Decisions

CAT File No. P-1729-33
MoT File No. EMIS 031509

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Minister of Transport, Applicant

- and -

John N. Mummery, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, S.C., c. A-2, ss. 4.1, 7.7
Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96-433, s. 602.14(2)(b)

Low Flying, Jurisdiction, Foreign Airspace


Review Determination
E. David Dover


Decision: April 28, 1999

I find that John N. Mummery did contravene paragraph 602.14(2)(b) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations, and I confirm the Minister's decision to issue a monetary penalty of $250.00. That amount is payable to the Receiver General for Canada and must be received by the Civil Aviation Tribunal within fifteen days of service of this Determination.

A Review Hearing on the above matter was held Friday, April 16, 1999 at 10:00 hours, at the Federal Court of Canada in Vancouver, British Columbia. The witnesses were sworn in by the attending court reporter.

BACKGROUND

On November 6, l998, a monetary penalty of $250.00 was assessed against Mr. J. Mummery, the Respondent, pursuant to section 7.7 of the Aeronautics Act, for having contravened paragraph 602.14(2)(b) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARS).

Allegedly, Mr. Mummery:

at approximately 17:53 hours Pacific Daylight Time on 28 June 1998 near Point Roberts, Washington, USA, being the pilot of a Cessna 172 bearing the registration mark of C-GFVB, you did unlawfully fly the said aircraft at a distance of less than 500 feet from a vessel and its two occupants.

The incident took place in the Strait of Georgia, British Columbia approximately two miles from the nearest landfall. The vessel in question was proceeding on a north west track with two other ships trailing on the same course, the second or closest vessel, a sailboat, being approximately five miles astern. The aircraft was proceeding on a northerly heading and passed the lead vessel on its port (left) side.

THE LAW

Paragraph 602.14(2)(b) stipulates:

602.14 (1) For the purposes of this section and section 602.15, an aircraft shall be deemed to be operated over a built-up area or over an open-air assembly of persons where that built-up area or open-air assembly of persons is within a horizontal distance of

(...)

(2) Except where conducting a take-off, approach or landing or where permitted under section 602.15, no person shall operate an aircraft

(...)

(b) in circumstances other than those referred to in paragraph (a), at a distance less than 500 feet from any person, vessel, vehicle or structure.

THE FACTS

The following facts were admitted and agreed to by both parties:

Aircraft registration C-GFVB Exhibits M-l/M-5

Aircraft type Cessna 172P Exhibit M-2

Owner Pacific Flying Club Exhibit M-2

Departure and arrival location Boundary Bay Airport Exhibit M-4

Pilot-in-command John N. Mummery Exhibit M-4

Passengers on board Two Exhibit M-4

Departure/Arrival time 17:25/18:20 Exhibit M-4

FOR THE APPLICANT—THE MINISTER OF TRANSPORT

The Minister's representative presented three witnesses. The first two witnesses, Mr. Keith Barnes and Mrs. Jacqueline Barnes testified with similar interpretations of the event.

  • They were both aboard a 26-foot powerboat on June 28, 1998. Jacqueline Barnes was at the helm steering a northwest course and because of the flying bridge construction of the boat her vision was limited.
  • They testified that the wind was calm, the sky clear and the seas were calm.
  • Mr. Barnes testified that he observed a small aircraft off his port side heading away from his ship. He stated that the aircraft made a sudden descent from altitude and appeared to be in distress. The aircraft levelled out at 40 to 50 feet above sea level and proceeded towards the Barneses' boat. Mr. Barnes instructed Mrs. Barnes to hold her present heading so as to allow the aircraft to ditch beside their boat. The aircraft flew over their bow at about 50 feet and turned towards the trailing sailboat. As the aircraft passed the Barneses' boat, Mr. Barnes indicated that he could clearly see the pilot gesturing with his hand, and the aircraft was low enough for Mr. Barnes to see through the cabin of the aircraft. The aircraft turned towards the trailing sailboat, passing down the starboard (right) side of the Barneses' boat. The aircraft proceeded towards the sailboat at the same altitude, passed the sailboat, turned and climbed to altitude and disappeared.
  • Mr. Barnes indicated that he attempted to video the entire sequence but because of the confusion caused by the circumstances he did not have the video camera operating at all times. Exhibit M-l is taken from a portion of the Barneses' video and is presented to indicate that the aircraft C-GFVB was the aircraft involved in this incident.

