Decisions

CAT File No. A-1434-02
MoT File No. 6504-P-204223-029259

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Brian James Saunders, Applicant

- and -

Minister of Transport, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. A-2, s. 6.9(8), 7.3(3)
Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96-433, s. 401.03(1)(b)

Expired medical certificate, Positive professional attitude


Review Determination
Faye H. Smith


Decision: May 12, 1997

In view of the circumstances of this isolated event, and because Captain Saunders took immediate steps to remedy the situation on the day following discovery of the lapsed medical, and because he possesses a positive professional attitude regarding his responsibilities as a pilot, pursuant to subsection 6.9(8) of the Aeronautics Act, I hereby reduce the duration of the suspension from fourteen days to two days. Said suspension will begin on the fifteenth day following service of this determination.

The Review Hearing in the above matter was held Monday, May 5, 1997 at 10:00 hours at Moncton, New Brunswick.

At the commencement of the hearing, Mr. Bateman on behalf of Captain Saunders indicated agreement with the facts as alleged that Captain Saunders' medical certificate had expired prior to the stated flight on December 12, 1996.

Mr. Bateman indicated that the Secretary's Certificate dated April 16, 1997 attesting that on December 12, 1996 no Licence Validation Certificate was in effect, contained a typographical error regarding the expiration date of the Licence Validation Certificate which should read October 1, 1996 in lieu of September 1, 1995. The Minister's representative agreed, and the change was made on Exhibit 3-M as filed. Following this correction, Mr. Bateman advised the Tribunal that he would be addressing the issue of sanction only.

NOTICE OF SUSPENSION

Pursuant to section 6.9 of the Aeronautics Act the Minister of Transport has decided to suspend the above indicated Canadian aviation document on the grounds that you have contravened the following provision(s):

Schedule A

Canadian Aviation Regulation section 401.03(1)(b) that on or about December 12, 1996 at or near Moncton, New Brunswick you did act as a crew member on an aircraft to wit: a Piper PA-31 aircraft bearing Canadian registration marks C-GIIZ, more specifically, you could not produce a valid and appropriate medical certificate while acting as a flight crew member and did thereby commit an offence contrary to s. 7.3(3) of the Aeronautics Act, R.S. 1995, c. A-3, s.1 as amended.

The Minister suspended Captain Saunders' commercial pilot licence for a period of fourteen days.

THE LAW

Paragraph 401.03(1)(b) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations reads:

401.03 (1) No person shall act as a flight crew member or exercise the privileges of a flight crew permit, licence or rating unless

(...)

(b) the person is the holder of, and can produce while so acting and while exercising such privileges, a valid and appropriate medical certificate.

ARGUMENT

The Minister's representative, Inspector Miles, briefly outlined the facts of the case as supported by a Ramp Check sheet signed by Inspector McGregor on December 12, 1996 indicating that Captain Saunders did not have a recent medical on board. Two secretary's certificates were produced, one attesting to the expiration of the medical certificate on October l, 1996 and the other indicating that the certificate of registration for C-GIIZ was issued to Prince Edward Air Ltd. An entry in the aircraft journey log placed Captain Saunders as pilot-in-command on December 12, 1996. As aforementioned, these facts were not disputed by the Applicant.

Regarding sanction, Inspector Miles submitted that Captain Saunders did not have a valid medical certificate on the date of the ramp check and was probably flying for the two and one-half month period without a valid medical certificate. He stated that the recommended sanction for this strict liability offence which is a designated provision is a suspension for 14–30 days or an assessment of a monetary penalty in the amount of $1,000. Inspector Miles concluded by stating that, as Captain Saunders had no prior record, the minimum sanction of fourteen days was assessed.

Mr. Bateman indicated that once the company became aware that Captain Saunders' medical certificate was expired, he was grounded until his medical certificate was renewed. The evidence of Captain Saunders disclosed that the certificate was renewed on December 13, 1996, the day following the ramp check. Mr. Bateman indicated that the pilot-in-command overlooked the renewal date as things were very hectic at the company which was in the throes of expansion.

