Decisions

CAT File No. A-1500-33
MoT File No. 6504-P-159400-029439

CIVIL AVIATION TRIBUNAL

BETWEEN:

Minister of Transport, Applicant

- and -

James Jeffrey Rowan, Respondent

LEGISLATION:
Aeronautics Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. A-2, s. 7.7, 37
Canadian Aviation Regulations, SOR/96-433, s.602.31(1)(b)

Hearsay, Evidence, Air traffic control clearance


Review Determination
Allister W. Ogilvie


Decision: November 10, 1997

The Minister did not prove, on a balance of probabilities, that the pilot-in-command of aircraft 4610 did not comply with the air traffic control clearance received and accepted by him. In the result, the allegation is dismissed.

A Review Hearing on the above matter was held Wednesday, October 22, 1997 at 10:00 hours at the Federal Court of Canada, in Fredericton, New Brunswick.

BACKGROUND

On February 12, 1997, Air Canada flight 4610, flew between Fredericton and Saint-John, New Brunswick. On departure from Fredericton, flight 4610 was assigned a Capital City Two Departure. The Minister alleged that flight 4610 did not comply with the departure instructions. That allegation formed the basis for the Notice of Assessment of Monetary Penalty which stated, in part:

Pursuant to section 7.7 of the Aeronautics Act, the Minister of Transport has decided to assess a monetary penalty on the grounds that you have contravened the following provision(s):

Canadian Aviation Regulations section 602.31(1)(b) in that at approximately 1500 UTC on or about February 12, 1997, while pilot-in-command of an aircraft, to wit: a DC-9 aircraft, bearing Canadian Registration Marks C-FTLS, operating as Air Canada Flight 4610, you did not comply with an air traffic control clearance received and accepted by you, in that after departure from runway 15 at Fredericton, New Brunswick, you failed to follow the Fredericton SID (vector) Capital City Two Departure instructions and did thereby commit an offence contrary to section 7.6(2) of the Aeronautics Act, R.S., c. A-3, s.1.

EVIDENCE

The Minister called Mr. Gary Olson, the Nav Canada Flight Service Station (FSS) Manager in Fredericton who was on duty on February 12, 1997. Mr. Olson made the compressed tape of radio transmissions sent and received at the Fredericton FSS at the pertinent time. This compressed tape was entered as Exhibit M-1 and played at the hearing. A transcript of the tape was entered as Exhibit M-2. These were proffered as evidence that the Capital City Two Departure clearance was received and accepted by aircraft 4610.

Exhibit M-5 consisted of a letter to Mr. Moffat of Transport Canada from Air Canada stating that Captain Rowan was the pilot-in-command of flight 4610 on February 12, 1997. Included was an excerpt from the journey log which verified Captain Rowan as pilot-in-command.

Mr. Gordon Richards was an FSS specialist at Fredericton for nine years. He had been working on February 12, 1997. It was his duty to give aircraft clearance for departure. He acknowledged to having listened to the compressed tape and recognized his voice on it. He testified that the pilot of aircraft 4610 had received and accepted the Capital City Two Departure.

On cross-examination, Mr. Richards conceded that he had listened to the tape to refresh his memory and that he did not have any recollection other than what was on the tape.

Mr. Robert Loring, an air traffic controller with extensive years of experience, was the supervisor in the Moncton centre at the pertinent time.

An Occurrence Report of the incident (Exhibit M-7) was entered through Mr. Loring. He identified the report as authored by a W. Dunnett whom Mr. Loring identified as the shift manager in Moncton. The essence of the report was that there had been non-compliance with the SID by aircraft 4610. Mr. Loring stated that it was the duty of Dunnett, as shift manager, to have written the report.

A copy of the Capital City Two Departure was entered through Mr. Loring as Exhibit M-8. The salient portion was read into the record. Mr. Loring identified the particular procedure to be a vectored SID. I accepted that a man of Mr. Loring's experience in air traffic control (ATC) could identify the type of SID in question.

Mr. Loring acknowledged that the low level controller had advised him of the occurrence. It was then Mr. Loring's function to note the occurrence in the unit log as procedure did not allow the controller to do so. The notation was read into the record (Exhibit M-9) as follows:

AC4610 DC9 FC–SJ Departed on Capital City 2 SID – followed SID until intercepting airway and proceeded on course – No traffic involved. Situation discussed with pilot who subsequently apologized for his error.