Cross-examination

Mr. Mummery questioned the Barneses about their ability to judge distances and there were no specific conclusions drawn. Mrs. Barnes indicated that she considered there was a possibility of the aircraft striking the Barneses' boat because of the low and close proximity of the aircraft.

The final witness for the Minister was Mr. Richard Newcombe.

Mr. Newcombe is the person assigned to investigate file number 031509, Mr. John Mummery. He presented the following exhibits:

  • Exhibit M-l Reproduction of three photos taken from the Barneses' video.
  • Exhibit M-2 C-GFVB registration printout
  • Exhibit M-3 Pacific Flying Club booking sheet
  • Exhibit M-4 C-GFVB journey log sheet
  • Exhibit M-5 Pacific Flying Club receipt made out to John Mummery
  • Exhibit M-6 Pacific Flying Club Aircraft & Pilot Signout Sheet

Mr. Newcombe testified that these were true copies of the original documentation, which he had examined during his investigation. Mr. Mummery agreed to their authenticity. Mr. Newcombe testified that through his investigation the following sequence of events transpired.

On Sunday, June 28, 1998 Mr. John Mummery rented a Cessna 172P registration C-GFVB from the Pacific Flying Club. He departed Boundary Bay Airport for an intended flight path encompassing the transition points of Sucia Islands, Roche Harbor, Friday Harbor, Bedwell Harbor and returning to Boundary Bay Airport.

The aircraft departed Boundary Bay at approximately 17:25 hours with two people on board and the flight time was calculated to be .90 of an hour. The aircraft was within the weight and balance requirements for the Cessna 172 and all safety equipment was on board.

Mr. Newcombe testified that he had viewed the videotape taken by Mr. Keith Barnes and he produced the three photos which comprise Exhibit M-1. His evidence was that the aircraft C-GFVB was the aircraft depicted on the pictures outlined in Exhibit M-1.

Mr. Newcombe testified that he discussed by telephone and letter on July 8, 1998 the situation with Mr. Mummery. There was a follow up meeting on July 15, 1998 at which time Mr. Mummery delivered a letter which appears as Exhibit D-1. During this conversation Mr. Mummery denied through conversation and by letter that he had crossed the bow of an unknown sailboat at 50 feet.

Mr. Newcombe testified that he recommended to his superiors that penalties not be proceeded with because his main concern was that the incident would not happen again. His recommendation was not accepted and a monetary penalty of $250.00 was issued.

Cross-examination

Mr. Newcombe stated that on certain occasions he would not proceed with penalties if the pilot admitted his transgression and the pilot gave assurances that the action would not be repeated. The main indicating factor was of course the severity of the transgression. Mr. Newcombe stated that Mr. Mummery had not admitted to the offence.

FOR THE RESPONDENT—MR. JOHN MUMMERY

Mr. John Mummery testified on his own behalf and was sworn in as a witness.

Mr. Mummery testified that on June 28, l998 he rented a Cessna 172 from the Pacific Flying Club of Boundary Bay Airport and at approximately 16:30 hours accompanied by his 9½-year-old daughter departed on a sightseeing trip to Point Roberts, Sucia Islands, Orcas Island and returning to Boundary Bay Airport.

Mr. Mummery testified that his original flight altitude was 1500 ASL but he descended to 600-700 feet because of conflicting commercial traffic. During this time he was in radio contact with the Vancouver VFR control centre.

Mr. Mummery testified that he had been type endorsed by a Pacific Flying Club instructor on June 27, 1998 (the day before the flight in question). He stated that he was not happy with his performance in conducting precautionary forced landings (PFL) and it was his intention to practice these procedures during this flight on June 28, 1998. Mr. Mummery testified that it was his operating procedure to descend to 200 feet AGL (over land) or 200 feet ASL (over sea) to practice this procedure.

Mr. Mummery testified that he observed three vessels proceeding in line on the Strait of Georgia. The first was a powerboat followed by a large sailboat. He stated that he had friends on the sailboat but denied by letter, Exhibit D-1, and testimony that he came within 50 feet of the sailboat.

Mr. Mummery testified that he observed people waving on the lead powerboat and denied crossing over this vessel at 50 feet. He further stated that the aircraft depicted in Exhibit M-1 could have been shown as being in close proximity through the use of a zoom function on the video camera. Mr. Mummery testified that he had 20,000 hours with 32 years experience as a pilot.

