Decisions

CAT File No. P-1143-02
MoT File No. 5802-049532

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Harmon N. Ronning, Applicant

- and -

Minister of Transport, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. A-2, ss 6.9, 7.1(1)
Air Regulations, C.R.C. 1978, c. 2, s. 409(a)
Personnel Licensing Handbook, Vol. 3, Part. III, ss 1.2, 1.3(b)

Medical certificate, Consumption of alcohol, Alcoholism


Review Determination
William C. Pearson, Q.C.


Decision: October 9, 1996

I amend the period of suspension from two years to 12 months and 18 days, under the Notice of Suspension dated September 29, 1995 and direct that the suspension shall terminate on November 17, 1996.

The Review Hearing on the above matter was held Wednesday, September 18, 1996 at 10:00 hours in Vancouver, British Columbia. This matter had been referred to the Tribunal for a decision dealing only with the sanctions to be imposed on the Applicant. All the facts recited were admitted by both parties and a Statement of Agreed Facts was filed.

Harmon N. Ronning was a Captain with Air Canada and on November 1, 1994, arrived at Heathrow Airport at 10:00 a.m. to fly an Air Canada Boeing 767 to Halifax, Nova Scotia. He and the First Officer commenced to do those things that Captains and First Officers do as crew members. While they were engaged in the cockpit checks, Captain Ronning was advised that one of the flight attendants would not fly because of the odour of alcohol on his breath. The Captain, who had not consumed alcohol since 2:00 a.m. (pursuant to paragraph 409(a) of the Air Regulations), volunteered for a blood and urine test to demonstrate his sobriety. The blood sample test showed .128 milligrams of alcohol per decilitre (well over the 8 milligrams in 100 milligrams motorists have regretted as they lost their driving privileges). The eight hours abstention had not been enough to allow his body to eliminate the alcohol.

On November 17, 1994, the Minister suspended the Applicant's Medical Certificate under paragraph 7.1(1)(a) of the Aeronautics Act, pursuant to section 1.2 and paragraph 1.3(b) of the Personnel Licensing Handbook. Captain Ronning was suffering from the disease of alcoholism.

During the first week of November 1994, Captain Ronning commenced a program of controlling his disease. He was determined and successful. He is now classified as a recovering alcoholic, who has abstained from alcohol since then (the first week of November 1994).

The subject of this application relates to a two-year suspension of Captain Ronning's Airline Transport Licence issued on September 29, 1995, pursuant to section 6.9 of the Aeronautics Act. This application requests that the time under the medical suspension be counted in dealing with the two-year suspension imposed by the Minister for breach of paragraph 409(b) of the Air Regulations commencing on October 29, 1995, and to run until October 27, 1997.

In sentencing one must be conscious of certain principles to be achieved. These are deterring of the wrongdoer and others, reforming the offender and protecting the public. It must be severe enough to deter both the offender and others liable to offend, and yet reasonable enough to enjoin other alcoholics to take control of the disease.

In my opinion, confirmed by the Minister, a two-year suspension for a breach of paragraph 409(b) of the Air Regulations is an adequate sentence. In the circumstances, the effect on Captain Ronning is an economic one of two years without salary, which is a severe punishment. It matters not the grounds for the suspension.

Under subsection 6.9(8) of the Aeronautics Act, the Tribunal member may confirm the Minister's suspension or may substitute the Tribunal member's decision for that of the Minister.

In this application, the Applicant requests that I reduce the suspension to 12 months and 18 days which results in the expiry of the suspension on November 17, 1996 (a total time of two years).

After reviewing Captain Ronning's record and the evidence agreed to, in regard to Captain Ronning's determination to take control of his disease and abstain from alcohol, I have concluded that such effort deserves support. Accordingly, I amend the period of suspension from two years to 12 months and 18 days, under the Notice of Suspension dated September 29, 1995 and direct that the suspension shall terminate on November 17, 1996.

I should like to thank counsel for their able contribution to the hearing, and my enlightenment.

William C. Pearson, Q.C.
Member
Civil Aviation Tribunal

Décisions

Dossier no P-1143-02 (TAC)
Dossier no 5802-049532 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Harmon N. Ronning, requérant(e)

- et -

Ministre des Transports, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, ch. A-2, art. 6.9 et par. 7.1(1)
Manuel de licences du personnel, vol. 3, partie III, art. 1.2 et al. 1.3b)
Règlement de l'Air, C.R.C. 1978, ch. 2, al. 409a)

Consommation d'alcool avant un vol, Certificat médical, Alcoolisme


Décision à la suite d'une révision
William C. Pearson, Q.C.