This notation was initialled by Mr. Loring.

Mr. Loring conceded that he could not remember which controller had given him the information, and further stated that he had no personal knowledge of the occurrence.

Mr. Paul Bennett was called to give evidence. He was a Transport Canada inspector dealing with commercial and business aviation. He was qualified to do instrument flight tests and as such had familiarity with the Instrument Procedures Manual. [1] An excerpt from the Manual was entered as Exhibit M-10. The section read into the record states:

C. Standard Instrument Departures (SID). At certain airports an IFR departure clearance may include a coded departure clearance known as a standard instrument departure (SID). Standard instrument departures are published in the Canada Air Pilot as PILOT NAVIGATION SIDs, where the pilot is required to use the chart as a reference for navigation to the en route phase; or as VECTOR SIDs, where ATC provides radar navigational guidance to a filed/assigned route or to a fix depicted on the chart. (Emphasis added)

Counsel for Captain Rowan chose not to call any witnesses on the captain's behalf. However, a series of exhibits was entered. The Case Presenting Officer for the Minister did not object to the exhibits being received. Five letters were written by counsel for Captain Rowan to Transport Canada on various dates, in May and October of 1997, requesting disclosure of certain documents, such as Area Control Centre tape, tapes which might give pilot/controller communications, a radar plot of the area, and the name of the low level controller responsible for monitoring aircraft 4610.

The Minister by fax of October 8, 1997 (Exhibit D-5) stated that the Moncton Centre tapes and transcripts relating to flight 4610 on February 12, 1997 were not available, that a copy of the radar plot was not available and further, refused to divulge the name of the controller.

A copy of Air Canada's version of SID was entered as Exhibit D-7. These documents constituted all the evidence called by counsel for Captain Rowan.

ARGUMENT

The Minister submitted that evidence provided showed that, on a balance of probabilities, Captain Rowan did not adhere to a clearance received and accepted by him, in that he did not maintain a 040° heading but turned to intercept the airway without clearance.

Mr. Tataryn argued that all elements of the offence had been made out. Captain Rowan was established as pilot of flight 4610. The clearance was received and accepted by him. The Capital City Two was a vectored SID, but the Captain did not maintain the required heading.

Counsel for Captain Rowan provided extensive argument divided into three main issues:

  • Firstly, that the Minister had not made out the violation. That, Mr. Fenn submitted, was because there was no evidence that the Captain did not maintain the heading. He submitted that there was a gap in the evidence concerning what happened after the aircraft had turned to the 040° heading. The Minister had not made out his onus; therefore, there was no violation;
  • Secondly, that if the Minister had made out his case, then Transport Canada was under a positive duty to get the aircraft back on course, which was something Transport Canada failed to do;
  • Thirdly, that the alleged offender had the right to know the case he has to meet. To that end, the case law pursuant to the Stinchcombe[2] decision put a broad onus on the Minister to investigate the occurrence and to share the fruits of the investigation. He argued that this was not done, as evidence that could or should have been made available was not. Therefore, the alleged offender's rights to fundamental justice under the Charter were violated and on that basis the allegation should be quashed.

DISCUSSION/LAW

Paragraph 602.31(1)(b) of the Canadian Aviation Regulations provides:

602.31(1) Subject to subsection (3), the pilot-in-command of an aircraft shall

(...)

(b) comply with all of the air traffic control clearances received and accepted by the pilot-in-command and

(...)

The Minister must prove all the elements of the offence, on a balance of probabilities, to make out his case. In this allegation, he must establish:

  1. the identity of the pilot-in-command of the aircraft;
  2. that the pilot-in-command received and accepted an air traffic control clearance; and
  3. that the pilot-in-command failed to comply with the clearance received and accepted.

Subsection 602.31(1) of the Regulations states that it is subject to subsection (3). Subsection (3) allows the pilot-in-command to deviate from an air traffic control clearance in certain circumstances, involving collision avoidance manoeuvres, which are not germane in this instance.

There is no issue that Captain James Rowan was the pilot-in-command of aircraft 4610 on February 12, 1997. This is established in Exhibit M-5, the letter from Air Canada to Transport Canada's Mr. Moffat, which acknowledges that fact. It is verified by the accompanying aircraft log excerpt.

The evidence that Captain Rowan received and accepted the air traffic control clearance consists of the compressed tape and accompanying transcript as well as the testimony of Mr. Richards, the specialist who conveyed the clearance. He conceded that the tape had refreshed his memory of the event.