Cross-examination

Mr. Mummery admitted that a portion of his flight might have been within United States airspace.

Mr. Mummery in answering a direct question advised that he had not practised PFL procedures with his instructor on the previous day's check out flight. He also advised that he had not requested permission from the flight school to conduct these procedures during the flight on June 28, l998.

Mr. Mike Hardie was sworn in as a witness.

Mr. Hardie testified that the irregular patterns on the first two pictures of the aircraft in flight (Exhibit M-1) were abnormalities in the video process and not actual pictures of the surface of the sea. Mr. Mummery did not object to this interpretation.

ARGUMENTS

The Minister's representative stated that on June 28, 1998 Mr. John Mummery accompanied by his daughter rented a Cessna 172P registration C-GFVB from the Pacific Flying Club based at Boundary Bay Airport in British Columbia. At about 17:53 hours an aircraft was observed and videoed (Exhibit M-l) flying in the vicinity of a motorized 26-foot vessel owned by Mr. and Mrs. Barnes. The aircraft was subsequently identified through video interpretation to be a Cessna 172P registration C-GFVB. This aircraft was rented by and under the command of Mr. Mummery. In the opinion of the Barneses this aircraft was within 50 feet of their boat and appeared to be in some form of distress. This was dispelled by various hand gestures from both parties. The presenter for the Minister requested that the monetary penalty of $250.00 remain in effect.

Mr. Mummery was concerned that both Mr. and Mrs. Barnes had a long time to talk about the incident. He was also concerned that the Barneses waited 24 hours to report the incident to the Department of Transport.

Mr. Mummery admitted to seeing the waving from the Barneses and denied that he was within 50 feet of their vessel. Mr. Mummery indicated the reason the aircraft looks so close in Exhibit M-1 is through the use of the zoom capabilities within the video camera.

Mr. Mummery stated that in his opinion it was unwise for him to practice PFLs during this flight. He stated that he had acquired 32 years of experience with 20,000 hours of which 6,000 hours were in small aircraft without incident or violation.

ANALYSIS

There are two issues to consider in this file.

  • While not established by the Applicant or the Respondent, there is a chance that this incident took place in foreign airspace. Upon examination of the Aeronautics Act, Part I, section 4.1 titled "contraventions outside Canada" I find the following statement:

4.1 Every person who commits an act or omission outside Canada that if committed in Canada would be a contravention of a provision under this Part shall be deemed to have committed a contravention of the provision under this Part and may be proceeded against and punished in the place in Canada where the person is found as if the contravention had been committed in that place.

R.S., 1985, c. 33 (1st Supp.) s. 1; 1992, c.4, s. 3.

  • None of the witnesses were able to establish the exact altitude Mr. Mummery descended to during his manoeuvres adjacent to the Barneses' boat. The regulations titled "Minimum Altitudes and Distances" contained in subsection 602.14(1) of the CARs state:

602.14 (1) For the purposes of this section and section 602.15, an aircraft shall be deemed to be operated over a built-up area or over an open-air assembly of persons where that built-up area or open-air assembly of persons is within a horizontal distance of

(a) 500 feet from a helicopter or balloon: or

(b) 2,000 feet from an aircraft other than a helicopter or balloon.

(2) Except where conducting a take-off, approach or landing or where permitted under section 602.15, no person shall operate an aircraft

(...)

(b) in circumstances other than those referred to in paragraph (a), at a distance less than 500 feet from any person, vessel, vehicle or structure.

CONCLUSION

The interpretation of the Aeronautics Act, Part I, section 4.1 indicates that the Minister was correct in proceeding with a sanction even though the aircraft may have been in foreign air space.

In the section titled "Minimum Altitudes and Distances" of the CARs, paragraph 602.14(2)(b), any Canadian aircraft is prohibited from flying at a distance less than 500 feet from any person, vessel, vehicle or structure.

The testimony from Mr. and Mrs. Barnes indicates that the aircraft approached at a distance of approximately 50 feet to their boat. I dismiss this exact calculation, as it would be impossible to judge this distance without a measuring device. I am however convinced that the aircraft was below 500 feet which is stipulated by the regulations and thus in violation of accepted practices.

