et des frictions entre les commandants Bindon et Bouchard, ce qui a davantage alourdi l'atmosphère qui régnait dans le simulateur.

[12]     Peu après le début du vol, le simulateur a été abaissé pour réparer une panne, ce qui a pris environ une heure. La même panne s'est reproduite une fois que le VVC a été repris, ce qui, pour reprendre les mots du commandant Lang, [traduction] «  a frustré davantage le pilote vérificateur Bouchard. Cet état a été ressenti par les participants en raison de la nature de son angoisse, de sa colère et de son attitude qui ont aggravé la confusion et alourdi l'atmosphère du vol  » (transcription à la p. 73). Le commandant Bouchard a alors fait savoir que le vol se poursuivrait, mais serait ramené à une approche CAT II. Le commandant Lang croyait à ce moment-là qu'il devait réussir une approche CAT III pour obtenir le renouvellement de sa licence. Ce malentendu a encore ajouté aux tensions du vol.

[13]     Le commandant Lang a témoigné au sujet de la liste de vérification en approche. Il agissait alors en tant que PNF et était chargé d'exécuter les manœuvres de la liste avant l'approche et l'atterrissage que devait effectuer le commandant Bindon. Pendant qu'il exécutait les manoeuvres, le commandant Bouchard lui a dit qu'il s'était trompé et qu'il devait recommencer. Une fois les manoeuvres terminées, le simulateur a été arrêté et le commandant Bouchard a expliqué comment il voulait que soient exécutées les manœuvres de la liste de vérification. Comme cette séquence était différente de ce que le commandant Lang avait appris, l'incertitude ainsi créée a compromis sa performance pendant le reste du vol, d'où les manœuvres inappropriées pour effectuer l'atterrissage d'urgence et l'évacuation des passagers.

[14]     Au sujet de l'exposé après vol, le commandant Lang a déclaré qu'il n'avait pas vu le rapport et que le commandant Bindon n'était pas présent.

III. DROIT

[15]     L'article 7.1(1) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, c. A-2, modifié par S.R., c. A-3, stipule ce qui suit :

7.1 (1) Le ministre, s'il décide de suspendre, d'annuler ou de ne pas renouveler un document d'aviation canadien pour l'un des motifs ci-après, expédie un avis par signification à personne ou par courrier recommandé ou certifié à la dernière adresse connue du titulaire du document ou du propriétaire, de l'exploitant ou de l'utilisateur de l'aéronef, de l'aéroport ou autre installation que vise le document :

a) le titulaire du document est inapte;

b) le titulaire ou l'aéronef, l'aéroport ou autre installation ne répond plus aux conditions de délivrance ou de maintien en état de validité du document;

c) le ministre estime que l'intérêt public, notamment en raison des antécédents aériens du titulaire ou de tel de ses dirigeants — au sens du règlement pris en vertu de l'alinéa 6.71(3)a) —, le requiert.

IV. ANALYSE

[16]     Pour ce qui est de l'évaluation de l'exercice échoué, personne ne conteste le fait que la séquence des SOP n'a pas été respectée. Le commandant Bindon a déclaré qu'il pensait qu'en situation réelle l'évacuation des passagers aurait été réussie. D'après lui, l'élément essentiel de cette liste de vérification était d'arrêter les moteurs pour s'assurer qu'ils ne soient pas en marche au moment de l'évacuation. Il a toutefois reconnu que les manoeuvres avaient été effectuées, même si leur séquence avait été changée. D'après le Manuel du pilote vérificateur agréé (Manuel du PVA), 8e édition, février 2006 (TP 6533), tout cela est conforme à la note standard de base (2). Je conclus que la sécurité n'a pas été compromise, même si cette partie du vol a été mal dirigée parce que les manœuvres de la liste pour l'évacuation des passagers n'ont pas été effectuées selon la séquence prévue dans les SOP. Il y a eu des écarts, mais l'équipage a vérifié tous les points de la liste de vérification pour l'évacuation des passagers de façon à ce que personne ne soit en danger au cours de l'opération.

[17]     Le manuel du PVA prévoit ce qui suit :

9.1.6 Une procédure ou une séquence satisfaisant normalement à une cote «  2 - norme de base  » peut être répétée au gré du PVA à condition que cette procédure ou séquence ne tombe pas clairement sous la définition de la cote «  1 - inférieur à la norme  ».

10.3.4 Note standard de base (2)

(a) L'exécution inclut quelques écarts majeurs et peut inclure des écarts de courte durée hors des limites exigées par la norme de qualification, mais ces écarts sont perçus et corrigés de façon appropriée.

(b) Une séquence doit être notée Note standard de base (2) lorsque :

(i) L'exécution comprend quelques écarts majeurs par rapport à l'ensemble de l'exécution, mais ces écarts sont perçus et corrigés dans un laps de temps acceptable.

(ii) Le pilotage de l'aéronef indique une aptitude limitée et/ou comprend des écarts majeurs par rapport à la norme de qualification.

(iii) Le niveau d'aptitude et de connaissance technique révèle des lacunes dans ce domaine.

(iv) Le comportement de l'équipage révèle des retards de conscience de la situation, mais ces retards sont identifiés et corrigés.

(iv) Les aptitudes de gestion de vol sont efficaces, mais de qualité légèrement inférieure à celle exigée par la norme de qualification. Certains items ne sont effectués qu'à la demande ou qu'en réponse des autres membres d'équipage.