Captain Saunders in his own behalf stated that at the time he was striving to meet a lot of demands both personally and professionally; the latter involved pilot training and line flying. He stated that over the past five years the company had notified him of his medical renewal date, and that this time the date was incorrectly entered on the board as 1997. Captain Saunders was quick to acknowledge and accept that the responsibility for renewal of his medical certificate was his and that in the circumstances of this case it was an oversight on his part. He further acknowledged that he realized it had the potential for a "really nasty situation" with disastrous consequences for the company. He urged the Tribunal to accept this as an unfortunate event and urged that the penalty was excessive, most especially as he was the only captain of the subject aircraft and thus when he is grounded, so is the aircraft.

Mr. Bateman in his sum-up indicated that the company has revised its procedures for notification of renewals and, while not absolving the pilot-in-command of his responsibility, the new procedures should provide a foolproof system.

By way of character reference Mr. Bateman stated that Captain Saunders is highly regarded for his professional standards and competency and his respect for the regulations. This is an isolated incident, and there is no previous history. Captain Saunders is a 34-year-old pilot who is in excellent health with no limitations.

DISCUSSION

The offence of operating an aircraft without a valid medical certificate is a serious one. The range of paragraph 401.03(1)(b) extends from failing to have a copy of the medical certificate on board, to the more serious failure to renew a medical certificate at its expiration and to the most serious offence of operating an aircraft without a valid medical certificate by reason of failure to meet required medical conditions, hence the range of recommended penalties. Clearly a penalty assessed under section 6.9 of the Aeronautics Act is designed to meet the need for punishment for the offence in circumstances giving rise to the case for this pilot-in-command and for other like-minded individuals so as to deter repeat offences and to ensure respect for and compliance with the regulations.

I was impressed with the forthrightness and demeanour of Captain Saunders and believe that he has respect for the Canadian Aviation Regulations. I believe that he is a professional pilot who considers that he was most fortunate that events with dire consequences did not occur during the period of his lapsed medical certificate. I also believe that the duration of the suspension as assessed is more than necessary as a deterrent for Captain Saunders.

The assessment of penalties must also contain the consideration of adequacy of the penalty to deter other pilots from the commission of this offence. In this regard my review of Civil Aviation Tribunal jurisprudence over the past number of years has produced only one similar case, a fact which leads me to conclude that pilots are already aware of the impact, professionally, of a failure to observe renewal dates for medical certificates.

Mr. Bateman's references regarding Captain Saunders' professionalism and good character as well as his assertions of checks and balances set up by the recently established company procedures in this respect were helpful to me.

I thank the representatives of the parties for their efficiencies, courtesy and candour herein.

DETERMINATION

In view of the circumstances of this isolated event, and because Captain Saunders took immediate steps to remedy the situation on the day following discovery of the lapsed medical, and because he possesses a positive professional attitude regarding his responsibilities as a pilot, pursuant to subsection 6.9(8) of the Aeronautics Act, I hereby reduce the duration of the suspension from fourteen days to two days.

Faye Smith
Chairperson
Civil Aviation Tribunal

Décisions

Dossier no A-1434-02 (TAC)
Dossier no 6504-P-204223-029259 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Brian James Saunders, requérant(e)

- et -

Ministre des Transports, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, S.C., c. A-2, art. 6.9(8), 7.3(3)
Règlement de l'Aviation canadien, SOR/96-433, art. 401.03(1)b)

Certificat médical expiré, Attitude professionnelle positive


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Faye H. Smith


Décision : le 12 mai 1997

TRADUCTION

Compte tenu des circonstances entourant cet incident isolé, et du fait que le commandant Saunders a pris des mesures immédiates pour régler la situation le lendemain du jour où il s'est rendu compte que son certificat médical avait expiré et du fait qu'il affiche une attitude professionnelle positive en ce qui concerne ses responsabilités en tant que pilote, en vertu du paragraphe 6.9(8) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, je réduis par les présentes la durée de la suspension de quatorze jours à deux jours. Ladite suspension entrera en vigueur le quinzième jour suivant la signification de la présente décision.

L'audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le lundi 5 mai 1997 à 10 h à Moncton (Nouveau-Brunswick).

Au début de l'audience, M. Bateman, au nom du commandant Saunders, a signifié son accord avec les faits allégués, à savoir que le certificat médical du commandant Saunders avait expiré avant la date donnée du vol, soit le 12 décembre 1996.