I am also relying on Mr. Mummery's own testimony where he gave evidence that to conduct a proper PFL exercise he would descend to 200 feet. Mr. Mummery also stated that it was a mistake on his part to conduct this procedure during this flight.

DETERMINATION

I find that John N. Mummery did contravene paragraph 602.14(2)(b) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations, and I confirm the Minister's decision to issue a monetary penalty of $250.00.

E. David Dover
Member
Civil Aviation Tribunal

Décisions

Dossier no P-1729-33 (TAC)
Dossier no EMIS 031509 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Ministre des Transports, requérant(e)

- et -

John N. Mummery, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.C., ch. A-2, art. 4.1 et 7.7
Règlement de l'aviation canadien, DORS/96-433, al. 602.14(2)b)

Vol à basse altitude, Espace aérien étranger, Compétence


Décision à la suite d'une révision
E. David Dover


Décision : le 28 avril 1999

TRADUCTION

Je considère que John N. Mummery a contrevenu à l'alinéa 602.14(2)b) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien et je confirme la décision du ministre d'imposer une amende de 250 $. Ce montant est payable au Receveur général du Canada et doit parvenir au Tribunal de l'aviation civile dans les quinze jours suivant la signification de la présente décision.

Une audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le vendredi 16 avril 1999 à 10 heures à la Cour fédérale du Canada à Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique). Les témoins ont été assermentés par le sténographe judiciaire de service.

HISTORIQUE

Le 6 novembre l998, on a imposé une amende de 250 $ à M. J. Mummery, l'intimé, en vertu de l'article 7.7 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, pour avoir contrevenu à l'alinéa 602.14(2)b) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien (RAC).

On reproche ce qui suit à M. Mummery :

[...] approximativement à 17 h 53, heure avancée du Pacifique, le 28 juin 1998 près de Point Roberts (Washington) aux États-Unis, en pilotant un Cessna 172 portant la marque d'immatriculation C-GFVB, vous avez piloté ledit aéronef à une distance de moins de 500 pieds d'un navire et de ses deux occupants.

L'incident a eu lieu dans le détroit de Georgia en Colombie-Britannique approximativement à deux milles des atterrages les plus près. Le navire en question avançait sur un axe nord-ouest et deux autres navires suivaient la même route; le deuxième navire, un voilier, était le plus proche, soit approximativement à cinq milles à l'arrière. L'aéronef avançait en direction nord et a dépassé le navire de tête à bâbord (gauche).

LA LOI

L'alinéa 602.14(2)b) prévoit que :

602.14 (1) Pour l'application du présent article et de l'article 602.15, un aéronef est réputé être utilisé au-dessus d'une zone bâtie ou au-dessus d'un rassemblement de personnes en plein air, lorsque la zone bâtie ou le rassemblement de personnes en plein air est à une distance, mesurée horizontalement :

(2) Sauf s'il s'agit d'effectuer le décollage, l'approche ou l'atterrissage d'un aéronef ou lorsque la personne y est autorisée en application de l'article 602.15, il est interdit d'utiliser un aéronef :

b) dans les cas autres que ceux visés à l'alinéa a), à une distance inférieure à 500 pieds de toute personne, tout navire, tout véhicule ou toute structure.

LES FAITS

Les deux parties se sont entendus sur les faits suivants et les ont admis :

  • Immatriculation de l'aéronef C-GFVB pièces M-l/M-5
  • Type d'aéronef Cessna 172P pièce M-2
  • Propriétaire Pacific Flying Club pièce M-2
  • Lieu de départ et d'arrivée Aéroport de Boundary Bay pièce M-4
  • Commandant de bord John N. Mummery pièce M-4
  • Passagers à bord Deux pièce M-4
  • Heure d'arrivée et de départ 17 h 25/18 h 20 pièce M-4

POUR LE REQUÉRANT—LE MINISTRE DES TRANSPORTS

Le représentant du ministre a présenté trois témoins. Les deux premiers témoins, M. Keith Barnes et Mme Jacqueline Barnes ont témoigné de l'événement de façon similaire.