Counsel impugned the accuracy of the tape because of the method of its preparation and drew into question whether the compressed tape was a "clean" tape before it was utilized for the proceeding. Mr. Olson had testified that the tape was new, but that he did not play it through to confirm that nothing else was on it.

The points raised by counsel do not persuade me that the compressed tape is improper or tainted or of no evidentiary value. Mr. Richards, having his memory refreshed by the tape, testified that aircraft 4610 had received and accepted the clearance. I accept that that fact was proven.

The last element, that the pilot-in-command failed to comply with the clearance received and accepted, is sought to be proved by the Minister's Exhibit M-7, the Occurrence Report and Exhibit M-9 the excerpt from the ATC unit's log, as well as the testimony of the supervisor of the Moncton centre, Mr. Loring.

Counsel for Captain Rowan had objected to the admissibility of that evidence on the basis that it was hearsay.

The text The Law of Evidence in Canada[3] explains the concept of hearsay as follows:

Written or oral statements, or communicative conduct made by persons otherwise than in testimony at the proceeding in which it is offered, are inadmissible, if such statements or conduct are tendered either as proof of their truth or as proof of assertions implicit therein.

In this case we have an oral statement made by someone, the low level controller, who is not giving testimony in the proceeding, and the statement is tendered, through Mr. Loring, to prove that the pilot-in-command failed to comply. It can be seen that the statement is, by definition, hearsay.

The rule against hearsay is an example of one of the many legal or technical rules of evidence developed for courts to help them accomplish their mandates. However, these rules do not necessarily serve the purpose of an administrative tribunal.

This has been recognized by providing a legislated exemption from the strict adherence to the legal and technical rules, in the form of section 37 of the Aeronautics Act where it states:

37. (1) Subject to subsection (5), the Tribunal or a member thereof is not bound by any legal or technical rules of evidence in conducting any matter that comes before it or the member and all such matters shall be dealt with by the Tribunal or member as informally and expeditiously as the circumstances and considerations of fairness and natural justice permit.

(...)

(5) The Tribunal or a member thereof may not receive or accept as evidence anything that would be inadmissible in a court by reason of any privilege under the law of evidence.

The exemption from the legal and technical rules of evidence is because of the characterization of evidentiary rules, as procedural. It is clear from subsection 33(3) of the Aeronautics Act that the Civil Aviation Tribunal is the author of its own procedure.

(3) The Tribunal may, with the approval of the Governor in Council, make rules not inconsistent with this Act governing the carrying out of the affairs of the Tribunal and the practice and procedure in connection with matters dealt with by it. (Emphasis added)

That evidence is to be considered a procedural matter is illustrated in the text of Hearings Before Administrative Tribunals:[4]

'Evidence' is considered, on the whole, to be a matter of procedure. It is an aspect of how one enforces or goes about bringing into effect one's rights rather than being a substantive right itself.1.2

As I have noted repeatedly in this text, administrative decision-makers are masters of their own procedure. They do not have to do things the way a court would do them. Subject to the dictates of statute law and natural justice, an agency has the authority to determine its own procedure. It follows, then, that because evidence is a matter of procedure an agency's mastery over its procedure means that it is not bound by the legal rules of evidence.

1.2 Wildman v. R. (1984), 14 C.C.C. (3d) 321 (S.C.C.); R. v. Bickford (1990) 51 C.C.C. (3d) 181 (C.A.).

This view is similarly expressed in Administrative Law in Canada[5] where it is stated:

Unless expressly prescribed, the rules of evidence applied in court proceedings do not apply to proceedings before an administrative tribunal. This is, in part, because tribunal members, being lay people, are not schooled in the rules of evidence and are expected to apply common sense to their consideration of evidence. It also reflects the public interest mandate of many tribunals.

That is not to say that no rules apply regarding evidence. The constraints on evidence found in the Act, are that it must be fair and within the bounds of natural justice. The Tribunal cannot accept evidence that is inadmissible in a court by reason of any privilege under the law of evidence. Of course, the basic criterion is that it must be relevant. However, not all relevant evidence is of equal probative value. The hearing member must decide what weight to ascribe to relevant evidence.

Therefore, although Exhibits M-7 and M-9 are hearsay, they are nevertheless admissible. As the statement given, if true, would go to prove that the pilot-in-command did not comply with the clearance, it is relevant.