M. Bateman a fait savoir que le certificat du secrétaire daté du 16 avril 1997 attestant que le 12 décembre 1996 aucun certificat de validation de licence n'était en vigueur, renfermait une erreur typographique concernant la date d'expiration du certificat de validation de licence qui aurait dû se lire le 1er octobre 1996 au lieu du 1er septembre 1995. Le représentant du ministre a exprimé son accord et la modification a été apportée à la pièce M-3 telle que déposée. À la suite de cette correction, M. Bateman a informé le Tribunal qu'il ne parlerait que de la sanction.

AVIS DE SUSPENSION

En vertu de l'article 6.9 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, le ministre des Transports a décidé de suspendre votre document d'aviation canadien mentionné ci-dessus parce que vous avez contrevenu aux dispositions suivantes :

Annexe A

Alinéa 401.03(1)b) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien. Le 12 décembre 1996, ou vers cette date, à Moncton (Nouveau-Brunswick) ou près de ce lieu, vous avez agi en qualité de membre d'équipage de conduite d'un aéronef, à savoir un aéronef Piper PA-31 portant les marques d'immatriculation canadienne C-GIIZ, plus précisément, vous ne pouviez pas produire un certificat médical valide et pertinent alors que vous agissiez en qualité de membre d'équipage et avez par conséquent contrevenu au paragraphe 7.3(3) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, S.R. 1995, ch. A-3, art. 1 tel que modifié.

Le ministre a suspendu la licence de pilote professionnel du commandant Saunders pour une période de quatorze jours.

LA LOI

L'alinéa 401.03(1)b) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien se lit comme suit :

401.03(1) Il est interdit à toute personne d'agir en qualité de membre d'équipage de conduite ou d'exercer les avantages d'un permis, d'une licence ou d'une qualification de membre d'équipage de conduite à moins qu'elle ne satisfasse aux conditions suivantes :

(...)

b) la personne est titulaire d'un certificat médical valide propre aux fonctions et aux avantages qu'elle exerce et peut produire le certificat dans l'exercice de ces fonctions ou avantages.

OBSERVATIONS

Le représentant du ministre, l'inspecteur Miles, a brièvement rappelé les faits de l'affaire, étayés par une fiche de vérification à l'aire de trafic signée par l'inspecteur McGregor le 12 décembre 1996 qui indiquait que le commandant Saunders n'avait pas à bord un certificat médical récent. Deux certificats du secrétaire ont été produits, l'un attestant de l'expiration du certificat médical le 1er octobre 1996 et l'autre indiquant que le certificat d'immatriculation du C-GIIZ avait été délivré au nom de Prince Edward Air Ltd. Une inscription dans le carnet de route d'aéronef indiquait que le commandant Saunders faisait fonction de commandant de bord de l'aéronef le 12 décembre 1996. Tel que mentionné précédemment, ces faits n'ont pas été contestés par le requérant.

En ce qui concerne la sanction, l'inspecteur Miles a prétendu que le commandant Saunders n'était pas titulaire d'un certificat médical en vigueur à la date de la vérification à l'aire de trafic et avait probablement piloté au cours de la période de deux mois et demi visée sans être titulaire d'un certificat médical valide. Il a indiqué que la sanction recommandée pour cette contravention de droit stricte qui est un texte désigné est une suspension de 14 à 30 jours ou l'imposition d'une amende de 1 000 $. L'inspecteur Miles a conclu en déclarant qu'étant donné que le commandant Saunders n'avait aucune infraction antérieure à son dossier, la sanction minimale de 14 jours avait été imposée.

M. Bateman a fait savoir que lorsque la compagnie a été mise au courant que le certificat médical du commandant Saunders avait expiré, ce dernier avait été interdit de vol jusqu'à ce que son certificat médical soit renouvelé. Selon la preuve présentée par le commandant Saunders, le certificat avait été renouvelé le 13 décembre 1996, soit le jour suivant la vérification à l'aire de trafic. M. Bateman a indiqué que la date de renouvellement avait échappé au commandant de bord en raison de toute l'effervescence qui entourait l'expansion de la compagnie.