  • Ils étaient tous deux à bord d'un bateau à moteur de 26 pieds le 28 juin 1998. Jacqueline Barnes était à la barre en direction nord-ouest et sa vision était limitée en raison de la construction de la passerelle haute du bateau.
  • Ils ont témoigné que le vent était calme, le ciel était clair et la mer était calme.
  • M. Barnes a témoigné qu'il a remarqué qu'un petit aéronef s'éloignait de son bateau à bâbord. Il a déclaré que l'aéronef a soudainement perdu de l'altitude et semblait être en détresse. L'aéronef s'est stabilisé à 40 ou 50 pieds au-dessus du niveau de la mer et s'est avancé en direction du bateau des Barnes. M. Barnes a recommandé à Mme Barnes de maintenir son cap pour permettre à l'aéronef d'accomplir un amerrissage forcé à côté de leur bateau. L'aéronef est passé à environ 50 pieds au-dessus de leur proue et a tourné vers le voilier qui suivait. Comme l'aéronef passait près du bateau des Barnes, M. Barnes a indiqué qu'il pouvait clairement voir les gestes de la main du pilote et l'aéronef était assez bas pour que M. Barnes puisse voir dans la cabine de pilotage. L'aéronef a tourné vers le voilier qui suivait, en passant à tribord (droite) du bateau des Barnes. L'aéronef a continué vers le voilier à la même altitude, a dépassé le voilier, a tourné, a pris de l'altitude et a disparu.
  • M. Barnes a indiqué qu'il a tenté de filmer la séquence entière de l'incident mais qu'en raison de la confusion causée par les circonstances, sa caméra vidéo ne fonctionnait pas tout le temps. La pièce M-l est tirée d'un extrait du vidéo des Barnes et est présentée pour montrer que l'aéronef C-GFVB était celui qui était en cause lors de cet incident.

Contre-interrogatoire

M. Mummery a interrogé les Barnes sur leur capacité d'évaluer les distances et il n'a pas été possible d'en tirer aucune conclusion particulière. Mme Barnes a indiqué qu'elle considérait que l'aéronef aurait pu frapper leur bateau parce qu'il était bas et très près.

M. Richard Newcombe était le dernier témoin du ministre.

M. Newcombe a été assigné à l'enquête sur le dossier numéro 031509, celui de M. John Mummery. Il a présenté les pièces qui suivent :

  • Pièce M-l Reproduction de trois photographies issues du film vidéo des Barnes.
  • Pièce M-2 L'imprimé de l'immatriculation C-GFVB
  • Pièce M-3 La feuille de réservation du Pacific Flying Club
  • Pièce M-4 La feuille de carnet de route du C-GFVB
  • Pièce M-5 Le reçu du Pacific Flying Club fait au nom de John Mummery
  • Pièce M-6 La feuille de l'aéronef du Pacific Flying Club et la signature du pilote au registre

M. Newcombe a témoigné qu'il s'agissait de copies conformes des documents originaux qu'il a examinés au cours de son enquête. M. Mummery a convenu de leur authenticité. M. Newcombe a témoigné que la séquence des événements suivants est ressortie de son enquête.

Le dimanche 28 juin 1998, M. John Mummery a loué un Cessna 172P immatriculé C-GFVB au Pacific Flying Club. Il a quitté l'aéroport de Boundary Bay pour effectuer un vol dont la route prévue devait comprendre les points de transition suivants : Sucia Islands, Roche Harbor, Friday Harbor, Bedwell Harbor et un retour vers l'aéroport de Boundary Bay.

L'aéronef a quitté Boundary Bay vers 17 h 25 avec deux personnes à bord et on a calculé le temps de vol prévu comme étant de 0,90 d'une heure. L'aéronef répondait aux exigences de masse et centrage d'un Cessna 172 et tout l'équipement de sécurité se trouvait à bord.

M. Newcombe a témoigné qu'il avait vu la bande vidéo filmée par M. Keith Barnes et il a produit les trois photographies constituant la pièce M-1. Il a mis en preuve que l'aéronef C-GFVB était l'aéronef représenté sur les photos de la pièce M-1.

M. Newcombe a témoigné qu'il avait discuté de la situation avec M. Mummery le 8 juillet 1998 au téléphone et par lettre. Il y a eu une rencontre de suivi le 15 juillet 1998, date à laquelle M. Mummery a remis une lettre qui constitue la pièce D-1. Au cours de cette conversation, M. Mummery a nié oralement et par écrit qu'il était passé à 50 pieds au-dessus de la proue d'un voilier inconnu.