Hearsay evidence can be of value, especially if verified or corroborated by other evidence or if it forms the corroboration of some other evidence. However, that is not the case here. Exhibit M-7, the Occurrence Report, is merely a formal reiteration of the unit log excerpt. Mr. Loring, the author of the report in the unit log, quite candidly stated that he had no personal knowledge of the situation that he recorded, nor could he remember from whom he had received the information.

From the testimony received, it has become clear that evidence of a non-compliance may have been given directly from the low level controller who reported the occurrence to Mr. Loring. Physical evidence such as a radar plot of the area control centre might have been of assistance in proof of the allegation as might the tapes of controller/pilot communications. The Minister is, of course, free to present his case and evidence as he sees fit. In this case, the evidence he offers on one essential element of the offence, whether or not the pilot complied with the clearance, is uncorroborated hearsay. The actual witness to the event has given a statement, not under oath, and not subject to cross-examination, nor can the Tribunal make an assessment of the credibility of that witness. The statement is merely repeated by Mr. Loring and transcribed into Exhibits M-7 and M-9. Consequently, I am unable to afford it any weight.

DETERMINATION

The Minister did not prove, on a balance of probabilities, that the pilot-in-command of aircraft 4610 did not comply with air traffic control clearance received and accepted by him. In the result, the allegation is dismissed.

Allister Ogilvie
Vice-Chairperson
Civil Aviation Tribunal


[1] Transport Canada Aviation, Instrument Procedures Manual, Document No. TP 2076E at 4-11.

[2] R. v. Stinchcombe (1991), 83 Alta. L.R. (2d) 193 (S.C.C.) (7:0).

[3] J. Sopinka, S. Lederman & A. Bryant, The Law of Evidence in Canada (Toronto and Vancouver: Butterworths, 1992) at 156.

[4] R.W. Macaulay & J.L.H. Sprague, Hearings Before Administrative Tribunals (Scarborough: Carswell, 1995) at 17-2 – 17-2.1

[5] Sara Blake, Administrative Law in Canada, 2d ed., (Toronto and Vancouver: Butterworths, 1997) at 50.

Décisions

Dossier no A-1500-33 (TAC)
Dossier no 6504-P-159400-029439 (MdT)

TRIBUNAL DE L'AVIATION CIVILE

ENTRE :

Ministre des Transports, requérant(e)

- et -

James Jeffrey Rowan, intimé(e)

LÉGISLATION:
Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R.C. 1985, c. A-2, art. 7.7, 37
Règlement de l'aviation canadien, DORS/96-433, art. 602.31(1)b)

Preuves, Ouï-dire, Autorisation du contrôle de la circulation aérienne


Décision à la suite d'une révision
Allister W. Ogilvie


Décision : le 10 novembre 1997

TRADUCTION

Le ministre n'a pas démontré, selon la prépondérance des probabilités, que le commandant de bord de l'aéronef 4610 ne s'est pas conformé à l'autorisation du contrôle de la circulation aérienne qu'il a reçue et acceptée. Par conséquent, les faits reprochés sont rejetés.

Une audience en révision relative à l'affaire en rubrique a été tenue le mercredi 22 octobre 1997 à 10 h à la Cour fédérale du Canada à Fredericton (Nouveau-Brunswick).

HISTORIQUE

Le 12 février 1997, le vol 4610 d'Air Canada s'est dirigé de Fredericton à Saint John, au Nouveau-Brunswick. Au départ de Fredericton, le vol 4610 a reçu une autorisation de départ Capital City Two. Le ministre a prétendu que le vol 4610 ne s'est pas conformé aux directives de départ. Les faits reprochés constituent le fondement de l'Avis d'amende pour contravention qui se lit en partie comme suit :

En vertu de l'article 7.7 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, le ministre des Transports a décidé de vous imposer une amende parce que vous avez contrevenu à la disposition suivante :

L'alinéa 602.31(1)b) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien en ce sens que vers 1500 UTC, le ou vers le 12 février 1997, alors que vous étiez commandant de bord d'un aéronef, soit un aéronef DC-9 portant les marques d'immatriculation canadienne C-FTLS, à savoir le vol 4610 d'Air Canada, vous ne vous êtes pas conformé à l'autorisation du contrôle de la circulation aérienne que vous aviez reçue et acceptée étant donné qu'après avoir quitté la piste 15 de Fredericton (Nouveau-Brunswick), vous n'avez pas suivi les directives de départ normalisé aux instruments (vecteur) Capital City Two et avez par conséquent contrevenu au paragraphe 7.6(2) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique, L.R., ch. A-3, a.1.