Le commandant Saunders, en son propre nom, a fait savoir qu'à ce moment-là il cherchait à répondre à un grand nombre de demandes, tant sur le plan personnel que professionnel; sur ce dernier plan, il s'agissait de formation au pilotage et de vol de radioalignement. Il a déclaré qu'au cours des cinq dernières années, la compagnie l'avait informé de la date du renouvellement de son certificat médical et que pour cette fois-ci, la date avait été incorrectement inscrite comme étant 1997. Le commandant Saunders a aussitôt reconnu et accepté que la responsabilité à l'égard du renouvellement de son certificat médical lui incombait et que dans les circonstances de la présente affaire, il s'agissait d'une méprise de sa part. Il a également reconnu qu'il se rendait compte qu'il aurait pu s'ensuivre une « situation véritablement mauvaise » qui aurait pu avoir des conséquences désastreuses pour la compagnie. Il a plaidé devant le Tribunal d'accepter cet incident comme étant malheureux et il a indiqué que la pénalité était excessive, plus particulièrement du fait qu'il était le seul commandant de bord pour l'aéronef en question et que lorsqu'il était interdit de vol, l'aéronef l'était également.

Dans son résumé, M. Bateman a indiqué que la compagnie avait révisé ses procédures quant aux avis de renouvellement et que, sans enlever la responsabilité qui incombe au commandant de bord, les nouvelles procédures devraient être à toute épreuve.

Sur le plan de l'appréciation morale, M. Bateman a indiqué que le commandant Saunders est hautement estimé quant à ses normes professionnelles et à sa compétence ainsi qu'à son respect des règlements. Il s'agit d'un incident isolé et il n'y a aucun antécédent. Le commandant Saunders est un pilote de 34 ans qui est en excellente santé et ne fait l'objet d'aucune restriction.

DISCUSSION

Utiliser un aéronef sans être titulaire d'un certificat médical valide est une grave infraction. La portée de l'alinéa 401.03(1)b) va du défaut d'avoir une copie du certificat médical à bord jusqu'au défaut plus grave du renouvellement d'un certificat médical à son expiration et à l'infraction très grave d'utiliser un aéronef sans détenir un certificat médical parce qu'on ne peut satisfaire aux conditions médicales requises, d'où l'éventail des sanctions recommandées. De toute évidence, une sanction imposée en vertu de l'article 6.9 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique est conçue pour satisfaire à la nécessité d'imposer une sanction à l'égard de l'infraction, compte tenu des circonstances donnant lieu à l'affaire mettant en cause ce commandant de bord, et pour d'autres personnes de même esprit de façon à éviter que de telles infractions se répètent et de veiller au respect et à la conformité des règlements.

Le comportement et la franchise du commandant Saunders m'ont fait bonne impression et je crois qu'il est respectueux du Règlement de l'aviation canadien. Je crois qu'il est un pilote professionnel qui s'estime très chanceux que des événements aux suites désastreuses ne se soient pas produits au cours de la période où son certificat médical n'était plus en vigueur. Je crois également que la durée de la suspension imposée est plus que nécessaire comme moyen de dissuasion pour le commandant Saunders.

L'imposition de sanctions doit également tenir compte de la pertinence de la sanction comme moyen de dissuader d'autres pilotes de commettre la même infraction. À cet égard, mon examen de la jurisprudence du Tribunal de l'aviation civile des dernières années m'a permis de relever une seule autre affaire similaire, un fait qui me porte à conclure que les pilotes sont déjà au courant des conséquences, sur le plan professionnel, de ne pas respecter les dates de renouvellement des certificats médicaux.

Les observations de M. Bateman en ce qui concerne le professionnalisme et l'intégrité du commandant Saunders ainsi que ses affirmations à l'égard de la mise en place d'un système d'autocontrôle se fondant sur les procédures récemment établies par la compagnie à cet égard m'ont été utiles.

Je remercie les représentants des parties quant à leurs prestations, leur courtoisie et leur franchise au cours des présentes procédures.

DÉCISION

Compte tenu des circonstances entourant cet incident isolé, et du fait que le commandant Saunders a pris des mesures immédiates pour régler la situation le lendemain du jour où il s'est rendu compte que son certificat médical avait expiré et du fait qu'il affiche une attitude professionnelle positive en ce qui concerne ses responsabilités en tant que pilote, en vertu du paragraphe 6.9(8) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, je réduis par la présente la durée de la suspension de quatorze jours à deux jours.

Faye Smith
Présidente
Tribunal de l'aviation civile