(vi) La sécurité du vol n'est pas compromise mais les risques ne sont pas très bien atténués.

[18]     Pour ce qui est de la question des conseils fournis par le commandant Bindon en qualité de premier officier, les commentaires du commandant Bouchard dans le rapport du test en vol se résument principalement à ce qui suit : [traduction] «  le premier officier est obligé de fournir trop de conseils  » (pièce M-5). Le commandant Bouchard a déclaré que pendant le vol, il a donné un avertissement au commandant Bindon pour lui rappeler que c'était le VVC du commandant Lang et non le sien. En interrogatoire principal, lorsqu'on a demandé au commandant Bouchard à quels moments précis le commandant Bindon avait fourni trop de conseils, il n'a pu fournir de précisions.

[19]     En contre-interrogatoire, lorsque le commandant Lang a confronté le commandant Bouchard au sujet des conseils, celui-ci a admis qu'il fallait que les membres d'équipage travaillent ensemble conformément aux directives de la gestion des ressources en équipe. Le commandant Bouchard a donc laissé entendre que le commandant Bindon était un bon premier officier.

[20]     Étant donné que le commandant Bouchard n'a pas été en mesure de fournir d'élément précis, j'estime qu'il n'a fourni aucune preuve directe relativement à sa déclaration selon laquelle il y aurait eu [traduction] «  trop de conseils  ».

[21]     Le commandant Lang a précisé, ce dont le commandant Bindon a convenu, que sa performance avait commencé à se détériorer lorsque le commandant Bouchard a interrompu le vol pour lui expliquer comment il voulait que soit exécutées les manœuvres de la liste de vérification en approche et que la procédure n'était en fait pas conforme aux SOP. Encore là, le commandant Bouchard ne se souvenait pas d'avoir interrompu le vol relativement à la vérification en approche, ni d'avoir constaté que l'atmosphère s'était tendue.

[22]     Comme nous le voyons ci-dessous, cela contrevient directement au Manuel du PVA :

9.1.1 Le PVA doit s'abstenir de donner au candidat des conseils ou des explications portant sur un exercice, ou de faire quelque chose qui va amener le candidat à prendre une mesure bien précise.

9.1.4 Une certaine tension et une certaine appréhension peuvent se manifester pendant les vérifications en vol, même chez les pilotes les plus expérimentés. Le PVA doit essayer de faire diminuer cette appréhension et de créer une atmosphère propice à une bonne démonstration des aptitudes du candidat.

[23]     J'ai du mal à croire que le commandant Bouchard n'a eu aucun souvenir précis de ce vol. Pendant les trois années au cours desquelles il a effectué des VVC, c'était la seconde fois seulement qu'il attribuait une note d'échec. En effet, le commandant Bouchard a déclaré à un certain moment : [traduction] «  Je ne me rappelle pas grand-chose de ce vol  » (transcription à la p. 56). Par conséquent, j'estime que les versions des événements fournies par les commandants Lang et Bindon sont plus convaincantes et plus complètes que la sienne.

[24]     Le commandant Lang a insisté sur le fait qu'il n'avait pas vu le rapport du test en vol (pièce M-5) avant de recevoir l'avis de suspension de Transports Canada, daté du 3 octobre 2006. Interrogé sur ce point, le commandant Bouchard a répondu qu'il n'était pas certain si une copie du rapport avait été remise au moment de l'exposé après vol.

[25]     À cet égard, le Manuel du PVA prévoit ce qui suit :

9.10.1 Un PVA doit suivre les procédures administratives suivantes après un échec à un CCP :

(b) s'assurer que les notes et l'évaluation de la vérification en vol ayant fait l'objet d'un échec sont versées aux dossiers de formation et de vérification en vol du candidat. Un rapport de CCP doit être rempli après toute vérification en vol, même si la vérification a été arrêtée au moment de la préparation pré-vol ou avant que tous les exercices ne soient terminés, et le candidat doit recevoir une copie de ce rapport;

9.11.3 Conformément à l'alinéa 8(2)a) de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, une copie du rapport de la vérification en vol doit être remise au candidat et une copie doit être conservée par le pilote inspecteur qui a mené la vérification. Une copie peut également être remise à la personne chargée de la qualité de l'entraînement au pilotage chez l'exploitant. Transports Canada ne divulguera des renseignements précis sur les résultats de l'évaluation en vol qu'à la personne dont le nom figure sur le rapport de vérification en vol, sauf autorisation contraire en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

[26]     En résumé, les faits qui m'ont été présentés ne justifient pas une évaluation inférieure à la norme (1). Le VVC n'a pas été effectué conformément aux directives contenues dans le Manuel du PVA pour ce qui est de l'interdiction de donner des conseils ou des explications, et du fait que des mesures n'ont pas été prises pour éviter que l'atmosphère se détériore au cours du vol au point d'empêcher l'équipage de travailler correctement. Enfin, je conclus que le commandant Bouchard n'a pas suivi les procédures administratives applicables après un échec de CCP, comme le prévoit le Manuel du PVA.

V. DÉCISION

[27]     Pour ces motifs, la décision du ministre de suspendre le CCP du commandant Lang est renvoyée au ministre pour réexamen.

le 14 août 2007

Richard F. Willems
Conseiller