M. Newcombe a témoigné qu'il a recommandé à ses supérieurs de ne pas imposer de peines en raison de sa principale préoccupation qu'un tel incident ne se reproduirait pas. On n'a pas suivi sa recommandation et on a imposé une amende de 250 $.

Contre-interrogatoire

M. Newcombe a déclaré qu'à certaines occasions on n'imposait pas de peines si le pilote admettait sa transgression et s'il donnait des assurances qu'il ne répéterait pas son geste. Le facteur de référence principal est bien sûr la gravité de la transgression. M. Newcombe a déclaré que M. Mummery n'avait pas avoué l'infraction.

POUR L'INTIMÉ—M. JOHN MUMMERY

M. John Mummery a témoigné en son nom et a été assermenté comme témoin.

M. Mummery a témoigné que le 28 juin l998, il a loué un Cessna 172 au Pacific Flying Club de l'aéroport de Boundary Bay et que vers 16 h 30, il est parti en compagnie de sa fille de 9 ans et demi pour entreprendre une excursion vers Point Roberts, Sucia Islands, Orcas Island pour revenir à l'aéroport de Boundary Bay.

M. Mummery a témoigné qu'au départ, il volait à une altitude de 1 500 ASL mais qu'il est descendu à 600–700 pieds en raison de la présence de trafic commercial en conflit. Pendant ce temps, il était en contact radio avec le centre de contrôle VFR de Vancouver.

M. Mummery a témoigné qu'un instructeur du Pacific Flying Club lui avait accordé une annotation de qualification le 27 juin 1998 (soit le jour avant le vol en question). Il a déclaré qu'il n'était pas content de l'exécution de ses atterrissages de précaution forcés (PFL) et qu'il projetait de travailler cette technique au cours du vol du 28 juin 1998. M. Mummery a témoigné que sa procédure d'utilisation consistait à descendre à 200 pieds AGL (au-dessus du sol) ou 200 pieds ASL (au-dessus du niveau de la mer) pour exécuter cette technique.

M. Mummery a témoigné qu'il avait remarqué trois navires qui avançaient en ligne dans le détroit de Georgia. Le premier était un bateau à moteur suivi d'un grand voilier. Il a déclaré qu'il avait des amis sur le voilier mais il a nié par lettre (pièce D-1) et au cours de son témoignage, s'être approché à moins de 50 pieds du voilier.

M. Mummery a témoigné qu'il avait vu des gens saluer de la main sur le bateau à moteur de tête et a nié être passé à 50 pieds au-dessus de ce navire. Il a de plus déclaré qu'on avait pu montrer l'aéronef de la pièce Exhibit M-1 en gros plan en utilisant le zoom de la caméra vidéo. M. Mummery a témoigné qu'il avait 20 000 heures et 32 ans d'expérience comme pilote.

Contre-interrogatoire

M. Mummery a admis qu'une partie de son vol pouvait avoir eu lieu dans l'espace aérien des États-Unis.

En réponse à une question directe, M. Mummery nous a informé que la veille, lors de son contrôle en vol de qualification, il n'avait pas fait d'exercice de procédures PFL avec son instructeur. Il nous a de plus informé qu'il n'avait pas demandé à l'école de pilotage la permission d'exécuter cette technique pendant le vol du 28 juin 1998.

On a assermenté M. Mike Hardie comme témoin.

M. Hardie a témoigné que les formes irrégulières sur les deux premières photographies de l'aéronef en vol (pièce M-1) résultaient d'anomalies du processus vidéo et ne constituaient pas une représentation de la surface de la mer. M. Mummery ne s'est pas objecté à cette interprétation.

LES ARGUMENTS

Le représentant du ministre a déclaré que le 28 juin 1998, M. John Mummery accompagné de sa fille, a loué un Cessna 172P immatriculé C-GFVB du Pacific Flying Club situé à l'aéroport de Boundary Bay en Colombie-Britannique. Vers 17 h 53, on a remarqué et filmé un aéronef avec une caméra vidéo (pièce M-l) qui volait dans le voisinage d'un navire motorisé de 26 pieds appartenant à M. et Mme Barnes. Par la suite, en interprétant le vidéo, on a identifié que l'aéronef était un Cessna 172P immatriculé C-GFVB. M. Mummery avait loué et était aux commandes de cet aéronef. Selon le point de vue des Barnes, cet aéronef était à moins de 50 pieds de leur bateau et semblait être en détresse. Les différents gestes de la main des deux parties ont dissipé cette impression. Le représentant du ministre a demandé que l'amende de 250 $ demeure en vigueur.