LA PREUVE

Le ministre a appelé M. Gary Olson, responsable de la station d'information de vol Nav Canada de Fredericton et qui était de service le 12 février 1997. M. Olson a fait la bande radio compressée des transmissions envoyées et reçues par la station d'information de vol de Fredericton au moment en question. La bande compressée a été versée au dossier comme pièce M-1 et jouée à l'audience. Une transcription de la bande constitue la pièce M-2. Elles ont été présentées comme preuve à l'appui de l'autorisation de départ Capital City Two reçue et acceptée par l'aéronef 4610.

La pièce M-5 est une lettre d'Air Canada à M. Moffat de Transports Canada déclarant que le commandant Rowan était commandant de bord du vol 4610 le 12 février 1997. La lettre s'accompagne d'un extrait du carnet de route confirmant la présence du commandant de bord Rowan.

M. Gordon Richards a été spécialiste de la station d'information de vol de Fredericton pendant neuf ans. Il était de service le 12 février 1997. Il était chargé de donner les autorisations de départ des aéronefs. Il a confirmé avoir écouté la bande compressée et y avoir reconnu sa voix. Il a témoigné que le pilote de l'aéronef 4610 avait reçu et accepté le départ Capital City Two.

En contre-interrogatoire, M. Richards a admis qu'il avait écouté la bande pour se rafraîchir la mémoire et qu'il ne se souvenait de rien d'autre que ce qui était sur la bande.

M. Robert Loring, un contrôleur de la circulation aérienne comptant de nombreuses années d'expérience, était superviseur au centre de Moncton au moment de l'incident.

Un rapport d'événement traitant de l'incident (pièce M-7) a été déposé par M. Loring. Il a affirmé que le rapport avait été rédigé par W. Dunnett qu'il a présenté comme le gestionnaire de postes à Moncton. Essentiellement, le rapport faisait état de la non-conformité de l'aéronef 4610 au départ normalisé aux instruments. M. Loring a déclaré qu'il incombait à M. Dunnett, à titre de gestionnaires de postes, de rédiger le rapport.

Un exemplaire du départ Capital City Two a été déposé par M. Loring en guise de pièce M-8. La partie saillante a été versée au dossier. M. Loring a confirmé que la manœuvre était un vecteur SID. J'accepte qu'un homme d'expérience en contrôle de la circulation aérienne (ATC) tel que M. Loring puisse identifier la manœuvre SID en question.

M. Loring a confirmé que le contrôleur subalterne l'avait avisé de l'incident. Il incombait alors à M. Loring de faire figurer l'incident au registre de l'unité puisque la procédure ne permet pas au contrôleur de le faire. La remarque sur l'incident a été versée au dossier (pièce M-9) dans les termes suivants :

AC4610 DC9 FC–SJ Départ Capital City 2 SID – a suivi le SID jusqu'à l'interception de la voie aérienne et a poursuivi sa course – Pas de circulation en cause. Situation discutée avec le pilote qui s'est par la suite excusé de son erreur.

La remarque porte les initiales de M. Loring.

M. Loring a admis qu'il ne pouvait se rappeler quel contrôleur lui avait communiqué l'information et a de plus déclaré qu'il n'avait pas personnellement eu connaissance de l'incident.

M. Paul Bennett a été appelé à témoigner. Il était inspecteur chez Transports Canada dans le domaine de l'aviation commerciale et d'affaires. Il était qualifié pour effectuer les tests de vol aux instruments et à ce titre, le Manuel de vol aux instruments[1] lui était familier. Un extrait du manuel a été présenté en guise de pièce M-10. Le texte versé au dossier se lit comme suit :

C. Départs normalisés aux instruments (SID)

À certains aéroports, une autorisation de départ IFR peut comprendre une autorisation de départ codée connue sous le nom de départ normalisé aux instruments (SID). Les SID sont publiés dans le Canada Air Pilot en tant que SID DE NAVIGATION DU PILOTE, lorsque le pilote doit utiliser la carte comme référence pour la navigation jusqu'à la phase en route, ou comme SID de GUIDAGE, lorsque l'ATC fournit le guidage de navigation radar jusqu'à une route prévue au plan de vol ou assignée, ou jusqu'à un repère illustré sur la carte.