Décision : le 9 octobre 1996

TRADUCTION

Je réduis la période de suspension de deux ans à 12 mois et 18 jours, conformément à l'avis de suspension du 29 septembre 1995. Ladite suspension prendra fin le 17 novembre 1996.

L'audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le mercredi 18 septembre 1996 à 10 h à Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique). L'affaire avait été dirigée vers le Tribunal concernant la peine imposée au requérant seulement. Les deux parties s'entendent sur les faits reprochés et un exposé conjoint des faits a été versé au dossier.

Alors qu'il était commandant de bord au service d'Air Canada, Harmon N. Ronning s'est présenté à l'aéroport de Heathrow le 1er novembre 1994 à 10 heures. Il devait piloter un Boeing 767 d'Air Canada à Halifax (Nouvelle-Écosse). Lui et le copilote ont alors entrepris les tâches leur échouant normalement à titre de membres d'équipage. Au moment où ils effectuaient des vérifications poste de pilotage, on a avisé le commandant qu'un agent de bord ne pouvait pas effectuer le vol parce qu'on avait décelé une odeur d'alcool dans son haleine. Le commandant de bord qui n'avait pas consommé d'alcool depuis 2 heures du matin (conformément à l'alinéa 409a) du Règlement de l'Air) a consenti à ce que l'on fasse un examen du sang et de l'urine démontrant sa sobriété. L'analyse du sang a révélé 0,128 milligrammes d'alcool par décilitre (ce qui est bien au-dessus des 8 milligrammes par 100 milligrammes qui font perdre aux automobilistes leur permission de conduire). L'abstinence de huit heures n'avait pas suffi à éliminer l'alcool de son corps.

Le 17 novembre 1994, le ministre a suspendu le certificat médical du requérant en vertu du paragraphe 7.1(1) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, conformément à l'article 1.2 et à l'alinéa 1.3b) du Manuel de licences du personnel. Le commandant de bord Ronning était alcoolique.

Durant la première semaine de novembre 1994, le commandant de bord Ronning a entrepris un programme de lutte contre sa maladie. Il était déterminé et a bien réussi. On le considère maintenant comme un alcoolique en voie de guérison et il s'est abstenu d'alcool depuis lors (la première semaine de novembre 1994).

Le motif de la présente requête concerne la suspension de deux ans de la licence de pilote de ligne du commandant Ronning délivrée le 29 septembre 1995 en vertu de l'article 6.9 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique. La requête demande que le temps de la suspension médicale de deux ans imposée par le ministre pour contravention à l'alinéa 409b) du Règlement de l'Air soit calculé du 29 octobre 1995 au 27 octobre 1997.

Toute sentence doit tenir compte de certains principes. Il s'agit d'empêcher la poursuite d'actions néfastes de la part de l'auteur d'un méfait et des autres, de corriger le contrevenant et de protéger le public. La sentence doit être assez sévère pour dissuader le contrevenant de commettre des actions néfastes et les autres susceptibles d'emprunter la même voie, mais elle doit demeurer dans des limites qui inciteront d'autres alcooliques à prendre leur maladie en charge.

Selon moi, et le ministre confirme cet avis, une suspension de deux ans pour contravention à l'alinéa 409b) du Règlement de l'Air est une sentence appropriée. Dans les circonstances, elle impose des restrictions financières, soit une absence de salaire de deux ans au commandant Ronning, ce qui est une punition sévère, sans égard au motif de la suspension.

En vertu du paragraphe 6.9(8) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, le conseiller du Tribunal peut confirmer la suspension imposée par le ministre ou substituer sa décision à celle du ministre.

Dans le cas présent, le requérant demande que je réduise la suspension à 12 mois et 18 jours, ce qui portera la fin de la suspension au 17 novembre 1996, donnant une suspension totale de deux ans.

À l'examen du dossier du commandant Ronning et de la preuve concernant l'engagement du commandant Ronning à prendre charge de sa maladie et à s'abstenir d'alcool, je conclus que de tels efforts méritent un appui. Par conséquent, je ramène la période de suspension de deux ans à 12 mois et 18 jours, conformément à l'avis de suspension du 29 septembre 1995 et je fixe la fin de la période de suspension au 17 novembre 1996.

Je tiens à remercier les avocats de leur participation avisée à l'audience et de m'avoir apporté des éclaircissements.

William C. Pearson, c.r.
Conseiller
Tribunal de l'aviation civile