M. Mummery se préoccupait du fait que M. et Mme Barnes ont eu beaucoup de temps pour discuter de l'incident. Il se préoccupait également du fait que les Barnes ont attendu 24 heures avant de signaler l'incident au ministère des Transports.

M. Mummery a admis avoir vu les Barnes faire signe de la main et a nié qu'il était à moins de 50 pieds de leur navire. M. Mummery a indiqué que si l'aéronef semble si près à la pièce M-1, c'est en raison de l'utilisation du zoom de la caméra vidéo.

M. Mummery a déclaré que, selon lui, il n'était pas très sage de travailler ses exercices de PFL pendant ce vol. Il a déclaré qu'il comptait 32 ans d'expérience et 20 000 heures de vol dont 6 000 heures dans de petits aéronefs sans incident ou sans infraction.

ANALYSE

Dans ce dossier, nous devons examiner deux questions en litige.

1. Bien que ni le requérant, ni l'intimé ne l'ait établi, il est possible que l'incident ait eu lieu dans l'espace aérien étranger. En examinant l'article 4.1 de la partie I de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, intitulé « infractions commises à l'étranger », je découvre l'énoncé qui suit :

4.1 Quiconque est auteur à l'étranger d'un fait — acte ou omission — qui, survenu au Canada, constituerait une contravention à une disposition de la présente partie ou de ses textes d'application, est réputé avoir commis cette contravention. Il peut être poursuivi et puni au lieu du Canada où il se trouve comme si la contravention y avait été commise.

L.R. (1985), ch. 33 (1er suppl.), art. 1; 1992, ch. 4, art. 3.

2. Aucun des témoins n'a été en mesure d'établir l'altitude exacte à laquelle M. Mummery est descendu au cours de ses manœuvres près du bateau des Barnes. Le règlement intitulé « Altitudes et distances minimales » au paragraphe 602.14(1) du RAC prévoit :

602.14 (1) Pour l'application du présent article et de l'article 602.15, un aéronef est réputé être utilisé au-dessus d'une zone bâtie ou au-dessus d'un rassemblement de personnes en plein air, lorsque la zone bâtie ou le rassemblement de personnes en plein air est à une distance, mesurée horizontalement :

a) de 500 pieds ou moins d'un hélicoptère ou d'un ballon;

b) de 2 000 pieds ou moins d'un aéronef autre qu'un hélicoptère ou un ballon.

(2) Sauf s'il s'agit d'effectuer le décollage, l'approche ou l'atterrissage d'un aéronef ou lorsque la personne y est autorisée en application de l'article 602.15, il est interdit d'utiliser un aéronef :

[...]

b) dans les cas autres que ceux visés à l'alinéa a), à une distance inférieure à 500 pieds de toute personne, tout navire, tout véhicule ou toute structure.

CONCLUSION

L'interprétation de l'article 4.1 de la partie I de la Loi sur l'aéronautique indique que le ministre avait raison d'imposer une peine même si l'aéronef avait pu être dans l'espace aérien étranger.

Dans l'article intitulé « Altitudes et distances minimales » du RAC, l'alinéa 602.14(2)b), il est interdit à tout aéronef canadien de voler à une distance inférieure à 500 pieds de toute personne, tout navire, tout véhicule ou toute structure.

Les témoignages de M. et Mme Barnes indiquent que l'aéronef s'est approché à une distance d'environ 50 pieds de leur bateau. Je ne tiens pas compte de la distance exacte étant donné qu'il serait impossible d'en juger sans appareil de mesure. Je suis cependant convaincu que l'aéronef était à moins des 500 pieds prescrits par le règlement, donc en infraction des pratiques acceptées.

Je m'appuie aussi sur le témoignage même de M. Mummery au cours duquel il a mis en preuve que pour effectuer un exercice de PFL convenable, il devait descendre à 200 pieds. M. Mummery a aussi déclaré que c'était une erreur de sa part d'avoir utilisé cette technique au cours de ce vol.

DÉCISION

Je considère que John N. Mummery a contrevenu à l'alinéa 602.14(2)b) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien et je confirme la décision du ministre d'imposer une amende de 250 $.

E. David Dover
Conseiller
Tribunal de l'aviation civile