(Nous soulignons)

L'avocat du commandant Rowan a choisi de ne pas appeler de témoin au nom du commandant. Toutefois, des pièces ont été présentées. L'agent chargé de présenter le cas au nom du ministre ne s'est pas objecté aux pièces présentées. Au fil du temps, l'avocat du commandant Rowan avait écrit cinq lettres à Transports Canada en mai et octobre 1997, demandant la divulgation de certains documents, notamment de la bande du centre de contrôle régional, des bandes qui pourraient faire état de la communication entre le pilote et le contrôleur, un tracé radar de la région et le nom du contrôleur subalterne responsable de la surveillance de l'aéronef 4610.

Par télécopie du 8 octobre 1997 (pièce D-5), le ministre a déclaré que les bandes du centre de Moncton et les transcriptions concernant le vol 4610 du 12 février 1997 n'étaient pas disponibles, qu'un exemplaire du tracé du radar ne l'était pas non plus et a finalement refusé de dévoiler le nom du contrôleur.

On a versé au dossier une copie de la version SID d'Air Canada (pièce D-7). Tous ces documents constituent la preuve présentée par l'avocat du commandant Rowan.

OBSERVATIONS

Le ministre a prétendu que la preuve présentée indiquait, selon la prépondérance des probabilités, que le commandant Rowan ne s'était pas conformé à l'autorisation qu'il avait reçue et acceptée puisqu'il n'avait pas maintenu un cap de 040° mais avait effectué un virage et franchi la voie aérienne sans autorisation.

M. Tataryn a fait valoir que tous les éléments de l'infraction avaient été établis. On a démontré que le commandant Rowan pilotait le vol 4610. Il a reçu et accepté une autorisation de départ Capital City Two (vecteur SID), mais il n'a pas maintenu le cap prescrit.

L'avocat du commandant Rowan a présenté des observations élaborées sur trois points principaux :

  • premièrement, il a prétendu que le ministre n'avait pas établi l'infraction. Ceci, selon M. Fenn, parce qu'il n'y avait pas de preuve que le commandant n'avait pas maintenu le cap. Il a prétendu qu'il y avait une faille dans la preuve concernant ce qui s'était passé après que l'aéronef ait tourné vers le cap de 040°. Le ministre n'a pas établi sa charge; par conséquent, il n'y a pas d'infraction;
  • deuxièmement, si le ministre avait établi sa preuve, Transports Canada avait la responsabilité de remettre l'aéronef sur la bonne voie, ce qui ne s'est pas produit;
  • troisièmement, le présumé contrevenant avait le droit de connaître la cause qu'il affrontait. À cet égard, la loi s'appliquant à la décision de Stinchcombe[2] impose fortement au ministre la responsabilité de faire enquête sur l'incident et de partager les résultats de l'enquête. Il a prétendu que cela n'avait pas été fait et que la preuve qui aurait pu ou dû être disponible ne l'était pas. Par conséquent, les droits du présumé contrevenant à la justice fondamentale en regard de la Charte ont été violés, en vertu de quoi, les faits reprochés doivent être rejetés.

DISCUSSION/LOI

L'alinéa 602.31(1)b) du Règlement de l'aviation canadien stipule :

602.31(1) Sous réserve du paragraphe (3), le commandant de bord d'un aéronef doit :

(...)

b) se conformer à toutes les autorisations du contrôle de la circulation aérienne qu'il reçoit et qu'il accepte, et :

(...)

Le ministre doit démontrer tous les éléments de l'infraction, selon la prépondérance des probabilités, pour établir sa cause. Dans les faits reprochés, il doit établir :

  1. l'identité du commandant de bord de l'aéronef;
  2. que le commandant de bord a reçu et accepté l'autorisation de la tour de contrôle; et
  3. que le commandant de bord ne s'est pas conformé à l'autorisation reçue et acceptée.

Le paragraphe 602.31(1) du Règlement stipule « sous réserve du paragraphe (3) ». Le paragraphe (3) permet au commandant de bord de déroger à une autorisation du contrôle de la circulation aérienne dans certaines circonstances, pour effectuer une manœuvre d'évitement d'abordage, ce qui ne s'applique pas au cas présent.

Il est certain que le commandant James Rowan était commandant de bord de l'aéronef 4610 le 12 février 1997. La pièce M-5 le démontre, soit une lettre d'Air Canada à M. Moffat de Transports Canada reconnaissant le fait. L'extrait du carnet de route qui l'accompagne vient appuyer le fait.

La preuve démontrant que le commandant Rowan a reçu et accepté l'autorisation de la tour de contrôle se trouve dans la bande compressée et la transcription qui l'accompagne ainsi que dans le témoignage de M. Richards, le spécialiste qui a donné l'autorisation. Il a admis que la bande avait rafraîchi sa mémoire concernant l'incident.

L'avocat a contesté l'exactitude de la bande à cause de la façon dont elle est constituée et a émis des doutes sur la « propreté » de la bande avant son utilisation en regard de cette cause. M. Olson avait témoigné que la bande était neuve, bien qu'il ne l'ait pas fait jouer pour s'assurer qu'elle ne contenait rien.

Les points soulevés par l'avocat ne parviennent pas à me convaincre que la bande compressée est inappropriée ou souillée ni qu'elle n'a aucune valeur de preuve. M. Richards, dont la mémoire a été rafraîchie par la bande, a témoigné que l'aéronef 4610 avait reçu et accepté une autorisation. J'estime que le fait a été démontré.

On tente de démontrer le dernier élément, à savoir que le commandant de bord ne s'est pas conformé à l'autorisation reçue et approuvée, par la pièce M-7 du ministre, le rapport d'événement et la pièce M-9, soit l'extrait du registre de l'unité du contrôle de la circulation aérienne ainsi que par le témoignage du superviseur du centre de Moncton, M. Loring.

L'avocat du commandant Rowan s'est objecté à l'admissibilité de cette preuve, prétextant qu'elle se fonde sur le ouï-dire.

Un texte tiré de The Law of Evidence in Canada[3] explique la notion de ouï-dire comme suit :

Les déclarations écrites ou orales ou toute autre forme de communication effectuée en dehors d'un témoignage dans le cadre de l'instance à laquelle elles se rattachent, sont inadmissibles, si ces déclarations ou communications sont présentées comme faisant foi de leur véracité ou de leur contenu.

(Traduction)

Dans le cas présent, nous disposons d'un témoignage oral donné par le contrôleur subalterne, qui n'a pas témoigné dans le cadre même de cette instance, mais dont la déclaration est présentée par l'entremise de M. Loring pour démontrer que le commandant de bord ne s'est pas conformé. On peut voir que, par définition, la déclaration repose sur le ouï-dire.

La règle de l'irrecevabilité des ouï-dire démontre bien la règle de preuve juridique ou technique utilisée par les cours pour leur permettre de mieux exercer leur mandat. Cependant, ces règles ne servent pas nécessairement les fins d'un tribunal administratif.

Le fait est reconnu puisqu'il existe une dérogation aux règles juridiques et techniques prévue à l'article 37 de la Loi sur l'aéronautique qui stipule :

37. (1) Sous réserve du paragraphe (5), le Tribunal ou les conseillers ne sont pas liés par les règles juridiques ou techniques applicables en matière de preuve lors des audiences. Dans la mesure où les circonstances, l'équité et la justice naturelle le permettent, il leur appartient d'agir rapidement et sans formalités.

(...)

(5) Le Tribunal ou les conseillers ne peuvent recevoir ni admettre en preuve quelque élément protégé par le droit de la preuve et rendu, de ce fait, inadmissible en justice devant un tribunal judiciaire.

La dérogation aux règles de preuves juridiques ou techniques résulte du caractère procédural des règles de preuve. Il est évident, aux termes du paragraphe 33(3) de la Loi sur l'aéronautique que le Tribunal de l'aviation civile est responsable de sa propre procédure.

(3) Le Tribunal peut, avec l'aval du gouverneur en conseil, établir toute règle conforme à la présente loi pour régir ses activités et la procédure des affaires portées devant lui.

(Nous soulignons)

La preuve doit être considérée comme une question de procédure, comme le confirme Hearings Before Administrative Tribunals[4] :

La « preuve » est considérée, dans l'ensemble, comme une question de procédure. Elle constitue un aspect de la façon dont un individu applique ou met ses droits en pratique plutôt qu'un droit fondamental comme tel.1.2

Comme je l'ai signalé à plusieurs reprises dans ce texte, les décideurs administratifs sont maîtres de la procédure qu'ils utilisent. Ils n'ont pas à faire les choses comme la cour le ferait. Conformément aux impératifs de la loi et à la justice naturelle, une agence possède le pouvoir de déterminer sa propre procédure. Il s'ensuit donc que si la preuve est une question de procédure, le pouvoir de l'agence à l'égard de sa preuve signifie qu'elle n'est pas liée par la règle juridique de la preuve.

1.2 Wildman v. R. (1984), 14 C.C.C. (3d) 321 (S.C.C.); R. v. Bickford (1990) 51 C.C.C. (3d) 181 (C.A.).

Une opinion semblable figure dans Administrative Law in Canada[5] où l'on peut lire :

Sauf dans les cas où le fait est expressément prescrit, les règles de preuve utilisées dans les instances à la cour ne s'appliquent pas aux audiences devant un tribunal administratif. Ceci provient en partie du fait que les conseillers aux tribunaux sont des profanes et ne sont pas formés en matière de règles de la preuve et sont sensés appliquer le sens commun dans leur examen de la preuve. Cela reflète également le mandat d'intérêt public confié à plusieurs tribunaux.

On ne peut conclure à l'absence de règle concernant la preuve. Les restrictions sur la preuve qui figurent à la Loi stipulent qu'elle doit être équitable et dans les limites de la justice naturelle. Le Tribunal ne peut accepter une preuve inadmissible en cour en raison d'un privilège prévu à la loi de la preuve. Il est évident que le critère de base exige que la preuve soit pertinente. Cependant, les preuves pertinentes n'ont pas toutes la même valeur probante. L'agent d'audience doit décider du poids à accorder à la preuve pertinente.

Par conséquent, bien que les pièces M-7 et M-9 reposent sur le ouï-dire, elles n'en demeurent pas moins admissibles. Puisque la déclaration donnée, si elle est vrai, servait à démontrer que le commandant de bord ne s'est pas conformé à l'autorisation, elle est pertinente.

La preuve par ouï-dire peut être valable, surtout si elle est confirmé ou corroborée par une autre preuve ou si elle constitue la corroboration d'une autre preuve. Cependant, ce n'est pas le cas ici. La pièce M-7, le rapport d'événement, n'est qu'un rappel formel de l'extrait du registre de l'unité. M. Loring, l'auteur du rapport du registre de l'unité, a déclaré très innocemment qu'il n'avait pas eu personnellement connaissance de l'événement qu'il avait inscrit et qu'il ne pouvait se rappeler qui lui avait communiqué l'information.

D'après le témoignage reçu, il est devenu évident que la preuve d'une non-conformité puisse avoir été communiquée directement par le contrôleur subalterne qui a signalé l'incident à M. Loring. La preuve matérielle, notamment le tracé radar du centre de contrôle régional aurait pu contribuer à prouver le fait reproché tout comme les bandes des communications entre le contrôleur et le pilote. Le ministre est, bien entendu, libre de présenter sa cause et la preuve comme il l'entend. Dans ce cas, la preuve qu'il présente à l'égard d'un élément essentiel de l'infraction, à savoir si le pilote s'est ou non conformé à l'autorisation, est un ouï-dire non corroboré. Le véritable témoin de l'incident a donné une déclaration non assermentée, non soumise au contre-interrogatoire et le Tribunal ne peut évaluer la crédibilité du témoin. La déclaration a simplement été répétée par M. Loring et transcrite aux pièces M-7 et M-9. Par conséquent, je ne peux lui accorder aucun poids.

DÉCISION

Le ministre n'a pas démontré, selon la prépondérance des probabilités, que le commandant de bord de l'aéronef 4610 ne s'est pas conformé à l'autorisation du contrôle de la circulation aérienne qu'il a reçue et acceptée. Par conséquent, les faits reprochés sont rejetés.

Allister Ogilvie
Vice-président
Tribunal de l'aviation civile


[1] Transports Canada Aviation, Manuel de vol aux instruments, Document no TP 2076F à 4-13.

[2] R. v. Stinchcombe (1991), 83 Alta. L.R. (2d) 193 (S.C.C.) (7:0).

[3] J. Sopinka, S. Lederman et A. Bryant, The Law of Evidence in Canada (Toronto et Vancouver: Butterworths, 1992) à 156.

[4] R.W. Macaulay et J.L.H. Sprague, Hearings Before Administrative Tribunals (Scarborough: Carswell, 1995) à 17-2 – 17-2.1

[5] Sara Blake, Administrative Law in Canada, 2e ed., (Toronto et Vancouver: Butterworths, 1997) à 50.